jakeparlay
  • Review count
    151
  • Helpfulness votes
    172
  • Average rating
    4.4
    4.4 out of 5
  • First Review:
    March 7, 2010
  • Last Review:
    July 11, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      18
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        151
      • Helpfulness votes
        172
      • Average rating
        4.4
        4.4 out of 5
      • First Review:
        March 7, 2010
      • Last Review:
        July 11, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          18
           
           
           
           
          jakeparlay's Reviews
           
          Keep your small vehicles, bikes and appliances strong and secure like a pro with this powerful professional torque wrench. This rugged 3/8 in. drive torque wrench from Capri Tools features a high-contrast dual range torque scale of 10-80 ft. lbs. It comes with a traceable certificate of calibration, which verifies its accuracy as having a threshold of +/- 4%. The unique pulse-stop technology lets you feel when the desired torque is reached. It is adjustable in .5 ft. lb. increments for excellent accuracy.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good Heft
          PostedJuly 11, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This torque wrench is well-packed in the box. Although I am unfamiliar with the brand, it is one seriously great-looking torque wrench. Not that its contemporary design matters, but it is striking. I'm unfamiliar with the brand, but like most torque wrenches, they assert their product is laboratory tested and certified.
          Torque display setting is easy to read and you can adjust the increments with a satisfying click. Wrenching is smooth and predictable.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Winix 5500-2 Air Cleaner replaces the wildly popular 5500-2 model; designed for any home environment and ready to capture Dust, Pollen, Pet Dander, Smoke, Mold Spores, Volatile Organic Compounds, and Household Odors. With a tremendous CADR (Clean Air Delivery Rate) rating from AHAM (Association of Home Appliances Manufacturers), this unit is best used for medium to large living spaces, kitchens, or bedrooms. The WINIX 5500-2 uses a 3-Stage Air Cleaning System, featuring a Washable AOC Carbon Filter, 99.97% True HEPA Filter, and Winix PlasmaWave Technology. AHAM Rated for rooms up to 360 sq. ft.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Noticeably Effective
          PostedJuly 11, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Right out of the box, this feels like a high-end unit and we couldn't wait to try it. In a household with pets and one allergic family member, we were hoping this air cleaner would deliver relief. It most certainly did.
          The unit is well-boxed and easy to unpack and prepare for usage. We were up and running in about 10 minutes.
          This high-end cleaner is sleek, feature-packed, and the best part yet -- it does its job wonderfully. We run it continuously (on timed cycles) in my mother-in-law's bedroom. Within 24 hours of starting this unit, the air in the room felt, smelled, and breathed differently. Wonderfully, really. Whatever ionization they do inside the machine and whatever filtering Read More
          Right out of the box, this feels like a high-end unit and we couldn't wait to try it. In a household with pets and one allergic family member, we were hoping this air cleaner would deliver relief. It most certainly did.
          The unit is well-boxed and easy to unpack and prepare for usage. We were up and running in about 10 minutes.
          This high-end cleaner is sleek, feature-packed, and the best part yet -- it does its job wonderfully. We run it continuously (on timed cycles) in my mother-in-law's bedroom. Within 24 hours of starting this unit, the air in the room felt, smelled, and breathed differently. Wonderfully, really. Whatever ionization they do inside the machine and whatever filtering it does really does work. She is a happy camper, and so are we. The added remote and included dock is a real nice touch. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Effective
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Take back your yard with new gear this year and choose the greener grooming solution that’s better for you, better for your lawn and better for the environment. Say goodbye to gas, oil, noxious fumes, pull-cords and costly tune-ups. For small to medium-sized yards, the cutting-edge, 12 Amp electric MJ408E is your greener, cleaner alternative to get the job done with zero carbon emissions for cleaner air. Startup is instant, reliable and effortless with virtually zero maintenance, season after season. Simply plug in your MJ408E and go. Delivering the power of a gas machine with the convenience of an electric unit, it’s durable steel blade cuts a 20 in. wide path with precision on each pass and features a convenient 7-position manual height adjustment for maximum control. MJ408E comes equipped with a detachable 14.5 Gal. rear collection bag for quick and easy disposal.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Surprisingly Good
          PostedJuly 10, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of use 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I was impressed with the Sun Joe mower, from the unboxing to its usage. We live on a steep slope, and only have a small patch of lawn in the back. For small areas with access to a reliable electrical outlet, an electric mower can be a smart choice. I have used plenty of gas mowers, and this was my first electric. It held its own, and did a comparable job to our existing mower.
          Setup was easy, operation is quiet and clean. No gas cans or oil to mess with. It is a bit of adjustment to use, for sure -- because you are trailing a power cord, it almost feels like you are "vacuuming" your lawn. Same motion.
          This is an excellent choice for those with small lawns or those who would have Read More
