EricG
  • Review count
    170
  • Helpfulness votes
    205
  • Average rating
    4.5
    4.5 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    September 14, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      126
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        170
      • Helpfulness votes
        205
      • Average rating
        4.5
        4.5 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        September 14, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          126
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          San Marzano boasts a slightly sweet taste when cooked; giving sauces and paste a creamy thickness, which is a feature of traditional Italian cooking and favored by gourmet chefs everywhere. Start your garden with plants for huge time savings compared to seed starting, seed thinning, etc. Your plants arrive healthy and ready for your garden. We include planting instructions along with a care tag to ensure planting your San Marzano Tomato is everything you expected and more. We suggest that for optimal performance you use Proven Winners fertilizers on all of your plants and irrigate with the Proven Winners WaterWise kit.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good idea for those living in cool climates
          PostedSeptember 14, 2016
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          This tomato plant was obviously in fine condition when it was shipped, but it had suffered badly in transit. It was well packaged against damage, but had to endure hundred degree plus temperature over much of its five day journey to my home.
          I immediately planted it and shaded it from the sun. It did show some improvement for a few days before going into decline. Within ten days it was dead.
          I may try again in the spring.
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Level Mount NT65MC Cantilever TV Mount is the easy way to mount any 37 in. to 100 in. flat panel TV up to 150 lbs. This TV mount pans up to 30°; extends up to 14 in., tilts up to 15° and swivels to position the screen for an optimal viewing experience. A built-in bubble level, extension arms, and mounting hardware are all included in the box, making installation simple and straightforward. The Level Mount NT65MC Cantilever TV Mount comes with a limited lifetime warranty and a $5,000 limited protection plan. Level Mount by Elexa delivers superior Do-It-Yourself TV mounts that are easy to install and use with any size TV, with all the hardware required for your installation needs included with each product. Established by Elexa in 2003, Level Mount is committed to providing the most stylish, innovative, and highest-quality TV mounts in the market today.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Sturdy and versatile mount
          PostedSeptember 13, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have a perfectly good TV wall mount, but the placement of the input ports on my new TV make it almost impossible to plug in cables. This mount solves that problem by allowing me to move the screen away from the wall.
          Installation was straightforward. One part of the kit which is light weight attaches to the TV. The other part is heavy and carries a "team lift" warning. It still was easy enough to maneuver and attach to the wall.
          Because the mounting screws are about three inches apart in the vertical direction, and the TV can extend out by a foot or more, the mount acts like a lever and the force on the upper two screws is several times that of the TV. I took extra care to make sure Read More
          I have a perfectly good TV wall mount, but the placement of the input ports on my new TV make it almost impossible to plug in cables. This mount solves that problem by allowing me to move the screen away from the wall.
          Installation was straightforward. One part of the kit which is light weight attaches to the TV. The other part is heavy and carries a "team lift" warning. It still was easy enough to maneuver and attach to the wall.
          Because the mounting screws are about three inches apart in the vertical direction, and the TV can extend out by a foot or more, the mount acts like a lever and the force on the upper two screws is several times that of the TV. I took extra care to make sure the screws went into the center of the wall studs. Before mounting the TV, I put my weight on the extended mount and although the wall creaked and slightly flexed the system seems more than adequate to hold my TV.
          The TV simple hooks onto the mount and is locked in place by two clips. Because the mount is away from the wall it is easy to see that the TV is secure before letting go of it.
          The product contains a wealth of hardware, although I did need to find four washers. The mount includes a build-in level, though I chose to use a precision level. An electric drill, socket wrench and screwdriver is need. At the end of the job I had a good collection of left over metric parts to use on other projects.
          When the job is complete, it is easy to move the TV a few inches to the left or right to satisfy the more critical eye of my wife. Read Less
          Pros: Clear Instructions, sturdy mount, reasonably easy installation
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Viagrow aeroponic Veg 5 is an easy to use plug and play cloning and aeroponic plant growing machine. The high powered 396 GPH submersible pump and 360 micro sprayer deliver highly oxygenated water to your cutting and plants promoting accelerated root growth while providing the perfect coverage for your plants to thrive. This system comes with net pots, neoprene collars to support cuttings, drain and water level indicator which allows for easy water level monitoring and draining of the water. The aeroponic manifold and mister are easy to take apart and clean.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good introduction to aeroponics
          PostedSeptember 13, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          First a disclaimer: I knew nothing about aeroponics besides having heard the term. This system provides a good way to learn and also possibly to solve a problem of mine.
          Assembling the system is simple, despite the large number of parts, thanks to clear instructions. The core of the system is a plastic bucket that looks as though it was modified by hand. The holes and power cord notch were ragged and needed a bit of cleanup.
