Looking for Answers about Cub Cadet 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight?

Customer questions and answers for
Cub Cadet 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight

Introducing the revolutionary new Cub Cadet 3X Three-Stage snow thrower. This industry exclusive cuts through tough packed snow and ice like no other machine available today. The 3X’s unique high-speed Induction Accelerator draws snow through the system, creating an effortless forward motion. No backups. No ride ups. No spill over. This new 3X technology easily cuts through deep snowfall up to 50% faster than two-stage snow throwers. There’s no stopping the next generation of Cub Cadet snow throwers.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions
 | 
41 Answers
Overall rating:
4.12 out of 5
4.1
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Cub Cadet 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight

Question

Lines of Snow Left Behind

Asked by
FirstTimeSnowblower
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
January 7, 2014
We have purchased this snowblower and this is the first year we have used a snowblower. Can you tell us how we can eliminate the lines of snow left to the right and left of snowblower. It's as if it is pushing some snow off to the right and left of snowblower. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CubCadet
January 10, 2014
Hello. We recommend that you operate the snow thrower at a slower speed. That should eliminate the lines you are seeing on either side of the machine. Thank you for your question.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
dep50
Streator, IL
January 23, 2014
I think the lines you are talking about are left from the height adjusters (the blue plastic ). Mine leaves the same lines.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Hondo
South shore Massachusetts
January 23, 2014
Not sure what you mean but after each pass you want to overlap the last pass a couple inches as with any snow blower.
You will get the hang of it after you use it a few times, and maybe even watch how a neighbor does his!

Hope this helped.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
PharmerTim
North Reading, MA
January 24, 2014
Assuming your'e working on a flat driveway (meaning no major divets), then no lines of snow are left behind.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GingerMan
Fairfield, CT
January 23, 2014
I've only had it leave lines if you are going too fast for the amount of snow that needs to be thrown. If it is leaving lines and that bothers you just drop down from speed 6 to 5 or 4 and it will stop that. I honestly don't care if it leaves a line here or there. It is cold, get the job done and get back inside. Any lines left melted in the sun a few hours later anyway.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
MADMAG486
Woodbridge, Woodbridge Township, NJ, USA
February 13, 2014
THAT IS ONE OF THE FLAWS OF THIS UNIT I ALSO PURCHASED IT AND HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM I HAVE SPOKE WITH MTD WHO MAKES CUB CADET AND THEY DONT HAVE ANSWER OF WHY ITS DOING IT
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

will the Cub Cadet 3x series snow blowers handle wet snow without any problems? If so, how much.

Asked by
chuck
Stephens City, Va.
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
September 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CubCadet
September 24, 2013
Hello Chuck. Three-Stage (3X) snow throwers utilize a patented screw-style Induction Accelerator that supplements the separate auger (intake) and internal impeller (discharge) allowing for the management of even greater volumes of snow to be processed more efficiently. This additional feature allows the machine to process up to 50% more snow, as compared with standard two-stage snow throwers of similar width. Thank you for your question.
-9points
3out of 15found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BESOMEONE
SCHAUMBURG ILLINOIS
November 5, 2013
HA GOOD QUESTION WE WILL SEE HOW IT DOES THIS WINTER I JUST BOUGHT A 3X MY SELF ONE TRICK IS IF YOU HAVE WET SNOW AT THE END OF YOU DRIVE WAY BLOW DRY SNOW ON TOP OF IT WAIT TEN MINUTES THEN REMOVE IT PROBLEM SOLVED
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MADMAG486
Woodbridge, Woodbridge Township, NJ, USA
February 13, 2014
WET SNOW IS A BIG NO IT WILL CLOGG AND IF YOU HIT ICE YOU WILL SHEAR PINS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

heated grips?

Asked by
Eric
PA
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
November 17, 2013
does this unit have heated grips?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CubCadet
November 18, 2013
Hello,
This unit does not come with heated hand grips from the factory however, they are an available accessory for this machine. The part number for the heated hand grips kit is, 753-05762B. This part can be ordered directly from the factory at, www.cubcadet.com.
Thank you for your question.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tony
Peabody, MA, USA
November 20, 2013
Eric, the model I purchased does not have heated grips. I have the 357 cc, 28 in. one. I believe the larger model has heated grips as an option. Too bad it's not available on my new one.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MADMAG486
Woodbridge, Woodbridge Township, NJ, USA
February 13, 2014
NO HEATED GRIPS ORDERED THEM FOR MY UNIT WILL LET YOU KNOW IF IT WORKS OUT AS THEY DUE NOT OFFER THEM FOR THIS MODEL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the tranny control using wire or a rod? Also can augur height be adjusted on this model?

Asked by
SumitG
Eden Prairie, MN
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
December 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CubCadet
December 17, 2013
Hello,
The transmission is engaged by a cable.
Yes, the auger height can be adjusted by raising and and lowering the slide shoes.
Thank you for your question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Hondo
Massachusetts
December 31, 2013
Tranny is a coated wire and the auger height is adjusted by raising or lowering the blue slider or skid shoes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MADMAG486
Woodbridge, Woodbridge Township, NJ, USA
February 13, 2014
NO AUGER HEIGHT ADJUSTMENT AND CONTROL IS CABLE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the name brand of the engine ? who makes it ?

