SusanVT
  • Review count
    144
  • Helpfulness votes
    231
  • Average rating
    4.3
    4.3 out of 5
  • First Review:
    November 6, 2011
  • Last Review:
    June 10, 2016
 
  • Question count
    1
     
    • Answer count
      26
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        144
      • Helpfulness votes
        231
      • Average rating
        4.3
        4.3 out of 5
      • First Review:
        November 6, 2011
      • Last Review:
        June 10, 2016
       
      • Question count
        1
         
        • Answer count
          26
           
           
           
           
          SusanVT's Reviews
           
          Water Sensing Cable Included. Detect water with sensors on base of unit or expand coverage with included 4 ft. water sensing cable. Purchase additional cables to cover an even larger area. Honeywell Lyric is a Wi-Fi connected platform that simplifies home comfort, security and awareness by controlling all of your connected home products with a single app. individually, each product performs brilliantly. Together, they're a way to orchestrate life.
           
          from Vermont, USA
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Can't connect to 2 different 2.4GHz routers
          PostedJune 10, 2016
          Overall rating 
          1.0 out of 5
          1.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          1.0 out of 5
          1.0 out of 5
          Value 
          1.0 out of 5
          1.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          I don't know what may be peculiar about my wi-fi router installation and my neighbor's, but I cannot get the detector to connect to any wi-fi router. It finds the various wi-fi options per the Iphone app. The app prompts me for the password. I'm sure I'm entering the right password. I tried numerous times, but I keep getting a failure to connect. It warns me to check for Internet service or if my password is incorrect. I used my Iphone's wireless to open up the Honeywell Lyric information page successfully, all the while standing just 10 feet away from the router.
          I tried resetting the device by placing a paperclip end on the reset button. But the problem persists.
          Same issue when Read More
          I don't know what may be peculiar about my wi-fi router installation and my neighbor's, but I cannot get the detector to connect to any wi-fi router. It finds the various wi-fi options per the Iphone app. The app prompts me for the password. I'm sure I'm entering the right password. I tried numerous times, but I keep getting a failure to connect. It warns me to check for Internet service or if my password is incorrect. I used my Iphone's wireless to open up the Honeywell Lyric information page successfully, all the while standing just 10 feet away from the router.
          I tried resetting the device by placing a paperclip end on the reset button. But the problem persists.
          Same issue when trying to set up at my neighbor's.
          Since I can't get the device to communicate to either of two routers, it can't do what it's supposed to do. Read Less
          Cons: can't connect to proven router
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Water Pop Mesh Lounge features a compact profile design and is constructed of vibrant 14-Gauge vinyl. The contoured backrest provides comfort sitting while the mesh center seat keeps you cool. An integrated beverage holder is built-in for convenience. Made of durable 14-Gauge vinyl and measures 48 in. x 44 in., approximate deflated size. Sold individually, available in Blueberry, Lemon or Strawberry.
           
          from Vermont, USA
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Fun tube
          PostedMay 7, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is a blow-up lounger so it's susceptible to the problems of blow-up toys. It seems strong. There are two sections to fill with air. This is not something you want to blow up with your lungs! I was surprised that the sitting ring with the mesh blows up with a little bow to it. I didn't expect that but it adds to the comfort of the lounger. I like that it has the mesh center...so no falling through. There's a drink holder slot. I never get much use out of them.
          It does come with a small patch for repair. But if you're like me, when you need it, you won't be able to find it!
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Use, Nice Design
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The PRO Advantage 6’ Rolling Drywall Scaffold is designed for interior or exterior applications and built to endure everyday use around a construction site. The 6 ft. wide x 29 in. deep platform rolls through a 30 in. doorway and provides a stable, safe, spacious work surface that assembles in minutes. The platform height easily adjusts from 1 in. to 6 ft. in 2 in. increments with a maximum standing height of 6 ft. Designed with safety in mind, this unit features ribbed, non-slip ladder rungs and heavy-duty 5 in. casters that are 1-1/2 in. wide with steel yokes and brakes. Additional scaffold may be purchased and stacked onto this unit to provide a maximum height of 12 ft. when used with the proper outriggers and guard rail set. Complete 12 ft. packages are also available.
           
