Bill1974
  • Review count
    135
  • Helpfulness votes
    172
  • Average rating
    4.1
    4.1 out of 5
  • First Review:
    October 19, 2009
  • Last Review:
    February 25, 2015
 
  • Question count
    2
     
    • Answer count
      140
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        135
      • Helpfulness votes
        172
      • Average rating
        4.1
        4.1 out of 5
      • First Review:
        October 19, 2009
      • Last Review:
        February 25, 2015
       
      • Question count
        2
         
        • Answer count
          140
           
           
           
           
          Bill1974's Reviews
           
          The Maestro Countdown Timer helps you save money and energy by automatically turning off the lights and fans after a preset time. Using the Maestro Countdown Timer on bathroom exhaust fans can reduce the chance of a costly mold problem, and timers attached to garage lights can add an extra layer of safety when you return home at night. Use the large tap switch to turn the timer on and off, and use the rocker on the side to set the timer to the desired time-out option, anywhere from 5-60 minutes. Softly lit orange LEDs indicate the time remaining before turn-off. Save energy by using the Maestro Countdown Timer in closets, attics, basements, and other low-traffic areas to ensure the light is never left on for a long time. Coordinating Claro wallplates and accessories sold separately.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Works well and keep the bathroom mold free and smell free
          PostedFebruary 25, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Used this to make sure the fan in the bathroom runs long enough and so i don't have to remember to turn it off either. The only thing to check before installing this is how you fan and switch are wired and what the fan power draw is. Most likely this will work with most fan, but if you have one of the very quiet efficient fans it may not as it does not draw enough power, it needs a minimum of 40 watts or .3 amps at 115 VAC. If your fan sounds like a Chinook helicopter or if it has the power to pull the wallpaper or paint off the wall this switch will work just fine. Just kidding on that, basically if you can hear your fan when its running from outside the room it should work fine.
          If in Read More
          Used this to make sure the fan in the bathroom runs long enough and so i don't have to remember to turn it off either. The only thing to check before installing this is how you fan and switch are wired and what the fan power draw is. Most likely this will work with most fan, but if you have one of the very quiet efficient fans it may not as it does not draw enough power, it needs a minimum of 40 watts or .3 amps at 115 VAC. If your fan sounds like a Chinook helicopter or if it has the power to pull the wallpaper or paint off the wall this switch will work just fine. Just kidding on that, basically if you can hear your fan when its running from outside the room it should work fine.
          If in doubt use the Lutron Maestro MA-T51MN with will work with all fans up to 600 watts or 3 amps. this one does need a neutral wire to the switch not just a hot. Read Less
          Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Bring the classic woven wicker style to your outdoor space with this elegant 3-piece patio set from the Posada Collection by Hampton Bay. Perfect for cozy conversations in smaller spaces, the set includes 2 rocking motion chairs, comfy cushions and a 20 in. square inset side table with a glass top. The rich brown finish adds a colorful touch, while the solid, powder-coated steel frames ensure that this set will provide outdoor enjoyment for years to come.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice, Big and Comfortable
          PostedFebruary 25, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I got two chairs and a small side table.
          The fit and finish look like a nice quality and should stand up to the elements well. I plan on getting covers for the chairs as its easier to cover them then to remove the cushions and store them. I am not sure how long they will stay wet if rained on, some stuff drains and dries well, other stuff not so much. I just have better luck with covers. Since it's winter they are in my downstairs as regular furniture now.
          The chairs are large and comfortable. Good relaxing and snacking chairs once the weather warms up and i get them outside on the deck.
          Assembly was easy on the table and easy on one of the chairs, the other chair was a completely Read More
          I got two chairs and a small side table.
          The fit and finish look like a nice quality and should stand up to the elements well. I plan on getting covers for the chairs as its easier to cover them then to remove the cushions and store them. I am not sure how long they will stay wet if rained on, some stuff drains and dries well, other stuff not so much. I just have better luck with covers. Since it's winter they are in my downstairs as regular furniture now.
          The chairs are large and comfortable. Good relaxing and snacking chairs once the weather warms up and i get them outside on the deck.
          Assembly was easy on the table and easy on one of the chairs, the other chair was a completely different story. For one use common sense to assemble them and forget the instructions, they just make it more of a challenge. The difficult to assemble chair was the first one i assembled and i tried following the instructions, but after attaching the first two parts nothing would align. So I ended up starting from scratch and putting the entire chair together and put the seat cushion support in last instead of first. Much easier that way, plus I put in all the screws loosely and then tightened them all once everything was loosely put together. Second chair no problems but didn't follow the instructions. The alignment of the parts on the second chair was better then the first. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Comfortable, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
