Billtheengineer
  • Review count
    352
  • Helpfulness votes
    518
  • Average rating
    4.2
    4.2 out of 5
  • First Review:
    October 19, 2009
  • Last Review:
    September 18, 2017
 
  • Question count
    15
     
    • Answer count
      789
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        352
      • Helpfulness votes
        518
      • Average rating
        4.2
        4.2 out of 5
      • First Review:
        October 19, 2009
      • Last Review:
        September 18, 2017
       
      • Question count
        15
         
        • Answer count
          789
           
           
           
           
          Billtheengineer's Reviews
           
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          I rated this as average because what you are planning to use this for it might be fine or it migh...
          PostedSeptember 18, 2017
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          I rated this as average because what you are planning to use this for it might be fine or it might not meet your needs. I have a gas power pressure washer and comparing that to this. The gas one can reach a 3100 pis and 2.9 gallons for comparison, but its also 3 or more times the cost.
          This pressure washer does require a little bit of assembly, but it takes all of 5 minutes to do. Attach the hand and couple of brackets, and assembly the wand and plug in the hose.
          This is lightweight and easy to more around, that is a nice plus compared the gas powered one. Everything on the outside except a could of handle parts is plastic which if fine, no rust. I don't know what the inner working Read More
          I rated this as average because what you are planning to use this for it might be fine or it might not meet your needs. I have a gas power pressure washer and comparing that to this. The gas one can reach a 3100 pis and 2.9 gallons for comparison, but its also 3 or more times the cost.
          This pressure washer does require a little bit of assembly, but it takes all of 5 minutes to do. Attach the hand and couple of brackets, and assembly the wand and plug in the hose.
          This is lightweight and easy to more around, that is a nice plus compared the gas powered one. Everything on the outside except a could of handle parts is plastic which if fine, no rust. I don't know what the inner working look like or how good or bad they look to be.
          It plugs into a standard 120 outlet and has a GFCI plug so you should be safe for getting shocked. Surprised it's only a 2 prong plug I would have though it would have a ground, but that would mean the pressure washer is a double insulated which is a good thing.
          As for how it works now. It does not have have anywhere the cleaning power that the gas one has and for bigger/tougher jobs I don't think it would get the job done or done is a reasonable time. But you may not need that level of power. I used this to wash my car and tractor and it worked great for that. It was quick to hook up and get to work. The power needed to clean a car and tractor (or any out door power equipment) was fine. Using the gas powered is more work to put gas in it and get it running and the put it away properly so it not a challenge to start it up the next time. Easy and convenience of of use the electric is the way to go. If I were to pressure wash a fence I would go gas just because I have a good amount of fence (400+ feet), and the electric would just be slow and having a cord would add to the annoyance.
          Another added bonus to the this one is that it is quiet and if you into washing your car and don't want to wake the neighbors, you can use this one.
          The hose on it is a tad on the short side, but it does have a good length electric cord on it. The hose and cord are easy to wind up and store on the unit too. The wand allows you adjust the spray pattern easily from a point to fan pattern.
          Most parts on this unit are plastic so, you will need to take care and be more gentile that the mostly all metal gas powered pressure washer. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Lots of Features, Nice Design
          Cons: feels more like a toy than a gas powered one
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          Update any room with this TV stand for TVs up 55 in. or 45 lbs. Open shelves hold gaming consoles, cable boxes and media components and features X mullions on two glass-front doors offering adjustable shelves for customized storage of media equipment and accessories. The integrated CMS Cable Management System routes and hides unsightly cables and wires for a clean look. All hardware is included and it assembles easily for simple set-up and quick enjoyment. Tipping restraint hardware included to help prevent accidents and damage to the TV stand. A touch-up pen is included to keep your TV stand looking fresh and new.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This tv console does look nice and looks like aged wood. But it is a film over particle board, n...
          PostedSeptember 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          This tv console does look nice and looks like aged wood. But it is a film over particle board, not solid wood. Assembly takes a bit of time, for me it was about an hour and a half and this was without rushing and not my first foray in assembling furniture. This did seem to have a lot more hardware then other furniture I have assembled. I did use a drill to drive a lot of the screw.
          The instructions are good and clear, but have one error. When installing the hinges install them opposite of the way the picture shows. The barrel of the hinge should overlap the door not the cabinet. This also make aligning the doors easier.
          Even with all the screws, it does not seem as sturdy as it should Read More
          This tv console does look nice and looks like aged wood. But it is a film over particle board, not solid wood. Assembly takes a bit of time, for me it was about an hour and a half and this was without rushing and not my first foray in assembling furniture. This did seem to have a lot more hardware then other furniture I have assembled. I did use a drill to drive a lot of the screw.
          The instructions are good and clear, but have one error. When installing the hinges install them opposite of the way the picture shows. The barrel of the hinge should overlap the door not the cabinet. This also make aligning the doors easier.
