BilltheEngineer
  • Review count
    242
  • Helpfulness votes
    362
  • Average rating
    4.2
    4.2 out of 5
  • First Review:
    October 19, 2009
  • Last Review:
    May 10, 2016
 
  • Question count
    8
     
    • Answer count
      376
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        242
      • Helpfulness votes
        362
      • Average rating
        4.2
        4.2 out of 5
      • First Review:
        October 19, 2009
      • Last Review:
        May 10, 2016
       
      • Question count
        8
         
        • Answer count
          376
           
           
           
           
          BilltheEngineer's Reviews
           
          Utilizing composite technology and wood beauty to provide an environmentally responsible product which will handle all of your home improvement shim needs with greater ease and affordability. Perfect for any repair, remodeling or shimming need the Timberwolf composite shim snaps cleaner and easier than wood saving you time. The Timberwolf composite shim is impervious to insects and moisture and is perfect for any outdoor uses.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Much easier to trim than wood shims
          PostedMay 10, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          For only a few cents more there is no reason to ever use the wood ones again.
          They don't rot
          Doesn't matter if they get wet
          They don't compress like work shims
          They don't split when you put a nail or screw through them
          They are consistent
          They slide easily
          They are easy to trim just by snapping
          They can support a lot more load than a wood shim
          only down side is that it seems to be a waste to use them to spread glue or stir paint, they again they are almost the same price as the wood ones.
          Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Good Shape
          Cons: i wish i had seen these sooner, should be easier to find in the store
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The 18 ft. EZ Shelf Expandable Closet Organizer Kit contains 3 in. - EZ Shelf Expandable Closet Rod and Shelf units (each 40 in. - 73.2 in.) and 2 End Brackets. It can be used for a double hanging closet, 1 long single hanging closet, or in. L in. or in. U in. shaped closet. It is perfect for use in a closet, laundry room, mudroom, basement, garage or office. EZ Shelf products are EZ to Install (50% less time-no cutting or drilling), Incredibly Strong (high strength steel tubes hold 200 lbs.), beautifully designed and economical. EZ Shelf products can be joined together to make longer shelves, and custom closet designs. All EZ Shelf products can be installed by one person, will last a lifetime, and are made in the USA.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          Has a nice modern industrial look and is pretty easy to install.
          PostedMay 4, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have installed wire shelving in a few closet and it is about the same amount of work as installing this. Measuring and leveling are what make the difference between the good and bad install.
          The plus of this shelving is that is its looks and that there is no cutting. Also the rod that hangers goes on fits most hangers well. It fits hanger better than most wire shelving.
          The downside to this is that where you install it is where is it. For this reason I kind of like the wire shelving that has the vertical rails that everything hangs off of. Also I think the wire shelving will hold more weight if mounted to studs. I don't mind the cutting of the wire shelf. Plus I always seem to need Read More
          I have installed wire shelving in a few closet and it is about the same amount of work as installing this. Measuring and leveling are what make the difference between the good and bad install.
          The plus of this shelving is that is its looks and that there is no cutting. Also the rod that hangers goes on fits most hangers well. It fits hanger better than most wire shelving.
          The downside to this is that where you install it is where is it. For this reason I kind of like the wire shelving that has the vertical rails that everything hangs off of. Also I think the wire shelving will hold more weight if mounted to studs. I don't mind the cutting of the wire shelf. Plus I always seem to need to change what level the hanger bar is at and where I Put shelves.
          For in a closet I will go wire shelving for something that is not in a closet I might choose this because of the looks and I probably don't need the option to adjust the layout.
          The hardware for mounting to drywall is nice. It's easy to install and holds well. I am not a huge fan of mounting load bearing things to drywall but sometimes you have no option. But this does seem very sturdy. Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Looks High End, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Well Made
          Cons: no adjustability once installed
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          The Bosch GWS13-50VSP 5 in. angle grinder with lock-on paddle switch and variable speed, features a new 13 Amp motor design with direct motor cooling and more air vents. This feature reduces hand blockage to extend tool life and provide higher overload capabilities to prevent overheating. Results from independent testing revealed that Bosch grinders outlast the competition to deliver the best tool lifetime in the market up to 9 times more life than competitors. Improved carbon brushes offer more than double the lifetime of previous brushes, which means less downtime for maintenance. Additional features include a new patented multi-grip paddle switch and textured housing to provide increased grip options for better ergonomics and tool control. The first-to-the-market multi-grip paddle switch can now be operated in the front, middle and rear as opposed to only in the rear on old models allowing users to hold the grinder in any position.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Variable speed is a big plus
