Looking for Answers about Wagner Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit?

Customer questions and answers for
Wagner Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

The Wagner Flexio 590 is an indoor/outdoor hand-held sprayer kit for all projects. The X-Boost turbine produces unmatched power and provides adjustable control, full coverage, and low overspray. The Flexio 590 comes with two nozzles to meet the needs of any project. The iSpray nozzle delivers a professional finish spaying broad surfaces with residential unthinned paints. The Detail Finish nozzle is ideal for small projects and fine finishing. The Flexio provides advanced user comfort being 50% quieter and 20% lighter than traditional airless sprayers.
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions
 | 
134 Answers
Overall rating:
3.908 out of 5
3.9
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Wagner Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Question

the wagner flexio 590 can it paint cielings .

Asked by
jaybayduck
san antonio
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
May 19, 2013
going to paint my living room
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
May 20, 2013
Yes, the Flexio 590 has an angled suction tube in the material container. As long as you angle it properly to keep it submerged in your material you shouldn't have any issues painting a ceiling.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mrcpu
Medford, OR, USA
May 29, 2013
Yes, it will paint ceilings just fine. Just adjust the paint pickup to point to the back of the cup. And mask thoroughly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
vince
Buffalo, NY, USA
May 30, 2013
Technically yes it can but you're not supposed tilt the gun more than 45 degrees which would make painting a ceiling very difficult.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Transplanted
North Carolina
May 30, 2013
Yes, the Flexio 590 will spray Ceiling Latex paint fine. The draw tube is angled and rotates to accommodate being able to spray in a downward or upwards holding direction.
As with any paint being sprayed, there is an amount of over spray involved, so ensure you spend the time to properly mask and cover areas you don't want over spray to land on.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Homeremodeler533
Madison, WI, USA
May 30, 2013
Yes, it can, but there is a significant amount of spray (as with any paint sprayer) so be careful if you aren't going to paint all the walls immediately afterwards!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Mikkel1955
South Milwaukee, WI, USA
May 31, 2013
Yes, it can. The paint cup has an adjustable pickup so you can use it on an up-angle. Make sure you follow the masking suggestions in the manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Daniel
Califronia
June 1, 2013
Painted ceilings with no issue. Worked great for popcorn and textured ceiling as well. Just make sure suction tube is facing rear of paint container.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
RednexToyz
Aromas, CA, USA
June 25, 2013
Based on my use of the product, you cannot tilt the unit back to be perpendicular with the ceiling. I would suggest the wagner ProCoat for that application.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
ThisOldGarageNJ
NJ
June 26, 2013
you can paint holding th3e gun on almost a 75degree angle... Ceilings are easy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
September 28, 2013
I would stick to a roller for ceilings.

To get even coverage, a sprayer has to be held straight on to the surface -- no problem if you're painting a vertical surface like a wall. But you would have to point a sprayer straight up to cover a ceiling, and you're likely to get paint in parts of the sprayer where you don't want it to go. Also, the idea of standing directly under a cloud of paint mist isn't my idea of a good time. ;o)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Jerry
Houston,TX
October 5, 2013
Yes it can.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have a hose accessory that can go into a gallon or 5 gallon can of paint or is it limited to just the cup it comes with?

Asked by
Hag
Show Low
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
May 29, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mrcpu
Medford, OR, USA
May 30, 2013
It is limited to the cups provided for the regular sprayer or the smaller cup that comes with the fine detail sprayhead.

I believe that the canister is slightly pressurized to force paint into the pickup, which would not be as easy to do for the price point with a longer tube and having to come up with some mechanism to seal/pressurize the other containers.