          Cons: instructions don't help
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          RIDGID introduces the new 14 in. Bandsaw. Fully equipped with industry leading features, it would be a great addition to any shop. With registration, it qualifies for the RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement, giving the user free part and service for life.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice Bandsaw but needs some finessing the make it really nice
          PostedFebruary 24, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          First off this bandsaw is heavy. So moving the box isn't easy and make assembly best and safely done with two people or one person and a hoist.
          Everything is well packages and there were no missing or extra parts. Some of the mobile base panels had been touched up as you can see a slight texture and color variation in a few spot on them. Better than a 10 foot paint job, but not a 5 foot one. Assembly consists of putting together the mobile base and then putting the almost fully assembled bandsaw on it.
          Assembling the mobile base is pretty easy, just a little awkward. The location of the nuts and bolts that attach the top of the base to the sides almost requires you to be double jointed or Read More
          First off this bandsaw is heavy. So moving the box isn't easy and make assembly best and safely done with two people or one person and a hoist.
          Everything is well packages and there were no missing or extra parts. Some of the mobile base panels had been touched up as you can see a slight texture and color variation in a few spot on them. Better than a 10 foot paint job, but not a 5 foot one. Assembly consists of putting together the mobile base and then putting the almost fully assembled bandsaw on it.
          Assembling the mobile base is pretty easy, just a little awkward. The location of the nuts and bolts that attach the top of the base to the sides almost requires you to be double jointed or a contortionist. The instructions are pretty clear, not the best not the worst, but closer to the better end of the spectrum. One little hint don't forget to install the wire clip when attaching the motor to the base, it's a challenge to get to after the bandsaw is all put together. Lifting the bandsaw out of the box onto the mobile base is best done with two people, i did it by myself but I am a big guy, the bandsaw is probably in the 150 to 200 lbs range.
          Once all put together a check of of alignment and setup was done, not much more then checking to see if the band was square to the table and the belt was tight. There is no mention in the manual on how tight to make the belt in the motor or how tight to make the blades as it does not say what size blade it comes with (i assumed its a 3/8" blade).
          After this I flipped the switch and there is some vibration, not a lot but it won't pass a nickel test. I cut up some 2 x 4 pine and some 1 x 4 maple. It doesn't bog down when cutting either piece, even when ripping them down into thinner pieces. The cuts are not smooth and there was some blade deflection (more on the maple). On closer looking at the wheels the blade ride on, they do not seem to be as true as they could be and/or the rubber tires are not as smooth as could be. I will try some better blades and see if that is part of the vibration. For out of the box set up it seems pretty good, but with some fine tuning I am sure I can get it to pass a nickel test. The mobile base is nice, pretty easy to roll around only because it's top heavy, and it's solid when in set down. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          EverSense Wi-Fi High Resolution Color Touchscreen Thermostat. Featuring Proximity Control Technology and Built-in Speakers for Wireless Streaming Music Instantly adapts based on what you are doing today using Allure Energy's Patented Proximity Control Technology, so your family always arrives home to comfort. Automatically enjoy comfort and savings. Quality speakers for wirelessly streaming music from your iPhone or Android smartphone directly to EverSense. Instead of learning bad habits, EverSense adapts to your current behavior based on how far or near, each user may be from their residence. Stuck in traffic, save money. Working late, save money and still arrive home to a comfortable environment. Easy to install and setup. EverSense is larger than most thermostats and usually covers the area of the old thermostat so you don't have to paint. Energy Saving Tips, Weather with animated radar and more. Built with pride in Austin, TX. Instead of using a battery that constantly charges from your HVAC system and frequently needs replacement, EverSense uses power only when needed. Batteries cause increased consumer electronic waste and take time and money to replace. EverSense is battery free. EverSense is a Wi-Fi Touchscreen Thermostat featuring patented Proximity Control Technology to make life easier, greener and more energy efficient. Combined with the free EverSense mobile app for iPhone or Android, EverSense automatically manages users' home temperature and energy USA.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Lots of features but missing some basic ones
          PostedFebruary 10, 2015
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          I kind of flip-flopped between recommending this thermostat or not. It all really depends on how you will use it and if it will work for you. These is no set schedule for when it will heat or cool. It's intended to work with a smartphone with gps location and when you get within a set range of it, it will adjust the temperature from the set back to the set point. If you can accept this and it will work for you that i would recommended it.
          For myself I tried it out for a couple of days and for home use I can't really justify it as a practical solution in my case. A typical 5+2 or 7 day programmable thermostat work well me. I even thought about putting it on any of the zones that I have and Read More
