BilltheEngineer
  • Review count
    268
  • Helpfulness votes
    413
  • Average rating
    4.2
    4.2 out of 5
  • First Review:
    October 19, 2009
  • Last Review:
    October 5, 2016
 
  • Question count
    13
     
    • Answer count
      543
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        268
      • Helpfulness votes
        413
      • Average rating
        4.2
        4.2 out of 5
      • First Review:
        October 19, 2009
      • Last Review:
        October 5, 2016
       
      • Question count
        13
         
        • Answer count
          543
           
           
           
           
          BilltheEngineer's Reviews
           
          Don't be fooled by this simple looking Loft 4-light pendant. Sometimes simple is more difficult to manufacture than an extravagant chandelier. The Aged Bronze finish highlights the quality of the frame and the precision of the construction. The early electric bulbs make this the ideal restoration inspired pendant.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice quality and looks great
          PostedOctober 5, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Overall very nice construction. The downside is this makes installation a little tougher as it is not a really light fixture. Make sure the box in the ceiling is well secured. It is solid construction and well made.
          There are some nice touch. The bulb fixtures are solid and well made. The cord each bulb hangs from is a nice quality as well. The bulbs hang straight down and there are no bends in the wires. The chain is supplied with two links that are link a threaded carabiner. This does make attaching the chain easy. All you need to do is bend one link to make the chain the length you need. There is no need to bend it back once installed.
          The bulbs supplied look nice but they do put Read More
          Overall very nice construction. The downside is this makes installation a little tougher as it is not a really light fixture. Make sure the box in the ceiling is well secured. It is solid construction and well made.
          There are some nice touch. The bulb fixtures are solid and well made. The cord each bulb hangs from is a nice quality as well. The bulbs hang straight down and there are no bends in the wires. The chain is supplied with two links that are link a threaded carabiner. This does make attaching the chain easy. All you need to do is bend one link to make the chain the length you need. There is no need to bend it back once installed.
          The bulbs supplied look nice but they do put of a yellow toned light. I know it the look but I will try to replace them with LED's that have the filament look but are whiter and put off more light. The other option is to add some high hats to get more light. while still maintaining the look of the fixture.
          The only downside was the install. There is an error in the manual on page 6 in step 5. The ring (DD) that secure cover (FF) does not fit over threaded carabiner link. You either need to either keep the cover and ring above the threaded carabiner link when hanging the fixture or need to snake the cover and ring over and around the threaded carabiner link. Not a big deal but helpful to know when your arm are getting tired. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design, Stylish, Unique, Well Made
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Beautifully crafted in Germany, this set of four oversized white wine stems offers outstanding value and complements any occasion or table setting. Each glass holds up to 19.4 oz. and is the perfect shape and size for white wines and other beverages. The set comes packaged in a stylish, colorful box that makes it well suited for gift giving.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice wine glasses
          PostedOctober 5, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Nice look and nice feel. Made in Germany not China or some other other area where quality it questionable. None of the glasses have and flaws. They have a nice ring to them. They are delicate and light, so hand washing is probably called for. The mouth of the glass is of a nice size to make it easy to drink out of and get all it's contents out with looking like you are pouring it into you mouth.
          The glasses are not bubble or paper wrapped in the box so if you wrap this and ship it you make need some extra packing. It did arrive at my door without any damage but it was in a larger box that had the foam peanuts and air pillows.
          Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design, Stylish
          -1point
          0out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          HDX Mixed Fruit All Purpose Cleaner is a multipurpose cleaner that is great for a wide variety of general-purpose cleaning jobs. It cleans while also removing stains. Also includes a long-lasting mixed fruit fragrance that will leave your home smelling like a fresh orchard.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Works well, Nice Smell and Made in the USA
          PostedOctober 4, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Works well for cleaning most dirty things. Just an FYI, this does not disinfect surfaces. And watch where you leave it if you have kids since it look like juice and has a fruity scent and pictures of fruit on it.
          But it does work well. I used it full strength and diluted. For most surfaces full strength is not needed unless the surface is really greasy or oily. I used it diluted to clean laminate and tile floors and it did a good job. Doesn't seem to leak any residue that will attach more dirt. I also used it to clean some marks off of a painted wall and it didn't remove any of the latex paint.
          Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Looks Great, Lots of Features, should last a long time, diluting it will make a lot of cleaner, nice scent
          Cons: kids may mistake bottle and think its juice
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          HDX Microfiber Towels grab and absorb dirt, film and grease unlike standard microfiber. These HDX Towels are made using a process that splits the end of each fiber into many even smaller fibers. The process creates a towel with millions of fibers that grip and grab the surface you are cleaning. Run your fingers across the towel and you can actually feel it.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Very soft and absorbant
          PostedOctober 3, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          These are very soft so they should scratch pretty much anything. I used two of them and they don't leave any lint behind either. The work well for cleaning lots of stuff that isn't really dirty or that needs a dusting. I used them as a dust rag and to do the final cleaning of windows after I washed off most of the dirt. No streaks and left the windows very dry.
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Sturdy
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Bazaar Modern Lines Area Rug features a simple, geometric design that will add style to any room. The textured, cut-pile construction will provide you with a casual comfort. Available in multiple sizes to meet all your needs.
           
