jakeparlay
  • Review count
    146
  • Helpfulness votes
    164
  • Average rating
    4.3
    4.3 out of 5
  • First Review:
    March 7, 2010
  • Last Review:
    May 19, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      17
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        146
      • Helpfulness votes
        164
      • Average rating
        4.3
        4.3 out of 5
      • First Review:
        March 7, 2010
      • Last Review:
        May 19, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          17
           
           
           
           
          jakeparlay's Reviews
           
          This fan has four candelabra bulbs and a 44 in. blade span, so you know you’ll always have enough bright light and air movement to fill any small room in your home. The sleek design and state-of-the-art motor make the Channing so simple yet so powerful. Don’t forget: this fan is part of the Channing collection, which offers different sizes and other options, so you can maintain a consistent look throughout every room in the house.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Painless Install
          PostedMay 19, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Installation was about as straightforward as it gets for a ceiling fan. Replacing or installing a new indoor ceiling fan is an intermediate level job for most do-it-yourselfers. Fortunately, the manufacturer goes to great lengths to ensure that the process goes smoothly. The installation directions are clear and concise, the assembly hardware is in clearly labeled bags, and its clear that the whole procedure has been well thought-out with the consumer in mind.
          The components are well-packed. Be careful with the fan blades after unpacking, however, as they look they might be a scratch prone. The manufactuer does a great job ensuring that they arrive to you looking marvelous -- just watch Read More
          Installation was about as straightforward as it gets for a ceiling fan. Replacing or installing a new indoor ceiling fan is an intermediate level job for most do-it-yourselfers. Fortunately, the manufacturer goes to great lengths to ensure that the process goes smoothly. The installation directions are clear and concise, the assembly hardware is in clearly labeled bags, and its clear that the whole procedure has been well thought-out with the consumer in mind.
          The components are well-packed. Be careful with the fan blades after unpacking, however, as they look they might be a scratch prone. The manufactuer does a great job ensuring that they arrive to you looking marvelous -- just watch those screwdrivers as you assemble.
          Looks great and works great for us. Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Stylish
          Video Review:
          (click to see the video)
          User submitted video
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Finally, a fog-free bathroom mirror. No more wiping off your mirror or using a hairdryer for a fogless reflection. Our innovative, fog-free technology is safe, affordable and does not require heating elements. The 35.35 in. L x 24.35 in. W Framed Wall Mirror features a brushed nickel finish to coordinate with decorative hardware throughout your home. The mirror is not only suitable for your bathroom but can be displayed in your bedroom, living room or any room in your home. The versatility of this mirror allows you to hang it vertically or horizontally. The 0.1 in. mirror thickness makes this mirror durable and long lasting.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          "Brushed nickel" has bronze tint, not silver
          PostedMay 15, 2016
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          A word of caution to anyone looking to install this in a bathroom with all brushed nickel hardware: the frame has a warm brown tone, not a cool silver tone, so it looks slightly bronze. For this reason, it didn't match everything in the bathroom we intended it for. If you have oiled bronze fixtures, it will look great. It's a sleek, lightweight piece and easy to install. It came packaged very well so there were no nicks or scratches on the frame. Plus the fog-proof glass in the mirror works. My girlfriend says she can get very close to do her makeup and it doesn't fog up. Although it's a little tricky to clean, we didn't have the terrible streaking problem that others described in their Read More
          A word of caution to anyone looking to install this in a bathroom with all brushed nickel hardware: the frame has a warm brown tone, not a cool silver tone, so it looks slightly bronze. For this reason, it didn't match everything in the bathroom we intended it for. If you have oiled bronze fixtures, it will look great. It's a sleek, lightweight piece and easy to install. It came packaged very well so there were no nicks or scratches on the frame. Plus the fog-proof glass in the mirror works. My girlfriend says she can get very close to do her makeup and it doesn't fog up. Although it's a little tricky to clean, we didn't have the terrible streaking problem that others described in their reviews. I would give it a higher rating if it were a true brushed nickel silver color. Read Less
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
          Cons: color has bronze undertone
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The 70 in. Brushed Nickel Mother Daughter Floor Lamp will enhance and complement a wide variety of decor. Featuring an elegant brushed nickel finish and frosted glass shade, this floor lamp will provide plenty of warm and inviting illumination for your den, home office or living room. Featuring an attached reading light for convenience and added functionality, this lamp is simple to assemble and maintain.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Tall and sleek
