BilltheEngineer
  • Review count
    297
  • Helpfulness votes
    445
  • Average rating
    4.2
    4.2 out of 5
  • First Review:
    October 19, 2009
  • Last Review:
    January 27, 2017
 
  • Question count
    14
     
    • Answer count
      640
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        297
      • Helpfulness votes
        445
      • Average rating
        4.2
        4.2 out of 5
      • First Review:
        October 19, 2009
      • Last Review:
        January 27, 2017
       
      • Question count
        14
         
        • Answer count
          640
           
           
           
           
          BilltheEngineer's Reviews
           
          Add this outdoor metal scroll wall lantern to your home's exterior and give your place an updated look. This elegant style wall lantern has a scroll arm and decorative finial in an oil rubbed bronze finish. The lantern has a safety rating up to 60-Watt. Clear cylinder glass with detailed metal work provides light where needed for outdoor steps and porch entries.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice size and nicely made
          PostedJanuary 27, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I really like the look of the fixture and size is just right too. I have it mounted between two garage doors and have a 100 watt equivalent LED bulb in it. The fixture is rated for a 60 watt bulb max, the LED bulb I have installed only draws 14.5 watts (FYI read the reviews of the LED bulbs before buying, some are a lot more reliable than others) This provides enough light to illuminate the area nicely.
          The construction of the fixture is nice. It is mainly stamped sheet metal but it is not the really thin metal. The glass is also nice, it is a good thickness not really thin either. I like that the bulb area is closed off so dirt, bugs, birds, etc does have easy access. Also I like that I Read More
          I really like the look of the fixture and size is just right too. I have it mounted between two garage doors and have a 100 watt equivalent LED bulb in it. The fixture is rated for a 60 watt bulb max, the LED bulb I have installed only draws 14.5 watts (FYI read the reviews of the LED bulbs before buying, some are a lot more reliable than others) This provides enough light to illuminate the area nicely.
          The construction of the fixture is nice. It is mainly stamped sheet metal but it is not the really thin metal. The glass is also nice, it is a good thickness not really thin either. I like that the bulb area is closed off so dirt, bugs, birds, etc does have easy access. Also I like that I can change the bulb, other fixtures I looked at have LED bulbs built in that are not replaceable.
          Assembly and installation is not difficult. It installs like most other wall sconces. The fixture mounts to an electrical wall box with a few screws and there are three wire connection.
          The one thing I would like is it this light fixture came with an option for sensing motion and daylight.
          I am trying to figure out a way to add a motion sensor to this, Currently I have it being turned on and off with a smart light switch that is turned on and off when a security camera senses motion. It works okay but is not as consistent/reliable as other security lights I have. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design, Stylish, Unique, Very Bright, Well Made
          Cons: no easy way to add a motion sensor
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Inspired by the bridges of Gerber’s hometown in Portland, Oregon, the Suspension is an open frame multi-tool with spring-loaded pliers, the Safe.T.Plus locking system, a fine-edge knife, serrated knife, rough cut saw and more. Housed in a ballistic nylon sheath, it’s a lightweight down-and-dirty workhorse.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Compact and handy
          PostedJanuary 24, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Overall a nicely made and useful multi-tool. It's compact so if you have big hands this may not be the best choice for you. I normally wear large to extra large gloves so you can judge by that. It looks and feel well made. You can use all the blade and pliers features one handed. The scissors and non-blade features need to two hands to get out and they also need finger nail to get them out too. They all lock in the in use position which is nice. The release can be done with one hand, you need to grab it on both sides of the tool. The blades came pretty sharp but I touched them up so they would cut paper easily. When using the pliers the grips don't dig into your fingers or palms. For the Read More
          Overall a nicely made and useful multi-tool. It's compact so if you have big hands this may not be the best choice for you. I normally wear large to extra large gloves so you can judge by that. It looks and feel well made. You can use all the blade and pliers features one handed. The scissors and non-blade features need to two hands to get out and they also need finger nail to get them out too. They all lock in the in use position which is nice. The release can be done with one hand, you need to grab it on both sides of the tool. The blades came pretty sharp but I touched them up so they would cut paper easily. When using the pliers the grips don't dig into your fingers or palms. For the size it does seem a little heavy. Read Less
          Pros: All In One, Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Strong, Sturdy
          Cons: Too Heavy
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          For people who aspire to create a beautiful and safe home for their family, the 100W Equivalent Cree LED bulb provides better light, better dimming, all backed by a better warranty. Featuring a cool (5000K), omnidirectional light with high color rendering, the Cree LED bulb is designed to enhance your home and make the colors of your decor appear vibrant, richer and more natural. Fully dimmable and built to light and last, the new Cree LED bulb provides 13.7 years (15,000 hours) of beautiful, energy-efficient light. The Energy Star certified Cree LED bulb is a worry-free choice backed by one of the strongest warranties in the industry - a 10-year 100% satisfaction guarantee.
           
