EricG
  • Review count
    215
  • Helpfulness votes
    244
  • Average rating
    4.5
    4.5 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    May 9, 2017
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      185
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        215
      • Helpfulness votes
        244
      • Average rating
        4.5
        4.5 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        May 9, 2017
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          185
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          The Orbit 4-Outlet Integrated Watering System will turn your hose faucet into a programmed sprinkler system in minutes. No more dead plants because you forgot to water them. No more soggy lawns because you forgot to turn the water off. Just set the timer and go. With a large digital display, easy program dial and simple controls, programming is fast and easy. Built with high quality materials and water-resistant construction you can count on many years of dependable service. Simply install a hose faucet timer to any standard outdoor hose faucet and program it to water at your convenience. Program it to water during ideal times to minimize evaporation and save yourself time and money while making your yard lush and green.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Well designed watering system
          PostedMay 9, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          My first impression of this product was that a lot of care went into the design. It is easy to set up and program. I had no outside faucets tall enough to give clearance for the four downward facing outlets, so I supplied water with a short hose. I used standard drip line irrigation fittings, so each line can water numerous plants. The only limitation is that if you use too many emitters, the pressure falls so they do deliver water evenly.
          I particularly like the removable control unit which means that I do not have to go on all fours to change the settings!
          Pros: Easy to Install
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The locker that can hold it all! The Performance Plus 2.0 Series Multi-Use Locker is designed fully welded with 18-gauge steel frames. It includes: soft-close hinges, fully-lockable double walled doors, and an intuitive cable management solution which allows you to charge your power tools behind closed doors. There are four, fully-adjustable steel shelves and a removable closet rod with multi-peg hooks for a truly versatile setup. Find the right storage solution for your garage with the Performance Plus 2.0 Multi-Use Locker.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          Sturdy and capacious cabinet
          PostedMay 9, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Weighing in at 300 lbs, this huge cabinet promises to bring order to my chaotic shop. The carton warned that two or more people are required to move it. After cutting away the carton, I found I could easily tip it over to lay on its back, but when I tried to lift the base I realized that all the weight had been at the bottom. I removed the doors, shelves and hardware parts and found the main part was easy enough to move single handed, though it took several trips to get everything inside.
          The assembly instructions are clear and soon the cabinet was in place and assembled. The only puzzle was with two parts that look like coat hooks. Each one can be mounted on the sides with the same clips Read More
          Weighing in at 300 lbs, this huge cabinet promises to bring order to my chaotic shop. The carton warned that two or more people are required to move it. After cutting away the carton, I found I could easily tip it over to lay on its back, but when I tried to lift the base I realized that all the weight had been at the bottom. I removed the doors, shelves and hardware parts and found the main part was easy enough to move single handed, though it took several trips to get everything inside.
          The assembly instructions are clear and soon the cabinet was in place and assembled. The only puzzle was with two parts that look like coat hooks. Each one can be mounted on the sides with the same clips that support the shelves.
          The cabinet stands on four sturdy feet. I stood inside the cabinet to assemble the shelves, and the floor of the cabinet barely flexed under my weight. I can believe that it would have no trouble supporting its rated load of 1000lbs. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design, Sturdy
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Durably constructed from die-cast metal, the mixer comes equipped with a 350-Watt motor for effortless mixing at any speed, and its heavy-duty accessories are color-coded for quick, easy insertion. For added convenience, the stand mixer's free-spinning bowl amps up overall efficiency, while its 4.6 Qt. off-center bowl means minimal scrapping necessary. This makes it especially convenient if your recipe calls for gradually adding eggs or flour mixtures or incorporating delicate ingredients towards the end of mixing. All this without the hefty price tag (competitive models are typically 2 to 4 times as much).
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good general purpose mixer
          PostedMay 9, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is an attractive and useful stand mixer. It has a wide range of speeds and works well on many kitchen mixing tasks. It will meet most peoples needs. It come with two dough hooks, one left handed and one right handed- one pushed the food down while the other lifts it upwards. It also has two mixing attachments of different shapes.
          While it works well for most tasks I have used it for, it fails to knead the dough I use for 100% whole wheat bread. Many years ago I had a 'semi-professional' mixer for that task, but after wearing it out I now do all my kneading by hand. When I tried with either of the dough hooks with this mixer it never completed the task, even at the slowest speed I had Read More
          This is an attractive and useful stand mixer. It has a wide range of speeds and works well on many kitchen mixing tasks. It will meet most peoples needs. It come with two dough hooks, one left handed and one right handed- one pushed the food down while the other lifts it upwards. It also has two mixing attachments of different shapes.
          While it works well for most tasks I have used it for, it fails to knead the dough I use for 100% whole wheat bread. Many years ago I had a 'semi-professional' mixer for that task, but after wearing it out I now do all my kneading by hand. When I tried with either of the dough hooks with this mixer it never completed the task, even at the slowest speed I had to keep stopping to scrape the dough of the side of the bowl. There are two problems: even the lowest speed is too fast and the offset adjustment for the bowl is not large enough to bring the dough hook close enough to the bowl. I will look for a smaller bowl, because then the dough hook will come closer to the bowl.
          For people who do not make bread this mixer should meet all your needs. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Looks Great
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Farberware High Performance Nonstick 17-Piece Cookware Set makes it easy to turn out complete, delicious meals. Farberware has brought performance, convenience and reliability to countless kitchens for over a century, and this cookware set continues that tradition for a new generation. Crafted from heavy-duty aluminum that heats evenly, the covered saucepans and Dutch oven feature long-lasting nonstick for effortless food release and easy cleanup. Both skillets and the griddle boast the unique dimpled surface of the SmartGlide Nonstick System with DuPont Teflon Plus, which improves nonstick durability and creates air pockets that transfer heat to food quickly. Choose from six convenient Prestige nylon kitchen tools to flip pancakes on the griddle, stir marina in a saucepan or serve angel hair pasta from the Dutch oven. Double-riveted handles on the cookware offer a confident grip, and shatter-resistant glass lids seal in heat and moisture. The cookware is oven safe to 350°F, the cookie pan safe to 450°F, and the entire set dishwasher safe for convenience.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great starter set- or for replacing worn out pots and pans
          PostedMay 9, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is a great set for someone setting up a kitchen for the first time, or as in my case having several pans badly in need of replacement. One feature that is new to me is the dimpled finish on some of the items, perhaps it speed the flow of heat to the food. Certainly each pan that I have used performs well. I have noticed that on high heat the food is apt to stick unless well sprayed with cooking oil.
          The finish is attractive, although on one of my pans the coating on the outside has scratched off in one place. Obviously I must have banged the pan against something, but since my 20 year old pans are still unscathed it may be that the exterior coating is not as tough as it could be.
          Pros: Light Weight, Looks Great
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Goodyear 5/8 in. Dia x 50 ft. Maxlite black rubber hose is a major advance in rubber hose technology. 40% lighter than traditional rubber hoses, the Goodyear hose is ideal for the most demanding commercial applications. Drinking water safe and lead free make ideal for commercial kitchens, farms, or any other use that requires hot water.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Sturdy hose should last a long time
          PostedMay 7, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          When I purchased my home 6 years ago it came with two rubber garden hoses and several plastic hoses. The plastic ones have been destroyed by our high desert sun and relentless UV, but the rubber hoses are still fine. Plastic hoses here usually fail within two years, so are a false economy.
          This hose has large fittings allowing for easy tightening. The only downside is that they are somewhat prone to kinking, but that is not a problem if I remove any twist and do not force the hose into too tight a curve.
          Pros: Great Quality
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 43 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          Specially designed for cutting composite material and cellular PVC, Diablo's next generation 10 in. x 72-Tooth Diablo TrexBlade features new laser-cut stabilizer vents for smooth and finely finished cuts. The advanced stabilizer vents feature a permanent filler baked in from top to bottom for absorbing noise and preventing sideways movement, allowing the blade to slice through deck boards, giving outdoor retreats a polished look. Constructed with TiCo Hi-Density special-blend carbide, Diablo's 10 in. TrexBlade finish blade produces melt-free cuts for flawless looking projects. The laser cut heat expansion slots allow the blade to expand and contract during use, keeping the cut true and straight. This blade is excellent for cutting Trex branded materials, composite decking and cellular PVC.
           

