EricG
  • Review count
    240
  • Helpfulness votes
    282
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    September 12, 2017
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      209
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        240
      • Helpfulness votes
        282
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        September 12, 2017
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          209
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          We design the toughest, longest lasting, highest quality drill bits in the industry. Whether you're drilling through wood, metal, glass, tile and brick, plastic, concrete or any other material, Bosch has the bit to fit the job. Double Flute Masonry Drill Bits are to be used in rotary drills only. These bits are not designed for use in hammer drills.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          I have used this drill bit for drilling into both brick and saltillo tile, and seems to cut faste...
          PostedSeptember 12, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have used this drill bit for drilling into both brick and saltillo tile, and seems to cut faster than my previous drill bits. When accurate placement is important I pre-drill a smaller hole. The action is smooth, with almost no surface chipping.
          After many holes, the bit still drills quickly and the holes are round and smooth. I have always had good luck with Bosch products and when (or if) I ever have to replace it, I will get another just like it.
          Pros: Durable, Long-Lasting
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Milwaukee 48-89-0012 Thunderbolt Titanium coated Drill Bit Set (29-Piece) offers convenience and heavy-duty performance on the jobsite. Milwaukee Thunderbolt Titanium coated drill bits are designed for extreme durability and up to 3X longer life. The Thunderbolt web features a thicker core than a standard drill bit to provide ultimate strength and protect against side-load breakage. The titanium coating reduces heat build-up and keeps the bit sharp to extend performance. A specially designed parabolic flute form clears chips and debris fast to keep the bit cool. The 135 degree split point tip delivers a precision start and prevents walking for fast, accurate holes. Effective for drilling on curved surfaces, Milwaukee Thunderbolt Titanium Coated bits require less effort to drill through wood, metal and PVC, and are highly recommended for use with portable drills. The set comes in a resilient case and includes bit sizes 1/16 in, 5/64 in, 3/32 in, 7/64 in, 1/8 in, 9/64 in, 5/32 in, 11/64 in, 3/16 in, 13/64 in, 7/32 in, 15/64 in, 1/4 in, 17/64 in, 9/32 in, 19/64 in, 5/16 in, 21/64 in, 11/32 in, 23/64 in, 3/8 in, 25/64 in, 13/32 in, 27/64 in, 7/16 in, 29/64 in, 15/32 in, 31/64 in, and 1/2 in.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          29 piece drill sets span a range from 1/16" to 1/2" in steps of 1/64" and I usually buy a new set...
          PostedSeptember 12, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          29 piece drill sets span a range from 1/16" to 1/2" in steps of 1/64" and I usually buy a new set every year or two because of wear or breakages. This set with stronger webs and better design and coating should last me longer.
          I find that drill wander is reduced compared to my old set, although for precision drilling I still use a center drill to start the hole, then use an under-size drill finally finishing the hole with the exact size drill, using it more like a reamer..
          The case is really well designed, much better than the sheet metal cases that I am used to. When closed it removes the chance of losing a bit.
          Pros: Accurate, Long-Lasting, useful case
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This bit set is designed for electrical work which suits me fine. Our property came with several...
          PostedSeptember 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This bit set is designed for electrical work which suits me fine. Our property came with several outbuildings lacking electricity and I am gradually upgrading them, so this set is ideal for me.
          I have yet to break a Milwaukee bit, though I have worn out a few, so I am confident that I will get a lot of use out of this set. A few of the bits are unfamiliar to me and may not get used, but the economy of buying in bulk more than makes up for it. The case is an added bonus. I do have a drawer in my shop dedicated to screwdrivers and bits, but I like the idea of being able to grab this box and be almost sure I have everything I need on an electrical project. This set will help me keep Read More
