BilltheEngineer
  • Review count
    334
  • Helpfulness votes
    498
  • Average rating
    4.2
    4.2 out of 5
  • First Review:
    October 19, 2009
  • Last Review:
    July 11, 2017
 
  • Question count
    15
     
    • Answer count
      707
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        334
      • Helpfulness votes
        498
      • Average rating
        4.2
        4.2 out of 5
      • First Review:
        October 19, 2009
      • Last Review:
        July 11, 2017
       
      • Question count
        15
         
        • Answer count
          707
           
           
           
           
          BilltheEngineer's Reviews
           
          Samsung's FlexDry Dryer provides the ultimate drying flexibility, by combining a conventional large capacity dryer with a delicate dryer, so you dry delicate and everyday garments at the same time. The standstill delicate dryer lets you lay flat undergarments, sweaters, and accessories to dry; to prevent items from shrinking and fabric damage. Combined with the Samsung FlexWash Washer, the Samsung FlexWash + FlexDry laundry pair provides a complete laundry solution to provide the optimal care for your clothes. Advanced features like Multi-Steam technology gives you the ability to steam away wrinkles.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          If you like gadgets then this is the dryer for you, if you have the space for it. If you don't l...
          PostedJuly 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Energy efficiency 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          If you like gadgets then this is the dryer for you, if you have the space for it. If you don't like gadgets and just want a simple dryer, look elsewhere. This is not the dryer for the not so tech savvy people. My mom asks me how to turn it on and my dad can't even use a simple washer or dryer so there isn’t a risk of them popping in to do some laundry.
          First off, Home Depot did offer to install this for me but I decided to tackle it myself, mainly because I wanted to fix up the area where it was to be installed. First off, this dryer is large, larger than a typical large dryer. it is the same width 27 inches I think, but it is deeper (protruding from the wall) and taller than just about Read More
          If you like gadgets then this is the dryer for you, if you have the space for it. If you don't like gadgets and just want a simple dryer, look elsewhere. This is not the dryer for the not so tech savvy people. My mom asks me how to turn it on and my dad can't even use a simple washer or dryer so there isn’t a risk of them popping in to do some laundry.
          First off, Home Depot did offer to install this for me but I decided to tackle it myself, mainly because I wanted to fix up the area where it was to be installed. First off, this dryer is large, larger than a typical large dryer. it is the same width 27 inches I think, but it is deeper (protruding from the wall) and taller than just about any dryer I have seen. FYI, the matching washer is the same, large. This is also much heavier than any dryer I have moved, but not nearly as heavy as the matching washer which is 300+ lbs. Get a buddy to help you move it, plus some pads to slide it on and/or the mover straps depending on where you are moving it. Connecting the dryer to exhaust duct, electrical and plumbing (yeah water goes to the dryer) is the similar as any most dryers (the water is for steaming cloths to get the wrinkles out). If your dryer is on the left of the washer and the water spigots are on the right of the washer you will need a 10 foot water hose.
          Connecting to the Wi-Fi and setting up the app is like more other smart devices, if you can figure out how to set up an Amazon Alexa or Google Home or similar device you are good to go.
          The door can be changed so it can be open to the left or the right. It came set up to be on the right, mine is on the left. It’s easy to change
          Now down to the actual useful information, if you care how this dryer performs. It does dry clothes well, I think it does a take a bit longer then my old dryer. I think really comes down to the dryer does not use as much heat and or as hot of air to dry as the old dryer. There are more setting and options, but I rarely choose anything other basic drying. The run time can be tweaked by choosing one of the many cycles and many options. It does run nice and quiet, not silent, but quieter than the old dryer.
          I don’t find myself using the top dryer as much as I use the top washer. It really a different intended use, not so much for smaller loads but more so for more delicate items, which I don’t have. But it is nice to able to put shoes or sneakers into the top and dry them in there instead of them bouncing around in the lower drum (the manual states not to do this but I don’t know why, I just run it with no heat or low heat).
          The feature on the app are a nice plus to let you know when a load is done. It also can be used to help understand how to use all the features and to diagnose issues with the machine (I hope I do not have to use this last feature as I would expect fixing this once it’s out of warranty is going to be pricy). Plus you can also control the dryer from the app, not really sure why this is needed (maybe they is someone who loads the laundry, but does not know how to use the dryer so their son has to set it and turn it on when he is at work).
          And lastly there is the ergonomics. The lower dryer is low compare to other dryers. There is a pedestal available, but that is going to make it tougher for shorter people to use the top dryer and reach the control panel (maybe that is why you can use the app). I am 6' 2"and the top dryer and control panel are at a good height for me so I wonder how it would work for someone a foot shorter. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Sturdy, Stylish
