EricG
  • Review count
    92
  • Helpfulness votes
    125
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    July 5, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      54
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        92
      • Helpfulness votes
        125
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        July 5, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          54
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          WaterWorks 5/8 in. dia. x 100 ft. Contractor Grade Garden Hose
          WaterWorks 5/8 in. dia. x 100 ft. Contractor Grade Garden Hose
          This Contractor Grade hose is built tough for everyday use. Its size makes it highly kink resistant. Heavy duty crush-proof couplings along with a durable abrasion-resistant cover make this hose very popular with the demanding industrial trade. Added reinforcement gives this hose high burst strength for varying water pressures and long life on the job.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Not bad for the price
          PostedJuly 5, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Contractor grade can mean tough enough to survive on a job site. On the other hand contractor grade cabinets are made to look OK but are low quality. This hose lies somewhere in between.
          This hose is not as sturdy as my other working hoses, but is better than the budget priced ones I have used in the past. The end fittings are beefy, they look like brass but are too light, so I suspect they are anodized aluminum. The large size makes it easy to connect and disconnect.
          Sometimes I have to run hoses across my driveway where they get run over by vehicles. Premium hoses can take this abuse, but I am not sure that this hose is strong enough, so I will use it in a safer location. Because this Read More
          Contractor grade can mean tough enough to survive on a job site. On the other hand contractor grade cabinets are made to look OK but are low quality. This hose lies somewhere in between.
          This hose is not as sturdy as my other working hoses, but is better than the budget priced ones I have used in the past. The end fittings are beefy, they look like brass but are too light, so I suspect they are anodized aluminum. The large size makes it easy to connect and disconnect.
          Sometimes I have to run hoses across my driveway where they get run over by vehicles. Premium hoses can take this abuse, but I am not sure that this hose is strong enough, so I will use it in a safer location. Because this hose is apt to kink it is not ideal if you have to keep moving it, but considering its price it is really a great value. Read Less
          Pros: Great Value
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The WEN Electric 1/3 Sheet Sander puts reliable sanding right into the palm of your hand. This sander allows for the preciseness of sanding by hand with the added efficiency of 12,000 OPM worth of vibrational power. The 1.2-Amp motor sands away at abrasive surfaces while the vacuum adapter allows for easy attachment to either a dust collection device or the included dust collection bag. Plus, the 3 lbs. lightweight design ensures that your hands never get too tired. The WEN Electric 1/3 Sheet Sander also comes backed by a 1 year warranty, a nationwide network of skilled service technicians and a helpful customer service phone line and includes 1 sheet of sand paper. Remember WEN.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great sander!
          PostedJuly 3, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I've had a 1/4 sheet sander that I picked up in a garage sale a couple of decades ago. It does the job, but poorly. The paper often tears before it wears out. It is very noisy.
          This unit is an eye opener for me, it is light, powerful and almost quiet. It works fast and is a pleasure to use.
          The hook and loop pads cost a bit more than sheet abrasives, but they last longer. I'm converted!
          The built in dust catcher is not very effective, trapping only a small fraction of the generated dust, but anything is better than nothing.
          Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Meets standards for UPS and postal service. It is easy application and secures more boxes faster. With this high quality tape you get a consistent smooth release.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Not what I hoped for- but still good tape
          PostedJune 29, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          As an avid maker, I collect and keep anything that might have some future use. It is all stored in cardboard boxes and placed in an old barn. Several times a week I raid this store and avoid having to buy an item. The problem is that in our hot desert climate the box tape quickly fails and the bottom literally falls out of my system!
          The promise of hot melt tape suggested that the glue would penetrate deeper into the cardboard and last longer. To my surprise I found that the tape stuck easily to cardboard, but the application of heat did not increase the strength of the bond at all.
