jakeparlay
  • Review count
    143
  • Helpfulness votes
    161
  • Average rating
    4.3
    4.3 out of 5
  • First Review:
    March 7, 2010
  • Last Review:
    April 30, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      17
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        143
      • Helpfulness votes
        161
      • Average rating
        4.3
        4.3 out of 5
      • First Review:
        March 7, 2010
      • Last Review:
        April 30, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          17
           
           
           
           
          jakeparlay's Reviews
           
          OdoBan Sports Edge Odor Release Laundry Detergent is a 3X Concentrate formula that incorporates a unique discontinuous micro emulsion technology for use in High-Efficiency (HE) washers, combining a neutral PH, low sudsing and quick dispersing detergent with anti-re-deposition polymers and enzymes to get the best odor and stain release cleaning performance available. Product is safe for use on all machine washable synthetic or natural fabrics. Additionally, in the interest of sustainability, this product's formula was developed to have a significantly reduced impact on several areas of environmental stress that impact the nitrogen cycle, phosphorous cycle and aquatic toxicity (i.e., downstream of septic tanks and municipal wastewater treatment).
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Removes body odor from gym clothes
          PostedApril 30, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I'm a runner and my gym clothes can get pretty stinky so I was excited to try Sports Edge which is specifically designed for activewear. I've previously used Tide Sport with Febreeze in it, which has a very heavy scent, but I prefer the Sports Edge because it doesn't smell really perfumed like other laundry detergents. It's a highly concentrated formula, so I've only been using up to the "2" fill line in the cap on a regular-sized load. lt removed the body odor from my gym clothes effectively, but definitely left the fragrance of my deodorant underneath the arms. (Luckily, it's a pleasant smell). Perhaps I need to try fill in the cap up to the maximum "3" fill line or pre-treating those Read More
          I'm a runner and my gym clothes can get pretty stinky so I was excited to try Sports Edge which is specifically designed for activewear. I've previously used Tide Sport with Febreeze in it, which has a very heavy scent, but I prefer the Sports Edge because it doesn't smell really perfumed like other laundry detergents. It's a highly concentrated formula, so I've only been using up to the "2" fill line in the cap on a regular-sized load. lt removed the body odor from my gym clothes effectively, but definitely left the fragrance of my deodorant underneath the arms. (Luckily, it's a pleasant smell). Perhaps I need to try fill in the cap up to the maximum "3" fill line or pre-treating those areas directly with the detergent. But overall, this works great for getting the stink out of sports clothes and it's a great value. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, eliminates bad odors
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The AF Lighting 8900-TL Skinny Dip Glass Table Lamp is crafted in molded glass with a smoke finish. The smoke design is accented with black nickel, with a finial of the same color glass. The shade is created by Candice Olson in a geometric pattern printed on semi-gloss paper, making this a winning combo of mixed mediums well assembled. Due to handcrafting, no 2 are alike.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Ultra-modern statement style
          PostedApril 30, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Candice Olson's skinny dip lamp is pretty pricey but it's definitely worth it if you're looking for a real statement piece. It's the most high-end design I've ever gotten from Home Depot. This lamp is quite large and has a bold geometric pattern on the shade, and the curvy, smoked-glass base has a beautiful reflective quality that really catches your eye. If you're into very modern decor, then this lamp is an amazing accent that will really elevate any room. It also has a 3-way switch so you can set real "mood lighting" . Finally, it comes very well packaged so you don't have to worry about the glass breaking during delivery. Just beautiful!
          Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, Easy to Assemble, Functional, High Quality of Material, Stylish, Unique
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Drainbo Stain and Odor Eliminator is a safe, bacillus and enzyme formula which completely eliminates pet stains and odor such as urine, fecal residue, drool, food and other hard to get out stains. It is effective on carpet, flooring, furniture, bedding, clothing and more. Unlike other products which simply mask odors our multi-strain bacillus formula penetrates deep into the stain digesting and removing the stain and odor.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great 2-in-1 product for stains and smells
          PostedApril 30, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We regularly get pet stains on our carpet, so I tried using the Drainbo on them. I'm typically skeptical about "natural" cleaning products because I feel like you need the chemicals to actually get clean, but this one was very effective and it's safe for pets. What I really like about the Drainbo spray is that it doesn't just mask odors with a heavy scent, it actually eliminates them. They use some type of natural enzyme formula that breaks down the odors, and in about 10 minutes, the smell is gone. This spray got out most of the carpet stains effectively, except for a few heavy ones that we'll have to power wash. Another bonus is that you don't have to scrub heavily like with Resolve spray Read More
          We regularly get pet stains on our carpet, so I tried using the Drainbo on them. I'm typically skeptical about "natural" cleaning products because I feel like you need the chemicals to actually get clean, but this one was very effective and it's safe for pets. What I really like about the Drainbo spray is that it doesn't just mask odors with a heavy scent, it actually eliminates them. They use some type of natural enzyme formula that breaks down the odors, and in about 10 minutes, the smell is gone. This spray got out most of the carpet stains effectively, except for a few heavy ones that we'll have to power wash. Another bonus is that you don't have to scrub heavily like with Resolve spray or similar carpet cleaner formulas. Overall, Drainbo's stain remover/odor eliminator is a great 2-in-1 product for pet owners. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, eliminates odors instead of masking them
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Ortho Deer-B-Gon 1 gal. ready-to-use Deer and Rabbit Repellent prevents damage caused by deer, rabbits and elk. It delivers long lasting and rain resistant performance. Ortho's formula is pleasant smelling and safe for people, pets and plants (when used as directed).
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Works really well and smells ok!
          PostedApril 30, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          My neighborhood is heavily infested with deer and they're always devouring whatever is in your garden. They're relentless, they can jump over fencing and will walk right across your driveway or deck with no fear. Ortho's Deer B-Gon actually works in helping to repel them from plantings and shrubs. Even though it's a little pricey, I prefer this ready-to-use spray. (I've also used Plantskydd concentrate, which you have to mix up with water yourself.) Deer B-Gon is definitely easier and the spray applicator works fine. You've got to re-apply it after heavy rains, but once you get into in the dry season, it lasts for a few weeks. I've been sticking to the instructions and re-applying it once a Read More
          My neighborhood is heavily infested with deer and they're always devouring whatever is in your garden. They're relentless, they can jump over fencing and will walk right across your driveway or deck with no fear. Ortho's Deer B-Gon actually works in helping to repel them from plantings and shrubs. Even though it's a little pricey, I prefer this ready-to-use spray. (I've also used Plantskydd concentrate, which you have to mix up with water yourself.) Deer B-Gon is definitely easier and the spray applicator works fine. You've got to re-apply it after heavy rains, but once you get into in the dry season, it lasts for a few weeks. I've been sticking to the instructions and re-applying it once a month. I also like the fact that it doesn't stink as bad as similar repellents. Ortho uses cinnamon and clove oil, which helps to mask the "eggy" sulfuric scent. I'd recommend this product if you've had issues with deer in the past. We don't have rabbit problems, so I can't comment on its effectiveness for them. Read Less
          Pros: Functionality, Strong, smells ok
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Hoover Power Path Deluxe Carpet Washer covers tough carpet cleaning with DualSpin PowerBrushes. The power of two brushes lift tough, deep down dirt up and out while its 11-3/4 in. wide path nozzle reaches to clean where life happens most. Get to upholstery, stairs and anywhere in between with the Accessory Tool Pack. Then easily clean and carry with a lightweight design and easy to empty Dual Tank Technology.
           