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          Samsung's FlexWash Washer provides the ultimate washing flexibility, with two separately controlled washers in the same unit, so you can wash different types of laundry at the same time. Samsung FlexWash large capacity washer can run two separate loads with different settings and options, keeping your different types of clothes clean and in great condition. The largest 5.0 cu. ft. capacity Front Load washer in its class translates to fewer loads to save time, while 1.0 cu. ft. Top Load washer lets you conveniently wash smaller loads. Advanced features like Super Speed technology lets you power through laundry day 45% faster without sacrificing cleaning performance, while Steam Wash removes stains without the need to pre-treat.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          If you like gadgets then this is the washer for you, if you have the space for it. If you don't ...
          PostedJuly 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Energy efficiency 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          If you like gadgets then this is the washer for you, if you have the space for it. If you don't like gadgets and just want a simple washer to clean your cloths, look elsewhere. This is not the washer for the not so tech savvy people. My mom asks me how to turn it on and my dad can't even use a simple washer so there is risk of them popping in to do some laundry.
          First off, Home Depot did offer to install this for me but I decided to tackle it myself, mainly because I wanted to fix up the area where it was to be installed. First off, this washer is large, larger than a typical large washer. it is the same width 27 inches I think, but it is deeper (protruding from the wall) and taller than Read More
          If you like gadgets then this is the washer for you, if you have the space for it. If you don't like gadgets and just want a simple washer to clean your cloths, look elsewhere. This is not the washer for the not so tech savvy people. My mom asks me how to turn it on and my dad can't even use a simple washer so there is risk of them popping in to do some laundry.
          First off, Home Depot did offer to install this for me but I decided to tackle it myself, mainly because I wanted to fix up the area where it was to be installed. First off, this washer is large, larger than a typical large washer. it is the same width 27 inches I think, but it is deeper (protruding from the wall) and taller than just about any washer I have seen. FYI, the matching dryer is the same, large. This is also much heavier than any washer I have moved, it's 300+ lbs. Get a buddy or two to help you move it, plus some pads to slide it on and/or the mover straps depending on where you are moving it. Connecting the washer to drain, plumbing and electrical was the same as any other washer. You may need a little extra room for the drain hose since there are two that connect to a Y that then go into the drain pipe. There are also a bunch of bolts that need to be removed (they secure parts inside the unit for when it is shipped so nothing gets damaged). Other than physically moving it, it’s easy to install.
          Connecting to the Wi-Fi and setting up the app is like more other smart devices, if you can figure out how to set up an Amazon Alexa or Google Home or similar device you are good to go.
          The door can be changed so it can be open to the left or the right.
          Now down to the actual useful information, if you care how this washer performs. It does wash cloth well, I can't say that I think it does a better or worse job then my old top load washer. I think really comes down to the stains and the detergents. This does have a lot more setting and options, but I rarely choose anything other basic washing of darks and light-colored clothing. It does take longer to run a cycle then my old washer and I am sure it uses less water too. The run time can be tweaked by choosing one of the many cycles and many options. It does run nice and quiet, not silent, but quieter than the old top loader. It also does not seem to shake as much as a top loader when it comes to the spin cycle. Cloth do seem to come out drier (the spin cycle also has options).
          Nice extras are the two washing areas. Never really thought it would be used that much but it is nice when you only have a few items to wash or need to wash something right away so a stain does not set in. I recently had my siblings on with my 1+ year old nieces and it comes in handy to wash their cloths, since they don’t take up much room and change 10 times a day. Also, I find that I usually have a lot less whites than colored cloths so I can do a load of each at the same time and get done in about same time as white running more loads in the old washer.
          The feature on the app are a nice plus to let you know when a load is done. It also can be used to help understand how to use all the features and to diagnose issues with the machine (I hope I do not have to use this last feature as I would expect fixing this once it’s out of warranty is going to be pricy). Plus you can also control the washer from the app, not really sure why this is needed (maybe they is someone who loads the laundry, but does not know how to use the washer so their son has to set it and turn it on when he is at work).
          And lastly there is the ergonomics, The lower washer is low compare to other front loaders. There is a pedestal available, but that is going to make it tougher for shorter people to use the top washer and reach the control panel (maybe that is why you can use the app). I am 6' 2"and the top washer is at a good height for me so I wonder how it would work for someone a foot shorter. I can see they loosing items in the top washer occasionally. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Sturdy, Stylish
          Cons: very deep, lower washer is low compare to other front loaders
          +2points
          2out of 2found this review helpful.
           