However, I found just slapping a spout on the 1 gallon can, and having it close by, it really didn't interrupt the workflow much to unscrew, pour, rethread and start spraying again, plus it gives your arm and shoulder a little break from holding it... :) It took about 10 minutes to spray a small bedroom and that included 1 fill.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
vince
Buffalo, NY, USA
May 30, 2013
It's limited to the cup
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
May 30, 2013
The Flexio 590 is limited to drawing material directly out of the supplied container. This sprayer works by pressurizing a sealed container and this cannot be accomplished with an accessory put into a can or bucket of material.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Transplanted
North Carolina
May 30, 2013
The Flexio 590 and the 570 kit does not come with a hose assembly, nor is it offered as an option. There also is no mention of this feature within the operator's manual.
One would think you'd be able to just connect a length of hose to the bottom of the suction tube and that would enable you to utilize the paint gun as you describes however, seeing as there's no mention of this, I would tend to lean on the fact of the turbine motor now additionally working to draw paint along the length of this hose, that it would effect the overall quality of the sprayed material.
I would just utilize the provided cup. I just painted a 14'x12' workshop and didn't find the provided cup an issue at all.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Firehawk92
May 30, 2013
Because this is a pressurized air system, it is limited to the cup that is supplied.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Homeremodeler533
Madison, WI, USA
May 30, 2013
No, you are just limited to the cup that comes with the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Mikkel1955
South Milwaukee, WI, USA
May 31, 2013
The kit does not come with one. From the way it works, I do not think you could make it work with one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
RednexToyz
Aromas, CA, USA
June 25, 2013
The kit only includes the paint cups. You might want to consider an alternative Wagner product if you desire to draw paint from a larger container.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
ThisOldGarageNJ
NJ
June 26, 2013
Only the cup it comes with, but it does hold about a quart of paint..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
September 28, 2013
No, the Flexio depends on partially pressurizing the cup -- if you want to feed right from the can, you need to look at a larger unit. But if you're doing a really big job, you would want something where the power unit isn't part of the sprayer -- it's a lot lighter.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Jerry
Houston,TX
October 5, 2013
No it did not. I also don't think you could even rig it to do it either.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you spray wicker outside furniture?

Asked by
Linda
Huntsville,AL.
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
June 9, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
June 10, 2013
Yes, that is a perfect project to use the Flexio 590 for.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMMToolMan
California
June 19, 2013
Yes, I think spraying wicker is the most practical approach.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Transplanted
North Carolina
June 20, 2013
Yes the iSpray and Detail Finish nozzle will both give you the ability to spray outside wicker furniture with ease...Just don't spray it on too thick. Better using 2 coats than one thick one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mrcpu
Medford, OR, USA
June 21, 2013
Sure. Use the detail sprayer and slightly thin your paint, should work great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Brian
MD
June 22, 2013
I certainly do not see why you would not be able too. This sprayer is very versatile with many, many options where other sprayers have issues with viscosity...this one certainly does not.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RednexToyz
Aromas, CA, USA
June 25, 2013
You should be able to spray wicker. Verify first that the paint you are choosing to apply is ok for use on wicker.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
ThisOldGarageNJ
NJ
June 26, 2013
Yes, with a good latex paint this product would work great for that
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Mikkel1955
South Milwaukee, WI, USA
July 1, 2013
It depends on what you are spraying. For most paints, it will work just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
JDW1865
OK
September 13, 2013
yes you can.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
September 28, 2013
If you're asking if the Flexio is suitable for use outdoors, the answer is yes.

If you're asking whether the Flexio is good for a irregular surface like wicker, again I would say yes -- I just finished painting the wooden lattice on my front porch, and it made quick and easy work of it.

You might consider the size of the job: one small chair might be cheaper and easier to paint with a can or two of spray paint; but if you're talking about a bunch of chairs and a table, say, the Flexio could certainly get the job done, probably faster than with spray cans.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the nozzle size for spraying undiluted paint

Asked by
JC
Idaho
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
May 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LindaPB
Palm Bay, FL, USA
May 26, 2013
It has ispray technology, sprays residential paints unthinned.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Judson
Knoxville, TN, USA
May 28, 2013
The nozzle size only affects the width of the spray. For undiluted paint, the two things that matter is that you use the iSpray attachment (not the detail sprayer) and that you use a very high speed setting - I recommend sticking with 9 for standard interior/exterior unthinned paint.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
May 28, 2013
The Flexio 590 comes with two spray heads. One is the iSpray nozzle - which you would use with unthinned latex paint. The other is the detail nozzle which would typically be used with thinner materials as well as thinned latex paint.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mrcpu
Medford, OR, USA
May 29, 2013
It's an HVLP-type sprayer, so nozzle size (in reference to airless sprayers) is different. It will (tested personally) spray undiluted primer and latex paint (including porch and floor paint) straight from the can without additives or thinning.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Daniel
Califronia
June 1, 2013
Up to about 12" Wide spray pattern. Sprayed undiluted Behr premium latex primer/paint with no issue using iSpray nozzle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Flagtrax
AZ
July 5, 2013
Although it is advertised as being able to spray unthinned paints, I had no success spraying unthinned latex. In addition it sputtered, drooled and spattered at any thickness. The Nozzle is plastic not like an airless sprayer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
September 28, 2013
The Flexio 590 is designed to use most paints unthinned; for fairly thick latex paints, for example, you set the power unit to its highest setting and set the flow rate knob on the trigger for maximum. The nozzle itself is not adjustable beyond setting the width of the pattern, and its direction.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have to dilute the paint?