          from Southern Oregon
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          It works! Removes stains well
          PostedApril 30, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          We had some very old pet stains on our carpet and had previously tried to use Resolve carpet cleaner in a spray bottle, which didn't fully take out the stains. We tried the Power Path Deluxe on the same stains many months later, and it removed them with just a few swipes. The assembly was very easy, you only need a Phillips screwdriver for 3 screws, so we put it together in about 5 minutes. Definitely vacuum your carpet beforehand, so debris doesn't get stuck in the carpet washer. You can really see the dirt come up after only a couple passes, as the water in the chamber gets dirty. The only negative aspects are that it leaves a little trail of foam residue on the edge of where you last Read More
          We had some very old pet stains on our carpet and had previously tried to use Resolve carpet cleaner in a spray bottle, which didn't fully take out the stains. We tried the Power Path Deluxe on the same stains many months later, and it removed them with just a few swipes. The assembly was very easy, you only need a Phillips screwdriver for 3 screws, so we put it together in about 5 minutes. Definitely vacuum your carpet beforehand, so debris doesn't get stuck in the carpet washer. You can really see the dirt come up after only a couple passes, as the water in the chamber gets dirty. The only negative aspects are that it leaves a little trail of foam residue on the edge of where you last cleaned, which you can easily wipe up. Ours also dribbled a little when left in standing position after we finished cleaning. This is an excellent buy for pet owners, I'd highly recommend it for pet stains. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Empty Filter, Easy to Use, Good Size & Lightweight, Great Value, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Sturdy
          Cons: Noisy
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 29 >>
           
          jakeparlay's Questions
           
          jakeparlay has not submitted any questions.
           