          I kind of flip-flopped between recommending this thermostat or not. It all really depends on how you will use it and if it will work for you. These is no set schedule for when it will heat or cool. It's intended to work with a smartphone with gps location and when you get within a set range of it, it will adjust the temperature from the set back to the set point. If you can accept this and it will work for you that i would recommended it.
          For myself I tried it out for a couple of days and for home use I can't really justify it as a practical solution in my case. A typical 5+2 or 7 day programmable thermostat work well me. I even thought about putting it on any of the zones that I have and it's not a good fit. The lower level thermostat is usually set low and just warm enough that I don't get frozen pipes. It's rarely adjusted. The upstairs bedrooms zone is generally left at one setting too, but it would be nice to have a set back when not home and only set if when we are sleeping. Most of the time the bedrooms are not occupied unless we are sleeping or getting ready in the morning. So the proximity control feature doesn't really work out to be a good fit. In the main living area a 5+2 or the 7 day programmable we have works well as we have a regular schedule and if we deviate it wifi and i can adjust it if i am away.
          For this thermostat to work, everyone has to either be on the same schedule or has to have the smartphone and app running. I was thinking that for a business this would be a better fit. But a programmable thermostat would work just as well.
          As for all the other features the thermostat has, they are pretty nice, but I can't see them being useful at home. Generally thermostats are not located where they would make a nice digital photo display or where they would good for playing music. Seeing the weather is nice, but if this needs a smartphone to work, then i am going to use that to check the weather.
          As for set of this thermostat, the manual could use some help and the built in setup could use more options. I knew I was going to need to run a new wire for this to work, so that was not a surprise. I only had a two wire system, its heat only. So to get it to work i would need 3 wire. But the built in setup won't accept that and I needed to tell it I had more wires than i have to proceed. So it thinks I have central a/c and i don't, but for heat it works. The manual should tell you what the function of each of the wire is for and what it is needed for, most thermostat manuals seem to miss this, thanks for the internet and google to find the answer.
          One other feature that I would like is to be able to adjust the set range to something greater than 1°. This would allow for less cycling of the heating and cooling system at the expense of not having as constant of a temperature. Or in the case of a digital smart thermostat a feature that limit the call for heating or cooling to be no less than a set amount of time to prevent short cycling of heating and cooling equipment. Read Less
          Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Nice Design
          Cons: missing a programmable schedule feature, setup and install could be easier
          -1point
          0out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          Crafted with quality and detailing, the Home Decorators Collection Brinkhill Vanity Combo will add charm to your bathroom. Complete with a 37 in. Colorpoint Vanity Top in Maui, this is the perfect item for any bathroom in your home. The 36 in. vanity features 2 large drawers making it roomy enough for all your bath items. The Brinkhill vanity is finished in a rich chocolate color and paired with chrome cabinet hardware.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This is a nice bathroom vanity with a good amount of storage.
          PostedFebruary 9, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Almost everything about this vanity is a positive. It looks really nice, it's heavy and feels well constructed and it's easy to install (except for moving it since it is heavy)
          The negative are, that it's made with particle board in some places and I would have preferred it to be plywood. If you have ever got particle board wet you know it will swell and start to fall apart. The bottom and back edges are exposed and will inevitably get wet from either splashed water or mopping the floor. the bottom does sit on little plastic feet so it should not get that wet but if and when there is an accident it will get wet. I sealed the exposed edges with a waterproof glue (Titebond III) to help it be Read More
          Almost everything about this vanity is a positive. It looks really nice, it's heavy and feels well constructed and it's easy to install (except for moving it since it is heavy)
          The negative are, that it's made with particle board in some places and I would have preferred it to be plywood. If you have ever got particle board wet you know it will swell and start to fall apart. The bottom and back edges are exposed and will inevitably get wet from either splashed water or mopping the floor. the bottom does sit on little plastic feet so it should not get that wet but if and when there is an accident it will get wet. I sealed the exposed edges with a waterproof glue (Titebond III) to help it be better protected.
          Also the sink does not have an overflow, I am guessing this is something new, but i thought all sinks had overflows.
          Other than those two items I am completely happy with this vanity. The drawers work nice and the doors open and close nicely too.
          Installing this has been easy, I am still in the process as I need to pick up a couple of trap pieces, but installing the drain and faucet was easy. There is also a side splash (I think that is what it's called) available if you want to install it in a corner. it's a separate item that does not come with the vanity. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Solid, Easy to Clean, Depth, High Quality, Good Use of Space
          Cons: made of particle board not plywood, no overflow in the sink
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 27 >>
           