Asked by
Sassy1
IL
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
June 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
June 3, 2013
If using the iSpray nozzle, you should not have to dilute latex paint in order to spray it. It will spray unthinned latex paint. If you wish to use the detail finish nozzle, you will possibly have to thin latex paint in order to spray it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Transplanted
North Carolina
June 20, 2013
The Flexio 590 has the ability to spray paint without dilution. I've not tried it spraying the new, all-in-one paint with primer added, but used this spray system to paint my outside workshop with undiluted exterior latex paint without any problems whatsoever. It sprayed very nicely.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mrcpu
Medford, OR, USA
June 21, 2013
For me, out of the box, the ispray nozzle sprays latex (including porch and floor paint, which seems a bit heavier), straight from the can.

For the detail sprayer, you will probably have to thin latex paint a bit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RednexToyz
Aromas, CA, USA
June 25, 2013
I have not found a need to dilute my paint, however this may vary by paint type and/or brand to achieve your desired results.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mikkel1955
South Milwaukee, WI, USA
July 1, 2013
The ispray spray head will spray most paints without thinning. You may need to thin the paint when using the detail spray head.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Flagtrax
AZ
July 5, 2013
Although it is advertised as being able to spray unthinned paints, I had no success spraying unthinned latex. In addition it sputtered, drooled and spattered at any thickness.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
September 28, 2013
The instructions generally recommend against thinning the paint. The Flexio 590 is capable of spraying fairly thick unthinned latex paints with no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can it spray Stain and varnish??

Asked by
dan
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
June 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
June 3, 2013
Yes you can spray stains and varnish with the Wagner Flexio 590. You will use the smaller of the two spray heads, the detail finish nozzle, when working with thinner materials like Stain and Varnish.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Transplanted
North Carolina
June 20, 2013
Yes the Detail Finish nozzle will give you the ability to spray stain and varnish. You will need to check the Flash Point of each product against the minimum Flash Point specified within your Owner's Manual, to include any cleanup solvents used as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Brian
MD
June 22, 2013
I sprayed waterbase deck & fence sealer on my fence and it worked great...clean up was a breeze too.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RednexToyz
Aromas, CA, USA
June 25, 2013
You should have no problem applying stain or varnish with this product. Be sure not to allow the varnish to cure in the gun or clean-up may become a problem. A water based varnish might be your safest solution.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ThisOldGarageNJ
NJ
June 26, 2013
I have spray stained my fence, About 150 feet of Lattice, 7ft sections x 6 ft high with no problems, worked flawlessly
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Mikkel1955
South Milwaukee, WI, USA
July 1, 2013
Yes. It works well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
September 28, 2013
I see no reason why it wouldn't work pretty well for stain. The Flexio 590 has a continuously variable power level, and the trigger is adjustable for different flow rates. It can accommodate very thin through fairly thick coatings. Cleaning up water-based materials is quite a bit easier, of course. I would be more concerned about varnish: the Flexio blows a lot of air, so you're more likely to embed dust into the material.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When spraying trim and moulding (in garage or shop) before installation, does the Detail Finish nozzle have any advantage over the iSpray nozzle?

Asked by
wjb-49
Triad Area, N. C.
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
June 19, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
June 20, 2013
The iSpray nozzle with give you a "roller-like" finish and will spray unthinned latex. If you desire a smoother, finer finish the advantage of the Detail Finish Nozzle is that it can achieve that.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Transplanted
North Carolina
June 20, 2013
The Detail Finish nozzle has the advantage of being able to spray finishing solvents such as lacquers and poly finishes using a somewhat narrower spray pattern. The iSpray nozzle has the ability to spray a much broader pattern but also with a stipple effect resembling that of a paint roller. If your after a smooth appearance finish on your trim and molding then I would certainly use the Detail Finish nozzle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mrcpu
Medford, OR, USA
June 21, 2013
Yes. The detail nozzle makes a smaller pattern and as such, has much less overspray for doing small fine detail (hence the name) work.

However, you may have to thin your paint a bit, as the nozzle is much smaller than the Ispray nozzle.

