EricG
  • Review count
    201
  • Helpfulness votes
    236
  • Average rating
    4.5
    4.5 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    March 6, 2017
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      167
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        201
      • Helpfulness votes
        236
      • Average rating
        4.5
        4.5 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        March 6, 2017
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          167
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          Element IndustrialPRO is the ideal hose for the serious DIYer in the family or pro looking for a high performance 5/8 in. hose. The Super Duty female coupling works in any temperature with or without gloves on. Unique, heavy duty construction and high kink resistance make this the perfect hose for the most challenging around the house jobs and construction environments. Available in multiple lengths, perfect for any application (50, 75 and 100 ft.). Element IndustrialPRO, ideal for the Contractor and the Serious Do-It Yourselfer.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Sturdy hose promises long life.
          PostedMarch 6, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We live in a harsh environment for hoses, the high elevation allows enough UV to destroy an inferior hose in months. I have used this brand before and I know it will hold up well. I particularly like the oversize fitting that allow you to easily make tight connections by hand.
          Although not recommended for any hose, this one has been run over by my car several times with no damage. After a month of being dragged around it looks as good as new.
          Pros: Durable
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Blazer LED 2 in. Off-road Light Bar with flood light beam is expertly designed to project a wide light to maximize the area of visibility. The LED off-road light bar features four (4) high-output, 5 watt LEDs that measure up to 1920 raw / 880 effective Lumens. Providing up to 50,000 hours of light, the life of this light far exceeds traditional incandescent lights and at 1.5 Amp draws significantly less power than traditional halogen bulbs. Its compact size and shape allows for the light to fit almost anywhere. Perfect for ATVs, Jeeps, golf carts, pickup trucks, riding lawn mowers, boats, snowmobiles and more. Not hitting the trail anytime soon. This versatile 2 in. light bar can be used to illuminate your work area, creating a safer environment. Constructed with die-cast aluminum housing this LED Off-Road Light Bar easily resists corrosion. The lens has been engineered with a high-strength, impact resistant polycarbonate material and provides a maintenance-free light bar that will last in any weather condition. The IP-67 quality rating assures total protection against dust and the effects of immersion between 5 in. to 40 in. This package includes heavy-duty brackets that are designed to be secure and easy to mount.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Compact but powerful light
          PostedMarch 6, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This light comes packaged with a button on the outside of the box so you can test it even before unpacking it. The instructions indicate it can run from 12 to 24 volts. The two 9 volt batteries are wired in parallel to produce 9 volts at higher current. Even at that voltage the lamp produces a bright beam, and at 12 volts is even brighter, easily illuminating a broad area for hundreds of feet.
          This lamp is intended for mounting on an ATV and I am sure it would work well for that. I am using mine for high frame rate wild life cinematography where it is essential that the light does not flicker and this lamp meets all my needs.
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Nice Design
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Excellent ladder
          PostedFebruary 8, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This fine ladder replaces an elderly all aluminum extension and is better in every way.
          Each section of the ladder is just over12 ft long and at maximum extension the total length is 21'4".
          Extending the ladder is easy with the built in rope and pulley system. Unlike other ladders that I have used, the rope is concealed in one side rail rather than hanging in the middle of the ladder. In addition, the rope is looped so no excess accumulates on the ground, so there is no chance of tripping on the rope.
          Another nice safety feature that I have not seen before is in the ladder feet. In addition to having rotating non-slip feet, they can be rotated 90 degrees to reveal spikes that sink Read More
          This fine ladder replaces an elderly all aluminum extension and is better in every way.
          Each section of the ladder is just over12 ft long and at maximum extension the total length is 21'4".
          Extending the ladder is easy with the built in rope and pulley system. Unlike other ladders that I have used, the rope is concealed in one side rail rather than hanging in the middle of the ladder. In addition, the rope is looped so no excess accumulates on the ground, so there is no chance of tripping on the rope.
          Another nice safety feature that I have not seen before is in the ladder feet. In addition to having rotating non-slip feet, they can be rotated 90 degrees to reveal spikes that sink into the ground provided extra grip when not used on concrete or pavement.
          The ladder is no lightweight, and for me at least was awkward and tiresome to carry long distances. However by securing a handtruck to one end with a bungy cord the ladder could easily moved by one person.
          The sturdy GRP rails and aluminum alloy rungs make the ladder much more resistant to twisting than other ladders that I have used, adding to the sense of security I feel when high above the ground. Read Less
          Pros: Nice Design, Sturdy
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Protect your 5-6 bedroom home or industrial location with an HD surveillance camera system from Q-SEE, including a 16-Channel HD DVR, 12 1,080p cameras, and a pre-installed 2TB Purple Surveillance Storage drive from Western Digital. View cameras and recordings anytime right from your Smartphone, tablet, or computer with Q-SEE's remote connection feature and always know your property is safe. These HD cameras are weather-resistant and perfect for indoor or outdoor use, and the metal housing and 3-axis mount protect against tampering and vandalism. Built-in LED's allow you to see up to 100 ft. in complete darkness, delivering protection and peace of mind day or night. Smart System features allow you to receive specialized alerts with snapshots directly on your Smartphone. Easily view live video feeds or review motion tagged recordings through a tablet or phone. Protect what matters the most, let Q-SEE make your life easier by providing you with a smart security system advantage.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Serious surveillance system with easy installation but poor customer support and software
          PostedFebruary 7, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This kit provides all the parts needed to set up an extensive surveillance system. 12 cameras, a DVR, computer mouse, power supplies and wiring. All seemed to be well engineered and designed.