          After some research I found that 'hot melt' did not refer to the way the tape was to be applied, instead it Read More
          As an avid maker, I collect and keep anything that might have some future use. It is all stored in cardboard boxes and placed in an old barn. Several times a week I raid this store and avoid having to buy an item. The problem is that in our hot desert climate the box tape quickly fails and the bottom literally falls out of my system!
          The promise of hot melt tape suggested that the glue would penetrate deeper into the cardboard and last longer. To my surprise I found that the tape stuck easily to cardboard, but the application of heat did not increase the strength of the bond at all.
          After some research I found that 'hot melt' did not refer to the way the tape was to be applied, instead it referred to the way the tape was manufactured- the adhesive was melted onto the backing rather that being applied with a solvent.
          Although the bond was not stronger, it may last longer. I have marked two samples, one using this tape and the other using regular packing tape. I'll check on the strength in a year and post a modified review.
          This tape is much more economical than the famous name packing tape I had been using and the bond strength is identical. This tape is thinner, so it is less strong, but it is never the tape that snaps, it just comes unglued. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Apply
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Zircon Corporation MetalliScanner m40 Metal Locator easily detects metal in wood, drywall, stucco, plaster, concrete and other non-metallic surfaces. The M40 locates ferrous metal up to 4 in. deep and non-ferrous metal up to 2 in. deep.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great for finding studs- and more
          PostedJune 13, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This as a great tool.
          I have used an ultrasonic stud finder for years, but I hate it! If it hits rough texture or moves away from the wall even a minute amount, the device locks up. The Metalliscanner m40 should avoid the problem because it works on a different principle, it simple detects metal objects such as drywall screws and nails.
          I got off to a bad start. The instructions on the blister pack said to insert a 9 volt battery with no indication on how to do it. There was a screw that could be removed, but that looked as though it held the tool together. A small arrow on the handle suggested that a portion would slide away, but no reasonable force on that area did anything. Reading the Read More
          This as a great tool.
          I have used an ultrasonic stud finder for years, but I hate it! If it hits rough texture or moves away from the wall even a minute amount, the device locks up. The Metalliscanner m40 should avoid the problem because it works on a different principle, it simple detects metal objects such as drywall screws and nails.
          I got off to a bad start. The instructions on the blister pack said to insert a 9 volt battery with no indication on how to do it. There was a screw that could be removed, but that looked as though it held the tool together. A small arrow on the handle suggested that a portion would slide away, but no reasonable force on that area did anything. Reading the instruction again I missed the key line 'see full instructions inside'. Sure enough there was a slightly more detailed set of instructions hidden deep within the remains of the blister pack. It said to push the arrow and then slide off the cover. It took finger nail breaking force to do it, but finally I got it open and inserted a new battery (not included).
          Things got worse. It did detect metal objects but at random times just locked up, at other times it indicated metal when there was nothing even close. I checked the instructions again and noted that you had to use an alkaline battery. I had used a 'heavy duty' one. Always one to read and follow instructions, I picked up a new battery, but had little hope it would make a difference- the original battery showed more than 9V. Incidentally, alkaline 9V batteries are hard to spot. The word 'alkaline' is only printed in tiny letters, at least in the store where I got mine.
          However, the unit now works perfectly. No lockups and a clear signal whenever I approached anything metal.
          There are some problems. The first is due to the mode of operation, detecting metal, you can easily pass a stud and miss it if there is no screw nearby, however because you do not need to make contact with the wall. You only have to be within an inch or so of the wall so you can quickly sweep a wide area and find something metal. A vertical sweep from that point should indicate a series of nails.