          PostedMay 4, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I used a Ryobi 4.5 inch angle grinder and this one to remove paint and adhesive from a garage floor using a Diamabrush 4.5 in. Concrete Abrasive Removal Hand Tool and both worked really well. The difference was that the gearbox on Ryobi grinder got hot and some of the grease started coming out of the it. It still works fine. But the Bosch grinder stayed cooler. I don't have dust shroud for the Bosch yet so i did make a big mess, but so would the Ryobi. The other plus to the Bosch was the variable speed, the Diamabrush 4.5 in. Concrete Abrasive Removal Hand Tool work just as well at slower speeds and the blade on it last longer too.
          Other difference are that the Bosch is tough to use with
          Read More
          I used a Ryobi 4.5 inch angle grinder and this one to remove paint and adhesive from a garage floor using a Diamabrush 4.5 in. Concrete Abrasive Removal Hand Tool and both worked really well. The difference was that the gearbox on Ryobi grinder got hot and some of the grease started coming out of the it. It still works fine. But the Bosch grinder stayed cooler. I don't have dust shroud for the Bosch yet so i did make a big mess, but so would the Ryobi. The other plus to the Bosch was the variable speed, the Diamabrush 4.5 in. Concrete Abrasive Removal Hand Tool work just as well at slower speeds and the blade on it last longer too.
          Other difference are that the Bosch is tough to use with one hand, the body is much larger. The Ryobi was easier to run with one hand but the higher RPM's make you pay attention.
          The power switch is a but stiff and almost requires two hands to engage. The accessories, handle and shroud are very nice. The handle is nice size and dampens the vibrations more so than on the Ryobi. The shroud is tool free to put on and adjust which is really nice. Only thing missing in an on tool storage location for the blade wrench. The bland wrench feel a little cheap on the Bosch compared to rest of the tool and compared to the Ryobi.
          Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, Powerful, Sturdy
          Cons: no on tool storage for the blade wrench no case o
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Create your own unique shower door to fit your personal style using Delta’s customizable shower door program. Choose your glass. Choose your track assembly kit and select your choice of matching hardware.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          It takes a bit of time to install but it looks nice and slides very smoothly
          PostedMay 4, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Read the instructions first before doing the install. There are a few where you need to make some measurements and where you need to parts in place and then take them out before permanently installing them. It will also help to know that you have all the tools needed. I needed to get a couple of diamond core drill bits since my walls are tiled is a really hard stone.
          The instruction are very clear and straightforward. Cutting the top and bottom channels can be a little tricky. I went with the measure twice cut twice method to get it to fit just right. This method doesn't work if you are cutting with a hacksaw. I used a miter saw with a blade that was able to cut aluminum. Also I cut a Read More
          Read the instructions first before doing the install. There are a few where you need to make some measurements and where you need to parts in place and then take them out before permanently installing them. It will also help to know that you have all the tools needed. I needed to get a couple of diamond core drill bits since my walls are tiled is a really hard stone.
          The instruction are very clear and straightforward. Cutting the top and bottom channels can be a little tricky. I went with the measure twice cut twice method to get it to fit just right. This method doesn't work if you are cutting with a hacksaw. I used a miter saw with a blade that was able to cut aluminum. Also I cut a block of wood to fit in the channel to support it as it was cut. Also depending on what the walls are that you are mounting the vertical channels on drilling into them could be a challenge. I don't know what type f stone is in my shower but a carbide tipped drill bit doesn't work, I have to use diamond coring bits. A second set of hands also makes moving and installing the glass door easier and safer. A laser level also makes it nice to get the top tracks the exact same height, but you can use a standard level and the top channel to do it too.
          Once installed is slides very easily. I got clear glass. I think it's easier to clean then something with a texture. I can use a squeegee to get the water off in a few seconds after each shower, hopefully this will prevent water marks and etching of glass. To add some privacy and to add some visual interest to bathroom, I install some decorative window film on the outside of the doors. This also allow me to change the look from time to time. And if I ever do break a door it's not difficult to replace and have it match. Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Nice Design, Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Good for All Surfaces, Good Size & Lightweight, Great Value, Performs Well, Quiet, Sturdy
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          The Bosch Daredevil auger features a dual cutting edge optimized for nail killling and balanced drilling. With reinforced tip and spine, the Daredevil auger can withstand repeated nail hits in heavy-duty applications giving it 3x life vs standard augers. The reamer edge improves entry and exit hole quality.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Like it name says, NailKiller
          PostedMay 3, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          It drills quickly and pulls itself through without much effort. It does not have any issues when it hits a nail or screw. It jumps a little but not much. Once you break through you do need to push a little the bit does not self feed ones the screw tip breaks through.
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, Strong, Sturdy
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 49 >>
           