          Even with all the screws, it does not seem as sturdy as it should be. It is not wobbly, but it's not super rigid, there really isn't anything to stop racking other them the thin back made of 4 pieces. One piece and a bit thicker would have helped.
          A nice touch is the inclusion of a marker to touch up scratches and nicks. I only had one small scratch on a shelf. I read other reviews and they said there did not match, but mine did. Not sure how it would look on a large scratch, but on my small one it's tough to find. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Looks Great, Nice Design, Stylish
          Cons: not as rigid as i would expect
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Flowing lines and a high-arcing profile give the Ladylux3 Pro single-handle pull-down spray head kitchen faucet singular presence in any contemporary kitchen. The 16 9/16-in.-tall faucet boasts an 8-9/16-in. swivel spout reach and a pull-down sprayhead with locking spray control and a push button that allows users to transition between two spray modes—regular flow and spray—with ease. GROHE SpeedClean protects the spray nozzles against limescale buildup. Water temperature and volume are controlled with effortless precision via a side-mounted lever handle equipped with a GROHE SilkMove for a lifetime of smooth operation cartridge. To turn the faucet on, the lever handle rotates forward, thus avoiding problems with backsplash clearance. Ladylux3 Pro has a flow rate of 1.75 gpm and comes in GROHE RealSteel Stainless Steel, which features a solid Grade 304 stainless steel construction.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          For the most part this is a really nice made faucet. it is solid and heavy, should last a lifeti...
          PostedSeptember 8, 2017
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          For the most part this is a really nice made faucet. it is solid and heavy, should last a lifetime. It is made in Mexico. Most of the faucet it made from brass and has a brushed stainless steel finish. The handle is solid and moves smoothly and easily. The cover by the handle that turns when you change the temperature feel cheap compare to the rest of the faucet. That is a bit of a downer since it is a piece that you touch quite often. The pull out nozzle is niece and sleek looking but you need to snap it in and out when you want to pull it out. Plus it only fits in in one orientation. It also does not feel as solid and substantial as the rest of the faucet.
          Install is easy, probably Read More
          For the most part this is a really nice made faucet. it is solid and heavy, should last a lifetime. It is made in Mexico. Most of the faucet it made from brass and has a brushed stainless steel finish. The handle is solid and moves smoothly and easily. The cover by the handle that turns when you change the temperature feel cheap compare to the rest of the faucet. That is a bit of a downer since it is a piece that you touch quite often. The pull out nozzle is niece and sleek looking but you need to snap it in and out when you want to pull it out. Plus it only fits in in one orientation. It also does not feel as solid and substantial as the rest of the faucet.
          Install is easy, probably easier than most faucets. Connecting all the line is easy. Installing the retainer on the underside is awkward at best. Depending on access it might be a two person job, unless you have really long arms and double or triple jointed. In my case I have access from behind my sink so it's easy, but i cannot do it by myself from the front. Might be possible with a shallow sink.
          For the price if this I would have expected a more uniform finish on all the parts and would have expected more substantial feeling parts for the cover and pull out nozzle. It does function really well and fell well made. It also has a lifetime warranty so if something does break or leak Grohe will probably send you parts for free. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Stylish
          Cons: not all parts have the same finish, some cheap feeling parts
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          unbranded 3lb.Turf Builder Grass Seed Northeast Mix
          unbranded 3lb.Turf Builder Grass Seed Northeast Mix
          Grow quicker, thicker, greener grass - Guaranteed with Turf Builder Grass Seed Northeast Mix. Now with Watersmart Plus Coating Technology. Absorbs twice the water as uncoated seed, feeds with essential nutrients, and fungicide to protect new seedlings against harmful diseases.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Tough to say how well this seed works, its something that takes a fair amount of time. The seeds...
          PostedSeptember 5, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Tough to say how well this seed works, its something that takes a fair amount of time. The seeds looks like all seed, no filler material. Looks to made up of a few varieties (not sure what they are, but would guess a blend of cool season grasses). I used on same thin spots after scratching up the soil and them I watered it in. Best to keep it wet and in contact with the soil to get the best results.
          Pros: Easy to Install
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Pennsylvania State Mix is specially formulated for Pennsylvania lawns. This mix stays green even in extreme sun or shade areas and it grows in thick to crowd out dandelions and crabgrass. Each seed is wrapped in a unique WaterSmart PLUS Coating that absorbs 2X more water than uncoated seed, feeds with essential nutrients and protects seedling from disease. Grow Quicker, Thicker, Greener Grass. Guaranteed.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Tough to say how good this package of seed it, but I have had good luck with their seed in the pa...
          PostedSeptember 1, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Tough to say how good this package of seed it, but I have had good luck with their seed in the past. I am not a grass expert by any means. To really tell how well it does I would need a year or two to see how it is after that. Looking at the seeds it all looks uniform and doesn't have any extra non-seeds stuff in it. It is coated so it stay moist longer and should less diligence in keeping it damp. I am in NY and using a Pennsylvania blend, I am pretty sure its no an issue. Some of the seed looks to start sprouting in about a week. I used this to fill in bare spots and to overseed after thatching and aerating.
          Pros: Easy to Install, sprouts quickly
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 71 >>
           
