Mark
  • Review count
    120
  • Helpfulness votes
    169
  • Average rating
    4.9
    4.9 out of 5
  • First Review:
    November 7, 2012
  • Last Review:
    February 1, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      27
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        120
      • Helpfulness votes
        169
      • Average rating
        4.9
        4.9 out of 5
      • First Review:
        November 7, 2012
      • Last Review:
        February 1, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          27
           
           
           
           
          Mark's Reviews
           
          Lower electrical costs and add convenience to everyday living by replacing standard switches with occupancy sensors. Leviton's IPS02 Occupancy Sensor Switch automatically turns the lights ON when you enter a room and OFF when you leave, convenient in rooms where you frequently enter and exit with your hands full. Ideal for use in laundry rooms, basements, storage areas, pantries and garages. Leviton occupancy sensors are a simple, cost effective way to automate a space in your home.
           
          from One hour north of NYC
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Wow! This is great.
          PostedFebruary 1, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          It's funny how sometimes you don't know you need something until you find it. This switch replaces a single pole switch (which means there is a single switch for your lights) and it turns the lights on when you get anywhere near it automatically and then turns them off after you leave (you select from 30 seconds to 30 minutes). You also set how much ambient light is needed to stop the switch form working when the room is sunlit. Brilliant!
          So now you don't have to worry about turning off the lights. I'm gonna buy a couple more for other spots in my house. Oh, and did I mention you can also turn the lights on or off manually?
          I've been changing all our bulbs over to LED now that the prices
          Read More
          It's funny how sometimes you don't know you need something until you find it. This switch replaces a single pole switch (which means there is a single switch for your lights) and it turns the lights on when you get anywhere near it automatically and then turns them off after you leave (you select from 30 seconds to 30 minutes). You also set how much ambient light is needed to stop the switch form working when the room is sunlit. Brilliant!
          So now you don't have to worry about turning off the lights. I'm gonna buy a couple more for other spots in my house. Oh, and did I mention you can also turn the lights on or off manually?
          I've been changing all our bulbs over to LED now that the prices have come down, and this is one more way to save electricity, my wallet and the planet.
          Read Less
          Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Lots of Features, Motion-Activated, Stylish
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The new Werner Podium-Style ANSI Type II rated 3-Step Steel Stool is ideal for the do-it-yourself or homeowner. The super-sized platform step offers a large, secure standing area along with heightened support of an extended rail. The comfort, wrap-around project tray provides a place to hold tools, hardware and accessories while working on the stool. The over-sized, slip resistant and non-marring feet and secure safety latch each provide a maximum sense of security while using the stool. Both the attractive silver finish and enhanced safety features makes this the ultimate step stool for everyone.
           
          from One hour north of NYC
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Super heavy duty
          PostedFebruary 1, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I got this ladder so my short-ish wife can easily reach things on the upper shelves in our kitchen. The ladder is very sturdy and heavily built, which is good, but she thinks it's a bit too heavy to easily use. But I'm keeping it because of the wide steps and even wider top platform which makes it especially stable for painting walls, changing ceiling fixtures etc. Being older (60) I really appreciate the extra firmness compared to a regular ladder; I'm not as agile as I once was and this gives me more confidence. It also has a nice locking mechanism for opening and closing it. I highly recommend this ladder, just make sure it's not too heavy for you.
          Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design, High Quality
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Quickie’s Jumbo Mop and Scrub Roller Mop is ideal for all your heavy-duty, large area clean-ups. Built with professional grade quality, the mop comes with an extra-wide, extra-absorbent sponge for cleaning all types of large flooring surfaces. The sponge is treated with Microban antimicrobial product protection which helps reduce odor-causing bacteria, mold and mildew between product uses. The built-in scrubber helps removes caked-on dirt, debris and surface scuff marks. Once the job is complete, you will love how the sponge rinses clean and wrings dry with its non-slip, easy-to-use wringer.
           
          from One hour north of NYC
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great Mop, Great Price
          PostedFebruary 1, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Nice big, absorbent sponge mop head with a great self ringing featured so your hands stay dry while you clean. No it's not the "miracle mop" made famous in the movie Joy, but this little gem really works hard for you and makes life simpler, not to mention cleaner. And so inexpensive!
          The only thing you might want to keep in mind is that the overall height of the mob is a little more than any others we've had, by about 4 inches. This is only a problem if your storage cabinet is short as ours is. So it doesn't quite fit with our other mobs and brooms; which for us is no big deal, but I thought I'd mention it.
          Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Use, Nice Design
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Our Rustic Collection is an instant classic. Rustic wood millwork utilizes the technologies of today to build the 'log and timber' wood products that have been in architecture for centuries. Because our products are not kiln dried, each item in our Rustic Collection is 100% unique and will contain the natural variations that the wood species offers. Your wood bracket, corbel, rafter tail, will contain unique colors, grains, textures, knots, sapwood and heartwood content and possible sap bleeding and even natural checking, splitting and cracks. These natural variations are what make the Rustic Collection stand out from the rest. Be proud of your project; stand out from the cookie-cutter homes; use the Rustic Collection family of products.
           
          from One hour north of NYC
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Purchase frequency:Yearly
          Received free product:Yes
          Beautiful, Solid Workmanship
          PostedFebruary 1, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This cedar bracket is beautifully made with totally clear wood and long screws that hold it together. I was impressed with the quality and even my architect thought it was the best he'd seen. That being said, it is very simple, not to heavy but very solid. I'm using it to help support a bump out I'm building onto my bedroom. I'm going to water proof it and may end up painting it, but natural or painted it will look great.
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Orbit 1-Outlet Electronic Watering Timer will turn your hose faucet into a programmed sprinkler system in minutes. No more dead plants because you forgot to water them. No more soggy lawns because you forgot to turn the water off. Just set the timer and go. With a large digital display, easy program dial and simple controls, programming is fast and easy. Built with high quality materials and water-resistant construction you can count on many years of dependable service. Simply install a hose faucet timer to any standard outdoor hose faucet and program it to water at your convenience. Program it to water during ideal times to minimize evaporation and save yourself time and money while making your yard lush and green.
           
