EricG
  • Review count
    78
  • Helpfulness votes
    108
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    April 15, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      49
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        78
      • Helpfulness votes
        108
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        April 15, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          49
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          The BORA WTX Clamp Edge and Saw Guide kit is the perfect addition to your entire circular and jig saw woodworking projects. The durable WTX Clamp Edge is made of tough heavy-duty extruded aluminum, allowing it last through many years of use. The adjustable end clamp slides easily along the precise channels eliminating the need for the internal channel bar and the locking handle grabs the work surface securely and does not budge. The WTX Saw Sled easily attaches to your Circular Saw and glides smoothly over the WTX Clamp Edge to make track saw like precision cuts at a fraction of the price. Works with right or left hand circular saws and will work with additional BORA WTX Straight Edge Add-On Rails. Lifetime Warranty.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Does the job
          PostedApril 15, 2015
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Since I have an ancient Black and Decker circular saw I was curious whether mine would be one of the 'almost all saws' that fits this kit. It was, but only just. The saw guide has an extra slot to handle right blade saws like mine, but the clamping attachment on the guide did not attach my saw very securely, though it did work.
          The clamp edge did its job well spanning across 4x8 sheets and locked easily.
          One of the slotted set screws in the guide had the slot off center and the part broke the first time I tried to use it. It was easy enough to use a hacksaw to cut a new slot in the right place. The base of the guide is made of plastic and is quite thick, reducing the cutting depth of the Read More
          Since I have an ancient Black and Decker circular saw I was curious whether mine would be one of the 'almost all saws' that fits this kit. It was, but only just. The saw guide has an extra slot to handle right blade saws like mine, but the clamping attachment on the guide did not attach my saw very securely, though it did work.
          The clamp edge did its job well spanning across 4x8 sheets and locked easily.
          One of the slotted set screws in the guide had the slot off center and the part broke the first time I tried to use it. It was easy enough to use a hacksaw to cut a new slot in the right place. The base of the guide is made of plastic and is quite thick, reducing the cutting depth of the saw, which might be a problem trimming the ends of thick doors. Despite the thickness, the base was quite flexible making it seem that the saw was inadequately constrained, however the guide did allow me to make accurate cuts. The guide made a loud sound as it slid on the clamp edge, but this was not a problem for me as my old saw was even noisier.
          Overall I found this set somewhat lacking in quality, yet still able to do its job well. Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, Light Weight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Designed rugged to handle use every day, the FLIR DM93 digital Multi-meter offers both safety and versatility without compromising high performance or innovation for tomorrow’s challenges. Take the DM93 on every job and it delivers with advanced meter functions including True RMS accuracy, AC/DC current and voltage, VFD mode, LoZ Mode, resistance, capacitance, frequency, diode-test, temperature (using Type K thermocouple probe) and continuity check. The 5-digit, 40,000-count dual display with analog bar-graph is LED-illuminated making it bright and easy to read anywhere. In addition to recording up to 20,000 readings automatically and up to 99 manually entered readings, versatile data functions including hold, min/max, average. A relative function helps you 'zero out' the meter. The FLIR DM93 D mm has a category IV-600V, category III-1000V overvoltage safety rating.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A serious measuring instrument for those who want the very best
          PostedApril 12, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I have been getting by with low cost multimeters all my life, replacing them when they inevitably failed, but this unit looks like it is built to last a lifetime. Two decades ago I purchased a Fluke digital oscilloscope and I have been using this to make precision measurements and debug electronics, and this multimeter nicely compliments the Fluke. However the DM93 is just as accurate and is much more convenient to use with the features it has in common. Finally I have a means of checking capacitor values.
          One surprise was the thermocouple temperature probe that is included with the DM93, it has already proved handy for testing the 3D printer that I am building.
          It will not fit in your Read More
          I have been getting by with low cost multimeters all my life, replacing them when they inevitably failed, but this unit looks like it is built to last a lifetime. Two decades ago I purchased a Fluke digital oscilloscope and I have been using this to make precision measurements and debug electronics, and this multimeter nicely compliments the Fluke. However the DM93 is just as accurate and is much more convenient to use with the features it has in common. Finally I have a means of checking capacitor values.
