Billtheengineer
  • Review count
    371
  • Helpfulness votes
    534
  • Average rating
    4.2
    4.2 out of 5
  • First Review:
    October 19, 2009
  • Last Review:
    November 7, 2017
 
  • Question count
    15
     
    • Answer count
      810
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        371
      • Helpfulness votes
        534
      • Average rating
        4.2
        4.2 out of 5
      • First Review:
        October 19, 2009
      • Last Review:
        November 7, 2017
       
      • Question count
        15
         
        • Answer count
          810
           
           
           
           
          Billtheengineer's Reviews
           
          Liven up your yard with this festive Inflatable Reindeer with wreath from Home Accents Holiday. A cute addition to your holiday decor, use this prancing pal to welcome guests during the holiday season. Simply plug it in, stake it down and watch the magic come to life. Internal LED lights offer a beautiful nighttime display.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Who doesn't like blow up holiday decoration! This is pretty easy to set up, power it up and stake...
          PostedNovember 7, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Who doesn't like blow up holiday decoration! This is pretty easy to set up, power it up and stake it down. A suggestions is to do this on a calm day or have a hand if it is breezy. You don't want to be rescuing this by yanking on the cord or trying to get it out of a tree. I inflates pretty quickly and not sure how well it will stay upright in the wind, it is pretty tall. I don't think there is a way to get it back in the original box. The construction is okay, no better or worse than other inflatable decorations. Nice that is has lights that also illuminate pretty well.
          Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Looks Great, Nice Design, Stylish
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Santa gets ready to bowl a thunderous strike in this holiday scene. The perfect way to greet guests this season, this adorable airblown inflatable features jolly-old-Saint Nick and a band of frightened penguins that simulate bowling pins. Sure to amuse all passerby, plug it in, stake it down and watch the magic unfold. Internal LED lights offer a beautiful nighttime display.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Who doesn't like blow up holiday decoration! This is pretty easy to set up, power it up and stak...
          PostedNovember 7, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Who doesn't like blow up holiday decoration! This is pretty easy to set up, power it up and stake it down. A suggestions is to do this on a calm day or have a hand if it is breezy. You don't want to be rescuing this by yanking on the cord or trying to get it out of a tree. I inflates pretty quickly and looks like it should stay upright if you stake it down well and is not really windy. I don't think there is a way to get it back in the original box. The construction is okay, no better or worse than other inflatable decorations. Nice that is has lights that also illuminate pretty well.
          Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Looks Great, Nice Design
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          It's part of Makita's expanding 18-Volt Lithium-Ion system, the world's largest cordless tool system powered by 18-Volt Lithium-Ion slide-style batteries. Makita 18-Volt Lithium-Ion batteries have the fastest charge times in their categories, so they spend more time working and less time sitting on the charger. For improved tool performance and extended battery life, Makita created Star Protection Computer Controls. Star Protection is communication technology that allows the Star Protection-equipped tool and battery to exchange data in real time and monitor conditions during use to protect against overloading, over-discharging and overheating. For increased versatility, the tool can also be powered by Makita 18-Volt LXT and Compact Lithium-Ion batteries with the Star Symbol on the battery indicating Star Protection inside. Delivers A Splinter-Free Mirror Finish Wherever the Application May Be.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This is the only track saw/plunge saw I have used, but I have use corded and cordless circular sa...
          PostedNovember 6, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is the only track saw/plunge saw I have used, but I have use corded and cordless circular saws and wormdrive saws. Although it seems like just another circular saw, it's almost a completely different type of saw. The closest I could compare it to is using a circular saw with a guide. With careful use I would say you could get similar results, but with a track saw it's so much easier and more consistent. For one there is no measuring for the offset from the edge of the shoe to the blade, once the track has be trimmed on it's first use it's place the track where you want the cut, place the saw on it and cut. The saw glides effortlessly on the track compared to a circular saw. When using a Read More
          This is the only track saw/plunge saw I have used, but I have use corded and cordless circular saws and wormdrive saws. Although it seems like just another circular saw, it's almost a completely different type of saw. The closest I could compare it to is using a circular saw with a guide. With careful use I would say you could get similar results, but with a track saw it's so much easier and more consistent. For one there is no measuring for the offset from the edge of the shoe to the blade, once the track has be trimmed on it's first use it's place the track where you want the cut, place the saw on it and cut. The saw glides effortlessly on the track compared to a circular saw. When using a guide with a circular saw and an appropriate blade the cut quality looks the same. What I like this for is to making accurate cuts and doing it with minimal effort and fuss. Now a circular saw for me is relegated to rough cuts and framing type cutting. A track saw/plunge cut is more for trim/finish work and craft/project/furniture making stuff.
