BilltheEngineer
  • Review count
    310
  • Helpfulness votes
    458
  • Average rating
    4.2
    4.2 out of 5
  • First Review:
    October 19, 2009
  • Last Review:
    March 21, 2017
 
  • Question count
    14
     
    • Answer count
      667
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        310
      • Helpfulness votes
        458
      • Average rating
        4.2
        4.2 out of 5
      • First Review:
        October 19, 2009
      • Last Review:
        March 21, 2017
       
      • Question count
        14
         
        • Answer count
          667
           
           
           
           
          BilltheEngineer's Reviews
           
          Blaster Silicone Lubricant contains a higher concentration of silicone than competitor brands, which provides longer-lasting lubrication. Formulated with Teflon Fluoropolymer to enhance performance. Its clear, non-evaporating formula eliminates wear from constant friction and is safe and non-staining.
           
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Verified Purchase:Yes
          I used this to help stop snow from sticking to the case and shoot of my snowblower. I sprayed it...
          PostedMarch 21, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I used this to help stop snow from sticking to the case and shoot of my snowblower. I sprayed it on the night before and wiped it all over to make sure I got as much coverage as possible. Next day using the snowblower there was a noticeable improvement. The snow was more slush than snow, but nothing was stuck to the augers, impeller, housing or shoot when I was done.
          All the surfaces I applied this to were painted metal.
          Also the item that i bought was this silicone spray but it was just one can not a case. I think it was less than $4 for the can.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          A nice combination set of punches used to scribe, pierce holes, and mark holes for drilling in metal, these are true industrial grade tools that are 100 pecent Made in the USA. Utilizing alloy steel for strength and durability, and heat treated with a fully automated infra-red controlled process, these tools are then finished with a rust preventative coating for years of exceptional use.
           
