Bill1974
  • Review count
    179
  • Helpfulness votes
    236
  • Average rating
    4.2
    4.2 out of 5
  • First Review:
    October 19, 2009
  • Last Review:
    September 2, 2015
 
  • Question count
    4
     
    • Answer count
      252
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        179
      • Helpfulness votes
        236
      • Average rating
        4.2
        4.2 out of 5
      • First Review:
        October 19, 2009
      • Last Review:
        September 2, 2015
       
      • Question count
        4
         
        • Answer count
          252
           
           
           
           
          Bill1974's Reviews
           
          Dirt Devil is proud to be celebrating over 30 years of hand vac design. The versatility of a built-in crevice tool and a detachable TurboClaw Stair and Upholstery tool that is ideal for pet hair pickup. The Total Power Pet Hand Vac has powerful pickup on any surface and features a flip open dirt cup for easy emptying with a push of a button. Dump the dirt without getting your hands messy. The TurboClaw Stair tool easily slides on and off allowing you to move from carpet and upholstery to hard surfaces. This Total Power Pet hand vac includes smart charging technology that helps pet owners "GET AHEAD OF THE SHED”.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Usage frequency:Yearly
          Received free product:Yes
          It does pick up pet fur pretty well
          PostedSeptember 2, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Overall its nice handheld cordless vacuum. I will start off with the only downside and it is a minor one. The brush attachment sometime falls off, The is a small detent that it clip onto but it's does not hold all the time. I am hoping that it will not get worse over time and I will see if Dirt Devil is aware of this and if they have a plan to improve it.
          Otherwise this is a nice handy vacuum for picking up pet fur and small messes. The brush really does work well for picking up cat fur off of furniture and the floor. I have a Dyson vacuum i usually use to vacuum the furniture and it does a good job of picking up the cat fur, but this actually seems easier to use. This does not have as much Read More
          Overall its nice handheld cordless vacuum. I will start off with the only downside and it is a minor one. The brush attachment sometime falls off, The is a small detent that it clip onto but it's does not hold all the time. I am hoping that it will not get worse over time and I will see if Dirt Devil is aware of this and if they have a plan to improve it.
          Otherwise this is a nice handy vacuum for picking up pet fur and small messes. The brush really does work well for picking up cat fur off of furniture and the floor. I have a Dyson vacuum i usually use to vacuum the furniture and it does a good job of picking up the cat fur, but this actually seems easier to use. This does not have as much suction but it still does a good job and is a lot quicker to get out and put away. I wish i had this a month or so ago to give it a really good test because my cat was shedding enough that I thought I had a herd of cats.
          This is also pretty quiet, Dory (my cat) isn't really that scared of it. Maybe one day i use it to vacuum her when shedding season comes around again. Just kidding
          The battery seems to last a decent amount of time, I have only changed it when once and I have used it for at least 15 minutes. Not sure how long it takes to charge, I did not time it and it was no fully dead when I opened the box.
          Emptying the vacuumed up fur and dirt is easy, and there is a filter that can be removed and rised/washed.
          In the video I show how is does a good job of picking up the remnants from Dory's scratching pad and vacuuming an area rug. I thought i also took video of vacuuming the couch but didn't, i just got before and after pics. Read Less
          Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          Video Review:
          (click to see the video)
          User submitted video
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The D6224-2 two section fiberglass extension ladders have non-conductive rails, making this ladder ideal for working near electricity. Double pulleys mean it takes less force to raise and lower the fly section of the ladder. With a duty rating of 300 lb., the D6224-2 is durable and long lasting. The exclusive ALFLO rung joint means TWIST-PROOF performance on the job. The TRACTION-TRED D rungs are slip resistant and the side rails are interlocking. The dual action feet are for use on hard or penetrable surfaces and swivel easily. The base and fly sections separate easily to use the base section as a single ladder. The durable rail shield bracket and shoe help protect the bottom of the rail. The fly section rails are pre-pierced at the top for easy field installation of accessories.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Sturdy and not to heavy
