jakeparlay
  • Review count
    161
  • Helpfulness votes
    185
  • Average rating
    4.3
    4.3 out of 5
  • First Review:
    March 7, 2010
  • Last Review:
    September 12, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      18
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        161
      • Helpfulness votes
        185
      • Average rating
        4.3
        4.3 out of 5
      • First Review:
        March 7, 2010
      • Last Review:
        September 12, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          18
           
           
           
           
          jakeparlay's Reviews
           
          Fine dining begins with comfortable, elegant seating and the Sinclaire KD side chairs are an ideal solution to complement traditional, transitional and even contemporary settings. With taupe linen blend fabric, gently rolled back, button tufting and silver nailhead trim, these straight-legged beauties offer a designer look that’s easy on the wallet.
           
          from Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Stylish, sophsitcated & genius packing
          PostedSeptember 12, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This set of tufted linen chairs is very sophisticated and fits well with my transitional style. They came in a huge, well-packed box with the seats are already assembled. They 're delivered in lightweight covers to protect the upholstery while shipping. To assemble them, simply remove the covers, flip them over and zip open the bottom of the seat. Inside you'll find a clever storage compartment with four legs wrapped up together and a bag full of screws with a tiny wrench. The directions were pretty straightforward but somehow I still managed to put the legs on backwards. The metal screws insert into the bare wood side of the hole, not the metal-plated side. So don't match up metal to metal Read More
          This set of tufted linen chairs is very sophisticated and fits well with my transitional style. They came in a huge, well-packed box with the seats are already assembled. They 're delivered in lightweight covers to protect the upholstery while shipping. To assemble them, simply remove the covers, flip them over and zip open the bottom of the seat. Inside you'll find a clever storage compartment with four legs wrapped up together and a bag full of screws with a tiny wrench. The directions were pretty straightforward but somehow I still managed to put the legs on backwards. The metal screws insert into the bare wood side of the hole, not the metal-plated side. So don't match up metal to metal or the legs will curve slightly in the wrong direction, which I didn't notice until all 4 legs were on and I flipped it over. Once I put the legs on in the correct direction, I was quite pleased. The directions estimate 10 minutes to assemble everything but I would give yourself 25 for both. They're pretty comfortable as far as formal dining chairs go. The taupe color is also a nice neutral that will look great with just about everything, while the shiny chrome nail-head trim adds an elegant finish. These look so great I think we're going to order another set. Read Less
          Pros: Comfortable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Looks Great, Nice Design, Rich Looking, Sturdy
          Cons: assembly directions aren't quite clear
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Cosco's serving cart is perfect for outdoor entertaining as it provides additional storage space for drinks and plates. It gives an opportunity to transform your outdoor space quickly with its no tool assembly. Cosco's serving cart is lightweight which allows each piece to fold flat for easy storage during the off season or while not in use.
           
