Bill1974
  • Review count
    167
  • Helpfulness votes
    212
  • Average rating
    4.1
    4.1 out of 5
  • First Review:
    October 19, 2009
  • Last Review:
    June 30, 2015
 
  • Question count
    2
     
    • Answer count
      201
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        167
      • Helpfulness votes
        212
      • Average rating
        4.1
        4.1 out of 5
      • First Review:
        October 19, 2009
      • Last Review:
        June 30, 2015
       
      • Question count
        2
         
        • Answer count
          201
           
           
           
           
          Bill1974's Reviews
           
          The resilient Durasoft handle of the Marshalltown 4-5/8 in. London Brick Trowel provides a soft feel, reduces fatigue and offers great durability. The trowel's handle rise is set for correct hang and balance.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Purchase frequency:Yearly
          Nice trowel for laying brick
          PostedJune 30, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I haven't done much masonry work, but the little I have this does make it a little easier. I have used cheap trowels and the mortar does not stay on them. This does not seem to rust is dried and it nice and stiff and doesn't bend. The handle is comfortable. If laying cinder block a larger trowel would be better. And it's made in the USA too.
          Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          RIDGID introduces the GEN5X 18-Volt 5 in. Random Orbit Sander. Featuring its innovative GEN5X Motor Technology, this sander maintains full speed and power under a heavy load. With a new ergonomic Hex Grip handle, this sander feels better than ever in your hand and runs for over 40 minutes on a 4.0Ah HYPER Lithium-Ion battery for longer run time. With a 6-Speed variable speed dial this sander can run from 7,000-11,000 RPM. As always this tool is backed by the RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement. Free Batteries, free Parts and free Service, for Life.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice that there is no cord but it's not that comfortable to use
          PostedJune 29, 2015
          Overall rating 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          I like that it's cordless and that it feels as powerful as a corded ROS, but that is about all the positives I can give it. In total I used this sanded about 2 hours.
          I have a Ridgid corded ROS and it sands just as well as this one. There is no comfortable way to hold this and it does not tire out your hand. There is also a lot of vibration transmitted you hand. This could be because I have to hold it tighter that the corded one I have. I can't comfortably hold the sander in the palm of my hand like the corded one so i end up holding it with my fingers. The power button is not as easy to use either, it's a two handed task to turn it on and off. The corded one I can do with one hand.
          Also Read More
          I like that it's cordless and that it feels as powerful as a corded ROS, but that is about all the positives I can give it. In total I used this sanded about 2 hours.
          I have a Ridgid corded ROS and it sands just as well as this one. There is no comfortable way to hold this and it does not tire out your hand. There is also a lot of vibration transmitted you hand. This could be because I have to hold it tighter that the corded one I have. I can't comfortably hold the sander in the palm of my hand like the corded one so i end up holding it with my fingers. The power button is not as easy to use either, it's a two handed task to turn it on and off. The corded one I can do with one hand.
          Also this sander seems to want to go where it wants and not where I want it to go. I thought it was the wood or sand paper i was using so i got out the corded ROS and it did not have the same feel. The corded one I could control and move it as I wanted. I don't know why the cordless one would have a mind of its own.
          Battery life on a 2.0 amp hour battery is about 25 minutes of sanding. Not bad but not great either. I say not bad because I don't know if i could use it much longer. If you had a second battery you could probably sand continuously.
          It does have its use being cordless, but for me it not as my go to sander to use for extended periods of time. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy
          Cons: not comfortable to hold, too much vibration
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice power and quiet for a two stroke.
          PostedJune 29, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Before getting this backpack blower I used a handheld ECHO PB-251. So that is what I am comparing it against.
          Assembly is easy, connect the tube and handle and fill with gas/oil mixture.
          Picking it up at first i thought it was a little heave and weight seemed to cantilevered far from the back. But after adjusting the straps and using it once I forgot that it was even there. Only time I noticed it was when you are in a tight spot and turn and hit into things that you realise how far it hang off your back. The airflow keeps your back cool and it's quieter or not as irritating as a noise as the hand held blower.
          I am 6' 2" and it fits me well and the ergonomics are nicely laid out. The Read More
          Before getting this backpack blower I used a handheld ECHO PB-251. So that is what I am comparing it against.
          Assembly is easy, connect the tube and handle and fill with gas/oil mixture.
          Picking it up at first i thought it was a little heave and weight seemed to cantilevered far from the back. But after adjusting the straps and using it once I forgot that it was even there. Only time I noticed it was when you are in a tight spot and turn and hit into things that you realise how far it hang off your back. The airflow keeps your back cool and it's quieter or not as irritating as a noise as the hand held blower.