          from Hauppauge, NY, USA
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice quality rug and looks really nice too
          PostedOctober 3, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I chose this rug based on the picture online. I liked the design and hoped I would like how it would look in person when I got it. Well it was delivered and and it's a bit heavy, but I took that as a sign of quality and that it would lay flat hopefully. Once I got the old rug out of the way, I got to rolling this one out. It rolled out and was pretty flat just minutes after rolling it out. The corners were a little raise but that is to be expected. After vacuuming it and letting it sit for two days its flat so no tripping on the corners.
          I was happy to see that also most nothing came up when I vacuumed it. The previous rug was slowly wearing away every time it was vacuumed. So I expect Read More
          I chose this rug based on the picture online. I liked the design and hoped I would like how it would look in person when I got it. Well it was delivered and and it's a bit heavy, but I took that as a sign of quality and that it would lay flat hopefully. Once I got the old rug out of the way, I got to rolling this one out. It rolled out and was pretty flat just minutes after rolling it out. The corners were a little raise but that is to be expected. After vacuuming it and letting it sit for two days its flat so no tripping on the corners.
          I was happy to see that also most nothing came up when I vacuumed it. The previous rug was slowly wearing away every time it was vacuumed. So I expect this one to last a good long time.
          It is not really plush but but the pile does make is soft. The pile does not stand up, it it soft and falls over. It's not a shag carpet but not far from being that . Is it on the light in color side so I hope it does not show to much dirt and if it does i hope it's easy to clean. On the plus side it is the same color as my cat so that should disguise when shedding season shows up in the spring. Read Less
          Pros: Comfortable, Easy to Install, Great Accent, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 54 >>
           
          BilltheEngineer's Questions
           
          For high-quality, long-lasting repairs choose Bondo Wood Filler. Bondo Wood Filler rebuilds, restores and replaces rotted or damaged sections of wood on doors, windows, fences, furniture, shutters and more. Medium brown in color when mixed, Bondo Wood Filler is stainable and paintable, making it perfect for almost any wood surface inside or outside of the home. Because it is a 2-part wood filler, Bondo Wood Filler will not shrink and cures fast. The filler can be easily sanded by hand or power tool in only 15 minutes and shaped, planed, drilled, routed or sawed just like wood. This non-shrinking, permanent filler can be stained or painted in only 25 minutes, meaning your repair is complete the same day you started. Not only can you fill in small damage, but the strength of this 2-part wood filler allows you to rebuild rotted or missing pieces of wood and complete repairs in less than 30 minutes.
           

          Can this be colored or tinted?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          October 31, 2016
          Can this be colored or tinted?
           
          Our filter is 100% recyclable and is produced with a new technology that carbonizes dried coconut shells in an enclosed self-sustaining system. We offer a low cost alternative. We have a complete line of filters that are compatible with most major brands of refrigerators. We are WQA gold seal certified.
           

          Where are these filters made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          September 22, 2016
          Where are these filters made?
           
          The Husky 7-Piece Nut Driver Set is designed for use with metric-sized hex fasteners and includes 5 mm, 6 mm, 7 mm, 8 mm, 9 mm, 10 mm and 11 mm nut drivers. Tough acetate handles offer strength, durability and resistance to chemicals and solvents. A storage rack is included for easy storage. The handles are color coded for fast size identification. The shafts are nickel-chrome plated for max corrosion resistance.
           

          where are these made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          August 1, 2016
          where are these made?
           
          The Husky 7-Piece Nut Driver Set (SAE) includes 3/16 in., 1/4 in., 5/16 in., 11/32 in., 3/8 in., 7/16 in. and 1/2 in. nut drivers. Tough acetate handles offer strength, durability and resistance to chemicals and solvents. A storage rack is included for easy storage. The handles are color coded for fast size identification. The shafts are nickel-chrome plated for max corrosion resistance.
           

          where are these made?

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          August 1, 2016
          where are these made?
           
          Palram’s white Palruf panels are the perfect solution to cover patios and decks. They also offer a great, economical solution for use as a drip stop under an overhead deck. The corrugations offer strength and a natural channel for water drainage. Economically priced Palruf corrugated roofing panels are stronger than traditional fiberglass panels and their plastic, fiberglass free composition means they maintain their color and surface condition much better as well. White color helps reduce heat gain, offers protective shade, and protection from inclement weather allowing you to enjoy your outdoor space more often.
           

          light transmission

          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          May 28, 2016
          does light pass through the white panels?
           