          jakeparlay's Answers
           
          SteriPEN Ultra is an exceptionally advanced portable water purifier with an advanced OLED display that indicates treatment and battery status as well as an internal USB rechargeable battery. It quickly and effectively eliminates over 99.9% of bacteria, viruses and protozoa that cause water-borne illnesses, including giardia and cryptosporidium. Like all SteriPEN models, it carries the Water Quality Association’s Gold Seal, so you can be sure it’s safe and effective.
           

          batteries?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Southbridge MA
          November 27, 2015
          I read in one review that the reviewer takes spare batteries with her on trips abroad to use in the Ultra. Is this correct? I thought it was a sealed unit.
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Southern Oregon
          April 29, 2016
          Answer: 
          Some SteriPens use an external battery. This one is rechargeable via USB and is a sealed unit. This one is better. The models with replaceable batteries use a very obscure type of battery.
           
          Tired of recoiling your garden hose after each use. This coiled hose may be the answer you're looking for. It expands and retrack easily and the hanging rack can be easily mounted for convenient storage.
           

          what is the trick to getting it coiled and back into the storage rack?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Manchester, NH
          August 7, 2015
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Southern Oregon
          April 4, 2016
          Answer: 
          The hose is like a spring -- its natural state is coiled, so the second you stop pulling on it, it coils back into its original shape.
           
          The Dual-pawl technology of the 100-Positon ratchet in this Husky 20-piece universal socket wrench set provide incredible access to blots and fasteners where other ratchets simply can't. The 18 Knurl Grip universal sockets work on six different styles of fasteners, making this the ultimate socket set for any job. The Husky 20-piece 100-position universal socket wrench set is perfect for professional mechanics or the DIYer working around the house or in the garage needing access to hard to reach fasteners.
           

          i purchased this wrench set, but there isn't a casing or some type of box to put everything in. How do i store this and not lose everything?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          san diego
          January 31, 2016
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Central Connecticut
          February 14, 2016
          Answer: 
          You need to purchase a third-party socket container set.
           
          Tomcat Secure-Kill Rat Trap
          Tomcat Secure-Kill Rat Trap
          Equipped with the aggressive, Secure Catch design, the Tomcat Secure-Kill Rat Trap traps and kills rats quickly and effectively. It is easy to use and sets with a single touch. Escape is virtually impossible with the Secure Catch design, and the trap is non-toxic. The convenient grab-tab feature makes for easier disposal. Kills rats – guaranteed, (Satisfaction guaranteed or your money back).
           

          I have a little Shitzu Dog, if he attracted to the peanut butter could he get hurt ?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          fresno ca
          July 7, 2015
          You say safe for pets, but I don't know what that means
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Central Connecticut
          January 3, 2016
          Answer: 
          Safe for pets means no poison. This type of trap could absolutely injure a dog, particularly a small dog. If you use this trap, ensure that it is deployed in a location the dog absolutely cannot access.
           
          The Foscam FI9821P V2 is Foscam's first "Plug and Play" camera featuring the ability to connect via Smartphone by simply scanning the QR code on the underside of the camera. Bypassing the need for complicated setup procedures, the FI9821P V2 is perfect for home surveillance and can be set up effortlessly by anyone, even those with very little IT experience. The FI9821P V2 also features 1280 x 720p video resolution, h.264 video compression, built-in DVR via SD card (up to 32GB) and two-way audio.
           

          how long does this record for

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          las vegas, nv
          December 30, 2015
          Asked by
          jakeparlay
          Central Connecticut
          January 3, 2016
          Answer: 
          I haven't hit a limit, but truthfully I haven't tried any recordings longer than two minutes. The camera has no internal storage -- you must record to a smartphone or similar device. I would imagine that the device capacity is the limiting factor.