          I am 6' 2" and it fits me well and the ergonomics are nicely laid out. The throttle handle is adjustable to make it fit just about anyone.
          Power is a huge step up from the handheld blower. In my normal grass cutting/yard clean up routine, I cut the time in half that I use the blower for. It's not a huge difference, probably 20 minute is now 10, I am sure it be a bigger help in the fall.
          The one concern i have is the end of the blower pipe has a metal ring, I know it will help protect the pipe, but i worry that it will ding up cars if you ever accidently hit into them. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          10-year sealed Lithium-ion battery, combination smoke and carbon monoxide alarm with voice warning that features photoelectric and electrochemical sensing technology with Smart Hush feature. This combination alarm combines the detection capabilities of a photoelectric sensor with that of an electrochemical sensor, used to detect CO. When either sensor notices a potential hazard, it will communicate with the other reducing nuisance alarms increasing the detection of actual threats.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Easy install and 10 year battery win win
          PostedJune 23, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Install is as easy as it gets, one plastic screw into drywall. There are also screws and plastic inserts provided if you are installing on something other than drywall. Also a 10 year battery, thats a plus too. I never seem to have a 9-volt battery around when I heard the old one beeping telling me it was time to change. And then it would be weeks before I remember to change it.
          The warning for smoke and CO are loud and distinctive. There is also a voice warning to let you know if the alarm in smoke or CO.
          Pros: Battery Length, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Controlling lights shades and temperature from a mobile device has never been easier or more reliable. The Lutron Smart Bridge allows for setup, control, and monitoring of Caseta Wireless dimmers and Serena Remote Controlled Shades from a smartphone, tablet, and even your Apple Watch TM wearable. The Lutron Smart Bridge also works with Nest, select Honeywell Thermostats, Logitech Harmony remotes and Apple HomeKit. Use the Lutron app to schedule lights to adjust at specific times of the day and enable geofencing to automatically turn your lights on or off when you leave or approach home. You can even set the app to notify you that when you've left your lights on. All compatible products sold separately. Starter kit includes (1) Caseta Wireless Smart Bridge, (2) Caseta Wireless In-Wall dimmers, (2) Pico Remote Controls, (2) single tabletop pedestals and (2) one-gang Claro wall plates.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice for a home theater room
          PostedJune 19, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Overall the system is nice and works well.
          Install of the switches can be tough if you have small electrical boxes or boxes with a lot of wire in them. The setup of the Smart Bridge took a call to Lutron tech support. After that it was smooth sailing. Adding additional devices is easy, the app on your phone (Android in my case) walks you through it and it's simple.
          The android app makes it easy to control any of the lights or pico switches. A little odd that you can control the light through the pico switch, but I guess there might be some people that would configure it that way. In theory you could configure a pico switch to control multiple switches. Through the apps you configure the Read More
          Overall the system is nice and works well.
          Install of the switches can be tough if you have small electrical boxes or boxes with a lot of wire in them. The setup of the Smart Bridge took a call to Lutron tech support. After that it was smooth sailing. Adding additional devices is easy, the app on your phone (Android in my case) walks you through it and it's simple.
          The android app makes it easy to control any of the lights or pico switches. A little odd that you can control the light through the pico switch, but I guess there might be some people that would configure it that way. In theory you could configure a pico switch to control multiple switches. Through the apps you configure the entire system and set up scenes and schedule and also have lights turn on and off and shade to open and close based on you proximity to the home. It will also inform you if you left lights on after leaving.
          The tech support at Lutron was great, open 24/7 and sounded like they were locally based. Plus they were able to answer my questions and solve problem quickly without a million questions. In my case the setup of the Smart Bridge got hung up at step 5 and needed to reset. There is not much in the manuals supplied with the system other basic setup instructions. To reset the Smart Bridge, you need to do 3 quick presses (less than 1/2 second each) then a long press and then 3 quick presses. the light on the unit should flash quickly then.
          The CASETA line is not that wide and there are some limitation. Multi location switches rely on the pico switch or dumb switches. It would be nice if they had the same method as the Maestro line of switches where there is a master and as many companion switches as you want.
          The only other downside are the buttons feel a little cheap compared to the Maestro line of switches.
          The dimming worked well on all the dimmable incandescent, dimmable CFL and dimmable LED light i tried. Read Less
          Pros: Battery Length, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 34 >>
           
