EricG
  • Review count
    151
  • Helpfulness votes
    182
  • Average rating
    4.5
    4.5 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    June 19, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      98
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        151
      • Helpfulness votes
        182
      • Average rating
        4.5
        4.5 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        June 19, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          98
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          The AirShim is Contractor-Grade inflatable air wedge for window, door and cabinet installations replaces damaging pry bars and wooden shims. It allows a single installer to position and hold items in place, saving jobsite time and reducing labor costs by providing a much-needed extra hand in installations. It’s perfect for window and door installers, interior construction professionals, installers of appliances and small equipment, other skilled craftsmen and serious DIYs.Versatile – can be used in the shop, on the jobsite, in the home, or anywhere you need to lift and align objects. The more you use AirShim the more uses you will find - appliances, beams, cabinets, doors, equipment, furniture, HVAC, plumbing, joists, countertops, mantels, bathroom fixtures, curtain walls, flanges, windows, and more.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Clever concept will get lots of use
          PostedJune 19, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          My pry bars and shims get lots of use on most of the projects around the house. Because I almost always work alone I have had to contrive 3rd 'hands' to help me out. This helper is going to get a lot of use.
          It consists of a tough rubber bag with an inflation bulb and a release valve. Before inflation it is less than 1/8 of an inch thick yet it expands to 2 1/2 inches and can lift 300 lbs.
          The day after getting this tool I was struggling to install a new washing machine that weighed over 200 lbs. The non-slip feet on the machine resisted my attempts to slide it into place and my wife suggested I use furniture glides to reduce friction but that meant lifting the machine to slip them Read More
          My pry bars and shims get lots of use on most of the projects around the house. Because I almost always work alone I have had to contrive 3rd 'hands' to help me out. This helper is going to get a lot of use.
          It consists of a tough rubber bag with an inflation bulb and a release valve. Before inflation it is less than 1/8 of an inch thick yet it expands to 2 1/2 inches and can lift 300 lbs.
          The day after getting this tool I was struggling to install a new washing machine that weighed over 200 lbs. The non-slip feet on the machine resisted my attempts to slide it into place and my wife suggested I use furniture glides to reduce friction but that meant lifting the machine to slip them into place. Normally I would have use a pry bar with one hand to lift the machine while slipping the slides in place with my other hand. Besides risking crushing my fingers I also could have chipped the tile floor or dented the new washing machine. The AirShim easily solved this problem by lifting and holding the machine while I positioned the glides. The Airshim was then used to level the machine and hold it while I adjusted the feet by hand.
          The release valve lets air escape slowly so I can see lots of uses leveling other heavy objects like doors and windows. This tool will see a lot of use, improve the quality of my work and reduce the chances of injury. Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, Durable, Easy to Use, Light Weight, Strong
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          San Marzano boasts a slightly sweet taste when cooked; giving sauces and paste a creamy thickness, which is a feature of traditional Italian cooking and favored by gourmet chefs everywhere. Start your garden with plants for huge time savings compared to seed starting, seed thinning, etc. Your plants arrive healthy and ready for your garden. We include planting instructions along with a care tag to ensure planting your San Marzano Tomato is everything you expected and more. We suggest that for optimal performance you use Proven Winners fertilizers on all of your plants and irrigate with the Proven Winners WaterWise kit.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Plant needed nursing but is doing well
          PostedJune 9, 2016
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          The plant was well packed in a box that provided good shock protection but had no supply of water. The root ball was large and well developed. Most of the leaves had wilted and after watering showed no sign of transpiration. After removing all but one leaf, the flaccid stem became turgid and new leaves started to grow. Now the plant is growing well and looks likely to produce a good crop of tomatoes, albeit later than I hoped.
          Cons: poor condition
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Motorola FOCUS73 is a remote Wi-Fi outdoor camera that turns any compatible internet enabled device into a fully functional video monitor. Download the free Hubble App and enjoy remote HD (720p) video streaming on compatible smartphones, tablets, and computers. Free motion notifications offer a sense of security around your home, and the remote pan, tilt, and zoom helps you focus in on a specific part of your property. The infrared night vision and wind/rain resistance allow you to monitor your home night and day, rain and shine - from wherever you are.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good hardware- poor software limits usefulness
          PostedJune 7, 2016
          Overall rating 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Value 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          The camera that comes with this kit is branded Motorola and it looks top notch- much more substantial and professional than any of the other dozen or so security cameras that I have used myself or helped friends with.
          Installation was a breeze except for one problem. The kit comes with a mounting bracket, security screw and special tool. Either the screw was too short or the bracket was malformed. I used a Phillips screw instead. The grocery store 10 miles down the road used a security screw for their camera and thieves used a sledgehammer to remove the camera.
          One nice touch was the cabling. There was a disconnect between the data cable and the AC adapter so you could pass the cable Read More
          The camera that comes with this kit is branded Motorola and it looks top notch- much more substantial and professional than any of the other dozen or so security cameras that I have used myself or helped friends with.
          Installation was a breeze except for one problem. The kit comes with a mounting bracket, security screw and special tool. Either the screw was too short or the bracket was malformed. I used a Phillips screw instead. The grocery store 10 miles down the road used a security screw for their camera and thieves used a sledgehammer to remove the camera.
          One nice touch was the cabling. There was a disconnect between the data cable and the AC adapter so you could pass the cable through a small hole in the wall.
          Software installation was almost straightforward too. I downloaded the IOS software for my iPad (remembering to search for the iPhone version). It asked if I wanted to update the firmware, which I did. Then it got stuck in a loop of numerical error messages with no way out. That is a sure sign that the product was never beta tested. That is to say it was never tested by someone unfamiliar with the product. That is an essential step for any software product, though many companies still do not do it.
          I solved the problem by the familiar method of unplugging everything and starting over. It worked.
          In local mode (the mobile device is on the same WiFi system as the camera) everything works fine, you can see what the camera sees. The resolution was stated as 720p which looked quite good on an iPad and would be excellent on a phone. There were artifacts when objects in view moved quickly, which suggests that only a rudimentary compression scheme was used, but the picture quality was fine for security purposes- though probably not for showing a birthday party to grandma.
          The system is designed to stream to the cloud through a relatively expensive service but there was a free trial. I also discovered that there was also a PC interface via a web link that provided some free features.
          The next day I was out of the house and my iPad received almost a thousand motion detected alerts. All of them were false alarms, and the one real 'intrusion' (a UPS delivery) was not captured. It took a couple of hours to check them all.
          It turns out that the IOS software assumes that the device will be used in portrait mode, not landscape, but no warning is issued and important controls are hidden. Beta testing would have prevented that. I was also able to reduce the motion detection notifications from thousands per day to only hundreds.
          I tested the system the next day by opening the front door, mugging the camera for a while and then going indoors. When I played it back I found there was almost a one minute delay between motion being detected and recording starting. All I saw was my back as I returned inside. Somebody quickly breaking into the house would avoid detection.
          In some ways this is a very elegant system and it almost works. I can use it from within the house to identify who is outside with almost no lag. But as a full fledged security system it does not work for me. Read Less
          Pros: well made camera
          Cons: poor software
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          1out of 2found this review helpful.
           