          This bit set is designed for electrical work which suits me fine. Our property came with several outbuildings lacking electricity and I am gradually upgrading them, so this set is ideal for me.
          I have yet to break a Milwaukee bit, though I have worn out a few, so I am confident that I will get a lot of use out of this set. A few of the bits are unfamiliar to me and may not get used, but the economy of buying in bulk more than makes up for it. The case is an added bonus. I do have a drawer in my shop dedicated to screwdrivers and bits, but I like the idea of being able to grab this box and be almost sure I have everything I need on an electrical project. This set will help me keep organized, and that is always a time saver. Read Less
          Pros: custom made for electrical work
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The 13 Amp 5 in. Small Angle Grinder (Trigger Grip, No-Lock) delivers up to 30% more durability and power than the competition. With a 2,100 MWO motor that powers through the toughest jobs, the 6124-31 is the perfect match for industrial users. Milwaukee's Electronic Advantage includes Overload Protection to maximize motor life, an Electronic Clutch that extends tool life and helps prevent bind-up, Line Lock-Out that prevents automatic start-up after power loss, and Soft Start. Constant Power Technology enables the grinder to maintain speed under load for unmatched performance and productivity. Featuring a 100% tool-free design, this Grinder allows the user to change all accessories, including hub bed product, without a wrench. In addition, the tool-free, burst resistant, adjustable guard allows users to make quick guard installations and adjustments.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good ergonomics makes this grinder a pleasure to use. I have used to to cut steel angle with an a...
          PostedSeptember 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Good ergonomics makes this grinder a pleasure to use. I have used to to cut steel angle with an appropriate cutting wheel (not included) and it makes for fast and accurate cuts.
          Overall noise is reasonable for such a powerful tool and the quality of construction and design is what I have come to expect from Milwaukee Tools. Many jobs that I would have previously done with my metal cutting band saw I will now do with this hand tool and save a lot of time.
          Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          While a C-clamp is a useful tool for woodworking, special care should be taken when working with any woods. The flat gripping edges of the frame, generally no larger than half an inch or a centimeter (depending on the size of the clamp) can cause indentations and marring of the surfaces being clamped. This can be avoided by buffering between the clamp and the timber using 2 pieces of scrap wood. As each piece of scrap wood is directly in contact with the flat edges of the frame and with the items being clamped, this allows the scrap wood to receive the damage from the clamping, while dispersing the clamping force across the piece of scrap wood into the clamped objects. Deep-throated clamps are also available and provide greater reach for smaller jobs.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This is a well made C-clamp. It replaces a C-clamp that was part of a set purchased decades ago t...
          PostedSeptember 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is a well made C-clamp.
          It replaces a C-clamp that was part of a set purchased decades ago that finally failed. Superior quality and heavier construction makes me sure that this clamp will outlive me!
          I have already used it to to help a neighbor by cutting thin wood strips to length using a battery powered reciprocating saw. We used the clamp to secure the strips to an upright post for cutting. The clamp exerted more than enough force to prevent the strips moving and saved me time by not having to return to my shop.
          This is the first of many tasks for which that this small clamp will be employed.
          Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Strong
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 48 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          For the most demanding watering needs, use the WaterWorks 5/8 in. x 50 ft. FlexRITE water hose. Its tough scuff resistant jacket, super duty crush resistant couplings and patented hose armor make it perfect for the most demanding home owner or contractor. The high burst strength will assure years of high performance and a limited lifetime warranty will give you confidence this hose is going to last.
           