          Bill1974's Questions
           
          Series 100XL Temperature and Pressure Relief Valves are used in water heater and hot water storage tank applications to provide automatic temperature and pressure protection to hot water supply tanks and hot water heaters up to 105,000 BTU/Hr. They feature a bronze body with NPT male inlet and NPT female outlet connections, unique thermostat with special thermo-bonded coating, and a test lever. Model 100XL-8 is also available with 8 in. (200mm) extension thermostat. Series 100XL is ASME rated and CSA listed. Temperature Relief: 210 F (99 C), Pressure Relief Range: 75 to 150psi (5.2 to 10.3 bar), Standard Pressure Settings: 75, 100, 125, or 150psi (5.27, 7.03, 8.79, or 10.55 bar).
           

          Can this be used in place of the Watts 100KL-4 M7 (0066100)? What is the difference between them?

          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          May 8, 2014
          Looking at Watts site I can tell is this is a replacement model or not?
           
          The AH2510B universal attic ladder is lightweight, yet carries a duty rating of 375 pounds. The strut design eliminates springs and allows for a wide access opening. Easy to open and close. Wide steps are slip resistant and the feet are non-marring. Available for standard or extra-wide openings.
           

          Where is this ladder manufactured?

          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          March 15, 2014
           
          Bill1974's Answers
           
          Inspect hidden spaces with more confidence and functionality than ever before. With the one-of-a-kind Ryobi Phone Works mobile app and Inspection Scope device, your smartphone transforms into a smart, wireless inspection scope. This unique device creates a dedicated wireless network that connects to your smartphone, and the free mobile app turns your phone screen into a high quality display of your inspection site. Mount your phone to the device, or use remotely up to 10 ft. away. With a 3 ft. submersible, flexible cable and ultra-bright, adjustable LED light for visibility in all kinds of environments. The mobile app allows you to capture images and videos and add voice notes. Easily share data through email and social networks. These cutting-edge features and functions make the Phone Works Inspection Scope and mobile app the smart way to get eyes behind walls, inside pipes, and other hidden structures. Store the Inspection Scope or other Phone Works tools in the storage case (sold separately). Ryobi Phone Works - Transform your phone into your smartest tool.
           

          Is there an app that will allow this inspection scope work on a Kindle Fire with Wi-Fi

          Asked by
          goldencue
          Massachusetts
          June 4, 2015
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          June 30, 2015
          Answer: 
          There is an app that works on android devices. I know it's in the google play store but I don't know if the Kindle Fire is limited to using only the app from the amazon app store, but i would guess that you could find the apk, copy it to the kindle and install it from there.
           
          Kick back and relax on this Bloomfield 4-piece Woven Patio Deep Seating set. The Bloomfield is an attractive patio furniture set that comes with a beautiful, mocha brown powder-coated finish on the visually appealing woven pattern style. The set is also sturdy and highly durable, with rust-resistant steel frames and weather-resistant cushions and pillows. This 4-Piece set consist of one fully cushioned loveseat and two toss pillows, two fully cushioned lounge chairs and one glass top coffee table with woven matching woven design. Ottomans for this set are sold separately.
           

