BilltheEngineer
  • Review count
    320
  • Helpfulness votes
    469
  • Average rating
    4.2
    4.2 out of 5
  • First Review:
    October 19, 2009
  • Last Review:
    May 5, 2017
 
  • Question count
    15
     
    • Answer count
      686
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        320
      • Helpfulness votes
        469
      • Average rating
        4.2
        4.2 out of 5
      • First Review:
        October 19, 2009
      • Last Review:
        May 5, 2017
       
      • Question count
        15
         
        • Answer count
          686
           
           
           
           
          BilltheEngineer's Reviews
           
          A simple flip is all you need for perfect, evenly-cooked waffles. The "flip" ensures batter is evenly distributed and cooks evenly as well. Adjustable temperature control allows you to bake waffles the way you like them, from light and fluffy to crispy and crunchy. Whether you are serving as a tasty breakfast drizzled with syrup or a decadent dessert with fresh fruit and ice cream, this Oster Flip Waffle Maker makes it delicious. The non-stick Belgian surface creates waffles with professional results, forming deep pockets and bigger squares that capture the goodness of your toppings. Cool touch handle is safe and easy to work with and vertical lock position provides space-saving, easy storage solution. Let your culinary creativity flow while entertaining guests for brunch with a waffle station complete with a toppings bar. Or have a waffle party for kids and let them top their waffles with edible decorations. There are so many ways to create memorable meals and tons of fun.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Makes Some Nice Waffles
          PostedMay 5, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          The only downside that I see is what others have pointed out, the drip tray is not large enough. Truth is that It would have to be pretty big to catch all the drips and runouts. The suggestion to put a baking sheet under it is really a good idea. I used a plastic cutting board. That is really the only negative but its really not much of one.
          It does take a little tweaking or trial and error to figure out what setting to set the it two. But that is the case with anything, ovens, pans, etc. I like that fact that there is an adjustment so you don't have to set up a timer to get consistent results.
          Cleaning is not bad if the waffle batter is not stuck in the griddle nooks. So remember to Read More
          The only downside that I see is what others have pointed out, the drip tray is not large enough. Truth is that It would have to be pretty big to catch all the drips and runouts. The suggestion to put a baking sheet under it is really a good idea. I used a plastic cutting board. That is really the only negative but its really not much of one.
          It does take a little tweaking or trial and error to figure out what setting to set the it two. But that is the case with anything, ovens, pans, etc. I like that fact that there is an adjustment so you don't have to set up a timer to get consistent results.
          Cleaning is not bad if the waffle batter is not stuck in the griddle nooks. So remember to grease before putting batter in. A brush works well, you just need to make sure you get all the surfaces. Sprays work well too, but I find that i get the spray over more than just the griddles.
          I tried a couple of the recipes (Classic and Classic Buttermilk) and they worked well. You can easily make a small batch, but I find it easier to make a larger batch and freeze some for use at a later date. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design, Sturdy, Stylish
          Cons: can get a little messy making waffles
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Globe Electric's 5-Piece Parker All-In-One Bath Set is a wonderful way to update your bathroom with one easy step. Combining a modern refined vintage look with an industrial pipe look, these pieces will update any space. Complete with a towel bar, towel ring, robe hook, toilet paper holder, and 3-light vanity fixture with thick clear glass shades in a modern and sleek chrome finish, your bathroom will look streamline and welcoming. Add a compatible dimmer switch to your vanity fixture to create a warm ambiance for a relaxing bath. While the pieces complement each other you can split this set up and use it throughout your home. The towel bar makes an excellent shoe holder. The towel ring would be great in your kitchen. The vanity light would work in your bedroom. Think outside the box. Three medium base 60-Watt bulbs are required and sold separately. The towel bar measures 20.87 in. long and sits about 2.72 in. from the wall. The towel ring is 6.1 in. wide, 6.88 in. tall and sites about 2.72 in. from the wall. The robe hook is about 2.2 in. wide at the base and sits about 2.2 in. from the wall. The toilet paper holder is 6.69 in. wide and sites about 2.77 in. from the wall. The 3-light vanity is about 24.63 in. wide, 11 in. high and sits about 7.92 in. from the wall. Each shade is 6.5 in. wide and 5.32 in. high.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Looks great
          PostedMay 2, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Overall I really like the look of the hardware and the fixture. I have a few other fixtures in my home that have the Edison style of bulbs and think this fits in nicely.
          Installing the fixture and the hardware is the same as most other light fixtures and bathroom hardware. Mine only issue around when I realized the towel bar in this set was much shorter than the one I was replacing. Since I did not want to have the holes of the old towel bar showing I ended up not using the bar in the set and found one that was the same diameter and long enough. I have to cut that bar down but now I don't have holes in the wall showing. If I didn't have wall paper I could have patched and painted but I Read More
