EricG
  • Review count
    225
  • Helpfulness votes
    261
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    July 11, 2017
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      195
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        225
      • Helpfulness votes
        261
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        July 11, 2017
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          195
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          The DEWALT 20 Gal. Air Compressor is jobsite tough and built for the professional. It features automotive style ball bearings, durable stainless steel reed valves, oil level sight glass, easily accessible oil fill and a cast iron balanced flywheel for easy maintenance, durability and convenience. This single-stage, oil lubricated compressor offers a Twin-V cast iron pump with one piece cast iron crank case and thermally stable cast iron cylinder body. It has a heavy-duty 1.6 HP, 120/240-Volt induction motor, as well as a full-size metal belt guard for added motor protection and durability. For portability, you can wheel it wherever it is needed. The ASME certified tank meets all safety standards. DEWALT offers a full line of both electric and gas powered professional compressors. DEWALT compressors include lightweight, portable contractor units, high volume, high capacity wheeled contractor units and high capacity industrial compressors to accommodate the highest demand.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This powerful compressor replaces my smaller shop compressor which is now in my carport for infla...
          PostedJuly 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This powerful compressor replaces my smaller shop compressor which is now in my carport for inflating tires.
          The build quality and design seem excellent, except that the wheel support arms seemed too light for the job and made the machine wobble as you touch it. After using it for a while I suspect that this may be a design feature to absorb vibration. When running the compressor hardly vibrates at all and it is quite stable on a smooth surface.
          My only real quibble with this tool is that the drain valve is too close the the floor, and the knurled end that you twist is too small, making it difficult to open and close. Half an inch higher and wing nut like extensions would solve the Read More
          This powerful compressor replaces my smaller shop compressor which is now in my carport for inflating tires.
          The build quality and design seem excellent, except that the wheel support arms seemed too light for the job and made the machine wobble as you touch it. After using it for a while I suspect that this may be a design feature to absorb vibration. When running the compressor hardly vibrates at all and it is quite stable on a smooth surface.
          My only real quibble with this tool is that the drain valve is too close the the floor, and the knurled end that you twist is too small, making it difficult to open and close. Half an inch higher and wing nut like extensions would solve the issue. I can't do anything about the height but I will machine an extension to make it easier to turn.
          The compressor is much easier to move than I expected, so it really is a portable tool. While much of its 159 lb weight is concentrated at the top I had no trouble wheeling it around- though you have to keep it near the vertical. Read Less
          Pros: Strong
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Powermate PX heavy duty air hammer is perfect for cutting, chipping, piercing, and scraping. The steel sleeve inside cylinder absorbs direct shock increasing wear resistance of tool. The double threaded hammer cylinder allows a more solid impact.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          I bought my first air tool three years ago but soon realized that the inconvenience of running an...
          PostedJuly 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I bought my first air tool three years ago but soon realized that the inconvenience of running an air line was outweighed by more economical, lighter and more powerful air tools than their electric counterparts, if they even existed.
          Previously when I had to remove tiles, cut bricks or break up concrete I would use a club hammer and chisel. This air hammer set provides a much less laborious and quicker solution. I quickly broke up a concrete slab in a fraction of the time it would have taken using hand tools. Just remember to use eye protection!
          Pros: Powerful
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Designed to give you quiet confidence during power outages, the Q6500 QuietPower Series inverter generator is more than 60% quieter than standard generators. It delivers 6,500 starting watts of reliable backup power for essential home appliances, including sensitive electronics. It's 45% more compact and 30% lighter than standard generators so moving and storing your generator is no hassle. A highly-efficient Briggs and Stratton 306cc engine with integrated alternator provides up to 14 hours of run time at 25% load.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Living in the countryside we get a dozen or more power outages each year. Uninterruptible power ...
          PostedJuly 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of use 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Living in the countryside we get a dozen or more power outages each year. Uninterruptible power supplies keep our computers and TV running for an hour, but longer outages require the use of a gas generator. Our old generator is difficult to start and has only half the capacity of the Q6500.
          Setup for the Q6500 is simple, just requiring adding engine oil. At 128 lbs this is no lightweight but the large wheels and retractable handle make it easy to move around even on the gravel and sand between our detached carport and house. During a dry run the generator started easily.
          In the month we have owned the generator there have been no power outages, but thunderstorm season is here so we are Read More
          Living in the countryside we get a dozen or more power outages each year. Uninterruptible power supplies keep our computers and TV running for an hour, but longer outages require the use of a gas generator. Our old generator is difficult to start and has only half the capacity of the Q6500.
          Setup for the Q6500 is simple, just requiring adding engine oil. At 128 lbs this is no lightweight but the large wheels and retractable handle make it easy to move around even on the gravel and sand between our detached carport and house. During a dry run the generator started easily.
