EricG
  • Review count
    70
  • Helpfulness votes
    101
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    February 24, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      47
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        70
      • Helpfulness votes
        101
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        February 24, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          47
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          50-Piece driving set is ideal for home project ideas. The driving set provides long lasting use. The compact design makes for convenient carrying.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Get it for the case alone
          PostedFebruary 24, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Like some people, my driver bits are mostly jumbled loose in a drawer, others are in half empty or broken cases. This set finally gives me the chance to be well organized.
          The set comes with 49 different bits and a bit holder. A few of the bits have now had moderate use and show minimal signs of wear, so the bits themselves seem to be high quality, although no bit will last forever.
          The case is what makes this set special. Considering how many bits it holds it is very compact- it fits in my pants pocket- but only just. Each bit is locked in place and easy to get to. There is even space for more loose bits, and I carry spares for the sizes that I use most- Phillips 2 and square drive.
          Like some people, my driver bits are mostly jumbled loose in a drawer, others are in half empty or broken cases. This set finally gives me the chance to be well organized.
          The set comes with 49 different bits and a bit holder. A few of the bits have now had moderate use and show minimal signs of wear, so the bits themselves seem to be high quality, although no bit will last forever.
          The case is what makes this set special. Considering how many bits it holds it is very compact- it fits in my pants pocket- but only just. Each bit is locked in place and easy to get to. There is even space for more loose bits, and I carry spares for the sizes that I use most- Phillips 2 and square drive.
          I can only think of two things that could make this set better- replace the magnetic bit holder with one with a free spinning sleeve, and make the case from titanium. I solved the first by swapping out the bit holder. Despite having dropped the case a few times, it hasn't cracked, so maybe titanium isn't needed after all. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, All In One, Compact
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This carbide tipped scriber is 6 in. long. Works great when you need to mark metal, glass, wood, etc. It includes a handy pocket clip. Ideal for machinists, welders and mechanics.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Attractive and useful
          PostedFebruary 23, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Anyone who attempts to make precision metal parts uses a scriber to mark out layout lines. I have one that I picked up years ago at a garage sale, but it does a poor job on even mild steel, the tip is just not hard enough, and it does not even touch high speed steel lathe tools when I'm trying to mark them out prior to grinding.
          This scriber has a carbide tip that produces fine lines on the hardest steel and even on glass. As a bonus it looks like a high end pen, it would make an attractive birthday gift for a machinist.
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, marks almost anything
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The VDV Scout Pro 2 Tester Kit is a versatile voice/data/video cable tester that locates and tests coax, data and telephone cables. Identify multiple cable runs with included remotes. With this kit, you can ensure fast and accurate cable installations each time.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Specialised tool that may be just what you need
          PostedFebruary 20, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          This is a specialized tool for testing voice, data and video cables. I wish I had owned it a decade ago when I strung my former home with Ethernet and phone and video cable. Now with WiFi, and cordless phones the average homeowner may have less need for it. For professional installers a tool like this is a necessity. I got it for two projects: a remote astronomical observatory and an automated garden system.
          The instruction are clear, but the most important part is to only test cables that are disconnected from the energizing source, routers, the phone network or your video system.
          The tool does its job flawlessly, detecting short and open circuits and telling you where the problem is. Read More
          This is a specialized tool for testing voice, data and video cables. I wish I had owned it a decade ago when I strung my former home with Ethernet and phone and video cable. Now with WiFi, and cordless phones the average homeowner may have less need for it. For professional installers a tool like this is a necessity. I got it for two projects: a remote astronomical observatory and an automated garden system.
          The instruction are clear, but the most important part is to only test cables that are disconnected from the energizing source, routers, the phone network or your video system.
