EricG
  • Review count
    137
  • Helpfulness votes
    171
  • Average rating
    4.5
    4.5 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    April 21, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      86
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        137
      • Helpfulness votes
        171
      • Average rating
        4.5
        4.5 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        April 21, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          86
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          The M18 FUEL Drill/Driver features a POWERSTATE Brushless Motor that delivers 1,200 in. lbs. of peak torque and up to 2,000 RPM, providing faster drilling speed under heavy load to increase productivity. At only 7.20 in. in length it is the Most Compact drill in its class, reducing fatigue when used for extended periods of time and allowing access to tight work spaces. REDLINK PLUS intelligence ensures maximum performance and protection from overload, overheating and over-discharge. REDLITHIUM battery packs deliver more work per charge and more work over the life of the pack than the competitors. ONE-KEY enabled, this is the industry’s first Drill/Driver that wirelessly connects to a smart phone to provide unlimited customization and control of the tool’s performance. The ONE-KEY application features predetermined set-ups for specific fasteners and materials, or provides complete control over output speed and power to customize the tool for the specific application at hand. Once the desired output performance is reached, the custom profile is then saved to the memory of the tool and the connection to the smart phone is no longer necessary. The tool’s memory supports up to 4 custom profiles that can be easily accessed with the touch of a button on the tool.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Quality Hi Tech Drill
          PostedApril 21, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I was dubious about 'battery' operated tools but bought my first, a NiCad 3/8" drill over 15 years ago and was impressed. Although the original batteries have lost almost all their capacity I still use it when no other tool is handy. I bought its replacement 4 years ago, an inexpensive drill with lithium ion batteries and it has served me well on several large projects, though the chuck had sloppy bearings and the transmission has locked up, requiring a full strip down to clean up bits of pot metal that had broken loose.
          This Milwaukee drill has a totally different feel. All the controls are crisp and precise, the key-less chuck has no slop and holds drill bits firmly. It does require Read More
          I was dubious about 'battery' operated tools but bought my first, a NiCad 3/8" drill over 15 years ago and was impressed. Although the original batteries have lost almost all their capacity I still use it when no other tool is handy. I bought its replacement 4 years ago, an inexpensive drill with lithium ion batteries and it has served me well on several large projects, though the chuck had sloppy bearings and the transmission has locked up, requiring a full strip down to clean up bits of pot metal that had broken loose.
          This Milwaukee drill has a totally different feel. All the controls are crisp and precise, the key-less chuck has no slop and holds drill bits firmly. It does require more turns to go from maximum to minimum bit size than other drills that I have used. But that means that the bit can be gripped more tightly. Also you can use the drill motor to quickly spin the chuck for opening and closing.
          I have a 1/2 inch corded drill with a conventional short side handle. When drilling larger holes in steel and the bit jams the jarring shock is transferred to my wrist quite painfully. This drill comes with a long side handle to greatly reduce this problem. At first I thought it would be flimsy because it is so light weight and thin, but in practice it is more than strong enough. The vise like attachment is another good design feature. The usual threaded side handle would likely crack the case over time.
          One nice little design feature is for the built in light. My other drill has a light that comes on when you press the trigger lightly enough that the drill does not turn. But Milwaukee went one step better- the light stays on for about 10 seconds after you release the trigger.
          As if the design and production quality is not enough, this drill is WiFi enabled. I downloaded the IOS app and am able to set up various profiles that are stored in the drill. For example I have programmed the drill to have a maximum speed of 150 rpm when I select this mode. Unlike some programmable security lights and cameras which have appalling software, the software for this drill is thoroughly professional and is easy to use.
          The only downside to this drill is that it is heavy for its size. Part of that is due to the huge capacity 5 amp-hour battery, but even the drill itself is no light weight. I'm prepared to accept this because I am sure that every ounce is being used to make this the most durable drill that I have ever owned. Read Less
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, Powerful, quality construction, programmable
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Planting Auger makes planting bulbs and annuals quick easy from an upright position. Let your power drill do the digging. Digs precise planting holes.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great auger and good for mixing too
          PostedApril 12, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Each year I plant a dozen or more trees from cuttings and digging holes with a post hole digger is hard work. The soil here is a mix of clay and sand and is initially almost as hard as concrete, but then breaks down to dry sand that is difficult do get out of the hole.
          The auger, when attached to a cordless drill has no trouble cutting into the soil very quickly, but has the same problem as the post hole digger with dry sand staying in the hole. With a little water added the wet sand is easily thrown clear. The auger makes an 8 inch hole in just a few seconds.I have used it with both 3/8 and 1/2 inch drills though the bigger drill works more quickly with its extra power.
          After seeing Read More
          Each year I plant a dozen or more trees from cuttings and digging holes with a post hole digger is hard work. The soil here is a mix of clay and sand and is initially almost as hard as concrete, but then breaks down to dry sand that is difficult do get out of the hole.
