Mark
  • Review count
    89
  • Helpfulness votes
    136
  • Average rating
    4.9
    4.9 out of 5
  • First Review:
    November 7, 2012
  • Last Review:
    August 27, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      19
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        89
      • Helpfulness votes
        136
      • Average rating
        4.9
        4.9 out of 5
      • First Review:
        November 7, 2012
      • Last Review:
        August 27, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          19
           
           
           
           
          Mark's Reviews
           
          The best way to guarantee personal cleanliness, confidence and well-being is by washing with water. The American Standard AquaWash Bidet Seat brings the luxury and salutary benefits of the stand-alone bidet to the standard toilet. This seat fits most elongated toilets and combines great performance and great looks.
           
          from One hour north of NYC
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Game Changer - For the better!
          PostedAugust 27, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I had real doubts about this device, but the installation was very simple and within about 15 minutes it was working beautifully. My son put a much more expensive bidet seat on his toilet; it blows air, heats the water and/or the seat and has a remote, but it's much more bulky and it cost $2000. No, that's not a typo, $2000. So I thought this one would be low quality, but it's not. I am so happy with it. And i have to admit it's embarrassingly nice; I'm so surprised how good it feels.
          You just turn a small lever one way and a spout extends and shoots a gentle stream of water up (that's the "clean" function); turn it the other way a shower squirts out (that's the "bidet" setting). The
          Read More
          I had real doubts about this device, but the installation was very simple and within about 15 minutes it was working beautifully. My son put a much more expensive bidet seat on his toilet; it blows air, heats the water and/or the seat and has a remote, but it's much more bulky and it cost $2000. No, that's not a typo, $2000. So I thought this one would be low quality, but it's not. I am so happy with it. And i have to admit it's embarrassingly nice; I'm so surprised how good it feels.
          You just turn a small lever one way and a spout extends and shoots a gentle stream of water up (that's the "clean" function); turn it the other way a shower squirts out (that's the "bidet" setting). The pictures show some details. It's a soft close lid, too.
          Read Less
          Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Value, Comfortable
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Lamps come in many sizes and shapes, and so should light bulbs. Our new cylindrical-shaped LED Bright Stik was designed to fit even more sockets than ordinary bulbs. It is the ideal choice affordable LED light bulb that delivers instant brightness for any room in your house, while saving you 6 dollars a year, for each fixture. And will keep on doing just that for the next 13.7 years at 3 hours/day. That’s a long time you can spend not worrying about light bulbs.
           
          from One hour north of NYC
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          So Great!
          PostedAugust 9, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Wow, these bulbs are such a great price and they'll keep saving me money for years to come.
          I've always been concerned about efficiency, mainly cuz I'm cheap so I was an early adaptor of cfl's when they first came on the market a decade ago. They were originally very expensive, didn't come on instantly and tended to burn out faster than advertised. Plus they had mercury in them which was bad for landfills. But now I'm replacing all the cfl's with led's and i couldn't be happier. I waited a long time for led's to come down in price and now we're there.
          These specific bulbs are warm white, just like incandescent, so I like the look and feel. Their shape is a little weird, but cool, too.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          Made from a tough co-polymer that features Lay-Flat technology, the Scotts MaxFLEX garden hose provides excellent kink resistance during use. The material resists kinking as you uncoil the hose and pull it behind you around the yard. The exclusive co-polymer makes the hose 30% lighter than similar hoses. This environment-friendly lead-free hose from our Element line will provide you with years of trouble-free and safe performance. The 100 ft. length also ensures that you will be able to comfortably reach each corner of a large lawn, flower bed or garden. The couplings are made of oversized XL crush-proof aluminum that withstands daily use and trampling by heavy feet or even heavier garden equipment. The couplings easily attach to any spigot and feature our innovative Hose Armour technology to prevent binding at the spigot when pulled. Ideal for use in any climate, the co-polymer material makes the Scotts MaxFLEX hose incredibly tough both inside and outside. Superior scuff resistance on the jacket helps to keep the hose looking its best season after season. The Scotts MaxFLEX hose has burst strength of 500 psi, with heavyweight reinforcement at high pressure areas for extra durability and lifelong performance.
           
          from One hour north of NYC
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Fantastic Hose!
          PostedAugust 5, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Since I do a lot of landscaping and gardening, a good hose is absolutely critical to keeping things green and flowering. I've tried many brands and nothing beats this hose. It doesn't kink easily but it isn't too heavy either and that's usually the trade off with other professional hoses. A 5/8" diameter is the minimum for me since a I get a lot of good pressure from it. Fittings seem strong and solid. Overall a great buy.
          Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The clean design and minimal details of this Compel 8 in. 2-Handle Mid Arc Bathroom Faucet in Chrome offer sleek, urban sophistication in a complete line of faucets and accessories. Getting ready in the morning is far from routine when you are surrounded by a bath that reflects your personal style. You can buy with confidence, knowing that Delta backs its products with a limited lifetime warranty.
           
          from One hour north of NYC
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Fantastic Faucet!
          PostedAugust 4, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Great looking and Delta quality; what else could you want? Chrome is coming back big time so I got this to reflect current styles. My wife loves it. I remodel high end homes and this faucet fits in perfectly. Easy to install and comes with a pop up drain. So great.
          Installation is very typical, so pretty easy and fast. Just make sure you have fairly wide spread holes.
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Modern
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Moisture in walls is unavoidable, but managing it is easy with MemBrain Continuous Air Barrier and Smart Vapor Retarder. MemBrain with MoistureSense technology installs just like poly, but with an extra level of moisture protection, allowing wall cavities to dry out, helping prevent mold. Unlike traditional vapor retarders, MemBrain not only blocks moisture in the winter (When humidity in the cavity is low), it also increases permeability during the summer (When humidity is high), letting moisture escape while still maintaining air tightness. Use MemBrain with un-faced insulation in place of kraft faced insulation or polyethylene. Not all climate zones require vapor retarders.
           