          The instructional material included a sheet that seemed to apply to a different product, instructions to register for support and a link to a website to get information. I dutifully registered and explored the poorly designed website that had downloads for many different systems but was unable to find anything for this system.
          However looking at the parts it was obvious how they should be connected, there was no room for error. I connected up two cameras and hooked the DVR to a computer monitor Read More
          This kit provides all the parts needed to set up an extensive surveillance system. 12 cameras, a DVR, computer mouse, power supplies and wiring. All seemed to be well engineered and designed.
          The instructional material included a sheet that seemed to apply to a different product, instructions to register for support and a link to a website to get information. I dutifully registered and explored the poorly designed website that had downloads for many different systems but was unable to find anything for this system.
          However looking at the parts it was obvious how they should be connected, there was no room for error. I connected up two cameras and hooked the DVR to a computer monitor (not included) and plugged the mouse into the DVR and connected the DVR to my router and applied power. The monitor immediately showed the views from the cameras and displayed a dialog to set up the time and a new user name and password. The problem was that before I could do anything I had to sign in. The default username was ADMIN, but I still needed an initial password. It was not written on the unit, as it often is for routers. I tried 'password' as the password- it was rejected. The website did not have the information.
          I contacted customer support via live chat and was put on a waiting list and given a reasonable time estimate and watched myself move up the queue. An hour later, it was my turn, but instead of getting the answer I was informed that my query had been cancelled. I tried again with the same result.
          Web searching quickly revealed that the default password was 123456, maybe I should have guessed that. Then I was able to proceed, setup the device and download an app for my phone. To be fair to the company, I subsequently found that the password was on the sheet that I had for another product.
          Controlling the system with a mouse worked flawlessly, the image quality is good, though the user interface is awkward.
          The phone app was well designed, making it much easier to zoom in on a past event, except that there seems to be no explanation on how to do it- you have to figure it out for yourself. There are some problems. The phone view always lagged by at least a minute and frequently froze for long periods. So the 'remote viewing' feature is largely useless. I can guess why it didn't work for me. Living in a rural area, we have an upload speed of 500 kbs and a download speed 10 times faster. In a city where both speeds could be much faster, others may have satisfactory results.
          However I know that with better software design this system should work much better, as I have a another surveillance camera with built in memory that is able to produce usable remote imaging by adapting the image quality and frame rate to accommodate lower bandwidth connections.
          Despite poor customer service, documentation and software, this system will be a useful addition to my home surveillance system and with improved software and support it will be a first class product. Read Less
          Pros: Easy Installation, Nice Design
          Cons: poor software, poor customer support
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Blazer C7423 LED Submersible Trailer Light Kit is designed to meet DOT requirements for trailers under 80 in. wide. This kit is not only ideal for boat trailers, but for any utility, camping, snowmobile, and motorcycle trailer where LED lights are desired. The life of an LED trailer light far exceeds traditional incandescent trailer lights. Lenses are sonically sealed to provide protection from moisture and corrosion. Additionally, all electronics are potted with water resistant resin for a second layer of defense. The stop/tail/turn lights feature universal back & side mount options. These stop/tail/turn lights are individually replaceable with Blazer model numbers C7483RTM and C7493RTM. Kit includes 2 stop/tail/turn lights, a 20 ft. wire harness, license plate bracket, mounting hardware, and trilingual instructions everything needed for easy installation and DOT compliance.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nicely engineered trailer light kit
          PostedFebruary 7, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          The lights on my kit built trailer were always a problem. Vibration due to the very stiff trailer springs caused frequent bulb failures, Water sprayed up from the road entered the lights and caused corrosion related problems. I always took a multimeter, wire, cutters and spare bulbs for emergency repairs.
          I anticipate this kit will eliminate my problems. The light units are completely sealed and the LEDs should outlast the trailer. Vibration should not be an issue since the actual LEDs are presumably directly soldered to a circuit board.
          The kit comes with clear instructions and all the hardware parts needed. You will need an electric drill and a bit if you need to make a hole for the Read More
          The lights on my kit built trailer were always a problem. Vibration due to the very stiff trailer springs caused frequent bulb failures, Water sprayed up from the road entered the lights and caused corrosion related problems. I always took a multimeter, wire, cutters and spare bulbs for emergency repairs.
          I anticipate this kit will eliminate my problems. The light units are completely sealed and the LEDs should outlast the trailer. Vibration should not be an issue since the actual LEDs are presumably directly soldered to a circuit board.
          The kit comes with clear instructions and all the hardware parts needed. You will need an electric drill and a bit if you need to make a hole for the self tapping grounding screw.
          The plastic license plate holder had holes that matched the brackets that came with the trailer so installation was a breeze.
          LED side lights are not included, but there were splices so that the harness could be connected to the existing bulb type lights. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, long life expectancy, Clear Instructions
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 41 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          The TG167 is an imaging thermometer which bridges the gap between single spot IR thermometers and FLIR's industry leading thermal cameras. with FLIR's exclusive Lepton micro thermal camera, the TG167 will show you where potential problems are emerging so you can know exactly where to make your IR measurement. The TG167 will let you spot heat patterns and reliably measure temperature with its simple and intuitive operation. This meter features a durable, pocket portable construction, an 80x60 IR resolution, 25x19.6 degree field of view and a 2 in. LCD screen. Meter comes with 8 Gb Micro SD card, lanyard, power supply/cable, and printed documentation.
           

