EricG
  • Review count
    145
  • Helpfulness votes
    174
  • Average rating
    4.5
    4.5 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    May 10, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      89
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        145
      • Helpfulness votes
        174
      • Average rating
        4.5
        4.5 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        May 10, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          89
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          The Zmodo Replay comes with a 4-channel NVR, hard drive, 2 indoor and 2 outdoor 720p HD Wi-Fi cameras and the necessary power supplies. It's easy to install in your home or apartment and remote viewing is simple with the free mobile app. This system is perfect for monitoring your home, family, and property from anywhere in the world.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Easy to install security system
          PostedMay 10, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have set up security systems with standalone IP cameras that send their video through your router to a remote server, which can then notify your mobile device and let you watch the video. They are not easy to set up, and rely on the server being secure and stable.
          This system is a network video recorder (NVR) which has a 1 TB hard drive and acts as a complete computer, replacing the need for a server. It will store many days of video from the 4 cameras.
          To set the system up, you connect the NVR to a USB mouse, your router and an HDMI monitor- I 'borrowed' them from my computer. Next you place the four cameras where you wish and connect them to 'wall warts' and plug them into Read More
          I have set up security systems with standalone IP cameras that send their video through your router to a remote server, which can then notify your mobile device and let you watch the video. They are not easy to set up, and rely on the server being secure and stable.
          This system is a network video recorder (NVR) which has a 1 TB hard drive and acts as a complete computer, replacing the need for a server. It will store many days of video from the 4 cameras.
          To set the system up, you connect the NVR to a USB mouse, your router and an HDMI monitor- I 'borrowed' them from my computer. Next you place the four cameras where you wish and connect them to 'wall warts' and plug them into convenient outlets. Two of the cameras can go outside. Finally plug in the NVR. It will run a setup program, so just follow the on-screen instructions and in a few minutes your screen will show the views of the 4 cameras. The lengthiest part is deciding where to put the cameras and actually screwing them to the walls.
          If you use a dedicated mouse and monitor you will have a very professional looking security 'control room'. If you are worried about burglars you may wish to conceal your setup.
          I chose to return the monitor and mouse to my computer. The NVR will work happily just with a connection to power and to your router. It is very small and easy to hide.
          The cameras connect via WiFi, so they don't give away the position of the NVR.
          A free service is provided to route the signals from the cameras to your mobile device and notify you when motion is detected, wherever you are. Additional software is available which promises to provide more features. Because the data is stored on the NVR, there is no monthly service fee and no easy way for anyone to follow your activities.
          I wished I had discovered this system before worked with single cameras, it makes for a much more satisfactory surveillance system. Read Less
          Pros: Clear Instructions, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation, Easy to Use
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The R2 combines a high-quality HD digital video camera with a powerful built-in web server to provide live video anywhere. All it requires is an internet connection and viewing device such as a smartphone or desktop computer. The "Plug and Play" setup process is easy: simply scan the camera's QR sticker with your smartphone and it syncs with the camera automatically. The sleek, attractive casing used by this camera makes it ideal for surveillance applications such as offices, retail stores, stockrooms, lobbies, homes, apartments and more. This camera sports a 110° super wide angle lens, IR-LED night vision, and sophisticated passive infrared (PIR) motion detection with optional alerts. Video can be recorded for free to a micro SD card or hard drive. All purchases from Foscam come with our 1 Year US Warranty, making our full-featured, quality engineered R2 model one of the best values available for an IP camera.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice hardware, software not fully functional for me
          PostedMay 10, 2016
          Overall rating 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          My experience with several IP cameras is that the hardware is excellent but the documentation and software is often less so. With some effort I was able to get the image from this camera displaying on my computer screen. The image quality was excellent and the pan and tilt controls worked perfectly.
          The IOS app did not work at all for me on my iPad running version 9.3.1, nor on several earlier versions.
          The cloud service offered by Foscam required the installation of a driver for the camera. Even when installed on my WIndows 10 computer, and the computer rebooted, the web browser kept asking for the same driver to be installed.
          I am successfully using this camera as a local device, Read More
          My experience with several IP cameras is that the hardware is excellent but the documentation and software is often less so. With some effort I was able to get the image from this camera displaying on my computer screen. The image quality was excellent and the pan and tilt controls worked perfectly.
          The IOS app did not work at all for me on my iPad running version 9.3.1, nor on several earlier versions.
          The cloud service offered by Foscam required the installation of a driver for the camera. Even when installed on my WIndows 10 computer, and the computer rebooted, the web browser kept asking for the same driver to be installed.