          PostedSeptember 1, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I am a decent size guy and going up a ladder is not my favorite thing. I have a lightweight aluminum ladder and it's easy to move around but was very wobbly when you were on it any when other then the top of bottom.
          Well this one is so much more stable and does not flex or wobble much at all. It's more like stairs then a ladder. The rung are easy and comfortable to stand on. It is heavier than the other ladder but I will happily deal with the extra weight for the added stability and no wobble. I have been on the ladders that the telephone and power companies you and this is almost as stable as them, but it is lighter and easier to move around.
          Extending and retracting the ladder is easy Read More
          I am a decent size guy and going up a ladder is not my favorite thing. I have a lightweight aluminum ladder and it's easy to move around but was very wobbly when you were on it any when other then the top of bottom.
          Well this one is so much more stable and does not flex or wobble much at all. It's more like stairs then a ladder. The rung are easy and comfortable to stand on. It is heavier than the other ladder but I will happily deal with the extra weight for the added stability and no wobble. I have been on the ladders that the telephone and power companies you and this is almost as stable as them, but it is lighter and easier to move around.
          Extending and retracting the ladder is easy there is a rope to pull and pulley that is smooth. The stops are sturdy too. The feet of the ladder can be used two ways, one where they dig into the soil or flat where they sit on the ground, The top of the ladder I put some cushions on to protect the siding on my house. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Courant is a traditional faucet design that works well with a wide array of bathroom styles. Its decorative handles and high arc spout will add a touch of elegance to any bathroom remodel or faucet replacement. The swivel spout adds extra functionality when hand washing clothing or washing your hands.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Looks nice, functions well and generally easy to install.
          PostedSeptember 1, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          It's a faucet, it does what it is supposed to do. it's easy to modulate the hot and cold to get the desired temperature water out of the spout. The valves close and work smoothly. Also the faucet and handles look very nice.
          Installation was pretty easy for me. I installed it on a new vanity so the top was not attached and I had easy access to everything. If you were installing this on a vanity in place it be a two person job or it might be easier to remove the vanity top to install. But it can be done with the vanity in place. There is a tool provided that makes install easier and so you don't need any special tools. All you need is a screwdriver and an adjustable wrench. Optional is a Read More
          It's a faucet, it does what it is supposed to do. it's easy to modulate the hot and cold to get the desired temperature water out of the spout. The valves close and work smoothly. Also the faucet and handles look very nice.
          Installation was pretty easy for me. I installed it on a new vanity so the top was not attached and I had easy access to everything. If you were installing this on a vanity in place it be a two person job or it might be easier to remove the vanity top to install. But it can be done with the vanity in place. There is a tool provided that makes install easier and so you don't need any special tools. All you need is a screwdriver and an adjustable wrench. Optional is a flashlight, something to lay on if you are working in the vanity and some silicone.
          I applied a little silicone under each valve and spout to make sure no water leaks into the vanity. I also applied a little to the rubber gasket that seals to the bottom the bowl. There is no plumbers putty needed. One other thing is to not over tighten the screws holding everything to the vanity top, there is a change of cracking it. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Modern
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Maestro C.L dimmer provides optimal dimming performance of LED bulbs. This dimmer works with up to 150-Watt of dimmable LED/CFL or 600-Watt of incandescent/halogen, allowing you to control multiple bulb types on the same circuit. It is designed to control a broad range of dimmable LED and CFL bulbs from a variety of brands including Philips, Cree, GE, EcoSmart and Lighting Science. Use the rocker to adjust the light level for any activity or set the preset level to ensure lights always turn on to your desired light level. Advanced features include delayed fade to off, which allows time to exit a room or to get into bed before the lights turn off. Kit includes (1) Maestro C.L dimmer, (1) Maestro Companion Dimmer, (1) 2 coordinating Claro wall plates.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Now I can you LED lights and dim them
