Mark
  • Review count
    83
  • Helpfulness votes
    125
  • Average rating
    4.9
    4.9 out of 5
  • First Review:
    November 7, 2012
  • Last Review:
    July 12, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      14
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        83
      • Helpfulness votes
        125
      • Average rating
        4.9
        4.9 out of 5
      • First Review:
        November 7, 2012
      • Last Review:
        July 12, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          14
           
           
           
           
          Mark's Reviews
           
          A gentle electric radiant heat system designed specifically for dry installation under floating wood and laminate floors. A low profile, line voltage system, it features gradual warmth from low wattage resistance heating of ultra-thin, flexible radiant heat film. Installed easily over a subfloor or over an acoustic/insulating underlayment as part of the overall floor assembly, it uses just 12 watts per square foot to gently raise the temperature of the floor, conforming to the warranty requirements of many floating floors. The system, which sports an impressive 99% efficiency, includes temperature limiting properties so the film does not overheat. Its available in four convenient rollout mat sizes that will accommodate most any layout. Each mat has wires pre-attached for ease of installation.
           
          from One hour north of NYC
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Luxury Underfoot
          PostedJuly 12, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have used under floor heating from other companies, but this is the thinnest product i have ever seen and that is a great advantage. You literally roll this underlayment out over any padding you're using and install the floor. Period, no fuss, no muss.
          A few things to remember:
          1. This is for laminate and floating floor systems only; not for under tile (although I'm not sure why not...)
          2. Put it where you will be walking and not under cabinets, other furniture or heavy carpeting because the heat will just be trapped and not appreciated.
          3. Don't expect the floor to be hot, it is a gentle warmth; probably not good to heat the room unless it's super insulated.
          4. You can add extra sections
          Read More
          I have used under floor heating from other companies, but this is the thinnest product i have ever seen and that is a great advantage. You literally roll this underlayment out over any padding you're using and install the floor. Period, no fuss, no muss.
          A few things to remember:
          1. This is for laminate and floating floor systems only; not for under tile (although I'm not sure why not...)
          2. Put it where you will be walking and not under cabinets, other furniture or heavy carpeting because the heat will just be trapped and not appreciated.
          3. Don't expect the floor to be hot, it is a gentle warmth; probably not good to heat the room unless it's super insulated.
          4. You can add extra sections to cover a larger area; just plan carefully so the wires and thermostat are lined up and easy to install.
          5. If putting over concrete floor I would recommend an insulation pad under the heating element so the concrete doesn't suck up all the heat.
          6. Don't put this under a nailed in flooring; seems obvious because nails would short out the element.
          Read Less
          Pros: High Quality of Material, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Effective
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Garden Safe Brand Neem Oil Extract Concentrate is 3 garden products in 1. It is an insecticide for the control of aphids, whiteflies and other insect pests. It is a fungicide for the control of black spot, rust and powdery mildew. It is also a miticide to control spider mites.
           
          from One hour north of NYC
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Really Works!
          PostedJuly 1, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I'm new to neem oil but am glad I tried it. I've used lots of chemicals on my fruit trees and berries, but I decided to go organic about a year ago. So far the neem oil has kept most of the bugs off my plants and trees and I haven't noticed any fungus problems so far this year. I usually have lots of fungus by now and this year it has been especially wet so I'm real impressed.
          I've been applying it with a 2 gallon sprayer and I try to re-apply after every rain which is the only downside I can see compared to other more toxic chemicals. One of my apple trees has a little rust on it but the others are clean and it doesn't seem too bad so far.
          I did read somewhere that it's best not to leave
          Read More
          I'm new to neem oil but am glad I tried it. I've used lots of chemicals on my fruit trees and berries, but I decided to go organic about a year ago. So far the neem oil has kept most of the bugs off my plants and trees and I haven't noticed any fungus problems so far this year. I usually have lots of fungus by now and this year it has been especially wet so I'm real impressed.
          I've been applying it with a 2 gallon sprayer and I try to re-apply after every rain which is the only downside I can see compared to other more toxic chemicals. One of my apple trees has a little rust on it but the others are clean and it doesn't seem too bad so far.
          I did read somewhere that it's best not to leave mixed oil in the sprayer for more than a day because it loses effectiveness, so I only mix up what I will use each time.
          Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Liquid Fence 1 gal. Ready-to-Use Deer and Rabbit Repellent
          Liquid Fence 1 gal. Ready-to-Use Deer and Rabbit Repellent
          Liquid Fence 1 gal. deer and rabbit repellent is a, ready-to-use spray that repels deer and rabbits from all garden areas, flowers, shrubs, trees and vines. The long-long lasting formula is harmless to plants and animals. Once sprayed on the area it dries odorless, it also covers approximately 2000 sq. ft. and works year round.
           
          from One hour north of NYC
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Works great!
          PostedJuly 1, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I've used just about everything on the market to try and protect my bushes, perennials, annuals and trees from the numerous deer in my area. I've got a bunch of my property fenced in but the deer always find a way in and then the destruction starts. One deer can eat all my hundreds of day lilies in one night. Such a bummer!
          I sprayed this product on everything and for over a month no bites, no nibbles, no problems. And I still see some deer tracks so I know it's working. I re-apply it after every rain, which here in NY has meant sometimes 3 times a week this year. But I don't drench the plants and it still works. I just hope the deer don't develop a taste for it.
          Oh, and one last thing: my
          Read More
          I've used just about everything on the market to try and protect my bushes, perennials, annuals and trees from the numerous deer in my area. I've got a bunch of my property fenced in but the deer always find a way in and then the destruction starts. One deer can eat all my hundreds of day lilies in one night. Such a bummer!
          I sprayed this product on everything and for over a month no bites, no nibbles, no problems. And I still see some deer tracks so I know it's working. I re-apply it after every rain, which here in NY has meant sometimes 3 times a week this year. But I don't drench the plants and it still works. I just hope the deer don't develop a taste for it.
          Oh, and one last thing: my wife doesn't mind the very faint smell it has when first applied. Some products out there are awful smelling. Not this one.
          Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Cadet elongated universal seat features a slow close hinge to prevent slamming. Also, this seat features a patented EverClean surface that inhibits the growth of bacteria, mold and mildew and bottom mount installation hardware, for easier installation. Create a new, fresh look in your bathroom with the Cadet seat from American Standard.
           