          from Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Pop it open, add wheels and serve!
          PostedSeptember 12, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          We recently moved so I've been assembling a lot of furniture lately. This folding cart was a breeze in comparison to most pieces! It's already 95% assembled. You just pop it open, screw on the 4 wheels and it's done. It maneuvers well and two of the wheels lock so you can park it without fear of rolling. Unfortunately, the top surface of mine was a little bit bent, it must've gotten warped during delivery as the outer shipping box was damaged. My only other complaint is that the "silver" finish is a little lackluster. It's more of a dull grey. I was hoping for something that looked more polished than industrial. I think this is certainly more of an outdoor serving cart, whereas I was hoping Read More
          We recently moved so I've been assembling a lot of furniture lately. This folding cart was a breeze in comparison to most pieces! It's already 95% assembled. You just pop it open, screw on the 4 wheels and it's done. It maneuvers well and two of the wheels lock so you can park it without fear of rolling. Unfortunately, the top surface of mine was a little bit bent, it must've gotten warped during delivery as the outer shipping box was damaged. My only other complaint is that the "silver" finish is a little lackluster. It's more of a dull grey. I was hoping for something that looked more polished than industrial. I think this is certainly more of an outdoor serving cart, whereas I was hoping to use it as in indoor bar cart. A nice addition for parties nonetheless! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Sturdy, locking wheels
          Cons: lackluster finish, bent top surface
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          No other cleaning system like it. Specially formulated to deep clean glass/ceramic cook tops. Unique nanotechnology formula gives superior cleaning that no other ordinary cleaners can achieve. PH neutral properties mean it won’t harm your skin.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Doesn't remove deep, burnt-on stains
          PostedAugust 28, 2016
          Overall rating 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          Disappointingly, the Range Meister spray cleaner didn't live up to its claims. We have a glass cooktop that has become the bane of my existence because it simply won't stay clean. I had previously only used gas and was adept at adjusting the temperature. With this electric style, I frequently over or underestimate the heat setting and pots will boil over. Once anything hits that hot surface, it gets baked on permanently. I was hoping the spray would help get out some of the deeper burn stains that can't be scrubbed off, as it claims to clean below the surface. Well, I used the product as directed and sprayed it liberally on the surface and waited 10 minutes. When I wiped off the remnants of Read More
          Disappointingly, the Range Meister spray cleaner didn't live up to its claims. We have a glass cooktop that has become the bane of my existence because it simply won't stay clean. I had previously only used gas and was adept at adjusting the temperature. With this electric style, I frequently over or underestimate the heat setting and pots will boil over. Once anything hits that hot surface, it gets baked on permanently. I was hoping the spray would help get out some of the deeper burn stains that can't be scrubbed off, as it claims to clean below the surface. Well, I used the product as directed and sprayed it liberally on the surface and waited 10 minutes. When I wiped off the remnants of the foam, all the cooking grease and food particles were gone, but the deep stains were still there. I applied a second dose and this time waited for 20 minutes to really let it soak in. When I wiped it up, it didn't look any different than the previous round. Really disappointing. To the spray's credit, it does work up into a nice, thick foam and there's virtually no smell, which is always a plus for cleaning products. If you need this for superficial cleaning, it may work for you. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, no smell
          Cons: doesn't remove deep stains
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Adorned with a classic shaker design, The Home Decorators Collection 30.5 in. Abbotsford bathroom vanity in a Graphite finish and Solid Surface Technology vanity top in Titanium will present your home with that relaxed and cozy look you're looking for in a bathroom sink combo. The unique Titanium vanity top finish features a new technique that allows a seamless duo-toned vanity top and sink top combination all while featuring a cabinet that contains a single door setup with six-way adjustable hinges, and a color matching interior. Your bathroom will also be provided with a unique two drawer box set up for increased storage capability. End your search with the 30.5 in. Abbotsford bathroom vanity combo as it is the perfect unit for your everyday home.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Sleek & modern-- completes a powder room
          PostedAugust 28, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          We needed to update our powder room and the Abbotsford vanity and mirror set was the perfect match. It had all the modern elements we were looking for-- the clean lines of shaker-style cabinetry will look great for years to come, the matching mirror made it feel like a cohesive look for a small space, and the brushed nickel hardware really pops against the stylish dark gray paint. In all, it's a handsome set. The speckled counter top definitely has that man-made look that some people find a bit cheap, but I don't mind it. It came well-packaged in one huge box and the install was pretty straight forward, with minimal assembly required. We paired it with Moen's Darcy 4" centerset faucet in Read More
          We needed to update our powder room and the Abbotsford vanity and mirror set was the perfect match. It had all the modern elements we were looking for-- the clean lines of shaker-style cabinetry will look great for years to come, the matching mirror made it feel like a cohesive look for a small space, and the brushed nickel hardware really pops against the stylish dark gray paint. In all, it's a handsome set. The speckled counter top definitely has that man-made look that some people find a bit cheap, but I don't mind it. It came well-packaged in one huge box and the install was pretty straight forward, with minimal assembly required. We paired it with Moen's Darcy 4" centerset faucet in brushed nickel, which maintained the sleek look of the pulls. Definitely note that there are only two drawers, even thought it looks like three from the outside. At first I thought this was a con, but actually some taller toiletries and cleaning products can fit in the lower drawer so it worked out nicely. I'd recommend this as a great buy for a powder room. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Great Value, Looks Great, Modern, Sleek, Stylish
          Cons: particle board seems a bit flimsy
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Bring the well kept secret of the baking industry into your kitchen. Create delicious breads, crispy pizza crusts and perfectly baked cookies. It's the ultimate cooking surface for easy, low calorie cooking. It is safe for use in conventional ovens up to 480°F and at temperatures as low as -40°F. The Bake Magic package contains two (2) 15-3/4 in. x 11-3/4 in. mats that can be easily stored flat or rolled up. Save Time. No messy, difficult clean up and scraping and scrubbing of baked-on food-simply wipe the BakeMagic mat with a damp cloth and it’s ready to reuse. Not recommended for the dishwasher. Save Money. One mat of BakeMagic lasts as long as hundreds of feet of aluminum foil, parchment paper, or wax paper. Save Calories. No more cooking spray, grease, or fat-just enjoy the natural delicious taste of healthier food.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          So clean and easy!
          PostedAugust 28, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I love to bake but I hate to wash dishes, so I've been using parchment paper for years to avoid having to scrape and then scrub food remnants off my cookie sheets. It's always helped tremendously, so I was excited to try a re-usable product with the same premise. These silicone mats are even better than I thought they'd be! I baked both granola and chocolate chunk cookies and had no stickage to the mats. The smooth non-stick surface makes them a snap to wash up. Plus, they are much sturdier than parchment paper, so I could just pour the granola directly into a storage container once it was cool. I think they're a little pricey up front, but you get two in a pack and they seem very well made. Read More
          I love to bake but I hate to wash dishes, so I've been using parchment paper for years to avoid having to scrape and then scrub food remnants off my cookie sheets. It's always helped tremendously, so I was excited to try a re-usable product with the same premise. These silicone mats are even better than I thought they'd be! I baked both granola and chocolate chunk cookies and had no stickage to the mats. The smooth non-stick surface makes them a snap to wash up. Plus, they are much sturdier than parchment paper, so I could just pour the granola directly into a storage container once it was cool. I think they're a little pricey up front, but you get two in a pack and they seem very well made. I imagine that they're going to last for years and will easily be more economical than all the parchment paper I would've bought. If you bake a lot, get these! Read Less
          Pros: Convenient, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Nice Design, Performs Well, Useful
          Cons: Not Dishwasher Safe
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 33 >>
           
