jakeparlay
  • Review count
    172
  • Helpfulness votes
    192
  • Average rating
    4.3
    4.3 out of 5
  • First Review:
    March 7, 2010
  • Last Review:
    October 29, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      21
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        172
      • Helpfulness votes
        192
      • Average rating
        4.3
        4.3 out of 5
      • First Review:
        March 7, 2010
      • Last Review:
        October 29, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          21
           
           
           
           
          jakeparlay's Reviews
           
          Zevro by Honey-Can-Do KCH-06100 Zero Gravity Wall-Mounted Spice Rack, Metallic/Gray. The Zero Gravity Magnetic Spice Rack lives up to its name, as the spice canisters can be placed on or hung below the included stainless steel accent shelf or any other magnetic surface. Each canister includes a rubber foot which prevents scratching and also allows it to be placed on vertical surfaces. This spice stand includes 12 spice canisters, accent shelf and self-adhesive labels for spices. Each canister has a pour control system with 3 settings, including closed, sprinkle and pour.
           
          from Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Absolutely Terrible
          PostedOctober 29, 2016
          Overall rating 
          1.0 out of 5
          1.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          1.0 out of 5
          1.0 out of 5
          Value 
          1.0 out of 5
          1.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          I can't believe this has gotten any favorable reviews. Are people even trying this product?
          PROS:
          1. Looks good in photographs
          CONS:
          1. Clumsy installation. How can you flush mount something AND have it pivot over the screws that anchor it into the wall? The answer is, you can't. Expect a certain degree of flimsiness no matter how many times you try and install.
          2. The drywall anchors provided are absolute garbage. Use your own.
          3. The spice containers have a translucent capacity "gauge" of sorts on the side. The highest level you can possibly fill each container is 60%. You can never achieve 100% full. It's like the person that designed this never actually poured a spice
          Read More
          I can't believe this has gotten any favorable reviews. Are people even trying this product?
          PROS:
          1. Looks good in photographs
          CONS:
          1. Clumsy installation. How can you flush mount something AND have it pivot over the screws that anchor it into the wall? The answer is, you can't. Expect a certain degree of flimsiness no matter how many times you try and install.
          2. The drywall anchors provided are absolute garbage. Use your own.
          3. The spice containers have a translucent capacity "gauge" of sorts on the side. The highest level you can possibly fill each container is 60%. You can never achieve 100% full. It's like the person that designed this never actually poured a spice before.
          4. Cheap plastic construction. Very easy to cross-thread.
          5. Spice containers are not airtight. Humidity will creep in, and your expensive spices will start to cake up within weeks.
          6. Lack of "insert your own" spice label stickers. If you're trying to use a spice that's not listed on the included sticker sheet, you're out of luck.
          7. Cheap stickers that start to come unglued after the first few weeks.
          and my biggest complaint of all...
          8. The spice containers don't hold an entire spice jar worth of ingredient. So you end up with one half-full spice container hanging off your kitchen wall, and a half-full jar of the same spice sitting in your pantry where it always does. Defeats the purpose.
          I strongly dislike this product. Avoid. Read Less
          Cons: flimsy, poor design
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          The Luxurious Jill Morgan Solid White Microfiber Full Sheet Set will make you dream of your bed. The 4-piece set comes with 2 pillowcases, a flat sheet and a fitted sheet. The set will fit a mattress up to 17 in. deep.
           
          from Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Wrinkle-free & soft! Goodbye cotton, hello microfiber
          PostedOctober 24, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I will never rush to dryer again to pull out my cotton sheets immediately and still have to iron them because they're wrinkly. This mircofiber set has changed my life! You can even let them sit in the dryer and fully cool down and they still don't wrinkle. They are so smooth and soft, they feel incredible to sleep on. My old 400 thread-count cotton ones now feel stiff in comparison to these. They're a little lighter weight but I don't mind that as we use a down comforter. I also enjoy that they have deep pockets which makes getting the fitted sheet on our thick mattress much easier. And they're a great value. What else can I say, I'm a microfiber convert!
          Pros: Comfortable, Excellent Quality, Functional, Good Size & Weight, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Well Made, deep pockets
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This end table elegantly simple. Round accent table has sleek, sophisticated look for classic or modern decors. Its curved, smooth design blends well with any style of room decor. Assembling is required.
           
          from Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Classic design, in dark cherry finish
          PostedOctober 24, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This table is completely classic, with an elegant shape. I think we'll enjoy it for years to come. It's easy to put together and although you need to finagle it a little to get all the leg screws in place, it ends up fitting together. The drawer is a little loose and dinky but the pull on it is quite pretty and gives it a traditional look. My main complaint is that it's advertised as an espresso finish but it's truly more of a dark cherry tone. I would've preferred the more contemporary espresso look, but it will work for our guest bedroom as a night stand. Also, I wouldn't store anything too heavy or fragile on it because the top-heavy design makes it a bit wobbly on carpet. Otherwise, it's Read More
          This table is completely classic, with an elegant shape. I think we'll enjoy it for years to come. It's easy to put together and although you need to finagle it a little to get all the leg screws in place, it ends up fitting together. The drawer is a little loose and dinky but the pull on it is quite pretty and gives it a traditional look. My main complaint is that it's advertised as an espresso finish but it's truly more of a dark cherry tone. I would've preferred the more contemporary espresso look, but it will work for our guest bedroom as a night stand. Also, I wouldn't store anything too heavy or fragile on it because the top-heavy design makes it a bit wobbly on carpet. Otherwise, it's beautiful and a great value! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Rich Looking
          Cons: Wobbles, loose drawer
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Easily serve hot beverages to a small crowd with Rosewill’s R-HAP-15002 Electric Hot-Water Dispenser. This unit holds up to 4 Liters of water, and offers three temperature settings – tea (208°F), coffee (185°F), and 149°F. It can keep warm at 185ºF. For safety and thermal efficiency, Rosewill’s Electric Hot-Water Dispenser features a micro-computerized temperature-control system heater located on the bottom.
           