          One surprise was the thermocouple temperature probe that is included with the DM93, it has already proved handy for testing the 3D printer that I am building.
          It will not fit in your pocket, unless you have really large pockets. The only other downside is that the manual is rather too brief. I scratched my head trying to figure out how to insert the batteries. The instructions said to unscrew the battery cover, but failed to mention that some of the screws were hidden under the support stand. The mysterious strap that came with a circular medallion also had me stumped until my wife spotted the Velcro closure, then all become obvious, the medallion hid a rare earth magnet so you can hang the multimeter against a convenient metal wall. Very useful the next time I have to fix a tank.
          I still haven't come close to using all the features that this versatile instrument provides, but I am sure that I will use them all in the years ahead. Read Less
          Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design, good user interface
          Cons: manual could be better
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          PureBond plywood project panels are a convenient and cost-effective way to build cabinets, furniture and other woodworking projects. Made in the USA with sustainably-harvested American hardwoods, they provide a beautiful wood veneer face bonded to a strong and flat wood core. These PureBond project panels are made with no added formaldehyde, eliminating the concern about off-gassing dangerous fumes during fabrication or when installed in your home. Their smaller size makes them easy to handle and allows you to order just the amount of wood you need. PureBond plywood, in project panel sizes or in full sheet sizes, are a Home Depot exclusive.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Attractive and useful
          PostedApril 12, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Years ago I used red oak plywood to make a floor to ceiling bookcase with very satisfactory results, but I seldom use plywood for making furniture. This panel is being used for its structural properties: plywood is much less prone to warping than solid wood, especially when humidity changes.
          However I couldn't help but notice the beautiful grain pattern. The veneer is applies in 4 inch strips, so the end result looks as though you glued together solid planks to make the board. If my wife notices it, I can see myself making a lot of furniture!
          Pros: High Quality of Material, Seals Well, Good Shape
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This GE 20 Amp Backyard Outlet with GFI Receptacle allows you to put power where you need it. Made of weather-resistant galvanized steel, this 20 Amp outdoor outlet offers a compact design. Most importantly it comes pre-assembled to reduce installation time saving you money.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Exudes the appearance of quality
          PostedApril 3, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have installed several outdoor GFI outlets around my property in the past, and the plastic enclosures have stood up to all weather and even our high desert brutal UV sunlight, but now I have found this box to be a major step up in quality and durability..
          This heavy metal box is in a totally different class, looking like it will long outlive the other boxes. So I'm sure I'll be getting more of them. Installation posed no problems.
          Pros: Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Rust-Oleum RockSolid Garage Floor Coating Kit offers unsurpassed durability. This unique Polycuramine formula is 20 times stronger than epoxy. With resistance to salt, oil, gas and other harsh chemicals, this is one of the toughest floor coatings available and is perfectly suited for high traffic areas like garages and workshops. Zero VOC's and a low odor make it a great choice for indoor applications. Easy to maintain, lasts a lifetime while still looking fantastic.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Very durable
          PostedApril 3, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I have used two-part epoxy based paint in the past with excellent results in the main area in my shop and it has stood up to very heavy abuse with falling bits of steel, cutting fluids and oil and it always cleans up easily.
          This time I applied this to the secondary shop area and I'm confident it will do just as well here. This finish is described as Polycuramine which seems to be more durable than epoxy but with poorer bonding, so it is especially important to follow the instructions for preparing the concrete. The mixing bag makes it particularly easy to apply.
          Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Dries Quickly
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          This Parksville Folding Rectangular Dining Table by Hampton Bay is sure to add stunning color and practical style to your outdoor space. A perfect size for dinner or entertaining and folds away for easy storage and portability. Durable, weather-resistant aluminum construction is reinforced with steel to ensure years of enjoyment. The beautiful, aqua blue sling tabletop and sleek white frame will brighten any porch or patio. Coordinate with other pieces in the Parksville Collection for a cheery, complementary style.
           