          jakeparlay's Questions
           
          jakeparlay has not submitted any questions.
           
          jakeparlay's Answers
           
          The Dyna-Glo DGB390BNP-D Smart Space Living Gas Grill is designed to fit on smaller decks and patios, providing the style, efficiency and high performance cooks expect when investing in an outdoor grill. Made of burnished bronze metallic painted steel and black painted steel end caps and 507-total inches of cooking space, the (3) stainless steel tube burners provide 12,000-BTUs each (36,000 total) and are protected by (3) enameled steel heat tents that distribute heat evenly. An electric pulse ignition activates the burners, which are controlled by (3) dials to customize the heat temperature for your specific needs. The easy to clean, enameled cast iron cooking grates provide 390 sq. in. of primary cooking space. An additional 117 sq. in. are available through a raised secondary warming rack. The hood lid has an easy lift handle for opening and is designed with a double-wall liner to retain heat. Additional features include drop down tables with tool hooks and towel bars on either side of the grill to provide counter space and utensil storage, a single door cabinet with a "tank seat" propane storage area and (2) locking and (2) non-locking heavy-duty wheel casters at the base of the grill.
           

          Can the side wings be removed?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 10, 2016
          I'm looking to build a cooking space and have this grill fit into the nook I create for it. The side arms can be left off I assume?
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Southern Oregon
          June 5, 2016
          Answer: 
          They can either be left off completely (no impact on the rest of the grill's stability or function) or they can be folded down when not in use.
           
          SteriPEN Ultra is an exceptionally advanced portable water purifier with an advanced OLED display that indicates treatment and battery status as well as an internal USB rechargeable battery. It quickly and effectively eliminates over 99.9% of bacteria, viruses and protozoa that cause water-borne illnesses, including giardia and cryptosporidium. Like all SteriPEN models, it carries the Water Quality Association’s Gold Seal, so you can be sure it’s safe and effective.
           

          batteries?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Southbridge MA
          November 27, 2015
          I read in one review that the reviewer takes spare batteries with her on trips abroad to use in the Ultra. Is this correct? I thought it was a sealed unit.
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Southern Oregon
          April 29, 2016
          Answer: 
          Some SteriPens use an external battery. This one is rechargeable via USB and is a sealed unit. This one is better. The models with replaceable batteries use a very obscure type of battery.
           
          Tired of recoiling your garden hose after each use. This coiled hose may be the answer you're looking for. It expands and retrack easily and the hanging rack can be easily mounted for convenient storage.
           

          what is the trick to getting it coiled and back into the storage rack?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Manchester, NH
          August 7, 2015
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Southern Oregon
          April 4, 2016
          Answer: 
          The hose is like a spring -- its natural state is coiled, so the second you stop pulling on it, it coils back into its original shape.
           
          The Dual-pawl technology of the 100-Positon ratchet in this Husky 20-piece universal socket wrench set provide incredible access to blots and fasteners where other ratchets simply can't. The 18 Knurl Grip universal sockets work on six different styles of fasteners, making this the ultimate socket set for any job. The Husky 20-piece 100-position universal socket wrench set is perfect for professional mechanics or the DIYer working around the house or in the garage needing access to hard to reach fasteners.
           

          i purchased this wrench set, but there isn't a casing or some type of box to put everything in. How do i store this and not lose everything?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          san diego
          January 31, 2016
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Central Connecticut
          February 14, 2016
          Answer: 
          You need to purchase a third-party socket container set.
           
          Equipped with the aggressive, Secure Catch design, the Tomcat Secure-Kill Rat Trap traps and kills rats quickly and effectively. It is easy to use and sets with a single touch. Escape is virtually impossible with the Secure Catch design, and the trap is non-toxic. The convenient grab-tab feature makes for easier disposal. Kills rats guaranteed, (Satisfaction guaranteed or your money back).
           

          I have a little Shitzu Dog, if he attracted to the peanut butter could he get hurt ?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          fresno ca
          July 7, 2015
          You say safe for pets, but I don't know what that means
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Central Connecticut
          January 3, 2016
          Answer: 
          Safe for pets means no poison. This type of trap could absolutely injure a dog, particularly a small dog. If you use this trap, ensure that it is deployed in a location the dog absolutely cannot access.