EricG
  • Review count
    199
  • Helpfulness votes
    231
  • Average rating
    4.5
    4.5 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    February 8, 2017
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      162
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        199
      • Helpfulness votes
        231
      • Average rating
        4.5
        4.5 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        February 8, 2017
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          162
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Excellent ladder
          PostedFebruary 8, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This fine ladder replaces an elderly all aluminum extension and is better in every way.
          Each section of the ladder is just over12 ft long and at maximum extension the total length is 21'4".
          Extending the ladder is easy with the built in rope and pulley system. Unlike other ladders that I have used, the rope is concealed in one side rail rather than hanging in the middle of the ladder. In addition, the rope is looped so no excess accumulates on the ground, so there is no chance of tripping on the rope.
          Another nice safety feature that I have not seen before is in the ladder feet. In addition to having rotating non-slip feet, they can be rotated 90 degrees to reveal spikes that sink Read More
          This fine ladder replaces an elderly all aluminum extension and is better in every way.
          Each section of the ladder is just over12 ft long and at maximum extension the total length is 21'4".
          Extending the ladder is easy with the built in rope and pulley system. Unlike other ladders that I have used, the rope is concealed in one side rail rather than hanging in the middle of the ladder. In addition, the rope is looped so no excess accumulates on the ground, so there is no chance of tripping on the rope.
          Another nice safety feature that I have not seen before is in the ladder feet. In addition to having rotating non-slip feet, they can be rotated 90 degrees to reveal spikes that sink into the ground provided extra grip when not used on concrete or pavement.
          The ladder is no lightweight, and for me at least was awkward and tiresome to carry long distances. However by securing a handtruck to one end with a bungy cord the ladder could easily moved by one person.
          The sturdy GRP rails and aluminum alloy rungs make the ladder much more resistant to twisting than other ladders that I have used, adding to the sense of security I feel when high above the ground. Read Less
          Pros: Nice Design, Sturdy
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Protect your 5-6 bedroom home or industrial location with an HD surveillance camera system from Q-SEE, including a 16-Channel HD DVR, 12 1,080p cameras, and a pre-installed 2TB Purple Surveillance Storage drive from Western Digital. View cameras and recordings anytime right from your smartphone, tablet, or computer with Q-SEE's remote connection feature and always know your property is safe. These HD cameras are weather-resistant and perfect for indoor or outdoor use, and the metal housing and 3-axis mount protect against tampering and vandalism. Built-in LED's allow you to see up to 100 ft. in complete darkness, delivering protection and peace of mind day or night.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Serious surveillance system with easy installation but poor customer support and software
          PostedFebruary 7, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This kit provides all the parts needed to set up an extensive surveillance system. 12 cameras, a DVR, computer mouse, power supplies and wiring. All seemed to be well engineered and designed.
          The instructional material included a sheet that seemed to apply to a different product, instructions to register for support and a link to a website to get information. I dutifully registered and explored the poorly designed website that had downloads for many different systems but was unable to find anything for this system.
          However looking at the parts it was obvious how they should be connected, there was no room for error. I connected up two cameras and hooked the DVR to a computer monitor Read More
          This kit provides all the parts needed to set up an extensive surveillance system. 12 cameras, a DVR, computer mouse, power supplies and wiring. All seemed to be well engineered and designed.
          The instructional material included a sheet that seemed to apply to a different product, instructions to register for support and a link to a website to get information. I dutifully registered and explored the poorly designed website that had downloads for many different systems but was unable to find anything for this system.
          However looking at the parts it was obvious how they should be connected, there was no room for error. I connected up two cameras and hooked the DVR to a computer monitor (not included) and plugged the mouse into the DVR and connected the DVR to my router and applied power. The monitor immediately showed the views from the cameras and displayed a dialog to set up the time and a new user name and password. The problem was that before I could do anything I had to sign in. The default username was ADMIN, but I still needed an initial password. It was not written on the unit, as it often is for routers. I tried 'password' as the password- it was rejected. The website did not have the information.
          I contacted customer support via live chat and was put on a waiting list and given a reasonable time estimate and watched myself move up the queue. An hour later, it was my turn, but instead of getting the answer I was informed that my query had been cancelled. I tried again with the same result.
          Web searching quickly revealed that the default password was 123456, maybe I should have guessed that. Then I was able to proceed, setup the device and download an app for my phone. To be fair to the company, I subsequently found that the password was on the sheet that I had for another product.
          Controlling the system with a mouse worked flawlessly, the image quality is good, though the user interface is awkward.
          The phone app was well designed, making it much easier to zoom in on a past event, except that there seems to be no explanation on how to do it- you have to figure it out for yourself. There are some problems. The phone view always lagged by at least a minute and frequently froze for long periods. So the 'remote viewing' feature is largely useless. I can guess why it didn't work for me. Living in a rural area, we have an upload speed of 500 kbs and a download speed 10 times faster. In a city where both speeds could be much faster, others may have satisfactory results.
          However I know that with better software design this system should work much better, as I have a another surveillance camera with built in memory that is able to produce usable remote imaging by adapting the image quality and frame rate to accommodate lower bandwidth connections.
          Despite poor customer service, documentation and software, this system will be a useful addition to my home surveillance system and with improved software and support it will be a first class product. Read Less
          Pros: Easy Installation, Nice Design
          Cons: poor software, poor customer support