          Give your child or grandchild a furry friend that will be a special keepsake for life. Durable enough to ride, yet cuddly enough to love, the Happy Plush Rocking Giraffe Rocking Animal will be a treasured toy for years to come. Happy Trails products feature a wide variety of rocking animals for the animal-loving child in your life.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          The Rocking Giraffe is very cute. My two 1+ year old neices really liked hugging and petting it....
          PostedJuly 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          The Rocking Giraffe is very cute. My two 1+ year old nieces really liked hugging and petting it. Both of my nieces are two small to sit on it by themselves or even able to climb up on it. So this is really for kids at least 2 probably, It is made well and was easy to put together (screw on the handles and attach the rocking part to the feet and that was it, a 10 mm wrench is needed).
          It seems well made and says it can support up to a 100 lbs. But it is a bit on the tall side. I know its a giraffe but all the other plush rocking animals look to be a similar height. Maybe I will put wheel and a leash on it so my nieces can take it for a walk next time they are over.
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Looks Great, Nice Design, Rich Looking, Sturdy, Vibrant Color, Well Made
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          SmartSteam cookware allows for healthier cooking by using less water and oil. The steam release technology circulates the natural moisture of your food, while locking in valuable nutrients. Foods cooked using SmartSteam technology retain up to 70% more flavor and 40% more nutrients. SmartSteam pans are great for steaming, simmering, baking, roasting, stir-frying and boiling. The heavy-duty die cast aluminum construction conducts heat efficiently, and the induction ready base makes the pan compatible with electric, gas and induction cooktops. This versatile pan is perfect for soup, chili, corn on the cob and more. The SmartSteam body is oven safe to 450°F, and the lid is oven safe to 350°F. SmartSteams are dishwasher-friendly, but handwashing is recommended.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice large pot for making a large portion of pasta, steaming vegetables and many other foods. I ...
          PostedJuly 10, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Nice large pot for making a large portion of pasta, steaming vegetables and many other foods. I am sure you could roast a meal for a good size family in this. The non-stick is very nice, making it easy to clean. The pot seems to heat quickly and evenly too. The underside of the lid has bumps to evenly distribute condensation. The vent is also nice, easy and safe to open and close when the pot is hot.
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Sturdy, Stylish
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          SmartSteam cookware allows for healthier cooking by using less water and oil. The steam release technology circulates the natural moisture of your food, while locking in valuable nutrients. Foods cooked using SmartSteam technology retain up to 70% more flavor and 40% more nutrients. SmartSteam pans are great for steaming, simmering, baking, roasting, stir-frying and boiling. The heavy-duty die cast aluminum construction conducts heat efficiently, and the induction ready base makes the pan compatible with electric, gas and induction cooktops. This versatile pan is perfect for hard boiled eggs, potatoes and more. The SmartSteam body is oven safe to 450°F, and the lid is oven safe to 350°F. SmartSteams are dishwasher-friendly, but handwashing is recommended.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This is a nice size pot for cooking for a couple of people or for cooking a side for more people....
          PostedJuly 10, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is a nice size pot for cooking for a couple of people or for cooking a side for more people. The non-stick inside coating works great. I like to use this to cook rice. One of the few pots that I seem to able to make rice in. Seems like it should be easy, but in other pots and pans I feel like I either get underdone or burnt rice. This one it works well in, I think it the lid that make the difference, as the water evaporates and then condenses on the lids it then drips back down on the rice and not just down the side of the pot. That's my theory anyway. The vent is also nice in the lids to help control how much water you want to boil off or retain..
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Sturdy, Stylish
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 67 >>
           