          from Vermont, USA
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Purchase frequency:Yearly
          Received free product:Yes
          Easy to put together
          PostedMay 7, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I got this scaffolding to wash windows and reach the high spots around our house and garage. It was simple to put together. I like that the platform can be raised and lowered easily. All 4 wheels can be locked. However, unlocking the wheels was not something I could do by kicking the locking mechanism. I had to get a hammer to knock each lock open.
          I felt comfortable on the platform. It's light enough to manage easily. The platform does have mechanisms to ensure the platform doesn't lift off. I like that security.
          Pros: Nice Design, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The TL-WA860RE wall-mounted is designed to conveniently extend the coverage and improve the signal strength of your wireless network. With 300Mbps wireless N speeds, TL-WA860RE turns your 'dead zones' into connected zones, helping you keep mobile devices, media players and computers connected to Wi-Fi with a reliable connection. The TL-WA860RE's miniature size and wall-mounted design make it easy to deploy and move flexibly. Once connected with an existing router, you can simply unplug and plug the Range Extender back in anywhere without the need to configure it again. Moreover, its integrated power socket ensures that no power outlet goes to waste. Just plug and play. That's all you need to do to extend your wireless network. With no new wires or cables, within range of their existing wireless network, users can easily extend wireless coverage at a push of the WPS button on their router followed by the Range Extender button on the TL-WA860RE.
           
          from Vermont, USA
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Works well
          PostedMay 7, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I've worked with range extenders before, but not this particular brand. The set up is similar and very simple. It's a matter of pressing buttons on your router and on this extender when it's powered nearby. They synch up and then the extender can be moved to the desired location. If the extender was too close to the router, it would not become live. If you moved it too far, it was too weak. I'm guessing that all extenders work this way, but this one is warning you that you're not really getting any extension if you're setting it too close to the router.
          I finally found the perfect spot indicated by the lights on the extender, I tried a mobile device and wondered why I was showing new WiFi
          Read More
          I've worked with range extenders before, but not this particular brand. The set up is similar and very simple. It's a matter of pressing buttons on your router and on this extender when it's powered nearby. They synch up and then the extender can be moved to the desired location. If the extender was too close to the router, it would not become live. If you moved it too far, it was too weak. I'm guessing that all extenders work this way, but this one is warning you that you're not really getting any extension if you're setting it too close to the router.
          I finally found the perfect spot indicated by the lights on the extender, I tried a mobile device and wondered why I was showing new WiFi addresses. I missed the small print in the instructions that said the extended addressed is the same as your normal addresses assigned to your router.
          The wireless worked find using this extender. I also like that there is an Ethernet jack on the extender so if you have a device that is not wireless capable, you can plug into the extender.
          Read Less
          Pros: Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation, Easy to Use
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          The Ring Video Doorbell is the world's first battery-operated, Wi-Fi enabled, HD video doorbell. The device enables homeowners to see and speak with visitors from anywhere in the world by streaming live audio and video of a home's front doorstep directly to the free iOS or Android app. Quick and easy to set up as it mounts and syncs in minutes and has a built in battery, however, it can also be powered through your existing doorbell wires.
           