          Overall I really like the look of the hardware and the fixture. I have a few other fixtures in my home that have the Edison style of bulbs and think this fits in nicely.
          Installing the fixture and the hardware is the same as most other light fixtures and bathroom hardware. Mine only issue around when I realized the towel bar in this set was much shorter than the one I was replacing. Since I did not want to have the holes of the old towel bar showing I ended up not using the bar in the set and found one that was the same diameter and long enough. I have to cut that bar down but now I don't have holes in the wall showing. If I didn't have wall paper I could have patched and painted but I with wall paper I don't have the skills to disguise them.
          The towel bar tube in the set was very thin and cheap feeling. I am sure it would hole a towel without an issue. But other one I found was much more substantial. Overall the quality of the items is not the level that is meant to last a lifetime. Provided that all the parts don't rust (they are in bathroom and it can get humid) and the chrome finish hold up they should look good a long time. I would suspect the towel bar, towel ring and TP holder will show signs of wear were there is movement between parts. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design, Stylish, Unique, Very Bright
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The LG PuriCare air purifier is the smart solution for air care, capturing 99.97% of airborne allergens as small as .3 microns. The LG PuriCare air purifier’s 3-stage filter system provides clean air by capturing large particles like dust, pet dander, mold and pollen while reducing odors and VOCs. Its quiet operation keeps the noise level as low as 23dB, just above a whisper. Checking air quality is quick and easy with a simple LED light system that visually indicates air pollution levels and a digital display providing real-time measurement of indoor particulates. The unique round design and brushed gold color are so elegant it could be mistaken for decor.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Helps with allergies
          PostedApril 28, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Now that spring is here and the pollen is flying I have got a chance to see how this works. It does a great job of removing dust and pollen in the air. I have is set up in my bedroom (12' x 16' with 8' ceilings) and there is a noticeable difference when I go to sleep with it on and when it has been off. With is on I wake up feeling less stuffed up. As long at it has stayed cool enough to leave the windows closed it has been a benefit. I also have a ceiling fan going to help in circulating the air. I try to turn it on an hour or so before going to bed and leave it running through the night. It is quiet enough that it does not bother me, if anything it's like a bit of white noise. I can't Read More
          Now that spring is here and the pollen is flying I have got a chance to see how this works. It does a great job of removing dust and pollen in the air. I have is set up in my bedroom (12' x 16' with 8' ceilings) and there is a noticeable difference when I go to sleep with it on and when it has been off. With is on I wake up feeling less stuffed up. As long at it has stayed cool enough to leave the windows closed it has been a benefit. I also have a ceiling fan going to help in circulating the air. I try to turn it on an hour or so before going to bed and leave it running through the night. It is quiet enough that it does not bother me, if anything it's like a bit of white noise. I can't bring myself to turn on the a/c on the nights when its warmish and end up opening a window. I have tried with and without the air purifier running and can't say it does much help when the windows are open, really not surprising, but I thought I would give it a try.
          Checking and cleaning the filters is easy. The unit displays when you should look at it. I have not had any of the light go on to indicate this but I have vacuumed off the pre-filter when I have seen a noticeable amount of cat hair on it. I can't say I have seen anything else on it.
          Also nice to know is that the filters are expected to last 3 - 4 thousand hours. At that rate it will be years before I need to replace them. But if you use it a lot it may only be a year or two before it needs replacing. Replacement filters are about $90 but that is not to bad if they last 2 or 3 years. Or not bad if it helps how you feel, and that only last a year. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Sturdy, Stylish
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Trex Outdoor Furniture Adirondack, available exclusively at The Home Depot, was designed with ultimate relaxation in mind. This spacious chair features a curved back and contoured seat with a round front for added comfort. Backed by a 20-year warranty, it's constructed of solid HDPE lumber available in a variety of attractive, fade-resistant colors, including vibrant colors available exclusively at The Home Depot. This all-weather adirondack chair is easy to maintain with its resistance to food and beverage stains, salt sprays and other environmental stresses. And although it resembles real wood, it won't rot, crack or splinter and will never require painting or staining.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Comfortable, easy to assembly and no maintenance!
          PostedApril 26, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I like items that don't end up making more work for me. This nice that is it made of High Density Polyethylene and stainless steel hardware. So other than an occasional washing/wipe down no work other then to get out of it.
