SusanVT
  • Review count
    123
  • Helpfulness votes
    195
  • Average rating
    4.2
    4.2 out of 5
  • First Review:
    November 6, 2011
  • Last Review:
    January 22, 2016
 
  • Question count
    1
     
    • Answer count
      22
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        123
      • Helpfulness votes
        195
      • Average rating
        4.2
        4.2 out of 5
      • First Review:
        November 6, 2011
      • Last Review:
        January 22, 2016
       
      • Question count
        1
         
        • Answer count
          22
           
           
           
           
          SusanVT's Reviews
           
          Ideal for clearing snow from sidewalks, driveways and decks, the Snow Joe Ion Hybrid provides easy and convenient CORD-FREE operation or unlimited electric power. Powered by Eco Sharp technology, Snow Joe’s patent pending rechargeable 40-Volt lithium-Ion battery system, the Ion delivers up to 52 minutes of whisper-quiet run time with zero carbon emission s for cleaner air. No pull-cords, gas, oil, tune ups or tangled extension cords to cause unnecessary frustration. If you have a longer job to do, just grab an extension cord and plug it in for instant snow removing power. The Ion starts instantly with a simple push of a button and its adjustable handle maximizes user comfort during use. Equipped with a heavy duty, steel auger with 2 rubber blades, the Ion moves up to 500 lbs. of snow per minute, clearing a path 18 in. wide x 8 in. deep with each pass. Plus, the rubber scraper bar at the base of the unit lets you clear right to the ground without damaging your deck or pavement. Featuring a 180° auto-rotate chute that rotates instantly with the push of a switch, the Ion lets you throw snow up to 20 ft. in the direction you want it to go. Compared to heavier gas and electric powered units, the Ion weighs only 32 lbs. so you can easily carry it onto your snow-filled deck to clear out fast. For nighttime snow removal, the Ion has an integrated LED headlight that quickly switches on to increase visibility. Get Equipped this winter with the Snow Joe Ion 18SB-HYB.
           
          from Vermont, USA
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A little bit better than using a snow shovel
          PostedJanuary 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Features 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of use 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          It was quick and easy to assemble this machine from the box. This machine runs on battery or electricity with an attached power cord. It's relatively lightweight compared to gasoline models and can easily handle a few inches of snow. You can direct the snow throw using a switch -- no cranking anything. The wheels are big enough so that they will roll through a few inches of snow. I would much rather have self-propelled wheels on any machine that throws snow. If it had a self-propelling mechanism that would really make this machine more worthwhile than a shovel.
          We got to use this machine once so far this season...and we really were about the max snow height for this machine. (8") We ran just
          Read More
          It was quick and easy to assemble this machine from the box. This machine runs on battery or electricity with an attached power cord. It's relatively lightweight compared to gasoline models and can easily handle a few inches of snow. You can direct the snow throw using a switch -- no cranking anything. The wheels are big enough so that they will roll through a few inches of snow. I would much rather have self-propelled wheels on any machine that throws snow. If it had a self-propelling mechanism that would really make this machine more worthwhile than a shovel.
          We got to use this machine once so far this season...and we really were about the max snow height for this machine. (8") We ran just on battery and did so for a long time. It never got sluggish. I did have to tilt the machine to get the top layer of snow because it will not work in any deep snow. It did a good job clearing the snow away and leaving a flat walking surface.
          Although the machine isn't really light, it was light enough so that I could lift it the few steps to clear our front porch. Having the ability to easily direct the snow with a switch was really nice in that area.
          This machine is handy. I would suggest that if there's going to be a big snowfall, this machine should be used after every 4-6" inches falls. We normally go out once at the end of the snowfall....so you'll be getting a little more outdoor time. I suppose going out every couple of hours is better than breaking your back with a shovel at the end of the storm. This machine would be perfect in places where they get snow, but usually not a lot.
          Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Store, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
          Cons: not self-propelled
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          Video Review:
          (click to see the video)
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          ClosetMaid’s collection home organization accessories improves the functionality inside your closet or throughout the home. These simple solutions assemble in no time making organization quick and easy. Pair multiple items to personalize your space.
           