          I am successfully using this camera as a local device, but I am disappointed that I cannot get the web based or mobile software to work. I see from other reviews in the past that others have succeeded, but based on my experience I cannot recommend this camera. Read Less
          Pros: Stylish
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Cuts deep holes quickly
          PostedMay 10, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          The trouble with many hole saws is that the do not eject the sawdust effectively, so the work slowly and just heat up, often singeing the wood. This one is different, it has large slots that eject sawdust quickly. Combined with sharp and well sized teeth this saw cuts quickly and almost effortlessly.
          It has no trouble cutting through a 2x4 from one side, although there is some splintering at the point of exit. For most uses this may not matter, but if it does then cut part way through from one side before completing the job from the other side, using the pilot drill hole for alignment.
          My only quibble with this product was the blister pack it came with, it was even tougher than usual. Read More
          The trouble with many hole saws is that the do not eject the sawdust effectively, so the work slowly and just heat up, often singeing the wood. This one is different, it has large slots that eject sawdust quickly. Combined with sharp and well sized teeth this saw cuts quickly and almost effortlessly.
          It has no trouble cutting through a 2x4 from one side, although there is some splintering at the point of exit. For most uses this may not matter, but if it does then cut part way through from one side before completing the job from the other side, using the pilot drill hole for alignment.
          My only quibble with this product was the blister pack it came with, it was even tougher than usual. I used a pair of metal cutting shears that quickly freed the saw. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, deep cutting
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Sun Joe Saw Joe SWJ802E pole chain saw takes the danger and difficulty out of trimming your overgrown trees. At only 7.9 lbs., the Saw Joe SWJ802E is super lightweight and easy to handle. Stand safely on solid ground and extend its telescoping pole to gain up to 15 ft. of overhead reach. Powered by a 6.5 Amp motor, the SWJ802E can handle the most stubborn tree limbs up to 7.5 in. thick. This pole chain saw features an 8 in. Oregon bar and chain with an auto-oiler to keep the bar and chain fully lubricated during use. Unique to SWJ802E is a multi-position adjustable head, which cuts from 0º to 30º angles. Unlike gas-powered tools, the Saw Joe pole saw is powered electrically, so you’ll reliably power up with the push of a button without having to deal with smoke, fumes, unpredictable starters or costly tune-ups. Plus, SWJ802E comes equipped with a built-in safety switch to prevent accidental starting.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Trim tall trees with your feet safely on the ground
          PostedMay 9, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of use 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          A Spring chore is trimming the mulberry tree outside our house (and other trees). I used to use a ladder and a hand saw. It was a tiring and dangerous job. Last year I clamped my chain saw to a 2x4 and was able to trim the tree standing on the ground. It was more tiring and much more dangerous.
          This year I used the Sun Joe saw. It was so light that it wasn't at all tiring and I had complete control and no fear of a running chainsaw falling on my head. The job was done in a fraction of the time.
          This saw is well engineered with a telescoping pole. The saw itself is small and light, yet the blade is long enough to cut any of the branches on my trees. The assembly instructions were clear Read More
          A Spring chore is trimming the mulberry tree outside our house (and other trees). I used to use a ladder and a hand saw. It was a tiring and dangerous job. Last year I clamped my chain saw to a 2x4 and was able to trim the tree standing on the ground. It was more tiring and much more dangerous.
          This year I used the Sun Joe saw. It was so light that it wasn't at all tiring and I had complete control and no fear of a running chainsaw falling on my head. The job was done in a fraction of the time.
          This saw is well engineered with a telescoping pole. The saw itself is small and light, yet the blade is long enough to cut any of the branches on my trees. The assembly instructions were clear and concise. You will need some chain oil, which I already had. The saw has a plastic sheath so you can cover the blade as you carry it around without endangering family members or pets. Read Less
          Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Light Weight, Powerful
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Rubbermaid's 45 Gal. Roughneck Wheeled Trash Can’s durable construction withstands intense sunlight and freezing temperatures. Plus bag vents make it easy to remove the trash bag. The hinged lid can open and stay at an 80° angle or swing back all the way against the can.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Attractive but prone to tipping
          PostedMay 9, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is a usefully sized attractive trash bin that replaces a galvanized steel bin that is at the end of its useful life.
          The RoughNeck is stylish in shiny black plastic with wheels for easy transport and a hinged lid that will not get lost. The lid has what looks like a tab to keep it closed, but the latch is not big enough, so it does nothing, and even light winds will flip up the lid. The light weight and slim tapered design of the bin means it has a small footprint, so it has already tipped over in the wind a few times. If I kept the bin in my shop this would not be a problem.
          Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 29 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          The BLACK & DECKER LST400 is ideal for trimming areas of overgrowth after mowing and edging along borders, sidewalks and flower beds. This trimmer features runtime extension technology with dual mode accelerator switch for high performance or longer run time. The adjustable height and pivoting handle positions provide maximum comfort and control.
           