          from Vermont, USA
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Cool product!
          PostedMay 7, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have to admit I was a little apprehensive to move forward with installation after opening the packaging and seeing all the things included. It turns out a lot of it wasn't necessary for my installation. The instructions included had enough information for me to install the Ring doorbell/camera where my wired doorbell was. But it was after I installed it that I learned about all the video instructions that I could have looked at first. They were very well done videos and I think, had I saw those first, I wouldn't have been so apprehensive.
          One of the first instructions is to download the Ring App to our phone/tablet. I did that, but really didn't do anything more with the app until after
          Read More
          I have to admit I was a little apprehensive to move forward with installation after opening the packaging and seeing all the things included. It turns out a lot of it wasn't necessary for my installation. The instructions included had enough information for me to install the Ring doorbell/camera where my wired doorbell was. But it was after I installed it that I learned about all the video instructions that I could have looked at first. They were very well done videos and I think, had I saw those first, I wouldn't have been so apprehensive.
          One of the first instructions is to download the Ring App to our phone/tablet. I did that, but really didn't do anything more with the app until after I finished everything. I should have explored the app before continuing!
          I didn't look up the instructions on how to deal with a non-wired installation, but it seems that the Ring door bell will have to be removed from the mount on occasion so that you can plug it in with the USB line included to charge it. You'll need the USB outlet/plug because that is not included.
          There's a proprietary screwdriver that allows you to loosen and tighten the screws that hold the ring bell in the mount. I'm worried that I'm going to forget where I put that driver.
          Since my installation is wired, I'm presuming that my Ring doorbell will always be powered and my install doesn't have a dependency on the internal battery.
          You can set the motion sensor distance and sensitivity. I set mine with the default sensitivity and into the max distance allowed ... about 30 ft. The motion sensor alerted me every time a cloud passed creating a shadow by the front door! I did adjust the range to be just be directly in front of the Ring bell and set the distance a little shorter and overhead clouds creating shadows no longer set off the motion sensor sending me alerts to my phone and tablet.
          The Ring door bell comes with a 30-day free trial that allows you to record your alerts into a Cloud.
          Also, there is a Live View option that just showed up on my app installation. I saw documentation on it...it's only available right now for wired installations. I like that I can activate a live view from my phone/tablet.
          Not only can you see a wide scope where the Ring door bell is installed, you can communicate with voice too. The sound isn't perfect, but it certainly is good enough.
          I should also mention that when hooked up to the wired system, when someone presses the Ring door bell, it will activate your interior doorbell as well as send an alert to the devices where you have the app installed and activated.
          Now I know that this is a camera and doorbell. I haven't had anyone come to the door yet so I'm not sure people are going to recognize this as a doorbell. It does say "Ring" on it -- the name brand. I'm hoping it might be more obvious that it is a doorbell. For some reason, a lot of people chose to knock at our door rather than use our former small, normal size doorbell. The location is very near the handle of the storm door that they would need to open to knock on the door.
          Read Less
          Pros: Nice Design, Easy Installation, Easy to Use, Motion-Activated
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 29 >>
           
          SusanVT's Questions
           
          The HUSKY Universal Flooring is manufactured from tough, specially formulated polyvinyl that is resistant to most contaminants commonly found in garage and work environments. Helps prevent concrete deterioration, hides cracks and stains, prevents staining on newer floors and creates a moisture barrier. HUSKY flooring is 100% high quality polyvinyl, not layered with filler material that can crack, split, peel and deteriorate. Perfect DIY flooring. Just roll the product out onto your designated area and enjoy, or for a glue option use an acrylic base vinyl adhesive such as Roberts 2310 or 2315 or tape edges with an acrylic based double sided tape such as Roberts MaxGrip. The HUSKY flooring can be trimmed to a perfect fit using a utility knife. Use a single mat for focused area protection or multiple mats to provide wall to wall coverage. Tough enough to be used in the garage, attractive enough to be used everywhere; basements, laundry rooms, trailers, vehicles, schools, stores, workshops, warehouses, exercise rooms, offices and equipment rooms. Anywhere you need attractive high quality flooring that protects.
           

          The specs says this flooring can be used inside or outside. Can this flooring be used on an outdoor patio?

          Asked by
          SusanVT
          December 29, 2014
          We're looking to cover a second floor patio that has a wood base. It's 10' wide by 26' long. Temps in our area can get to just below 0 degrees Fahrenheit to more than 90 degrees Fahrenheit. The sun will be hitting this flooring much of the day during the summer.
           