          Billtheengineer's Questions
           
          Shelterguard’s tough steel construction combines performance and value to provide a durable roof and siding solution for sheds, barns and agricultural buildings. Create a high-performing system using complementary Shelterguard trim, screws, closure strip and sealant. Stiffening ribs and grade 80 steel add rigidity and durability.
           

          how to stop cut edges from rusting

          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          April 22, 2017
          is there a recommended method to stop cut edges from rusting?
           
          Quality and performance make Razor-Back tools the choice of both professionals and general consumers. If your next project involves installing a fence, post, mailbox, or basketball hoop, make sure you use the right tool for the job. This Post Hole Digger is perfect for digging those necessary holes and footings and will help you do so without bending over or straining your back.
           

          Where is this made?

          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          February 22, 2017
          Where is this made?
           
          For high-quality, long-lasting repairs choose Bondo Wood Filler. Bondo Wood Filler rebuilds, restores and replaces rotted or damaged sections of wood on doors, windows, fences, furniture, shutters and more. Medium brown in color when mixed, Bondo Wood Filler is stainable and paintable, making it perfect for almost any wood surface inside or outside of the home. Because it is a 2-part wood filler, Bondo Wood Filler will not shrink and cures fast. The filler can be easily sanded by hand or power tool in only 15 minutes and shaped, planed, drilled, routed or sawed just like wood. This non-shrinking, permanent filler can be stained or painted in only 25 minutes, meaning your repair is complete the same day you started. Not only can you fill in small damage, but the strength of this 2-part wood filler allows you to rebuild rotted or missing pieces of wood and complete repairs in less than 30 minutes.
           

          Can this be colored or tinted?

          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          October 31, 2016
          Can this be colored or tinted?
           
          Our filter is 100% recyclable and is produced with a new technology that carbonizes dried coconut shells in an enclosed self-sustaining system. We offer a low cost alternative. We have a complete line of filters that are compatible with most major brands of refrigerators. We are WQA gold seal certified.
           

          Where are these filters made?

          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 22, 2016
          Where are these filters made?
           
          The Husky 7-Piece Nut Driver Set is designed for use with metric-sized hex fasteners and includes 5 mm, 6 mm, 7 mm, 8 mm, 9 mm, 10 mm and 11 mm nut drivers. Tough acetate handles offer strength, durability and resistance to chemicals and solvents. A storage rack is included for easy storage. The handles are color coded for fast size identification. The shafts are nickel-chrome plated for max corrosion resistance.
           

          where are these made?

          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          August 1, 2016
          where are these made?
           