          Verified Purchase:No
          Lasted two months
          PostedJanuary 22, 2017
          Overall rating 
          1.0 out of 5
          1.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          I installed this in an outdoor security light in early November of 2016 and it stopped working by the end of December 2016. $11 for a bulb that lasts 2 months. On the bring side it has a 90 day return policy, so at least I don't need to go through a warranty return process.
          when it did work it seemed like a good bulb. looking at the other reviews looks like they are not reliable.
          +2points
          2out of 2found this review helpful.
           
          The M18 REDLITHIUM HIGH DEMAND 9.0 Battery Pack delivers up to 5X more run-time, 35% more power, and runs 60% cooler than standard 18-Volt lithium-ion batteries. The battery is best optimized for high draw products and sustained run-time applications, and it provides the next, large step towards full corded replacement. The M18 and M12 Rapid Charger charges packs up to 40% faster, reducing downtime and maximizing productivity. The M18 FUEL 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw Cuts Faster and Weighs up to 40% less than corded saws, while delivering 2X more run-time than other 18-Volt cordless circular saws.
           
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          It is almost as powerful as a corded saw. In most cases you can barely tell the different. On p...
          PostedJanuary 18, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          It is almost as powerful as a corded saw. In most cases you can barely tell the different. On plywood less than an inch you can barely tell a difference between this and a higher end corded saw. Not having a cord to deal with is a really nice bonus and easily outweighs any slight loss in power or having to charge the battery. I only have 9 Amp-hr batteries so I can't sow how it performs with smaller batteries. And as for run time I don't find that an issue unless the saw stop in the middle of a cut. But I have 3 batteries so I am never at a loss.
          Overall construction is as nice as most high end/professional saws. For me aside from price how the handle feels and how its balanced are what Read More
          It is almost as powerful as a corded saw. In most cases you can barely tell the different. On plywood less than an inch you can barely tell a difference between this and a higher end corded saw. Not having a cord to deal with is a really nice bonus and easily outweighs any slight loss in power or having to charge the battery. I only have 9 Amp-hr batteries so I can't sow how it performs with smaller batteries. And as for run time I don't find that an issue unless the saw stop in the middle of a cut. But I have 3 batteries so I am never at a loss.
          Overall construction is as nice as most high end/professional saws. For me aside from price how the handle feels and how its balanced are what drives my purchasing choice. I have a few other Milwaukee tools so its nice to have common batteries. If the saw were not comfortable in my hand I would not have bought it. The depth and bevel adjustments and easy and tool free. It is a little heavier then a corded saw but not by enough that I think it makes a difference. Read Less
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          With H2Option, we put you in control of your flush. Select either a full or partial flush for increased water savings. Ultra-high efficient with impressive performance, now including our EverClean surface to fight against mold, mildew, stains and odor-causing bacteria for an even cleaner toilet.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Saves water and cleans bowl well
          PostedJanuary 18, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I have only bought one other toilet so I don't know if its the norm or not, but I was a little surprised that there are a few extras you need to supply. New bolts that hold the toilet to the closet flange are not included, no wax ring, no seat or water supply line. These are all inexpensive items and I would generally thing you would put new ones of these in when installing a toilet. The installation guide does list these as items that are needed for the install along with some basic hand tools that are needed.
          The overall install is the same as the one other that I have installed, with just some extra checking and minor adjusting of the buttons for the flushing. Most other toiler you Read More
          I have only bought one other toilet so I don't know if its the norm or not, but I was a little surprised that there are a few extras you need to supply. New bolts that hold the toilet to the closet flange are not included, no wax ring, no seat or water supply line. These are all inexpensive items and I would generally thing you would put new ones of these in when installing a toilet. The installation guide does list these as items that are needed for the install along with some basic hand tools that are needed.
          The overall install is the same as the one other that I have installed, with just some extra checking and minor adjusting of the buttons for the flushing. Most other toiler you need to fiddle with the chain that goes from the handle to the flapper. This one you fiddle with the rods connected to the buttons and somethings for the water level and minor and major flush adjustments. In some aspects I think its easier than messing with the chain.
          Overall the fit and finish of the tank and bowl are nice and well made. I did not see any blemishes on mine. It does look more complicated in the tank with all the extra stuff in there. Most parts are molded plastic parts and look well made. Time will tell how this holds up.
          Being packaged in two boxes does make moving it around easier. Less likely to need two people to move it and less likely throw out your back.
          The bowl appears to clean out well in both modes. If you do have a "stuff" in the bowl it does something need a second flush, but that seems to happen to a lot of toilers that don't use a lot of water. If that is the case a "courtesy" flush is probably called for, but reaching the button is bit difficult. Read Less
          Pros: Comfortable, Depth, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Good Use of Space, Great Value, High Quality, Looks Great, Modern, Performs Well, Reliable, Solid, Sturdy, Stylish
          Cons: thought it come with a seat and closet bolts
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 60 >>
           
