EricG
  • Review count
    100
  • Helpfulness votes
    133
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    August 23, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      66
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        100
      • Helpfulness votes
        133
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        August 23, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          66
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          The Bosch Daredevil auger features a dual cutting edge optimized for nail killing and balanced drilling. With reinforced tip and spine, the Daredevil auger can withstand repeated nail hits in heavy-duty applications giving it 3x life VS standard augers. The reamer edge improves entry and exit whole quality.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Robust augers drill holes effortlessly
          PostedAugust 23, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have been replacing my old spade drill bits with augers- there really is no comparison. These augers cut almost as smoothly and accurately as my Forstner drill bits. They pull their way through thick wood with almost no effort, while the spade bits required constant force. This is especially useful when you are standing on a ladder.
          I make a point of removing nails before drilling, but I relieved to know that if I miss removing a nail these augers will make short work of it.
          I have always had good luck with Bosch tools, and I am confident that these augers will live up to their name.
          Pros: Durable, Accurate, Long-Lasting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Use the Harper Brush Push Broom for your indoor cleaning needs. It's ideal for cleaning dust from dry wall and in woodworking shops and warehouses. This contractor-grade push broom cleans the finest dust and dirt with less effort.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          It should last a lifetime
          PostedAugust 23, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I have installed laminate flooring throughout most of our house and found that the easiest way to clean was to sweep the dirt into a single pile in each room to be sucked up by a vacuum cleaner afterwards. The whole house can be cleaned in minutes.
          This brush is ideal for the job. I had been using a wide dust mop but it tends to shed a lot of dirt while with this brush nothing escapes.
          I have other brushes but none compares to the quality of this one. The bristles are soft and very dense, the handle is strong and the head is attached with metal brackets, eliminating the single connector between head and handle which has eventually failed in other brushes. I know this brush will outlive Read More
          I have installed laminate flooring throughout most of our house and found that the easiest way to clean was to sweep the dirt into a single pile in each room to be sucked up by a vacuum cleaner afterwards. The whole house can be cleaned in minutes.
          This brush is ideal for the job. I had been using a wide dust mop but it tends to shed a lot of dirt while with this brush nothing escapes.
          I have other brushes but none compares to the quality of this one. The bristles are soft and very dense, the handle is strong and the head is attached with metal brackets, eliminating the single connector between head and handle which has eventually failed in other brushes. I know this brush will outlive me.
          There are only two drawbacks. It is hard to use in confined areas, so I do still need a small mop there. The other problem is that this brush is no lightweight- not surprising given its strength, and it is a bit too heavy for my wife- at least that is what she says. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          HDX 27-Gal. Storage Tote in Black
          HDX 27-Gal. Storage Tote in Black
          The HDX 27-gal. tote is designed for your general purpose storage needs. The durable plastic and large storage capacity can hold a variety of items. These sturdy totes are stackable to allow for the maximized use of storage space.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          Big and sturdy
          PostedAugust 23, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This attractive tote has proven invaluable for hauling tools from my shop to the work site. It is strong and light weight with a lid that closes firmly. While the lid doesn't provide an airtight seal it does keep out dust very well and several times I have placed my camera gear in it while I am using my table saw or sander.
          We have a camping trip coming up and it will be used for that too. The only downside is that one tote just isn't enough, I can see that I will soon have to get more!
          Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Powerful things can come in small packages like our 140-GPH Fountain Pump. This energy efficient pump is a good fit for small to medium fountains and has an ideal pumping height of 3 ft. and a maximum pumping height of 4.1 ft. This neat and compact pump is quiet so you can enjoy nature’s soundscape not mechanical noises. The 140-GPH Fountain Pump has an adjustable water flow control and is easy to operate. For best results, connect to 3/8 in. or 1/2 in. ID tubing.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Small but mighty powerful
          PostedAugust 18, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Our current home came with a fish 'pond'- actually an oval 6ft steel stock tank than contained a few goldfish and many lovely water lilies. It also had a solar powered fountain pump that would clog with algae in a few days. After a year of unpleasant filter cleaning I replaced it with another more powerful solar pump. It also clogged all too frequently. Recently I brought electric power to the tank and was able to plug in this unit- it works perfectly, even after a month without having to clean the pump once.
          Installation was a snap. I already had a piece of glass on top of some blocks that was near the surface and had held the solar pump. I secured the new pump to the glass with the Read More
          Our current home came with a fish 'pond'- actually an oval 6ft steel stock tank than contained a few goldfish and many lovely water lilies. It also had a solar powered fountain pump that would clog with algae in a few days. After a year of unpleasant filter cleaning I replaced it with another more powerful solar pump. It also clogged all too frequently. Recently I brought electric power to the tank and was able to plug in this unit- it works perfectly, even after a month without having to clean the pump once.
          Installation was a snap. I already had a piece of glass on top of some blocks that was near the surface and had held the solar pump. I secured the new pump to the glass with the built-in suction cups and connected the pump to a GFCI protected outdoor electrical box (also from HD).
          I was afraid that 140-GPH would be too powerful for such a small tank, but it is just right. Best of all it is forceful enough not to get clogged.
          I did not want water spraying into the air so I used one of the tubing adapters that was supplied, but without any tubing. The end of the adapter was a few inches below the surface, just enough that the water roil upward, just breaking the surface before splashing back. The fish came to investigate and it is now their favorite hangout. The sound of water can be heard from the adjacent gazebo. Everyone is enchanted. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The New Defiant Bluetooth smart LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. No need to climb ladders for motion sensor adjustment as the innovative use of Bluetooth smart Technology allows sensor control from your smart phone device. Bluetooth smart technology allows control of light level outside your home by adjustable dimming feature. LED technology provides no bulbs to change. Install quick and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected. Energy Star certified.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Elegant design, erratic interface needs improvement
          PostedAugust 13, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This light looks like an industrial design contest winner! Installation was easy, just mount the base on an outlet box, or in my case directly to a wall and wire it up as described in the excellent instructions. Fix the light to the base with a single screw. All the adjustments are done via a Bluetooth link using a downloadable application.
          Living in a very remote rural area we have almost no crime, so a security light as such was not really needed, but I did need illumination when I went between the carport and the house on pitch black nights. There were lights controlled by a switch at the furthest point from the house- not very useful! The motion detection feature on this light would Read More
          This light looks like an industrial design contest winner! Installation was easy, just mount the base on an outlet box, or in my case directly to a wall and wire it up as described in the excellent instructions. Fix the light to the base with a single screw. All the adjustments are done via a Bluetooth link using a downloadable application.
          Living in a very remote rural area we have almost no crime, so a security light as such was not really needed, but I did need illumination when I went between the carport and the house on pitch black nights. There were lights controlled by a switch at the furthest point from the house- not very useful! The motion detection feature on this light would solve all my needs.
          The software interface was disappointing, with only three sensitivity and three time duration settings. I needed the light to detect me as I left my car and stay on long enough for me to get to the house, but not to be set off too much by animals. With the limited settings, I was able to meet my needs, but not perfectly.
          Power surges and blackouts sometimes cased the settings to be reset or randomized. We came home in daylight to find the light on and the manual override failed to turn it off until all the settings were restored to the factory values and then reprogrammed. The manual override sometimes works as expected: 'on' means turn the light on permanently. But at other times the light only stays on for a short time.
          I hope the hardware is versatile enough that an upgraded application can provide more choices and fixes the various bugs that I have seen. Read Less
          Pros: Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
          Cons: poor software
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 20 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          This GE 20-Amp Backyard Outlet with GFI Receptacle allows you to put power where you need it. Made of weather-resistant galvanized steel, this 20-Amp outdoor outlet offers a compact design. Most importantly it comes pre-assembled to reduce installation time saving you money.
           