          BilltheEngineer's Answers
           
          The New Defiant LED switch light chases away night time darkness. This LED switch light provides seamless light coverage. Never change a bulb with this new LED technology. 3 easy steps to connect is DIY friendly and allow quick safe installation.
           

          How far does it illuminate?

          Asked by
          MikeD
          Monroe Twp, NJ
          October 5, 2016
          I am eying up this model to mount next to the second floor windows to illuminate the back yard. Is this light powerful enough to illuminate 40-50 feet into the yard?
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          October 5, 2016
          Answer: 
          it should work well
           
          This vintage 1 light hanging pendant adds a vintage industrial feel to any room - fashioned after factory and barn lighting. This pendant hangs from a 65 in. adjustable cord, allowing you to customize the fixture to your desired look and lighting needs.
           

          Can the length of the cord be adjusted and can the set be separated

          Asked by
          RichintheNJhub
          Northern NJ
          October 2, 2016
          Is the height and length of the cord adjustable as needed or are the fixed once installed? Secondly, can the set be separated to use in 3 separate locations, or do the need to be together? Thank you in advance.
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          October 5, 2016
          Answer: 
          you can adjust the length of the cord when you install it, but once installed it stays that length. they do not go up and down like shades or blinds.
           
          The RIDGID 1/4 in. AC Collated Screw Gun features a powerful motor that provides 3,700 RPM for sinking screws up to 3 in. With free registration, this tool is covered for life. Free Parts, free Service, for Life. Includes: R6791 Collated Screwdriver with Drywall Nosepiece, Wood nosepiece, Phillips Bit, Square Bit, Hex Key, Nose pads (2), Contractor Bag and Operator s Manual.
           

          CAN YOU SCREW 2X4 TOGETHER WITH THIS GUN

          Asked by
          TERRY
          ACWORTH,GA
          October 3, 2016
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          October 5, 2016
          Answer: 
          yes, it can be used with drywall screws and deck screws.
           
          Your smart device doubles as a remote control to activate your sprinklers or adjust your schedule from anywhere. With just a few user inputs, the Orbit Wi-Fi sprinkler timer will automatically adjust watering for you each month based on what your landscape needs, saving you water and money. If Wi-Fi connectivity is lost, your sprinkler timer will continue to water the stored schedule, or you can make changes right at the timer. Orbit's Wi-Fi timer provides complete control at the timer with its revolutionary dial and large LCD display. Using familiar east-to-set technology, changing your timer programming is a breeze, even without the Wi-Fi.
           

          Orbit Unit causes the Ground-Fault Terminator to trip.

          Asked by
          Roger
          Savannah, GA
          October 3, 2016
          One year old home. Two weeks after installing the Orbit WiFi unit the GFT tripped on my exterior electrical outlet that supplied only the Orbit box. I re-set and it held for one month then tripped again.
          Why would it hold for 30 days then trip? Install appears correct. Unit works fine.
          I do use a 6-foot extension cord. The connection is water proof. I don't image the Orbit draws that much current.
          Anyone have any suggestions?
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          October 5, 2016
          Answer: 
          Some GFCI outlets are more sensitive than other. It might also be the GFCI is faulty.
          Try plugging in other devices into the GFCI and see if it trips with them. If it does replace the GFCI.
          Could also be a fault in the Orbit power supply.
           
          This 12,000-Watt electric start generator is engineered with a heavy duty 459cc 16-HP OHV air cooled engine that detects low oil level and automatically shuts engine down to prevent potential damage. It delivers 9,000 running Watt (12,000 surge/starting) and features a large 7 Gal. fuel tank that provides a full efficient 8.5 hours runtime at 50% load. Feature a high performance alternator that produces over 25% more surge wattage to start motor-driven appliances. It also carries an easy reach control panel with weather resistant covered outlets and a digital hour meter, monitoring run time and tracking.
           

          Does this generator have the proper outlet to hook up to my home 125/250V 30 A inlet?

          Asked by
          norm426
          Little Compton, Rhode Island
          October 4, 2016
          I have had my home wire to accept a direct line from a portable generator. Does this 12000 Watt generator have the proper outlet to hook up to my home 125/250V 30 A inlet with one cord from the generator outlet to the home inlet?
          User submitted photo
          Asked by
          BilltheEngineer
          Hauppauge, NY, USA
          October 5, 2016
          Answer: 
          There is an L5-30R outlet on the generator which is the correct size for your outlet.
          There is also a 14-50R outlet if you want to be able to use the full power of the generator, I believe it's capable outputting 38 amps at 240 VAC.
          The L5-30R is only capable of 30 amps
          There are also 4 standard 120 vac outlets
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 109 >>