          Sturdiness

          Asked by
          Tiffany
          Sunland, CA
          April 15, 2015
          Is this table sturdy enough to hold large casserole dishes, plates, cups and everything needed for an outdoor dinner?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          April 18, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes, there is perforated metal under the fabric table top, so it is very strong
           
          This Parksville Folding Rectangular Dining Table by Hampton Bay is sure to add stunning color and practical style to your outdoor space. A perfect size for dinner or entertaining and folds away for easy storage and portability. Durable, weather-resistant aluminum construction is reinforced with steel to ensure years of enjoyment. The beautiful, aqua blue sling tabletop and sleek white frame will brighten any porch or patio. Coordinate with other pieces in the Parksville Collection for a cheery, complementary style.
           

          pushing chair in

          Asked by
          Tiffany
          Sunland, CA
          April 15, 2015
          I was looking at pictures of this table and since they are not in the store and could not physically see it, Iwondered if a chair would be able to be pushed under the table? The bottom bar looks like it might come out far, so that you would not be able to get a persons legs under the table.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          April 18, 2015
          Answer: 
          The bar does restrict the chair somewhat, but when the char leg touches the table bar there is only about 12 inches from chair back to table. So there is no problem getting the chair close enough to be comfortable
           
          This RIDGID 10 in. Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 amp motor for speeds up to 3450 RPM. The cast iron table's milled and polished surface minimizes vibration and provides a flat, level surface for trouble-free cutting. There is a blade guard for safety. Customize your table by adding an extension or auxiliary tables for routers or other specialty tools.
           

          does this saw come with the stand?

          Asked by
          Stormy
          Puyallup, Wa
          February 15, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 16, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes, the included legs provide a firm support. If your floor is uneven, there are adjusting screws to compensate. Four retractable wheels let you move the saw from one part of your shop to another. You wouldn't be able to transport the saw over soft ground however, because the saw is too heavy for the small wheels.
           
          The Bosch GLL 2 Self-Leveling Cross-Line Laser is a compact and high-performance leveling and alignment solution for professionals. Featuring highly visible laser lines, a smart pendulum leveling system and a flexible mounting device, the GLL 2 provides the accuracy, reliability and durability needed on any job. Included with the GLL 2 is the MM 2 flexible mounting device giving professionals the versatility needed for multiple leveling and alignment applications.
           

          Work on horizontal surfaces?

          Asked by
          Tony
          Western Mass
          September 23, 2014
          Can the crosshairs be projected downward onto a horizontal surface such as a floor (for laying out tiles)?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 14, 2015
          Answer: 
          No, the tool projects the horizontal line at the height of the window in the tool, which would always be at least a few inches above the floor.
          However set the tool so that the beam is a convenient height above the floor- say 12 inches, and then use a ruler to measure down from the laser line to the tiles, if it is 12 inches then you are spot on!
           
          Step up to designer styles and superior security with Kwikset signature series products. The 980 deadbolt is both tough and attractive. The Polished Brass finish adds to the traditional look and feel of the product and makes a classic statement. The single cylinder deadbolt can be locked or unlocked by a key on the outside, or the turn button on the inside. Smart Key Re-key Technology allows you to control who has access to your home. Re-key the lock yourself in seconds in 3 easy steps. Have you recently moved or had a child lose a key. It's time to re-key. Smart Key provides the highest level of residential security and features Bump Guard to protect against lock bumping.
           

          when ready to rekey, where does one purchace the new keys?

          Asked by
          Suzyal2
          February 9, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 10, 2015
          Answer: 
          You go to the kitchen drawer that holds all the old keys that don't fit anything. Pick one and then have as many copies made as you need.
          Lacking such a drawer, I suspect a locksmith could probably help you out.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>