          The saw comes with a case for the saw and for the charger that can be stacked and locked together. They feel like brittle plastic that will crack if dropped, but nice to have a case for the saw. I have also experienced how much nicer it is to have a cordless saw, and this one has all the same benefits. Like other cordless saws I have it has a soft start and brake which i really like. But I am going to guess it is not as powerful as a corded one. But for the cuts you would use this on I don't think it's much of an issue, you could make multiple cuts instead of one deep cut. The overall construction of the saw is nice but does not have the rugged feel of most circular saws. Again the plastic feels lower end, but I don't see this saw getting the same treatment as most circular saws.
          All the adjustment on the saw are clearly marked and easy to use. The saw only needed minor adjustment so it did not wiggle on the track. Everything else was looked to be set square out of the box.
          Another surprise was how quiet this was compared to all the other saws I have used corded and cordless. The shop vac was louder. Nice added bonus I was not expecting Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, Powerful, very quiet, soft start, blade brake
          Cons: no riving knife, some plastics feel cheap
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Looks adorable! Nice weight to it so it should not blow over in the wind. But if it does get kn...
          PostedNovember 6, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Looks adorable! Nice weight to it so it should not blow over in the wind. But if it does get knocked over onto a hard surface I think it would crack, chip or break. It feels like it is made of plaster or lightweight concrete.
          The light on it are nice and bright. There is a weatherproof switch to turn it on and off. A little bit of an annoyance to have to turn it on and off, I would have liked it to be plug in so I could use a timer or have a timer or light sensor built in. Might just try and see how long batteries last in it if i leave it on all the time. (I am sure I will forget to turn it off a few times). To change the batteries a screw driver is needed.
          Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Looks Great, Nice Design, Sturdy, Stylish
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Milwaukee 5-Blade Pipe Crimper provides deep, consistent crimps in up to 22 Gal. Cold rolled steel. The patent-pending reinforced crimper ribs add stiffness to each blade for aggressive crimps. Patent-pending 1-thumb open and lock mechanism makes the tool easy to use while over mold grips increase tool durability. Rust resistance and a heavy duty spring ensure the tool will survive jobsite conditions.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          I have seen these tools before but never wanted to spend the money for something I would only use...
          PostedNovember 6, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have seen these tools before but never wanted to spend the money for something I would only use a handful of times and that I could find a way to do what this does. Well if I had got myself one of these years ago it could have made all the the times I needed to shrink the ends of a duct a but so much easier and so much neater and nicer that what I did with pliers/hammers/and a bunch of other things I have tried.
          Works great, easy to use, does a nice job. Now I may go back and make my dryer duct connection nice and neat You can see from the pictures how you can shrink the end of duct a lot or almost nothing depending how deep you make the creases. Now that I have three bathroom fans to Read More
          I have seen these tools before but never wanted to spend the money for something I would only use a handful of times and that I could find a way to do what this does. Well if I had got myself one of these years ago it could have made all the the times I needed to shrink the ends of a duct a but so much easier and so much neater and nicer that what I did with pliers/hammers/and a bunch of other things I have tried.
          Works great, easy to use, does a nice job. Now I may go back and make my dryer duct connection nice and neat You can see from the pictures how you can shrink the end of duct a lot or almost nothing depending how deep you make the creases. Now that I have three bathroom fans to install I am sure this will come in handy.
          For someone who does ductwork on a regular basis it's a must have tool (unless professionals have some other trick that i don't know of). For a home owner/diyer I think I may use this a dozen times or two times in my life. But it does save a bunch of time compared to any other method I have tried
          The tool is a nice quality, even if you are professional I would guess it would last you years or a career. The only downside is it's awkward to full open it and I have good size hands. But you really don't need to fully open it, as you can go around a couple of times and probably make a more uniform taper if you do it in stages. The lock to keep it closed works well and auto releases once you squeeze the handles so no fumbling to open it. Read Less
          Pros: nice quality, Easy to Use, no slip grips, works great
          Cons: only does one thing but does it well
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 75 >>
           
