EricG
  • Review count
    52
  • Helpfulness votes
    87
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    October 21, 2014
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      32
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        52
      • Helpfulness votes
        87
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        October 21, 2014
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          32
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          The Husky 9-Piece Screwdriver Set includes a 2-handle, full-bodied screwdriver and 8 double-ended alloy bits. The Versa-Grip handle offers comfort and control, and an embedded magnet in the handle helps you use the screwdriver with a power shank bit (not included). Blades can be stored beneath the handle cap, helping you and your work station stay neat and organized.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Compact micro tool set
          PostedOctober 21, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          This set provides 16 screwdriver bits and is ideal for assembling and removing small fasteners. I got this to expand my collection of Phillips and slotted screwdrivers, but this set also includes T-star, hex and square bits.
          The double ended bits are held securely in place by a magnetic holder, and bits not in use can be stored in the screwdriver handle.
          There is only problem, the storage area is too small to hold all the bits. Even with one bit installed the remaining 7 are a challenge to fit in the storage area. Only by inserting the bulkiest bit in the tool head could I manage to store the other seven in the handle. Even a millimeter or two bigger would make storage less of a puzzle.
          Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Not your usual drill bit selection
          PostedOctober 7, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          This set has 13 sizes, but more than one each for the three smallest sizes (1/16, 5/64 and 3/32). Why is this a good idea? The smallest drill bits are the easiest to break. I find this a very useful set and I am using it to fill in gaps in my other drill bit sets.
          Many smaller sets stop at 1/4, but this one goes to 5/16, and it has a full size shank too. Most drills have at least a 3/8 chuck, so I think reduced shank bits are a bad idea, especially as undersized shanks quickly get chewed up by the chuck.
          Although I would have preferred TiN coated bits, that would have increased the (very reasonable) price and done nothing to solve the small size bit breakage problem.
          Pros: Durable, High Quality
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Johnson's 1876-4800 48 in. electronic digital level is ideal when measurements of slope or grade are important, such as the construction of ADA ramps or where water runoff is necessary. Its rigid aluminum box profile is Jobsite Tough. Features Johnson's unique Surround View which reflects the ambient light for easy reading of the plumb and level vials. The electronic keypad features a hold function that locks the measurement display on the LCD. A calibration button that allows the digital level to be calibrated. A backlight button that illuminates the LCD in low light conditions. Reference button allows the end user to make any slope 0.0 degrees. The keypad also has a sound feature (audible alarm) that indicates if the digital level is plumb or level. This digital level has units of measure that can be operated by the mode button. These measurements allow the end user to toggle between degrees, percent, inches/feet fractional, inches/feet decimal and mm/m. This extremely accurate digital level has an accuracy of +/- 0.1º at 0º to 90º and +/- 0.2º from 1º-89º. This digital level module is housed in a rigid aluminum box frame profile with solid block acrylic vials that will not fog, leak or break. Large hand grips fastened with screws allows ease of transportation. Johnson's unique Surround View reflects ambient light for easy reading of the vials in low light work environment.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Remarkably accurate
          PostedOctober 6, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          This is my first electronic level and I'm really impressed. Beside the digital sensor and display, it also has conventional bubbles. I find myself using it in the digital mode most of the time. For maximum accuracy the level must be calibrated, which is an easy operation but does require you to read the manual.
          Besides setting up vertical and horizontal orientations, it can also be used to duplicate a given slope, something that you cannot do with an analog level without making a custom template for each angle.
          Best of all is the accuracy and resolution, better than one part in a thousand. Although I do have a machinist level that is more accurate, it is much harder to use and lessRead More
          This is my first electronic level and I'm really impressed. Beside the digital sensor and display, it also has conventional bubbles. I find myself using it in the digital mode most of the time. For maximum accuracy the level must be calibrated, which is an easy operation but does require you to read the manual.
          Besides setting up vertical and horizontal orientations, it can also be used to duplicate a given slope, something that you cannot do with an analog level without making a custom template for each angle.
          Best of all is the accuracy and resolution, better than one part in a thousand. Although I do have a machinist level that is more accurate, it is much harder to use and less versatile, so this will be my level of choice for almost all my jobs.Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Bosch GLM 15 Laser Measure is the smallest, simplest way of measuring. Thanks to its laser precision technology and continuous measurement mode, it takes instant and reliable measurements up to 50 ft. so you can size up your job in seconds. Square and compact by design, the GLM 15 Laser Measure is ready for anywhere portability, fitting comfortably in your hand and easily into your pocket. With just 1 button and a shape that lets you measure in any position, the GLM 15 Laser Measure makes measuring easier and faster than a tape measure.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Surprisingly accurate
          PostedSeptember 30, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          I had an ultrasonic rangefinder many years ago, and it was unreliable and inaccurate, but this tool is totally different. The laser spot shows exactly where you are measuring to and the accuracy is high enough for anything except cabinet making.
          The manual indicates that the rangefinder won't work in sunlight, but I was able to use it that way. The problem is that the spot is so small that at a distance it is hard to find, but if you jiggle the laser measure you eye can pick out the spot in a few seconds.
          Pros: Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This Pratt Retail Specialties 25-Box bundle is perfect for shipping and storing small items. These boxes are unprinted. Great solution for professional shipping needs.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          Use as inexpensive organizers
          PostedSeptember 30, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          My shop is overcrowded with tools and supplies. I'm in a constant battle to keep the floor clear so I can actually work.
          My answer is to put up long shelves at about the 6 foot level. Then these boxes can be used to store small parts and seldom used tools. Remember to group similar items together and label them.
          Pros: Functional, Good Size & Weight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          The Fluidmaster Duo Flush System allows you to quickly convert your existing toilet into a Dual Flush toilet. Duo Flush enables you to use less water by offering two different flush settings, one for liquids and one for solids, and with Duo Flush technology you save water without sacrificing flush performance. Duo Flush replaces the toilet flapper, thus eliminating potential leaks in the future. The DUO FLUSH System also comes with PerforMAX Fill Valve to maximize your toilet performance and water savings. The PerforMAX Fill Valve is the quietest and most powerful fill valve sold.
           