          PostedSeptember 1, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have the prior generation of this product that was not LED and CFL compatible. So when I replace bulbs have to look for incandescents. When I installed these I swapped in some CREE LED bulbs (I don't recall which ones, i had them already). After everything was installed, everything looked the same. Well because the switch look the same as what I swapped out and the bulbs we a similar lume and color.
          Install on this is easy for a three way configuration or if you have more than two switches. I believe you can have up to 10 companion switches. (not sure why you would ever need that many but you can). The wiring can be one of a few configuration and it will work, basically any way that you Read More
          I have the prior generation of this product that was not LED and CFL compatible. So when I replace bulbs have to look for incandescents. When I installed these I swapped in some CREE LED bulbs (I don't recall which ones, i had them already). After everything was installed, everything looked the same. Well because the switch look the same as what I swapped out and the bulbs we a similar lume and color.
          Install on this is easy for a three way configuration or if you have more than two switches. I believe you can have up to 10 companion switches. (not sure why you would ever need that many but you can). The wiring can be one of a few configuration and it will work, basically any way that you wire a 3 way it will work with. The instructions are a little small to read, but you can find them online and make it bigger if needed. I always find figuring out which wire goes where is the toughest part, unless I am installing it new. Once that is figured out it's as simple as following the pictures in the instructions.
          Dimming performance was fine, no flickering or minimal dimming, it looks like it did before with incandescent bulbs. I also like the delay off feature. The old one had this too, all you need to do is hold down the lower side and wait for the led on switch to blink and when you release the switch it will turn off a little while later (a few seconds to a few minutes depending on how long you keep the button pressed). It's nice to not have to walk down a dark hallway or stairs.
          The one thing i wish is that they made this design look compatible with the Caseta line of switches. Read Less
          Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Latex-ite 1-Gal. Super Patch is a stone-and-adhesive patch for pavements. It can be used on both concrete and asphalt and is designed to be used year-round. It contains asphalastic binders that give it maximum adhesion and long life, making it ideal for potholes, large cracks and joints.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Purchase frequency:Yearly
          Easy to fill is larger holes and packs down well
          PostedAugust 11, 2015
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          I had a small hole in my driveway to fill in. I used this product and it took two pails. Left it in the sun so it flowed easily and so it would pack down well. Both of those it did well. I was assuming it would pack more than it does. I also thought it would firm up more as you pack it down.
          It packs but still is pretty soft after being packed. Even a week later i could make a depression just by pressing my foot on it. It was firmer but not hard. It's been about a month and is has firmed up more and is only slightly tacky on hot days.
          If i had used this in an area where it would have been driven over regularly I don't know if it would hold up.
          Make sure not to walk on this for a week or Read More
          I had a small hole in my driveway to fill in. I used this product and it took two pails. Left it in the sun so it flowed easily and so it would pack down well. Both of those it did well. I was assuming it would pack more than it does. I also thought it would firm up more as you pack it down.
          It packs but still is pretty soft after being packed. Even a week later i could make a depression just by pressing my foot on it. It was firmer but not hard. It's been about a month and is has firmed up more and is only slightly tacky on hot days.
          If i had used this in an area where it would have been driven over regularly I don't know if it would hold up.
          Make sure not to walk on this for a week or two or you will be tracking is everywhere. If it's in an area where it's going to walked on or driven on put some sand on it . Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
          Cons: takes to long to firm up
          +3points
          3out of 3found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 36 >>
           