          from Vermont, USA
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Received free product:Yes
          Good for long-term shoe storage, not everyday shoes
          PostedJanuary 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I intended to get this shoe organizer to use in the mudroom. But that plan went out the door when I opened the package and learned that the "shelves" are actually fabric. I really did need a shoe organizer in my closet so it worked out well for me.
          It was simple to put together. I did have to do some double-takes and undo connections to one of the side panels because even though I had the panel with the 3 holes on the bottom as depicted in the drawing, I had the panel with the wrong side facing in.
          The installation just involves slipping metal rods into the sleeves of the fabric liners and then screwing them to the side panels using the hex wrench provided. One straight fabric piece is set
          Read More
          I intended to get this shoe organizer to use in the mudroom. But that plan went out the door when I opened the package and learned that the "shelves" are actually fabric. I really did need a shoe organizer in my closet so it worked out well for me.
          It was simple to put together. I did have to do some double-takes and undo connections to one of the side panels because even though I had the panel with the 3 holes on the bottom as depicted in the drawing, I had the panel with the wrong side facing in.
          The installation just involves slipping metal rods into the sleeves of the fabric liners and then screwing them to the side panels using the hex wrench provided. One straight fabric piece is set on the bottom and another with multiple folds is used for the front slant and back pocket. Attaching this second fabric took a little extra thought process. I think if the picture instructions showed the piece positioned in a flat state first relative to the sides, it might have been a quicker install.
          Because the "shelves" are fabric, you won't want to store shoes that might be wet or dirty from wear outside. This organizer is a good way to display your shoes and keep them organized. The instructions indicated that you can attach a second organizer making it twice as tall. Wood dowels are provided for this purpose. However, the instructions state that the max you can stack is two.
          Because the "shelves" are fabric, this is a very lightweight shoe organizer. The panels are laminate. But because the organizer is on the floor, you really aren't going to know it's not real wood. It looks nice.
          Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight
          Cons: shoes get dirty and a fabric shelf will get dirty
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Make clean up fast and easy with the Quickie Stand and Store lobby broom and dustpan combo. The lobby style dustpan holds all types of indoor and outdoor debris; wet or dry. Its patented flip-locking system allows you to sweep up messes and flip the dustpan in an upright position so it will not spill out of the pan. The lobby broom is made with the finest broom fibers for sweeping all types of surface debris, both large and small. The lobby broom and dustpan snaps together for easy, compact storage while the built-in feet allow you to store the product in an upright position without taking up added space.
           
          from Vermont, USA
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice to have around
          PostedJanuary 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is a nice sweeper to have around for quick clean up. It's extremely lightweight and with the dustpan folded up, stores nicely on the side of my washer. I'm tall so I would have preferred a few more inches on the poles. The broom is about 36" tall from bottom of the bristles to the top of the handle. The dust pan handle top is about 35" from the floor.
          The clip that keeps the broom handle attached to the dust pan handle is a solid plastic. It seems sturdy and works well. The dust pan folds and unfolds easily and locks into either position...so it stays shut when you want it put away and it stays open when you're using it. Because the back side is flat, when folded, it becomes a solid
          Read More
          This is a nice sweeper to have around for quick clean up. It's extremely lightweight and with the dustpan folded up, stores nicely on the side of my washer. I'm tall so I would have preferred a few more inches on the poles. The broom is about 36" tall from bottom of the bristles to the top of the handle. The dust pan handle top is about 35" from the floor.
          The clip that keeps the broom handle attached to the dust pan handle is a solid plastic. It seems sturdy and works well. The dust pan folds and unfolds easily and locks into either position...so it stays shut when you want it put away and it stays open when you're using it. Because the back side is flat, when folded, it becomes a solid base for the set to sit on the floor without having to lean against the wall. You don't have to hang this set.
          I'm not sure if the rubber lip is going to last. It seems like it may want to start curling which means the stuff you're trying to sweep into the dust pan may go under the pan instead of into it. The finer dustier things take a little more effort to get over the edge of the lip too.
          The pan seems to be a bit static-y. (I don't have this issue with my other plastic dust pans.) There's always a thin film of dust that stays on the pan when I dump the contents into the trash. The bristles on the brush are starting to bend out of shape, but there are really a lot of bristles in the broom that a few strays aren't going to impact sweeping action.
          But even with it's imperfections, it is nice to have around since it really is helpful in quick, small clean up situations.
          Read Less
          Pros: very light, Easy to Store
          Cons: handle too short for taller people.
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Hampton Bay 20 in. Bright White LED Round Ceiling Flush Mount Light
          Hampton Bay 20 in. Bright White LED Round Ceiling Flush Mount Light
          This LED light fixture from Hampton Bay features a low-profile design and high-quality illumination that is perfect for kitchens, laundry rooms, garages and basements. Compatible with a variety of dimmer switches, the fixture can be mounted on either a ceiling or wall to provide light anywhere you need it. The lightweight construction makes for easy installation, while the LED technology ensures long-lasting, energy-efficient service.
           