          Billtheengineer's Questions
           
          Shelterguard’s tough steel construction combines performance and value to provide a durable roof and siding solution for sheds, barns and agricultural buildings. Create a high-performing system using complementary Shelterguard trim, screws, closure strip and sealant. Stiffening ribs and grade 80 steel add rigidity and durability.
           

          how to stop cut edges from rusting

          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          April 22, 2017
          is there a recommended method to stop cut edges from rusting?
           
          Quality and performance make Razor-Back tools the choice of both professionals and general consumers. If your next project involves installing a fence, post, mailbox, or basketball hoop, make sure you use the right tool for the job. This Post Hole Digger is perfect for digging those necessary holes and footings and will help you do so without bending over or straining your back.
           

          Where is this made?

          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          February 22, 2017
          Where is this made?
           
          For high-quality, long-lasting repairs choose Bondo Wood Filler. Bondo Wood Filler rebuilds, restores and replaces rotted or damaged sections of wood on doors, windows, fences, furniture, shutters and more. Medium brown in color when mixed, Bondo Wood Filler is stainable and paintable, making it perfect for almost any wood surface inside or outside of the home. Because it is a 2-part wood filler, Bondo Wood Filler will not shrink and cures fast. The filler can be easily sanded by hand or power tool in only 15 minutes and shaped, planed, drilled, routed or sawed just like wood. This non-shrinking, permanent filler can be stained or painted in only 25 minutes, meaning your repair is complete the same day you started. Not only can you fill in small damage, but the strength of this 2-part wood filler allows you to rebuild rotted or missing pieces of wood and complete repairs in less than 30 minutes.
           

          Can this be colored or tinted?

          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          October 31, 2016
          Can this be colored or tinted?
           
          Our filter is 100% recyclable and is produced with a new technology that carbonizes dried coconut shells in an enclosed self-sustaining system. We offer a low cost alternative. We have a complete line of filters that are compatible with most major brands of refrigerators. We are WQA gold seal certified.
           

          Where are these filters made?

          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 22, 2016
          Where are these filters made?
           
          The Husky 7-Piece Nut Driver Set is designed for use with metric-sized hex fasteners and includes 5 mm, 6 mm, 7 mm, 8 mm, 9 mm, 10 mm and 11 mm nut drivers. Tough acetate handles offer strength, durability and resistance to chemicals and solvents. A storage rack is included for easy storage. The handles are color coded for fast size identification. The shafts are nickel-chrome plated for max corrosion resistance.
           

          where are these made?

          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          August 1, 2016
          where are these made?
           
          Billtheengineer's Answers
           
          This 16-gauge Straight Finish Nailer features Airstrike Technology, which eliminates the need for noisy compressors, bulky hoses or expensive gas cartridges. This means faster setup and easier maneuvering on the job site. The RYOBI ONE+ AirStrike 16-Gauge Finish Nailer drives 16-gauge finish nails ranging from 3/4 in. to 2-1/2 in. length. This finish nailer includes a Compact Lithium-Ion Battery and Charger, but works with any 18-Volt ONE+ battery. The Airstrike 16-Gauge Finish nailer is part of the RYOBI ONE+ family of over 100 products.
           

          i am confused, this looks like it runs on a battery, which would be cool, but then in tool type i...

