EricG
  • Review count
    186
  • Helpfulness votes
    221
  • Average rating
    4.5
    4.5 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    December 7, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      147
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        186
      • Helpfulness votes
        221
      • Average rating
        4.5
        4.5 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        December 7, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          147
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          This Integrated LED fixture puts out over 5000 Lumens making for bright white light. A step up from the basic 4 ft. LED wrap not only in light but in look. 50,000 hours of like ensures maintenance free lighting once it is installed.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Extra bright lighting
          PostedDecember 7, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have replaced several of my old florescent lights with LED fixtures, and this one is the best yet. Besides the cost savings and long life, this fixture is light weight which makes installation easy with the drywall anchors and screws included. There are 3 knockouts to choose from for for bringing in power.
          The only difficulty I had was removing the diffusing lens, it is a snug fit and you probably will have to read the instructions on how to do it.
          The light is very bright, which is ideal for my kitchen.
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design, Very Bright
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The new Husky air tool line is built to industrial standards for the professional user providing more power, less noise and longer life. This new Husky 1/2 in. Impact Wrench features an aluminum housing and single hammer that produces 300 ft. lb. of torque. Contoured comfort grip provides added comfort and the built-in Forward/Reverse power management system allows the user to match the speed and power of the tool to the job. Designed for removing and installing fasteners during DIY projects and general auto/recreational vehicle/garden equipment service and repair.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Handy tool makes fast work of fastening and removing nuts
          PostedDecember 6, 2016
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is my first experience with an impact wrench but found this tool easy to use. It fastens and removes nuts far faster than using a ratchet, so it will get a lot of use.
          It has 4 torque settings, so I was concerned that it might over tighten nuts, after all you can shear a small bolt with much less than the advertised 300 ft/lbs. Even at the maximum setting on a 1/2 inch bolt, it only took about 25 ft lbs on my torque wrench to loosen it.
          Impact wrenches are rated under ideal conditions including a perfectly rigid support and no elasticity or friction in the nut itself. Any flexibility will result in a loss of impact energy without adding to the final torque. Still I am surprised Read More
          This is my first experience with an impact wrench but found this tool easy to use. It fastens and removes nuts far faster than using a ratchet, so it will get a lot of use.
          It has 4 torque settings, so I was concerned that it might over tighten nuts, after all you can shear a small bolt with much less than the advertised 300 ft/lbs. Even at the maximum setting on a 1/2 inch bolt, it only took about 25 ft lbs on my torque wrench to loosen it.
          Impact wrenches are rated under ideal conditions including a perfectly rigid support and no elasticity or friction in the nut itself. Any flexibility will result in a loss of impact energy without adding to the final torque. Still I am surprised that this tool performed so much lower than the maximum. I did have an adequate supply of air at 90 psi, and my bolt was held in a vise on a beefy work bench and the tool was well lubricated. Read Less
          Pros: Good Size & Weight
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Let Lutron's Maestro Occupancy Sensor switch turn the lights or fan on and off for you. It's a simple, easy, and low cost way to save energy and add automation to your home. Install a Maestro Sensor and lights/fan turn on when you enter the room, and then turn off automatically after you leave. This sensor features XCT Sensing Technology which detects minor motion, such as typing at a desk or reading, ensuring sensor does not turn off inadvertently. Equipped with ambient light detection, you can customize your sensor to detect daylight so lights don't turn on with enough natural light in your room. Install a sensor in your bedroom so lights aren't left on mistakenly or in the bathroom for your exhaust fan. This Maestro Sensor works with any bulb type, including CFL's and LED's, or fans up to 3 Amp. This switch can also be easily programmed to function as a vacancy (manual-on) sensor. Coordinating wallplate included.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Easy installation in homes with modern wiring
          PostedNovember 20, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          My pantry has a light and switch located at almost the furthest point from the door, so frequently we find ourselves stumbling around in the dark trying to find the switch. This motion sensor switch has solved our problem.
          In a home wired according to electrical codes, installation is quick and easy- just follow the clearly written instructions, being sure to connect the ground wire. The small amount of power required to operate the switch requires that one connection on the switch must be grounded.
          Our older home, wired by persons unknown, had ground wires in some places and not others. Our pantry was one of the places without grounding, but I was able to route a new ground wire from Read More
          My pantry has a light and switch located at almost the furthest point from the door, so frequently we find ourselves stumbling around in the dark trying to find the switch. This motion sensor switch has solved our problem.
          In a home wired according to electrical codes, installation is quick and easy- just follow the clearly written instructions, being sure to connect the ground wire. The small amount of power required to operate the switch requires that one connection on the switch must be grounded.
          Our older home, wired by persons unknown, had ground wires in some places and not others. Our pantry was one of the places without grounding, but I was able to route a new ground wire from a receptacle on the other side of the pantry wall. The motion sensor switch turns the light turns on as soon as we go through the door. Problem solved. Read Less
          Pros: Clear Instructions, Motion-Activated
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Maestro C.L dimmer provides optimal dimming performance of LED bulbs. This dimmer works with up to 150-Watt of dimmable LED/CFL or 600-Watt of incandescent/halogen, allowing you to control multiple bulb types on the same circuit. It is designed to control a broad range of dimmable LED and CFL bulbs from a variety of brands including Philips, Cree, GE, EcoSmart and Lighting Science. Use the rocker to adjust the light level for any activity or set the preset level to ensure lights always turn on to your desired light level. Advanced features include delayed fade to off, which allows time to exit a room or to get into bed before the lights turn off. Coordinating Claro wallplate included.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Elegant design, may not work well with all LED lights
          PostedNovember 5, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This dimmer is being used to control a new LED ceiling fixture in our kitchen. Normally we want full brightness, but sometimes it would be nice to reduce it- hence the need for a dimmer.
          This dimmer was very easy to install with clear instructions, but they warn that it may not work with all lights, and refers you to their website that has a list of compatible lights- ours was not on it. Despite that, the dimmer did work with only one minor problem: at the lowest two settings the light had a slight flicker. Only time will tell if is really an annoyance, but if it is we will just avoid these values.
          Pros: Clear Instructions, Nice Design
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          For DIYers and professional tradesmen who recognize the importance of going green and using natural timber harvested in a responsible manner, turn to this FSC-certified PureBond Red Oak Plywood from Columbia Forest Products. Each panel features a decorative red oak veneer on the face, which exudes the warmth and beauty of natural hardwood to supply your carpentry creations with visual allure. Furthermore, the 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. panels are manufactured with a soy-based PureBond technology that is formaldehyde-free so it won’t deteriorate air quality, as is common with UF-constructed sheets that are susceptible to releasing airborne contaminants over time. Intended for interior use, these red oak plywood panels are an affordable way to craft authentic hardwood-faced masterpieces such as built-in cabinets, entertainment centers, tables, shelves, headboards, wall panels and more. With an eye toward sustainability, Columbia takes pride in manufacturing this Earth-conscious product and takes seriously its responsibility in replenishing forests for future generations.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Excellent plywood at a reasonable price
          PostedNovember 4, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I have used this brand of plywood on several projects and never been disappointed. This sheet had no voids visible at the edges, although other sheets from the same company sometimes have had the occasional small void.
          The oak veneer is flawless, at least to my eye and the whole board is sufficiently flat that there is no difficulty pulling it flat, for example if you were attaching it to sides.
          Pros: High Quality of Material
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 38 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          This Integrated LED fixture puts out over 5000 Lumens making for bright white light. A step up from the basic 4 ft. LED wrap not only in light but in look. 50,000 hours of like ensures maintenance free lighting once it is installed.
           