          The chair is comfortable for me, I am 6' 2", 260 lbs and it seems to fit me just right. Small stature people might end up having their feet dangle. For me everything seems to in just the right place. It supports my legs and my feet are comfortably on the ground. The arms are at just the right height to support my hands and arms and the arms are at a width that is also just right. The chair is stable and has a nice weight to it that is it not going to move on you when Read More
          I like items that don't end up making more work for me. This nice that is it made of High Density Polyethylene and stainless steel hardware. So other than an occasional washing/wipe down no work other then to get out of it.
          The chair is comfortable for me, I am 6' 2", 260 lbs and it seems to fit me just right. Small stature people might end up having their feet dangle. For me everything seems to in just the right place. It supports my legs and my feet are comfortably on the ground. The arms are at just the right height to support my hands and arms and the arms are at a width that is also just right. The chair is stable and has a nice weight to it that is it not going to move on you when you go to sit in it or get up out of it. Although you will not want to carry that far or to often.
          Assembly is easy. A second set of hands is helpful but not needed. The tools to assemble listed in the instructions, one was included but the other you have to supply which is a bit odd. No big deal, most tools that come a product I have seen are junk anyway. In this case I was quiet surprised, the T handle Allen key is nicer than tools I have bought. It's made in the USA and had a nice over mold. The instructions are clear and simple to follow, although they are printed in a way that I think they were meant to be folded in to a booklet (some one got fancy and in the end it did not turn out as expected). Never less as long as you can count its easy to follow. I skipped using the provided tool and used a drill and a box end wrench to make assembly easier and quicker. The hardware provided is of decent quality but being it's stainless steel you do need to watch when tightening to not strip out the head or strip out the plastic it's going into if you used a power tool to assemble.
          All the parts were made well and aligned without any issues. I think a few more screws could have been used to make it just a little more rigid especially considering what this costs. It nice that its made in the USA too. Read Less
          Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Looks High End, Sturdy
          Cons: a little pricey
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The all-new Steamfast SF-450 Handheld Fabric Steamer provides a natural garment care solution. This compact, lightweight and portable steamer is powerful enough to penetrate deep into heavy fabrics and gentle enough for your most delicate fabrics. Ergonomically designed for quick touch up at home or on the go. It heats the water in only 30 seconds and runs continuously without manually pumping.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great for touching up curtains and clothing
          PostedApril 24, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          If it were not for wanting a sharp crease in some things I would not need to iron much at all.
          This does supplement an iron and ironing board nicely. Sometimes you just need to get the wrinkles out of something and don't want to or have the time to get the iron or ironing board out. It work well on lighter fabric, not so much on heavy material like denim. It does a nice job on dress shirts and lighter curtains. Heavy light blocking curtains it struggles with.
          On light materials it work well and the steam passes through the fabric so it remain dry and releases the wrinkles. On heavy materials the steam does not pass through the fabric as well and tends to get the material damp to wet Read More
          If it were not for wanting a sharp crease in some things I would not need to iron much at all.
          This does supplement an iron and ironing board nicely. Sometimes you just need to get the wrinkles out of something and don't want to or have the time to get the iron or ironing board out. It work well on lighter fabric, not so much on heavy material like denim. It does a nice job on dress shirts and lighter curtains. Heavy light blocking curtains it struggles with.
          On light materials it work well and the steam passes through the fabric so it remain dry and releases the wrinkles. On heavy materials the steam does not pass through the fabric as well and tends to get the material damp to wet depending on how much you try and how open the fabric is. An iron does a better job on the heavy materials.
          The cord is a nice length and it does not use that much power (1000 watts) so an extension cord can be used. The water tank is easy to fill and does not leak when in use or stored. It heats up amazingly quickly, less than a minute. So for quick touch ups its great. Also there are no hot surfaces on it to worry about after you turn it off. Turn it off and wait till the steam stops coming out (10 - 15 seconds) and it safe to put away. There are also two settings on it a high and low steam out put. I used the high for everything other than a really light open fabric.
          I tried to take some video of the steam at different setting but nothing really showed up well on video, basically look like me holding up a non-working steamer. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design, Sturdy, Stylish
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 64 >>
           
