Looking for Answers about GE Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking?

Customer questions and answers for
GE Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking

Your GE Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel has Sensor Cooking controls that automatically adjust time and power. Defrosting times and Power levels are programmed automatically or manually for optimal results. Electronic Touch controls with Scrolling digital display and clock are easy to operate. GE Profile products offer the best in contemporary design matched with the latest in appliance technologies to transform the way you live. Sporting a bold, dramatic look and state of the art features, this collection provides the perfect combination of style and innovation throughout your kitchen.
Customer questions and answers:
46 Questions
 | 
58 Answers
Overall rating:
4.243 out of 5
4.2
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking

Question

Trim kit problems

Asked by
papalard
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
July 21, 2015
I bought this microwave, and trim kit JX7230SFSS, but I am having problems. When I test fit the trim kit onto the microwave, and cabinet opening the door gets hung up. It is almost as if the trim kit is not large enough to use with this microwave. Everything seems to be installed properly, but I can't seem to figure out what the problem is. I don't want to have to do any modifications to the kit to make it work. The cabinet opening is 28x16.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 24, 2015
Hello papalard - this is Nancy at GE Appliances. I'm sorry to hear that your microwave door is not opening properly with the trim kit and I'm happy to help you. The JX7230SFSS is the proper trim kit for 30" cabinets. The cabinet cutout dimension; however, should be 16-3/4" High x 25-1/2" wide. Please see the following link showing the specifications: http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/76/76580477-0b59-45e5-8460-6da9d5ae2f79.pdf I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is min. cllearance for a microwave installation in recessed shelf cabinet

Asked by
jpbuchanan
fl
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
July 14, 2015
I have a 16" tall x 27" wide open cabinet to install a microwave.. What are the min.
clearance measurements needed at top, on sides and in rear of unit?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 20, 2015
Hi jpbuchanan-this is Sue from GE Appliances. We are excited to hear of your interest! Microwaves need adequate air clearance on each side, the rear and the top to function properly. This allows good circulation for the intake and discharge air vents. We recommend 3" of clearance on both sides and the top and 1" clearance in the rear. The front edge of the microwave (measured at door) should sit at least 3" or more back on the counter or shelf to avoid accidental tipping. Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If countertop models are not recommeded to be enclosed in tight spaces, such as a cabinet, why are trim kits sold for this purpose?

Asked by
Sasfras
Garland, Tx
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
July 10, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 13, 2015
Hi Sasfras-this is Sue from GE Appliances. Thanks for your interest! We do not recommend installing them in tight spaces, like a cabinet, without an optional built-in trim kit. Microwaves need adequate air clearance on each side, the rear and the top to function properly. This allows good circulation for the intake and discharge air vents. The optional built-in trim kits will allow the necessary venting and clearances. The Optional Built-In Trim Kits for this model are JX7230SFSS (30") and JX7227SFSS (27"). Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

NEED REPLACE A FORMER MODEL

Asked by
maria
the woodlands texa
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
June 25, 2015
HI
I need to replace my former microwave oven (build-it) MOD. JE2160SFOI and use the same frame, which model is good for me ?
Thanks
Maria
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 2, 2015
Hi Maria,
Model PEB7226SF will fit in the same space as your current model:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-Profile-2-2-cu-ft-Countertop-Microwave-in-Stainless-Steel-with-Sensor-Cooking-PEB7226SFSS/204478561?keyword=peb7226sf
You will need to use the trim kit that comes with that unit:
Built-In Kit (Optional)
JX7230SFSS 30 inch
JX7227SFSS 27 inch
They are not interchangeable.
Thanks for checking. Lisa from GE Appliances.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My opening is 251/2 W x 163/4 H x 233/8 D. Will this model fit and what trim kit would go with it?

Asked by
Chiefref27
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
June 18, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 19, 2015
Hi Chiefref27-this is Sue from GE. The compatible optional built-in trim kits are 30" Built-In Trim Kit JX7230SFSS (29 3/4"W x 19 1/8"H) and 27" Built-In Trim Kit JX7227SFSS (26 3/4"W x 19 1/8"H). The cutout dimensions are approximately 16 3/4"H x 25 1/2"W. The minimum depth with receptacle outside cabinet 19 1/2” and the minimum depth with receptacle inside cabinet 19 1/2”. On 27” models, allow 1 1/4” at the top, 9/16” on the sides and 1” at the bottom for overlap of the Trim Frame over the edges of the cutout. On 30” models, allow 1 1/4”at the top, 2 1/8” on the sides and 1” at the bottom for overlap of the Trim Frame over the edges of the cutout. Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My 25 year old microwave is GE Model JEM32H 200 with trim kit JX8H/JX8HW. Will Model # PEB7226DFWW fit the same cabinet opening as a replacement?