          In the month we have owned the generator there have been no power outages, but thunderstorm season is here so we are unlikely to be so lucky next month, but we are confident that this generator will keep our household powered whatever the weather throws at us. Read Less
          Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Move
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          Remember when you could turn your own table legs? Fill your house with as many table legs as you can with the WEN 8- in. by 12- in. Variable Speed Wood Lathe. Adjust the variable speed anywhere from 750 to 3200 rotations per minute. The WEN 8- in. by 12- in. Variable Speed Benchtop Wood Lathe features an MT1 spindle and tailstock taper to tightly grip workpieces, two tool rests (4-1/2 in. and 7 in.) to provide needed support for chisels and tools during operation, and a 2A motor to keep things turning. The easy-to-use lever cl-Amping system makes adjustments to both the tool rest and the tailstock simple and precise. The WEN Wood Lathe also includes a flat wrench, a headstock spur center, a tailstock cup center, a knockout rod and a 5- in. faceplate for turning bowls, cups and other non-spindle workpieces. And, because its a WEN product, your lathe comes backed by a two-year warranty, a nationwide network of skilled service technicians and a friendly customer help line. Remember when you could turn pens, bowls, cups, chess pieces and more? Remember WEN.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Ever since I was a kid I have owned one or more metal lathes. I don't know how anyone can live w...
          PostedJuly 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ever since I was a kid I have owned one or more metal lathes. I don't know how anyone can live without one. While you can turn wood on a metal lathe, it is not ideal and this affordable wood lathe means that my woodworking is no longer restricted to shapes that can be made with a table saw or router. In school I had access to a large wood lathe, so I am familiar with the tool.
          This wood lathe is well designed and manufactured. The cast iron bed is impressive for a lathe in this price range. The ergonomics are excellent, clamping levers free wheel out of the way when not being used.
          The bolts (not included) to hold the lathe to the bench thread into the bottom of the lathe, requiring Read More
          Ever since I was a kid I have owned one or more metal lathes. I don't know how anyone can live without one. While you can turn wood on a metal lathe, it is not ideal and this affordable wood lathe means that my woodworking is no longer restricted to shapes that can be made with a table saw or router. In school I had access to a large wood lathe, so I am familiar with the tool.
          This wood lathe is well designed and manufactured. The cast iron bed is impressive for a lathe in this price range. The ergonomics are excellent, clamping levers free wheel out of the way when not being used.
          The bolts (not included) to hold the lathe to the bench thread into the bottom of the lathe, requiring accurately spaced holes in your bench and awkward assembly from below. I chose to mount my lathe on a slab of OSB which I screwed to my bench, making for easy removal when not in use. The lathe is light enough to be carried around the shop for storage. Read Less
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, Sturdy
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Husky 7000-Lumen Twin Head LED Work Light is versatile and can be used with or without the tripod. It provides ample lighting with its long-lasting LED bulb. Once detached from the tripod, its easy grip handle also allows it to be transported with ease.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Brilliant illumination, less than brilliant quality
          PostedJune 13, 2017
          Overall rating 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          1.0 out of 5
          1.0 out of 5
          Value 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          This worklight came with poorly written and confusing instruction, but assembly was still possible by looking at the design and using common sense.
          The unit comes in two parts, a light unit that can be placed on any horizontal surface. The included stand allow the light to stand on the floor and rotate and tilt in any direction. The two parts connect and disconnect be means of a flimsy lever. At first the lever seemed to be immovable, but with great effort I was able to connect the parts. Unfortunately there was so much free movement left that the light unit flopped around.
          Each light can be swiveled and tipped independently. They are intended to be clamped in place by thumbscrews and Read More
          This worklight came with poorly written and confusing instruction, but assembly was still possible by looking at the design and using common sense.
          The unit comes in two parts, a light unit that can be placed on any horizontal surface. The included stand allow the light to stand on the floor and rotate and tilt in any direction. The two parts connect and disconnect be means of a flimsy lever. At first the lever seemed to be immovable, but with great effort I was able to connect the parts. Unfortunately there was so much free movement left that the light unit flopped around.
          Each light can be swiveled and tipped independently. They are intended to be clamped in place by thumbscrews and captive nuts, but the fitting that holds the nuts is oversized allowing them to spin freely making it impossible to lock the angle of the lights.
          I intended to remove the light unit from the stand, but although the lever could be moved, it did not allow the two parts to separate.
          The light units themselves are excellent, giving bright and even illumination, and I will fabricate a better stand for them. Read Less
          Pros: Very Bright
          Cons: Difficult to Assemble, poor design and workmanship
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 45 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          The Ames Planting Auger makes planting bulbs and annuals quick and easy from an upright position. Measuring 2-3/4 in. Dia, this tool attaches to your power drill to eliminate the tediousness of manually digging plant holes. Constructed with steel, this bulb-planting time-saver is built to perform for many seasons of use.
           

