Texas
  • Review count
    249
  • Helpfulness votes
    1,398
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    September 19, 2008
  • Last Review:
    January 20, 2017
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      52
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        249
      • Helpfulness votes
        1,398
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        September 19, 2008
      • Last Review:
        January 20, 2017
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          52
           
           
           
           
          Texas's Reviews
           
          The New Defiant LED switch light chases away night time darkness. This LED switch light provides seamless light coverage. Never change a bulb with this new LED technology. 3 easy steps to connect is DIY friendly and allow quick safe installation.
           
          from Azle, TX
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Switched light
          PostedJanuary 20, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This light is super easy to install. The backplate screws to the wall (or electrical box) and electrical connections are made on the backplate. You then simply hold the light in place and tighten a single screw to connect the light to the backplate. No fiddling trying to make electrical connections with one hand while holding the light in place with the other. All wall lights should be made this way.
          The LED housing is metal and feels substantial. You can adjust (up or down) each of the LED fittings independently. The LEDs cast a 180 degree left to right throw and require no adjustment.
          This light does not have a motion or dawn-to-dusk sensor, nor can one be added to the fixture. You Read More
          This light is super easy to install. The backplate screws to the wall (or electrical box) and electrical connections are made on the backplate. You then simply hold the light in place and tighten a single screw to connect the light to the backplate. No fiddling trying to make electrical connections with one hand while holding the light in place with the other. All wall lights should be made this way.
          The LED housing is metal and feels substantial. You can adjust (up or down) each of the LED fittings independently. The LEDs cast a 180 degree left to right throw and require no adjustment.
          This light does not have a motion or dawn-to-dusk sensor, nor can one be added to the fixture. You control this light with a switch, or via an outlet that is switched with an independent motion or dawn-to-dusk sensor.
          It is very stylish for a all light and creates a nice even 18- degree throw of light. Read Less
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This Reese Towpower towing adapter is designed to convert a 7-way blade connector to a 6-pin round, or a standard 4-way flat connector. It features a switchable 6-pin round to meet the trailer needs. It also includes the LED circuit tester which constantly checks for completed circuit confirmation. Not only can you adapt the trailer to vehicle fast, but you can be certain the connections are correct.
           
          from Azle, TX
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Just one flaw
          PostedJanuary 20, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          The adapter is a great tool for those of us with multiple trailers with different trailer plugs on them.
          A switch allows you to change the center pin on the 6 way to either brake or auxiliary, and the built in 4 way is great for light duty trailers.
          There is a built in LED tester (it tests 'left turn', 'right turn' and 'brake' only).
          The 6 way has a dust cover, but the 4 way is left open to the elements. From experience I know this leads to corrosion of the connectors creating poor electrical connectivity.
          It is a great 'part time' adaptor if you plan to store it in a dry location for most of its time. If you are going to use this on a trailer you use often then the lack of a dust cover
          Read More
          The adapter is a great tool for those of us with multiple trailers with different trailer plugs on them.
          A switch allows you to change the center pin on the 6 way to either brake or auxiliary, and the built in 4 way is great for light duty trailers.
          There is a built in LED tester (it tests 'left turn', 'right turn' and 'brake' only).
          The 6 way has a dust cover, but the 4 way is left open to the elements. From experience I know this leads to corrosion of the connectors creating poor electrical connectivity.
          It is a great 'part time' adaptor if you plan to store it in a dry location for most of its time. If you are going to use this on a trailer you use often then the lack of a dust cover for the 4 way connector will mean that is going to cause you problems down the line.
          Read Less
          Cons: no dust cover for 4 way connector
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Ideal for retrofit or renovation projects, the GROHE Retro-fit 100 Shower System accommodates showers without a tub spout without having to disrupt existing tile or plumbing for a renovation upgrade without the renovation price tag. Comfort and convenience combined, the shower head swivels to the perfect angle or can be set to a fixed position, while the hand shower offers more showering options. Equipped with the advanced shower engines in GROHE DreamSpray features advanced shower engines to deliver precise and consistent water distribution throughout any spray pattern for an unparalleled and custom showering experience technology, the system delivers precise and consistent water distribution throughout any spray pattern for an unparalleled and custom showering experience.
           
