Billtheengineer
  • Review count
    384
  • Helpfulness votes
    551
  • Average rating
    4.2
    4.2 out of 5
  • First Review:
    October 19, 2009
  • Last Review:
    January 18, 2018
 
  • Question count
    15
     
    • Answer count
      823
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        384
      • Helpfulness votes
        551
      • Average rating
        4.2
        4.2 out of 5
      • First Review:
        October 19, 2009
      • Last Review:
        January 18, 2018
       
      • Question count
        15
         
        • Answer count
          823
           
           
           
           
          Billtheengineer's Reviews
           
          The TowSmart Mount Tow Ring is a great product for multiple applications. It is built of a durable steel construction with a black powder-coat finish that is corrosion-resistant. It is a rugged 7-1/2 in. steel mount with shackle that will fit into a 2 in. receiver hitch for added strength.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice quality. The shackle is easy to remove. 8000 lb rating is nice. The receiver portion is s...
          PostedJanuary 18, 2018
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Nice quality. The shackle is easy to remove. 8000 lb rating is nice. The receiver portion is solid steel not welded or tube material. I put some never seize on the threads so that the shackle bolt does rust in. The shackle is a good size straps and chains are easy to fit and not broken to easily. It's made in China so that is about the only downside. Also nice to not have to attach to the safety chain loops on my truck.
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Looks Great, Nice Design, Sturdy
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Thermoplastic rubber tread wheels provide quiet operation and smooth rolling. Engineered for unsurpassed durability and reliability, resistant to chemicals, acids, bases and alcohols and salt. Perfect for a variety of applications and uses like, food service, retail display, institutional, hospitals, schools, restaurants, warehouses, shop floors, industrial and manufacturing environments.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Overall a nice looking and rolling locking caster. There are ball bearings for the swivel, which...
          PostedJanuary 14, 2018
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Overall a nice looking and rolling locking caster. There are ball bearings for the swivel, which is nice and smooth. There is no shielding so dirt can get into it. The swivel has very little play. The wheel rolls smoothly, but there is some side to side play and some wobble too. I don't think the wheels ride on ball bearings, only bushings. The wheels are a nice firm rubber and roll quietly and smoothly (good for indoor surfaces, probably won't hold up to asphalt and rough concrete unless there is very little load on them). The brake/lock is nice, it locks the wheel from rotating and also stops the caster from swiveling too.
          Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Sturdy
          Cons: no bearing in wheels, wheels wobble a little and slide side to side
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Thermoplastic rubber tread wheels provide quiet operation and smooth rolling. Engineered for unsurpassed durability and reliability, resistant to chemicals, acids, bases and alcohols and salt. Perfect for a variety of applications and uses like, food service, retail display, institutional, hospitals, schools, restaurants, warehouses, shop floors, industrial and manufacturing environments.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Overall a nice looking and rolling caster. There are ball bearings for the swivel, which is nice...
          PostedJanuary 14, 2018
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Overall a nice looking and rolling caster. There are ball bearings for the swivel, which is nice and smooth. There is no shielding so dirt can get into it (mine came with a metal shaving in it but I was able to pick it out with tweezers). The swivel has very little play. The wheel rolls smoothly, but there is some side to side play and some wobble too. I don't think the wheels ride on ball bearings, only bushings. The wheels are a nice firm rubber and roll quietly and smoothly (good for indoor surfaces, probably won't hold up to asphalt and rough concrete unless there is very little load on them)
          Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Looks Great, Sturdy
          Cons: no bearinging in wheels, wheels wobble and slide side to side
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Transform any home into a smart home with the GE Z-Wave Plus Wireless Smart Lighting Control Duplex Receptacle. The GE Z-Wave duplex receptacle supports wireless control of ON/OFF functions from the Z-Wave controlled outlet and is compatible with incandescent, LED, Xenon, Halogen, fluorescent and compact fluorescent bulbs. The receptacle replaces your current electrical outlet and provides a Z-Wave enabled outlet for the lamp or appliance that you would like to control. It also performs as a standard pass-through AC outlet for other electrical appliances. The receptacle requires in-wall installation with hardwired connections. Take control of your home lighting with GE Z-Wave Plus Wireless Smart Lighting Controls.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Not all outlets need to be smart/connected but I am slowly changing to maybe they should be. Ins...
          PostedJanuary 8, 2018
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Not all outlets need to be smart/connected but I am slowly changing to maybe they should be. Install into most boxes should be easy unless you have tiny ones that are through nailed like mine. I end up replacing the tiny metal ones with larger plastic ones. I could have fit this in the old box since it has screw terminal and does not have pigtails and need wire nuts.
          I installed this in my garage so I can run an extension cord outside to plug in my pickup (engine block heater) so it's easier to start and warms up quicker. With the z-wave I can set a schedule so that it only runs enough and i don't need to run down to the garage to turn it on and off. Pairing it with a Samsung Smartthings Read More
          Not all outlets need to be smart/connected but I am slowly changing to maybe they should be. Install into most boxes should be easy unless you have tiny ones that are through nailed like mine. I end up replacing the tiny metal ones with larger plastic ones. I could have fit this in the old box since it has screw terminal and does not have pigtails and need wire nuts.
          I installed this in my garage so I can run an extension cord outside to plug in my pickup (engine block heater) so it's easier to start and warms up quicker. With the z-wave I can set a schedule so that it only runs enough and i don't need to run down to the garage to turn it on and off. Pairing it with a Samsung Smartthings Hub was easy. And controlling it with an Amazon Alexa product is easy too.
          The light on it nice, but I don't think I would want it in a bedroom where you could see it. Also I have read that blue light is not conducive to falling asleep (not sure if it's true or not). Read Less
          Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy Installation, Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Stylish
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The NEW Maestro 4-speed fan control and LED dimmer helps you achieve the ideal comfort level for your home. This new Maestro device allows you to dim your LED lights and adjust your fan speed all from one wall control, eliminating the inconvenience of pull chains!
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Finally Lutron has a combination light and fan switch that works with LED lights. It did loose a ...
          PostedJanuary 3, 2018
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Finally Lutron has a combination light and fan switch that works with LED lights. It did loose a few fan speeds compared to the combination switch that does not work with LED lights. I do miss the few fan speeds (I think the old one had 7 speeds this one has 4). Install is pretty straight forward, as long as you have separate power wires for the light and the fan already in place, if not you will need to run an additional wire. This one also had the nice feature that allow you have a delay off on the light (Just press and hold the light button and it will not shut off right away), the longer you hold it down the longer the delay. I use this all the time when going to bed so I don't trip over Read More
          Finally Lutron has a combination light and fan switch that works with LED lights. It did loose a few fan speeds compared to the combination switch that does not work with LED lights. I do miss the few fan speeds (I think the old one had 7 speeds this one has 4). Install is pretty straight forward, as long as you have separate power wires for the light and the fan already in place, if not you will need to run an additional wire. This one also had the nice feature that allow you have a delay off on the light (Just press and hold the light button and it will not shut off right away), the longer you hold it down the longer the delay. I use this all the time when going to bed so I don't trip over the cat who likes to play games in the dark. Not sure what LED bulbs I have but the dimming work fine, no flickering and no humming or buzzing. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Stylish, Unique, Well Made
          Cons: less fan speeds that the old model
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 77 >>
           