          from One hour north of NYC
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Purchase frequency:Monthly
          Received free product:Yes
          Smart Investment
          PostedAugust 4, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is a much better solution to vapor barrier protection than regular poly sheeting. Now realistically it's hard to know how effective this material is in allowing moisture to escape the walls in the summer, and yet prevent moisture from entering the walls in the winter, when it's the biggest problem.
          But if what they claim is even half true, this is a worthwhile investment. I've opened old walls to find terrible insulation degradation and rot even though a perfectly good moisture barrier was in place. And this technology, I assume, is similar to any "Tyvek" type product for sheathing the outside of a building to prevent moisture problems, so I'm betting it works well, as Tyvek is well
          Read More
          This is a much better solution to vapor barrier protection than regular poly sheeting. Now realistically it's hard to know how effective this material is in allowing moisture to escape the walls in the summer, and yet prevent moisture from entering the walls in the winter, when it's the biggest problem.
          But if what they claim is even half true, this is a worthwhile investment. I've opened old walls to find terrible insulation degradation and rot even though a perfectly good moisture barrier was in place. And this technology, I assume, is similar to any "Tyvek" type product for sheathing the outside of a building to prevent moisture problems, so I'm betting it works well, as Tyvek is well proven.
          Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Economical
          +2points
          2out of 2found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 18 >>
           
          Mark's Questions
           
          Mark has not submitted any questions.
           
          Mark's Answers
           
          The best way to guarantee personal cleanliness, confidence and well-being is by washing with water. The American Standard AquaWash Bidet Seat brings the luxury and salutary benefits of the stand-alone bidet to the standard toilet. This seat fits most elongated toilets and combines great performance and great looks.
           

          Will this seat fit my toilet?

          Asked by
          Anne
          Los Angeles
          August 5, 2015
          I have a lowboy, single piece toilet and the separate bidet attachments that do not include the entire seat do not fit it.
          Asked by
          Mark
          One hour north of NYC
          August 27, 2015
          Answer: 
          If you have what's called an elongated bowl, it should fit. An elongated bowl is more oval than a regular bowl.
           
          Lamps come in many sizes and shapes, and so should light bulbs. Our new cylindrical-shaped LED Bright Stik was designed to fit even more sockets than ordinary bulbs. It is the ideal choice affordable LED light bulb that delivers instant brightness for any room in your house, while saving you 6 dollars a year, for each fixture. And will keep on doing just that for the next 13.7 years at 3 hours/day. That’s a long time you can spend not worrying about light bulbs.
           

          Can these be used in an outdoor light socket such as a front door light fixture?

          Asked by
          MonroviaWayne
          Monrovia, CA
          July 28, 2015
          Asked by
          Mark
          One hour north of NYC
          August 9, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes, they can. I have led's in my two front door lights and they work well. I'm in NY so we get pretty cold winters.
           
          Lamps come in many sizes and shapes, and so should light bulbs. Our new cylindrical-shaped LED Bright Stik was designed to fit even more sockets than ordinary bulbs. It is the ideal choice affordable LED light bulb that delivers instant brightness for any room in your house, while saving you 6 dollars a year, for each fixture. And will keep on doing just that for the next 13.7 years at 3 hours/day. That’s a long time you can spend not worrying about light bulbs.
           

          What bulb can be used in a totally enclosed fixture?

          Asked by
          Cappy
          August 6, 2015
          Asked by
          Mark
          One hour north of NYC
          August 9, 2015
          Answer: 
          Sure. They emit almost no heat, and car led systems are often sealed.
           
          Lamps come in many sizes and shapes, and so should light bulbs. Our new cylindrical-shaped LED Bright Stik was designed to fit even more sockets than ordinary bulbs. It is the ideal choice affordable LED light bulb that delivers instant brightness for any room in your house, while saving you 6 dollars a year, for each fixture. And will keep on doing just that for the next 13.7 years at 3 hours/day. That’s a long time you can spend not worrying about light bulbs.
           

          Can these be used in a 220V circuit like in England?

          Asked by
          TomTomTom
          Chicago (also in London)
          August 8, 2015
          Asked by
          Mark
          One hour north of NYC
          August 9, 2015
          Answer: 
          I don't think so, they are for standard U.S. 120 volt systems.
           
          The Glacier Bay Premium Household Water Filtration System offers an easy and quick "no mess" filter change that does not require a wrench. It is NSF certified and uses Glacier Bay Premium Household Water Replacement Filter HDGEFF4. One major benefit is the auto by-pass feature that eliminates the need for water shutoff, venting and draining. This system reduces sediment as well as chlorine taste and odor to provide clearer, cleaner better tasting water throughout your home.
           

          Does it filter out lead from the plumbing?

          Asked by
          appraiser
          June 11, 2015
          Asked by
          Mark
          One hour north of NYC
          August 4, 2015
          Answer: 
          No, this filter does not remove lead. You will need a KDF or other type filter. Check any product you intend to buy carefully, some only remove a percentage of lead.