          BilltheEngineer's Questions
           
          Transform your yard from bland to beautiful with the addition of this hardtop gazebo. Take shelter from the hot summer sun or extend your time outdoors with shelter from the fall rain underneath this alluring edifice. Its large frame is big enough to comfortably set up an ideal dining area or lounging zone for the whole family.
           

          How warm under compared to a canvas top gazebo

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          March 29, 2016
          Wondering if anyone can shed some light on how hot it is under this gazebo compared to one with a canvas top? is it about the same, hotter or cooler?
           
          Chamberlain's Premium MyQ 1/2 HP Belt-Drive Garage Door Opener is an all-purpose garage door opener. It has a steel reinforced belt for quiet, long-lasting performance. It includes two visor remotes and a keypad - perfect for the family on the go. This model includes the internet gateway which allows you to monitor, control and receive alert notifications for your garage door opener and household lights from anywhere in the world via the MyQ Application.
           

          Additional equipment needed to use mobile phone

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          December 2, 2015
          Reading the product description it sounds like there is nothing needed but the manual does not say anything about setting up a mobile device and lists the gateway as an accessory. Is this a gateway "Ready" or does the gateway come with the opener?
           
          Chamberlain's Premium MyQ 1/2 HP Belt-Drive Garage Door Opener is an all-purpose garage door opener. It has a steel reinforced belt for quiet, long-lasting performance. It includes two visor remotes and a keypad - perfect for the family on the go. This model includes the internet gateway which allows you to monitor, control and receive alert notifications for your garage door opener and household lights from anywhere in the world via the MyQ Application.
           

          LED Bulbs

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          December 2, 2015
          The manual says to not use LED bulbs because it may reduce the range of the remotes. Do you have a list of bulbs that don't interfere with the opener remote?
           
          Whether you are working, biking, camping, hunting, or boating out in the outdoors the Defiant 3-Pack 5 LED Headlight is a great choice because it is not only hands-free, but it will prepare you for the dark. This head lamp is constructed of tough ABS plastic with an adjustable elastic head strap and an adjustable headlight. The 5 bright white LED's help the batteries last up to up to 10 hours of continuous use with the change of batteries. This headlight also has 3 light modes: high, low, strobe.
           

          How many Lumens?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          November 16, 2015
          How many Lumens do these put out?
           