          Billtheengineer's Answers
           
          Fashioned after vintage inspired lighting Globe Electric’s Jackson 1-Light Vintage Edison Hanging Pendant adds a rustic industrial feel to any room. Hanging from a fully adjustable cord you can customize this fixture to your desired look and lighting needs. Fully compatible with dimmable LED bulbs and dimmer switch the clear glass shade and exposed bulb easily creates lighting ambiance and different moods. Place all three together for a full three light look or place them separately to create a unified look to your space. Ideal for use in kitchens, restaurants, bars, and dining rooms. Includes all mounting hardware for quick and easy installation and requires three 60W max E26 Edison bulbs (sold separately).
           

          Can they be retrofit to replace can lights ?

          Asked by
          Alan
          September 15, 2017
          Can they be retrofit to replace can lights ?
          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 15, 2017
          Answer: 
          There are kits to change can lights to accept these. You will most likely see a trim ring between the trim pice on these and the recessed fixture.
           
          This 12,000-Watt electric start generator is engineered with a heavy duty 459cc 16-HP OHV air cooled engine that detects low oil level and automatically shuts engine down to prevent potential damage. It delivers 9,000 running Watt (12,000 surge/starting) and features a large 7 Gal. fuel tank that provides a full efficient 8.5 hours runtime at 50% load. Feature a high performance alternator that produces over 25% more surge wattage to start motor-driven appliances. It also carries an easy reach control panel with weather resistant covered outlets and a digital hour meter, monitoring run time and tracking.
           

          What kind of power cord do I need to run power to my house?

          Asked by
          DBrown
          September 6, 2017
          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 11, 2017
          Answer: 
          it has standard outlets and it has a L14-30R and 14-50R outlet to work with powering you home. you will need the appropriate inlet to you home for this to work.
           
          This 12,000-Watt electric start generator is engineered with a heavy duty 459cc 16-HP OHV air cooled engine that detects low oil level and automatically shuts engine down to prevent potential damage. It delivers 9,000 running Watt (12,000 surge/starting) and features a large 7 Gal. fuel tank that provides a full efficient 8.5 hours runtime at 50% load. Feature a high performance alternator that produces over 25% more surge wattage to start motor-driven appliances. It also carries an easy reach control panel with weather resistant covered outlets and a digital hour meter, monitoring run time and tracking.
           

          I don't see any wires. Are they purchased separately? If so, what kind?

          Asked by
          Timetogrowup
          September 8, 2017
          I don't see any wires. Are they purchased separately? If so, what kind?
          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 11, 2017
          Answer: 
          you have to supply the cord for go from the generator to whatever you care connecting it to
           
          This 12,000-Watt electric start generator is engineered with a heavy duty 459cc 16-HP OHV air cooled engine that detects low oil level and automatically shuts engine down to prevent potential damage. It delivers 9,000 running Watt (12,000 surge/starting) and features a large 7 Gal. fuel tank that provides a full efficient 8.5 hours runtime at 50% load. Feature a high performance alternator that produces over 25% more surge wattage to start motor-driven appliances. It also carries an easy reach control panel with weather resistant covered outlets and a digital hour meter, monitoring run time and tracking.
           

          What cord set is required for the 50amp plug and what about the 50amp receptacle need at the hous...

          Asked by
          James
          September 11, 2017
          What cord set is required for the 50amp plug and what about the 50amp receptacle need at the house for back feeding the electric panels.
          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 11, 2017
          Answer: 
          the outlet on the generator is a 14-50R, FYI it will only output 38 amps, even though it is a 50 amp outlet
           
          This 12,000-Watt electric start generator is engineered with a heavy duty 459cc 16-HP OHV air cooled engine that detects low oil level and automatically shuts engine down to prevent potential damage. It delivers 9,000 running Watt (12,000 surge/starting) and features a large 7 Gal. fuel tank that provides a full efficient 8.5 hours runtime at 50% load. Feature a high performance alternator that produces over 25% more surge wattage to start motor-driven appliances. It also carries an easy reach control panel with weather resistant covered outlets and a digital hour meter, monitoring run time and tracking.
           

          My house is wired for a generator. the plug at the house is 120/240 30 amp. Can I use this gen...

          Asked by
          Jim
          September 11, 2017
          My house is wired for a generator.
          the plug at the house is 120/240 30 amp. Can I use this generator??
          Asked by
          Billtheengineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 11, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes, you just need to buy or make the appropriate cord to go from the generator to your house.
          The generator has a L14-50R and a 14-50R receptacle. Either should work for you.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 158 >>