          Will this work for drilling in sand for an umbrella?

          Asked by
          tebu58
          July 9, 2017
          Will this work for drilling in sand for an umbrella?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 12, 2017
          Answer: 
          I have used it with sand, but had to make the sand damp
           
          The New Defiant 180-Degree LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away nighttime darkness. This LED motion light provides seamless light coverage for increased safety, security and peace of mind. Never change a bulb again with this new LED technology. Install quickly and safely with three friendly, DIY easy steps to connect. The DualBrite feature beautifies, protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from dusk-to-dawn and full light when motion is detected.
           

          Does this light always stay on at night, or can you set it so that it remains off until motion is...

          Asked by
          Bender
          July 9, 2017
          Does this light always stay on at night, or can you set it so that it remains off until motion is detected?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 12, 2017
          Answer: 
          You can set it so that it only comes on at night when motion is detected, then it goes out after a short time
           
          Remember when you could turn your own table legs? Fill your house with as many table legs as you can with the WEN 8- in. by 12- in. Variable Speed Wood Lathe. Adjust the variable speed anywhere from 750 to 3200 rotations per minute. The WEN 8- in. by 12- in. Variable Speed Benchtop Wood Lathe features an MT1 spindle and tailstock taper to tightly grip workpieces, two tool rests (4-1/2 in. and 7 in.) to provide needed support for chisels and tools during operation, and a 2A motor to keep things turning. The easy-to-use lever cl-Amping system makes adjustments to both the tool rest and the tailstock simple and precise. The WEN Wood Lathe also includes a flat wrench, a headstock spur center, a tailstock cup center, a knockout rod and a 5- in. faceplate for turning bowls, cups and other non-spindle workpieces. And, because its a WEN product, your lathe comes backed by a two-year warranty, a nationwide network of skilled service technicians and a friendly customer help line. Remember when you could turn pens, bowls, cups, chess pieces and more? Remember WEN.
           

          Does this have a 110 plug?

          Asked by
          Wren
          May 22, 2017
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 11, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes the plug is a standard US 120V 3 pin plug
           
          This RIDGID 10 in. Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 Amp motor for speeds up to 3450 RPM. The cast iron table's milled and polished surface minimizes vibration and provides a flat, level surface for trouble-free cutting. There is a blade guard for safety. Customize your table by adding an extension or auxiliary tables for routers or other specialty tools.
           

          Does the fence on this saw lock down square to the blade reliably?

          Asked by
          JT
          July 7, 2017
          Does the fence on this saw lock down square to the blade reliably?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 7, 2017
          Answer: 
          I find it returns to a true position with the kind of precision needed for woodworking. I am sure the fence position does vary a bit due to sawdust passing through, but it has not been a problem for me.
           
          The Husky 5 in. Digital Protractor is ideal for finding angles in tight spots. With the lock angle feature, the user can improve accuracy and save time. Its design provides ultimate accuracy and efficiency, reverse angle function and lock angle feature. This precision stainless steel digital angle finder with measuring rulers also has a built in reverse angle function for added usability and convenience.
           

          Would this Husky digital protractor be able to help me calibrate my miter saw?

          Asked by
          frnkj74
          June 20, 2017
          Would this Husky digital protractor be able to help me calibrate my miter saw?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          June 21, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes, provided you have two surfaces on the saw where you can place the gauge. For best accuracy, position.the gauge at right angles to the surfaces
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 39 >>