          I was impressed with the Sun Joe mower, from the unboxing to its usage. We live on a steep slope, and only have a small patch of lawn in the back. For small areas with access to a reliable electrical outlet, an electric mower can be a smart choice. I have used plenty of gas mowers, and this was my first electric. It held its own, and did a comparable job to our existing mower.
          Setup was easy, operation is quiet and clean. No gas cans or oil to mess with. It is a bit of adjustment to use, for sure -- because you are trailing a power cord, it almost feels like you are "vacuuming" your lawn. Same motion.
          This is an excellent choice for those with small lawns or those who would have difficulty with the weight of a conventional mower. Read Less
          Pros: Cuts Well, Light Weight, Small Turn Radius
          Video Review:
          (click to see the video)
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Dyna-Glo DGB390BNP-D Smart Space Living Gas Grill is designed to fit on smaller decks and patios, providing the style, efficiency and high performance cooks expect when investing in an outdoor grill. Made of burnished bronze metallic painted steel and black painted steel end caps and 507-total inches of cooking space, the (3) stainless steel tube burners provide 12,000-BTUs each (36,000 total) and are protected by (3) enameled steel heat tents that distribute heat evenly. An electric pulse ignition activates the burners, which are controlled by (3) dials to customize the heat temperature for your specific needs. The easy to clean, enameled cast iron cooking grates provide 390 sq. in. of primary cooking space. An additional 117 sq. in. are available through a raised secondary warming rack. The hood lid has an easy lift handle for opening and is designed with a double-wall liner to retain heat. Additional features include drop down tables with tool hooks and towel bars on either side of the grill to provide counter space and utensil storage, a single door cabinet with a "tank seat" propane storage area and (2) locking and (2) non-locking heavy-duty wheel casters at the base of the grill.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Compact, powerful & great for everyday use
          PostedJune 5, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is a great little grill with some serious heat. The installation was pretty quick and easy, it took two of us a little under an hour to put everything together. My biggest complaint is that the diagrams in the instruction booklet can be hard to decipher because some of the parts (and corresponding images) are black, so you lose a lot of helpful detail. I think another reviewer mentioned that the rolling base, which is the first thing you assemble, was distorted but I'm not sure that's a defect. Mine was also askew but I think it's designed to even out once all the weight of the body is distributed on top of it. The finished product is certainly well-balanced and very stable. I had Read More
          This is a great little grill with some serious heat. The installation was pretty quick and easy, it took two of us a little under an hour to put everything together. My biggest complaint is that the diagrams in the instruction booklet can be hard to decipher because some of the parts (and corresponding images) are black, so you lose a lot of helpful detail. I think another reviewer mentioned that the rolling base, which is the first thing you assemble, was distorted but I'm not sure that's a defect. Mine was also askew but I think it's designed to even out once all the weight of the body is distributed on top of it. The finished product is certainly well-balanced and very stable. I had previously used a Weber Q and liked that it was compact and easy to use. The Dyno-Glo Smart Space is a complete upgrade-- it's almost as compact but it's equipped with much more grilling space, a warming rack, additional power and three adjustable burners so you can cook different types of food at the same time. It comes with an electric push-button starter and the flames are nice and even for cooking. I also prefer the sturdiness of the metal fold-down side tables to Weber's flimsy plastic ones. They drop down easily for storage when not in use, but are strong enough to actually hold platters of food if you're cooking for the whole family. In terms of looks, I was a little hesitant about the bronze finish and thought I'd prefer the stainless steel model, but the rich metallic tone actually complements our beige deck and espresso patio furniture nicely. It's very sleek and modern looking. If you have a small deck or patio but you can't live without a grill, I'd highly recommend this compact model! Read Less
          Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space, Sturdy, compact & easy to store
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          A slender oval silhouette is beautifully complemented by a high gloss white finish to create the fashionable Esley 24 in. W x 28 in. L mirror. The MDF framed Esley is designed to be mounted vertically. Mounting hardware is conveniently attached.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Modern, Sleek & Beautiful
          PostedJune 5, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We had an old mirrored medicine cabinet in our guest bathroom that wasn't worth the added storage because it looked so dated and "builder's grade". I'm so glad we decided to upgrade to this oval mirror. When paired with a new white vanity with brushed nickel fixtures, it completely transformed the room! I thought it was going to be a little coastal or country in terms of style, but the white frame is very sleek and has a high-gloss finish that just looks so fresh and modern. It's a medium weight, very sturdy and was easy to install. I would definitely recommend this mirror to help elevate a bathroom.
          Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Sturdy, Looks Great, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy to Clean, High Quality
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 31 >>
           
          jakeparlay's Questions
           
          jakeparlay has not submitted any questions.
           