          Asked by
          kat
          November 15, 2017
          i am confused, this looks like it runs on a battery, which would be cool, but then in tool type it lists it as an air tool. So does this need a compressor or not?
          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          November 15, 2017
          Answer: 
          The nailer has the compressor built in. And this works with all the Ryobi 18 volt batteries. So you don't need a air compressor to use this. It's a little more bulky than a typical nail gun, but nice that there is no hose. Also you can't bump fire as quickly as a typical nail gun but I don't think that is an issue with installing finish nails and trim
           
          It's part of Makita's expanding 18-Volt Lithium-Ion system, the world's largest cordless tool system powered by 18-Volt Lithium-Ion slide-style batteries. Makita 18-Volt Lithium-Ion batteries have the fastest charge times in their categories, so they spend more time working and less time sitting on the charger. For improved tool performance and extended battery life, Makita created Star Protection Computer Controls. Star Protection is communication technology that allows the Star Protection-equipped tool and battery to exchange data in real time and monitor conditions during use to protect against overloading, over-discharging and overheating. For increased versatility, the tool can also be powered by Makita 18-Volt LXT and Compact Lithium-Ion batteries with the Star Symbol on the battery indicating Star Protection inside. Delivers A Splinter-Free Mirror Finish Wherever the Application May Be.
           

          Does it come with tha rail

          Asked by
          diviso
          October 24, 2017
          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          November 6, 2017
          Answer: 
          I don't think it does. Since I got mine from the Home Depot Seeds Program a track was sent with it. I only suspect a track is separate because some may already have a track from a previous saw.
           
          It's part of Makita's expanding 18-Volt Lithium-Ion system, the world's largest cordless tool system powered by 18-Volt Lithium-Ion slide-style batteries. Makita 18-Volt Lithium-Ion batteries have the fastest charge times in their categories, so they spend more time working and less time sitting on the charger. For improved tool performance and extended battery life, Makita created Star Protection Computer Controls. Star Protection is communication technology that allows the Star Protection-equipped tool and battery to exchange data in real time and monitor conditions during use to protect against overloading, over-discharging and overheating. For increased versatility, the tool can also be powered by Makita 18-Volt LXT and Compact Lithium-Ion batteries with the Star Symbol on the battery indicating Star Protection inside. Delivers A Splinter-Free Mirror Finish Wherever the Application May Be.
           

          does it come with track, if it doesn't why not!

          Asked by
          stephan456
          November 6, 2017
          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          November 6, 2017
          Answer: 
          I don't think it does. Since I got mine from the Home Depot Seeds Program a track was sent with it. I only suspect a track is separate because some may already have a track from a previous saw.
           
          LED Retrofit Kit consists of four 4 ft. LED Daylight Tubes. 8 non shunted sockets and 1 metal kit. This innovative kit comes complete for the end user to retrofit older 4 ft. fluorescent fixtures such as Troffers, Strip Lights, Wraps and Puffs.
           

          Do these tubes replace T8 & T12 fluorescent tubes

          Asked by
          Bearcat
          November 4, 2017
          Do these tubes replace T8 & T12 fluorescent tubes
          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          November 6, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes, but the fixture needs to be rewired to not use the ballast and so that the lights get 120 VAC power.
           
          The RIDGID THRUCOOL 7-1/4 in. Worm Drive Saw has upgraded to a THRUCOOL motor to optimize performance. THRUCOOL motor technology allows air to flow through the center of the motor and out the sides for more efficient cooling. This saw uses top of the line technology to improve speed and performance while also keeping the saw light weight and compact. This tool is backed by the Lifetime Service Agreement providing Free parts, Frees service, for life.
           

          What is the base made of? Steel? or aluminum?

          Asked by
          PapaJ
          October 29, 2017
          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          October 31, 2017
          Answer: 
          Aluminum or magnesium
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 162 >>