          from Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Very Nice
          PostedOctober 24, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Energy efficiency 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Rosewill has been in the high-tech manufacturing industry for ages, churning out quality computer and power components year after year. I guess they've decided to move into the consumer electronics segment, and so it's no surprise that this device is well built and intuitive to use and has the polished feel of a well-engineered product.
          Heats water reliably and quickly and is feature-rich. If you haven't tried some of the high-end instant coffees yet, you're missing out. I barely use my Keurig these days, so having instant hot water on demand is essential. This one doesn't disappoint!
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Performs Well
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          You’ll appreciate the convenience of this brush and caddy set. The patented brush comes with an extra-long handle for cleaning deep under the rim. The brush fibers have been treated with Microban Antimicrobial Product Protection to fight odor-causing bacteria, mold and mildew. When you’re done cleaning, store the brush out of sight in its hideaway designer caddy with non-marking bottom ring.
           
          from Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great value for effective cleaning
          PostedOctober 24, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is a nice brush and storage caddy set for the money, I think it's a great value. I like the little arm that reaches under the rim of the bowl to clean more effectively. Plus the bristles are nice and stiff and the wand part is pretty long. I also like that the caddy snaps into place when you push the brush onto the bottom, although it took me a couple cleanings to figure out that method. It's so nice to have a toilet brush out of sight but easily accessible. Great bathroom buy!
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 35 >>
           
          jakeparlay's Questions
           
          jakeparlay has not submitted any questions.
           
          jakeparlay's Answers
           
          The Luxurious Jill Morgan Solid White Microfiber Full Sheet Set will make you dream of your bed. The 4-piece set comes with 2 pillowcases, a flat sheet and a fitted sheet. The set will fit a mattress up to 17 in. deep.
           

          Does this set come with a Fitted Sheet?

          Asked by
          LT
          Cerrtios, Ca 90703
          October 9, 2016
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Oregon
          October 24, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes! Flat, fitted and two pillow cases.
           
          With this installation free kit, all you have to do is screw in the included 9.5W Philips Hue white LED bulb in your standard fixture and switch on the light. You can immediately control your light using the battery-powered Philips Hue dimmer switch. No need to call an installer.
           

          Will these bulbs work in a three way light bulb?

          Asked by
          RedSeaDave
          Tampa, FL
          September 24, 2016
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Oregon
          October 10, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, mine is running on a three-way light fixture without issue.
           
          Milwaukee Hardline knives deliver uncompromising performance on or off the jobsite. This 3-1/2" Smooth Blade Pocket Knife features a D2 Steel blade that delivers extreme wear resistance. A flipper with bearing system allows fast, smooth opening. The Steel frame lock provides a strong, secure lock for tough applications. A reversible tip-up belt clip allows right or left-handed carry.
           

          what is the country of production for this product?

          Asked by
          joeyj
          palmer ma
          September 24, 2016
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Oregon
          October 10, 2016
          Answer: 
          Made in China
           
          The Dyna-Glo DGB390BNP-D Smart Space Living Gas Grill is designed to fit on smaller decks and patios, providing the style, efficiency and high performance cooks expect when investing in an outdoor grill. Made of burnished bronze metallic painted steel and black painted steel end caps and 507-total inches of cooking space, the (3) stainless steel tube burners provide 12,000-BTUs each (36,000 total) and are protected by (3) enameled steel heat tents that distribute heat evenly. An electric pulse ignition activates the burners, which are controlled by (3) dials to customize the heat temperature for your specific needs. The easy to clean, enameled cast iron cooking grates provide 390 sq. in. of primary cooking space. An additional 117 sq. in. are available through a raised secondary warming rack. The hood lid has an easy lift handle for opening and is designed with a double-wall liner to retain heat. Additional features include drop down tables with tool hooks and towel bars on either side of the grill to provide counter space and utensil storage, a single door cabinet with a "tank seat" propane storage area and (2) locking and (2) non-locking heavy-duty wheel casters at the base of the grill.
           

          Can the side wings be removed?

          Asked by
          AZgriller
          May 10, 2016
          I'm looking to build a cooking space and have this grill fit into the nook I create for it. The side arms can be left off I assume?
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Southern Oregon
          June 5, 2016
          Answer: 
          They can either be left off completely (no impact on the rest of the grill's stability or function) or they can be folded down when not in use.
           
          SteriPEN Ultra Handheld Water Purifier
          SteriPEN Ultra Handheld Water Purifier
          SteriPEN Ultra is an exceptionally advanced portable water purifier with an advanced OLED display that indicates treatment and battery status as well as an internal USB rechargeable battery. It quickly and effectively eliminates over 99.9% of bacteria, viruses and protozoa that cause water-borne illnesses, including giardia and cryptosporidium. Like all SteriPEN models, it carries the Water Quality Association’s Gold Seal, so you can be sure it’s safe and effective.
           

          batteries?

          Asked by
          palaranda
          Southbridge MA
          November 27, 2015
          I read in one review that the reviewer takes spare batteries with her on trips abroad to use in the Ultra. Is this correct? I thought it was a sealed unit.
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Southern Oregon
          April 29, 2016
          Answer: 
          Some SteriPens use an external battery. This one is rechargeable via USB and is a sealed unit. This one is better. The models with replaceable batteries use a very obscure type of battery.