          Billtheengineer's Questions
           
          Shelterguard’s tough steel construction combines performance and value to provide a durable roof and siding solution for sheds, barns and agricultural buildings. Create a high-performing system using complementary Shelterguard trim, screws, closure strip and sealant. Stiffening ribs and grade 80 steel add rigidity and durability.
           

          how to stop cut edges from rusting

          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          April 22, 2017
          is there a recommended method to stop cut edges from rusting?
           
          Quality and performance make Razor-Back tools the choice of both professionals and general consumers. If your next project involves installing a fence, post, mailbox, or basketball hoop, make sure you use the right tool for the job. This Post Hole Digger is perfect for digging those necessary holes and footings and will help you do so without bending over or straining your back.
           

          Where is this made?

          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          February 22, 2017
          Where is this made?
           
          For high-quality, long-lasting repairs choose Bondo Wood Filler. Bondo Wood Filler rebuilds, restores and replaces rotted or damaged sections of wood on doors, windows, fences, furniture, shutters and more. Medium brown in color when mixed, Bondo Wood Filler is stainable and paintable, making it perfect for almost any wood surface inside or outside of the home. Because it is a 2-part wood filler, Bondo Wood Filler will not shrink and cures fast. The filler can be easily sanded by hand or power tool in only 15 minutes and shaped, planed, drilled, routed or sawed just like wood. This non-shrinking, permanent filler can be stained or painted in only 25 minutes, meaning your repair is complete the same day you started. Not only can you fill in small damage, but the strength of this 2-part wood filler allows you to rebuild rotted or missing pieces of wood and complete repairs in less than 30 minutes.
           

          Can this be colored or tinted?

          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          October 31, 2016
          Can this be colored or tinted?
           
          Our filter is 100% recyclable and is produced with a new technology that carbonizes dried coconut shells in an enclosed self-sustaining system. We offer a low cost alternative. We have a complete line of filters that are compatible with most major brands of refrigerators. We are WQA gold seal certified.
           

          Where are these filters made?

          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 22, 2016
          Where are these filters made?
           
          The Husky 7-Piece Nut Driver Set is designed for use with metric-sized hex fasteners and includes 5 mm, 6 mm, 7 mm, 8 mm, 9 mm, 10 mm and 11 mm nut drivers. Tough acetate handles offer strength, durability and resistance to chemicals and solvents. A storage rack is included for easy storage. The handles are color coded for fast size identification. The shafts are nickel-chrome plated for max corrosion resistance.
           

          where are these made?

          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          August 1, 2016
          where are these made?
           
          Billtheengineer's Answers
           
          The DEWALT DCN682 18 Gauge Flooring Stapler drives 18 Gauge 1/4 in. narrow crown staples from 1/2 in. to 1-1/2 in. making it ideal for installing solid and engineered hardwood ranging in thickness from 3/8 in. to 5/8 in. A contact arm optimized for flooring, along with a tool-free adjustable base, help to drive fasteners accurately at the proper angle and depth. A brushless motor powered by a DEWALT 20V MAX Lithium-Ion battery make the DCN682 ready to go to work without the hassle of using gas, a compressor, or a hose. Tackle jobs both large and small with the features of a pneumatic tool and the freedom of cordless. Maximum initial battery voltage (measured without a workload) is 20 volts. Nominal voltage is 18.
           

          Does the flooring attachment come off for other type of jobs like crown molding our finish type work

          Asked by
          Jeff
          January 15, 2018
          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          January 15, 2018
          Answer: 
          No, it's just for flooring
           
          Thermoplastic rubber tread wheels provide quiet operation and smooth rolling. Engineered for unsurpassed durability and reliability, resistant to chemicals, acids, bases and alcohols and salt. Perfect for a variety of applications and uses like, food service, retail display, institutional, hospitals, schools, restaurants, warehouses, shop floors, industrial and manufacturing environments.
           

          is this double locking...i. e. swivel and wheel?

          Asked by
          Devo79me
          May 21, 2017
          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          January 14, 2018
          Answer: 
          Yes it locks the wheel from rotating and prevents the caster from swiveling
           
          RIDGID introduces the GEN5X 18-Volt 5 in. Random Orbit Sander. Featuring its innovative GEN5X Motor Technology, this sander maintains full speed and power under a heavy load. With a new ergonomic Hex Grip handle, this sander feels better than ever in your hand and runs for over 40 minutes on a 4.0Ah HYPER Lithium-Ion battery for longer run time. With a 6-Speed variable speed dial this sander can run from 7,000-11,000 RPM. As always this tool is backed by the RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement. Free Batteries, free Parts and free Service, for Life.
           

          Tough to control or defective? As others have mentioned, this sander seems to have it's own thoug...

          Asked by
          Pav
          January 2, 2018
          Tough to control or defective? As others have mentioned, this sander seems to have it's own thoughts on where it want's to go. Mine is very difficult to control and wants to pull me in random directions in lieu of where I want to sand. My corded Ridgid sander works great, but this one is all over the place.. Is this a defect or easy repair or just the nature of the beast?
          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          January 3, 2018
          Answer: 
          I think it's a nature of this ROS. I have a couple of corded one and they don't have this issue. I live with it, as the convenience of being cordless makes up for the lack of control. I have tried different sand papers and different grits and nothing has make a difference. I am guessing it has to do the the available power difference of a corded vs non-corded and the oscillation rpm and stroke.
           
          The NEW Maestro 4-speed fan control and LED dimmer helps you achieve the ideal comfort level for your home. This new Maestro device allows you to dim your LED lights and adjust your fan speed all from one wall control, eliminating the inconvenience of pull chains!
           

          Can this switch be used with a ceiling bathroom exhaust fan? The fan I want to use it with has an...

          Asked by
          CuriousCustomer
          December 20, 2017
          Can this switch be used with a ceiling bathroom exhaust fan? The fan I want to use it with has an adjustable humidity sensor and speed control (0, 60 or 80 CFM options)
          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          January 3, 2018
          Answer: 
          It could but would not be ideal. A count down timer fan switch is what usually works best in a bathroom so the fan can run long enough to get out the stink or humidity. From my experience humidity sensors have not been reliable in turning the fan on and off over time. Depending on where you live they may come on when the weather is high humidity and they sometimes don't come on when it's really dry Read More
          It could but would not be ideal. A count down timer fan switch is what usually works best in a bathroom so the fan can run long enough to get out the stink or humidity. From my experience humidity sensors have not been reliable in turning the fan on and off over time. Depending on where you live they may come on when the weather is high humidity and they sometimes don't come on when it's really dry unless the bathroom has turned into a steam bath. Read Less
           
          The RIDGID 1/4 in. AC Collated Screw Gun features a powerful motor that provides 3,700 RPM for sinking screws up to 3 in. With free registration, this tool is covered for life. Free Parts, free Service, for Life. Includes: R6791 Collated Screwdriver with Drywall Nosepiece, Wood nosepiece, Phillips Bit, Square Bit, Hex Key, Nose pads (2), Contractor Bag and Operator s Manual.
           

          Can this fit in between 16" O.C. studs and drive the screws?

          Asked by
          N8
          December 29, 2017
          Can this fit in between 16" O.C. studs and drive the screws?
          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          December 30, 2017
          Answer: 
          It would be awkward to use even if it does fit.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 165 >>