jakeparlay
  • Review count
    148
  • Helpfulness votes
    168
  • Average rating
    4.3
    4.3 out of 5
  • First Review:
    March 7, 2010
  • Last Review:
    June 5, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      18
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        148
      • Helpfulness votes
        168
      • Average rating
        4.3
        4.3 out of 5
      • First Review:
        March 7, 2010
      • Last Review:
        June 5, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          18
           
           
           
           
          jakeparlay's Reviews
           
          The Dyna-Glo DGB390BNP-D Smart Space Living Gas Grill is designed to fit on smaller decks and patios, providing the style, efficiency and high performance cooks expect when investing in an outdoor grill. Made of burnished bronze metallic painted steel and black painted steel end caps and 507-total inches of cooking space, the (3) stainless steel tube burners provide 12,000-BTUs each (36,000 total) and are protected by (3) enameled steel heat tents that distribute heat evenly. An electric pulse ignition activates the burners, which are controlled by (3) dials to customize the heat temperature for your specific needs. The easy to clean, enameled cast iron cooking grates provide 390 sq. in. of primary cooking space. An additional 117 sq. in. are available through a raised secondary warming rack. The hood lid has an easy lift handle for opening and is designed with a double-wall liner to retain heat. Additional features include drop down tables with tool hooks and towel bars on either side of the grill to provide counter space and utensil storage, a single door cabinet with a "tank seat" propane storage area and (2) locking and (2) non-locking heavy-duty wheel casters at the base of the grill.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Compact, powerful & great for everyday use
          PostedJune 5, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is a great little grill with some serious heat. The installation was pretty quick and easy, it took two of us a little under an hour to put everything together. My biggest complaint is that the diagrams in the instruction booklet can be hard to decipher because some of the parts (and corresponding images) are black, so you lose a lot of helpful detail. I think another reviewer mentioned that the rolling base, which is the first thing you assemble, was distorted but I'm not sure that's a defect. Mine was also askew but I think it's designed to even out once all the weight of the body is distributed on top of it. The finished product is certainly well-balanced and very stable. I had Read More
          This is a great little grill with some serious heat. The installation was pretty quick and easy, it took two of us a little under an hour to put everything together. My biggest complaint is that the diagrams in the instruction booklet can be hard to decipher because some of the parts (and corresponding images) are black, so you lose a lot of helpful detail. I think another reviewer mentioned that the rolling base, which is the first thing you assemble, was distorted but I'm not sure that's a defect. Mine was also askew but I think it's designed to even out once all the weight of the body is distributed on top of it. The finished product is certainly well-balanced and very stable. I had previously used a Weber Q and liked that it was compact and easy to use. The Dyno-Glo Smart Space is a complete upgrade-- it's almost as compact but it's equipped with much more grilling space, a warming rack, additional power and three adjustable burners so you can cook different types of food at the same time. It comes with an electric push-button starter and the flames are nice and even for cooking. I also prefer the sturdiness of the metal fold-down side tables to Weber's flimsy plastic ones. They drop down easily for storage when not in use, but are strong enough to actually hold platters of food if you're cooking for the whole family. In terms of looks, I was a little hesitant about the bronze finish and thought I'd prefer the stainless steel model, but the rich metallic tone actually complements our beige deck and espresso patio furniture nicely. It's very sleek and modern looking. If you have a small deck or patio but you can't live without a grill, I'd highly recommend this compact model! Read Less
          Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space, Sturdy, compact & easy to store
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          A slender oval silhouette is beautifully complemented by a high gloss white finish to create the fashionable Esley 24 in. W x 28 in. L mirror. The MDF framed Esley is designed to be mounted vertically. Mounting hardware is conveniently attached.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Modern, Sleek & Beautiful
          PostedJune 5, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We had an old mirrored medicine cabinet in our guest bathroom that wasn't worth the added storage because it looked so dated and "builder's grade". I'm so glad we decided to upgrade to this oval mirror. When paired with a new white vanity with brushed nickel fixtures, it completely transformed the room! I thought it was going to be a little coastal or country in terms of style, but the white frame is very sleek and has a high-gloss finish that just looks so fresh and modern. It's a medium weight, very sturdy and was easy to install. I would definitely recommend this mirror to help elevate a bathroom.
          Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Sturdy, Looks Great, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy to Clean, High Quality
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This fan has four candelabra bulbs and a 44 in. blade span, so you know you'll always have enough bright light and air movement to fill any small room in your home. The sleek design and state-of-the-art motor make the Channing so simple yet so powerful. Don't forget: this fan is part of the Channing collection, which offers different sizes and other options, so you can maintain a consistent look throughout every room in the house.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Painless Install