As an example, I just painted the posts on my step, and holding the nozzle about 6 inches away makes about a 2" wide pattern, (either horizontal or vertical, depending on how you rotate the nozzle).

However, with the thin paint, the coat is not as thick, so you might have to double up.

Also, the detail nozzle (at least with the thinned latex I used) seems to give a finer spray and as such, on gloss paint, looks more smooth, as opposed to the ispray where it still has the roller texture.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RednexToyz
Aromas, CA, USA
June 25, 2013
The detail nozzle will allow you to spray smaller objects, such as trip or finer detail with less paint used.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mikkel1955
South Milwaukee, WI, USA
July 1, 2013
It depends on how wide the molding is. The detail spray head has a smaller pattern, so you get less over-spray on narrow trim.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
DreamDecora
Pearland, TX, USA
August 25, 2013
Depends on the paint type you are selecting.
If it is Oil based paint - detail will have tough time to get paint out from this spray gun. so you have to use Ispray nozzle

If it is regular paint, Detail will be a good option.

Is it a plain molding or Ornate molding ( with lot of decoration cuts )
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
December 21, 2013
Yes, the detail nozzle is designed to produce a smoother finish and a tighter pattern. The iSpray nozzle give a more roller-like finish.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use this paint sprayer to paint my concrete block wall with masonary paint?

Asked by
Herb
Rio Rancho, NM
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
June 29, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mikkel1955
South Milwaukee, WI, USA
July 1, 2013
If I remember correctly, this paint is about like drywall primer. Unless you can thin it down to normal paint consistency, you will not be happy using this sprayer for this. It will probably spray it at max turban speed, but it will not generate a good spray pattern. I think you would do better with a long nap roller.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JerryY
Dallas, TX
July 1, 2013
The Flexio works with latex and oil based paints. Masonry is normally oil-based but some may be latex-based as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Aaron
July 1, 2013
I used the Behr paint and primer In-One which is a very heavy thick paint for a recent project and the sprayer performed extremely well without having to thin the paint. I am very pleased with the results. I think the sprayer is up to the job. It is very well constructed and performed quite well for me. Good luck and go for it, and have fun.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
July 2, 2013
You can use the Flexio 590 to spray your concrete wall with masonry paint. However if it is a solvent based masonry paint, both the paint and what you clean it up with must have a flashpoint of above 70 degrees. If you have any further questions please feel free to call us at (800)328-8251.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ThisOldGarageNJ
NJ
July 5, 2013
My first project with this was to spray a 60 year old never painted concrete block exterior wall. I used exterior latex concrete paint from Behr. I thinned it with 1 cup of watrer per gallon, and gave it 2 coats. It sprayed beautifully. Little overspray. great coverage.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
December 21, 2013
Yes, I used mine for exactly that purpose. In my instance it was a Behr water-based material, and it worked just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will either nozzle, iSpray or Detail Finish, spray alkyd primer without thinning?

Asked by
wjb-49
Triad Area, N. C.
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
June 19, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
June 20, 2013
Using the iSpray nozzle you can spray an alkyd primer without thinning.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bellairegirl55
Houston, Texas
June 20, 2013
I was not able to make either nozzle spray alkyd - thinned or not. All It would do is spit the paint.
I decided to return my sprayer because I had purchsed it to spray kitchen and garage cabinets with alkyd paint.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Transplanted
North Carolina
June 20, 2013
Yes, without thinning, no problem. You just need to check the Flash Point of all the products used, to include cleaning solvents to ensure they fall within the minimum Flash Point within your Owner's Manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Flagtrax
AZ
July 5, 2013
Although it is advertised as being able to spray unthinned paints, I had no success spraying unthinned latex. In addition it sputtered, drooled and spattered at any thickness.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
December 21, 2013
Probably yes, but you should check the instructions for the particular primer you have in mind. For example, Benjamin Moore Fresh Start All-Purpose Alkyd Primer (W024) should be sprayed without thinning. The Flexio is capable of spraying even fairly thick materials unprimed, so the main limitation is with the paint, not the sprayer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What's the difference between a flexio 590 and 570 sprayers?

Asked by
Robert
Nashville, Tennessee
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
August 28, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
August 28, 2013
There are two main differences between the 570 and 590.

The 570 is the more basic version. I has two speed settings, and comes with one spray nozzle; the iSpray nozzle. The iSpray nozzle will spray unthinned materials with a roller-like, slightly stippled finish.

