EricG
  • Review count
    157
  • Helpfulness votes
    190
  • Average rating
    4.5
    4.5 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    July 11, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      106
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        157
      • Helpfulness votes
        190
      • Average rating
        4.5
        4.5 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        July 11, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          106
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          LED Retrofit Kit consists of four 4 ft. LED Daylight Tubes. 8 non shunted sockets and 1 metal kit. This innovative kit comes complete for the end user to retrofit older 4 ft. fluorescent fixtures such as Troffers, Strip Lights, Wraps and Puffs.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Easy conversion yields more light
          PostedJuly 11, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Having recently converted my kitchen lighting to a new LED fixture it was time to convert one of my shop fluorescent fixtures to LED as the ballast had failed.
          My first pleasant surprise was when I looked at the new tubes, they were made of plastic! No more worries about shattering a tube and having a mercury laden toxic spill to clean up,
          The first thing I did was cut out all the wiring and remove the ballast. That made the fixture much lighter and easier to install on the ceiling.
          Wiring is simple- just connect the live and neutral wires to the tube supports. Only one end of each tube must be supplied with power. My fixture had two tubes so I prepared the wiring for two tube Read More
          Having recently converted my kitchen lighting to a new LED fixture it was time to convert one of my shop fluorescent fixtures to LED as the ballast had failed.
          My first pleasant surprise was when I looked at the new tubes, they were made of plastic! No more worries about shattering a tube and having a mercury laden toxic spill to clean up,
          The first thing I did was cut out all the wiring and remove the ballast. That made the fixture much lighter and easier to install on the ceiling.
          Wiring is simple- just connect the live and neutral wires to the tube supports. Only one end of each tube must be supplied with power. My fixture had two tubes so I prepared the wiring for two tube holders as shown in the photo. The two holders were placed at one end of the fixture and connected to the incoming power cord using (yellow) wire nuts that were not included. Two more of the new tube holders were installed at the other end of the fixtures without any wiring being connected. The fixture, now much lighter was reassembled and returned to the ceiling. Then the tubes were installed.
          The LED tubes were about half the diameter of the old ones so they seemed much more intense.. My fixture did not have a diffuser, but the total light output was greater than the neighboring fixture, as shown in the photo. The light from the other fixtures seemed yellower in comparison.
          I will not hesitate to do the conversion to the other shop lights as soon as they show signs of failing. The power savings will pay for the conversion in a short time. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Very Bright
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The TG167 is an imaging thermometer which bridges the gap between single spot IR thermometers and FLIR's industry leading thermal cameras. with FLIR's exclusive Lepton micro thermal camera, the TG167 will show you where potential problems are emerging so you can know exactly where to make your IR measurement. The TG167 will let you spot heat patterns and reliably measure temperature with its simple and intuitive operation. This meter features a durable, pocket portable construction, an 80x60 IR resolution, 25x19.6 degree field of view and a 2 in. LCD screen. Meter comes with 8 Gb Micro SD card, lanyard, power supply/cable, and printed documentation.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Quality precision temperature measuring tool
          PostedJuly 6, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I got this tool for a specific purpose- to optimize a 3D printer that I am designing. Already I see many other uses for it.
          The device works in two ways. To measure the temperature of something, press the trigger and laser dots show where you are measuring and the temperature at that point is displayed. In addition, an infra red image of the target is displayed with colors representing temperature. Coolest areas are blue with violet, orange, yellow and white representing higher temperatures. This mode provides a quick was of seeing where heat is lost in a house, or where a bearing in a machine is heating up prior to failure. The plain bearings on my 75 year old metal lathe checked out Read More
          I got this tool for a specific purpose- to optimize a 3D printer that I am designing. Already I see many other uses for it.
          The device works in two ways. To measure the temperature of something, press the trigger and laser dots show where you are measuring and the temperature at that point is displayed. In addition, an infra red image of the target is displayed with colors representing temperature. Coolest areas are blue with violet, orange, yellow and white representing higher temperatures. This mode provides a quick was of seeing where heat is lost in a house, or where a bearing in a machine is heating up prior to failure. The plain bearings on my 75 year old metal lathe checked out fine. Poor electrical connections can be spotted by their heat signature. Just make sure the connections are carrying current.
          The 54 page manual looked intimidating, but is clear and well written. It provides information useful when you want to get the most precise results. To calculate the temperature from the infra red radiation that the device detects, a factor called emissivity must be taken into account. This is a property that ranges between zero and one. The default value is 0.95 which works well for many materials. Shiny metals have lower values and they can be fount in a table in the manual. As an experiment I measured a part of my desk using emissivity values of 0.95 and 0.3, the displayed values differed by 3 degrees F, so the error you get from using the wrong value of emissivity is quite small.
          As a check on the absolute accuracy, I measured the temperature of a pot of boiling water on the stove and got the value of 205F rather than 212F. Then I remembered that I live at 4,100 feet elevation and using an online calculator found that water here does boil at 205F, so in this case the meter was spot on.
          The tool comes with a wrist lanyard, a battery charger and a set of plug adapters so you can use it in many foreign countries. Read Less
          Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy to Use, Lots of Features
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This Samsung Electric Dryer is an eco-friendly, 2016 ENERGY STAR-certified dryer with 14 preset drying cycles. It features a large 7.5 cu. ft. capacity that allows you to quickly do more laundry in a single load. Best of all, you'll spend less time ironing and less money at the dry cleaner's with the Multi-Steam feature that helps remove wrinkles and odors while freshening your clothes.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Stylish and feature rich