          Is there a cutout to allow an extension cord to exit while the cover is closed?

          Asked by
          Jerry
          August 25, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          August 27, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes, the hinged lid projects far enough out to allow space for any normal plug where the cord emerges downwards rather than straight out.
          When I use a heavy duty extension cord, the cord is too stiff to bend down inside the lid. The lid comes down to within a quarter inch of being closed, and since it has wide lips on the side it is quite rain proof. I have never had the GFCI trip.
           
          The SmartlockPro Outlet Branch Circuit (OBC) AFCI Receptacle offers advanced technology to help protect against electrical fires resulting from arc-faults. Designed to detect a wide range of potentially hazardous arc-faults resulting from damage in branch circuit wiring as well as extensions to branches such as appliances and cord sets, the OBC AFCI responds by interrupting power. This helps reduce the likelihood of the home’s electrical system being an ignition source of a fire. Often unseen, arc-faults can occur anywhere in the home’s electrical system including within walls, at loose electrical connections or within electrical cords accidently damaged by impinging furniture. AFCI’s are now required by the National Electrical Code in many areas of the home.
           

          is it good for copper and aluminium wiring?

          Asked by
          skwief
          ontario
          August 23, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          August 24, 2015
          Answer: 
          No, it must NOT be used with aluminum wire, only solid copper or copper clad wiring
           
          Don’t forget one of the most important tools when gardening - a Garden Hat. Easy Gardener’s Garden Hats are made from 100% Natural Fibers. Hat provides sun protection from harmful UV rays.
           

          Chin strap

          Asked by
          jj910
          NJ
          August 19, 2015
          Does this have a chin strap? Thanks..
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          August 24, 2015
          Answer: 
          Not really a strap, but a cord that can be adjusted for tightness. I've been hit by a dust devil while wearing this hat. The hat stayed on my head and survived.
           
          The New Defiant Bluetooth smart LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. No need to climb ladders for motion sensor adjustment as the innovative use of Bluetooth smart Technology allows sensor control from your smart phone device. Bluetooth smart technology allows control of light level outside your home by adjustable dimming feature. LED technology provides no bulbs to change. Install quick and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected. Energy Star certified.
           

          can you disable motion sensor

          Asked by
          bear
          August 18, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          August 21, 2015
          Answer: 
          On the iPad version of the software there is currently no way to disable the motion sensor. Since I have seen some erratic behavior with this software I suspect an update will be available soon, hopefully also with enhanced features for controlling the light.
           
          The New Defiant Bluetooth smart LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. No need to climb ladders for motion sensor adjustment as the innovative use of Bluetooth smart Technology allows sensor control from your smart phone device. Bluetooth smart technology allows control of light level outside your home by adjustable dimming feature. LED technology provides no bulbs to change. Install quick and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected. Energy Star certified.
           

          How secure is the bluetooth

          Asked by
          greenwave97
          Easley SC
          July 29, 2015
          Can anyone with a smart phone download the app and then come and mess with the light settings or is it username password specific?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          August 13, 2015
          Answer: 
          It is password protected. Bluetooth is short range and that helps some. I'm sure a sophisticated hacker could come up with a way to compromise security, but I don't lose sleep over it.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>