          How many rechargeable battery does it cones with? I saw some other Black&Decker cordless trimmer that cones with 2.

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 5, 2016
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          May 6, 2016
          Answer: 
          Mine came with a single 4 amp-hour battery. That is enough capacity that I am exhausted well before the battery is.
           
          The Crescent 10 in. Locking Adjustable Wrench features an innovative design the give you the versatility of an adjustable wrench with the gripping power of a locking plier. This wrench can be used anywhere a stander adjustable wrench would be used while providing 2 times the grip on rounded fasteners. The wrench features a dual material comfort grip and a quick release handled.
           

          Where is this wrench made?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          April 18, 2016
          I prefer American made even if it does cost a bit more, it'll last longer! I was Made in USA!
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          May 4, 2016
          Answer: 
          It is made in China, but as far as quality goes that hardly matters. Chinese factories make things to order sometimes at the lowest price and at other times to strict specifications. This wrench falls in the latter category. The design, finish and accuracy are excellent. I can't speak for the strength of the steel, but it is plenty beefy enough that I can't see it breaking- not without a very long Read More
          It is made in China, but as far as quality goes that hardly matters. Chinese factories make things to order sometimes at the lowest price and at other times to strict specifications. This wrench falls in the latter category. The design, finish and accuracy are excellent. I can't speak for the strength of the steel, but it is plenty beefy enough that I can't see it breaking- not without a very long cheater bar! Read Less
           
          The BLACK & DECKER LST400 is ideal for trimming areas of overgrowth after mowing and edging along borders, sidewalks and flower beds. This trimmer features runtime extension technology with dual mode accelerator switch for high performance or longer run time. The adjustable height and pivoting handle positions provide maximum comfort and control.
           

          Does this trimmer work with LBX20 20-Volt MAX lithium-ion battery?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 1, 2016
          LBX20 20-Volt MAX lithium-ion battery comes with my 20-Volt MAX Lithium-Ion 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          May 3, 2016
          Answer: 
          I have the BD 3/8 drill which came with a 2AH battery, later I got the trimmer with a 4AH battery. I use the batteries interchangeably on the two tools. For long jobs I use the higher capacity battery, and use the smaller one for short jobs to reduce the weight I must carry. To ensure compatibility, I compared the two chargers- they were identical, so I knew I was safe to mix and match.
           
          The New Defiant LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. This LED motion light provides seamless light coverage for increased safety, security and peace of mind. Never change a bulb with this new LED technology. Install quickly and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature beautifies, protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected. Energy Star certified.
           

          Detection range vs light range

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Phoenix, AZ
          April 28, 2016
          It says that this unit has a 70 ft detection range. Does this unit actually detect motion 70 ft away or is it that the light range goes out 70 feet?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          April 30, 2016
          Answer: 
          It uses infrared, so it picks up moving areas with different temperatures, so the detection range varies according to ambient temperatures, what you are wearing and what direction you are moving. For me it usually turns on between 50 and 70 feet, sometimes I will wave to trigger it. One of my cats manages to trigger it even though he is covered in insulating fur.
           
          The New Defiant LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. This LED motion light provides seamless light coverage for increased safety, security and peace of mind. Never change a bulb with this new LED technology. Install quickly and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature beautifies, protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected. Energy Star certified.
           

          Dusk to Dawn feature

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Phoenix, AZ
          April 28, 2016
          Understanding that this unit has a Dawn to Dusk feature, does it go on automatically on a nightly basis or does it have to be turned on manually on a daily basis?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          April 30, 2016
          Answer: 
          It is automatic
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 18 >>