          PostedJuly 4, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Features 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Energy efficiency 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This dryer was installed just after installing the companion Samsung washing machine. Although the units are the same size, the dryer is substantially lighter, which made for an easier install. Not that this is a flimsy product, it is much sturdier than the basic model it replaced.
          The only minor complication installing this unit was the need to supply it with cold water. A Y-hose adapter and a short hose was included so that the dryer could be supplied from the same faucet that supplied the washer. All I had to add was an addition hose of the right length to reach the dryer. It is best to hook up the electric cord and the hose before sliding the drier next to the washer if your laundry Read More
          This dryer was installed just after installing the companion Samsung washing machine. Although the units are the same size, the dryer is substantially lighter, which made for an easier install. Not that this is a flimsy product, it is much sturdier than the basic model it replaced.
          The only minor complication installing this unit was the need to supply it with cold water. A Y-hose adapter and a short hose was included so that the dryer could be supplied from the same faucet that supplied the washer. All I had to add was an addition hose of the right length to reach the dryer. It is best to hook up the electric cord and the hose before sliding the drier next to the washer if your laundry area is small, as mine was.
          The control panel was slightly less intimidating than that of the washer, but it still has lots of options. The display is clear and easy to use. One feature is new to me is the 'refresh' cycle that sprays water on the clothes and re-dries them to reduce wrinkles. My wife likes that feature, but I am happy with wrinkled clothes.
          My only regret is that this machine is almost as noisy as my old basic model dryer, wheres the companion washer is markedly quieter than the machine it replaced. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Lots of Features
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Samsung 4.5 cu. ft. Washer featuring AddWash. Open the AddWash door to conveniently add in any forgotten laundry after the wash cycle has begun. Wash a full load in only 36 minutes and get more laundry done faster with Super Speed. The combination of AddWash, large capacity, and Super Speed, saves you time and energy.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          The quality is obvious
          PostedJune 28, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Energy efficiency 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have owned more than half a dozen low end washing machines, most coming with the purchase of a house. Several have broken and I have been able to fix some of them, although spare parts are expensive. My last machine still worked but had a defective cold water valve that added several hours to the wash time. Time for a better machine.
          If the build quality is as good as it looks it will likely outlast me. The first thing I noticed was the weight- over 200 lbs, I used a hand truck to move it several hundred feet over rough ground and a few low steps. The packing was excellent but made the machine so bulky it only just got in the door. The outside of the box gave clear detailed unpacking Read More
          I have owned more than half a dozen low end washing machines, most coming with the purchase of a house. Several have broken and I have been able to fix some of them, although spare parts are expensive. My last machine still worked but had a defective cold water valve that added several hours to the wash time. Time for a better machine.
          If the build quality is as good as it looks it will likely outlast me. The first thing I noticed was the weight- over 200 lbs, I used a hand truck to move it several hundred feet over rough ground and a few low steps. The packing was excellent but made the machine so bulky it only just got in the door. The outside of the box gave clear detailed unpacking instructions. Hookup was easy once the machine was moved into position.
          The operating instructions were intimidating at first, but the complex control panel was logical and has many options I have yet to try. It even has an option to add internet access! The machine is much quieter than the old one, and does an excellent job of cleaning clothes. Read Less
          Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Easy to Install, High Quality
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          This 4 ft. Wrap light perfect for any application where high quality LED lighting is required for your workspace. It can be easily installed. Using Commercial Electric LED Light fixtures will save you significant dollars with regard to your operation costs.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This light transformed my kitchen
          PostedJune 27, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I used this light to replace a very old fluorescent fixture in my kitchen. The light is expected to last over 40 years and pay for itself many times over.
          Installation was simple, but made more so because the unit is so much lighter than the old one. The live and neutral connection is made with special plug and socket which apparently accepts 14 gauge wire and would be easier than using wire nuts. Unfortunately the house wiring used 12 gauge so I had to trim off the connector and and use some wire nuts.
          The light fixture is much more attractive than the old one, but the biggest difference is the light it emits. I am OK with the color of fluorescent lighting, but the color emitted by Read More
          I used this light to replace a very old fluorescent fixture in my kitchen. The light is expected to last over 40 years and pay for itself many times over.
          Installation was simple, but made more so because the unit is so much lighter than the old one. The live and neutral connection is made with special plug and socket which apparently accepts 14 gauge wire and would be easier than using wire nuts. Unfortunately the house wiring used 12 gauge so I had to trim off the connector and and use some wire nuts.
          The light fixture is much more attractive than the old one, but the biggest difference is the light it emits. I am OK with the color of fluorescent lighting, but the color emitted by these LEDs is so much nicer, a true white without being harsh. The kitchen is transformed, the only downside is that now I will have to replace all my other fixtures. Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Easy to Assemble, perfect color balance
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 32 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          The New Defiant LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. This LED motion light provides seamless light coverage for increased safety, security and peace of mind. Never change a bulb with this new LED technology. Install quickly and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature beautifies, protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected. Energy Star certified.
           

          What is the ideal height to install this fixture? Is 6 1/2 ft. too low?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          July 24, 2016
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 26, 2016
          Answer: 
          I have mine at about 6ft 6 and it works fine. As it gets lower it will shine in your eyes more, so put it as high as you can
           
          Melnor's amazing new Talon Telescoping Bypass Lopper provides unique curved shafts that require less arm extension when fully extended. This allows more to be used for cutting with less strain. The professional grade forged steel blades are titanium coated to reduce sticking and friction giving the homeowner years of reliable service.
           

          What is the offical cutting capacity?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Westchester, NY
          July 20, 2016
          For instance, up to 2" branches?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 23, 2016
          Answer: 
          That depends upon how much force you can apply, and also how tough the branch is. Anything much over one inch I find is easiest to cut with a small hand saw. I first try with these loppers and switch to the saw when needed.
           
          This 4 ft. Wrap light perfect for any application where high quality LED lighting is required for your workspace. It can be easily installed. Using Commercial Electric LED Light fixtures will save you significant dollars with regard to your operation costs.
           

          Can this fixture be wall mounted?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          queens, ny
          July 9, 2016
          I want to light a 12 ft. long closet. Adding ceiling fixtures is not permitted.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 12, 2016
          Answer: 
          I see no reason why not. The diffuser snaps in, so will not fall out.
           
          For the most demanding watering needs, use the WaterWorks 5/8 in. x 100 ft. FlexRITE water hose. Its tough scuff resistant jacket, super duty crush resistant couplings and patented hose armor make it perfect for the most demanding home owner or contractor. The high burst strength will assure years of high performance and a limited lifetime warranty will give you confidence this hose is going to last.
           

          Can you attach a sprayer to this hose?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          July 4, 2016
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 9, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, it has standard hose threads at each end
           
          The New Defiant Bluetooth smart LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. No need to climb ladders for motion sensor adjustment as the innovative use of Bluetooth smart Technology allows sensor control from your smart phone device. Bluetooth smart technology allows control of light level outside your home by adjustable dimming feature. LED technology provides no bulbs to change. Install quick and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected.
           

          Do you have to utilize the Dusk-to-Dawn feature or can you disable it?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Humboldt, IA
          July 6, 2016
          I would rather not have it producing light other than when it detects motion.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 7, 2016
          Answer: 
          Mine is set up so that the light only comes on when it detects motion at night
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 22 >>