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Verified Purchase:Yes
          Nice set of punches. Made in the USA which is nice. I have only used one of the punches a handf...
          PostedMarch 21, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Nice set of punches. Made in the USA which is nice. I have only used one of the punches a handful of times and it has worked well. No issues putting marks in mild steel. Made drilling a hole in the right location much easier. No wondering of the drill bit.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Hunter's Universal Control works on all Hunter fans as well as many other brands. It provides a simple solution to control the fan's speed and light. Simply wire the Simple Connect compatible receiver inside the ceiling fan's canopy and get up and going quickly with your new factory paired control.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          No more messing with chains to control the fan or light!
          PostedMarch 20, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have 4 ceiling fans, three indoors and one outside under a canopy. All the inside ceiling fans are controlled by switches that let me control the fan speed and lights (dimmer), but the outside could only be controlled by the pull chains since there is no good place to install switches and it would be a wiring mess.
          Low and behold I see this, it answers all my ceiling fan and light prayers (well almost). This installs like most other fan/light controls (the ceiling module looks like the ceiling module from a name brand switch manufacturer). Turn off the power to the circuit that your fan is on (unless you like getting zapped or like to temp fate). Remove the trim ring from the fan and Read More
          I have 4 ceiling fans, three indoors and one outside under a canopy. All the inside ceiling fans are controlled by switches that let me control the fan speed and lights (dimmer), but the outside could only be controlled by the pull chains since there is no good place to install switches and it would be a wiring mess.
          Low and behold I see this, it answers all my ceiling fan and light prayers (well almost). This installs like most other fan/light controls (the ceiling module looks like the ceiling module from a name brand switch manufacturer). Turn off the power to the circuit that your fan is on (unless you like getting zapped or like to temp fate). Remove the trim ring from the fan and make 4 wire nut connection (light, fan, power and neutral). Install the trim ring and turn on the power if you turned it off. Install the battery in the remote and you are done, unless you want to read the manual.
          Now I don't need to stand up and reach over the patio table and yank on chains to control the fan speed or the light brightness. Also as a bonus with none of the my other fan/light control can do it now I can dim LED and CFL bulbs in the ceiling fan if they are dimmable. It's nice on the outside so you can create some ambiance.
          All you need to remember is to keep the remote handy and not loose it. I don't think it is weather proof.
          As for answering all my ceiling fan/light prayers, if it were able to be connected to or controlled by a smart home product that would have been the cou degra. Then all I would need is a smartphone. Still I am very happy with it. Now I just need to wait till it warms up so be able to use it. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Fast / Speed, Functional, Good Size & Weight, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Unique, Well Made
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Most homeowners discover that their sump pump has a problem when the basement is already flooded. PumpSpy's Sump Pump Smart Outlet contacts homeowners that their sump pump has a problem BEFORE flooding can occur. The Sump Pump Smart Outlet connects to the free PumpSpy Monitoring Service that constantly watches your sump pump automatically, 24/7. The PumpSpy Sump Pump Smart Outlet works with any 120-Volt sump pump. Simply connect the Smart Outlet to your Wi-Fi network and plug in your sump pump. PumpSpy's computers will automatically track incoming data from your sump pump and check that the pump is working properly. If any issues are detected, PumpSpy automatically sends out text messages, emails and app alerts. Download the FREE PumpSpy App to receive reports, alerts and check your sump pump anytime, anywhere. The PumpSpy Sump Pump Smart Outlet includes: Smart Outlet, screw, high water sensor, mounting bracket and installation guide. Wi-Fi network required. Protect your basement from flooding with the PumpSpy Sump Pump Smart Outlet.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great way to add some smarts to a sump pump!
          PostedMarch 20, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I think this is a great product. Who checks on their sump pump to make sure it's working ok, very few or no one. And to check on it the way the PumpSpy WiFi Sump Pump Outlet checks on it is not really convenient. It's easy to install, easy to set up and there is no fee to monitor which is another big plus that I like.
          The install and setup instructions are easy to follow. If you can install a lamp and connect your smartphone to Wifi you can install this.
          I contacted the Manufacturer to find out a little more on how it monitors your sump pump and they were very prompt and gave straight answers.
          I asked this:
          I understand that it can tell the following:
          -high water level (via
          Read More
          I think this is a great product. Who checks on their sump pump to make sure it's working ok, very few or no one. And to check on it the way the PumpSpy WiFi Sump Pump Outlet checks on it is not really convenient. It's easy to install, easy to set up and there is no fee to monitor which is another big plus that I like.
          The install and setup instructions are easy to follow. If you can install a lamp and connect your smartphone to Wifi you can install this.
          I contacted the Manufacturer to find out a little more on how it monitors your sump pump and they were very prompt and gave straight answers.
          I asked this:
          I understand that it can tell the following:
          -high water level (via sensor)
          -on/off cycles
          -determine if the pump is on or off
          -network status
          -power status
          Does the unit monitor any of the following:
          -line voltage
          -Current draw of the pump
          -Temperature
          -Local weather conditions that might lead to changes in pump cycles or run times
          And their response was:
          The Smart Outlet does monitor the current draw of the pump throughout the cycle, along with the cycle duration and what you included in your list. No for temperature or weather conditions. We occasionally compare your data to other PumpSpy systems in your area if unusual pump activity is detected.
          Our monitoring software collects the data from your system and establishes baseline parameters. If your pump begins to deviate from baseline, we can diagnose many issues by looking across the incoming data. For instance, we can diagnose a blocked discharge line looking at the amp draw and pump cycle deviation from normal, which will present different values than a jammed pump impeller.
          For a piece of mind knowing your sump pump might need some attention before it has stopped working can really help you sleep at night. Plus the hassle of not having to deal with a flooded basement is not as likely. Even if every is working fine you are notified if there is a unit is not responding because there might be a power failure or maybe a tripped circuit breakers. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, Reliable, adds piece of mind, no fees!!
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Bosch GLL 100 GX Green-Beam Self-Leveling Cross-Line Laser features a laser with vertical, horizontal and cross-line modes. Green beams are up to 4X brighter than standard red beams, and this gives the tool a working range up to 100 Ft. The tool offers an accuracy of ±1/8 In. at 33 Ft. and ±3/8 In. at 100 Ft. The laser projects two lines independently or together, for a broad array of alignment and leveling applications. It includes Bosch-exclusive VisiMax technology, which allows for outstanding line visibility in standard working conditions. It constantly monitors the laser's temperature so the diodes are always driven to maximum line visibility, while protecting the laser diodes from overheating. The Bosch Smart Pendulum System self-levels and indicates out-of-level condition, to help ensure an accurate layout. It locks the pendulum after the laser is switched off for secure transport.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Easier to see than Red beam laser levels
          PostedMarch 7, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I have a red beam cross line level (also Bosch) and it has served me well. But there are lighting situations where the red laser is more difficult to see thank the green laser. Usually it is difficult to see when the laser bean is cast onto a well lit surface or outside on a sunny day (neither one works well out in the bright sun). In most situations I have tried it in the green laser is easier to see and but it is not always as sharp. The red laser has an accuracy of 1/4" @ 100 ft this green on is 3/8" @ 100 ft, so I guess the green laser diverges more than the red. This could be from better optics in the red cross line laser lever or actually something to do with the wavelength of the red Read More
          I have a red beam cross line level (also Bosch) and it has served me well. But there are lighting situations where the red laser is more difficult to see thank the green laser. Usually it is difficult to see when the laser bean is cast onto a well lit surface or outside on a sunny day (neither one works well out in the bright sun). In most situations I have tried it in the green laser is easier to see and but it is not always as sharp. The red laser has an accuracy of 1/4" @ 100 ft this green on is 3/8" @ 100 ft, so I guess the green laser diverges more than the red. This could be from better optics in the red cross line laser lever or actually something to do with the wavelength of the red light compared to green light (I don't really know, it just looks sharper. See images in this review for yourself).
          Nice added features in this kit and the level itself are:
          -comes with a carrying/storage bag/case, it's only big enough to hold the level.
          -comes with a Bosch BM3 Magnetic Line and Point Lasers Positioning Device with Extendable Legs (amazingly versitile)
          -Laser can be locked in position so you can project lines that are perpendicular to each other but not level or plumb
          -Each lasers line can be turned on/off independently (Not super useful but I guess it could save some batter power)
          -comes with a target plate
          -come with batteries (3 AA)
          Reading the manual for the BM3 Magnetic Line and Point Lasers Positioning Device with Extendable Legs will be useful to figure out and understand all the ways that it can be used. When I first looked at it I thought it was kind of cheap and hokey looking. But after looking over the manual for it, it really is well thought out and amazing how many ways it can be used. I though it was just a little tripod and a magnetic mount but it can be used in so many more ways. It almost like a transformer that really never looks cool or like anything but it is very versatile. Having a regular tripod is also very useful for this level too, a lot handier than trying to stack stuff to get it to the height you want. Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, Strong, Sturdy
          Cons: not as sharp as a red laser but brighter
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 62 >>
           