          Bill1974's Questions
           
          Series 100XL Temperature and Pressure Relief Valves are used in water heater and hot water storage tank applications to provide automatic temperature and pressure protection to hot water supply tanks and hot water heaters up to 105,000 BTU/hr. They feature a bronze body with NPT male inlet and NPT female outlet connections, unique thermostat with special thermo-bonded coating, and a test lever. Model 100XL-8 is also available with 8 in. (200mm) extension thermostat. Series 100XL is ASME rated and CSA listed. Temperature Relief: 210 F (99 C), Pressure Relief Range: 75 to 150psi (5.2 to 10.3 bar), Standard Pressure Settings: 75, 100, 125, or 150psi (5.27, 7.03, 8.79, or 10.55 bar).
           

          Can this be used in place of the Watts 100KL-4 M7 (0066100)? What is the difference between them?

          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          May 8, 2014
          Looking at Watts site I can tell is this is a replacement model or not?
           
          The AH2510B universal attic ladder is lightweight, yet carries a duty rating of 375 pounds. The strut design eliminates springs and allows for a wide access opening. Easy to open and close. Wide steps are slip resistant and the feet are non-marring. Available for standard or extra-wide openings.
           

          Where is this ladder manufactured?

          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          March 15, 2014
           
          Bill1974's Answers
           
          The Maestro Countdown Timer helps you save money and energy by automatically turning off the lights and fans after a preset time. Using the Maestro Countdown Timer on bathroom exhaust fans can reduce the chance of a costly mold problem, and timers attached to garage lights can add an extra layer of safety when you return home at night. Use the large tap switch to turn the timer on and off, and use the rocker on the side to set the timer to the desired time-out option, anywhere from 5-60 minutes. Softly lit orange LEDs indicate the time remaining before turn-off. Save energy by using the Maestro Countdown Timer in closets, attics, basements, and other low-traffic areas to ensure the light is never left on for a long time. Coordinating Claro wallplates and accessories sold separately.
           

          is this timer suitable for a 3 way switch arrangement controlling ceiling lights?