Asked by
artdk
rapidcity sd
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
October 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BESOMEONE
SCHAUMBURG ILLINOIS
November 5, 2013
i HEARD YAMAHA MAKES THE ENGINE ITS DEPENDABLE JUST DO ALL THE MAINTENACE AND YOU WONT BE DISAPOINTED
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CubCadet
October 28, 2013
Hello Artdk. The engine on this 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Thrower is made by Cub Cadet. We did not use an outside manufacturer for this engine. Thank you for your question.
+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Cardo111
Rockland County, NY
March 29, 2014
This engine is a Powermore China built engine it does feature a throttle control unlike most of their engines. Powermore is owned by the large manufacturer "MTD" who manufactures many snow throwers on the market today including Cub Cadet.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

will the 3x series snowblower move wet snow and ice without clogging

Asked by
Chuck
Stephens City, Va.
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
September 19, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CubCadet
September 20, 2013
Hello Chuck. We don't recommend using the snowthrower on ice. Three-Stage (3X) snow throwers utilize a patented screw-style Induction Accelerator that supplements the separate auger (intake) and internal impeller (discharge) allowing for the management of even greater volumes of snow to be processed more efficiently. This additional feature allows the machine to process up to 50% more snow, as compared with standard two-stage snow throwers of similar width.
-11points
1out of 13found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MADMAG486
Woodbridge, Woodbridge Township, NJ, USA
February 13, 2014
NO IT WILL CLOGG IT DOES NOT LIKE WET SNOW OR ICE. IF YOU HIT ICE IT SHEARS THE PINS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between the 3x 26 and the 3x 26HD?

Asked by
alangski
New Hampshire
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
October 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CubCadet
October 15, 2013
Hello Alangski. The 3x26HD has an intake height of 23 inches whereas the 3x26 only has an intake height of 21 inches. Thank you for your question.
-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Roadkill
November 2, 2013
The official answer from the Cub Cadet rep neglected to mention that the HD models have a steel discharge chute instead of a polymer (aka plastic) one, and different rotation/control systems to match. You can trivially observe this distinction: the plastic discharge chutes are black, but the steel chutes on the HD models are painted yellow.

Also, the scraper plate (*not* the skid plates) is different on the HD models--it has a two-position configuration that can be adjusted to accommodate wear.

And, yes, as the rep mentioned, the intake height is different as well.

Source: Cub Cadet's website.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Question

Horsepower

Asked by
Shiningtop
Wausau, WI
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
November 26, 2013
How many hp is in the 357 cc. Cub Cadet engine?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CubCadet
November 27, 2013
Hello,

Cub Cadet does not provide horsepower ratings in connection with the engines we design. Cub Cadet specifies engine size and capacity using engine displacement, because it is a highly reliable and consistent way to describe an engine’s capacity.
NOTE: There is no direct mathematical conversion to calculate engine horsepower from engine displacement.
For the following reasons, and in the interest of clarity, Cub Cadet characterizes and labels the engines it designs by displacement only.

1) Displacement is the size of the engine’s cylinder bore multiplied by the distance of its pistons travel or “bore times stroke” as it is frequently described. It is a measurable physical property of the engine and is a consistent and measurable indication of an engine’s capacity.

2) Torque is the amount of twisting force an engine can generate; how much force it can put into turning a lawnmower blade or a drive belt. Torque measurements vary significantly with operating conditions and measurement techniques.

3) Horsepower is a calculated measure that includes torque, engine speed in RPM (Revolutions per Minute) and other factors. Like Torque, horsepower measurements can vary significantly with operating conditions and measurement techniques.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Hondo
January 3, 2014
I was told by the man at Home Depot that the 357 engine is between 13 hp - 14 hp

I performs excellent!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the ethanol gas cause engine / carb problems? If so, what do you recommend for use.

Asked by
gmcomo
marriottsville, md
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
December 10, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CubCadet
December 11, 2013
Hello Gmcomo. Yes, ethanol in the fuel can cause issues with the carburetor. We recommend using fuel that has no more than 10% ethanol. We also recommend adding a fuel stabilizer, such as Sta-Bil, to your fuel tank. Properly mixed in the correct proportion to the gasoline, these products will maintain the chemical stability of your fuel for up to 12 months. Thank you for your question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Benjamin
December 24, 2013
Yes it can. The water in the fuel don'tburn well in the winter. fuel with no ethenol burns hotter better for small engines
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is meant by three stage bower

Asked by
unome
peabody ma
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
December 12, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CubCadet
December 13, 2013
Hello,
Three stages means the snow thrower goes through 3 stages to throw the snow out of the machine.
Three-Stage snow throwers utilize a patented screw-style Induction Accelerator (TM) that supplements the separate auger (intake) and internal impeller (discharge) allowing for the management of even greater volumes of snow to be processed more efficiently. This additional feature allows the machine to process up to 50% more snow, as compared with standard two-stage snow throwers of similar width.
Thank you for your question.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
snowman
Massachusetts
December 16, 2013
The three stages are as follows: the main opposing augers are the first stage, the perpendicular auger is the second stage and the blower blade that throws the snow is the third stage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the tendency for the polymer chute to deflect and turn with heavy snow overcome with the steel chute?