          I'm interested in this same patio set and am glad to see that it can hold 270ish lbs. Are you still satisfied with it? Do you recommend it?

          Asked by
          nanc4567
          louisiana
          June 17, 2015
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          June 26, 2015
          Answer: 
          There are still comfortable and holding up well after a year and half. They look as good as new, no rust or staining. They are outside under a canopy from Memorial day to mid fall next to a chlorine pool. There see a fair share of wet people sitting on them. This year i got covers to put over them when not in use, last year I put the cushions in a deck box when they weren't being used.
           
          Purchase this 2-pack of RYOBI 18-Volt ONE+ lithium+ High Capacity Batteries for the ultimate runtime and performance from your tools. The RYOBI 18-Volt One+ High Capacity LITHIUM+ battery provides four times more run time, four times longer lasting charge and 20 percent lighter weight than Ni-Cd batteries. The fuel gauge lets you know the battery status before work begins. Lithium-ion batteries provide fade-free power for maximum performance throughout the charge. Best of all, it works with over 50 great ONE+ tools. California residents: see Proposition 65 information
           

          Is the P108 THE most powerful, longest lasting, battery in the line-up?

          Asked by
          rsb148
          June 4, 2015
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          June 26, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes it is, I rarely have them go dead. Only high power consumption tools (chainsaw, circular saw, etc) and the LED floor light seem to drain the battery (LED floor light does take hours to drain it)
           
          Purchase this 2-pack of RYOBI 18-Volt ONE+ lithium+ High Capacity Batteries for the ultimate runtime and performance from your tools. The RYOBI 18-Volt One+ High Capacity LITHIUM+ battery provides four times more run time, four times longer lasting charge and 20 percent lighter weight than Ni-Cd batteries. The fuel gauge lets you know the battery status before work begins. Lithium-ion batteries provide fade-free power for maximum performance throughout the charge. Best of all, it works with over 50 great ONE+ tools. California residents: see Proposition 65 information
           

          Is this same as the P104 18 Volt One+High Capacity. I bought the P 107 18 Volt already as spair for Weed Eater.

          Asked by
          Ping
          Honolulu, Hawaii
          June 24, 2015
          Can I use this battery for my Weed Eater.
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          June 26, 2015
          Answer: 
          I believe the P104 was the 1st iteration into lithium batteries. I don't they are sold anymore. But the batteries in the P122 kit (two P108 batteries) will work in place of the P104. BTW these batteries work great in any of the Ryobi tools.
           
          The Ryobi 3100-PSI Pressure Washer is engineered to handle even your toughest jobs. With a powerful 212cc gasoline engine, this Ryobi Pressure Washer delivers 3100-PSI of force and comes with an EZ Clean 15 in. Surface cleaner, to knock out those large cleaning projects 4X faster. Featuring a durable and compact frame design, this pressure washer is easy to transport. The engine is equipped with IdleDown Technology, decreasing fuel consumption, reduces noise and increases the overall life of the engine and pump. The On-Board Detergent Tank offers hassle-free cleaning by eliminating the need to drag a bucket and hose behind you. For added convenience, the Ryobi 3100 PSI Pressure Washer is equipped with on-board accessory storage. The Ryobi 3100 PSI Gas Pressure Washer is backed with the Ryobi 3 Year Limited Warranty and is guaranteed to deliver results for years to come.
           

          Is the pressure adjustable ?

          Asked by
          cornrowtex
          conroe,tx
          June 17, 2015
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          June 25, 2015
          Answer: 
          I can be changed by changing the tip on the wand. The pressure the pump generates is not easily adjusted.
          I am guessing you could also adjust the pressure by messing with the engine speed or by putting in a relieving valve to limit the pressure. Neither of which is approved or explained in the manual.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 41 >>