          PostedMay 19, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Installation was about as straightforward as it gets for a ceiling fan. Replacing or installing a new indoor ceiling fan is an intermediate level job for most do-it-yourselfers. Fortunately, the manufacturer goes to great lengths to ensure that the process goes smoothly. The installation directions are clear and concise, the assembly hardware is in clearly labeled bags, and its clear that the whole procedure has been well thought-out with the consumer in mind.
          The components are well-packed. Be careful with the fan blades after unpacking, however, as they look they might be a scratch prone. The manufactuer does a great job ensuring that they arrive to you looking marvelous -- just watch Read More
          Installation was about as straightforward as it gets for a ceiling fan. Replacing or installing a new indoor ceiling fan is an intermediate level job for most do-it-yourselfers. Fortunately, the manufacturer goes to great lengths to ensure that the process goes smoothly. The installation directions are clear and concise, the assembly hardware is in clearly labeled bags, and its clear that the whole procedure has been well thought-out with the consumer in mind.
          The components are well-packed. Be careful with the fan blades after unpacking, however, as they look they might be a scratch prone. The manufactuer does a great job ensuring that they arrive to you looking marvelous -- just watch those screwdrivers as you assemble.
          Looks great and works great for us. Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Stylish
          Video Review:
          (click to see the video)
          User submitted video
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Finally, a fog-free bathroom mirror. No more wiping off your mirror or using a hairdryer for a fogless reflection. Our innovative, fog-free technology is safe, affordable and does not require heating elements. The 35.35 in. L x 24.35 in. W Framed Wall Mirror features a brushed nickel finish to coordinate with decorative hardware throughout your home. The mirror is not only suitable for your bathroom but can be displayed in your bedroom, living room or any room in your home. The versatility of this mirror allows you to hang it vertically or horizontally. The 0.1 in. mirror thickness makes this mirror durable and long lasting.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          "Brushed nickel" has bronze tint, not silver
          PostedMay 15, 2016
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          A word of caution to anyone looking to install this in a bathroom with all brushed nickel hardware: the frame has a warm brown tone, not a cool silver tone, so it looks slightly bronze. For this reason, it didn't match everything in the bathroom we intended it for. If you have oiled bronze fixtures, it will look great. It's a sleek, lightweight piece and easy to install. It came packaged very well so there were no nicks or scratches on the frame. Plus the fog-proof glass in the mirror works. My girlfriend says she can get very close to do her makeup and it doesn't fog up. Although it's a little tricky to clean, we didn't have the terrible streaking problem that others described in their Read More
          A word of caution to anyone looking to install this in a bathroom with all brushed nickel hardware: the frame has a warm brown tone, not a cool silver tone, so it looks slightly bronze. For this reason, it didn't match everything in the bathroom we intended it for. If you have oiled bronze fixtures, it will look great. It's a sleek, lightweight piece and easy to install. It came packaged very well so there were no nicks or scratches on the frame. Plus the fog-proof glass in the mirror works. My girlfriend says she can get very close to do her makeup and it doesn't fog up. Although it's a little tricky to clean, we didn't have the terrible streaking problem that others described in their reviews. I would give it a higher rating if it were a true brushed nickel silver color. Read Less
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
          Cons: color has bronze undertone
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The 70 in. Brushed Nickel Mother Daughter Floor Lamp will enhance and complement a wide variety of decor. Featuring an elegant brushed nickel finish and frosted glass shade, this floor lamp will provide plenty of warm and inviting illumination for your den, home office or living room. Featuring an attached reading light for convenience and added functionality, this lamp is simple to assemble and maintain.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Tall and sleek
          PostedMay 15, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          With a modern brushed nickel finish and classic shape, this floor lamp is very attractive. I think it's a great piece for either a bedroom or living room. It was taller than I expected from the box-- it's nearly six feet when fully assembled and I think most of our other floor lamps are around five feet. Luckily it has a heavy, sturdy base which makes it less wobbly for the tall height. Besides the sleek look, my favorite feature is the flexible reading light which you can adjust. The frosted glass makes the light soft, not harsh. My only complaint is regarding the fitting during assembly. It was easy to put together, except that the two bottom tubes had an uneven thread that took several Read More
          With a modern brushed nickel finish and classic shape, this floor lamp is very attractive. I think it's a great piece for either a bedroom or living room. It was taller than I expected from the box-- it's nearly six feet when fully assembled and I think most of our other floor lamps are around five feet. Luckily it has a heavy, sturdy base which makes it less wobbly for the tall height. Besides the sleek look, my favorite feature is the flexible reading light which you can adjust. The frosted glass makes the light soft, not harsh. My only complaint is regarding the fitting during assembly. It was easy to put together, except that the two bottom tubes had an uneven thread that took several attempts to align properly. Eventually everything screwed into place securely and now it looks great! Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Stylish
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 30 >>
           
          jakeparlay's Questions
           
          jakeparlay has not submitted any questions.
           