          from One hour north of NYC
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great Product, Great Price
          PostedFebruary 1, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This hose timer is very heavy duty and seems like it'll last a long time. I got this timer because I left a similar one outside all winter and it froze and cracked. My fault as it says right on the label not to let it freeze.
          This timer is so easy to use; check out the video I made which shows how easy it is to set up and use. The only difficult part is getting it out of the heavy wrapper it's in; I guess it's a security thing, but I wish manufacturers would take into consideration how to open their product.
          Once you get it open it is very intuitive to use.
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
          Video Review:
          (click to see the video)
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 24 >>
           
          Mark's Questions
           
          Mark has not submitted any questions.
           
          Mark's Answers
           
          Quickie’s Jumbo Mop and Scrub Roller Mop is ideal for all your heavy-duty, large area clean-ups. Built with professional grade quality, the mop comes with an extra-wide, extra-absorbent sponge for cleaning all types of large flooring surfaces. The sponge is treated with Microban antimicrobial product protection which helps reduce odor-causing bacteria, mold and mildew between product uses. The built-in scrubber helps removes caked-on dirt, debris and surface scuff marks. Once the job is complete, you will love how the sponge rinses clean and wrings dry with its non-slip, easy-to-use wringer.
           

          Does mop use type P refill mop head

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          January 23, 2016
          Asked by
          Mark
          One hour north of NYC
          February 1, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes it does.
          Here's a link to the refill at HomeDepot: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Quickie-Automatic-Roller-Mop-Refill-0553-1/204590896?MERCH=REC-_-PIPHorizontal1_rr-_-206154814-_-204590896-_-N
           
          Quickie’s Jumbo Mop and Scrub Roller Mop is ideal for all your heavy-duty, large area clean-ups. Built with professional grade quality, the mop comes with an extra-wide, extra-absorbent sponge for cleaning all types of large flooring surfaces. The sponge is treated with Microban antimicrobial product protection which helps reduce odor-causing bacteria, mold and mildew between product uses. The built-in scrubber helps removes caked-on dirt, debris and surface scuff marks. Once the job is complete, you will love how the sponge rinses clean and wrings dry with its non-slip, easy-to-use wringer.
           

          where is this available

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          hypoluxo, fl
          August 14, 2015
          you show it on web site but where is it available or how to order it on line
          Asked by
          Mark
          One hour north of NYC
          February 1, 2016
          Answer: 
          Just add it to the shopping cart and follow the easy steps to purchase.
           
          The UTARPit tarp is a self-adhesive, water mitigation product. It eliminates the need for hammers, wood stripes, nails, bricks and sandbags when trying to cover the damaged roof area. It can easily be installed by a single person providing consumers with a quick, easy and effective solution in the installation of a tarp. This tarp mitigates the water damage while protecting the property. UTARPit can be used on barrel tile, asphalt shingles, slate, fiberglass, concrete and metal surfaces. It is proved to sustain hurricane winds up to 110 miles per hour with 8.8 in. per hour of wind driven rain without releasing. UTARPit is the best solution to protect assets pre and post various weather conditions.
           

          Will this adhere to damp shingles?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          November 5, 2015
          Will the tape on bottom of tarp stick to shingles if they are wet?
          Asked by
          Mark
          One hour north of NYC
          January 10, 2016
          Answer: 
          I doubt it, but you can use a scrap piece of wood to weight it down, or tuck a piece of it under a few shingles.
           
          The SharkBite Push-to-Connect CTS (Copper Tube Size) x CTS x IPS (Iron Pipe Size) PVC Slip Tee is the easiest way to cut into an existing Copper Tube Size Copper, PEX, PE-RT, or CPVC pipe and run out PVC Sch. 40, 80, or 120 from the Tee. SharkBite fittings do not require soldering, clamps, unions, or glue. Just insert the pipe and the stainless steel teeth bite down and grip tight, while a specially formulated O-ring compresses to create a perfect seal. The White Collar Center fits Sch. 40, 80, 120 PVC and also can be used on IPS CPVC Sch. 40 and Sch. 80 pipes. The Mustard collar ends fit CTS Copper, PEX, CPVC or PE-RT pipe. Disassembly is just as fast using the SharkBite disconnect tool so fittings and valves can be easily changed and reused. They can even be rotated after assembly for easier installation in tight spaces.
           

          Can this product be used on an old galvanized water pipeline?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          myrtle beach, sc
          September 24, 2015
          Asked by
          Mark
          One hour north of NYC
          November 24, 2015
          Answer: 
          Not directly, you'd have to get an adapter for galvanized to pex or pvc and then make the connection. It'd be best to remove the galvanized pipe altogether as it will eventually clog and reduce water pressure.
           
          The Everbilt 36 in. Heavy Duty Pocket Door Frame Set is designed for use with doors up to a maximum of 80 in. high and 1-3/4 in. thick. Its door panels are adjustable up to 5/8 in. vertically, and the door rough opening should be 4 in. higher than the door panel height. The set features a slide-in nesting feature for easy installation and is adaptable to opening sizes up to 36 in.
           

          how much width is needed to install a pocket door frame

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          kittanning, pa
          October 28, 2014
          Asked by
          Mark
          One hour north of NYC
          November 1, 2015
          Answer: 
          Usually you need double the listed size, so for a 36" door you need 72" of wall (including the opening space) so the door completely hides inside the wall.
           
          1 2 3 4 5 6 >>