The 590 is a variable speed sprayer with 9 speed settings. These extra speeds are helpful when you are going to spray a variety of materials with different thicknesses. The 590 will come with the iSpray nozzle as the 570 does, but also will come with a Detail nozzle, which with proper thinning of materials will spray a finer, more detailed finish - useful on cabinets, woodwork, furniture etc.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JDW1865
OK
September 13, 2013
The flexio 590 comes with a standard nozzle and a fine finish nozzle. The 570 only comes with the standard nozzle. Right now there is a special order package with a 570 with a fine finish nozzle. The 570 air controller only has a high, medium, and low setting. The 590 controller is infinitely variable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
September 28, 2013
There are several differences between the Flexio 570 and 590: first, the 590's power unit has a knob for variable power settings, where the 570 has a switch with just a couple settings. The 590 comes with two spray attachments: the larger one, which comes with the 570, is for larger work; the 590 also has a smaller attachment for finer jobs. And the 590 comes with a plastic carrying case. I can't speak for how well the 570 works, but I'm very pleased with my 590.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jerry
Houston,TX
October 5, 2013
The only thing i could tell was the adjustable air on the 590 is adjustable from 1-10 so to speak where as the 570 is high or low. Which depending on what your spraying with it may make a difference meaning if you have a medium thick paint you would either have to use high which may be to high for the thickness of the paint or low which may not have enough power to push the paint through the head. Given the price difference get the 590.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Faisal
North West, Loudoun Virginia
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 26, 2014
I own both and used them both in multiple projects. 590 allows to have a better control on speed. The speed dial is from 0-9. More speed options give you a better control in different paint materials.
On 570, the speed dial has only 2 options (low & high). Other than that, both are very close in performance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Could I paint a piece of furniture - like a large dresser- in my basement and not have the "mist" from the sprayer coat everything in the basement?

Asked by
ToDo
Saratoga Springs, NY
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
October 5, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
October 5, 2013
There is a certain amount of overspray or "mist" with all sprayers. If you adjust the pressure dial down so that you are using it at the lowest setting but you still have a good pattern it will help with the overspray. You should make sure that everything you don't want paint on is covered though. If you have any other questions please feel free to call us at (800)328-8251.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ruben
Bronx, NY
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 6, 2013
I wouldn't recommend using this that way. I would suggest you get a tarp and fence off the area you will be spraying in and use a mask so you don't inhale the fumes. It would probably be best to take it outside on a nice day.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Andrew
Michigan
December 18, 2013
I would do this only as long as you have a surface protector with a large radius around the dresser just to be safe. Also, as far away from walls and other objects as possible. My basement is unfinished so that'd be the ideal situation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Doresoom
Harvest, AL
January 11, 2014
I wouldn't try it if your basement is finished. There's quite a bit of overspray with the iSpray nozzle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Faisal
North West, Loudoun Virginia
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 26, 2014
Paint particles will become air born and that's why you have to prep the area so the paint particles do not end up where you don't want.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

where do I get filters for Flexio 590?

Asked by
WHigg
Nitro, WV
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
November 29, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
November 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. Unfortunately, this item is not available for replacement parts through The Home Depot. However, it may be beneficial to reach out to the manufacturer of the product. The manufacturer is Wagner and their Customer Service department can be reached at 1-800-328-8251. For more information, please visit your nearest Home Depot store or call HomeDepot.com customer service at 1-800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
November 30, 2013
You can certainly order replacement filters by calling us directly at 1-800-328-8251. We'll be happy to help you order new filters.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
December 21, 2013
I can't find an obvious source for parts for the Flexio series. Probably the best solution would be to contact Wagner directly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Judson
Knoxville, Tenn.
January 23, 2014
I haven't seen them in stores, but you can try calling Wagner and ordering a replacement directly: 1-800-328-8251
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
JDW1865
Skiatook OK
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 23, 2014
There is not a filter as part of the Flexio 590. I use cone paint filters from Home Depot to strain the paint as I fill the paint cup.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

WHAT IS THE MAX PSI RATING OF THIS UNIT?

Asked by
GKING
OHIO
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
May 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
May 28, 2013
At the nozzle the PSI of the Flexio 590 is 3.0 PSI.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mrcpu
Medford, OR, USA
May 29, 2013
It's an HVLP (high volume, low pressure) type sprayer, so I don't think your question will really apply to this type. There are numerous guides available differentiating between airless and HVLP sprayers, I would encourage you to check them out for the pros and cons of each.