          jakeparlay's Answers
           
          The Dyna-Glo DGB390BNP-D Smart Space Living Gas Grill is designed to fit on smaller decks and patios, providing the style, efficiency and high performance cooks expect when investing in an outdoor grill. Made of burnished bronze metallic painted steel and black painted steel end caps and 507-total inches of cooking space, the (3) stainless steel tube burners provide 12,000-BTUs each (36,000 total) and are protected by (3) enameled steel heat tents that distribute heat evenly. An electric pulse ignition activates the burners, which are controlled by (3) dials to customize the heat temperature for your specific needs. The easy to clean, enameled cast iron cooking grates provide 390 sq. in. of primary cooking space. An additional 117 sq. in. are available through a raised secondary warming rack. The hood lid has an easy lift handle for opening and is designed with a double-wall liner to retain heat. Additional features include drop down tables with tool hooks and towel bars on either side of the grill to provide counter space and utensil storage, a single door cabinet with a "tank seat" propane storage area and (2) locking and (2) non-locking heavy-duty wheel casters at the base of the grill.
           

          Can the side wings be removed?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 10, 2016
          I'm looking to build a cooking space and have this grill fit into the nook I create for it. The side arms can be left off I assume?
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Southern Oregon
          June 5, 2016
          Answer: 
          They can either be left off completely (no impact on the rest of the grill's stability or function) or they can be folded down when not in use.
           
          SteriPEN Ultra is an exceptionally advanced portable water purifier with an advanced OLED display that indicates treatment and battery status as well as an internal USB rechargeable battery. It quickly and effectively eliminates over 99.9% of bacteria, viruses and protozoa that cause water-borne illnesses, including giardia and cryptosporidium. Like all SteriPEN models, it carries the Water Quality Association’s Gold Seal, so you can be sure it’s safe and effective.
           

          batteries?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Southbridge MA
          November 27, 2015
          I read in one review that the reviewer takes spare batteries with her on trips abroad to use in the Ultra. Is this correct? I thought it was a sealed unit.
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Southern Oregon
          April 29, 2016
          Answer: 
          Some SteriPens use an external battery. This one is rechargeable via USB and is a sealed unit. This one is better. The models with replaceable batteries use a very obscure type of battery.
           
          Tired of recoiling your garden hose after each use. This coiled hose may be the answer you're looking for. It expands and retrack easily and the hanging rack can be easily mounted for convenient storage.
           

          what is the trick to getting it coiled and back into the storage rack?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Manchester, NH
          August 7, 2015
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Southern Oregon
          April 4, 2016
          Answer: 
          The hose is like a spring -- its natural state is coiled, so the second you stop pulling on it, it coils back into its original shape.
           
          The Dual-pawl technology of the 100-Positon ratchet in this Husky 20-piece universal socket wrench set provide incredible access to blots and fasteners where other ratchets simply can't. The 18 Knurl Grip universal sockets work on six different styles of fasteners, making this the ultimate socket set for any job. The Husky 20-piece 100-position universal socket wrench set is perfect for professional mechanics or the DIYer working around the house or in the garage needing access to hard to reach fasteners.
           

          i purchased this wrench set, but there isn't a casing or some type of box to put everything in. How do i store this and not lose everything?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          san diego
          January 31, 2016
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Central Connecticut
          February 14, 2016
          Answer: 
          You need to purchase a third-party socket container set.
           
          Equipped with the aggressive, Secure Catch design, the Tomcat Secure-Kill Rat Trap traps and kills rats quickly and effectively. It is easy to use and sets with a single touch. Escape is virtually impossible with the Secure Catch design, and the trap is non-toxic. The convenient grab-tab feature makes for easier disposal. Kills rats – guaranteed, (Satisfaction guaranteed or your money back).
           

          I have a little Shitzu Dog, if he attracted to the peanut butter could he get hurt ?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          fresno ca
          July 7, 2015
          You say safe for pets, but I don't know what that means
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Central Connecticut
          January 3, 2016
          Answer: 
          Safe for pets means no poison. This type of trap could absolutely injure a dog, particularly a small dog. If you use this trap, ensure that it is deployed in a location the dog absolutely cannot access.