EricG
  • Review count
    209
  • Helpfulness votes
    240
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    April 10, 2017
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      176
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        209
      • Helpfulness votes
        240
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        April 10, 2017
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          176
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          Performance, value, convenience. The new Karcher K1910 electric pressure washer delivers best-in-class, consumer-driven features to improve the way we clean. Integrated metal extrusions, over-sized wheels and overall robust design allows you to take the product where you need to go. Key ease-of-use features include high cord wind, tall handle, bucket storage bin, space-saving rotating handle, removable detergent tank and an innovative on/off foot switch. Universal quick-connect wands and standard M22 hose connections simplify nozzle and accessory usage.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A well engineered pressure washer
          PostedApril 10, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of use 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This pressure washer replaces one from another manufacturer that never worked properly. This model is easy to set up and works flawlessly. The instruction manual is clearly written. Only time will tell how reliable the machine is, but the apparently good workmanship makes me optimistic that it will have a long life.
          The only problem I had with it (and it was my fault, not theirs) was that I did not push the nozzle all the way onto the wand and it shot off the first time I used it. Make sure the nozzle is fully seated before pressing the trigger.
          There is more than enough pressure to clean dead insects off the front of my car as the photos demonstrate. Now washing the car will (almost) Read More
          This pressure washer replaces one from another manufacturer that never worked properly. This model is easy to set up and works flawlessly. The instruction manual is clearly written. Only time will tell how reliable the machine is, but the apparently good workmanship makes me optimistic that it will have a long life.
          The only problem I had with it (and it was my fault, not theirs) was that I did not push the nozzle all the way onto the wand and it shot off the first time I used it. Make sure the nozzle is fully seated before pressing the trigger.
          There is more than enough pressure to clean dead insects off the front of my car as the photos demonstrate. Now washing the car will (almost) be a pleasure. Read Less
          Pros: Powerful
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          3M Pro Grade Precision Ultra Flexible Sanding Sheets feature an innovative film backing so you can FOLD, ROLL or SHAPE into any form you need to get the job done. The tough backing resists puncture, tear and creases, helping the sheet keep its original shape. Use wet or dry. 100 grit.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great improvement to an age old product
          PostedApril 10, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          'Sandpaper' has been around a long time and has slowly improved with better grading of the grit particles and more tenacious glue to hole them in place. This product is a major step forward. The backing is a semi transparent stretchable material with the feel of a thin sheet of rubber.
          One immediate advantage is that it bends without creasing (and losing abrasive particles on the fold) and springs back to its original flat form. I use abrasive paper to smooth aluminum parts with compound curvature that I have machined. Regular sandpaper has to be cut into small squares and glued to a backing. These sheets can take on that compound curvature, so fewer but larger pieces can be used.
          'Sandpaper' has been around a long time and has slowly improved with better grading of the grit particles and more tenacious glue to hole them in place. This product is a major step forward. The backing is a semi transparent stretchable material with the feel of a thin sheet of rubber.
          One immediate advantage is that it bends without creasing (and losing abrasive particles on the fold) and springs back to its original flat form. I use abrasive paper to smooth aluminum parts with compound curvature that I have machined. Regular sandpaper has to be cut into small squares and glued to a backing. These sheets can take on that compound curvature, so fewer but larger pieces can be used.
          It also does a better job of holding the abrasive grains reducing the need to change sheets.
          I suspect that this style of sanding sheets will soon become the norm. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, resists cracking, lasts longer
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          GE Iron Grip 100% silicone adhesive sticks where other construction adhesives won't, bond to both porous and non-porous surfaces. Iron Grip adhesive provides up to 75% less clamp time than traditional construction adhesives. Iron Grip adhesive does not contain isocyanates and is low VOC, making it appropriate for interior and exterior use.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great advance in adhesives
          PostedApril 9, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I find myself working with many materials: wood, glass, metals, concrete and plastics and I often use adhesives, either alone or with various fasteners. Gluing wood presents few problems as it is porous and existing wood glues meet all my needs. This adhesive apparently works with them all, but so far I am using it only with two materials: glass and aluminum.
          The advantage of silicone is that it remains flexible so it can be used to fasten materials that have different expansion coefficients. I have used it for attaching an optical glass flat to an aluminum support. In this case little strength is needed, but the flexibility of this adhesive means that the glass is not distorted.
          I find myself working with many materials: wood, glass, metals, concrete and plastics and I often use adhesives, either alone or with various fasteners. Gluing wood presents few problems as it is porous and existing wood glues meet all my needs. This adhesive apparently works with them all, but so far I am using it only with two materials: glass and aluminum.
          The advantage of silicone is that it remains flexible so it can be used to fasten materials that have different expansion coefficients. I have used it for attaching an optical glass flat to an aluminum support. In this case little strength is needed, but the flexibility of this adhesive means that the glass is not distorted.
          I have also used it for joining aluminum parts. Traditional adhesives don't work well for aluminum because the oxide layer does not allow adhesives to penetrate and most glues do not bond well with it. I have used epoxy resins for this and it works well provided the parts are scuffed with abrasive paper and then glued quickly before the metal oxidizes, but I would not trust it if great strength is needed. This adhesive is specified as being suitable for aluminum, and so far it has not failed me. Read Less
          Pros: Easy Instructions
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This ONE+ Cordless String Trimmer and Blower Combo Kit is all performance for an unbeatable value. Featuring an XC 18-Volt lithium-ion battery, the lightweight trimmer has a 10 in. cut width and the shaft rotates for easy edging capability. This 18-Volt ONE+ cordless sweeper is ideal for clearing hard surfaces, and is designed for easy 1-handed operation to make quick work of those driveways, sidewalks and decks. The battery re-charges in an hour, and as part of the Ryobi ONE+ family, the tools and battery are compatible with all other Ryobi ONE+ tools and batteries. All backed by a 3-year warranty, there's never been a better time to add to or start your ONE+ collection.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great cordless garden combo
          PostedApril 9, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of use 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          These are a useful, well designed pair of garden tools. Since I am the only member of my household that uses power garden tools the fact that there is only one battery pack between two tools is no drawback. Today's lithium batteries pack enough power that I am always exhausted long before the battery is. My only wish is that there was a single standard for batteries so they could be swapped between brands.
          This is by far the easiest trimmer that I have used. Each time you start, cord is played out without having to bang the unit on the ground.
          The blower is very light and very powerful making it a pleasure to use.
          Swapping the battery from one tool to the other is quick and easy.
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, Powerful
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Milwaukee Performance Work Gloves are designed to provide Ultimate Durability and All Day Comfort. Featuring Smartswipe fingertips, knuckles and palms designed to allow the use of touch screens, and high dexterity fingertips to provide precision when handling small objects. A reinforced thumb seam provides enhanced durability and the hook and loop closure ensures a secure fit. In addition, a breathable lining and built-in terry cloth sweat wipe ensure the gloves remain comfortable enough to wear all day.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Finally- tablet and phone friendly gloves
          PostedApril 8, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I love Milwaukee gloves almost as much as their tools. They are both comfortable and durable. I have used them in freezing weather to keep my fingers nimble and in desert heat to protect my hands from cuts and bruises and they have never let me down. They make a good trade off between protection and flexibility.
          These gloves have one advantage over my other pairs, they work on my tablet screen! Pointing is not as precise as with bare fingers, and that may be a problem when using them on a smart phone.
          Pros: Durable, High Quality, works with tablets and smartphones
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 42 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          This ONE+ Cordless String Trimmer and Blower Combo Kit is all performance for an unbeatable value. Featuring an XC 18-Volt lithium-ion battery, the lightweight trimmer has a 10 in. cut width and the shaft rotates for easy edging capability. This 18-Volt ONE+ cordless sweeper is ideal for clearing hard surfaces, and is designed for easy 1-handed operation to make quick work of those driveways, sidewalks and decks. The battery re-charges in an hour, and as part of the Ryobi ONE+ family, the tools and battery are compatible with all other Ryobi ONE+ tools and batteries. All backed by a 3-year warranty, there's never been a better time to add to or start your ONE+ collection.
           