          BilltheEngineer's Questions
           
          Shelterguard’s tough steel construction combines performance and value to provide a durable roof and siding solution for sheds, barns and agricultural buildings. Create a high-performing system using complementary Shelterguard trim, screws, closure strip and sealant. Stiffening ribs and grade 80 steel add rigidity and durability.
           

          how to stop cut edges from rusting

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          April 22, 2017
          is there a recommended method to stop cut edges from rusting?
           
          Quality and performance make Razor-Back tools the choice of both professionals and general consumers. If your next project involves installing a fence, post, mailbox, or basketball hoop, make sure you use the right tool for the job. This Post Hole Digger is perfect for digging those necessary holes and footings and will help you do so without bending over or straining your back.
           

          Where is this made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          February 22, 2017
          Where is this made?
           
          For high-quality, long-lasting repairs choose Bondo Wood Filler. Bondo Wood Filler rebuilds, restores and replaces rotted or damaged sections of wood on doors, windows, fences, furniture, shutters and more. Medium brown in color when mixed, Bondo Wood Filler is stainable and paintable, making it perfect for almost any wood surface inside or outside of the home. Because it is a 2-part wood filler, Bondo Wood Filler will not shrink and cures fast. The filler can be easily sanded by hand or power tool in only 15 minutes and shaped, planed, drilled, routed or sawed just like wood. This non-shrinking, permanent filler can be stained or painted in only 25 minutes, meaning your repair is complete the same day you started. Not only can you fill in small damage, but the strength of this 2-part wood filler allows you to rebuild rotted or missing pieces of wood and complete repairs in less than 30 minutes.
           

          Can this be colored or tinted?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          October 31, 2016
          Can this be colored or tinted?
           
          Our filter is 100% recyclable and is produced with a new technology that carbonizes dried coconut shells in an enclosed self-sustaining system. We offer a low cost alternative. We have a complete line of filters that are compatible with most major brands of refrigerators. We are WQA gold seal certified.
           

          Where are these filters made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 22, 2016
          Where are these filters made?
           
          The Husky 7-Piece Nut Driver Set is designed for use with metric-sized hex fasteners and includes 5 mm, 6 mm, 7 mm, 8 mm, 9 mm, 10 mm and 11 mm nut drivers. Tough acetate handles offer strength, durability and resistance to chemicals and solvents. A storage rack is included for easy storage. The handles are color coded for fast size identification. The shafts are nickel-chrome plated for max corrosion resistance.
           

          where are these made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          August 1, 2016
          where are these made?
           
          BilltheEngineer's Answers
           
          The Brinly P20-500BH premium push spreader offers unmatched value in an all-season spreader. The P20-500BH broadcast lawn spreader holds 50 lbs. of lawn fertilizer, grass seed, snow and ice-melt agents or other granular materials, and is the right choice for homeowners with 1/4 to 1/2 half acre lots. The P20-500BH spreader includes a powder coated spreader hopper frame, enclosed gears, and large turf tread pneumatic tires that deliver long-lasting durability. Additional features include adjustable height handles to support your ergonomic working height, positive on / off (no cables to break), and standard hopper screen to break up large clumps of granular material. The Brinly 50 lb. push spreader is the right tool to help create a great looking lawn.
           

          Just got mine. The wheel feels a little loose. Is this a part of the design?