          from Azle, TX
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Incomplete kit
          PostedJanuary 20, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          1.0 out of 5
          1.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          This is my second retrofit shower kit, the first one also bought from Home Depot but a different manufacturer. Upon looking at the install sheet I almost decided not to install this one, it is finicky to install, even for a handyman like myself. Nether-the-less, I decided to go and install it.
          I immediately ran in to a problem. The problem lies in the lack of a key piece for the installation. Once you remove the existing shower head arm you are left with a female 1/2" NPT fitting that fits flush with the drywall/tile. The other kit I bought came with the nipple required to mate that fitting to the new shower assembly. This kit simple states "The nipples (D) are not included in the Read More
          This is my second retrofit shower kit, the first one also bought from Home Depot but a different manufacturer. Upon looking at the install sheet I almost decided not to install this one, it is finicky to install, even for a handyman like myself. Nether-the-less, I decided to go and install it.
          I immediately ran in to a problem. The problem lies in the lack of a key piece for the installation. Once you remove the existing shower head arm you are left with a female 1/2" NPT fitting that fits flush with the drywall/tile. The other kit I bought came with the nipple required to mate that fitting to the new shower assembly. This kit simple states "The nipples (D) are not included in the delivery specification." and leaves the installer with having to source them themselves. This is step one of the installation, and not a good sign. I had to put the install on hold until I can drive the 20 miles to Home Depot to source the required fitting.
          The quality of the components in this kit are outstanding. The diverter is the most substantial I have seen. Fittings are brass, although the heads are themselves plastic.
          In looking for a retrofit shower system I would not choose this model again. A combination of an incomplete kit and a much more involved installation process are a deal breaker for me.
          If you are having a plumber install the kit then I'd definitely recommend this one. If you are doing it yourself then their are simpler and complete kits at Home Depot that you should consider first. Read Less
          Cons: Difficult to Install, requires sourcing parts yourself
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Chime Pro extends the signal from your router to your Ring devices, so you can eliminate Wi-Fi dead zones and never miss a Ring alert. It plugs into any standard power outlet and links to all your Ring devices, so you get better quality video and instant notifications. The Chime Pro also allows you to hear audio alerts in your home when a visitor is at your Ring Video Doorbell or your Stick Up Cam detects motion. With Chime Pro, you'll never miss a ding.
           
          from Azle, TX
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Not suitable for Ring Video Doorbell Pro on 5ghz
          PostedJanuary 1, 2017
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          This chime pro extends the WiFi signal from your wireless router to other ring devices, it does not extend the signal for anything else (so you can't use this to extend the signal for a laptop for example).
          The first thing I noticed on unpacking the ring chime pro is how ugly it is. It is not all pleasing to look at, it looks like an old fashioned PA speaker with two old school antennas on the side. That being said, I was eager to add an extra chime to my Ring doorbell.
          The box claims "connects to any WiFi network", but flip the box aside down and read the small print - "requires 2.4ghz WiFi network". The biggest problem is it only supports the older 2.4ghz WiFi, not the now de facto Read More
          This chime pro extends the WiFi signal from your wireless router to other ring devices, it does not extend the signal for anything else (so you can't use this to extend the signal for a laptop for example).
          The first thing I noticed on unpacking the ring chime pro is how ugly it is. It is not all pleasing to look at, it looks like an old fashioned PA speaker with two old school antennas on the side. That being said, I was eager to add an extra chime to my Ring doorbell.
          The box claims "connects to any WiFi network", but flip the box aside down and read the small print - "requires 2.4ghz WiFi network". The biggest problem is it only supports the older 2.4ghz WiFi, not the now de facto 5ghz WiFi. My Ring Pro Video Doorbell is on my 5ghz WiFi network, so this extender will not connect to it. Read Less
          Cons: 2.4 ghz only, does not extend wifi for anything other than ring, ugly design
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          With Advanced Motion Detection, two-way audio and brilliant 1080p HD video, you'll never miss a visitor again. See, hear and speak to whomever is at your door in real time from your smartphone, tablet or desktop. Day or night, rain or shine - you're always home.
           