          from Vermont, USA
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          I can see!
          PostedJanuary 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I replaced a light fixture that was labeled efficient with this flush mount light in my laundry room. The walls are painted yellow so that the room would be bright and cheery. But it really never seemed bright enough. I replaced one of the lights with this 20-inch bright white LED and what a difference! The bright white is so much better, especially in a laundry where you're looking to catch those stains for pre-treating.
          The cover is plastic and being all LED, the entire fixture is very light. You can't tell that the cover is plastic once mounted. It really looks nice too.
          Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Clear advantage offers better visibility without compromising durability. You can enjoy up to 50% more natural light and dramatically improve airflow versus standard screening. This lightweight screen has the same easy installation and weathering benefits as standard fiberglass screening.
           
          from Vermont, USA
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Easy to work with
          PostedDecember 12, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I didn't realize that the screen I was replacing had a metal spline. Not knowing how to work this type of frame, I found a YouTube video for instruction. The person demonstrating said that they didn't like to use fiberglass screen with this type of frame. I'm wondering why. He must not have had experience with this Clear Advantage screen. Getting this screen to lie in position and press into place was the easiest I've ever experienced. The screen didn't stretch out of shape and was very easy to keep in place as I pushed the metal spline over it. I had no issues whatsoever installing this screen. There was very little to trim...which is probably why it was easier to keep square. The screen Read More
          I didn't realize that the screen I was replacing had a metal spline. Not knowing how to work this type of frame, I found a YouTube video for instruction. The person demonstrating said that they didn't like to use fiberglass screen with this type of frame. I'm wondering why. He must not have had experience with this Clear Advantage screen. Getting this screen to lie in position and press into place was the easiest I've ever experienced. The screen didn't stretch out of shape and was very easy to keep in place as I pushed the metal spline over it. I had no issues whatsoever installing this screen. There was very little to trim...which is probably why it was easier to keep square. The screen looks great. Although it's hard to miss seeing any screen when looking out, it's more feint than overbearing. I will definitely work with this screen again. Read Less
          Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 25 >>
           
          SusanVT's Questions
           
          The HUSKY Universal Flooring is manufactured from tough, specially formulated polyvinyl that is resistant to most contaminants commonly found in garage and work environments. Helps prevent concrete deterioration, hides cracks and stains, prevents staining on newer floors and creates a moisture barrier. HUSKY flooring is 100% high quality polyvinyl, not layered with filler material that can crack, split, peel and deteriorate. Perfect DIY flooring. Just roll the product out onto your designated area and enjoy, or for a glue option use an acrylic base vinyl adhesive such as Roberts 2310 or 2315 or tape edges with an acrylic based double sided tape such as Roberts MaxGrip. The HUSKY flooring can be trimmed to a perfect fit using a utility knife. Use a single mat for focused area protection or multiple mats to provide wall to wall coverage. Tough enough to be used in the garage, attractive enough to be used everywhere; basements, laundry rooms, trailers, vehicles, schools, stores, workshops, warehouses, exercise rooms, offices and equipment rooms. Anywhere you need attractive high quality flooring that protects.
           

          The specs says this flooring can be used inside or outside. Can this flooring be used on an outdoor patio?

          Asked by
          SusanVT
          December 29, 2014
          We're looking to cover a second floor patio that has a wood base. It's 10' wide by 26' long. Temps in our area can get to just below 0 degrees Fahrenheit to more than 90 degrees Fahrenheit. The sun will be hitting this flooring much of the day during the summer.
           
          SusanVT's Answers
           
          The Swivel-Flex Nylon Dust Mop does just what its name says, it swivels. The patented 360° swivel connector helps you get into corners, along baseboards and into those hard-to-reach spots. The mop cloth is made from 100% virgin nylon yarn that naturally gathers and collects dust.
           