          Asked by
          PhilMcCrackin
          May 17, 2017
          Just got mine. The wheel feels a little loose. Is this a part of the design?
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          May 19, 2017
          Answer: 
          I had the wheel fall off on me. The hardware that holds the wheel on is just a pushed on and has to try and grab the smooth shaft, which it does not do to well.
          Other than that I think it's a nice spreader.
          I drilled a hole in the shaft and installed some washers and a clevis pin (you could also use a cotter pin) to hold the wheels on.
           
          The H99ICAT is a small aperture IC AIR-TITE housing for accent and task lighting in a new construction environment. It is designed for use in insulated ceilings where it will be in direct contact with insulation. It is an AIR-TITE housing designed to prevent air flow between living spaces and unconditioned areas.
           

          Are they fire rated to using in a three story apartment

          Asked by
          Fred
          May 17, 2017
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          May 18, 2017
          Answer: 
          They are sealed so I would assume if they are installed properly they could be used
           
          This 16-gauge Straight Finish Nailer features Airstrike Technology, which eliminates the need for noisy compressors, bulky hoses or expensive gas cartridges. This means faster setup and easier maneuvering on the job site. The Ryobi ONE+ AirStrike 16-Gauge Finish Nailer drives 16-gauge finish nails ranging from 3/4 in. to 2-1/2 in. length. This finish nailer is sold as a bare tool, allowing you to build on your ONE+ collection without spending additional money on batteries and chargers with each tool purchase. Best of all, like every Ryobi 18-Volt ONE+ blue or green tool, this AirStrike Finish Nailer works with any 18-Volt ONE+ battery. Upgrade to lithium-ion or LITHIUM+ batteries for lighter weight and better performance.
           

          Would this nailer be suitable to install a small section of drywall like two small strips 1 foot ...

          Asked by
          Andrew
          May 16, 2017
          Would this nailer be suitable to install a small section of drywall like two small strips 1 foot by 8 foot tall boards. If not what would be the best tool for the job.
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          May 18, 2017
          Answer: 
          No it would not be. The nails this uses would not hold the drywall, there is almost no head on the nail. A drywall nail or drywall screw would be the appropriate fastener to use.
           
          Most homeowners discover that their sump pump has a problem when the basement is already flooded. PumpSpy's Sump Pump Smart Outlet contacts homeowners that their sump pump has a problem BEFORE flooding can occur. The Sump Pump Smart Outlet connects to the free PumpSpy Monitoring Service that constantly watches your sump pump automatically, 24/7. The PumpSpy Sump Pump Smart Outlet works with any 120-Volt sump pump. Simply connect the Smart Outlet to your Wi-Fi network and plug in your sump pump. PumpSpy's computers will automatically track incoming data from your sump pump and check that the pump is working properly. If any issues are detected, PumpSpy automatically sends out text messages, emails and app alerts. Download the FREE PumpSpy App to receive reports, alerts and check your sump pump anytime, anywhere. The PumpSpy Sump Pump Smart Outlet includes: Smart Outlet, screw, high water sensor, mounting bracket and installation guide. Wi-Fi network required. Protect your basement from flooding with the PumpSpy Sump Pump Smart Outlet.
           

          does this work outdoors? my sump is outside near my walk out basement

          Asked by
          blakr
          May 3, 2017
          does this work outdoors? my sump is outside near my walk out basement
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          May 4, 2017
          Answer: 
          This is not intended to be installed outside​. If it is protected from the elements it could be okay.
           
          Whether you’re a hobbyist, fixer-upper, or absolute beginner, Graco’s DIY Series sprayers deliver amazing results. You’ll complete your project in half the time it would take using brushes and rollers. This sprayer has the capacity to handle most of your indoor and outdoor home improvement projects like ceilings, sheds, decks or fences.
           

          I would like to know how long you can leave paint in it, Not in the trigger area, but if you have...

          Asked by
          Curious
          May 3, 2017
          I would like to know how long you can leave paint in it, Not in the trigger area, but if you have a big job that is going to take you a day or two will you have to clean it everytime?
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          May 4, 2017
          Answer: 
          You can leave it overnight. Just need to cover the gun and paint can to limit it drying out. You just need to release the pressure. Also try to mix the paint the next time you paint. You could probably be go a couple or three days.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 138 >>