          For a first test I chose geranium cuttings that are easy to clone in soil by using rooting compound. In addition I also tried to clone Tree of Heaven cuttings. I have always failed to propagate this plant which thrives in my desert garden popping up only in places Read More
          First a disclaimer: I knew nothing about aeroponics besides having heard the term. This system provides a good way to learn and also possibly to solve a problem of mine.
          Assembling the system is simple, despite the large number of parts, thanks to clear instructions. The core of the system is a plastic bucket that looks as though it was modified by hand. The holes and power cord notch were ragged and needed a bit of cleanup.
          For a first test I chose geranium cuttings that are easy to clone in soil by using rooting compound. In addition I also tried to clone Tree of Heaven cuttings. I have always failed to propagate this plant which thrives in my desert garden popping up only in places were I do not want it.
          Since my water supply is alkaline, I reduced the pH to correct levels using sodium bisulphite.
          After 4 days both sets of cuttings looked healthy. Normally the Tree of Heaven cuttings would have been dead by this time. Both types of plants are obviously transpiring well in the water laden air of the cloner. However neither showed any sign of root development, despite having used the cloning gel.
          This system does its job well, I need to experiment to perfect my technique, and this system lets me do that too. Read Less
          Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Assemble
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This flooring nailer gives you the flexibility to switch between the two most popular flooring fasteners without having to carry two separate tools. Designed to stand up to the rigors of everyday use, it is built with a hardened steel drive blade, rubber O-rings, and an aluminum body. The nailer features a light strike bumper, and comes with a lightweight fiberglass mallet. The white rubber head prevents marring when you move your flooring into place. On the rare occasion the nailer jams, the tool-free quick release makes it easy to get back to work quickly. The 360-degree swivel Industrial NPT fitting gives you flexibility when moving around, and the air filter keeps the tools interior clean and running smoothly. Each nailer comes with a padded bag with front and interior pockets. This nailer can install most 5/8 in. to 3/4 in. solid tongue and groove flooring, and comes with interchangeable base plates. The no-mar base makes it safe to use on prefinished flooring. The 2-in-1 Nailer is designed to use 16-Gauge L-cleats from 1-1/2 in. to 2 in. long and also can use 15-1/2-Gauge 1/2 in. Crown Flooring Staples from 1-1/2 in to 2 in. L. This flooring nailer is compatible with any brand staples or L-cleats. The 2-in-1 Flooring Nailer (Model: EFL50Q) is suitable for any professional or do-it-yourselfer. This flooring nailer is part of Estwing’s professional line of pneumatic tools, and is covered by a 5 Year Professional Tool Warranty and a 90 Day Wearable Parts Warranty.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          High quality flooring nailer
          PostedSeptember 11, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I find myself using air powered tools more and more, and this floor nailer is a welcome addition to my set of air tools.
          My first impressions was of the quality of the nailer and the included accessories. The padded carrying case should keep the nailer looking like new for years. The instructions are excellent and the tool was easy to load and use. So far it has not jammed once, which speaks well of the quality of the tool.
          Besides the intended use of the tool for installing flooring for which it has performed flawlessly, I have a future project that requires fastening together multiple layers of OSB. Because of the 45 degree angle that this nailer fires, its maximum penetration is Read More
          I find myself using air powered tools more and more, and this floor nailer is a welcome addition to my set of air tools.
          My first impressions was of the quality of the nailer and the included accessories. The padded carrying case should keep the nailer looking like new for years. The instructions are excellent and the tool was easy to load and use. So far it has not jammed once, which speaks well of the quality of the tool.
          Besides the intended use of the tool for installing flooring for which it has performed flawlessly, I have a future project that requires fastening together multiple layers of OSB. Because of the 45 degree angle that this nailer fires, its maximum penetration is reduced to 1.4 inches for 2 inch fasteners which is enough for my needs. The 45 degree angle means I can get better resistance to separation by setting the fasteners in pairs with a 180 degree rotation. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, quality construction
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This 16/2 500 ft. Extension cord is outdoor rated and can carry up to 13 Amp. The molded on plug and receptacle are UL rated. The Male Plug is polarized for added safety.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great outdoor power cord
          PostedSeptember 8, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Living where I do, power cords get a lot of use and abuse, being exposed to the UV from the high desert sun and dragged over sand and rocks, so I find myself replacing at least one from my collection every six months. The best cords have lasted 5 years or more, and I expect this one will too.
          I prefer two conductor cords for my double insulated tools because they are lighter and less expensive than cords with a separate ground.
          This cord has proved very resistant to tangles and taking a permanent kink the way some of my three conductor cords do.
          Pros: Durable, tangle resistant
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 34 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          The New Defiant Bluetooth smart LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. No need to climb ladders for motion sensor adjustment as the innovative use of Bluetooth smart Technology allows sensor control from your smart phone device. Bluetooth smart technology allows control of light level outside your home by adjustable dimming feature. LED technology provides no bulbs to change. Install quick and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected.
           