          PostedMay 15, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          With a modern brushed nickel finish and classic shape, this floor lamp is very attractive. I think it's a great piece for either a bedroom or living room. It was taller than I expected from the box-- it's nearly six feet when fully assembled and I think most of our other floor lamps are around five feet. Luckily it has a heavy, sturdy base which makes it less wobbly for the tall height. Besides the sleek look, my favorite feature is the flexible reading light which you can adjust. The frosted glass makes the light soft, not harsh. My only complaint is regarding the fitting during assembly. It was easy to put together, except that the two bottom tubes had an uneven thread that took several Read More
          With a modern brushed nickel finish and classic shape, this floor lamp is very attractive. I think it's a great piece for either a bedroom or living room. It was taller than I expected from the box-- it's nearly six feet when fully assembled and I think most of our other floor lamps are around five feet. Luckily it has a heavy, sturdy base which makes it less wobbly for the tall height. Besides the sleek look, my favorite feature is the flexible reading light which you can adjust. The frosted glass makes the light soft, not harsh. My only complaint is regarding the fitting during assembly. It was easy to put together, except that the two bottom tubes had an uneven thread that took several attempts to align properly. Eventually everything screwed into place securely and now it looks great! Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Stylish
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          OdoBan Sports Edge Odor Release Laundry Detergent is a 3X Concentrate formula that incorporates a unique discontinuous micro emulsion technology for use in High-Efficiency (HE) washers, combining a neutral PH, low sudsing and quick dispersing detergent with anti-re-deposition polymers and enzymes to get the best odor and stain release cleaning performance available. Product is safe for use on all machine washable synthetic or natural fabrics. Additionally, in the interest of sustainability, this product's formula was developed to have a significantly reduced impact on several areas of environmental stress that impact the nitrogen cycle, phosphorous cycle and aquatic toxicity (i.e., downstream of septic tanks and municipal wastewater treatment).
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Removes body odor from gym clothes
          PostedApril 30, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I'm a runner and my gym clothes can get pretty stinky so I was excited to try Sports Edge which is specifically designed for activewear. I've previously used Tide Sport with Febreeze in it, which has a very heavy scent, but I prefer the Sports Edge because it doesn't smell really perfumed like other laundry detergents. It's a highly concentrated formula, so I've only been using up to the "2" fill line in the cap on a regular-sized load. lt removed the body odor from my gym clothes effectively, but definitely left the fragrance of my deodorant underneath the arms. (Luckily, it's a pleasant smell). Perhaps I need to try fill in the cap up to the maximum "3" fill line or pre-treating those Read More
          I'm a runner and my gym clothes can get pretty stinky so I was excited to try Sports Edge which is specifically designed for activewear. I've previously used Tide Sport with Febreeze in it, which has a very heavy scent, but I prefer the Sports Edge because it doesn't smell really perfumed like other laundry detergents. It's a highly concentrated formula, so I've only been using up to the "2" fill line in the cap on a regular-sized load. lt removed the body odor from my gym clothes effectively, but definitely left the fragrance of my deodorant underneath the arms. (Luckily, it's a pleasant smell). Perhaps I need to try fill in the cap up to the maximum "3" fill line or pre-treating those areas directly with the detergent. But overall, this works great for getting the stink out of sports clothes and it's a great value. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, eliminates bad odors
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The AF Lighting 8900-TL Skinny Dip Glass Table Lamp is crafted in molded glass with a smoke finish. The smoke design is accented with black nickel, with a finial of the same color glass. The shade is created by Candice Olson in a geometric pattern printed on semi-gloss paper, making this a winning combo of mixed mediums well assembled. Due to handcrafting, no 2 are alike.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Ultra-modern statement style
          PostedApril 30, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Candice Olson's skinny dip lamp is pretty pricey but it's definitely worth it if you're looking for a real statement piece. It's the most high-end design I've ever gotten from Home Depot. This lamp is quite large and has a bold geometric pattern on the shade, and the curvy, smoked-glass base has a beautiful reflective quality that really catches your eye. If you're into very modern decor, then this lamp is an amazing accent that will really elevate any room. It also has a 3-way switch so you can set real "mood lighting" . Finally, it comes very well packaged so you don't have to worry about the glass breaking during delivery. Just beautiful!
          Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, Easy to Assemble, Functional, High Quality of Material, Stylish, Unique
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 30 >>
           
          jakeparlay's Questions
           
          jakeparlay has not submitted any questions.
           