Asked by
themom
san diego, ca
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
July 10, 2015
I understand it would require replacing the trim kit also. If not, what current GE built in model could replace it?

pmp
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 16, 2015
Hi themom-this is Sue from GE Appliances. We certainly appreciate your loyalty! The most comparable model is our GE PROFILE™ SERIES 1.1 CU. FT. COUNTERTOP MICROWAVE OVEN PEM31DFWW and Optional 27" Built-In Trim Kit JX827DFWW. The Approximate Dimensions for JX827DFWW are 16-1/2"H x 26-7/8"W. Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I am replacing Microwave PEB2060smss is PEB7226sfss its' replacment and will my old trim kit work with it?

Asked by
Jack
Baton Rouge<LA
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
May 22, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 24, 2015
Hello Jack - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. I'm sorry that your current microwave is no longer working. Yes, the PEB7226SFSS is the perfect replacement model for the PEB2060SMSS. You would not be able to use your old trim kit as they have changed over the years and are not interchangeable. The good news is that the cabinet cutout opening is similar for both trim kits. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I remove and re-install the trim on my 27-year old Monogram JET 343G-001 built-in microwave oven?

Asked by
Carlton
San Diego
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
June 30, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 6, 2015
Hi Carlton-this is Sue from GE Appliances. Please contact our GE Answer Center at 1-800-626-2000. The Answer Center is open Monday - Friday 8am-10pm EST and Saturdays 8am-7pm EST. Closed Sunday. Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use the kitchen timer and cook at the same time on this model?

Asked by
grayback
Fort Wayne IN
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
June 28, 2015
We went to replace our old 2.2 cu.ft. microwave(another brand). The new model will not cook if you are using the timer.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 3, 2015
Hello,
This is Lisa from GE. I am happy to help. The Timer On/Off operates as a minute timer and can be used at any time, even when the oven
is operating.
1. Press Timer On/Off.
2. Enter the amount of time you want to count down
3. Press Timer On/Off to start.
When the time is up, the oven will signal. To turn off the timer signal, press Timer On/Off.
Note: The timer indicator will be it while the timer is operating.

Thank you for checking with us.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a slate equivalent for the JX7227SFSS for the PED7226EHES?

Asked by
Culbles
Ft Worth TX
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
May 25, 2015
I am replacing my kitchen appliances and am going with Slate. The PED7226EHES will fit in my existing cabinet without any modifications. The total width of my cabinet is 29 inches so a 30 inch trim would not work. The picture associated with this product shows a Slate trim for the PED7226EHES.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 27, 2015
Hello Culbles - this is Michelle with GE and I am happy to help. At this time, GE does not offer a Slate version of the JX7227SFSS. Thank you for checking.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this microwave be installed safely in a cabinet? Confused!

Asked by
Culbles
Ft. Worth TX
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
May 25, 2015
I am confused by the answers here. I am replacing a 31 year old microwave 14"x24" in my existing cabinets and do not want to remodel the cabinets for a new 30" microwave. Since this microwave is a countertop model the mounting answer seems to be "no". Yet you give clearance dimensions and p/n for mounting brackets both for 30" and 27". So, if the two microwaves, my old and the new, are the same size 14"x24" and the new 2.2 cu.ft microwave has a mounting kit, can the new microwave be safely installed in the existing cabinet?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 27, 2015
Hello Culbles - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. That is great that your were able to receive 31 years of service from your previous microwave! If you are now needing to replace it, and it is built into your cabinet, then it will need a trim kit. Your 31 year old trim kit would not work with a new microwave as they have changed over the years. We recommend checking the trim kit cabinet cutout dimensions, and then matching the trim kit cutout dimensions with the new microwave trim kit cutout dimensions. If you need help, just let us know the model number of your current microwave and trim kit, and we'll let you know the best replacement model. Thanks for contacting GE! I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DesigningWoman
May 26, 2015
Hello Culbles and thank you for your question.

Because of ventilation issues, the manufacturer does not recommend installing countertop microwaves in tight spaces like a cabinet.

Best wishes on your project.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I in case the microwave with cabinetry?