          How far much distance away can i be and still read

          Asked by
          Darin
          March 22, 2017
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          March 23, 2017
          Answer: 
          There is no real limit. I have used it across a room to see places where there is heat loss. Obviously, very small distant hot objects will not be resolved so will report a lower temperature. Also very distant objects may be measured less accurately because of intervening atmosphere.
           
          The Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender effectively doubles the operating distance of your entire wireless network and conveniently avoids additional need for power cables or device clutter on your office desk or home theater. The WN3000RP extends your wireless network to include areas outside the range of your existing wireless router. Smart LED Indicators - Finds best location for optimal Wi-Fi coverage.
           

          Will this work to extend wifi to a basement?

          Asked by
          CJ
          March 13, 2017
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          March 14, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes, provided you place this unit in the basement at a place that has a WiFi signal. It will extend the signal by rebroadcasting it. Use a phone, tablet or laptop to check signal. If you have a signal everywhere then you don't need an extender. If you have signals in one area, but not where you need it, the this device should work for you.
           
          For DIYers and professional tradesmen who recognize the importance of going green and using natural timber harvested in a responsible manner, turn to this FSC-certified PureBond Red Oak Plywood from Columbia Forest Products. Each panel features a decorative red oak veneer on the face, which exudes the warmth and beauty of natural hardwood to supply your carpentry creations with visual allure. Furthermore, the 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. panels are manufactured with a soy-based PureBond technology that is formaldehyde-free so it won’t deteriorate air quality, as is common with UF-constructed sheets that are susceptible to releasing airborne contaminants over time. Intended for interior use, these red oak plywood panels are an affordable way to craft authentic hardwood-faced masterpieces such as built-in cabinets, entertainment centers, tables, shelves, headboards, wall panels and more. With an eye toward sustainability, Columbia takes pride in manufacturing this Earth-conscious product and takes seriously its responsibility in replenishing forests for future generations.
           

          Could this be used as a hardwood floor?

          Asked by
          KStuart
          March 1, 2017
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          March 3, 2017
          Answer: 
          It could, but it might not be smart. The joints would be visible, as would the fasteners that you use to hold it down. The veneer on the ply is quite thin and might not stand up to the abuse a floor has to take.
           
          The 4 ft. White LED Wrap Ceiling Light from Commercial Electric is perfect for any application where high-quality LED lighting is required in your workspace. With no bulbs to replace, this ENERGY STAR-qualified fixture is easy to install and virtually maintenance free. Designed for a 50,000-hour lifespan with continuous use, the ceiling light delivers 3800 lumens and starts reliably down to -4 degrees F, ideal for colder areas.
           

          How many bulbs are in each light, one or two?

          Asked by
          Dolce
          February 25, 2017
          How many bulbs are in each light, one or two?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 26, 2017
          Answer: 
          Two.
          It has two strips of LEDs. Together they put out significantly more light than the two fluorescent tubes in the old fixture.
           
          LED Retrofit Kit consists of four 4 ft. LED Daylight Tubes. 8 non shunted sockets and 1 metal kit. This innovative kit comes complete for the end user to retrofit older 4 ft. fluorescent fixtures such as Troffers, Strip Lights, Wraps and Puffs.
           

          The video shows the conversion with fixtures that are wall switch operated. I have two Tony Stew...

          Asked by
          OldNSpicy
          February 24, 2017
          The video shows the conversion with fixtures that are wall switch operated. I have two Tony Stewart edition 4 foot fixtures, BUT they have the pull chain switch dead center of the fixture. The power cord exits from the end to be plugged into a wall outlet. Will this kit work for these type of fixtures? If they were plain ol white fixtures, I'd toss them and buy new LED fixtures. But since they are semi-rare and I'm still a Stewart fan, I'd like to preserve them as well as upgrade them to LED. Thanks
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 25, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes it will work fine. Just identify the wires that go to the old light. One of them will come from the switch (probably black). Follow the instruction to connect up the LED
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 34 >>