I used the 590 to spray undiluted primer and latex paint straight from the can with no issues.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RednexToyz
Aromas, CA, USA
June 25, 2013
This unit does not require an external air source.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
September 28, 2013
The Flexio 570 and 590 don't need an external compressor; they are completely self-powered, so there's no PSI rating.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the iSpray nozzle be used to spray unthinned Porch and Floor Polyurethane Oil Paint?

Asked by
wjb-49
Triad Area, N. C.
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
June 30, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
July 1, 2013
You should be able to spray that through the Flexio 590 with no problems as long as the clean-up is mineral spirits. If you clean it up with mineral spirits you will want to flush it with soapy water and clean water afterwards and then lubricate the seals. Always try spraying the product on a spare piece of wood or cardboard so you can make any adjustments to the spray patterns that are necessary. If you have any further questions please call us at (800)328-8251.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Flagtrax
AZ
July 5, 2013
Although the ad claims it can, I had no success spraying unthinned Latex.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BeckyS
Cheltenham, PA, USA
July 10, 2013
I remember reading all about staining porches specifically in the instruction book. I'm planning on using it to stain our porch. Check the instruction book for the specific guidelines, but I know they are included in there somewhere!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
September 28, 2013
Yes! I just painted my porch lattice, and the Flexio 590 did a very nice job with the paint unthinned.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What to use for thinning different types of paints??

Asked by
wjb-49
Triad Area, N. C.
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
June 30, 2013
It is well known that paints must be thinned for use in the Detail Finish Nozzle. However, what to use as a thinning agent is not discussed. What is used to thin the following:

> Latex (Flood Floetrol ?)
> Oil base (mineral spirits?)
> Alkyd ??
> Polyurethane Porch and Floor paint ??

Thanks in advance for any advice!
 
Products related to my question
 
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
July 1, 2013
When thinning a water based product we recommend a water based paint conditioner. There are many manufacturers of paint conditioner's. I know that we here at Wagner make one (Paint Easy), Flood (Floetrol) along with many others on the market. There is also a paint conditioner for oil based products. The only one I know of is made by Flood and is called Penetrol. You cannot put anything with a flashpoint of less than 70 degrees through our sprayers. Flashpoint is the temperature at which a particular organic compound gives off sufficient vapor to ignite in air. If you have any questions please call us at (800)328-8251.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JerryY
Dallas, TX
July 1, 2013
Latex paint is normally thinned with water.

Oil paints can be thinned with mineral spirits.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
September 28, 2013
Different types of coatings need different kinds of thinners -- you should look to the manufacturer of the paint for the recommended thinner for that particular product. So long as the thinner you choose doesn't attack the plastic parts, the sprayer should be fine with it. I would tend to shy away from acetone or stuff like trichloroethane, for example, since they are hard on some plastics.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jerry
Houston,TX
October 5, 2013
Home Depot had a latex paint thinner with the paint sprayers. Though I never tested the viscosity of the latex paint the sprayer sprayed it flawlessly in high. I am sure they would have something there as well for the lacquer paints as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I spray a ceiling without the pickup tube running out of paint before the cup is mostly empty?

Asked by
Depotfan
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
July 14, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
July 14, 2013
You can spray ceilings with the Flexio 590. It is important to angle the suction tube properly to keep it submerged in paint. I would recommend refilling the container prior to completely running it dry, particularly when spraying at an angle as it may struggle with a nearly empty container when used this way.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JDW1865
OK
September 13, 2013
Yes you can. Just be sure when you assemble the sprayer you point the pick up tube is pointed to the rear of the cup.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
September 28, 2013
The pickup tube is angled at the bottom: if you are going to be aiming the sprayer upward, you would rotate the tube so it points toward the back of the unit. But I don't think this would probably be the best tool to paint a ceiling: you can't hold it so that the nozzle is perpendicular to the surface, so the coverage will be heavier closer to you, and lighter farther away. Also, the idea of standing right beneath the spray mist doesn't sound like my idea of fun. I think I'd stick to a roller for ceilings...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jerry
Houston,TX
October 5, 2013
Yes, you will have to turn the pickup tube to the back so when you are spraying at a no more the 45 degree angle the pain will be as close to the pickup tube for easy painting. When the paint is running low and the tube is unable to pick up anymore paint the sprayer will only blow air and you will know you have to refill it. Once you refill the paint you proceed to painting again. What i did is i left enough wall painting so that once i filled the paint cup full i would paint the wall first then once i had used up some of the paint i would return to ceiling because you do not want paint to be hitting the top side of the sprayer as it could allow paint to flow back in the the gun. Other wise only fill it half way up so that when you are tipping it back at 45degree angle its not going to be flowing back in to the gun.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this spray KILZ Primer ?