          Viagrow Submersible Water Pumps are an excellent choice for use in aquariums, hydroponic gardening, aquaponics, statuary and pond installations, and more. Well-constructed and extremely durable. These pumps come with a 1 year satisfaction guarantee.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Quiet and powerful
          PostedJune 7, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          My current property came with a 'pond'- actually a stock tank with thriving water lilies and goldfish. The water was aerated and circulated by a small solar powered pump. It clogged quickly and was difficult to clean. Eventually it failed and was replaced by a 100 gph electric pump very similar to this product. This time it was the stock tank that failed- it leaked and drained overnight. We miss the pond and are building a much larger in-ground one.
          We tested this pump in our pool (without people in it), and it is powerful enough to aerate our new pond as well as a supply an integral fountain. It is almost silent and is easy to clean. Our next generation of goldfish will love it!
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, silent
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          For the most demanding watering needs, use the WaterWorks 5/8 in. x 50 ft. FlexRITE water hose. Its tough scuff resistant jacket, super duty crush resistant couplings and patented hose armor make it perfect for the most demanding home owner or contractor. The high burst strength will assure years of high performance and a limited lifetime warranty will give you confidence this hose is going to last.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Durable hose
          PostedJune 7, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          There is a huge difference between 'cheap' hoses and quality hoses like this one. I have another FlexRIte hose that is a year or more old and has survived being stretched across our driveway and run over by cars and trucks several times a day yet shows no sign of the abuse. Another inferior brand hose failed within a month at this location.
          After a few months heavy use this hose looks as good as new.
          This hose is very difficult to kink, and if it ever is kinked it springs right back when it is straightened. This hose has very large and heavy duty fittings at each end making it easy to connect by hand.
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 31 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          The Motorola FOCUS73 is a remote Wi-Fi outdoor camera that turns any compatible internet enabled device into a fully functional video monitor. Download the free Hubble App and enjoy remote HD (720p) video streaming on compatible smartphones, tablets, and computers. Free motion notifications offer a sense of security around your home, and the remote pan, tilt, and zoom helps you focus in on a specific part of your property. The infrared night vision and wind/rain resistance allow you to monitor your home night and day, rain and shine - from wherever you are.
           