          Can you interchange with a stronger battery pack like a 40 V

          Asked by
          Jay
          April 21, 2017
          Can you interchange with a stronger battery pack like a 40 V
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          April 22, 2017
          Answer: 
          No these tools require 18 volts. Lithium batteries from different companies use different connectors and chargers, so you cannot mix and match. I have successfully used larger capacity batteries from the same manufacturer on my battery powered tools. They don't make the tool any more powerful, it is just that the tool runs longer.
          The battery included in this kit is big enough that I am exhausted long Read More
          No these tools require 18 volts. Lithium batteries from different companies use different connectors and chargers, so you cannot mix and match. I have successfully used larger capacity batteries from the same manufacturer on my battery powered tools. They don't make the tool any more powerful, it is just that the tool runs longer.
          The battery included in this kit is big enough that I am exhausted long before the battery is. Read Less
           
          GE Iron Grip 100% silicone adhesive sticks where other construction adhesives won't, bond to both porous and non-porous surfaces. Iron Grip adhesive provides up to 75% less clamp time than traditional construction adhesives. Iron Grip adhesive does not contain isocyanates and is low VOC, making it appropriate for interior and exterior use.
           

          Does this product adhere wood to a mirrors face?

          Asked by
          DMaurice
          April 16, 2017
          Does this product adhere wood to a mirrors face?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          April 18, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes it will work well. Clean the glass for best results
           
          The new Husky air tool line in built to industrial standards for the professional user providing more power, less noise and longer life. This new Husky Air Shear features low weight composite housing and textured handle for comfort. Precision gears and bearings reduce vibration and spindle run-out and internal silencing greatly reduces tool noise. The tool is capable of cutting 1/16 in. steel sheet. Designed for cutting and trimming sheet metals used on cars, trucks, recreational vehicles and building siding.
           

          Will it cut cement fiber board?

          Asked by
          AverageJoe
          April 12, 2017
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          April 12, 2017
          Answer: 
          No, the jaws do not open enough
           
          Performance, value, convenience. The new Karcher K1910 electric pressure washer delivers best-in-class, consumer-driven features to improve the way we clean. Integrated metal extrusions, over-sized wheels and overall robust design allows you to take the product where you need to go. Key ease-of-use features include high cord wind, tall handle, bucket storage bin, space-saving rotating handle, removable detergent tank and an innovative on/off foot switch. Universal quick-connect wands and standard M22 hose connections simplify nozzle and accessory usage.
           

          I know what PSI means, but what does GPM mean?

          Asked by
          lights
          April 5, 2017
          I know what PSI means, but what does GPM mean?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          April 10, 2017
          Answer: 
          Gallons per minute- the amount of water it uses. This washer is fairly miserly, there is not very much water left on the ground after the cleaning job
           
          With sleek, confident curves inspired by nature, the Alteo faucet collection exudes a self-assured simplicity. Designed to deliver exceptional quality at an approachable price, the Alteo collection features fluid design lines that complement a wide range of decor. Available in a variety of KOHLER finishes to perfectly complementing any decor.
           

          What is the diameter of the faucet at its base?

          Asked by
          Hungryman
          May 14, 2016
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          April 10, 2017
          Answer: 
          The base of the faucet is square, slightly under two inches wide and deep
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 36 >>