          Universal??

          Asked by
          flaco
          Orlando
          October 9, 2014
          Is this a universal item. Will it fit all toilets?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          October 12, 2014
          Answer: 
          I cannot say it will fir EVERY toilet, but it did fit mine that had no brand markings and was probably 40 years old. I do remember when I installed it that there were extra parts to account for angled attachment.
          My experience with HD is that they are very good with returns. If you buy this, take a look at the included instructions and your toilet and you should be able to return it if it does not fit.
           
          Featuring heavy-duty, padded shoulder straps to help provide comfortable carrying. The ECHO 4-gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer is designed for use with powders, liquids and water-soluble solutions. The 4 nozzles offer stream adjustment for customizable spraying and the wand can be used for left- and right-handed application.
           

          I have narrowed my purchase between 2 ECHO products: the 4 gallon diaghragm sprayer and the 4 gallon piston sprayer. Can you explain the difference. t

          Asked by
          peter
          west granby ct
          October 10, 2014
          piston sprayer. please explain the difference between the two
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          October 12, 2014
          Answer: 
          The piston sprayer is less suitable for spraying suspensions- liquids that contains small floating particles. Since the fertilizers that I spray are slow to dissolve, I chose the diaphragm sprayer and I'm very happy with it.
          Possibly the piston sprayer would take less work to pump, since all your effort is going into moving the fluid rather some of it pushing against the diaphragm. The only way to knowRead More
          The piston sprayer is less suitable for spraying suspensions- liquids that contains small floating particles. Since the fertilizers that I spray are slow to dissolve, I chose the diaphragm sprayer and I'm very happy with it.
          Possibly the piston sprayer would take less work to pump, since all your effort is going into moving the fluid rather some of it pushing against the diaphragm. The only way to know this for sure is to do a side by side comparison. I'm not too worried though, my sprayer is so much easier to use than my old one that needed constant refilling and the hassle of dragging around hoses.Read Less
           
          The Fluidmaster Duo Flush System gives you a tool to help save more water than any other dual flush system on the market. The Dual Flush System retrofits into any 2 in. toilet tank, and is proven to use up to 45% less water than the original tank parts. It also has been shown to improve flushing power on the full flush, so you will actually see better performance than before. It comes complete with a high refill fill valve to insure consistent flushes every single time. A dual flush tank lever is included with this system.
           

          Do you install this system and how much will it cost? My toliet will not flush.

          Asked by
          Plumber
          Texas
          September 14, 2014
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          September 16, 2014
          Answer: 
          Check with HD for current prices. The unit comes with a large illustrated instruction sheet telling you how to install it. Installation is more complicated than some other types, but that is because the unit will turn an old toilet into a modern water saving unit. I've had mine for 6 months with no problems.
           
          Loctite Epoxy Instant Mix 5 Minute is a two-part adhesive consisting of an epoxy resin and a hardener. When mixed in equal volumes, the resin and hardener react to produce a tough, rigid, high strength bond, which starts to set in 5 minutes and reaches handling strength in 1 hour. The static mix nozzle delivers a uniform mixture of resin and hardener every time. It can be used as an adhesive for a wide range of materials or as a versatile filler for gap bonding, surface repairs and laminating. Loctite Epoxy Instant Mix 5 Minute does not shrink and is resistant to water and most common solvents. It can be tinted with earth pigments, cement or sand for color matching and can be sanded and drilled. Recommended for bonding metal, glass, ceramic, wood, many rigid plastics, china, tile, fiberglass, concrete and stone. It can be combined with a fiberglass cloth for a durable patch.
           

          what would you recommend for glueing a towel rack to bathroom tile?

          Asked by
          RonC
          August 20, 2014
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          August 21, 2014
          Answer: 
          Epoxy will grip a glazed tile, especially if the tile is scratched or roughed. The problem is if you bond something rigid like metal to the tile then the different expansion rates with cause the bond to fail as temperature changes. A flexible adhesive, such as contact cement would work better.
          Assuming that the towel rail can be screwed in place, use a carbide drill bit to drill holes in the tiles andRead More
          Epoxy will grip a glazed tile, especially if the tile is scratched or roughed. The problem is if you bond something rigid like metal to the tile then the different expansion rates with cause the bond to fail as temperature changes. A flexible adhesive, such as contact cement would work better.
          Assuming that the towel rail can be screwed in place, use a carbide drill bit to drill holes in the tiles and then use screws with plastic wall anchors.Read Less
           
          The Diablo Demo Demon 7-1/4 in. x 24 Tooth Carbide Circular Saw Blade is made of Ti-Co high density carbide with titanium for a design that is durable and long-lasting. The Perma-Shield non-stick coating reduces friction and pitch buildup. Laser cut stabilizer vents reduce vibration for a cleaner cut and longer life.
           

          Can we order Freud Model D0742DR (Demo Demon) saw blades in a bulk packages (10 or more per box) rather than individual retail packaging?

          Asked by
          Doug
          Lincolnwood, IL 60712 (less than 2 miles from Store #8598)
          June 30, 2014
          We are an industrial business located in Lincolnwood, IL and use the blades in our production shop.

          Thank you for attention.
          August 2, 2014
          Answer: 
          My local HD store only carries them in single unit packages.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>