          from One hour north of NYC
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great Seat!
          PostedJuly 1, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Just what i was expecting: solid, perfect fit and good slow close mechanism. It was easy to attach with the enclosed hardware and I was impressed with the nice smooth finish and great price. My wife and I both love it.
          Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Straight Clean Lines Made Easy - for professional results , use EasyMask KleenEdge Painting Tape. The unique masking paper design catches paint spills and splatters while you paint straight lines. Perfect for painting walls, ceilings, trim, windows, skirting boards, faux finishing and more.
           
          from One hour north of NYC
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great new "tool" in my toolbox
          PostedMay 23, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          For masking off moldings or ceiling/wall painting this tape and paper is great. Good adhesive that makes a sharp edge and removes easily. I removed it right after the paint dried, about an hour, which I recommend. Letting any tape stay on longer risks pulling off some of the paint. I think next time I'll buy the 6" instead of the 9" because I didn't really need that much protection, but it depends on your project. Overall very happy with this product.
          Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Good Protection
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>
           
          Mark's Questions
           
          Mark has not submitted any questions.
           
          Mark's Answers
           
          A gentle electric radiant heat system designed specifically for dry installation under floating wood and laminate floors. A low profile, line voltage system, it features gradual warmth from low wattage resistance heating of ultra-thin, flexible radiant heat film. Installed easily over a subfloor or over an acoustic/insulating underlayment as part of the overall floor assembly, it uses just 12 watts per square foot to gently raise the temperature of the floor, conforming to the warranty requirements of many floating floors. The system, which sports an impressive 99% efficiency, includes temperature limiting properties so the film does not overheat. Its available in four convenient rollout mat sizes that will accommodate most any layout. Each mat has wires pre-attached for ease of installation.
           

          how many can be laid together to one thermostat ?

          Asked by
          RobertT
          Milford PA
          October 1, 2014
          Asked by
          Mark
          One hour north of NYC
          July 12, 2015
          Answer: 
          I know it can't be unlimited but I couldn't find an easy answer in the install literature (they show a sketch with 4 pads). Try calling manufacturer at: 888 WARM PAD
           
          Garden Safe Brand Neem Oil Extract Concentrate is 3 garden products in 1. It is an insecticide for the control of aphids, whiteflies and other insect pests. It is a fungicide for the control of black spot, rust and powdery mildew. It is also a miticide to control spider mites.
           

          will neem oil control or kill fleas?

          Asked by
          Jiffy
          Sarasota,FL
          March 27, 2015
          Asked by
          Mark
          One hour north of NYC
          July 1, 2015
          Answer: 
          I'm pretty sure the oil will repeal fleas, not necessarily kill them.
           
          Make your bathroom as beautiful as any other room in your home with our Home Decorators Collection Annakin vanity combo. Elegant design creates an upscale look while the rich chocolate finish highlights the beauty of the wood. This 36 in. vanity feature turned feet, 1 large bottom drawer that provides plenty of storage and brushed nickel cabinet hardware.
           

          Is the vanity top stone? Is the vanity made of solid wood?

          Asked by
          NewHouse1
          Hardin, Montana
          February 8, 2015
          Asked by
          Mark
          One hour north of NYC
          March 6, 2015
          Answer: 
          The top is definitely stone. The cabinet has some plywood and solid wood. It's very solid and heavy/sturdy.
           
          This Cassidy Single Hole 1-Handle High Arc Bathroom Faucet with Riser in Venetian Bronze is the obvious choice for a timeless, traditionally-styled bath. Inspired by an 1800s ad for a Victorian corset, the bottom of the faucet is pulled in like a cinched corset, adding visual tension with elegant detailing. The Cassidy collection's classical design plays off of the hugely popular Victorian-esque architecture. This WaterSense labeled lavatory faucet flows at a water-efficient rate of 1.5 gpm, helping you to effortlessly conserve water.
           

          Can this faucet be used with a vessel sink?

          Asked by
          reese
          Athens, AL
          July 24, 2014
          Would this be a good faucet to use with a 16" round x 6" tall Vessel Sink? I'm concerned about splashing. If not, what would the best faucet be for minimum splashing?
          Asked by
          Mark
          One hour north of NYC
          February 24, 2015
          Answer: 
          I think this would work well. The water comes out in a controlled manner so splashing shouldn't be a problem.
           
          The Kallos glass undercounter lavatory offers a distinctive architectural pattern reminiscent of fine crystal. The lavatory's design creates stunning visual depth, while appropriately obstructing the view of toiletries stored inside the vanity.
           

          Does this show water spots?

          Asked by
          dayday
          Santa Cruz, CA
          July 24, 2013
          Asked by
          Mark
          One hour north of NYC
          February 24, 2015
          Answer: 
          No more than in any other sink. I've installed glass sinks before that had no pattern in them and they show water spots much more. This one really hides the water much better.