          Bill1974's Questions
           
          SunSmart options provide sunset and sunrise times for easy settings that adjust automatically throughout the year. Set one or multiple ON/OFF settings for each day of the week, daily cycles, or weekday-weekend cycles, up to 7 individual weekly programs. Random vacation security feature varies the programmed ON/OFF times within an hour to create a lived-in look with a push of a button.
           

          Can it be used as a timer for a pool pump?

          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          August 18, 2015
          My mechanical pool pump timer is getting flaky is confusing at best to program.

          Could i use this to turn the pump on and off?

          Can it be programed to turn on and off four times a day? Ie, can it turn on for a couple of hours every 6 hours?

          Is the current rating 15 amp or 20 amp? The HD web pages says 20 amp the manual says 15 amp?

          is there an inrush current limit?

          my pool pump is 1 hp
           
          Great for running the RV while out on the road, or for keeping essential appliances going during a power outage, the Sportsman Series 4000-Watt Dual Fuel Generator has the power and flexibility to handle the task. This generator runs on either unleaded gasoline or propane gas, so you can use whichever fuel is more easily available or affordable at the moment. With the Sportsman Series Dual Fuel Generator, you get the long lasting, clean burning advantage of propane gas, plus the familiar and easy to find benefits of unleaded gasoline. This powerful generator can handle the needs of most contractors, homeowners and recreational activities. Equipped with four 120-Volt outlets, a single 120-Volt RV outlet, and a 12-Volt DC outlet for battery charging, this generator can also handle almost everything you need for camping or tailgating. With a 50% load, the Sportsman Series 4000-Watt Dual Fuel Generator can run for 10 hours on a full tank of gasoline (3.6 gal.) and 12 hours with a full 20 lbs. LP cylinder (the common gas grill type, not included). A 5 ft. propane fuel hose with a regulator is included for your added convenience. The 7 HP engine is surprisingly quiet; it runs at less than 69 dB. The Sportsman Series 4000 Watt Dual Fuel Generator is ideal for anyone who needs affordable, flexible and portable power. This model cannot be converted to operate with natural gas.
           

          Can this be converted to run on Natural Gas

          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          August 12, 2015
          Understanding that this has all that is needed to run on propane (LPG) can it also be run on natural gas? I would assume the pressure regulator may have to be adjusted and an orifice/jet would need to be changed.
           
          Series 100XL Temperature and Pressure Relief Valves are used in water heater and hot water storage tank applications to provide automatic temperature and pressure protection to hot water supply tanks and hot water heaters up to 105,000 BTU/Hr. They feature a bronze body with NPT male inlet and NPT female outlet connections, unique thermostat with special thermo-bonded coating, and a test lever. Model 100XL-8 is also available with 8 in. (200mm) extension thermostat. Series 100XL is ASME rated and CSA listed. Temperature Relief: 210 F (99 C), Pressure Relief Range: 75 to 150psi (5.2 to 10.3 bar), Standard Pressure Settings: 75, 100, 125, or 150psi (5.27, 7.03, 8.79, or 10.55 bar).
           

          Can this be used in place of the Watts 100KL-4 M7 (0066100)? What is the difference between them?

          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          May 8, 2014
          Looking at Watts site I can tell is this is a replacement model or not?
           
          The AH2510B universal attic ladder is lightweight, yet carries a duty rating of 375 pounds. The strut design eliminates springs and allows for a wide access opening. Easy to open and close. Wide steps are slip resistant and the feet are non-marring. Available for standard or extra-wide openings.
           

          Where is this ladder manufactured?

          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          March 15, 2014
           
          Bill1974's Answers
           
          The New Defiant LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. This LED motion light provides seamless light coverage for increased safety, security and peace of mind. Never change a bulb with this new LED technology. Install quickly and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature beautifies, protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected. Energy Star certified.
           

          does unit have to be mounted on a vertigal wall or can it be mounted on horizontal soffit

          Asked by
          redram41
          florida
          September 1, 2015
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 4, 2015
          Answer: 
          it can be mounted either way
           
          The New Defiant LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. This LED motion light provides seamless light coverage for increased safety, security and peace of mind. Never change a bulb with this new LED technology. Install quickly and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature beautifies, protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected. Energy Star certified.
           

          what material is the light made of? Aluminum, plastic, etc.

          Asked by
          fireworksbaby
          portland, or
          August 22, 2015
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 4, 2015
          Answer: 
          Most of the unit is plastic (abs most likely) and the back of the LED is aluminum (the grey parts)
           
          The New Defiant LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. This LED motion light provides seamless light coverage for increased safety, security and peace of mind. Never change a bulb with this new LED technology. Install quickly and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature beautifies, protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected. Energy Star certified.
           

