EricG
  • Review count
    131
  • Helpfulness votes
    152
  • Average rating
    4.5
    4.5 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    February 8, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      82
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        131
      • Helpfulness votes
        152
      • Average rating
        4.5
        4.5 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        February 8, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          82
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          IDC's 2000 Lumen Portable LED Work Light is easy to transport with the comfort ergonomic grip handle. Complete with 20-high power 1 Watt white light LEDs. 18-Gauge power cord measures 5 ft. Fixture stays cool to the touch for increased safety, no need to replace bulbs. 20-super bright LED to illuminate your area with a total of 2,000 lumens of light output. May be used indoor/outdoor, includes weatherproof on/off power switch. Adjustment knobs allow quick and easy alterations for lighting direction control. Heavy duty handle features a comfortable foam ergonomic grip. LEDs lights are perfect for many applications and will provide years of maintenance free use, while saving on energy costs.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice lamp. poor QC and customer service
          PostedFebruary 8, 2016
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          This is a nice looking LED lamp that puts out a lot of light and consumes very little power. The only problem was the box was missing the bag that contains all the small parts, so the lamp was almost useless unless I fabricated the missing parts. An internet check showed I was not alone in having this problem. Quality control should pick up such errors, for example weighing the package as it goes down the assembly line.
          The manual had an email address for reporting problems, and the next day I was told that they didn't have any of the parts and suggested I go to the store to get them. My nearest Home Depot store is 90 miles away, so that wasn't practical for me. It also suggests a bad Read More
          This is a nice looking LED lamp that puts out a lot of light and consumes very little power. The only problem was the box was missing the bag that contains all the small parts, so the lamp was almost useless unless I fabricated the missing parts. An internet check showed I was not alone in having this problem. Quality control should pick up such errors, for example weighing the package as it goes down the assembly line.
          The manual had an email address for reporting problems, and the next day I was told that they didn't have any of the parts and suggested I go to the store to get them. My nearest Home Depot store is 90 miles away, so that wasn't practical for me. It also suggests a bad attitude towards the customer. I sent a second email suggesting they take the missing parts from another box. Another email said that they had 'found' the parts. I week later I had them and could test the lamp properly, and it works very well. Read Less
          Pros: Nice Design, Very Bright
          Cons: missing parts
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Crescent 18 in. adjustable wrench has a larger knurl for easier adjustment and tighter jaw fit. The hex jaw design reduces slippage and tightly grips bolts. It's design features a tapered, satin finish handle for better tow-hand grip and less weight.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A precision engineered workhorse
          PostedFebruary 8, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I have seen less expensive adjustable wrenches of this size, but none as well made and this wrench, which lives up to the standards of the Crescent brand. The finish is excellent and when I put the jaws under tension by torquing a large nut they were parallel to better then a hundredth of an inch as measure by my digital calipers.
          Accuracy and finish aside, this tool is meant for hard work. My current house was part of a ranch and the property contains a wealth of junked farm equipment that I regularly harvest for metal parts for new projects. The monkey wrench I had been using would damage the nuts and bolts but this wrench gets the fasteners apart without damage. It is going to see a lot Read More
          I have seen less expensive adjustable wrenches of this size, but none as well made and this wrench, which lives up to the standards of the Crescent brand. The finish is excellent and when I put the jaws under tension by torquing a large nut they were parallel to better then a hundredth of an inch as measure by my digital calipers.
          Accuracy and finish aside, this tool is meant for hard work. My current house was part of a ranch and the property contains a wealth of junked farm equipment that I regularly harvest for metal parts for new projects. The monkey wrench I had been using would damage the nuts and bolts but this wrench gets the fasteners apart without damage. It is going to see a lot of use. Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, Durable, Strong
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The 10 in. CenterFire Foam Blade cleanly slices EPS and XPS and eliminates over 95% of static foam dust. Cut rigid foam to size without making a mess. The dust free foam cutting line of CenterFire blades will keep the Snowman (and Blueman and Pinkman) away. Improved for 2015, these blades are now even more effective with a high tech ceramic coating. This coating, developed for advanced firearms and performance engines, reduces the force needed to push the blade through foam and practically eliminates foam residue and dust, making your job that much easier. Winner of the Pro Tool Innovation Awards for 2014 and now 2015.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Specialist tool does the job perfectly
          PostedFebruary 6, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          This is a great blade if you are cutting a lot of foam, or if you really care about making a smooth cut. I'm in the latter category. With 'lost-foam' metal casting, the finished result is only as good as the original foam model.
          This blade produces a much smoother finish than my synthetic diamond blade as can be seen in the photo. The only imperfections are tiny pits where a small fragment of foam was pulled out. The resulting bump in the casting can easily be filed or ground down.
          Another advantage is that the saw blade makes a very narrow cut and produces almost no dust. I don't know how I ever lived without one.
          Pros: Accurate, low dust
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Quickie Jobsite Gargantuan is a high capacity debris collector unlike other dust pans. You can tackle your mess with ease; simply sweep debris directly into the pan, no need for additional broom or an extra hand. The Gargantuan accepts 18 in. and 24 in. push-brooms and the underside of the pan has non-skid feet to keep it in place while you sweep the debris directly into the pan. Lateral grips for 2 handed lifting or you can use the center grip for lighter loads. The Gargantuan is for serious clean ups.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Next best thing to a bulldozer
          PostedFebruary 6, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          It is hard to be enthusiastic about a dustpan unless you have seen this one- it is gigantic. This is no mere dustpan, it really is a debris collector, and that is just what my shop (and my house) needs. My projects seem to create huge volumes of waste. Whether it is tearing out old tiles, cutting drywall, wood working or machining metal, everything produces mess and this is a serious cleanup tool that almost makes the cleaning fun.
          The flexible lip hardly lets anything escape when you are in bulldozer mode, and anything remaining is guaranteed to be small enough not to get stuck in the shop vac. The only downside is that you will spend time crawling around on the floor. I plan to make an Read More
          It is hard to be enthusiastic about a dustpan unless you have seen this one- it is gigantic. This is no mere dustpan, it really is a debris collector, and that is just what my shop (and my house) needs. My projects seem to create huge volumes of waste. Whether it is tearing out old tiles, cutting drywall, wood working or machining metal, everything produces mess and this is a serious cleanup tool that almost makes the cleaning fun.
          The flexible lip hardly lets anything escape when you are in bulldozer mode, and anything remaining is guaranteed to be small enough not to get stuck in the shop vac. The only downside is that you will spend time crawling around on the floor. I plan to make an angled handle to fix that issue. Read Less
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Use, High Quality
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The iCamera Keep Video Home Security device is designed to work as a stand-alone Wi-Fi device or in conjunction with iSmartAlarm Home Security System. Provides comprehensive home visibility with no monthly fees and no contracts. The motorized unit allows for wide range pan/tilt.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Elegant design but insufficient instructions
          PostedJanuary 26, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I have worked with three different security camera systems and this one is my favorite, although it is still far from perfect. The packaging is beautiful, but the installation instructions consist of two very small pages. The second page clearly explains mounting the camera on the wall.
          This camera can work either standalone or with a CubeOne security system. I needed standalone mode, and the installation instructions ran to less than 50 words, the most significant part was to download an app and follow its instructions. The name of the app was not given and the App Store yielded nothing for my iPad until I remembered to look for 'iPhone only' apps. Other problems related to my WiFi router, Read More
          I have worked with three different security camera systems and this one is my favorite, although it is still far from perfect. The packaging is beautiful, but the installation instructions consist of two very small pages. The second page clearly explains mounting the camera on the wall.
          This camera can work either standalone or with a CubeOne security system. I needed standalone mode, and the installation instructions ran to less than 50 words, the most significant part was to download an app and follow its instructions. The name of the app was not given and the App Store yielded nothing for my iPad until I remembered to look for 'iPhone only' apps. Other problems related to my WiFi router, no amount of adjustments allowed it to work with the camera. Using a more modern router finally got the system working.
          Using my IOS tablet within the house I get clear still images. Moving cats are somewhat broken up, but not so much that I cannot see what mischief the cats are up to. The image can be panned by dragging a finger across the screen. Motion detection can be turned on and brief videos are created when something moves in the camera's field of view.
          When I am away from home I get variable results. Sometimes the image breaks up completely or the moving objects are unrecognizable. For best results, I use a low resolution (240P) and then the data rate is around 10Kb/s. That is so slow that any WiFi router or normal internet service should be able to handle it without data loss.
          What is not explained is how the system works. The word 'KEEP' suggests that some data may be stored in the camera. On the other hand, the fact that I can see live images when I am at another location means that some intermediate server (probably in a foreign country) is being used, with obvious privacy concerns. If it is only stored in the camera, then all an intruder has to do is steal the camera!
          This camera works for me, and if the company provided adequate information on its operation, it may meet the needs of many people looking for a low cost security system. Read Less
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, attractive
          Cons: inadequate instructions
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 27 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          The HDX 12 ft. Ratchet tie-downs (4-pack) are ideal for securing heavy loads with break strength of 1320 lb. for effective use. The tie-downs are weather resistant and UV- protected for durability.
           

          How do I get these out of the package?! I can get the top part out (fabric strap) but not the hooks!

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          October 28, 2013
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          December 28, 2015
          Answer: 
          I had the same problem but use enough force and bend the plastic carrier and they will come free. I threw the packaging away
           
          A galvanized metal deck with resin end caps make this the most durable and contemporary shelf of its kind. Adjustable in 1 in. increments and inter connecting capability allows you to build a customized system of organization. Good for commercial or consumer applications.
           

          Whar are the Dimensions of the Shelf?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          New York, New York
          October 22, 2015
          What is the:

          Length:
          Depth:
          Width:

          I need to fit a closet with the following dimensions: Width: 29", Depth: 19" Height : top shelf not to exceed 72" (Closet height 8 feet).
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          December 28, 2015
          Answer: 
          Each shelf is 48x18 inches and the whole unit is 6 feet high, so this unit would be too big for your closet
           
          The New Defiant LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. This LED motion light provides seamless light coverage for increased safety, security and peace of mind. Never change a bulb with this new LED technology. Install quickly and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature beautifies, protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected. Energy Star certified.
           

          Can the lights be adjusted up and down?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          PA
          November 22, 2015
          Hi,

          I want to mount this on a peak in front of my house where we currently have a flood light that I have angled downward.

          From the video it does not look like you can angle the lights down just left and right. Can you angle the lights so they point down to flood an area with light. The peak is about 15 or 20 feet from the ground.

          Thanks
          Joe
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          December 3, 2015
          Answer: 
          The two lights can be angled down a bit, but nowhere near 90 degrees because the sensor is mounted under the lights. You could mount the unit on the soffit, but then it might be difficult to get to the switches on the base of the sensor that select different modes. Make sure you set up the switches the way you want them before climbing the ladder!
           
          The Korky Ultra Water Saver Flapper is the most universal 2 in. flapper available. The flapper adjusts to match original toilet settings and eliminates water waste by decreasing the amount of water flushed. Ideal for all standard 2 in. toilets, including: 1.28, 1.6, 3.5 and 5 GPF. The exclusive longest lasting red rubber resists chlorine, bacteria, city water treatment, hard water, and well water. Recommended by the Clorox help line, this Korky flapper is proven longest lasting. The adjustable flapper has multiple settings to ensure it fits popular 2 in. toilet models: American Standard Cadet (4029, 4078, 4083, 4053, 4650), Monarch (4003), Mainstream (4061), Evolution 2 FloWise (4061), KOHLER Wellworth (K-4620), Wellworth (K-4519), and Toto (706).
           

          Installed this flapper and yet it is still leaking. What is wrong? Why does it say it is a 2in. flapper but the width is 3in?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          October 17, 2014
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          December 2, 2015
          Answer: 
          Check to see if the part of the tank that the flapper rests on is smooth and flat. The flapper can handle small irregularities but not more. If it didn't leak in the past you may have lime buildup that could be removed with vinegar or CLR
           
          The Bosch GLL 2 Self-Leveling Cross-Line Laser is a compact and high-performance leveling and alignment solution for professionals. Featuring highly visible laser lines, a smart pendulum leveling system and a flexible mounting device, the GLL 2 provides the accuracy, reliability and durability needed on any job. Included with the GLL 2 is the MM 2 flexible mounting device giving professionals the versatility needed for multiple leveling and alignment applications.
           

          What is the tolerance?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Kansas City
          November 17, 2015
          Is the level accurate to an 1/8" or 1/4"?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          November 18, 2015
          Answer: 
          The manual says that the accuracy is plus or minus 0.2 inches at 3 foot distance and 0.5mm at 1 meter. That is obviously a misprint because the two tolerances are very different. My guess is that it should be 0.02 inches. Note that the error will get bigger as the distance to the laser increases.
          I tested mine against a digital level at a distance of 12 feet and found that any error was less than the Read More
          The manual says that the accuracy is plus or minus 0.2 inches at 3 foot distance and 0.5mm at 1 meter. That is obviously a misprint because the two tolerances are very different. My guess is that it should be 0.02 inches. Note that the error will get bigger as the distance to the laser increases.
          I tested mine against a digital level at a distance of 12 feet and found that any error was less than the thickness of the laser line itself (which is slightly fuzzy). My level is accurate to within 1/8 inch over the span of a room which is better than the accuracy to which I can build! Read Less
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>