          BilltheEngineer's Questions
           
          Quality and performance make Razor-Back tools the choice of both professionals and general consumers. If your next project involves installing a fence, post, mailbox, or basketball hoop, make sure you use the right tool for the job. This Post Hole Digger is perfect for digging those necessary holes and footings and will help you do so without bending over or straining your back.
           

          Where is this made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          February 22, 2017
          Where is this made?
           
          For high-quality, long-lasting repairs choose Bondo Wood Filler. Bondo Wood Filler rebuilds, restores and replaces rotted or damaged sections of wood on doors, windows, fences, furniture, shutters and more. Medium brown in color when mixed, Bondo Wood Filler is stainable and paintable, making it perfect for almost any wood surface inside or outside of the home. Because it is a 2-part wood filler, Bondo Wood Filler will not shrink and cures fast. The filler can be easily sanded by hand or power tool in only 15 minutes and shaped, planed, drilled, routed or sawed just like wood. This non-shrinking, permanent filler can be stained or painted in only 25 minutes, meaning your repair is complete the same day you started. Not only can you fill in small damage, but the strength of this 2-part wood filler allows you to rebuild rotted or missing pieces of wood and complete repairs in less than 30 minutes.
           

          Can this be colored or tinted?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          October 31, 2016
          Can this be colored or tinted?
           
          Our filter is 100% recyclable and is produced with a new technology that carbonizes dried coconut shells in an enclosed self-sustaining system. We offer a low cost alternative. We have a complete line of filters that are compatible with most major brands of refrigerators. We are WQA gold seal certified.
           

          Where are these filters made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 22, 2016
          Where are these filters made?
           
          The Husky 7-Piece Nut Driver Set is designed for use with metric-sized hex fasteners and includes 5 mm, 6 mm, 7 mm, 8 mm, 9 mm, 10 mm and 11 mm nut drivers. Tough acetate handles offer strength, durability and resistance to chemicals and solvents. A storage rack is included for easy storage. The handles are color coded for fast size identification. The shafts are nickel-chrome plated for max corrosion resistance.
           

          where are these made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          August 1, 2016
          where are these made?
           
          The Husky 7-Piece Nut Driver Set (SAE) includes 3/16 in., 1/4 in., 5/16 in., 11/32 in., 3/8 in., 7/16 in. and 1/2 in. nut drivers. Tough acetate handles offer strength, durability and resistance to chemicals and solvents. A storage rack is included for easy storage. The handles are color coded for fast size identification. The shafts are nickel-chrome plated for max corrosion resistance.
           

          where are these made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          August 1, 2016
          where are these made?
           
          BilltheEngineer's Answers
           
          Howard Butcher Block and Cutting Board Oil contains food grade mineral oil stabilized with Vitamin E. Our Butcher Block and Cutting Board Oil meets FDA requirements for food contact surfaces, and is safe for all food preparation surfaces. It is tasteless, and will never go rancid. This product is perfect for seasoning cutting boards, butcher blocks and wooden utensils.
           

          Which do I use first: cutting board oil or butcher block conditioner?

          Asked by
          TigerLily
          March 23, 2017
          I'm finishing a brand new untreated maple butcher block counter. I got both products as suggested.
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          March 24, 2017
          Answer: 
          I would say to use the cutting board oil first and you could continue to use it there after or use the butcher block conditioner. If it's an area that where going to see a lot of water (near a sink) I would use the butcher block conditioner.
          the difference is that butcher block conditioner has some beeswax and carnauba wax in it.
           