          Camera Power?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          FL
          June 21, 2016
          What powers the camera, batteries, DC or AC?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          June 26, 2016
          Answer: 
          It comes with an AC adapter (wall wart)
           
          The BLACK & DECKER LST400 is ideal for trimming areas of overgrowth after mowing and edging along borders, sidewalks and flower beds. This trimmer features runtime extension technology with dual mode accelerator switch for high performance or longer run time. The adjustable height and pivoting handle positions provide maximum comfort and control.
           

          What is the total length of the device?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          June 19, 2016
          Example: I have looked at the manual and can't figure out what I did wrong.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          June 21, 2016
          Answer: 
          46" without the battery
           
          The Little Big Shot Super Nozzle is a superior nozzle that offers better performance and durability than standard nozzles. Featuring an environmentally-friendly design, this nozzle was precision crafted from solid brass at a fraction of the weight of other adjustable nozzles. Its adjustable, versatile properties means it'll be the nozzle you will demand on every hose you own. As a sweeper, it delivers 40% more powerful force vs. the leading wand Jet nozzle for quick and efficient sweeping jobs. With 40% less water volume than the classic pistol nozzle, its water efficiency is simply remarkable. With the space-age Perma-Washer that won't leak, corrode or come loose, the Little Big Shot Super Nozzle is sure to provide a long-lasting use.
           

          Does this remove the green mold from side of house?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Sicklerville
          June 17, 2016
          Looking to purchase something instead of renting a pressure washer to clean the siding of house. Will this work?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          June 19, 2016
          Answer: 
          This nozzle works better than any other nozzle I have used, but still not as well as a pressure washer. Molds vary in their resistance to being removed, so I can't answer your question directly, but you might want to try this nozzle on the mold. It is much less expensive than a pressure washer and it may work for you. If not you will find plenty of other uses for it.
           
          The Zircon Corporation MetalliScanner m40 Metal Locator easily detects metal in wood, drywall, stucco, plaster, concrete and other non-metallic surfaces. The M40 locates ferrous metal up to 4 in. deep and non-ferrous metal up to 2 in. deep.
           

          I am trying to locate nails under Aluminum Gutters

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          California
          June 11, 2016
          Will this work to find nails under aluminum gutters?
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          June 13, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, as long as the nails are iron
           
          The New Defiant Bluetooth smart LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. No need to climb ladders for motion sensor adjustment as the innovative use of Bluetooth smart Technology allows sensor control from your smart phone device. Bluetooth smart technology allows control of light level outside your home by adjustable dimming feature. LED technology provides no bulbs to change. Install quick and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected.
           

          is there a way to factory reset the Bluetooth light without password

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          June 10, 2016
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          June 10, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, follow the instructions online. Basically you power the unit down for a specified time, then reset it with your phone or tablet within another time window. I've had to do it a few times a year because of power surges.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 20 >>