EricG
  • Review count
    95
  • Helpfulness votes
    131
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    July 28, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      58
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        95
      • Helpfulness votes
        131
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        July 28, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          58
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          Lamps come in many sizes and shapes, and so should light bulbs. Our new cylindrical-shaped LED Bright Stik was designed to fit even more sockets than ordinary bulbs. It is the ideal choice affordable LED light bulb that delivers instant brightness for any room in your house, while saving you 6 dollars a year, for each fixture. And will keep on doing just that for the next 13.7 years at 3 hours/day. That’s a long time you can spend not worrying about light bulbs.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Perfect LED light
          PostedJuly 28, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I was an early adopter of CFLs. Although the color left something to be desired, and the spiral design and first seems cute (but quickly became annoying), I was won over by the power savings and the convenience of long life.
          These LEDs are better in every way and the price point is now at a level where I will use them to replace each CFL as they fail.
          Pros: Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Energy Efficient, affordable
          +2points
          2out of 2found this review helpful.
           
          The Little Big Shot Super Nozzle is a simply superior nozzle. It provides 40% more force than the leading wand Jet nozzle, and 40% less water than the classic pistol nozzle. It is precision crafted from solid brass, and at a fraction of the weight of other adjustable nozzles, it required far less material from our environment to make. And, it is guaranteed not to leak. That's why the little Big Shot Super Nozzle is also 'Earth-Friendly'. We are convinced the Little Big Shot Adjustable Super Nozzle will be the nozzle you will demand on every hose you own. As a sweeper, it delivers a surprisingly 40% more powerful force vs. the leading wand Jet nozzle for quick and efficient sweeping jobs. With 40% less water volume than the classic pistol nozzle, It's water efficiency is simply remarkable. And, with our space-age Perma-Washer, the Little Big Shot Super Nozzle will not leak. You can buy a bigger nozzle, but you won’t get bigger performance or more ‘Earth-Friendly’ than the Little Big Shot Super Nozzle.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good nozzle for cleaning
          PostedJuly 28, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          I get a new hose nozzle every year or two, either because an old one breaks, leaks or otherwise fails, or in the hope of finally getting a really good one. The Little Big Shot comes close.
          On the plus side construction quality does seem good and the original design is interesting. Water passes through a soft plastic plug with a tapered hole. Three steel balls restrict the flow be pressing against the plug to constrict the hole. In the full open position the plug offers a smooth transition from the hose to a fairly small opening. The smoothness minimizes turbulence, so little energy is lost and the resulting narrow jet is very powerful and will blast away dirt. In this mode the nozzle does a Read More
          I get a new hose nozzle every year or two, either because an old one breaks, leaks or otherwise fails, or in the hope of finally getting a really good one. The Little Big Shot comes close.
          On the plus side construction quality does seem good and the original design is interesting. Water passes through a soft plastic plug with a tapered hole. Three steel balls restrict the flow be pressing against the plug to constrict the hole. In the full open position the plug offers a smooth transition from the hose to a fairly small opening. The smoothness minimizes turbulence, so little energy is lost and the resulting narrow jet is very powerful and will blast away dirt. In this mode the nozzle does a better job than any other nozzle that I have owned.
          As the control is rotated, the balls press on the plug deforming the hole, generating turbulence and spreading the jet to a fairly narrow misting spray. More rotation of the control returns the jet to a very narrow stream, but with less force. Finally the plug is blocked and the nozzle is turned off with no dripping.
          What is missing is a wide spray that mists a large area, so this nozzle is not very good for watering plants. The jet would strip away the leaves- or even the bark on a tree, while the mist spray is too narrow to easily irrigate a large shrub. For cleaning purposes the nozzle is very effective, it could only be bettered by a pressure washer.
          My other concern is how long the plug will last when exposed to sunlight. The instruction say to remove the nozzle after each use- I do that and store it in my shop, but that is an inconvenience. Read Less
          Pros: Great Quality
          Cons: lacks a wide spray
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          For use with most pool vacuum heads. Attaches easily and features a swivel cuff for kink-free maneuverability. The smooth spiral-wound design aids in flexibility and ensures maximum water flow rate.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Every pool needs one
          PostedJuly 9, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          My above ground pool came with an inferior vacuum hose that failed within a year. I replaced it with a better made hose that lasted four years before one of the end fittings split. That was very good considering it endured wild seasonal temperature swings, strong UV light and a brew of pool chemicals. It is still good enough that I will use for a dust collection hose in my shop.
          This hose is identical in look and feel, so much so that I suspect it may have come from the same factory. After a month in the pool it still feels fresh and new. I have every reason to expect it will perform just as well as the last one.
          Pros: Durable, long lasting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          WaterWorks 5/8 in. dia. x 100 ft. Contractor Grade Garden Hose
          WaterWorks 5/8 in. dia. x 100 ft. Contractor Grade Garden Hose
          This Contractor Grade hose is built tough for everyday use. Its size makes it highly kink resistant. Heavy duty crush-proof couplings along with a durable abrasion-resistant cover make this hose very popular with the demanding industrial trade. Added reinforcement gives this hose high burst strength for varying water pressures and long life on the job.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Not bad for the price
          PostedJuly 5, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Contractor grade can mean tough enough to survive on a job site. On the other hand contractor grade cabinets are made to look OK but are low quality. This hose lies somewhere in between.
          This hose is not as sturdy as my other working hoses, but is better than the budget priced ones I have used in the past. The end fittings are beefy, they look like brass but are too light, so I suspect they are anodized aluminum. The large size makes it easy to connect and disconnect.
          Sometimes I have to run hoses across my driveway where they get run over by vehicles. Premium hoses can take this abuse, but I am not sure that this hose is strong enough, so I will use it in a safer location. Because this Read More
          Contractor grade can mean tough enough to survive on a job site. On the other hand contractor grade cabinets are made to look OK but are low quality. This hose lies somewhere in between.
          This hose is not as sturdy as my other working hoses, but is better than the budget priced ones I have used in the past. The end fittings are beefy, they look like brass but are too light, so I suspect they are anodized aluminum. The large size makes it easy to connect and disconnect.
          Sometimes I have to run hoses across my driveway where they get run over by vehicles. Premium hoses can take this abuse, but I am not sure that this hose is strong enough, so I will use it in a safer location. Because this hose is apt to kink it is not ideal if you have to keep moving it, but considering its price it is really a great value. Read Less
          Pros: Great Value
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The WEN Electric 1/3 Sheet Sander puts reliable sanding right into the palm of your hand. This sander allows for the preciseness of sanding by hand with the added efficiency of 12,000 OPM worth of vibrational power. The 1.2-Amp motor sands away at abrasive surfaces while the vacuum adapter allows for easy attachment to either a dust collection device or the included dust collection bag. Plus, the 3 lbs. lightweight design ensures that your hands never get too tired. The WEN Electric 1/3 Sheet Sander also comes backed by a 1 year warranty, a nationwide network of skilled service technicians and a helpful customer service phone line and includes 1 sheet of sand paper. Remember WEN.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great sander!
          PostedJuly 3, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I've had a 1/4 sheet sander that I picked up in a garage sale a couple of decades ago. It does the job, but poorly. The paper often tears before it wears out. It is very noisy.
          This unit is an eye opener for me, it is light, powerful and almost quiet. It works fast and is a pleasure to use.
          The hook and loop pads cost a bit more than sheet abrasives, but they last longer. I'm converted!
          The built in dust catcher is not very effective, trapping only a small fraction of the generated dust, but anything is better than nothing.
          Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 19 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          The Melnor 5,600 sq. ft. Brass Impact Tripod Sprinkler is perfect for watering large areas. The pulsating sprinkler is attached to a durable metal tripod that extends 26-48 in. high and will water an area of up to 85 ft. in Dia.
           

          Could a person take the head off stand and extend height with a piece of pipe? Trying to water corn and it is not tall enough.

          Asked by
          Jakee
          Minnesota
          July 26, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 28, 2015
          Answer: 
          An easier way to extend the height is to take three lengths of one inch schedule 40 PVC pipe and slip them over the tripod legs. They will slide up to the lowest leg lock. The wider stance will make the sprayer more stable
           
          This RIDGID 10 in. Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 amp motor for speeds up to 3450 RPM. The cast iron table's milled and polished surface minimizes vibration and provides a flat, level surface for trouble-free cutting. There is a blade guard for safety. Customize your table by adding an extension or auxiliary tables for routers or other specialty tools.
           

          What's the weight of the saw without the stand

          Asked by
          tele505
          July 16, 2015
          At some point, I'd like to ditch the stand and mount it to a table. Curious what the Saw weighs without the stand.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 16, 2015
          Answer: 
          The legs are sheet steel and not at all heavy, The wheels and the linkage are a bit heavier but you would only be losing 10 or 20 pounds if you ditched them.
          The saw table surface is at workbench height when used with the legs, so if you mounted the saw on top of a workbench it would be too high for comfort- unless you are very tall!
           
          The BLACK & DECKER LST400 is ideal for trimming areas of overgrowth after mowing and edging along borders, sidewalks and flower beds. This trimmer features runtime extension technology with dual mode accelerator switch for high performance or longer run time. The adjustable height and pivoting handle positions provide maximum comfort and control.
           

          What size trimmer line does the cordless BD weed whacker use?

          Asked by
          David
          Seattle
          July 10, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 10, 2015
          Answer: 
          It uses 0.065 inch line
           
          For use with most pool vacuum heads. Attaches easily and features a swivel cuff for kink-free maneuverability. The smooth spiral-wound design aids in flexibility and ensures maximum water flow rate.
           

          can you connect two hoses together if one hose isn't long enough for your pool

          Asked by
          loop
          May 1, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 9, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes, just find a short length of plastic pipe that fits snugly inside the hose.. Use stainless steel hose clamps to secure each hose to the pipe.
           
          The WEN Electric 1/3 Sheet Sander puts reliable sanding right into the palm of your hand. This sander allows for the preciseness of sanding by hand with the added efficiency of 12,000 OPM worth of vibrational power. The 1.2-Amp motor sands away at abrasive surfaces while the vacuum adapter allows for easy attachment to either a dust collection device or the included dust collection bag. Plus, the 3 lbs. lightweight design ensures that your hands never get too tired. The WEN Electric 1/3 Sheet Sander also comes backed by a 1 year warranty, a nationwide network of skilled service technicians and a helpful customer service phone line and includes 1 sheet of sand paper. Remember WEN.
           

          Replacement backing pad?

          Asked by
          LittleBigheart
          Rochester, NY, USA
          June 30, 2015
          The backing pad for my sander is peeling off. Will probably not last long. Is there a replacement part offered?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 3, 2015
          Answer: 
          I can't find replacement pads on the HD website, but I'm sure they will carry them soon. I have seen them elsewhere locally, and of course they can be purchased online
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>