catz
  • Review count
    3
  • Helpfulness votes
    2
  • Average rating
    4.7
    4.7 out of 5
  • First Review:
    August 1, 2012
  • Last Review:
    December 27, 2013
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      1
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        3
      • Helpfulness votes
        2
      • Average rating
        4.7
        4.7 out of 5
      • First Review:
        August 1, 2012
      • Last Review:
        December 27, 2013
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          1
           
           
           
           
          catz's Reviews
           
          Industrial Strength 4 ft. x 2 in. VELCRO Tape provides dependable holding power when used for heavy-duty indoor and outdoor jobs. This adhesive-backed hook-and-loop tape measure 4 ft. long x 2 in. wide.
           
          from Colorado, USA
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          really is tough stuff
          PostedDecember 27, 2013
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          I bought this to use to help insulate the piping on an outside hot tub installation. Along with Reflectix insulation (see my review 'A versitile product' under Reflectix 16"x25' roll) I wanted to to make short sections of insulation to place around the flexible pvc piping of my hot tub. Well, the day that the insulation and velcro arrived it was zero degrees outside and the velcro adhesive would not work at that temperature. Instead, I used duct tape to secure the Reflectix. At some point I plan replace the duct tape with the velcro.
          In the meantime, when the outside temperatures warmed up to thirty degrees I did use the velcro to mount some of the hot tub controls to a vertical panel. This
          Read More
          I bought this to use to help insulate the piping on an outside hot tub installation. Along with Reflectix insulation (see my review 'A versitile product' under Reflectix 16"x25' roll) I wanted to to make short sections of insulation to place around the flexible pvc piping of my hot tub. Well, the day that the insulation and velcro arrived it was zero degrees outside and the velcro adhesive would not work at that temperature. Instead, I used duct tape to secure the Reflectix. At some point I plan replace the duct tape with the velcro.
          In the meantime, when the outside temperatures warmed up to thirty degrees I did use the velcro to mount some of the hot tub controls to a vertical panel. This worked great and saved me from having to install a disconnect to the control wiring, which I did not want to do.
          In addition, my husband used some of the velcro to mount a laser pointer to his telescope. He was pleased with how once the velcro adhesive cured that it does move or come off. Although, this characteristic could be a disadvantage and something to consider when using this product as it appears to be a permanent installation.
          A great product for mounting difficult objects to difficult surfaces. But keep in mind that the adhesive of the velcro appears to be permanent once cured.
          Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, once installed it is permanent
          Cons: Difficult to Install, installation adhesive effected by cold tempatures, once installed difficult to remove
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Reflectix Insulation has over a dozen money-saving applications for around the home. The list of uses includes crawl space, radiant floor, attic and walls, just to name a few. The product is easy to handle and install. All you need are scissors, a staple gun, safety goggles and a tape measure. Since our insulation is fiber free, no protective garments or respirators are required.
           
          from Colorado, USA
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Purchase frequency:Yearly
          A versatile product
          PostedDecember 27, 2013
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          We recently purchased and assembled a wood hot tub. It is located outside and exposed to our harsh midwestern winter where the temperatures often dip below zero for extended periods. I knew that the system had freeze protection but wanted to ensure that I would not be up nights worrying about frozen pipes. I looked into the foam type pipe insulation but found it difficult to work with and it was rather expensive for the size I needed. I thought that there had to be other options - something that would come in shorter lengths, was more flexible than the typical 5/8" thick foam pipe insulation and was easy to configure around the various pipe fittings.
          For awhile now I had been thinking of
          Read More
          We recently purchased and assembled a wood hot tub. It is located outside and exposed to our harsh midwestern winter where the temperatures often dip below zero for extended periods. I knew that the system had freeze protection but wanted to ensure that I would not be up nights worrying about frozen pipes. I looked into the foam type pipe insulation but found it difficult to work with and it was rather expensive for the size I needed. I thought that there had to be other options - something that would come in shorter lengths, was more flexible than the typical 5/8" thick foam pipe insulation and was easy to configure around the various pipe fittings.
          For awhile now I had been thinking of using Reflectix to insulate my workshop. It occured to me that this product might work well to insulate the hot tub piping so I ordered one 25' roll. It arrived late one day with the outside temps hovering around zero and I could not wait to try it out. Cutting it in short lengths, I used duct tape (which had to be warmed up in order to get it to stick) to fasten the short lengths to the pvc and then wrapping the insulation around the pipe securing the insulation with another piece of duct tape. The pvc fittings were just as easy cutting shorter lengths of insulation, turning them 90 degrees and then some more duct tape.
          The next morning the outside temperature was ten below but poking my fingers under the insulation on the pipes showed that the Reflectix worked perfect as I could feel that the pipes were very warm, warmer than without the insulation. An additional benefit is that the water looses little of the heat when it runs from the heater to the tub.
          This is a great product that could have a multitude of uses.
          Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The GE 1-Light Under Cabinet Light has a white finish and features a linkable, slim-line design. This fixture uses one 13-watt fluorescent bulb and produces energy-saving, warm fluorescent light. The electronic ballast ensures quiet, flicker-free operation.
           
          from Colorado, USA
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Good lighting in a slim package
          PostedAugust 1, 2012
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          This fixture provides plenty of task lighting. I installed it under a shallow shelf about a foot above a work bench. The slim design and small profile fluorescent bulb mean that this fixture does not interfere with the work area. The only downside was that installation was a bit difficult due to the design of the mounting clips. Installing the one clip is fine, but installing the other one requires a certain amount of guessing. A template or instructions with exact layout dimensions would help.
          Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
          Cons: Difficult to Assemble
          +2points
          2out of 2found this review helpful.
           
          catz's Questions
           
          catz has not submitted any questions.
           
          catz's Answers
           
          The GE 1-Light Under Cabinet Light has a white finish and features a linkable, slim-line design. This fixture uses one 13-watt fluorescent bulb and produces energy-saving, warm fluorescent light. The electronic ballast ensures quiet, flicker-free operation.
           

          slim lights under cabinets

          Asked by
          Rose
          IN
          January 5, 2012
          how do you connect light to elecricity? do you use outlet on wall ect or does it run on irs own with bateries
          Asked by
          catz
          Colorado, USA
          August 1, 2012
          Answer: 
          This fixture comes with an attached power cord.