          BilltheEngineer's Questions
           
          Quality and performance make Razor-Back tools the choice of both professionals and general consumers. If your next project involves installing a fence, post, mailbox, or basketball hoop, make sure you use the right tool for the job. This Post Hole Digger is perfect for digging those necessary holes and footings and will help you do so without bending over or straining your back.
           

          Where is this made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          February 22, 2017
          Where is this made?
           
          For high-quality, long-lasting repairs choose Bondo Wood Filler. Bondo Wood Filler rebuilds, restores and replaces rotted or damaged sections of wood on doors, windows, fences, furniture, shutters and more. Medium brown in color when mixed, Bondo Wood Filler is stainable and paintable, making it perfect for almost any wood surface inside or outside of the home. Because it is a 2-part wood filler, Bondo Wood Filler will not shrink and cures fast. The filler can be easily sanded by hand or power tool in only 15 minutes and shaped, planed, drilled, routed or sawed just like wood. This non-shrinking, permanent filler can be stained or painted in only 25 minutes, meaning your repair is complete the same day you started. Not only can you fill in small damage, but the strength of this 2-part wood filler allows you to rebuild rotted or missing pieces of wood and complete repairs in less than 30 minutes.
           

          Can this be colored or tinted?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          October 31, 2016
          Can this be colored or tinted?
           
          Our filter is 100% recyclable and is produced with a new technology that carbonizes dried coconut shells in an enclosed self-sustaining system. We offer a low cost alternative. We have a complete line of filters that are compatible with most major brands of refrigerators. We are WQA gold seal certified.
           

          Where are these filters made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 22, 2016
          Where are these filters made?
           
          The Husky 7-Piece Nut Driver Set is designed for use with metric-sized hex fasteners and includes 5 mm, 6 mm, 7 mm, 8 mm, 9 mm, 10 mm and 11 mm nut drivers. Tough acetate handles offer strength, durability and resistance to chemicals and solvents. A storage rack is included for easy storage. The handles are color coded for fast size identification. The shafts are nickel-chrome plated for max corrosion resistance.
           

          where are these made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          August 1, 2016
          where are these made?
           
          The Husky 7-Piece Nut Driver Set (SAE) includes 3/16 in., 1/4 in., 5/16 in., 11/32 in., 3/8 in., 7/16 in. and 1/2 in. nut drivers. Tough acetate handles offer strength, durability and resistance to chemicals and solvents. A storage rack is included for easy storage. The handles are color coded for fast size identification. The shafts are nickel-chrome plated for max corrosion resistance.
           

          where are these made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          August 1, 2016
          where are these made?
           
          BilltheEngineer's Answers
           
          The New Defiant 180-Degree LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away nighttime darkness. This LED motion light provides seamless light coverage for increased safety, security and peace of mind. Never change a bulb again with this new LED technology. Install quickly and safely with three friendly, DIY easy steps to connect. The DualBrite feature beautifies, protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from dusk-to-dawn and full light when motion is detected.
           

          Can this light work on a dimmer switch?

          Asked by
          Jay
          January 27, 2017
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          January 29, 2017
          Answer: 
          I dont think so. The video security light from Defiant has a dimmer function built it.
           
          Controlling lights shades and temperature from a mobile device has never been easier or more reliable. The Lutron Smart Bridge allows for setup, control, and monitoring of Caseta Wireless dimmers and Serena Remote Controlled Shades from a Smartphone, tablet, and even your Apple Watch TM wearable. The Lutron Smart Bridge also works with Nest, select Honeywell Thermostats, Logitech Harmony remotes and Apple home kit. Use the Lutron app to schedule lights to adjust at specific times of the day and enable geofencing to automatically turn your lights on or off when you leave or approach home. You can even set the app to notify you that when you've left your lights on. All compatible products sold separately. Starter kit includes (1) Caseta Wireless Smart Bridge, (2) Caseta Wireless In-Wall dimmers, (2) Pico Remote Controls, (2) single tabletop pedestals and (2) one-gang Claro wall plates.
           