          SunSmart options provide sunset and sunrise times for easy settings that adjust automatically throughout the year. Set one or multiple ON/OFF settings for each day of the week, daily cycles, or weekday-weekend cycles, up to 7 individual weekly programs. Random vacation security feature varies the programmed ON/OFF times within an hour to create a lived-in look with a push of a button.
           

          Can it be used as a timer for a pool pump?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          August 18, 2015
          My mechanical pool pump timer is getting flaky is confusing at best to program.

          Could i use this to turn the pump on and off?

          Can it be programed to turn on and off four times a day? Ie, can it turn on for a couple of hours every 6 hours?

          Is the current rating 15 amp or 20 amp? The HD web pages says 20 amp the manual says 15 amp?

          is there an inrush current limit?

          my pool pump is 1 hp
           
          BilltheEngineer's Answers
           
          The raindrip Drip Watering Container and Hanging Basket Kit features the newly designed timer and includes everything you need to water 20 Containers or Hanging baskets. The simple design provides a quick and easy installation.
           

          Can the tubing be purchased in white or clear?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 10, 2016
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          May 13, 2016
          Answer: 
          In the plumbing dept you should be able to find the same size tubing in clear. The black tubing is probably UV resistant and the clear most likely is not, so it may break down (get brittle and crack) over time.
           
          The Latex-ite 1 Gal. 2X Premium Blacktop Crack Filler is a fast-drying, specially formulated premium vinyl-polymer blend for blacktop cracks up to 1/2 in. wide. It provides extended life and greater durability than ordinary cold-pour crack fillers. It is very easy to use: Just clean the crack, shake the container and squeeze the rubberized liquid into the crack to seal it. (Note: If product is not available to order in your area that is due to nighttime temperatures. Product may not cure and/or track in late fall and early spring applications).
           

          Premium blacktop crack filler. How long does it take to dry?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Rockford IL
          May 10, 2016
          I filled a half inch crack across my driveway in 80 temperatures. It goes down brown and dries black. 48 hours later it rained and the stuff is brown again and washing away
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          May 12, 2016
          Answer: 
          4 to 8 hours it says on the bottle.
          I used it and let it set overnight and it was fine the next day.
          Make sure you shake/mix it well before using.
           
          The ECHO PB-580T features a 58.2cc professional-grade, 2-stroke engine with a tube-mounted throttle. It delivers 510 CFM and 215 MPH blowing performance. A unique vented backpad circulates air around the user for increased comfort in hot weather.
           

          Want to buy it, will it fit in car

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 10, 2016
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          May 12, 2016
          Answer: 
          Should fit, if not you could take it out of the box and it will fit then.
           
          TrueCoat II sprayers are the fastest and easiest way to complete your 1 to 2 gal. painting projects. No need to break out the big sprayer for touch ups or small projects like doors and trim. Get the same professional quality finish as Graco's pro stationary sprayers.
           

          Can you use this to spray polyacrylic?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 8, 2016
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          May 11, 2016
          Answer: 
          It will spray it. just make sure you use the correct tip for the thickness of the material and the spray pattern you need.
           
          This new versatile yard tool is a 2-wheeled cart designed to be attached to any lawn or garden tractor. 4 collapsible sides allow the Hauler to be folded flat and stored vertically, taking up 70% less space in a garage or shed than traditional yard carts. The foldable feature also allows the Hauler to be used in flat-bed mode, convenient for hauling long loads like logs or lumber.
           

          Middle divider

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 8, 2016
          Some pictures show a middle divider where can I find this?
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          May 11, 2016
          Answer: 
          The manual does not list one as an accessory. It just has this statement:
          Making a Divider for the Hauler
          Using a piece of 1/2" plywood, a divider can be constructed to create two separate bins for the hauler
          The dimensions for this divider are 12" high x 32-1/2" long by 1/2" thick. Carefully cut the plywood and install it into the hauler bed as shown in Figure 6-2
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 76 >>