          The other problem is that you have to calibrate the unit by holding down the button over an area with no metal objects near. How do you know there aren't any? One way is to calibrate well away from the wall, though that will set the unit at maximum sensitivity and make it harder to precisely locate any metal. I calibrated the unit against the wall and 6 inches away from a corner where there not likely to be a stud and that worked most of the time. If I saw strange results I recalibrated and started over.
          Compared to an ultrasonic detector, the Metalliscanner is less precise. Once you have found a screw, move away to the left and to the right until the signal drops away, then the screw should be half way between the drop off points. I found I could locate screws within a quarter inch. It is a good idea to locate a stud by finding two or more screws, in case some are themselves off center.
          If this sounds like this is a tedious or inaccurate process, it really isn't. After a few minutes practice you will be locating studs faster and with no less precision than with an ultrasonic finder. Although I have only used it to find studs, the ability to detect hidden metal objects of any kind may also prove useful.
          My ultrasonic stud finder has been retired. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Accurate
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The FLEXio 990 is an indoor/outdoor portable spray system that pulls paint directly from the container, allowing you to paint longer and faster. The innovative peristaltic pump feeds paint directly to the spray gun saving you the time and mess of constant refilling. The exclusive X-Boost Turbine provides the power for full coverage with adjustable control and low overspray while the Spray Nozzle sprays un-thinned residential paint for broad surfaces indoor and outdoor. The FLEXiO 990 delivers contractor performance such as spraying up to 9 GPH and an extended reach. Features like the one-touch set up and hands free cleaning make the 990 DIY friendly. With air power, flow and pattern adjustments, the FLEXiO 990 is perfect for 2-story homes, full interior remodels and outdoor projects.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Versatile sprayer saves time
          PostedJune 11, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          At one time I owned a power roller paint system, but it was troublesome and saved very little time so I went back to using a hand roller and tray. So far I have found the Flexio 990 to be a much more practical tool and I expect to use it for all of my large paint jobs in the future.
          My first impression was that it was very well designed and made. The sheer number of parts and the detailed instructions were a bit intimidating, so I watched all the online videos before assembling the unit. Actually it can be used two ways- a sprayer with a base unit, and a one piece hand held unit for smaller jobs.
          I used the first way for the exterior of a small storage building and soon got used to Read More
          At one time I owned a power roller paint system, but it was troublesome and saved very little time so I went back to using a hand roller and tray. So far I have found the Flexio 990 to be a much more practical tool and I expect to use it for all of my large paint jobs in the future.
          My first impression was that it was very well designed and made. The sheer number of parts and the detailed instructions were a bit intimidating, so I watched all the online videos before assembling the unit. Actually it can be used two ways- a sprayer with a base unit, and a one piece hand held unit for smaller jobs.
          I used the first way for the exterior of a small storage building and soon got used to spraying a smooth coat, quickly picking up speed and confidence. Cleanup did take some time, but even so, the job was finished much more quickly than if I had used a roller. There was very little mess or waste, except for some paint lost in the cleanup. The final result was good, especially since it was my first time using a low pressure sprayer. I had no clogs, though I did strain the paint before starting.
          The second job I used it for was smaller, so I used the hand-held mode. Cleanup is faster this way, so the Flexio 990 is even practical for small jobs. This unit is a 'keeper'! Read Less
          Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 19 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          The WEN Electric 1/3 Sheet Sander puts reliable sanding right into the palm of your hand. This sander allows for the preciseness of sanding by hand with the added efficiency of 12,000 OPM worth of vibrational power. The 1.2-Amp motor sands away at abrasive surfaces while the vacuum adapter allows for easy attachment to either a dust collection device or the included dust collection bag. Plus, the 3 lbs. lightweight design ensures that your hands never get too tired. The WEN Electric 1/3 Sheet Sander also comes backed by a 1 year warranty, a nationwide network of skilled service technicians and a helpful customer service phone line and includes 1 sheet of sand paper. Remember WEN.
           