Asked by
Turtle
Concord, NH
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
January 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CubCadet
January 10, 2014
Hello Turtle. The steel chute has been designed to accommodate higher volume to eliminate that issue. Thank you for your question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MADMAG486
Woodbridge, Woodbridge Township, NJ, USA
February 13, 2014
IT WILL NOT TURN WITH HEAVY SNOW YOU WILL HAVE TO CLEAR IT MUST TIMES LIKE 9.9 PERCENT IT WILL CLOGG AND YOU WILL HAVE TO CLEAR IT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between this model and the 31AH55T?

Asked by
labmom
Bear, DE
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
February 14, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Beauty101
Southampton NY
February 17, 2014
If you go to home depot web search for 31AH55T you will see two products. The first product is the Cub Cadet 26" electric start snow blower which is the same with 31AH55T which has 3 stage snow blower capacity. The second one is the Ariens 28" electric snow blower which is wider than cub cadet. The difference though is that Ariens is 2 stage snow blower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CubCadet
Cleveland, Ohio
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 17, 2014
Hello Labmom,
We're sorry, but the model number you have listed is not complete. We will need the last 4 digits off the model number to determine what the differences are between the two.
Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between Home Depot's two 26" 3-stage snowblower.

Asked by
Pamela
Dauphin PA
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
December 8, 2013
I see there are differences in height and weight. Is that it? One is on stock on line and the other is not and I'm not sure if I should be ordering the one the one that is just in stock on line. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Hondo
Massachusetts
December 31, 2013
Get it from your nearest Home Depot because it will be all set up and ready to go!
You don't want to be fiddling around with assembly because it can be a hassle.
The 2 stage and 3 stage throwers differ in horse power and auger design.

Look online for these differences.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Cardo111
Rockland County, NY
March 29, 2014
One is a heavier duty model that has some enhanced features over the standard duty model such as larger tires and a steel discharge chute as outlined in the specifications.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

cub cadet 3 stage snow blower shows width as 265" and weight as 28.5 pounds? model 3x26

Asked by
hav
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
September 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CubCadet
September 4, 2013
Hello Hav. The 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower weight is 256 pounds. The width is 28.75 inches. Thank you for your question.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Lack of gasoline shut off valve. Why is that?

Asked by
John
Rhode Island
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
October 3, 2013
The Cub Cadet 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight Model # 3X 26 does not have a gasoline shut off valve. Why is that? Is there a kit so an owner could install one? I am considering buying this model, but am put off by the lack of a shut off valve. All other snowblowers I have looked at have this valve.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CubCadet
October 4, 2013
Hello John, thank you for your question. We do not manufacture this machine with a fuel shut off valve because doing so can potentially create a fuel leak. I appologize but we do not offer a kit to add a fuel shut off valve to the snow thrower. Thank you again for your inquiry.
-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Question

why is this snowblow buil difrent ie lighter parts for home depot than a cub cadet dealer

Asked by
erab
saco maine
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
October 9, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CubCadet
October 10, 2013
Hello Erab. The snowthrowers that are sold at Home Depot are no different than those sold through independent Cub Cadet dealers. Thank you for your question.
+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

Why isn't home depot participating in Cub Cadet 10% off event this week?

Asked by
Snowshopper
Willmar, MN
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
October 14, 2013
I was excited to see 10% off sale on Cub Cadet website went to Home Depot and was informed they are not participating in the sale. Why Not?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
October 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. Unfortunately, we are not made aware of promotional codes and/or sales in advance. The Cub Cadet 10% sale is through Cub Cadet, not The Home Depot. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

I HEAR their is a rebate of 50 dollars for snowblowers with power steering

Asked by
bill
stoneham, ma 02180
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
November 13, 2013
Is their a rebate of 50 dollars for the x3 models
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
November 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. Here is a description of our Price Matching policy: *If you find a current lower price on an identical, in-stock item from any local retailer, we will match the price and beat it by 10%. Excludes special orders, bid pricing, volume discounts, open-box merchandise, labor and installation, sales tax, rebate and free offers, typographical errors and online purchases.* For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

I want to buy the 30" 3X HD, when are you going to have an available stock at home depot?

Asked by
junm
Teaneck, NJ
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
November 22, 2013
I'm buying as soon as you have it in stock.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
November 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. This item is currently in stock. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

what store near alpharetta georgia has this snowblower in stock

Asked by
fudge
about 26 in. Three-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight on
February 25, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Hondo
South shore Massachusetts
February 26, 2014
I'm from Massachusetts so I wouldn't know, but if I were you, I'd call all the local Home Depots in your area!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1