          BilltheEngineer's Questions
           
          Shelterguard’s tough steel construction combines performance and value to provide a durable roof and siding solution for sheds, barns and agricultural buildings. Create a high-performing system using complementary Shelterguard trim, screws, closure strip and sealant. Stiffening ribs and grade 80 steel add rigidity and durability.
           

          how to stop cut edges from rusting

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          April 22, 2017
          is there a recommended method to stop cut edges from rusting?
           
          Quality and performance make Razor-Back tools the choice of both professionals and general consumers. If your next project involves installing a fence, post, mailbox, or basketball hoop, make sure you use the right tool for the job. This Post Hole Digger is perfect for digging those necessary holes and footings and will help you do so without bending over or straining your back.
           

          Where is this made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          February 22, 2017
          Where is this made?
           
          For high-quality, long-lasting repairs choose Bondo Wood Filler. Bondo Wood Filler rebuilds, restores and replaces rotted or damaged sections of wood on doors, windows, fences, furniture, shutters and more. Medium brown in color when mixed, Bondo Wood Filler is stainable and paintable, making it perfect for almost any wood surface inside or outside of the home. Because it is a 2-part wood filler, Bondo Wood Filler will not shrink and cures fast. The filler can be easily sanded by hand or power tool in only 15 minutes and shaped, planed, drilled, routed or sawed just like wood. This non-shrinking, permanent filler can be stained or painted in only 25 minutes, meaning your repair is complete the same day you started. Not only can you fill in small damage, but the strength of this 2-part wood filler allows you to rebuild rotted or missing pieces of wood and complete repairs in less than 30 minutes.
           

          Can this be colored or tinted?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          October 31, 2016
          Can this be colored or tinted?
           
          Our filter is 100% recyclable and is produced with a new technology that carbonizes dried coconut shells in an enclosed self-sustaining system. We offer a low cost alternative. We have a complete line of filters that are compatible with most major brands of refrigerators. We are WQA gold seal certified.
           

          Where are these filters made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 22, 2016
          Where are these filters made?
           
          The Husky 7-Piece Nut Driver Set is designed for use with metric-sized hex fasteners and includes 5 mm, 6 mm, 7 mm, 8 mm, 9 mm, 10 mm and 11 mm nut drivers. Tough acetate handles offer strength, durability and resistance to chemicals and solvents. A storage rack is included for easy storage. The handles are color coded for fast size identification. The shafts are nickel-chrome plated for max corrosion resistance.
           

          where are these made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          August 1, 2016
          where are these made?
           
          BilltheEngineer's Answers
           
          Keep your garage neat with the Husky 37.6 in. x 39 in. x 18.1 in. Steel Three-Drawer Mobile Workbench in Black. Featuring a portable design, it can be moved around for ultimate customization. Excellent for holding heavy equipment, it is built with an all-welded steel construction to offer you a strong and sturdy finish. This Husky tool storage system is designed with a powder coating that has rust-resistant properties, protecting the unit from the wear and tear of daily use. It has three drawers - two small and one large and features a total holding capacity of 17,069 cu. in., which offers plenty of storage for all your tools. Designed to accommodate heavy loads, it features ball bearing slides that can hold up to 50 lbs., perfect for accessing your equipment and tools. With an internal locking system with two keys, this Husky professional mobile workbench is a safe place to store your tools and equipment. This tool storage system features swivel and fixed casters that support up to 600 lbs. and a push handle, making it easy to maneuver around. Stay organized on every job with the Husky 37.6 in. x 39 in. x 18.1 in. Steel Three-Drawer Mobile Workbench in Black.
           

