EricG
  • Review count
    73
  • Helpfulness votes
    106
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    March 31, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      47
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        73
      • Helpfulness votes
        106
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        March 31, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          47
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          PureBond plywood project panels are a convenient and cost-effective way to build cabinets, furniture and other woodworking projects. Made in the USA with sustainably-harvested American hardwoods, they provide a beautiful wood veneer face bonded to a strong and flat wood core. These PureBond project panels are made with no added formaldehyde, eliminating the concern about off-gassing dangerous fumes during fabrication or when installed in your home. Their smaller size makes them easy to handle and allows you to order just the amount of wood you need. PureBond plywood, in project panel sizes or in full sheet sizes, are a Home Depot exclusive.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good product when a nice finish is needed
          PostedMarch 31, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I don't do a lot of woodworking that requires a decorative finish, but this panel had a flawless and attractive grain pattern and takes finish well.
          Within a few days of bringing it to our dry high desert air, the panel had warped rather more than I would expect for a 3/4" panel, but not enough that it was difficult to straighten out. It also had 8 exposed voids on the edge of the panel, but none bigger than 1/8" by 1".
          Pros: High Quality of Material, Stylish, Seals Well
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Empire 72 in. Aluminum Straight Edge Ruler has many uses in the home and workshop. It has a heavy-duty aluminum frame for strength, and features easy-reading inch scale graduations, allowing measurements to be more accurate. It is designed to measure surfaces up to 6 ft. and the straight edge can also be used for tracing and drawing straight lines.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Could not be better
          PostedMarch 6, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          A long time ago I bought a 4 ft ruler for cutting drywall and over the years it has been used for lots of layout work on numerous projects of all kind. Sometimes though it just was not long enough.
          The extra two feet of length on this ruler is really useful for my latest project, and I am sure it will see lots of use in years ahead.
          As soon as I got it, I tested it against the old ruler, and the two fit together with almost imperceptible gaps when held up against a light, certainly no more than 1/100 of an inch. The markings also matched at the same level of accuracy.
          Pros: Accurate, Strong
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The SmartlockPro Outlet Branch Circuit (OBC) AFCI Receptacle offers advanced technology to help protect against electrical fires resulting from arc-faults. Designed to detect a wide range of potentially hazardous arc-faults resulting from damage in branch circuit wiring as well as extensions to branches such as appliances and cord sets, the OBC AFCI responds by interrupting power. This helps reduce the likelihood of the home’s electrical system being an ignition source of a fire. Often unseen, arc-faults can occur anywhere in the home’s electrical system including within walls, at loose electrical connections or within electrical cords accidently damaged by impinging furniture. AFCI’s are now required by the National Electrical Code in many areas of the home.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Could be a life saver
          PostedMarch 6, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Having an old home in the country, far from any fire department, and built and maintained in the past by people with questionable skills so I am doing everything I can to stay safe. The only sources of heat are electric, so for me AFCIs make perfect sense. A failing heater can have internal arcs that do not draw enough current to trip the breaker and can still produce localized heat to start a fire. An AFCI detects this and shuts down instantly.
          Installation is no harder than a regular outlet, and can also be used to protect other outlets on the same branch further away from the breaker box.
          Pros: Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          50-Piece driving set is ideal for home project ideas. The driving set provides long lasting use. The compact design makes for convenient carrying.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Get it for the case alone
          PostedFebruary 24, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Like some people, my driver bits are mostly jumbled loose in a drawer, others are in half empty or broken cases. This set finally gives me the chance to be well organized.
          The set comes with 49 different bits and a bit holder. A few of the bits have now had moderate use and show minimal signs of wear, so the bits themselves seem to be high quality, although no bit will last forever.
          The case is what makes this set special. Considering how many bits it holds it is very compact- it fits in my pants pocket- but only just. Each bit is locked in place and easy to get to. There is even space for more loose bits, and I carry spares for the sizes that I use most- Phillips 2 and square drive.
          Like some people, my driver bits are mostly jumbled loose in a drawer, others are in half empty or broken cases. This set finally gives me the chance to be well organized.
          The set comes with 49 different bits and a bit holder. A few of the bits have now had moderate use and show minimal signs of wear, so the bits themselves seem to be high quality, although no bit will last forever.
          The case is what makes this set special. Considering how many bits it holds it is very compact- it fits in my pants pocket- but only just. Each bit is locked in place and easy to get to. There is even space for more loose bits, and I carry spares for the sizes that I use most- Phillips 2 and square drive.
          I can only think of two things that could make this set better- replace the magnetic bit holder with one with a free spinning sleeve, and make the case from titanium. I solved the first by swapping out the bit holder. Despite having dropped the case a few times, it hasn't cracked, so maybe titanium isn't needed after all. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, All In One, Compact
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          This carbide tipped scriber is 6 in. long. Works great when you need to mark metal, glass, wood, etc. It includes a handy pocket clip. Ideal for machinists, welders and mechanics.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Attractive and useful
          PostedFebruary 23, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Anyone who attempts to make precision metal parts uses a scriber to mark out layout lines. I have one that I picked up years ago at a garage sale, but it does a poor job on even mild steel, the tip is just not hard enough, and it does not even touch high speed steel lathe tools when I'm trying to mark them out prior to grinding.
          This scriber has a carbide tip that produces fine lines on the hardest steel and even on glass. As a bonus it looks like a high end pen, it would make an attractive birthday gift for a machinist.
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, marks almost anything
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 15 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          This RIDGID 10 in. Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 amp motor for speeds up to 3450 RPM. The cast iron table's milled and polished surface minimizes vibration and provides a flat, level surface for trouble-free cutting. There is a blade guard for safety. Customize your table by adding an extension or auxiliary tables for routers or other specialty tools.
           

          does this saw come with the stand?

          Asked by
          Stormy
          Puyallup, Wa
          February 15, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 16, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes, the included legs provide a firm support. If your floor is uneven, there are adjusting screws to compensate. Four retractable wheels let you move the saw from one part of your shop to another. You wouldn't be able to transport the saw over soft ground however, because the saw is too heavy for the small wheels.
           
          The Bosch GLL 2 Self-Leveling Cross-Line Laser is a compact and high-performance leveling and alignment solution for professionals. Featuring highly visible laser lines, a smart pendulum leveling system and a flexible mounting device, the GLL 2 provides the accuracy, reliability and durability needed on any job. Included with the GLL 2 is the MM 2 flexible mounting device giving professionals the versatility needed for multiple leveling and alignment applications.
           

          Work on horizontal surfaces?

          Asked by
          Tony
          Western Mass
          September 23, 2014
          Can the crosshairs be projected downward onto a horizontal surface such as a floor (for laying out tiles)?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 14, 2015
          Answer: 
          No, the tool projects the horizontal line at the height of the window in the tool, which would always be at least a few inches above the floor.
          However set the tool so that the beam is a convenient height above the floor- say 12 inches, and then use a ruler to measure down from the laser line to the tiles, if it is 12 inches then you are spot on!
           
          Step up to designer styles and superior security with Kwikset signature series products. The 980 deadbolt is both tough and attractive. The Polished Brass finish adds to the traditional look and feel of the product and makes a classic statement. The single cylinder deadbolt can be locked or unlocked by a key on the outside, or the turn button on the inside. Smart Key Re-key Technology allows you to control who has access to your home. Re-key the lock yourself in seconds in 3 easy steps. Have you recently moved or had a child lose a key. It's time to re-key. Smart Key provides the highest level of residential security and features Bump Guard to protect against lock bumping.
           

          when ready to rekey, where does one purchace the new keys?

          Asked by
          Suzyal2
          February 9, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 10, 2015
          Answer: 
          You go to the kitchen drawer that holds all the old keys that don't fit anything. Pick one and then have as many copies made as you need.
          Lacking such a drawer, I suspect a locksmith could probably help you out.
           
          This RIDGID 10 in. Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 amp motor for speeds up to 3450 RPM. The cast iron table's milled and polished surface minimizes vibration and provides a flat, level surface for trouble-free cutting. There is a blade guard for safety. Customize your table by adding an extension or auxiliary tables for routers or other specialty tools.
           

          Is this saw sold as pictured in the add for Home Depot?

          Asked by
          safish
          Winder, GA
          February 5, 2015
          It talks about table extentions not included under specifications, but I don't know if they are showing the table extensions in the add or if the picture in the add is without the table extentions....
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 5, 2015
          Answer: 
          The picture shows the saw as it is delivered.. The instruction manual gives simple instructions for filling the the area to the right to add more table surface for small work that would otherwise fall through the frame. It is easy enough to do when you have a table saw! I chose to add an old router to my table extension, so I don't need a separate router table in my already crowded shop.
           
          This RIDGID 10 in. Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 amp motor for speeds up to 3450 RPM. The cast iron table's milled and polished surface minimizes vibration and provides a flat, level surface for trouble-free cutting. There is a blade guard for safety. Customize your table by adding an extension or auxiliary tables for routers or other specialty tools.
           

          How good accurate is the fence itself?

          Asked by
          Matt
          Arkansas
          January 22, 2015
          I apologize if it's been asked already, but how accurate is the fence itself? I currently have a Bosch 4100-09 table saw and am wanting to get more of a stationary saw. The fence on it is fairly inaccurate so every time you move it you have to measure...every time.

          Does this table saw have a better fence that's stiffer? I know it's a one-handed operation, but I want to be able to make quick cuts and not have to always measure front and back to the blade!

          Thanks for your help.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          January 23, 2015
          Answer: 
          I've had this saw for two years. I lined everything up when I got it and I haven't had to readjust it since. The fence locks parallel to the blade to 'woodworking accuracy' every time - certainly within 1/64"
          I'm sure there are better table saws but they will be much heavier and more expensive. I like that it can be easily moved on a smooth concrete floor, but it is far from being portable like your Read More
          I've had this saw for two years. I lined everything up when I got it and I haven't had to readjust it since. The fence locks parallel to the blade to 'woodworking accuracy' every time - certainly within 1/64"
          I'm sure there are better table saws but they will be much heavier and more expensive. I like that it can be easily moved on a smooth concrete floor, but it is far from being portable like your Bosch. Read Less
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>