          What is the advantage of having a bluetooth activated light?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Montreal. Quebec
          September 19, 2016
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          September 21, 2016
          Answer: 
          I have mine mounted high up, so Bluetooth lets me make changes without having to get a ladder
           
          Made from a tough co-polymer that features Lay-Flat technology, the Scotts MaxFLEX garden hose provides excellent kink resistance during use. The material resists kinking as you uncoil the hose and pull it behind you around the yard. The exclusive co-polymer makes the hose 30% lighter than similar hoses. This environment-friendly lead-free hose from our Element line will provide you with years of trouble-free and safe performance. The 100 ft. L also ensures that you will be able to comfortably reach each corner of a large lawn, flower bed or garden. The couplings are made of oversized XL crush-proof aluminum that withstands daily use and trampling by heavy feet or even heavier garden equipment. The couplings easily attach to any spigot and feature our innovative Hose Armour technology to prevent binding at the spigot when pulled. Ideal for use in any climate, the co-polymer material makes the Scotts MaxFLEX hose incredibly tough both inside and outside. Superior scuff resistance on the jacket helps to keep the hose looking its best season after season. The Scotts MaxFLEX hose has burst strength of 500 psi, with heavyweight reinforcement at high pressure areas for extra durability and lifelong performance.
           

          Do it have a holder

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          September 13, 2016
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          September 13, 2016
          Answer: 
          No, just the hose
           
          The Viagrow aeroponic Veg 5 is an easy to use plug and play cloning and aeroponic plant growing machine. The high powered 396 GPH submersible pump and 360 micro sprayer deliver highly oxygenated water to your cutting and plants promoting accelerated root growth while providing the perfect coverage for your plants to thrive. This system comes with net pots, neoprene collars to support cuttings, drain and water level indicator which allows for easy water level monitoring and draining of the water. The aeroponic manifold and mister are easy to take apart and clean.
           

          The pictures show a packet of clonex cloning jel and a packet of clonex cloning solution. Are these both included with the purchase?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          June 5, 2016
          Other websites that sell this product do not show any Clonex products.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          September 13, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, both are provided in a single packet
           
          You and your guests know good taste is about more than big flavors. Thanks to LG's sleek Slide-In Range with ProBake Convection, you won't just entertain—you'll wow. The generous 6.3 cu. ft. capacity oven handles that impressive roast and all the accompaniments, while ProBake Convection makes it easy to achieve baking perfection. And with a depth that lines up with standard kitchen countertops, the LG slide-in electric range offers a streamlined, custom appearance that enhances the look of every kitchen and makes cooking a pleasure.
           

          Is the vent removable for cleaning?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          August 29, 2016
          There are no screens on the vents. That means spills and food will fall in there. Is the vent removable so it can be wiped down or food particles removed? If not, how do you clean in there?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          August 29, 2016
          Answer: 
          After a month or so of use I haven't managed to splash anything on the top vent, it is quite a bit higher than the cooking surface. However if I do, it seems as though the vent comes off by removing the four screws at the back.
           
          This 4 ft. Wrap light perfect for any application where high quality LED lighting is required for your workspace. It can be easily installed. Using Commercial Electric LED Light fixtures will save you significant dollars with regard to your operation costs.
           

          Can these lights be wired with a plug in cord inoted of hard wired

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          August 26, 2016
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          August 27, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, when I built my shop I put outlets in the ceiling, so I connected fluorescent and LED fixtures with a cord and plug
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 26 >>