          jakeparlay's Answers
           
          The Dyna-Glo DGB390BNP-D Smart Space Living Gas Grill is designed to fit on smaller decks and patios, providing the style, efficiency and high performance cooks expect when investing in an outdoor grill. Made of burnished bronze metallic painted steel and black painted steel end caps and 507-total inches of cooking space, the (3) stainless steel tube burners provide 12,000-BTUs each (36,000 total) and are protected by (3) enameled steel heat tents that distribute heat evenly. An electric pulse ignition activates the burners, which are controlled by (3) dials to customize the heat temperature for your specific needs. The easy to clean, enameled cast iron cooking grates provide 390 sq. in. of primary cooking space. An additional 117 sq. in. are available through a raised secondary warming rack. The hood lid has an easy lift handle for opening and is designed with a double-wall liner to retain heat. Additional features include drop down tables with tool hooks and towel bars on either side of the grill to provide counter space and utensil storage, a single door cabinet with a "tank seat" propane storage area and (2) locking and (2) non-locking heavy-duty wheel casters at the base of the grill.
           

          Can the side wings be removed?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 10, 2016
          I'm looking to build a cooking space and have this grill fit into the nook I create for it. The side arms can be left off I assume?
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Southern Oregon
          June 5, 2016
          Answer: 
          They can either be left off completely (no impact on the rest of the grill's stability or function) or they can be folded down when not in use.
           
          SteriPEN Ultra is an exceptionally advanced portable water purifier with an advanced OLED display that indicates treatment and battery status as well as an internal USB rechargeable battery. It quickly and effectively eliminates over 99.9% of bacteria, viruses and protozoa that cause water-borne illnesses, including giardia and cryptosporidium. Like all SteriPEN models, it carries the Water Quality Association’s Gold Seal, so you can be sure it’s safe and effective.
           

          batteries?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Southbridge MA
          November 27, 2015
          I read in one review that the reviewer takes spare batteries with her on trips abroad to use in the Ultra. Is this correct? I thought it was a sealed unit.
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Southern Oregon
          April 29, 2016
          Answer: 
          Some SteriPens use an external battery. This one is rechargeable via USB and is a sealed unit. This one is better. The models with replaceable batteries use a very obscure type of battery.
           
          Tired of recoiling your garden hose after each use. This coiled hose may be the answer you're looking for. It expands and retrack easily and the hanging rack can be easily mounted for convenient storage.
           

          what is the trick to getting it coiled and back into the storage rack?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Manchester, NH
          August 7, 2015
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Southern Oregon
          April 4, 2016
          Answer: 
          The hose is like a spring -- its natural state is coiled, so the second you stop pulling on it, it coils back into its original shape.
           
          The Dual-pawl technology of the 100-Positon ratchet in this Husky 20-piece universal socket wrench set provide incredible access to blots and fasteners where other ratchets simply can't. The 18 Knurl Grip universal sockets work on six different styles of fasteners, making this the ultimate socket set for any job. The Husky 20-piece 100-position universal socket wrench set is perfect for professional mechanics or the DIYer working around the house or in the garage needing access to hard to reach fasteners.
           

          i purchased this wrench set, but there isn't a casing or some type of box to put everything in. How do i store this and not lose everything?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          san diego
          January 31, 2016
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Central Connecticut
          February 14, 2016
          Answer: 
          You need to purchase a third-party socket container set.
           
          Equipped with the aggressive, Secure Catch design, the Tomcat Secure-Kill Rat Trap traps and kills rats quickly and effectively. It is easy to use and sets with a single touch. Escape is virtually impossible with the Secure Catch design, and the trap is non-toxic. The convenient grab-tab feature makes for easier disposal. Kills rats – guaranteed, (Satisfaction guaranteed or your money back).
           

          I have a little Shitzu Dog, if he attracted to the peanut butter could he get hurt ?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          fresno ca
          July 7, 2015
          You say safe for pets, but I don't know what that means
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Central Connecticut
          January 3, 2016
          Answer: 
          Safe for pets means no poison. This type of trap could absolutely injure a dog, particularly a small dog. If you use this trap, ensure that it is deployed in a location the dog absolutely cannot access.