EricG
  • Review count
    57
  • Helpfulness votes
    95
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    December 10, 2014
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      37
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        57
      • Helpfulness votes
        95
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        December 10, 2014
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          37
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          The Nicholson 3-Piece Steel WoodChuck Set features 3 combination chisel and wood rasps. The set features impact-resistant handles. The tools have edge teeth for working on hard-to-reach spots.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          More than a chisel, great concept
          PostedDecember 10, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          I got this set principally for the chisel functionality, but I have found the file and rasp feature to be very useful. Recently I used the rasp on a wooden cone I was turning on my lathe and I was surprised how smooth the resulting finish was. I only neede to touch up the piece with sandpaper.
          Pros: All In One, Sturdy
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Scotts Element 5/8 in. x 50 ft. MaxFlex Garden Hose is constructed with a new patented, heavy duty proprietary compound along with a heavy duty reinforcement, extra-tuff jacket and super duty couplings. The new compound incorporated in the MaxFlex Hose provides high kink resistance through its "lay flat technology" and is both light weight and very strong while being very easy to coil.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Quality hose
          PostedDecember 10, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Only time will tell how long a hose will last in our brutal desert climate, but this hose has the appearance of high quality. The brass fittings are large and heavy, quite unlike the fittings on poor hoses. This hose does not soften much at 90 degrees and are flexible at freezing.
          Pros: Great Quality
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The HUSKY 17-piece Air Compressor Accessory Kit comes with several air compressor accessories to help you with a variety of projects. Its fittings are all 1/4 in. pipe thread and its couplers and plugs are 3/4 in. Industrial Milton design. The kit has a blow gun that can be used for cleaning. Included needles, nozzles and air chuck help with inflation applications. Storage case included prevents the loss of small parts and keeps all of your accessories in 1 place.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A useful collection of air tool parts
          PostedNovember 29, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          I needed a second air chuck, because my existing one is permanently attached to a hose passing through my shop wall, and I wanted one that could be used away from the shop with a portable compressor. The extra parts were a bonus.
          The couplers and plugs seem sturdy, but the air chuck, pressure gauge and blow gun seem light weight compared to my others. So far all have worked fine, in fact the blow gun in this set works better than my old gun for cleaning out small holes.
          This summer I had to inflate my wife's inflatable pool float with a makeshift adapter, so the raft inflator tip will make the task easy next year. You can never have too many tools!
          The case does not hold the air chuck Read More
          I needed a second air chuck, because my existing one is permanently attached to a hose passing through my shop wall, and I wanted one that could be used away from the shop with a portable compressor. The extra parts were a bonus.
          The couplers and plugs seem sturdy, but the air chuck, pressure gauge and blow gun seem light weight compared to my others. So far all have worked fine, in fact the blow gun in this set works better than my old gun for cleaning out small holes.
          This summer I had to inflate my wife's inflatable pool float with a makeshift adapter, so the raft inflator tip will make the task easy next year. You can never have too many tools!
          The case does not hold the air chuck after I added the connector, but that is not a problem for me as I moved all the parts to my storage unit that contains my other air tool accessories. Read Less
          Pros: useful assortment
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Wiss lightweight aluminum handle snips have a longer handle length and rounded head design to improve cutting leverage. Large, wide handle loops increase cutting leverage and comfortably fit all hand sizes. The sleek head design reduces cutting effort by allowing easy flow of material while cutting.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Extremely light for the size
          PostedOctober 29, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          I own several pairs of 'aviation' style snips, and while they exert great great shearing force and are compact, I like to make a smooth cut in a single motion, and that means using conventional snips. My old pair is made from steel and very heavy, so these Wiss snips are both bigger and lighter being made of aluminum, and with more comfortable handles.
          They cut 22g steel with ease, making very smooth straight cuts. Another plus are the removable blades, which means that I can recover factory fresh cutting when they become worn. My old snips won't see much use now.
          Pros: Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Level and Torpedo Level Combo Pack includes a box level and a torpedo level that work well for home project use. The levels feature aluminum frames to help provide durability and acrylic vials that resist leaking for long-lasting use. The shock-absorbing endcaps help provide safety, and the 300-degree top-read vial helps provide easy readings.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Expand you collection!
          PostedOctober 22, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          I used to wonder why levels come in so many sizes, now part way through a multi-year project I know why.
          Bigger levels offer the potential for more accuracy and can span local variations in slope. With wavy 2x4s (all too common) you need to align the average slope. But long levels won't fit in small spaces, so pick the longest level that will work for you.
          This combo pack let me pick up two levels at once. I needed a torpedo level to align my recently assembled 3d printer and the 24 inch level will replace my ancient garage sale 24 incher.
          I checked these levels and accuracy is spot on, as I found with my other Empire level.
          Pros: Accurate, Long-Lasting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          The Bosch GLM 15 Laser Measure is the smallest, simplest way of measuring. Thanks to its laser precision technology and continuous measurement mode, it takes instant and reliable measurements up to 50 ft. so you can size up your job in seconds. Square and compact by design, the GLM 15 Laser Measure is ready for anywhere portability, fitting comfortably in your hand and easily into your pocket. With just 1 button and a shape that lets you measure in any position, the GLM 15 Laser Measure makes measuring easier and faster than a tape measure.
           

          Once the header measurement is found, are you able to transfer that measurement to a board.