          I bought this hose twice and both times the coupling and front of hose fuses to the nozzle and th...

          Asked by
          Frank
          September 20, 2017
          I bought this hose twice and both times the coupling and front of hose fuses to the nozzle and the spigot, does anyone have an answer to this?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          September 21, 2017
          Answer: 
          Wrap some teflon tape around the threads of the spigot
           
          The Milwaukee 48-89-0012 Thunderbolt Titanium coated Drill Bit Set (29-Piece) offers convenience and heavy-duty performance on the jobsite. Milwaukee Thunderbolt Titanium coated drill bits are designed for extreme durability and up to 3X longer life. The Thunderbolt web features a thicker core than a standard drill bit to provide ultimate strength and protect against side-load breakage. The titanium coating reduces heat build-up and keeps the bit sharp to extend performance. A specially designed parabolic flute form clears chips and debris fast to keep the bit cool. The 135 degree split point tip delivers a precision start and prevents walking for fast, accurate holes. Effective for drilling on curved surfaces, Milwaukee Thunderbolt Titanium Coated bits require less effort to drill through wood, metal and PVC, and are highly recommended for use with portable drills. The set comes in a resilient case and includes bit sizes 1/16 in, 5/64 in, 3/32 in, 7/64 in, 1/8 in, 9/64 in, 5/32 in, 11/64 in, 3/16 in, 13/64 in, 7/32 in, 15/64 in, 1/4 in, 17/64 in, 9/32 in, 19/64 in, 5/16 in, 21/64 in, 11/32 in, 23/64 in, 3/8 in, 25/64 in, 13/32 in, 27/64 in, 7/16 in, 29/64 in, 15/32 in, 31/64 in, and 1/2 in.
           

          Are these drill bits the same as the - shock wave - version?

          Asked by
          guy
          March 11, 2017
          Are these drill bits the same as the - shock wave - version?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          September 12, 2017
          Answer: 
          No, these bits are designed for use on a non-impact drill
           
          The 13 Amp 5 in. Small Angle Grinder (Trigger Grip, No-Lock) delivers up to 30% more durability and power than the competition. With a 2,100 MWO motor that powers through the toughest jobs, the 6124-31 is the perfect match for industrial users. Milwaukee's Electronic Advantage includes Overload Protection to maximize motor life, an Electronic Clutch that extends tool life and helps prevent bind-up, Line Lock-Out that prevents automatic start-up after power loss, and Soft Start. Constant Power Technology enables the grinder to maintain speed under load for unmatched performance and productivity. Featuring a 100% tool-free design, this Grinder allows the user to change all accessories, including hub bed product, without a wrench. In addition, the tool-free, burst resistant, adjustable guard allows users to make quick guard installations and adjustments.
           

          Under Overview: "Toll-free accessory", "Toll-free adjustable" -- 'Toll'? Does this maybe mean 'to...

          Asked by
          PaulMaine54
          August 11, 2017
          Under Overview: "Toll-free accessory", "Toll-free adjustable" -- 'Toll'? Does this maybe mean 'tool-free'?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          September 11, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes it does mean 'tool'. The only reference to 'toll' in the product manual is for their phone number. This grinder isn't 'tool' free either. It comes with a custom wrench for tightening the wheel nut. Fortunately the grinder is much better than its manual.
           
          The Champion Cooler are built for high performance, easy installation and low maintenance. Before shipment, each Champion Cooler must pass performance tests and meet quality control standards to earn the Mark of a Champion. Attention: This evaporative cooler performs best in dry, arid climates.
           

          Can a bigger motor with more RPM be used on this cooler?

          Asked by
          tyackel1405
          September 11, 2017
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          September 11, 2017
          Answer: 
          I used the larger than recommended motor from my previous evaporative cooler with no problems. Just make sure it can be adapted to fit. A minor difference in RPM shouldn't matter, but a big change should be avoided because you do not want the air coming out at too high a velocity and blowing over household items, people or pets.
           
          The New Defiant 180-Degree LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away nighttime darkness. This LED motion light provides seamless light coverage for increased safety, security and peace of mind. Never change a bulb again with this new LED technology. Install quickly and safely with three friendly, DIY easy steps to connect. The DualBrite feature beautifies, protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from dusk-to-dawn and full light when motion is detected.
           

          is this solar powered or direct wired

          Asked by
          BGDAWG169
          September 9, 2017
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          September 11, 2017
          Answer: 
          Direct wired
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 42 >>