          Does this work with Amazon Echo?

          Asked by
          Skippy
          Milwaukee, WI
          December 2, 2015
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          January 27, 2017
          Answer: 
          yes it does, it uses the name of each switch or group.
          you have to add a skill to the amazon echo
          it also works with the Amazon Echo Dot.
           
          Controlling lights shades and temperature from a mobile device has never been easier or more reliable. The Lutron Smart Bridge allows for setup, control, and monitoring of Caseta Wireless dimmers and Serena Remote Controlled Shades from a Smartphone, tablet, and even your Apple Watch TM wearable. The Lutron Smart Bridge also works with Nest, select Honeywell Thermostats, Logitech Harmony remotes and Apple home kit. Use the Lutron app to schedule lights to adjust at specific times of the day and enable geofencing to automatically turn your lights on or off when you leave or approach home. You can even set the app to notify you that when you've left your lights on. All compatible products sold separately. Starter kit includes (1) Caseta Wireless Smart Bridge, (2) Caseta Wireless In-Wall dimmers, (2) Pico Remote Controls, (2) single tabletop pedestals and (2) one-gang Claro wall plates.
           

          Pardon the ignorant question as I am trying to get "smarter", but if I have a room that currently...

          Asked by
          Corey
          January 26, 2017
          Pardon the ignorant question as I am trying to get "smarter", but if I have a room that currently has two switches to control the lights can I use 1 of the smart switches and then just install a normal 3 way dimmer on the other? Or is there a better way? And what about other locations that just have 1 switch for the lights? In those cases would it be just one 'smart' dimmer? It seems like a lot of remotes. And lastly how can this system be used for outlets say for lamps?

          Thanks!
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          January 27, 2017
          Answer: 
          The Caseta switches cannot be connected into a 3 way or multi switch for fixture or set of lights. To use the Caseta in this situation you would wire up the Caseta switch to tun the fixture or set of lights on and off. Then you would use the Pico remotes in the other locations. The are adapter plates that allow you to mount the Pico remote into an outlet box and use a standard decora Read More
          The Caseta switches cannot be connected into a 3 way or multi switch for fixture or set of lights. To use the Caseta in this situation you would wire up the Caseta switch to tun the fixture or set of lights on and off. Then you would use the Pico remotes in the other locations. The are adapter plates that allow you to mount the Pico remote into an outlet box and use a standard decora faceplate.
          http://www.homedepot.com/p/Lutron-Caseta-Wireless-Pico-Wall-Plate-Bracket-PICO-WBX-ADAPT/205071775 Read Less
           
          Never get caught powerless, as this Ryobi 18-Volt lithium-ion battery has a built-in 4-bar illuminated charge indicator to warn of diminishing capacity. This LITHIUM+ high-capacity battery stands up to frigid weather conditions down to 14 Degree F (-10 Degree C) and is engineered to run four times longer than a NiCd high-capacity counterpart. Strap this pack onto any 18-Volt cordless product in the ONE+ lineup for supreme performance.
           

          I have a set of Ryobi tools that came with the p113 charger. Please provide the correct lithium ion batteries

          Asked by
          mike
          January 26, 2017
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          January 26, 2017
          Answer: 
          yes it should work with these batteries. I think there was a recall on that charger, you should check the Ryobi website to see if yours is one that was recalled. They will send you a new one after you send yours to them.
           
          The SharkBite Washing Machine Outlet Box with integrated Water Hammer Arrestors features an instant Push-to-Connect connection and can be used with copper, CPVC or PEX lines. SharkBite Push-to-Connect connections decrease the time and effort needed to connect water distribution pipe. There is no glue, soldering or crimping needed. Simply cut your pipe, deburr, mark the pipe approximately 1 in. (for proper insertion depth), install pipe to proper depth and you're done. Water Hammer Arrestors integrated into valve to protect your homes plumbing system from Water Hammer. The Kit includes the Washing Machine Outlet Box, Hot and Cold 1/2 in. SharkBite Push-to-Connect x 3/4 in. MHT Valves (with Water Hammer Arrestors), Faceplate Cover, 2 Support Brackets. Perfect for use in your Laundry room to provide a clean installation and allow for easy shut-off to protect your home when away and washing machine is not in use to guard against accidental leaks.
           

          Can this be installed upside down? My lines come down thru the wall.

          Asked by
          Ty
          January 25, 2017
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          January 26, 2017
          Answer: 
          yes it should be fine.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 128 >>