          What is the dimension of the shipping box? Will it fit into a medium size SUV?

          Asked by
          EO
          July 21, 2017
          What is the dimension of the shipping box? Will it fit into a medium size SUV?
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          July 23, 2017
          Answer: 
          The box is slightly larger than the item. It should fit with the back seats laid down
           
          This RIDGID 16 gallon high performance wet dry vacuum is designed to deliver the powerful suction, large capacity, rugged construction, unique features and excellent mobility that pro's demand for jobsite or shop. The powerful 6.5 peak horsepower motor easily handles the toughest jobsite clean-up tasks. A 3-layer fine dust filter, VF5000 captures drywall dust. Moving up and down steps or across rough terrain is a snap with the large diameter, fixed rear wheels. Add a top handle with a cord wrap, heavy duty 2-piece drum construction, an accessory storage bag attached to a quick release handle plus patented Scroll Noise Reduction for quiet operation and you’ve got a wet dry vac that meets the demands of a Pro.
           

          Can I use this vacuum to remove flammable liquids such as expired gasoline?

          Asked by
          devilrocks
          July 21, 2017
          Can I use this vacuum to remove flammable liquids such as expired gasoline?
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          July 23, 2017
          Answer: 
          No. That requires a special vacuum that has explosion proof features.
           
          Samsung's FlexWash Washer provides the ultimate washing flexibility, with two separately controlled washers in the same unit, so you can wash different types of laundry at the same time. Samsung FlexWash large capacity washer can run two separate loads with different settings and options, keeping your different types of clothes clean and in great condition. The largest 5.0 cu. ft. capacity Front Load washer in its class translates to fewer loads to save time, while 1.0 cu. ft. Top Load washer lets you conveniently wash smaller loads. Advanced features like Super Speed technology lets you power through laundry day 45% faster without sacrificing cleaning performance, while Steam Wash removes stains without the need to pre-treat.
           

          Does it come with timer?

          Asked by
          Joe
          June 22, 2017
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          July 16, 2017
          Answer: 
          To start it at a later time yeah.
           
          Samsung's FlexWash Washer provides the ultimate washing flexibility, with two separately controlled washers in the same unit, so you can wash different types of laundry at the same time. Samsung FlexWash large capacity washer can run two separate loads with different settings and options, keeping your different types of clothes clean and in great condition. The largest 5.0 cu. ft. capacity Front Load washer in its class translates to fewer loads to save time, while 1.0 cu. ft. Top Load washer lets you conveniently wash smaller loads. Advanced features like Super Speed technology lets you power through laundry day 45% faster without sacrificing cleaning performance, while Steam Wash removes stains without the need to pre-treat.
           

          What is the installed depth from wall?

          Asked by
          Marc
          May 30, 2017
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          July 16, 2017
          Answer: 
          It's in the manual
          It's 34 inches deep and recommends another 6 inches of clearance.
          But it may be pushed out even further because of the dryer and the exhaust ducting. Depends on how your can be exhausted.
           
          Samsung's FlexWash Washer provides the ultimate washing flexibility, with two separately controlled washers in the same unit, so you can wash different types of laundry at the same time. Samsung FlexWash large capacity washer can run two separate loads with different settings and options, keeping your different types of clothes clean and in great condition. The largest 5.0 cu. ft. capacity Front Load washer in its class translates to fewer loads to save time, while 1.0 cu. ft. Top Load washer lets you conveniently wash smaller loads. Advanced features like Super Speed technology lets you power through laundry day 45% faster without sacrificing cleaning performance, while Steam Wash removes stains without the need to pre-treat.
           

          what is the hight of the washer with the top door open

          Asked by
          dee
          July 12, 2017
          what is the hight of the washer with the top door open
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          July 16, 2017
          Answer: 
          It's in the manual
          52 tall
          61 tall with the door open
          But it also recommends 35 inches of clearance above it the 52, not sure why so much room.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 142 >>