          Can you bend the handle all the way down so it is parallel to the floor to get way under a couch, for example?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          San Diego, CA
          October 3, 2015
          Asked by
          SusanVT
          Vermont, USA
          October 9, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes, you can fully rotate the handle so that the head and handle are on the same plane. You can even rotate so that the mop head faces downward while you have the handle up ... as if you wanted to dust the top of a ceiling fan blade.
           
          With the Schlage TouchTM Keyless Touchscreen Deadbolt with Camelot trim in Aged Bronze, there’s no key to lose, no re-keying or cutting new keys – no keys at all, thanks to our cylinder-free design. You can finally go for a run or take the dog for a walk without juggling keys or stuffing them in your sock. All in a slim profile and stylish trim that pairs perfectly with interior hardware. The Camelot trim’s scalloped architectural details make any room charming and approachable. Our Aged Bronze finish is inspired by traditional design, featuring warm, copper tones that break through its darker, aged exterior. Plus, it’s been designed and tested with strength and durability in mind.
           

          Jump Start Connector

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Arkansas
          August 20, 2015
          Can I get more details on the Jump Start Connector. Never have seen this before. Thanks:)
          Asked by
          SusanVT
          Vermont, USA
          August 21, 2015
          Answer: 
          According to the instructions, you can use a 9-volt battery to jump start your lock allowing you to unlock it if the battery dies. Just press a 9-volt battery onto the contacts below the thumb turn or lever and enter your user code to unlock.
           
          With the Schlage TouchTM Keyless Touchscreen Deadbolt with Camelot trim in Aged Bronze, there’s no key to lose, no re-keying or cutting new keys – no keys at all, thanks to our cylinder-free design. You can finally go for a run or take the dog for a walk without juggling keys or stuffing them in your sock. All in a slim profile and stylish trim that pairs perfectly with interior hardware. The Camelot trim’s scalloped architectural details make any room charming and approachable. Our Aged Bronze finish is inspired by traditional design, featuring warm, copper tones that break through its darker, aged exterior. Plus, it’s been designed and tested with strength and durability in mind.
           

          If it has up to 19 codes in memory, how do I know that more than one code is programmed or not?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          November 17, 2014
          I mean I would prefer to have only one code programmed with the rest of 18 codes disabled at all times. I need to keep affirmed instantly that there is only one code in memory. If more than one code is programmed, there should be a warning light so I will know if it is acceptable to me or not.
          Asked by
          SusanVT
          Vermont, USA
          July 17, 2015
          Answer: 
          The deadbolt comes with 2 preset codes. I suppose if you want to be sure that you didn't mistakenly leave a code set, you should follow the instructions to reset the system back to factory settings. You will then be sure to just have the 2 preset codes that you can manipulate however you like.
           
          Substance meets style in the KRAUS kitchen faucet collection. Each all-metal faucet is constructed with top-quality components, featuring a high performance water-efficient aerator and a precision ceramic cartridge for reliable drip-free use. The single lever handle design makes temperature and flow control effortless. A range of distinctive finishes is available to match the faucet to your kitchen decor. Each faucet is highly corrosion and rust-resistant, as well as easy to clean. For flexible functionality, this pull-down kitchen faucet features an ergonomic spray head with an aerated stream. Clean lines and a high-arch design create a sleek contemporary look that complements transitional and modern kitchens alike. Single-hole mounting allows the faucet to integrate seamlessly with your sink. For easy installation, all mounting hardware is provided. Experience KRAUS Quality and bring your best kitchen ideas to life.
           

          Does this pull out hose spray and stream? I saw on another site that it is stream only.

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          March 3, 2015
          Asked by
          SusanVT
          Vermont, USA
          July 17, 2015
          Answer: 
          This faucet is single stream only. No spray option.
          User submitted photo
           
          The Redwood Valley 5-Piece Patio Seating Set with Fire Pit by Hampton Bay offers the ultimate level of comfort and elegance. The fire pit keeps you warm and serves double duty as a table when you don't have a fire going. The flecked metal top surrounding the fire bowl adds a traditional flavor to the intimacy that a fire can bring to your gatherings. The fire screen, grate and poker are all included for your convenience.
           

          Do the chairs swivel left to right, or do they just rock?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Danville, IL
          July 4, 2015
          Asked by
          SusanVT
          Vermont, USA
          July 8, 2015
          Answer: 
          They don't swivel. They offer a gentle rock only.