          SusanVT's Answers
           
          The Ring Video Doorbell is the world's first battery-operated, Wi-Fi enabled, HD video doorbell. The device enables homeowners to see and speak with visitors from anywhere in the world by streaming live audio and video of a home's front doorstep directly to the free iOS or Android app. Quick and easy to set up as it mounts and syncs in minutes and has a built in battery, however, it can also be powered through your existing doorbell wires.
           

          I have no doorbell at present. How do I hardwire it?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Oxford mi
          May 15, 2016
          Asked by
          SusanVT
          Vermont, USA
          June 9, 2016
          Answer: 
          Hire an electrician if you want it hardwired. You'll need power from your circuit breaker panel. The Ring doorbell can operate using the installed battery, but you'll have to charge the doorbell via a USB connection. Just detach the doorbell to move to your charging area and then reattach.
           
          The Ring Video Doorbell is the world's first battery-operated, Wi-Fi enabled, HD video doorbell. The device enables homeowners to see and speak with visitors from anywhere in the world by streaming live audio and video of a home's front doorstep directly to the free iOS or Android app. Quick and easy to set up as it mounts and syncs in minutes and has a built in battery, however, it can also be powered through your existing doorbell wires.
           

          can you turn just camera on ???

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          March 6, 2016
          Asked by
          SusanVT
          Vermont, USA
          May 7, 2016
          Answer: 
          With Live View (currently only available in wired installations), you can turn on the camera from your controlling device (phone, tablet). You can also choose to enable sound or not.
           
          The Ring Video Doorbell is the world's first battery-operated, Wi-Fi enabled, HD video doorbell. The device enables homeowners to see and speak with visitors from anywhere in the world by streaming live audio and video of a home's front doorstep directly to the free iOS or Android app. Quick and easy to set up as it mounts and syncs in minutes and has a built in battery, however, it can also be powered through your existing doorbell wires.
           

          How long does it take for the battery to charge?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          March 21, 2016
          Asked by
          SusanVT
          Vermont, USA
          May 7, 2016
          Answer: 
          The time is dependent on the charging source. I can't find the source of the info I came across when going through the installation process. But I remember seeing what I thought was the shortest time as 5 hours.
           
          The Ring Video Doorbell is the world's first battery-operated, Wi-Fi enabled, HD video doorbell. The device enables homeowners to see and speak with visitors from anywhere in the world by streaming live audio and video of a home's front doorstep directly to the free iOS or Android app. Quick and easy to set up as it mounts and syncs in minutes and has a built in battery, however, it can also be powered through your existing doorbell wires.
           

          How easy is it to remove for recharging?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Frederick Maryland
          November 14, 2015
          I heard one customer state that the device stopped working after he backed out the screws. Will this be a problem for wireless installs?
          Asked by
          SusanVT
          Vermont, USA
          May 7, 2016
          Answer: 
          I have a wired installation, but because the battery was low to start and I'm not sure how it might be used, I did loosen the 2 screws located on the bottom edge using the proprietary screwdriver provided. I plugged it in for a few hours and slid it back onto the mount and tightened the screws to hold in place afterwards. The ring doorbell's video and sound continue to work without issue.
           
          The Swivel-Flex Nylon Dust Mop does just what its name says, it swivels. The patented 360° swivel connector helps you get into corners, along baseboards and into those hard-to-reach spots. The mop cloth is made from 100% virgin nylon yarn that naturally gathers and collects dust.
           

          Can you bend the handle all the way down so it is parallel to the floor to get way under a couch, for example?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          San Diego, CA
          October 3, 2015
          Asked by
          SusanVT
          Vermont, USA
          October 9, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes, you can fully rotate the handle so that the head and handle are on the same plane. You can even rotate so that the mop head faces downward while you have the handle up ... as if you wanted to dust the top of a ceiling fan blade.
           
          1 2 3 4 5 6 >>