          Would this be good for cutting 1/4" luxury vinyl planks?

          Asked by
          TurdFurgeson
          May 28, 2017
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          May 28, 2017
          Answer: 
          It does a great job on Trex. I've used it on other materials, all with great success, so I suspect it will do well for your application.
           
          The Zircon Corporation MetalliScanner m40 Metal Locator easily detects metal in wood, drywall, stucco, plaster, concrete and other non-metallic surfaces. The M40 locates ferrous metal up to 4 in. deep and non-ferrous metal up to 2 in. deep.
           

          Will this allow me to find the metal property marker in the ground?

          Asked by
          Karen
          May 27, 2017
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          May 28, 2017
          Answer: 
          In theory yes, but you'd have to crawl on hands and knees! Also it is designed to locate metal parts very precisely, so it only would work if you were already very close to it. You'd do much better with a general purpose metal detector.
           
          The Ames Planting Auger makes planting bulbs and annuals quick and easy from an upright position. Measuring 2-3/4 in. Dia, this tool attaches to your power drill to eliminate the tediousness of manually digging plant holes. Constructed with steel, this bulb-planting time-saver is built to perform for many seasons of use.
           

          can i make a perfect hole in loose soil

          Asked by
          coolc1234
          May 13, 2017
          can it be easy for a 12 v drill too
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          May 13, 2017
          Answer: 
          Not perfect, but if you make the soil damp it makes reasonable holes
           
          Don't forget one of the most important tools when gardening - a Garden Hat. Easy Gardener's Garden Hats are made from 100% Natural Fibers. Hat provides sun protection from harmful UV rays.
           

          Does this hat have a sweat band on the inside or is it just straw all the way around?

          Asked by
          Support
          May 12, 2017
          Does this hat have a sweat band on the inside or is it just straw all the way around?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          May 13, 2017
          Answer: 
          No sweat band all around, but a leather lining at the back
           
          The Ames Planting Auger makes planting bulbs and annuals quick and easy from an upright position. Measuring 2-3/4 in. Dia, this tool attaches to your power drill to eliminate the tediousness of manually digging plant holes. Constructed with steel, this bulb-planting time-saver is built to perform for many seasons of use.
           

          can this be used to make fence post holes? even start then and finish with post hole digger?

          Asked by
          mmaintenance
          May 10, 2017
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          May 11, 2017
          Answer: 
          I do just that. The soil here consists of loose sand and layers of clay as tough as concrete. I use the auger to drill a pilot hole, then add water to soften the clay and make the sand stick together enough for the post hole digger to finish the job.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 37 >>