          Asked by
          Mike
          Lincoln RI
          August 5, 2014
          Would i install 1 or 2 of these to work with both wall switches?
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          February 25, 2015
          Answer: 
          yes
           
          The Maestro Countdown Timer helps you save money and energy by automatically turning off the lights and fans after a preset time. Using the Maestro Countdown Timer on bathroom exhaust fans can reduce the chance of a costly mold problem, and timers attached to garage lights can add an extra layer of safety when you return home at night. Use the large tap switch to turn the timer on and off, and use the rocker on the side to set the timer to the desired time-out option, anywhere from 5-60 minutes. Softly lit orange LEDs indicate the time remaining before turn-off. Save energy by using the Maestro Countdown Timer in closets, attics, basements, and other low-traffic areas to ensure the light is never left on for a long time. Coordinating Claro wallplates and accessories sold separately.
           

          Can this switch be used to control flourescent or LED lamps, and if so, how many watts total?

          Asked by
          Jerry
          Pittsburgh
          August 18, 2014
          I would like to use this switch to control overhead lighting in a garage so the lights don't get left on indefinitely after leaving the garage. Product information sheet says switch won't work with fluorescent fixtures but will control magnetic low voltage loads. I'm confused.
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          February 25, 2015
          Answer: 
          yes if the power draw of the fixtures being controlled is at least 40 watts or .3 amps at 115 VAC
          A Lutron MA-T51MN might be a better choice as it will work with lower power draw devices
           
          The Maestro Countdown Timer helps you save money and energy by automatically turning off the lights and fans after a preset time. Using the Maestro Countdown Timer on bathroom exhaust fans can reduce the chance of a costly mold problem, and timers attached to garage lights can add an extra layer of safety when you return home at night. Use the large tap switch to turn the timer on and off, and use the rocker on the side to set the timer to the desired time-out option, anywhere from 5-60 minutes. Softly lit orange LEDs indicate the time remaining before turn-off. Save energy by using the Maestro Countdown Timer in closets, attics, basements, and other low-traffic areas to ensure the light is never left on for a long time. Coordinating Claro wallplates and accessories sold separately.
           

          I don't want my kid to be able to turn on our heater without selecting a time. Will they be able to run it indefinitely or is there always a countdown

          Asked by
          Kman
          January 6, 2015
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          February 25, 2015
          Answer: 
          This switch is not rated to power a heater it can only handle 600 watts which is most likely less than the power draw of a heater
          Heaters generally require a thermostat to control them
           
          The Glacier Bay Shaila Vanity in Silver leaf with Cultured Marble Top in White with Mirror has a transitional-inspired design profile. This vanity includes generous storage for bathroom toiletries. It has a color-matched finished interior that is attractive and easy to clean. The cultured marble vanity top has a rectangular integral sink basin to make cleaning easier.
           

          what color is silverleaf?

          Asked by
          Francesca
          bklyn ny
          January 30, 2015
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          February 3, 2015
          Answer: 
          It's a greyish brown wood grain pattern, it is very close to what is in the product images
           
          The Graco TrueCoat 360 DSP handheld airless sprayer is so advanced, it’s simple. Thanks to its disposable FlexLiner paint bag system, the TrueCoat 360 DSP can paint in any direction, even upside down. No other sprayer is this easy to use - just fill, squeeze, and spray and when you’re done, simply dispose or reuse the FlexLiner bag.
           

          would this be considered hvlp? for painting headboards kitchen cabinets, drawers...stuff that could be done in the garage without a lot of overspray.

          Asked by
          mjc57
          prescott valley, az
          January 22, 2015
          it doesn't state hvlp, but it looks sizewise that it might be.
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          January 23, 2015
          Answer: 
          This is not a HVLP, it is a high pressure airless. HVLP stand for High Volume Low Pressure.
          There is going to be overspray when you use this, so my recommendation is to cover anything that you don't want to get paint on.
          The amount of overspray is going the depend on what you are spraying and how much of it you are spraying.
          It should work well for painting the items you listed
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 28 >>