EricG
  • Review count
    193
  • Helpfulness votes
    226
  • Average rating
    4.5
    4.5 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    January 10, 2017
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      153
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        193
      • Helpfulness votes
        226
      • Average rating
        4.5
        4.5 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        January 10, 2017
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          153
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          The BLACK+DECKER BDCDD120C is ideal for most drilling and driving applications. Hang pictures, shelves and more in a snap with this compact, do-it-all drill/driver. Small and lighter than most, it fits in tight spaces (with an LED to light your way) while still delivering the power needed to complete most household tasks.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Compact powerfull drill
          PostedJanuary 10, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is my third Black and Decker cordless drill/driver. My first, a Ni-Cad model is still working after almost 20 years of hard use, though its battery now has only a third of its original capacity. My second drill is a two-speed with a 20V Lithium Ion battery is much more powerful than the old unit and still holds up after years of hard use. I expect this new drill to last well too, the build quality looks to be excellent.
          The ergonomics are good, the drill is comfortable to use and it is perfectly balanced. It will fit in spaces too small for my other drills. I plan to keep in in the house to save me going the hundred yards to the shop each time a domestic emergency demands the use of Read More
          This is my third Black and Decker cordless drill/driver. My first, a Ni-Cad model is still working after almost 20 years of hard use, though its battery now has only a third of its original capacity. My second drill is a two-speed with a 20V Lithium Ion battery is much more powerful than the old unit and still holds up after years of hard use. I expect this new drill to last well too, the build quality looks to be excellent.
          The ergonomics are good, the drill is comfortable to use and it is perfectly balanced. It will fit in spaces too small for my other drills. I plan to keep in in the house to save me going the hundred yards to the shop each time a domestic emergency demands the use of a drill. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Light Weight, Powerful
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Porter-Cable PCE6435 Laminate Trimmer is ideal for most trimming, small edge forming and hinge routing applications. This trimmer is designed with a 16,000 - 35,000 RPM, 5.6 amp motor provides the power and durability required to cut in various materials. Ergonomics allow for comfortable, single-handed control of the trimmer.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great trimmer and versatile tool
          PostedJanuary 9, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          In the past I have used medium sized routers for laminate trimming and while they do the job, I now realize how much easier it is to use a tool designed for this job.
          The build quality seems good and the design and ergonomics are great. I can see this tool getting a lot of use, but it will not just be limited to trimming. While I have two routers, the big one is usually tied up on a radius cutting jig, and the medium size router is installed under the deck of my HD table saw. I find that this trimmer is more than powerful enough to handle small size router bits and the small size makes it especially easy to handle.
          Pros: Accurate, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Hoover WindTunnel 2 Rewind Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum comes equipped with what you need to get at the stubborn pet hair but still get deep down cleaning. It's designed with exclusive WindTunnel 2 Technology that lifts and removes deep-down, embedded dirt with 2 channels of suction. The WindTunnel 2 Rewind Pet helps you manage all your vacuuming and cleaning needs with convenient features like a reusable, easy-rinse filter and a rubberized pet tool accessory pack that remove stubborn pet hair where ever it may be hiding. And when you're done vacuuming, simply empty the debris with its convenient bottom-release (x-large) high capacity dirt cup.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Usage frequency:Daily
          Received free product:Yes
          Capable cleaner
          PostedJanuary 9, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Features 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This cleaner provides up to date features in a classic design. It replaces a 5 year old mid range bagless vacuum which will spend the rest of its life in my shop.
          It has good suction which sets it apart from the machines of a decade ago. Living in the desert, I need to be able to pick up the sand and tiny stones that find their way into our house, and this cleaner passes that test. We also have cats, and while this model has a pet hair attachment it proves mostly ineffective at picking cat hair from fabric covered furniture. However, none of our past cleaners have done any better.
          One feature that is new to me is the automatic cord retraction. The cord is removed from sight in a couple Read More
          This cleaner provides up to date features in a classic design. It replaces a 5 year old mid range bagless vacuum which will spend the rest of its life in my shop.
          It has good suction which sets it apart from the machines of a decade ago. Living in the desert, I need to be able to pick up the sand and tiny stones that find their way into our house, and this cleaner passes that test. We also have cats, and while this model has a pet hair attachment it proves mostly ineffective at picking cat hair from fabric covered furniture. However, none of our past cleaners have done any better.
          One feature that is new to me is the automatic cord retraction. The cord is removed from sight in a couple of seconds. Unfortunately the time saving is largely lost because pulling the cord out takes longer than simply slipping a coiled cord off a hook. The cord on this cleaner is about 5 feet shorter than on the old machine, which does mean that the I cannot clean the whole living room without moving the plug to a second outlet..
          One feature that I appreciate is that all the accessories can be stowed on the machine, the old cleaner came with a tote bag to hold them all.
          I have to use the crevice tool at floor level a lot, and the tubes are too short to do this without stooping. I will have to fabricate an extra section of tubing to extend the reach so as to spare my back.
          Most of the fittings have positive locks which means that they do not fall off, which used to be a problem on some older cleaners that I have used.
          Despite minor criticisms, this is a capable cleaner and I hope to be using it for years to come. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Empty Filter, Easy to Use, Strong Suction
          Cons: Cord Length
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The new Husky air tool line in built to industrial standards for the professional user providing more power, less noise and longer life. This new Husky 3 in. Cut-Off Tool features low weight housing with rubberized handle overmold for comfort. Precision bearings reduce vibration and spindle run-out and internal silencing greatly reduces tool noise. The tool operates at 20,000 RPM. Designed for cutting sheet metal, plastics, composites, siding, auto mufflers, bolts, screws and rivets. The large motor design provides ultimate stall resistance.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Compact cutter for cramped spaces
          PostedDecember 25, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This cut off saw cuts steel very quickly for a hand held tool.
          No assembly is required except for attaching the blade with the wrenches included and adding an air hose fitting. It cuts quickly with very little vibration and it will fit in cramped spaces where I could not easily use a hacksaw. There is an ingenious safety interlock that makes it unlikely that you would start the tool unintentionally.
          Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Compact
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The new Husky air tool line in built to industrial standards for the professional user providing more power, less noise and longer life. This new Husky Air Shear features low weight composite housing and textured handle for comfort. Precision gears and bearings reduce vibration and spindle run-out and internal silencing greatly reduces tool noise. The tool is capable of cutting 1/16 in. steel sheet. Designed for cutting and trimming sheet metals used on cars, trucks, recreational vehicles and building siding.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Smooth and fast cutting
          PostedDecember 23, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I try to avoid sheet metal, but I have several shears and a nibbler but none is really satisfactory. The shears distort the sheet and nibblers are very hard work- I once cut out all the sheet metal for a car body with one.
          However this tool makes life easy. Like a nibbler this tool removes a narrow strip of metal on the 'waste' side of the cut line. The rapid action of the blade allows you to feed the tool smoothly through the metal. It is easy to make accurate cuts almost effortlessly.
          The design of the tool prevents you from feeding metal that is too thick- but anything that thick is better cut with a saw anyway.
          Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 39 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          For DIYers and professional tradesmen who recognize the importance of going green and using natural timber harvested in a responsible manner, turn to this FSC-certified PureBond Red Oak Plywood from Columbia Forest Products. Each panel features a decorative red oak veneer on the face, which exudes the warmth and beauty of natural hardwood to supply your carpentry creations with visual allure. Furthermore, the 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. panels are manufactured with a soy-based PureBond technology that is formaldehyde-free so it won’t deteriorate air quality, as is common with UF-constructed sheets that are susceptible to releasing airborne contaminants over time. Intended for interior use, these red oak plywood panels are an affordable way to craft authentic hardwood-faced masterpieces such as built-in cabinets, entertainment centers, tables, shelves, headboards, wall panels and more. With an eye toward sustainability, Columbia takes pride in manufacturing this Earth-conscious product and takes seriously its responsibility in replenishing forests for future generations.
           

          How durable is this in regards to building a custom computer desk? Holding a glass top, 1-2 monit...

          Asked by
          TechKhris
          January 14, 2017
          How durable is this in regards to building a custom computer desk? Holding a glass top, 1-2 monitors, and other small accessories?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          January 14, 2017
          Answer: 
          It is pretty stiff. If you find it needs stiffening you can add ribs underneath, though I doubt you will need to
           
          The BLACK+DECKER BDCDD120C is ideal for most drilling and driving applications. Hang pictures, shelves and more in a snap with this compact, do-it-all drill/driver. Small and lighter than most, it fits in tight spaces (with an LED to light your way) while still delivering the power needed to complete most household tasks.
           

          does this drill in screws forward and backwards as well as just drilling holes?

          Asked by
          willow
          December 16, 2016
          does this drill in screws forward and backwards as well as just drilling holes?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          January 10, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes it is reversible by means of a side switch above and behind the trigger
           
          The New Defiant 180-Degree LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away nighttime darkness. This LED motion light provides seamless light coverage for increased safety, security and peace of mind. Never change a bulb again with this new LED technology. Install quickly and safely with three friendly, DIY easy steps to connect. The DualBrite feature beautifies, protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from dusk-to-dawn and full light when motion is detected.
           

          How many hours will this last? 50,000???

          Asked by
          JChesh
          December 31, 2016
          How many hours will this last? 50,000???
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          January 3, 2017
          Answer: 
          LEDs typically have a life of around 50,000 hours, so with a one percent duty cycle that is a little under 1,000 years
           
          Viagrow Submersible Water Pumps are an excellent choice for use in aquariums, hydroponic gardening, aquaponics, statuary and pond installations, and more. Well-constructed and extremely durable. These pumps come with a 1 year satisfaction guarantee.
           

          I would like to know if the 925 GPH is the gallons per hour?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          January 1, 2017
          I would like to know if the 925 GPH is the gallons per hour?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          January 2, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes, gallons per hour, though the actual flow may be reduced depending upon what the pump is connected to
           
          The TOUGHBUILT GELFIT Stabilizer Knee Pads redefine how professionals use their knee pads. This patented kneepad system allows the rock-steady Stabilizer SnapShell to be removed entirely or interchanged with other SnapShells. Create the exact knee pad to fit every job. Its unique construction creates a wide footprint to the front, sides and rear. This eliminates tipping-over, creates a stable, comfortable feel and decreases pressure on the ankles. Ergonomic gel and foam design embraces the natural shape of the knee and upper shin, maximizing pressure distribution for all-day comfort. High side walls greatly reduce twisting off of the knee. Secondary tension straps allow incremental adjustment, keeping the tops from falling away and twisting. Rugged materials and construction make these reliable knee pads withstand the most rigorous working conditions.
           

          this price it's for one or two knee pads left and right

          Asked by
          gordo
          December 24, 2016
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          December 24, 2016
          Answer: 
          Two pads, L&R, it would be tough to hop on hands and knee!
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 31 >>