          from Azle, TX
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          I cannot recommend
          PostedDecember 5, 2016
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Value 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          I own the 'standard' model of the Ring doorbell, so I was excited to try out the 'Pro' model.
          Unpacking the doorbell, I noted the packaging was not as elaborate as the original (the cutouts to view the item have been removed), It also felt somewhat less substantial than its predecessor.
          I was surprised to find a "Pro Power Kit' that fits between terminals on your existing indoor chime was required. As this wouldn't fit inside my chime enclosure I was left with the option of mounting it with supplied double sided tape to the wall at the side of the chime, with wires running between the two items. Not at all the look I was expecting.This extra box does not even provide a battery backup,
          Read More
          I own the 'standard' model of the Ring doorbell, so I was excited to try out the 'Pro' model.
          Unpacking the doorbell, I noted the packaging was not as elaborate as the original (the cutouts to view the item have been removed), It also felt somewhat less substantial than its predecessor.
          I was surprised to find a "Pro Power Kit' that fits between terminals on your existing indoor chime was required. As this wouldn't fit inside my chime enclosure I was left with the option of mounting it with supplied double sided tape to the wall at the side of the chime, with wires running between the two items. Not at all the look I was expecting.This extra box does not even provide a battery backup, meaning the chime does not work if the power fails. If the power fails you’ll have a delay while the unit powers up and reconnects to your wireless network.
          Whilst the camera resolution has been increased, the field of view (both horizontally and vertically) has been decreased. So we can see less area, but in a slightly improved resolution.
          A choice of four bezels is provided - black, brown, silver and an off-white beige color.
          Installation is significantly complicated with the addition of the “Pro Power Kit”, pushing this in to the realms of the professional installer, or advanced handyman. For the average user I feel this doorbell is too complicated compared to the very simple installation of the wireless model. The convenience of not having to charge the doorbell is outweighed by all the factors previously noted.
          The extra resolution at the expense of a decreased viewing area is a serious concern.
          All these things taken in to account left me deciding to keep the original model doorbell on my home.
          I cannot recommend this doorbell.
          Read Less
          Cons: Complicated, extra 'pro power kit' to mount inside your home, smaller field of view than original model
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          1out of 2found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 50 >>
           
          Texas's Questions
           
          Texas has not submitted any questions.
           
          Texas's Answers
           
          Protect your young trees against damaging string trimmers, gardening tools, rodents and small pests with the Dimex LLC Tree Trunk Protectors (6-Pack). Constructed of 100% recycled plastic, the round tube form blends with most tree bark, supports itself and will not lose its shape in the sun.
           

          Would this work to keep squirrels from climbing a fruit tree?

          Asked by
          DJ
          Midwest City, OK
          May 14, 2016
          I have an established, fruit bearing peach tree that is 2 years old (still fairly small). I am wondering if this product, probably using 2 at a time, would keep squirrels from climbing and eating all of the peaches?
          Asked by
          Texas
          Azle, TX
          September 21, 2016
          Answer: 
          no. they are designed to prevent weed whacking the base of saplings. They offer no protection from squirrels.
           
          Protect your young trees against damaging string trimmers, gardening tools, rodents and small pests with the Dimex LLC Tree Trunk Protectors (6-Pack). Constructed of 100% recycled plastic, the round tube form blends with most tree bark, supports itself and will not lose its shape in the sun.
           

          Which end is up?

          Asked by
          Shamrock
          May 30, 2016
          Does the smaller end go up or towards the ground?
          Asked by
          Texas
          Azle, TX
          September 21, 2016
          Answer: 
          This brief video shows how to assemble them
          Video Answer:
          (click to see the video)
           
          Inspired by vintage metalwork, the Worth collection features a handcrafted aesthetic for an industrial chic look. Worth faucets are designed to be easy to clean and the smooth single-handle operation makes for easy temperature control. It also features an aerator that ensures a splash-free flow of water.
           

          Single Lever Control?

          Asked by
          JD
          LG, Wisconsin
          April 13, 2016
          In the photo it appears to move up and down, "Hot and Cold"? but does it move in and out for low to high pressure? Wish I could see a pick of one with water running. I would like to be sure of that up before ordering these.
          Asked by
          Texas
          Azle, TX
          May 8, 2016
          Answer: 
          Single lever control
          Video Answer:
          (click to see the video)
           
          The Husky 250-piece 1/4 in, 3/8 in. and 1/2 in. drive mechanics tool set is one of the most comprehensive tools set for professional or DIY mechanics. The 151 different standard and deep sockets along with the 18 combination wrenches will allow you to tackle any fastening or repair project. This Husky 250-piece tool set will provide the novice or professional with a huge assortment of durable and reliable tools to get the job done.
           

          are the inserts that hold the tools solid or easily bended

          Asked by
          george
          naperville, il
          November 23, 2015
          Asked by
          Texas
          Azle, TX
          May 4, 2016
          Answer: 
          very flimsy and will bend easily
           
          This 4 ft. Strip light Linkable is perfect for any application where high quality LED lighting is required for your workspace. The 14 in. Linking Cord and End to End Connector can make it easy to install individually or continuously. Using Commercial Electric LED Light fixtures will save you significant dollars on your operation costs.
           

          Does this have an on-off switch or a pull-chain?

          Asked by
          bp
          Hudson NY
          October 18, 2015
          Asked by
          Texas
          Azle, TX
          March 23, 2016
          Answer: 
          no.
          you control the light by controlling the power source
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>