          The auger, when attached to a cordless drill has no trouble cutting into the soil very quickly, but has the same problem as the post hole digger with dry sand staying in the hole. With a little water added the wet sand is easily thrown clear. The auger makes an 8 inch hole in just a few seconds.I have used it with both 3/8 and 1/2 inch drills though the bigger drill works more quickly with its extra power.
          After seeing how the auger works on dry soil I realized I could use it to mix powders. The soil here has almost no humus, so I always have to add home produced compost for plants to thrive. For large batches I use my cement mixer, but if I only need 50 lbs it is much more convenient to use the auger to mix in the compost. Read Less
          Pros: Multi Use, fast cutting, good for mixing
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The most advanced squeegee from Unger, this 18 in. swivel squeegee features a unique handle that pivots 180° or locks in place at the touch of a button. Designed to clean arched and bay windows with ease. Constructed of durable stainless steel, includes a professional quality rubber blade for streak-free results. The ergonomic grip allows for comfort and control. As part of Unger’s patented Connect & Clean System, this squeegee attaches to a telescopic pole (not included) for hard-to-reach window cleaning without a ladder.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Squeegee with a new twist
          PostedApril 10, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is a sturdy and well made squeegee with the possibility of attaching it to a pole for longer reach. The wiper blade supple and after a months use shows no sign of hardening even though I have left it outside in the high desert sun a few times. Not a drop of water escapes the blade.
          This squeegee has a unique feature. By pressing a button the blade can be freed to swivel, which is great for getting to awkward to reach spots without risking a sprained wrist. One feature I would have liked to have is the ability to lock at more than just the 90 degree position- then it would have been perfect.
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, Sturdy, Nice Design
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This foldable shelf from Pop It provides handy storage space for any kind of garage, warehouse or office. The 4-tier foldable shelf is made of steel with a powder-coated finish for extra durability. It opens and folds in seconds and folds flat for easy storage. Each shelf holds up to 175 lbs., and the unit holds up to 700 lbs. total.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          Clever origami like shelving unfolds in seconds
          PostedMarch 30, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          A DIY bedroom remodel we finished last year involved removing and replacing walls, plumbing and wiring. Using 3D modeling software we came up with a design that optimized space, but ended up with a closet 20 ft long and only 3'2" wide! We allowed space for shelves at the far end from the door and I had planned on building custom shelves in place. No normal 3 foot shelving could be rotated in place.
          This unit could, because when folded it was only a few inches deep. In fact it was not at all easy to see how to 'assemble' it, the instructions were no help! The first step is to install the feet- there is only one way to do that, and then you know which way is down. Position the unit at right Read More
          A DIY bedroom remodel we finished last year involved removing and replacing walls, plumbing and wiring. Using 3D modeling software we came up with a design that optimized space, but ended up with a closet 20 ft long and only 3'2" wide! We allowed space for shelves at the far end from the door and I had planned on building custom shelves in place. No normal 3 foot shelving could be rotated in place.
          This unit could, because when folded it was only a few inches deep. In fact it was not at all easy to see how to 'assemble' it, the instructions were no help! The first step is to install the feet- there is only one way to do that, and then you know which way is down. Position the unit at right angles to the wall, making sure the back of the shelving is against the wall and open it up like a concertina.
          Once open, the unit is amazingly sturdy, more than strong enough for everything my wife has already stored in it. Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Assemble, Functional, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Well Made
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          PureBond Plywood Project Panels are a convenient and cost-effective way to build cabinets, furniture and other woodworking projects. It provides a beautiful wood veneer face bonded to a strong and flat wood core. These PureBond Project Panels are made with no added formaldehyde, eliminating the concern about off-gassing dangerous fumes during fabrication or when installed in your home. Their smaller size makes them easy to handle and allows you to order just the amount of wood you need. PureBond plywood, in Project Panels sizes or in full sheet sizes, are a Home Depot exclusive.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Convenient quality plywood
          PostedMarch 30, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This plywood is a good trade-off between price and quality. I have used better plywood, but not in this price range. The size is also convenient, it fits in my small car without needing to bring the trailer, which is a major factor for me living 90 miles from the nearest Home Depot store.
          Judging by the edges, before and after cutting, the plywood is almost completely void free. The surface veneer is free of defects and takes on a fine finish.
          Pros: High Quality of Material, Seals Well
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 28 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          The New Defiant LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. This LED motion light provides seamless light coverage for increased safety, security and peace of mind. Never change a bulb with this new LED technology. Install quickly and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature beautifies, protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected. Energy Star certified.
           