          jakeparlay's Answers
           
          SteriPEN Ultra is an exceptionally advanced portable water purifier with an advanced OLED display that indicates treatment and battery status as well as an internal USB rechargeable battery. It quickly and effectively eliminates over 99.9% of bacteria, viruses and protozoa that cause water-borne illnesses, including giardia and cryptosporidium. Like all SteriPEN models, it carries the Water Quality Association’s Gold Seal, so you can be sure it’s safe and effective.
           

          batteries?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Southbridge MA
          November 27, 2015
          I read in one review that the reviewer takes spare batteries with her on trips abroad to use in the Ultra. Is this correct? I thought it was a sealed unit.
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Southern Oregon
          April 29, 2016
          Answer: 
          Some SteriPens use an external battery. This one is rechargeable via USB and is a sealed unit. This one is better. The models with replaceable batteries use a very obscure type of battery.
           
          Tired of recoiling your garden hose after each use. This coiled hose may be the answer you're looking for. It expands and retrack easily and the hanging rack can be easily mounted for convenient storage.
           

          what is the trick to getting it coiled and back into the storage rack?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Manchester, NH
          August 7, 2015
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Southern Oregon
          April 4, 2016
          Answer: 
          The hose is like a spring -- its natural state is coiled, so the second you stop pulling on it, it coils back into its original shape.
           
          The Dual-pawl technology of the 100-Positon ratchet in this Husky 20-piece universal socket wrench set provide incredible access to blots and fasteners where other ratchets simply can't. The 18 Knurl Grip universal sockets work on six different styles of fasteners, making this the ultimate socket set for any job. The Husky 20-piece 100-position universal socket wrench set is perfect for professional mechanics or the DIYer working around the house or in the garage needing access to hard to reach fasteners.
           

          i purchased this wrench set, but there isn't a casing or some type of box to put everything in. How do i store this and not lose everything?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          san diego
          January 31, 2016
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Central Connecticut
          February 14, 2016
          Answer: 
          You need to purchase a third-party socket container set.
           
          Equipped with the aggressive, Secure Catch design, the Tomcat Secure-Kill Rat Trap traps and kills rats quickly and effectively. It is easy to use and sets with a single touch. Escape is virtually impossible with the Secure Catch design, and the trap is non-toxic. The convenient grab-tab feature makes for easier disposal. Kills rats – guaranteed, (Satisfaction guaranteed or your money back).
           

          I have a little Shitzu Dog, if he attracted to the peanut butter could he get hurt ?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          fresno ca
          July 7, 2015
          You say safe for pets, but I don't know what that means
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Central Connecticut
          January 3, 2016
          Answer: 
          Safe for pets means no poison. This type of trap could absolutely injure a dog, particularly a small dog. If you use this trap, ensure that it is deployed in a location the dog absolutely cannot access.
           
          The Foscam FI9821P V2 is Foscam's first "Plug and Play" camera featuring the ability to connect via Smartphone by simply scanning the QR code on the underside of the camera. Bypassing the need for complicated setup procedures, the FI9821P V2 is perfect for home surveillance and can be set up effortlessly by anyone, even those with very little IT experience. The FI9821P V2 also features 1280 x 720p video resolution, h.264 video compression, built-in DVR via SD card (up to 32GB) and two-way audio.
           

          how long does this record for

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          las vegas, nv
          December 30, 2015
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Central Connecticut
          January 3, 2016
          Answer: 
          I haven't hit a limit, but truthfully I haven't tried any recordings longer than two minutes. The camera has no internal storage -- you must record to a smartphone or similar device. I would imagine that the device capacity is the limiting factor.