          The tool does its job flawlessly, detecting short and open circuits and telling you where the problem is. Attaching plugs to data cables is a fiddly and error prone job and it is great to be able to catch the errors immediately. If you value your time, this is a good investment. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          When you require exact measuring, you reach for a caliper. This caliper takes an essential tool into the 21st century with a LCD digital readout for exact internal and outside measurements accurate to 0.0005 in. On-off switch with auto-off.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Accurate and easy to use
          PostedFebruary 14, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I have a couple of pairs of inexpensive dial calipers already but digital calipers have some advantages. The biggest advantage is that the measurement is displayed directly. On my dial calipers, the dial rotates once for each tenth of an inch of measurement, so you have to look at the ruler scale to see if the dial reading of 43 refers to 2.143 or 2.243 etc. This makes it easy to make a gross error. I know!
          The dial calipers have the advantage of higher resolution, you can interpolate by eye to 0.0001, wheres the digital one reads only to 0.0005. That is not very important, because two measurements of the same thing often differ by 0.001.
          Another useful feature of the digital calipers is Read More
          I have a couple of pairs of inexpensive dial calipers already but digital calipers have some advantages. The biggest advantage is that the measurement is displayed directly. On my dial calipers, the dial rotates once for each tenth of an inch of measurement, so you have to look at the ruler scale to see if the dial reading of 43 refers to 2.143 or 2.243 etc. This makes it easy to make a gross error. I know!
          The dial calipers have the advantage of higher resolution, you can interpolate by eye to 0.0001, wheres the digital one reads only to 0.0005. That is not very important, because two measurements of the same thing often differ by 0.001.
          Another useful feature of the digital calipers is that it can switch from inch to metric units. The 3D printer community works mostly with metric units, as do most import cars. Most of what we buy at the hardware store comes sized in inches. These calipers make life easier for me.
          The instructions for the calipers specify both accuracy and resolution are 0.0005 inches, and I found that seems to be the case when I measured my spacer blocks. For more accuracy you should probably be using a micrometer, anyway.
          My only negative comment is that the housing for the display is poor quality die cast metal. A friend has a different model that has a more attractive and lighter weigh plastic housing. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Bosch GLL 2 Self-Leveling Cross-Line Laser is a compact and high-performance leveling and alignment solution for professionals. Featuring highly visible laser lines, a smart pendulum leveling system and a flexible mounting device, the GLL 2 provides the accuracy, reliability and durability needed on any job. Included with the GLL 2 is the MM 2 flexible mounting device giving professionals the versatility needed for multiple leveling and alignment applications.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          More useful than I expected
          PostedFebruary 14, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I acquired this for a specific job- building a 16ft diameter circular beam which was too big to be made in my shop- or taken out the door. By using this level line I could project a horizontal plane an inch above the whole beam and then measure down from the laser line to the beam and adjusting shims during assembly.
          First I tested the laser level by projecting horizontal and vertical lines on my shop walls, and then testing them with my 6ft digital level which I know to be accurate to one part in a thousand. The projected lines are slightly blurred but my estimating the center of the lines I found that they were true to the accuracy of the digital level. More than accurate enough for most Read More
          I acquired this for a specific job- building a 16ft diameter circular beam which was too big to be made in my shop- or taken out the door. By using this level line I could project a horizontal plane an inch above the whole beam and then measure down from the laser line to the beam and adjusting shims during assembly.
          First I tested the laser level by projecting horizontal and vertical lines on my shop walls, and then testing them with my 6ft digital level which I know to be accurate to one part in a thousand. The projected lines are slightly blurred but my estimating the center of the lines I found that they were true to the accuracy of the digital level. More than accurate enough for most tasks.
          This is one of those tools for which you will find new uses. When I hang a picture, I no longer have to negotiate with my wife which way to tilt it. You can't argue with a laser line. when I think back to projects I have done, many of them would have been easier if I had this tool then. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          The RIDGID 10 in. 13 Amp Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 Amp motor for speeds up to 3,450 RPM and a table with a polished and milled cast-iron core to provide a level, flat surface with low vibration. The saw can be customized by adding an extension table or auxiliary tables (not included) for routers or other specialty tools (not included).
           