          Sorry if i missed it, but what is the wattage draw for this light?

          Asked by
          mrrock
          seahawk country
          September 2, 2015
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 4, 2015
          Answer: 
          I think is in the 20 to 30 watt range.
           
          Remember when you brought those old jagged boards back to life? The WEN 12.5-inch Benchtop Thickness Planer with Granite Table repurposes rough and worn wood to give it an exceptionally smooth finish. The powerful 12-amp motor combined with our two-blade cutting system provides over 18,000 cuts per minute at a 26 feet per minute feed rate. Plane boards up to 12.5 inches wide and 6 inches thick with ease. The smooth granite table never warps and provides precise support to wood passing through the machine. Combine that with the heavy duty cast iron base for a sturdy planer that does not walk or wobble during operation. The handy depth adjustment knob varies each pass to take off anywhere from 0 to 3/32 of an inch. The fan-assisted dust port removes chips and sawdust from the workpiece and blasts them out of the way. This package also includes two high carbon steel double-edged blades (SK5) along with height-adjustable infeed and outfeed tables that limit snipe while providing extra support to your workpiece during planing. Easily mount the planer to a work surface or stand using the predrilled base holes. Repurpose old wood or make a set of boards flush with the WEN 12.5-inch Benchtop Thickness Planer. And because it’s a WEN product, the WEN Thickness Planer comes backed by a nationwide network of skilled service technicians, a helpful customer support line and a two-year warranty. Remember when your planer could handle even the hardest of woods? Remember WEN.
           

          How many cuts per inch?

          Asked by
          Doresoom
          Harvest, AL
          July 2, 2015
          By my figuring, 18,800 cuts per minute with a feed rate of 26 feet per minute gives about 60 cuts per inch. That seems a bit low, although I guess it could be due to a 2 bladed cutter head instead of a 3 bladed cutter head, since most other planers seem to be up around at least 90 CPI.
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 3, 2015
          Answer: 
          Everything say 18800 and 26 ft per min, so yeah your math is correct. I have this planer and it planes smooth, i don't see any cutter marks. There are a few minor ridges that can be knocked down with a scraper or a quick sanding.
          Overall it's a good machine for the price. Mine took some tweaking to get to work properly. If you do purchase check to see if the blades are parallel to the granite base, mine Read More
          Everything say 18800 and 26 ft per min, so yeah your math is correct. I have this planer and it planes smooth, i don't see any cutter marks. There are a few minor ridges that can be knocked down with a scraper or a quick sanding.
          Overall it's a good machine for the price. Mine took some tweaking to get to work properly. If you do purchase check to see if the blades are parallel to the granite base, mine was not and it's kind of pain to adjust. Not difficult just tedious. Read Less
           
          The Ariens Deluxe Two-Stage 28 in. Gas Snow Blower offers powerful snow-clearing action. Snow removal is even easier with the new Auto-Turn steering feature. There is no more straining or fumbling with triggers to turn your Sno-Thro around. Auto-Turn is just that – Automatic. The Sno-Thro will turn when and where you want it to, with ultimate traction. It features a 254 cc Ariens AX engine. With a 28 in. clearance width and a 21 in. intake height, this rust-resistant snow blower features an electric ignition button for quick starts, and 205-degree chute rotation with remote deflector control to easily change the height and direction of snow being thrown. The Deluxe Sno-Thro series machines are the most popular and versatile choice to clear walkways and driveways of all sizes to any home or business.
           

          Auto Steer

          Asked by
          Wiechman
          Northeast CT
          September 1, 2015
          I was thinking of buying this Deluxe 28 snow blower, BUT I see a few bad things about the auto steer, Can the auto steer be locked out?? That would be a nice option.
          That's the only thing that would stop me from buying it.
          I was really looking for the platinum model,, BUT that also has auto steer.

          Thanks for any help.
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 3, 2015
          Answer: 
          I have not had any issues with the auto steer. As far as I know there is no way to lock it out. Also on the larger snow blower i would think it wold difficult to maneuver with the wheel locked.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 51 >>