Asked by
shannon
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
May 21, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 22, 2015
Hello shannon - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. Microwaves need adequate air clearance on each side, the rear and the top to function properly. This allows good circulation for the intake and discharge air vents.
For countertop models: 3" of clearance on both sides and the top; 1" clearance in the rear. The front edge of the microwave (measured at door) should sit at least 3" or more back on the counter or shelf to avoid accidental tipping. If located on the counter near a range, we recommend locating it at least 2 ft away. Do not remove the feet of the microwave, as it can affect air circulation and make the microwave less stable. Do not place cookbooks, small appliances, or other items on top of the microwave. These microwaves are intended for countertop use only. We do not recommend installing them in tight spaces, like a cabinet. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
May 21, 2015
No, this product is for counter use.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I have to replace my GE Spacemaker II microwave model #JEM25WF001.

Asked by
WMMOF40Y
Mesa, AZ
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
May 13, 2015
My microwave is built into a cabinet. i love all the features of this microwave and would like one with the same features, but with at least 1000 watts. What microwave should I purchase? It must fit in the same cabinet and have a trim kit available. What all is included in the trim kit?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 14, 2015
Hi,
This is Lisa from GE. I am happy to help. Please take a look at model PEM31DFWW:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-Profile-1-1-cu-ft-Countertop-Microwave-in-White-PEM31DFWW/204633791?keyword=pem31dfww
Thanks for checking.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Cutout Height

Asked by
Steve
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
March 28, 2015
My existing cutout height is 17.5". The manual calls for a cutout height of 16.75" plus or minus 1/8". Will I still be able to mount the trim kit with the extra cutout height without a problem and have less wall overhang on the top or will there be an issue?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 29, 2015
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. We recommend checking with your cabinet company to see if there is a way to adjust your cabinet opening. Since our appliances have been designed to meet specific requirements, we do not support altering or changing any aspect of the design or installation. We're glad you asked!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this model the correct replacement for discontinued JEB1860SM1SS?

Asked by
RandR
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
March 14, 2015
We have built-in microwave JEB1860SM1SS which is discontinued. Would this be the correct replacement to buy?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 15, 2015
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. Yes, the PEB7226SFSS would be a great replacement microwave for your JEB1860SM1SS. Please keep in mind that we recommend using the new trim kit as they have changed over the years. The good news is that the cabinet cutout dimensions needed are similar. Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Ge microwave replacement

Asked by
Jlcdl
Nj
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
March 7, 2015
I have a ge profile je2160sf01 microwave that had just died.. What can I get to replace that will fit in same area perfectly??
Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 8, 2015
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. The replacement microwave for the JE2160SF01 would be the PEB7226SFSS. The good news is that it will fit in your current cabinet cutout. However, you will have to purchase the new trim kit that matches this microwave as they have changed and are not interchangeable. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a replacement for JE2160SF03 that has the same dimensions?

Asked by
Jack
Lithia, FL
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
February 24, 2015
Our GE Profile microwave just died. Wondering if there is any current model with the same dimensions as JE2160SF03 so we can reuse our trim. Thanks in Advance.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 26, 2015
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. Due to different configurations and design changes involving airflow and heat issues, new microwaves are only approved for installation with current trim kits. Model PEB7226SFSS will work in the same cutout as your current unit. This model uses a different built in trim kit, JX7230SFSS (30 inch) or JX7227SFSS (27 inch) but the cut-out dimensions are the same so you would not need to alter the cutout opening. However, you will need to use the trim kit that is required for this model. None of the built-in installation kits are totally interchangeable. GE recommends using the trim kit and hardware that is designed for the specific microwave. I hope this helps. Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the turntable motion be turned off ???

Asked by
Baldy
AZ
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
January 30, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 1, 2015
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. This microwave does not have the turntable on/off feature. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does GE manufacture a 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel that has an under-cabinet hanging kit?

Asked by
RenovationOne
Venice, Florida
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
January 29, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 1, 2015
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. I'm sorry, the only microwave sizes that we offer with the optional hanging kit are 1.1 or 7.0 cubic feet. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Our 12 year old built in GE microwave JE1860SB 003 died. What would be the best replacement?

Asked by
Cbabey
Scottsdale
about Profile 2.2 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
January 25, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 26, 2015
Hello,

This is Michelle with GE and I am happy to help you.

Although GE no longer offers a microwave with the same dimensions, the current model JES2051SN is the closest with the following dimensions:

13-3/4" H x 24-1/8" W x 19-1/2" D

For more information on this current model, please see the following Home Depot link:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-2-0-cu-ft-Countertop-Microwave-in-Stainless-Steel-JES2051SNSS/203548023?keyword=JES2051SN

Thank you for checking.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »