Bill1974
  • Review count
    129
  • Helpfulness votes
    166
  • Average rating
    4.1
    4.1 out of 5
  • First Review:
    October 19, 2009
  • Last Review:
    January 9, 2015
 
  • Question count
    2
     
    • Answer count
      136
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        129
      • Helpfulness votes
        166
      • Average rating
        4.1
        4.1 out of 5
      • First Review:
        October 19, 2009
      • Last Review:
        January 9, 2015
       
      • Question count
        2
         
        • Answer count
          136
           
           
           
           
          Bill1974's Reviews
           
          The Ryobi 12 in. Electric Snow Shovel is engineered to remove snow quickly from patios, decks and driveways. With a powerful 8-Amp motor this Ryobi Snow Blower provides consistent, quiet power that efficiently discharges snow up to 20 ft.. Featuring a push button start this Snow Blower makes clearing snow hassle-free at any time. For added convenience, the Ryobi Snow Blower is equipped with a telescoping handle for easy storage. The Ryobi 12 in. Electric Snow Blower is backed with the Ryobi 3 Year Limited Warranty and is guaranteed to deliver results for years to come.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Better than shoveling
          PostedJanuary 9, 2015
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Features 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Ease of use 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I haven't had to much snow to test this in, and what I have had has only been a couple of inches and pretty light snow too. No its not going to clean a foot of heavy wet snow, or at least not without more work.
          I use it to mainly clear the snow off my deck. It annoying to shovel it over or through the railing. This does make it easier. It seems like it has decent power for what it is intended to be used for.
          There are a couple of little annoying things, one is to turn it on you have to press two buttons, one on the side of the handle and one in the grip. It's a little annoying and awkward, but I understand it's a safety feature as there are a fair number of sue happy people out there.
          I haven't had to much snow to test this in, and what I have had has only been a couple of inches and pretty light snow too. No its not going to clean a foot of heavy wet snow, or at least not without more work.
          I use it to mainly clear the snow off my deck. It annoying to shovel it over or through the railing. This does make it easier. It seems like it has decent power for what it is intended to be used for.
          There are a couple of little annoying things, one is to turn it on you have to press two buttons, one on the side of the handle and one in the grip. It's a little annoying and awkward, but I understand it's a safety feature as there are a fair number of sue happy people out there.
          The other annoying thing is the lip on the front catches on a lot of things, but that could be because I am 6' 2" and hold it more upright. Would be nice if it were adjustable.
          Other than that is a good little snow thrower. Read Less
          Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          Milwaukee M12 Black Heated Jacket: Redesigned for optimal fit and better heat retention, Milwaukee M12 Cordless Heated Jackets integrate (5) carbon fiber heating elements and advanced fabric-layering technology to distribute and maintain heat across core body areas. For added versatility, two distinct heat zones (back and chest, lower pockets) can be adjusted independently to provide the right amount of heat for any situation. A rugged wind and water resistant shell keeps weather out while improved insulation and a thermal fleece lining hold heat in to maximize warmth and reduce the number of layers needed. On and off the jobsite, Milwaukee M12 Heated Jackets provide up to 6 hours of continuous heat per battery charge to withstand even the harshest winter conditions. Utilizing the same M12 REDLITHIUM Battery technology that powers 60+ tools, the M12 Battery holder is stored in a sleek back pocket that can expand to fit M12 XC Batteries and all M18 Batteries with additional M18 USB Charger accessory. It also includes a fuel gauge to check your battery life and built-in USB port for charging portable electronic devices. All M12 Heated Jackets are washer and dryer safe. The kit includes the M12 Red lithium battery and charger.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Heated jackets are nice when its chilly
          PostedJanuary 8, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Overall this is a really nice jacket. The material feel high quality and the way it is put together looks and feels like it should hold up well.
          The fit of the jacket seems true to size. I am a good size guy, 6'2" and 260lbs (a little bit of belly) and I have gorilla like long arms. I usually have issues with long sleeve anything not have long enough sleeves, not with this jacket, it fits well and can move with freedom and the sleeves don't ride up my arms.
          The heat works well and there are separate zones, one for the pockets and one for the rest of the jacket. Both zones have 3 levels of heat and off of course. The control are on the upper left chest and are easy to control even with Read More
          Overall this is a really nice jacket. The material feel high quality and the way it is put together looks and feels like it should hold up well.
          The fit of the jacket seems true to size. I am a good size guy, 6'2" and 260lbs (a little bit of belly) and I have gorilla like long arms. I usually have issues with long sleeve anything not have long enough sleeves, not with this jacket, it fits well and can move with freedom and the sleeves don't ride up my arms.
          The heat works well and there are separate zones, one for the pockets and one for the rest of the jacket. Both zones have 3 levels of heat and off of course. The control are on the upper left chest and are easy to control even with gloves on. I usually just use the high setting and it heat really well. No need for seat heaters in he car. The battery doesn't last that long maybe 2 or 3 hours, but it's long enough that i can usually get 2 or 3 days between changes. The battery is located in a pocket on the back left which is nice and out of the way, I don't even realize it's there. Charging/changing the battery does require that I take off the jacket.
          If you have 12 volt Milwaukee tools this is a nice addition if you have to be out in the cold. If looking for a heated jacket I would choose one based on fit first and then the one that I have other compatible tools with. As I have a jacket from another mfg and it's very similar and the little pluses or minuses wouldn't make either one better than the other. The one bonus of this one is that is says that is it washable, some heated jackets say to only wipe does the surfaces of the jacket and not to wash or launder them. Not really sure how I like the idea of putting the jacket in a washing machine. I'll just try to keep it clean as it looks to nice to get it dirty. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          The Yamaha powered Smarter Tools AP-2000iQ is whisper quiet, lightweight and easy to use. Capable of powering sensitive electronics and loaded with features such as a fuel gauge, USB charging outlet, easy access oil fill door, LED indicator lights, self venting gas cap and smart throttle, the AP-2000iQ is the ideal outdoor power source. Additional features include USFS approved spark arrestor; fuel petcock, 12-Volt charging outlet and parallel capability which allow two units to be connected together for greater power output. It weighs a mere 47 compact lbs., making it easy to transport and easy to store. The AP-2000iQ’s Yamaha MZ80 Engine has the longest emission engine life ratings issued by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the California Air Resources Board (CARB).
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Quiet small Generator
          PostedJanuary 7, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of use 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I only took it out of the box and started it up to try it out. It's a little heavy but not to bad.
          Started right up after putting in the oil and some gas. With no load it's really quiet and just idles basically. I tried it with a couple of power tools to see how it was with a load. All the power tools I tried were way loader then the generator. I then tried it with a space heater and that put a decent load on it 1400 watts and the generator was still quiet. Easy to talk over even if you are standing right next to it. For camping, picnicking or something similar this it really nice to have. For a power outage its a little undersized, you can't run to much off of this unit without Read More
          I only took it out of the box and started it up to try it out. It's a little heavy but not to bad.
          Started right up after putting in the oil and some gas. With no load it's really quiet and just idles basically. I tried it with a couple of power tools to see how it was with a load. All the power tools I tried were way loader then the generator. I then tried it with a space heater and that put a decent load on it 1400 watts and the generator was still quiet. Easy to talk over even if you are standing right next to it. For camping, picnicking or something similar this it really nice to have. For a power outage its a little undersized, you can't run to much off of this unit without overloading. A fridge and maybe a some other small power draw item. But in a pinch it's better then nothing. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, easy to start, Quiet, doesn't use much gas
          Cons: smallish power output
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Video Borescope Inspection Camera with 9 mm camera diameter and 3.5 inch color TFT LCD Monitor is ideal for Home Inspection (Inspect in walls for mold, insect infestation, electrical wire or water pipe location); HVAC ( Inspect inside ducts, behind motors and compressors); Automotive (View inside or around engines and transmissions); Industrial (Inspect weld integrity, process equipment, gears, molding machines); Aerospace (Aircraft inspections for contamination, debris, cracks or other damage), and Government (Safety and security inspections) Applications. Glare-free close-up field of view. Detachable wireless color display can be viewed from a remote location up to 32 feet from measurement point. Complete with 4 x AA batteries, micro SD memory card with SD adapter, USB cable, extension tools (mirror, hook, magnet), video cable, AC Adapter (100-240V, 50/60Hz), magnetic base stand, and hard case.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice easy to use camera/scope
          PostedJanuary 6, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Overall this is a nice inspection camera/scope. If you are going to be using this on a regular basis one with a better display would be a better choice in my opinion. For the not so regular user this is a good one. It comes with everything you need and has a nice case to store it in. It's easy to use, no need to read the manual, but i had to take a peek at it to figure out how to delete stored images and videos.
          The Camera has a higher resolution (712 x 486) then the display (320 x 240). The recorded images and video look better on a higher resolution display (smartphone/computer/TV/etc).
          If you are using this frequently and storing it between uses, assembling and disassembling it will get Read More
          Overall this is a nice inspection camera/scope. If you are going to be using this on a regular basis one with a better display would be a better choice in my opinion. For the not so regular user this is a good one. It comes with everything you need and has a nice case to store it in. It's easy to use, no need to read the manual, but i had to take a peek at it to figure out how to delete stored images and videos.
          The Camera has a higher resolution (712 x 486) then the display (320 x 240). The recorded images and video look better on a higher resolution display (smartphone/computer/TV/etc).
          If you are using this frequently and storing it between uses, assembling and disassembling it will get annoying to fit it into the case. This is the only downside I see to the unit. The display is not optimal but it's decent and does a good job. Higher resolution would be nice, but that would drive up the price i would guess.
          The camera lets you adjust the brightness of the leds on it and generally I have it at the full brightness when using it. The viewing angle is 45° which is okay. The focus distance from object is 5.9" to 9.8" (15 to 25cm).
          It's handy that the display works when it's not attached to the camera. You will appreciate when you don't have to sneak you head into an area it barely fits or a place you would rather not be in. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Graco TrueCoat 360 DSP handheld airless sprayer is so advanced, it’s simple. Thanks to its disposable FlexLiner paint bag system, the TrueCoat 360 DSP can paint in any direction, even upside down. No other sprayer is this easy to use - just fill, squeeze, and spray and when you’re done, simply dispose or reuse the FlexLiner bag.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Sprays well like all TrueCoat airless sprayers
          PostedDecember 17, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This isn't my first handheld airless sprayer, it's my third. The pluses of this one is that it can spray at any angle and you can spray a little longer without having to refill the cup.
          The spraying at any angle is a benefit sometimes, but really not that often. I find that if I need to position the gun that way it's an awkward position and I am probably not getting the proper coverage. For me a better choice is a wand on the sprayer or a non-handheld sprayer is a better choice.
          The ability to get more paint out the cup and spray a little longer is nice it you can get everything done in one cup. Otherwise it's a real mess to try and reuse the collapsed cup or you have to use a new cup. Read More
          This isn't my first handheld airless sprayer, it's my third. The pluses of this one is that it can spray at any angle and you can spray a little longer without having to refill the cup.
          The spraying at any angle is a benefit sometimes, but really not that often. I find that if I need to position the gun that way it's an awkward position and I am probably not getting the proper coverage. For me a better choice is a wand on the sprayer or a non-handheld sprayer is a better choice.
          The ability to get more paint out the cup and spray a little longer is nice it you can get everything done in one cup. Otherwise it's a real mess to try and reuse the collapsed cup or you have to use a new cup. Plus there is still a decent amount of paint left in the cup too, not as much as the ones without the collapsible cup. The added plus on refilling this model as opposed to the ones without the collapsible cup is that you can just sit the gun upside down with the cup and on it and it doesn't make as big of a mess as the ones with the suction tube that drips paint.
          Priming the gun is about the same, you just have to squeeze the air out of the cup first. Just be careful to get all the air out and to not also squeeze the paint out the vent hole.
          Cleaning the gun after use is a little more annoying because of the cup, a rigid cup with a liner is a easier to deal will.
          Paint flow and coverage are good to excellent. There are two speeds setting depending on the paint and tip you are using and should cover most all situations. The variable speed on the higher end models is a better at fine tuning for a wider range of paints and stains, but I usually end up fiddling with it longer to see what works better as opposed to when there are only two choices.
          The tips on this gun look like they have been cheapened compared to the other models. I can't say that they with last any different than the other models, just that they look cheaper. They do seem to spray just as well.
          The sprayer also comes with two tips for different width coverage. It also comes with a few cups and a case. The case is not the highest quality case, but it's better than no case at all or having to buy one for it.
          So if you have a need to painting at odd angles it's a good choice, otherwise I would go for a different model. Read Less
          Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 26 >>
           
          Bill1974's Questions
           
          Series 100XL Temperature and Pressure Relief Valves are used in water heater and hot water storage tank applications to provide automatic temperature and pressure protection to hot water supply tanks and hot water heaters up to 105,000 BTU/hr. They feature a bronze body with NPT male inlet and NPT female outlet connections, unique thermostat with special thermo-bonded coating, and a test lever. Model 100XL-8 is also available with 8 in. (200mm) extension thermostat. Series 100XL is ASME rated and CSA listed. Temperature Relief: 210 F (99 C), Pressure Relief Range: 75 to 150psi (5.2 to 10.3 bar), Standard Pressure Settings: 75, 100, 125, or 150psi (5.27, 7.03, 8.79, or 10.55 bar).
           

          Can this be used in place of the Watts 100KL-4 M7 (0066100)? What is the difference between them?

          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          May 8, 2014
          Looking at Watts site I can tell is this is a replacement model or not?
           
          The AH2510B universal attic ladder is lightweight, yet carries a duty rating of 375 pounds. The strut design eliminates springs and allows for a wide access opening. Easy to open and close. Wide steps are slip resistant and the feet are non-marring. Available for standard or extra-wide openings.
           

          Where is this ladder manufactured?

          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          March 15, 2014
           
          Bill1974's Answers
           
          The Graco TrueCoat 360 DSP handheld airless sprayer is so advanced, it’s simple. Thanks to its disposable FlexLiner paint bag system, the TrueCoat 360 DSP can paint in any direction, even upside down. No other sprayer is this easy to use - just fill, squeeze, and spray and when you’re done, simply dispose or reuse the FlexLiner bag.
           

          would this be considered hvlp? for painting headboards kitchen cabinets, drawers...stuff that could be done in the garage without a lot of overspray.

          Asked by
          mjc57
          prescott valley, az
          January 22, 2015
          it doesn't state hvlp, but it looks sizewise that it might be.
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          January 23, 2015
          Answer: 
          This is not a HVLP, it is a high pressure airless. HVLP stand for High Volume Low Pressure.
          There is going to be overspray when you use this, so my recommendation is to cover anything that you don't want to get paint on.
          The amount of overspray is going the depend on what you are spraying and how much of it you are spraying.
          It should work well for painting the items you listed
           
          More than just a ceiling fan light kit, the Hampton Bay Audio Light Kit with Bluetooth Technology adds a new element of functionality to your ceiling fan. This audio light kit connects with any device with Bluetooth connectivity to wirelessly stream audio. The volume and audio are controlled by your device, so you can crank the tunes or have some low key mood music in the background to add ambiance to your next dinner party. The light kit is indoor/outdoor rated and can be installed in damp locations like a porch or patio. The universal design allows this light kit to be installed on a variety of fan styles.
           

          Can you use two of these togther?

          Asked by
          Dave
          Cape Canaveral, Florida
          January 14, 2015
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          January 14, 2015
          Answer: 
          I am guessing you mean, stream audio to more than one fixture at the same time. I would think this would depend on the device you are streaming it from. If the source device can pair with more than one bluetooth receiver that it should work fine. But i think most devices only will pair with one audio device at a time and there are a few that connect to two.
           
          Video Borescope Inspection Camera with 9 mm camera diameter and 3.5 inch color TFT LCD Monitor is ideal for Home Inspection (Inspect in walls for mold, insect infestation, electrical wire or water pipe location); HVAC ( Inspect inside ducts, behind motors and compressors); Automotive (View inside or around engines and transmissions); Industrial (Inspect weld integrity, process equipment, gears, molding machines); Aerospace (Aircraft inspections for contamination, debris, cracks or other damage), and Government (Safety and security inspections) Applications. Glare-free close-up field of view. Detachable wireless color display can be viewed from a remote location up to 32 feet from measurement point. Complete with 4 x AA batteries, micro SD memory card with SD adapter, USB cable, extension tools (mirror, hook, magnet), video cable, AC Adapter (100-240V, 50/60Hz), magnetic base stand, and hard case.
           

          Is the hose suitable for running up a wall space, is it semi rigid? Can an 8' semi rigid hose be purchased for this unit?

          Asked by
          Kevin
          Louisville KY
          September 18, 2014
          Device is the extec 250 borescope and inspection camera
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          January 6, 2015
          Answer: 
          I don't think it would stick out straight but vertical should be okay
          here is a list of accessories, the part numbers are Extech numbers
          BR250..................Flexible Video Borescope (9mm diameter/1m cable)
          BRD10 .................Wireless USB Video Receiver
          BR200-EXT ..........Borescope Extension Cable for BR250 (19mm diameter/0.9m cable)
          BR-4CAM.............4.5mm Borescope Camera Head with 1m
          Read More
          I don't think it would stick out straight but vertical should be okay
          here is a list of accessories, the part numbers are Extech numbers
          BR250..................Flexible Video Borescope (9mm diameter/1m cable)
          BRD10 .................Wireless USB Video Receiver
          BR200-EXT ..........Borescope Extension Cable for BR250 (19mm diameter/0.9m cable)
          BR-4CAM.............4.5mm Borescope Camera Head with 1m Cable
          BR-5CAM.............5.8mm Borescope Camera Head with 1m Cable
          BR-9CAM.............Replacement 9mm Borescope Camera Head with 1m Cable
          BR-9CAM-2M ......Replacement 9mm Borescope Camera Head with 2m Cable
          BR-9CAM-5M ......Replacement 9mm Borescope Camera Head with 5m Cable
          BR-17CAM...........Replacement 17mm Borescope Camera Head with 1m Cable
          BR-17CAM-2M ....Replacement 17mm Borescope Camera Head with 2m Cable
          BR-17CAM-5M ....Replacement 17mm Borescope Camera Head with 5m Cable
          UA100-BR............Universal AC Adaptor (100-240Vm 50/60Hz) for BR200 and BR250
          Read Less
           
          Video Borescope Inspection Camera with 9 mm camera diameter and 3.5 inch color TFT LCD Monitor is ideal for Home Inspection (Inspect in walls for mold, insect infestation, electrical wire or water pipe location); HVAC ( Inspect inside ducts, behind motors and compressors); Automotive (View inside or around engines and transmissions); Industrial (Inspect weld integrity, process equipment, gears, molding machines); Aerospace (Aircraft inspections for contamination, debris, cracks or other damage), and Government (Safety and security inspections) Applications. Glare-free close-up field of view. Detachable wireless color display can be viewed from a remote location up to 32 feet from measurement point. Complete with 4 x AA batteries, micro SD memory card with SD adapter, USB cable, extension tools (mirror, hook, magnet), video cable, AC Adapter (100-240V, 50/60Hz), magnetic base stand, and hard case.
           

          Larger microSD memory card?

          Asked by
          Steve
          Wellsville, NY
          October 22, 2014
          Anyone know if the Included 2GB microSD memory card can be swapped out for a larger 16GB microSD memory card? Will the unit recognize the higher capacity card?
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          January 6, 2015
          Answer: 
          2 GB is included and it will store more than you will need, but I think it will work with 32 or 64 GD cards
           
          More than just a ceiling fan light kit, the Hampton Bay Audio Light Kit with Bluetooth Technology adds a new element of functionality to your ceiling fan. This audio light kit connects with any device with Bluetooth connectivity to wirelessly stream audio. The volume and audio are controlled by your device, so you can crank the tunes or have some low key mood music in the background to add ambiance to your next dinner party. The light kit is indoor/outdoor rated and can be installed in damp locations like a porch or patio. The universal design allows this light kit to be installed on a variety of fan styles.
           

          Installation

          Asked by
          2fansblades
          Tennessee
          December 31, 2014
          My current fan does not have a center plug and plate screws in from the bottom not the side. Can this kit be adapted to this fan?
          Asked by
          Bill1974
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          January 2, 2015
          Answer: 
          it comes with a bracket to use it as a ceiling fixture. Of all the fans that I have worked on they all have the center threaded tube that you adapt to. or you could drill a hole in the bottom cover on your existing fan and attach the threaded rod to it.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 28 >>