          Asked by
          Gabe
          Pearland Texas
          December 15, 2014
          Once the header measurement is found, are you able to transfer that measurement to a board to be cut for the header using the laser measure.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          December 16, 2014
          Answer: 
          Yes, when you make a measurement you can hold it by pressing the button. The old value is displayed while it displays the distance to the current laser target.
          To transfer to a board, put a scrap of wood (or something else that will act as a target) at the end of the board, move the rangefinder down the board keeping the spot on the 'target'. When the two displays match, mark the position of the end of Read More
          Yes, when you make a measurement you can hold it by pressing the button. The old value is displayed while it displays the distance to the current laser target.
          To transfer to a board, put a scrap of wood (or something else that will act as a target) at the end of the board, move the rangefinder down the board keeping the spot on the 'target'. When the two displays match, mark the position of the end of the rangefinder on the board. Much easier done than explained.
          Since I sometimes transpose digits in my head, this has saved a lot of wasted wood! Read Less
           
          The RIDGID 10 in. 13 Amp Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 Amp motor for speeds up to 3,450 RPM and a table with a polished and milled cast-iron core to provide a level, flat surface with low vibration. The saw can be customized by adding an extension table or auxiliary tables (not included) for routers or other specialty tools (not included).
           

          Does this saw ever go on sale?

          Asked by
          rfree190
          December 14, 2014
          I'd love to replace my Dewalt 10" saw with this one, but can't afford the $550 price tag. Does it ever go on sale? LIke maybe Dec 26th??? :-P
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          December 15, 2014
          Answer: 
          Make sure you are on the HD emailing list. I get special offers every day, though I haven't seen this saw on sale. This saw is a great value at list price. I got mine 2 years ago and never regretted it- nor have I seen a table saw that looked to be a better value.
          If you don't have a HD credit card, check to see if they have a special offer for people who sign up, such as a percentage off your first Read More
          Make sure you are on the HD emailing list. I get special offers every day, though I haven't seen this saw on sale. This saw is a great value at list price. I got mine 2 years ago and never regretted it- nor have I seen a table saw that looked to be a better value.
          If you don't have a HD credit card, check to see if they have a special offer for people who sign up, such as a percentage off your first purchase with it Read Less
           
          The RIDGID 10 in. 13 Amp Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 Amp motor for speeds up to 3,450 RPM and a table with a polished and milled cast-iron core to provide a level, flat surface with low vibration. The saw can be customized by adding an extension table or auxiliary tables (not included) for routers or other specialty tools (not included).
           

          has the manufacturer fixed some of the blade alignment issues on this saw?

          Asked by
          Manny
          atlanta ga
          December 6, 2014
          j have read many review about alignment problems from other woodworking sites.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          December 10, 2014
          Answer: 
          Out of the box I only had to make minor adjustments. I haven't adjusted it since. I've had this saw for almost 2 years and it has seen a lot of use.
          Out of interest, I just checked it. The blade is out of vertical by a hundredth of an inch, and the fence lines up with the blade as accurately as I can measure. Not bad for an inexpensive table saw!
          I use the cast iron table top as a 'surface plate'. It Read More
          Out of the box I only had to make minor adjustments. I haven't adjusted it since. I've had this saw for almost 2 years and it has seen a lot of use.
          Out of interest, I just checked it. The blade is out of vertical by a hundredth of an inch, and the fence lines up with the blade as accurately as I can measure. Not bad for an inexpensive table saw!
          I use the cast iron table top as a 'surface plate'. It is flat to better than 0.001 inch over 6 inches, and hasn't warped with age. Read Less
           
          The RIDGID 10 in. 13 Amp Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 Amp motor for speeds up to 3,450 RPM and a table with a polished and milled cast-iron core to provide a level, flat surface with low vibration. The saw can be customized by adding an extension table or auxiliary tables (not included) for routers or other specialty tools (not included).
           

          HOW MANY HORSE POWER THE MOTOR

          Asked by
          DANIEL
          December 8, 2014
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          December 9, 2014
          Answer: 
          There isn't a horsepower figure given in the manual or specifications. Judging by the amount my shop lights dim at start up this motor seems about the same as my '2 1/2 peak HP' compressor.
          Realistically, when this saw is working hard, that is when the saw just starts to slow, I'd guess it is working at a bit over 1 HP. It can sustain this easily without overheating.
          My previous table saw was a Ryobi Read More
          There isn't a horsepower figure given in the manual or specifications. Judging by the amount my shop lights dim at start up this motor seems about the same as my '2 1/2 peak HP' compressor.
          Realistically, when this saw is working hard, that is when the saw just starts to slow, I'd guess it is working at a bit over 1 HP. It can sustain this easily without overheating.
          My previous table saw was a Ryobi BT 3000 which lasted 10 years, but the 13 amp table saw is more powerful and holds its adjustment better.
          If you are a professional woodworker you may need a heavier and more powerful table saw, but it will need a dedicated 240 volt circuit and cost 4 times more. Read Less
           
          The Fluidmaster Duo Flush System gives you a tool to help save more water than any other dual flush system on the market. The Dual Flush System retrofits into any 2 in. toilet tank, and is proven to use up to 45% less water than the original tank parts. It also has been shown to improve flushing power on the full flush, so you will actually see better performance than before. It comes complete with a high refill fill valve to insure consistent flushes every single time. A dual flush tank lever is included with this system.
           

          Does it work with any tank lever or just the one included in the kit?

          Asked by
          abc123
          California
          October 27, 2014
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          October 29, 2014
          Answer: 
          Probably not. Their lever connects to a valve. It might be possible to adapt an existing lever to operate the valve, but there would be no guarantee of success.
          The their lever is finished in chrome and looks quite nice, although a bit small. It has markings that show which direction to push for full and half flush, but the markings are so small I only just noticed them when I took it apart to answer Read More
          Probably not. Their lever connects to a valve. It might be possible to adapt an existing lever to operate the valve, but there would be no guarantee of success.
          The their lever is finished in chrome and looks quite nice, although a bit small. It has markings that show which direction to push for full and half flush, but the markings are so small I only just noticed them when I took it apart to answer your question. Read Less
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>