          Most homeowners discover that their sump pump has a problem when the basement is already flooded. PumpSpy's Sump Pump Smart Outlet contacts homeowners that their sump pump has a problem BEFORE flooding can occur. The Sump Pump Smart Outlet connects to the free PumpSpy Monitoring Service that constantly watches your sump pump automatically, 24/7. The PumpSpy Sump Pump Smart Outlet works with any 120-Volt sump pump. Simply connect the Smart Outlet to your Wi-Fi network and plug in your sump pump. PumpSpy's computers will automatically track incoming data from your sump pump and check that the pump is working properly. If any issues are detected, PumpSpy automatically sends out text messages, emails and app alerts. Download the FREE PumpSpy App to receive reports, alerts and check your sump pump anytime, anywhere. The PumpSpy Sump Pump Smart Outlet includes: Smart Outlet, screw, high water sensor, mounting bracket and installation guide. Wi-Fi network required. Protect your basement from flooding with the PumpSpy Sump Pump Smart Outlet.
           

          I am terrified about whether my sump pump is doing its job especially with the upcoming spring ra...

          Asked by
          BigCubbiesfan
          February 25, 2017
          I am terrified about whether my sump pump is doing its job especially with the upcoming spring rains and flooding. Is this just a high water alarm that uses wifi?
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          March 20, 2017
          Answer: 
          It that plus more.
          It will notify you of the water level is higher than the what you sump pump stops at (indicating that the pump can't keep up or there pump is not working)
          It also monitor the power usage of you pump to see if it cycles to often or if there is some other issue. it can determine if there is a change in the power usage and that can give you a forewarning that the pump needs service Read More
          It that plus more.
          It will notify you of the water level is higher than the what you sump pump stops at (indicating that the pump can't keep up or there pump is not working)
          It also monitor the power usage of you pump to see if it cycles to often or if there is some other issue. it can determine if there is a change in the power usage and that can give you a forewarning that the pump needs service or replacement.
          It's not cheap but it has the potential to save a bundle in money of not having to clean up after pump stopped working by knowing it stopped working before the water got out of hand. Read Less
           
          Protect valuables from theft in the Honeywell Small Steel Colored Security Safe with Digital Lock. With 0.17 cu. ft. of storage space, this safe is perfect for small portable devices, mobile phones, money, credit cards valuable possessions, jewelry, and more. It comes with a carpet-lined interior to keep your valuables from scratches, and can be bolted down to a shelf. This compact digital steel safe is perfect for students away at college or boarding school, or in their room at home. Comes in pink, blue, white or black. Give yourself the peace of mind that comes from being prepared in the event of theft or invasion of your home or office. Store your valuables in a Honeywell Steel Security Safe.
           

          Is it waterproof and fireproof?

          Asked by
          Cheryl
          March 15, 2017
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          March 16, 2017
          Answer: 
          No and no.
          All it is really good for is sticky fingers from taking things. this is not a very robust safe. If it is not bolted or fastened to anything it is almost useless. Easy for someone to carry away and get into at their own leisure.
           
          Purchase this 2-Pack of Ryobi 18-Volt ONE+ lithium+ High Capacity Batteries for the ultimate runtime and performance from your tools. The Ryobi 18-Volt ONE+ High Capacity LITHIUM+ battery provides four times more run time, 4 times longer lasting charge and 20% lighter weight than Ni-Cd batteries. The fuel gauge lets you know the battery status before work begins. Lithium-ion batteries provide fade-free power for maximum performance throughout the charge. Best of all, it works with over 50 great ONE+ tools. California residents: see Proposition 65 information.
           

          Can these Ryobi batteries fit and/or be used in Sears Craftsman C-3 power tools ? Except for the...

          Asked by
          Sawdusty
          March 15, 2017
          Can these Ryobi batteries fit and/or be used in Sears Craftsman C-3 power tools ? Except for the green and black housing, they look VERY similar to Craftsman RED and BLACK version !
          If they DO FIT, I would never buy the more expensive Craftsman batteries again ... I also see some tools offered by Ryobi that Craftsman doesn't offer. Win, Win !
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          March 16, 2017
          Answer: 
          no it only fits Ryobi 18+ tools
           
          Control your ceiling fan and light with ease using the Maestro fan/light control. This wall-mounted control allows for you to easily adjust the fan speed as well as dim or brighten the light without having to fumble for a pull chain. With the seven fan speeds and full-range dimming, you can optimize your personal comfort and set your room conditions just the way you want them. This fan control and dimmer kit can control a 1 amp fan and up to 300W of incandescent or halogen and for use in single-pole applications only. The Maestro fan/light control installs easily, working with virtually all existing wiring.
           

          Does this work with Wink Hub?

          Asked by
          Flash777
          March 16, 2017
          Does this work with Wink Hub?
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          March 16, 2017
          Answer: 
          no it does not work with any smart home equipment
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 134 >>