          Replacement backing pad?

          Asked by
          LittleBigheart
          Rochester, NY, USA
          June 30, 2015
          The backing pad for my sander is peeling off. Will probably not last long. Is there a replacement part offered?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 3, 2015
          Answer: 
          I can't find replacement pads on the HD website, but I'm sure they will carry them soon. I have seen them elsewhere locally, and of course they can be purchased online
           
          The BESSEY WS-1 light duty 90 degree angle clamp will allow one to do miters and butt joints and will leave the joint fully exposed for correction, doweling, gluing or nailing. The BESSEY WS-1 miter clamp has independently adjustable spindles to allow one to join work Piece of different widths.
           

          Would clamp work for a small rectangular picture frame (deck house for model ship.

          Asked by
          Hank10257
          Kingman az
          June 27, 2015
          i.e.; put two completed glued 90 degree pieces together.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          July 1, 2015
          Answer: 
          There is a minimum size picture frame that can me directly made using this clamp. However if you have already glued two L shaped pieces, you should be able to assemble them into a frame by using a rubber band to hold them together until the glue sets.
           
          The Scotts Element 5/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. MaxFlex Garden Hose is constructed with a new patented, heavy duty proprietary compound along with a heavy duty reinforcement, extra-tuff jacket and super duty couplings. The new compound incorporated in the MaxFlex Hose provides high kink resistance through its lay flat technology and is both light weight and very strong while being very easy to coil.
           

          Can you add on an extension hose? Also does it come in 100ft or 150ft?

          Asked by
          Ba08098
          Greenwich, NJ
          May 30, 2015
          I need a hose longer than 50 or 100ft.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          June 25, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes, the hose has a standard female thread at one end and a male thread at the other end, so any number of hoses can be chained together. Two 100ft hoses are more versatile than a 200ft one, they are easier to move and can be used for two separate jobs at the same time when needed.
          The HD web site shows that they currently have this hose in 50 and 100ft lengths.
           
          Don't want to get your expensive glasses broken or covered in dust-no worries, buy a pair of Work Glasses instead. Instant vision for anyone who needs a pair of glasses in a hurry. Work Glasses is a brand of variable focus glasses designed for use as a temporary spare pair-instantly customizable for your vision correction. Simply turn each dial to glide the overlapping lenses to create different visual working distances in seconds; near, intermediate or far. They are easily adjustable for a wide range of spherical powers from - 6.0 to +3.0D.
           

          what is range of magnification

          Asked by
          mike
          nyc
          June 24, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          June 25, 2015
          Answer: 
          The maximum power is +3 diopters, but that doesn't mean that they magnify 3 times. They don't really magnify at all, but they adjust the range of distances where you can see clearly. At the maximum power these glasses with let you see thing clearly at a shorter distance, so you can see small details that you couldn't otherwise. If your vision is the same in both eyes you could get the same effect using Read More
          The maximum power is +3 diopters, but that doesn't mean that they magnify 3 times. They don't really magnify at all, but they adjust the range of distances where you can see clearly. At the maximum power these glasses with let you see thing clearly at a shorter distance, so you can see small details that you couldn't otherwise. If your vision is the same in both eyes you could get the same effect using cheap 'reader glasses', but these work glasses have the advantage that you can adjust differently for each eye as well as adjust for different distances.
          I find these work glasses to be very helpful in the shop where I am constantly switching from very close work to long range and everything in between. It is much more convenient than using two or three pairs of prescription glasses. They have far more range than bifocals or progressive lenses, but they do not correct for the condition called astigmatism where lines at certain angles seem blurred. Read Less
           
          The Zircon Corporation MetalliScanner m40 Metal Locator easily detects metal in wood, drywall, stucco, plaster, concrete and other non-metallic surfaces. The M40 locates ferrous metal up to 4 in. deep and non-ferrous metal up to 2 in. deep.
           

          Can this tool detect the exact location of copper pipe behind durock and tile? I need to know the exact location within 1/4".

          Asked by
          MickeyD
          May 12, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          June 13, 2015
          Answer: 
          I find I can get 1/4 inch accuracy or better. Use the pinpoint mode and determine the approximate location. Then recalibrate about 3/4 inch from where you think the center of the pipe is. That will reduce the sensitivity, and with luck, the blue sensor will light up only over a short range, the center of which should be a fairly accurate measure of the location of the pipe. The closer the pipe is to the Read More
          I find I can get 1/4 inch accuracy or better. Use the pinpoint mode and determine the approximate location. Then recalibrate about 3/4 inch from where you think the center of the pipe is. That will reduce the sensitivity, and with luck, the blue sensor will light up only over a short range, the center of which should be a fairly accurate measure of the location of the pipe. The closer the pipe is to the Durock the better the precision. Read Less
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>