Asked by
zipray
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
August 6, 2013
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
August 6, 2013
Yes, the Flexio 590 does spray Kilz Primer, unthinned if using the larger iSpray nozzle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JDW1865
OK
September 13, 2013
Yes this will spray KILZ with the larger nozzle. Even undiluted.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
September 28, 2013
Yes, I just sprayed Kilz latex primer on the lattice of my front porch, and it worked just fine. As the Flexio's instructions note, you don't need to thin it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jerry
Houston,TX
October 5, 2013
Don't know any reason why it wouldn't.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can a nozzle be attached to spray from a 5 gallon can?

Asked by
Robert
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
August 26, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
August 26, 2013
Unfortunately no, there is not an option for a remote suction accessory for the Flexio sprayers. The Flexio uses a tightly sealed container to pressurize the material in order to spray. This cannot be achieved through a suction tube dropped directly into a bucket of paint.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JDW1865
OK
September 13, 2013
no. The paint must be in the bottle of the nozzle. It is pressurized with the air from the back half of the unit. No attachment for 1 or 5 gallon cans.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
September 28, 2013
No, you need to use a different type of sprayer to feed directly from a can. The Flexio 570 and 590 mainly work by Venturi action (like most sprayers), but also pressurize the jar somewhat. I imagine this is to help feed thicker materials without the need for thinning. If you need to feed directly from the can -- if you're painting the exterior of your house, for example -- you will want to look at something larger than the Flexio. Also, since a can-fed unit has the pump on the base, the sprayer itself is a lot lighter, which would be better for a large job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Ruben
Bronx, NY
October 6, 2013
I don't understand the question. It's designed to be used with a 5 gallon paint container, you just put the hoses in and viola!....You just use the drum that the paint comes in.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I spray unthinned enamel paint with the Flexio 590?

Asked by
Steve
NY,NY
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
December 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
December 3, 2013
Yes, using the iSpray Front End that comes with the Flexio 590 you can spray unthinned enamel paint. There is an additional Detail Front End that comes with the Flexio 590 that may require a small amount of thinning to also spray enamel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
December 21, 2013
Yes, in fact Wagner generally recommends against thinning paints. You don't specify whether you mean an oil-based or a latex enamel, but the same holds true for either. Naturally, an oil-based enamel will make for a much more difficult cleanup.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Judd
Sacatomato
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 30, 2013
I'm in the process of painting my kitchen cabinets. I tried spraying unthinned Behr Alkyd paint with the Wagner Flexio 590, and the results were terrible (thick n blotchy.) I returned it the next day n purchased the Graco Truecoat Pro 2. This paint sprayer worked outstanding. I only had the setting on about half of the maximum power output, and painted 18 cabinets in about 15 to 20 mins. Really happy with this sprayer, and can't wait to finish my cabinets.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Transplanted
North Carolina
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 29, 2014
Yes, unthinned enamel can be sprayed. The only product which seems to have some difficulty being sprayed is the paint and primer all-in-ones.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I paint interior floors with clear acrylic finish?

Asked by
prarie princess
Sedan, NM
about Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit on
June 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Wagner Spray Tech
June 4, 2013
As long as it is not a solvent-based material with a flashpoint below 70 degrees, yes you absolutely could use the Flexio 590 for this type of job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RednexToyz
Aromas, CA, USA
June 25, 2013
This product can apply unthinned interior and exterior latex paints,
stains, sealers, urethanes and oil-based materials. Be sure not to tip the gun too far forward during the painting process.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Hate2Paint
Syracuse, NY
December 21, 2013
It might work, but I don't think that would be my first choice. The sprayer normally delivers a finish similar to a roller -- just fine for a wall, but not what I would want for a floor. I would probably opt for a large brush to get the smoothest finish. If you're serious about spraying a material like this, an airless sprayer should give you a better result.

The other consideration is that this sort of sprayer creates a lot of air movement -- not unlike a hair dryer -- so it's apt to stir up any dust in the room. Not what you want settling into your floor finish.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »