EricG
  • Review count
    45
  • Helpfulness votes
    82
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    August 25, 2014
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      30
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        45
      • Helpfulness votes
        82
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        August 25, 2014
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          30
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          Choose the Milwaukee 49-56-5645 2 in. Diamond plus Hole Saw for up to 10X longer life when cutting tile, stone and glass. Diamond plus Hole Saws deliver best-in-class performance, with higher grade diamonds for maximum heat and fracture resistance. An improved braze provides superior diamond retention when cutting hard, abrasive materials. The Diamond plus Threaded Hole Saw features large slot geometry for easy plug removal. Designed as the single cutting solution for all tile, stone, and glass applications, Diamond Plus offers the lowest cost-per-hole on the market. Use it with standard whole saw arbors or with the Angle Grinder Adapter (49-56-7105), or Retractable Starter Bit with Large Arbor (49-56-7135) for even greater productivity and ease of use.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Fast and clean cutting
          PostedAugust 25, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          As sometimes happens you use a tool for a different purpose than intended, and it is gratifying when it works well.
          As an amateur telescope maker, I often have to cut holes or create disks in optical glass. I had been using a biscuit cutter, which is a length of steel tubing with saw cuts at the end and fitted with a spindle for chucking. To cut glass, the cutter must be fed with a slurry of abrasive and water. It is messy, slow and noisy.
          This hole saw does the same job, but without needing added abrasives, with minimum mess and noise. A great improvement. I'll even use it on an upcoming tile job, it will be much better than splitting the tile and nibbling away four quarter circles, as IRead More
          As sometimes happens you use a tool for a different purpose than intended, and it is gratifying when it works well.
          As an amateur telescope maker, I often have to cut holes or create disks in optical glass. I had been using a biscuit cutter, which is a length of steel tubing with saw cuts at the end and fitted with a spindle for chucking. To cut glass, the cutter must be fed with a slurry of abrasive and water. It is messy, slow and noisy.
          This hole saw does the same job, but without needing added abrasives, with minimum mess and noise. A great improvement. I'll even use it on an upcoming tile job, it will be much better than splitting the tile and nibbling away four quarter circles, as I had to do last time.Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Long-Lasting, fast cutting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Diablo Demo Demon 7-1/4 in. x 24 Tooth Carbide Circular Saw Blade is made of Ti-Co high density carbide with titanium for a design that is durable and long-lasting. The Perma-Shield non-stick coating reduces friction and pitch buildup. Laser cut stabilizer vents reduce vibration for a cleaner cut and longer life.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          This sawblade serves a valuable need
          PostedAugust 2, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          I hate it when I ruin a good blade by hitting something hard hidden in old wood. I won't risk my expensive synthetic diamond blades for this so I have been using cheap carbide blades. They don't hold up well and soon go blunt, even without hitting a nail, so they are a poor economy.
          These blades promise to be the solution being designed specifically for demolition work. I was surprised that they seems to make a clean cut- not furniture quality but better than I expected.
          Pros: Durable, Sturdy
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This Pratt Retail Specialties 25-Box bundle is perfect for shipping and storing medium sized items. These boxes are unprinted. Great solution for professional shipping needs.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Great for organizing the shop
          PostedAugust 2, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Even though my shop is large, there is never enough room! Even with many shelves and organizers, stuff still winds up in corners on the floor. The only free space left is high up on the walls. I have been putting shelves on each wall at the 6 foot level and that has helped a lot. But there are still many items that are too big to put in conventional storage solutions, but would be a waste to put on a shelf.
          These boxes are the answer! Put similar items together in a box, label the box and put it on the high shelf. Several boxes can be stacked vertically and still be accessed in seconds.
          Pros: Durable, Functional, Sturdy
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Pratt Retail Specialties Packing Paper protects the surface of fragile items from scratches during storage and shipping. The paper is made from 100% biodegradable and recyclable newsprint. This newsprint accepts tape to tightly pack any item.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          A great addition to my shop
          PostedAugust 2, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          I need newspaper in my shop. It turns out that a few sheets of damp newspaper provides an excellent support for telescope mirror making. If you put the glass on any hard surface- even a surface plate, it will deform the glass and spoil the mirror being made.
          Since my local newspaper stopped rural delivery, my stock has dwindled, so this item is a welcome addition. It is just like newspaper, but cleaner and more uniform- and I don't have to separate out the shiny ad sections- and no more inky hands!
          Pros: Functional, Excellent Quality
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Hart 4 in. C-Clamp with Quicktight Technology
          Hart 4 in. C-Clamp with Quicktight Technology
          HART continues to add to its professional and innovative clamp line-up by introducing the 4in. C-Clamp with Quicktight Technology. Quicktight Technology is a new innovative design that allows the user to secure and unsecure the clamp up to 10X faster than standard c-clamps. Easily adjust clamp opening by simply depressing the release leaver. In addition to QuickTight Technology, HART continues to add quality and innovation with a forged construction for superior strength and an adjustable handle for the most extreme clamping needs. In addition to these great Signature Features, you’ll know HART has your back with its Limited Lifetime Warranty. HART - Nothing Works Harder.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Best general purpose clamp
          PostedJuly 17, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          I now own several of these clamps, and while they are more expensive than old style C-clamps, they save a lot of time. When I got my first one, I was not sure how strong it would be, but now I'm convinced that they are just as strong if not stronger than a C clamp of comparable size.
          The design is excellent, especially the quick release, and the folding handle allows me to use it in tight spaces where a regular sliding t-handle would not fit.
          Pros: Durable, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          The Fluidmaster Duo Flush System gives you a tool to help save more water than any other dual flush system on the market. The Dual Flush System retrofits into any 2 in. toilet tank, and is proven to use up to 45% less water than the original tank parts. It also has been shown to improve flushing power on the full flush, so you will actually see better performance than before. It comes complete with a high refill fill valve to insure consistent flushes every single time. A dual flush tank lever is included with this system.
           

          Do you install this system and how much will it cost? My toliet will not flush.

          Asked by
          Plumber
          Texas
          September 14, 2014
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          September 16, 2014
          Answer: 
          Check with HD for current prices. The unit comes with a large illustrated instruction sheet telling you how to install it. Installation is more complicated than some other types, but that is because the unit will turn an old toilet into a modern water saving unit. I've had mine for 6 months with no problems.
           
          Loctite Epoxy Instant Mix 5 Minute is a two-part adhesive consisting of an epoxy resin and a hardener. When mixed in equal volumes, the resin and hardener react to produce a tough, rigid, high strength bond, which starts to set in 5 minutes and reaches handling strength in 1 hour. The static mix nozzle delivers a uniform mixture of resin and hardener every time. It can be used as an adhesive for a wide range of materials or as a versatile filler for gap bonding, surface repairs and laminating. Loctite Epoxy Instant Mix 5 Minute does not shrink and is resistant to water and most common solvents. It can be tinted with earth pigments, cement or sand for color matching and can be sanded and drilled. Recommended for bonding metal, glass, ceramic, wood, many rigid plastics, china, tile, fiberglass, concrete and stone. It can be combined with a fiberglass cloth for a durable patch.
           

          what would you recommend for glueing a towel rack to bathroom tile?

          Asked by
          RonC
          August 20, 2014
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          August 21, 2014
          Answer: 
          Epoxy will grip a glazed tile, especially if the tile is scratched or roughed. The problem is if you bond something rigid like metal to the tile then the different expansion rates with cause the bond to fail as temperature changes. A flexible adhesive, such as contact cement would work better.
          Assuming that the towel rail can be screwed in place, use a carbide drill bit to drill holes in the tiles andRead More
          Epoxy will grip a glazed tile, especially if the tile is scratched or roughed. The problem is if you bond something rigid like metal to the tile then the different expansion rates with cause the bond to fail as temperature changes. A flexible adhesive, such as contact cement would work better.
          Assuming that the towel rail can be screwed in place, use a carbide drill bit to drill holes in the tiles and then use screws with plastic wall anchors.Read Less
           
          The Diablo Demo Demon 7-1/4 in. x 24 Tooth Carbide Circular Saw Blade is made of Ti-Co high density carbide with titanium for a design that is durable and long-lasting. The Perma-Shield non-stick coating reduces friction and pitch buildup. Laser cut stabilizer vents reduce vibration for a cleaner cut and longer life.
           

          Can we order Freud Model D0742DR (Demo Demon) saw blades in a bulk packages (10 or more per box) rather than individual retail packaging?

          Asked by
          Doug
          Lincolnwood, IL 60712 (less than 2 miles from Store #8598)
          June 30, 2014
          We are an industrial business located in Lincolnwood, IL and use the blades in our production shop.

          Thank you for attention.
          August 2, 2014
          Answer: 
          My local HD store only carries them in single unit packages.
           
          The Coast HP7 LED Flashlight is a great size that is easy to carry, and packs the light output and runtime that is needed by those that rely on their light every day. A quick cycle switch allows you to select between high or low output settings, giving you the option to choose the right level for your application. Coast's Pure Beam Focusing Optic System with Fingertip Speed Focus Control provides superior beam consistency from spot to flood, with no dark rings typically associated with focusing flashlights. Our Beam Lock System easily locks in your desired beam with a slight twist of the focusing bezel. A lightweight aluminum casing offers great durability and will hold up to heavy daily use. Backed by Coast's lifetime warranty against defects in materials and workmanship.
           

          What is the actual runtime on one set of batteries?

          Asked by
          doresoom
          Harvest, AL
          May 21, 2014
          Home Depot's website lists it at high - 1 hour 45 minutes; low - 19 hours 30 minutes.
          Coast's website lists it simply as a 5 hour 45 minute runtime. Is this assuming a hybrid operation profile between the two modes?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          May 21, 2014
          Answer: 
          The actual run-time depends upon the specific brand of batteries used as well their age and the temperature at which they are used and stored. The standard test for flashlights rates their life as the time it takes to fall to 10% of the initial brightness. You would probably choose to change batteries well before this.
           
          The Coast HP7 LED Flashlight is a great size that is easy to carry, and packs the light output and runtime that is needed by those that rely on their light every day. A quick cycle switch allows you to select between high or low output settings, giving you the option to choose the right level for your application. Coast's Pure Beam Focusing Optic System with Fingertip Speed Focus Control provides superior beam consistency from spot to flood, with no dark rings typically associated with focusing flashlights. Our Beam Lock System easily locks in your desired beam with a slight twist of the focusing bezel. A lightweight aluminum casing offers great durability and will hold up to heavy daily use. Backed by Coast's lifetime warranty against defects in materials and workmanship.
           

          What is the actual beam distance? How is it measured?

          Asked by
          doresoom
          Harvest, AL
          May 21, 2014
          What is the criteria for determining beam distance?

          Also, Home Depot lists the beam distances as 226 meters for high and 75 meters for low.
          Coast's website lists it as a 196 meter beam distance. Which is correct?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          May 21, 2014
          Answer: 
          The distance is calculated using a standard test (ANSI/FL1). The distance is that at which the illumination falls to 0.25 lux. The only real use of this number is to compare different flashlights that have been tested to the same standard. Unfortunately there are other tests.
          When I first tried the HP7 on a dark night, I was amazed by how bright it was.
           
          1 2 3 4 5 6 >>