          I need to flush mount a 4' light fixture. How is this fixture attached to ceiling? Where is conne...

          Asked by
          Jerry
          November 22, 2016
          I need to flush mount a 4' light fixture.

          How is this fixture attached to ceiling?

          Where is connection point for wiring and is it flexible, meaning can I drill hole in housing to pass wires through where I need it?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          December 6, 2016
          Answer: 
          There are 3 knockouts for routing wires. This light weight fixture can be mounted on drywall with the included hardware. That is the best way to mount it as the 4 mounting holes are not spaced at multiples of 16 or 24 inches
           
          The Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender effectively doubles the operating distance of your entire wireless network and conveniently avoids additional need for power cables or device clutter on your office desk or home theater. The WN3000RP extends your wireless network to include areas outside the range of your existing wireless router. Smart LED Indicators - Finds best location for optimal Wi-Fi coverage.
           

          Can this work for 3 bed room apartment for any network provider co. For INDIA ?

          Asked by
          Hasmukh
          November 27, 2016
          Can this work for 3 bed room apartment for any network provider co. For INDIA ?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          November 27, 2016
          Answer: 
          I have only used mine in the USA, but the range extender uses standard protocols and as far as I know India doesn't have its own protocols. To be sure check with your provider
           
          DAP Weldwood 128 fl. oz. Original Contact Cement forms an instant, high-strength bond on a variety of surfaces. This extremely versatile cement offers hundreds of uses indoors or out.
           

          How do you dispose of any excess you do not need?

          Asked by
          nahcc
          November 26, 2016
          How do you dispose of any excess you do not need?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          November 27, 2016
          Answer: 
          It is such a useful glue that I just keep it for another project! Otherwise leave it exposed to air outside and in a day or two all the volatiles will evaporate leaving you with a non flammable rubbery chunk that can be safely put in the trash.
           
          The Coast HP7 LED Flashlight is a great size that is easy to carry, and packs the light output and runtime that is needed by those that rely on their light every day. A quick cycle switch allows you to select between high or low output settings, giving you the option to choose the right level for your application. Coast's Pure Beam Focusing Optic System with Fingertip Speed Focus Control provides superior beam consistency from spot to flood, with no dark rings typically associated with focusing flashlights. Our Beam Lock System easily locks in your desired beam with a slight twist of the focusing bezel. A lightweight aluminum casing offers great durability and will hold up to heavy daily use. Backed by Coast's lifetime warranty against defects in materials and workmanship.
           

          How do i change the batteries? Put new aaas in an now it wont work... How do you line up the 3 contact pins??? No instr

          Asked by
          bill
          November 9, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          November 22, 2016
          Answer: 
          Put the negative end of each battery on the spring. Then insert the holder in the direction of the arrow.
           
          The Coast HP7 LED Flashlight is a great size that is easy to carry, and packs the light output and runtime that is needed by those that rely on their light every day. A quick cycle switch allows you to select between high or low output settings, giving you the option to choose the right level for your application. Coast's Pure Beam Focusing Optic System with Fingertip Speed Focus Control provides superior beam consistency from spot to flood, with no dark rings typically associated with focusing flashlights. Our Beam Lock System easily locks in your desired beam with a slight twist of the focusing bezel. A lightweight aluminum casing offers great durability and will hold up to heavy daily use. Backed by Coast's lifetime warranty against defects in materials and workmanship.
           

          Does the bulb blow and need to be replaced, if so how do you replace

          Asked by
          Bobby
          November 22, 2016
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          November 22, 2016
          Answer: 
          It uses an LED instead of a bulb, and they last much longer than a filament bulb- usually decades
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 30 >>