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Blazer C7423 LED Submersible Trailer Light Kit is designed to meet DOT requirements for trailers under 80 in. wide. This kit is not only ideal for boat trailers, but for any utility, camping, snowmobile, and motorcycle trailer where LED lights are desired. The life of an LED trailer light far exceeds traditional incandescent trailer lights. Lenses are sonically sealed to provide protection from moisture and corrosion. Additionally, all electronics are potted with water resistant resin for a second layer of defense. The stop/tail/turn lights feature universal back & side mount options. These stop/tail/turn lights are individually replaceable with Blazer model numbers C7483RTM and C7493RTM. Kit includes 2 stop/tail/turn lights, a 20 ft. wire harness, license plate bracket, mounting hardware, and trilingual instructions everything needed for easy installation and DOT compliance.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nicely engineered trailer light kit
          PostedFebruary 7, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          The lights on my kit built trailer were always a problem. Vibration due to the very stiff trailer springs caused frequent bulb failures, Water sprayed up from the road entered the lights and caused corrosion related problems. I always took a multimeter, wire, cutters and spare bulbs for emergency repairs.
          I anticipate this kit will eliminate my problems. The light units are completely sealed and the LEDs should outlast the trailer. Vibration should not be an issue since the actual LEDs are presumably directly soldered to a circuit board.
          The kit comes with clear instructions and all the hardware parts needed. You will need an electric drill and a bit if you need to make a hole for the Read More
          The lights on my kit built trailer were always a problem. Vibration due to the very stiff trailer springs caused frequent bulb failures, Water sprayed up from the road entered the lights and caused corrosion related problems. I always took a multimeter, wire, cutters and spare bulbs for emergency repairs.
          I anticipate this kit will eliminate my problems. The light units are completely sealed and the LEDs should outlast the trailer. Vibration should not be an issue since the actual LEDs are presumably directly soldered to a circuit board.
          The kit comes with clear instructions and all the hardware parts needed. You will need an electric drill and a bit if you need to make a hole for the self tapping grounding screw.
          The plastic license plate holder had holes that matched the brackets that came with the trailer so installation was a breeze.
          LED side lights are not included, but there were splices so that the harness could be connected to the existing bulb type lights. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, long life expectancy, Clear Instructions
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          EMAX is the brand tradesman and industrial users look for to achieve professional results. EMAX Tools and Equipment deliver overwhelming performance to ensure that they meet the needs of the most demanding environments. The EMAX line of Air Tools requires less maintenance, service and downtime than any other in the Air Industry. All EMAX Air Tools offer a Limited lifetime warranty as they are designed with exacting tolerance and specifications to deliver all the power that is needed at the Jobsite, Garage or Shop for extreme performance all day and every day.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Powerful impact wrench lives up to its specs
          PostedFebruary 1, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is my second impact wrench and while the old one was handy for light work it fell short of its specifications. This tool has no such problem.
          This wrench had no fancy packaging. It came with no instruction, only a parts list. Fortunately the parts list answered the only question I had: how to adjust the torque and direction. The adjustment was made by a small knob on the base of the handle.
          I was glad to see that the tool gripped my sockets firmly, yet also released them easily as well. My first test at maximum torque resisted my torque wrench at maximum setting of 100 ft/lbs. I could well believe it lives up to the specifications of 560 ft/lbs. Unfortunately with the wrench in Read More
          This is my second impact wrench and while the old one was handy for light work it fell short of its specifications. This tool has no such problem.
          This wrench had no fancy packaging. It came with no instruction, only a parts list. Fortunately the parts list answered the only question I had: how to adjust the torque and direction. The adjustment was made by a small knob on the base of the handle.
          I was glad to see that the tool gripped my sockets firmly, yet also released them easily as well. My first test at maximum torque resisted my torque wrench at maximum setting of 100 ft/lbs. I could well believe it lives up to the specifications of 560 ft/lbs. Unfortunately with the wrench in reverse it also could not undo its own work! It took two long cheater bars to get the nut free. In future I will use the next to highest setting. Read Less
          Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight, Sturdy, very powerful
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Bosch Starlock oscillating multi-tool accessories deliver a 3-dimensional fit designed to provide a completely integrated system between multi-tool and accessory. This is a new dimension in torque for oscillating multi-tools. By using a 3-dimensional shape instead of a flat interface, Starlock provides the highest-torque transfer, reduced vibration, and the ability for higher performance applications. These accessories continue to be OIS compatible and fit existing tools, as well as the next generation of high-performance Starlock tools. Bosch multi-tool accessories are Swiss made for precision accuracy and long life in the most demanding professional applications. Bosch has a heritage of innovation including the SDS-plus and SDS-max shank systems for concrete hammers and the T-Shank professional blade standard interface for jig saws. The Starlock interface is the new professional standard in oscillating multi-tool systems.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Makes precise plunge cuts
          PostedFebruary 1, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is my second multi-tool plunge blade, the first one was half the width of this blade. The smaller blade is easier to use and plunges faster, but for long cuts this blade gets the job done more quickly.
          I used it to cut a large hole in my living room wall for the exhaust thimble for a wood stove I was installing. It did the job easily and quickly and with much less mess than if I had used a saber saw. I was almost sorry that the thimble flange covered my work!
          The photo shows a test cut I made in 3/4 inch OSB. The plunge time is about 30 seconds in this tough material and the cut line is very thin, smooth and straight.
          Pros: Accurate, Easy to Use
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 40 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          This RIDGID 10 in. Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 Amp motor for speeds up to 3450 RPM. The cast iron table's milled and polished surface minimizes vibration and provides a flat, level surface for trouble-free cutting. There is a blade guard for safety. Customize your table by adding an extension or auxiliary tables for routers or other specialty tools.
           