          does this saw come with the stand?

          Asked by
          Stormy
          Puyallup, Wa
          February 15, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 16, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes, the included legs provide a firm support. If your floor is uneven, there are adjusting screws to compensate. Four retractable wheels let you move the saw from one part of your shop to another. You wouldn't be able to transport the saw over soft ground however, because the saw is too heavy for the small wheels.
           
          The Bosch GLL 2 Self-Leveling Cross-Line Laser is a compact and high-performance leveling and alignment solution for professionals. Featuring highly visible laser lines, a smart pendulum leveling system and a flexible mounting device, the GLL 2 provides the accuracy, reliability and durability needed on any job. Included with the GLL 2 is the MM 2 flexible mounting device giving professionals the versatility needed for multiple leveling and alignment applications.
           

          Work on horizontal surfaces?

          Asked by
          Tony
          Western Mass
          September 23, 2014
          Can the crosshairs be projected downward onto a horizontal surface such as a floor (for laying out tiles)?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 14, 2015
          Answer: 
          No, the tool projects the horizontal line at the height of the window in the tool, which would always be at least a few inches above the floor.
          However set the tool so that the beam is a convenient height above the floor- say 12 inches, and then use a ruler to measure down from the laser line to the tiles, if it is 12 inches then you are spot on!
           
          Step up to designer styles and superior security with kwikset signature series products. The 980 deadbolt is both tough and attractive. The Polished Brass finish adds to the traditional look and feel of the product and makes a classic statement. The single cylinder deadbolt can be locked or unlocked by a key on the outside, or the turn button on the inside. Smart Key Re-key Technology allows you to control who has access to your home. Re-key the lock yourself in seconds in 3 easy steps. Have you recently moved or had a child lose a key. It's time to re-key. Smart Key provides the highest level of residential security and features Bump Guard to protect against lock bumping.
           

          when ready to rekey, where does one purchace the new keys?

          Asked by
          Suzyal2
          February 9, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 10, 2015
          Answer: 
          You go to the kitchen drawer that holds all the old keys that don't fit anything. Pick one and then have as many copies made as you need.
          Lacking such a drawer, I suspect a locksmith could probably help you out.
           
          The RIDGID 10 in. 13 Amp Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 Amp motor for speeds up to 3,450 RPM and a table with a polished and milled cast-iron core to provide a level, flat surface with low vibration. The saw can be customized by adding an extension table or auxiliary tables (not included) for routers or other specialty tools (not included).
           

          Is this saw sold as pictured in the add for Home Depot?

          Asked by
          safish
          Winder, GA
          February 5, 2015
          It talks about table extentions not included under specifications, but I don't know if they are showing the table extensions in the add or if the picture in the add is without the table extentions....
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 5, 2015
          Answer: 
          The picture shows the saw as it is delivered.. The instruction manual gives simple instructions for filling the the area to the right to add more table surface for small work that would otherwise fall through the frame. It is easy enough to do when you have a table saw! I chose to add an old router to my table extension, so I don't need a separate router table in my already crowded shop.
           
          The RIDGID 10 in. 13 Amp Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 Amp motor for speeds up to 3,450 RPM and a table with a polished and milled cast-iron core to provide a level, flat surface with low vibration. The saw can be customized by adding an extension table or auxiliary tables (not included) for routers or other specialty tools (not included).
           

          How good accurate is the fence itself?

          Asked by
          Matt
          Arkansas
          January 22, 2015
          I apologize if it's been asked already, but how accurate is the fence itself? I currently have a Bosch 4100-09 table saw and am wanting to get more of a stationary saw. The fence on it is fairly inaccurate so every time you move it you have to measure...every time.

          Does this table saw have a better fence that's stiffer? I know it's a one-handed operation, but I want to be able to make quick cuts and not have to always measure front and back to the blade!

          Thanks for your help.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          January 23, 2015
          Answer: 
          I've had this saw for two years. I lined everything up when I got it and I haven't had to readjust it since. The fence locks parallel to the blade to 'woodworking accuracy' every time - certainly within 1/64"
          I'm sure there are better table saws but they will be much heavier and more expensive. I like that it can be easily moved on a smooth concrete floor, but it is far from being portable like your Read More
          I've had this saw for two years. I lined everything up when I got it and I haven't had to readjust it since. The fence locks parallel to the blade to 'woodworking accuracy' every time - certainly within 1/64"
          I'm sure there are better table saws but they will be much heavier and more expensive. I like that it can be easily moved on a smooth concrete floor, but it is far from being portable like your Bosch. Read Less
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>