          Detection range vs light range

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Phoenix, AZ
          April 28, 2016
          It says that this unit has a 70 ft detection range. Does this unit actually detect motion 70 ft away or is it that the light range goes out 70 feet?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          April 30, 2016
          Answer: 
          It uses infrared, so it picks up moving areas with different temperatures, so the detection range varies according to ambient temperatures, what you are wearing and what direction you are moving. For me it usually turns on between 50 and 70 feet, sometimes I will wave to trigger it. One of my cats manages to trigger it even though he is covered in insulating fur.
           
          The New Defiant LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. This LED motion light provides seamless light coverage for increased safety, security and peace of mind. Never change a bulb with this new LED technology. Install quickly and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature beautifies, protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected. Energy Star certified.
           

          Dusk to Dawn feature

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Phoenix, AZ
          April 28, 2016
          Understanding that this unit has a Dawn to Dusk feature, does it go on automatically on a nightly basis or does it have to be turned on manually on a daily basis?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          April 30, 2016
          Answer: 
          It is automatic
           
          HART continues to add to its professional and innovative clamp line-up by introducing the 6in. C-Clamp with Quicktight Technology. Quicktight Technology is a new innovative design that allows the user to secure and unsecure the clamp up to 10X faster than standard c-clamps. Easily adjust clamp opening by simply depressing the release leaver. In addition to QuickTight Technology, HART continues to add quality and innovation with a forged construction for superior strength and an adjustable handle for the most extreme clamping needs. In addition to these great Signature Features, you’ll know HART has your back with its Limited Lifetime Warranty. HART - Nothing Works Harder.
           

          What is the total weight of the clamp?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          April 26, 2016
          I don't want something too heavy since it's a larger clamp.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          April 27, 2016
          Answer: 
          Three an a half pounds. Yesterday I used my clamp to push the nails of an outlet box into a 2x6 when there wasn't enough space to use a hammer.
           
          This foldable shelf from Pop It provides handy storage space for any kind of garage, warehouse or office. The 4-tier foldable shelf is made of steel with a powder-coated finish for extra durability. It opens and folds in seconds and folds flat for easy storage. Each shelf holds up to 175 lbs., and the unit holds up to 700 lbs. total.
           

          Can the feet be replaced with casters?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Louisville, KY
          February 17, 2016
          I need to be able to roll the shelving unit around some and was wondering if the feet could be replaced with casters.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          March 30, 2016
          Answer: 
          The feet that come with the unit are threaded onto the bottom of the unit, and I doubt you could find casters with a threaded shank that would fit. You could cut a plywood base to size (about 3' by 2') and attach regular casters to that and then bolt the shelving to the plywood using the threaded holes for the original feet.
           
          The HDX 12 ft. Ratchet tie-downs (4-pack) are ideal for securing heavy loads with break strength of 1320 lb. for effective use. The tie-downs are weather resistant and UV- protected for durability.
           

          How do I get these out of the package?! I can get the top part out (fabric strap) but not the hooks!

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          October 28, 2013
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          December 28, 2015
          Answer: 
          I had the same problem but use enough force and bend the plastic carrier and they will come free. I threw the packaging away
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 18 >>