          is the table on castors for mobility?

          Asked by
          Jim
          February 20, 2017
          is the table on castors for mobility?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 20, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes, my table saw has a foot pedal that extends the castors. Then the saw can be easily moved on any fairly smooth surface
           
          You and your guests know good taste is about more than big flavors. Thanks to LG's sleek Slide-In Range with ProBake Convection, you won't just entertain—you'll wow. The generous 6.3 cu. ft. capacity oven handles that impressive roast and all the accompaniments, while ProBake Convection makes it easy to achieve baking perfection. And with a depth that lines up with standard kitchen countertops, the LG slide-in electric range offers a streamlined, custom appearance that enhances the look of every kitchen and makes cooking a pleasure.
           

          Does this have a easy clean "specked " smooth surface cooktop

          Asked by
          Joy
          October 30, 2016
          Specked easier to clean -
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 10, 2017
          Answer: 
          I hope this picture answers your question. The reflection of my finger is only slightly blurred which means that the surface is almost mirror smooth. The regular pattern that you see is inside the glass and is not etched on the surface.
          It cleans easily. I use a razor blade to remove thick or stubborn spots and cooktop cleaner for the rest. After 6 months of this there are no scratches on the surface- Read More
          I hope this picture answers your question. The reflection of my finger is only slightly blurred which means that the surface is almost mirror smooth. The regular pattern that you see is inside the glass and is not etched on the surface.
          It cleans easily. I use a razor blade to remove thick or stubborn spots and cooktop cleaner for the rest. After 6 months of this there are no scratches on the surface- it is as good as new. Read Less
          User submitted photo
           
          You and your guests know good taste is about more than big flavors. Thanks to LG's sleek Slide-In Range with ProBake Convection, you won't just entertain—you'll wow. The generous 6.3 cu. ft. capacity oven handles that impressive roast and all the accompaniments, while ProBake Convection makes it easy to achieve baking perfection. And with a depth that lines up with standard kitchen countertops, the LG slide-in electric range offers a streamlined, custom appearance that enhances the look of every kitchen and makes cooking a pleasure.
           

          Is the bottom drawer just for storage or does it serve as a warming drawer as well?

          Asked by
          antsybunch
          February 10, 2017
          Is the bottom drawer just for storage or does it serve as a warming drawer as well?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 10, 2017
          Answer: 
          It is just for storage
           
          Protect your 5-6 bedroom home or industrial location with an HD surveillance camera system from Q-SEE, including a 16-Channel HD DVR, 12 1,080p cameras, and a pre-installed 2TB Purple Surveillance Storage drive from Western Digital. View cameras and recordings anytime right from your smartphone, tablet, or computer with Q-SEE's remote connection feature and always know your property is safe. These HD cameras are weather-resistant and perfect for indoor or outdoor use, and the metal housing and 3-axis mount protect against tampering and vandalism. Built-in LED's allow you to see up to 100 ft. in complete darkness, delivering protection and peace of mind day or night.
           

          This setup comes with 12 cameras, can 4 additional cameras be added to the dvr as picture shows? ...

          Asked by
          Elliot
          February 5, 2017
          This setup comes with 12 cameras, can 4 additional cameras be added to the dvr as picture shows? ( QTH163-12DJ-2 Kit)
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 7, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes, it should work, there are 4 spare connectors
           
          Protect your 5-6 bedroom home or industrial location with an HD surveillance camera system from Q-SEE, including a 16-Channel HD DVR, 12 1,080p cameras, and a pre-installed 2TB Purple Surveillance Storage drive from Western Digital. View cameras and recordings anytime right from your smartphone, tablet, or computer with Q-SEE's remote connection feature and always know your property is safe. These HD cameras are weather-resistant and perfect for indoor or outdoor use, and the metal housing and 3-axis mount protect against tampering and vandalism. Built-in LED's allow you to see up to 100 ft. in complete darkness, delivering protection and peace of mind day or night.
           

          How many LED's are on each camera? (QTH163-12DJ-2 Kit)

          Asked by
          Elliot
          February 5, 2017
          How many LED's are on each camera? (QTH163-12DJ-2 Kit)
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          February 7, 2017
          Answer: 
          About 32
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 33 >>