EricG
  • Review count
    63
  • Helpfulness votes
    97
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    May 22, 2012
  • Last Review:
    January 6, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      43
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        63
      • Helpfulness votes
        97
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        May 22, 2012
      • Last Review:
        January 6, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          43
           
           
           
           
          EricG's Reviews
           
          USB to 30-Pin Cable from CE Tech charges your iPad, iPod, iPhone - or other 30-pin enabled device. 6 in. cable length with bendable cord allows you to easily connect devices in cramped spaces. Also great for bulky USB devices.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Essental for any IPad addict
          PostedJanuary 6, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          My IPad goes with me almost everywhere- my car, shop and every room of the house, so I need to keep it charged, and that means multiple chargers and cables.
          I have found this brand to be just as durable as the original cable supplied with the tablet, but with the advantage it can be replaced at a local store.
          I use the longest cable I can get for motel use, where there are never enough outlets. This short charger cable goes in my pocket which is a hostile environment for cables, but I'm confident it will hold up a long time.
          Pros: Compact, Durable
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The TOUGHBUILT GELFIT Stabilizer Kneepads redefine how professionals use their kneepads. This patented kneepad system allows the rock-steady Stabilizer SnapShell to be removed entirely or interchanged with other SnapShells. Create the exact kneepad to fit every job. Its unique construction creates a wide footprint to the front, sides and rear. This eliminates tipping-over, creates a stable, comfortable feel and decreases pressure on the ankles. Ergonomic gel and foam design embraces the natural shape of the knee and upper shin, maximizing pressure distribution for all-day comfort. High side walls greatly reduce twisting off of the knee. Secondary tension straps allow incremental adjustment, keeping the tops from falling away and twisting. Rugged materials and construction make these reliable kneepads withstand the most rigorous working conditions.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Astonishingly comfortable
          PostedDecember 31, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          A year ago I did a remodel job that involved much crawling around and my wife urged me to get knee pads. I got some cheap ones and while they helped some, they were really uncomfortable. Now another room need redoing and I need something better to protect my knees.
          The difference is amazing. While these pads are a bit bulky they feel like they are filled with down! They don't slip and they are comfortable enough for day long use. I'll never get cheap pads again.
          Pros: High Quality of Material, Comfortable, Effective
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The BESSEY CM series light duty, drop forged C-Clamps are well priced and durable. These clamps are great for light duty welding, fabrication and woodworking. They are appropriate for many small jobs around the home workshop as they are light and strong.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Attractive light duty clamp
          PostedDecember 31, 2014
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is a 'light duty' clamp that will satisfy many tasks around the shop, but it isn't stiff enough for some uses. Provided you have some sturdy clamps for those tough tasks this will be a useful addition where you need 'just one more' clamp to get the job done.
          The clamp is attractively finished and looks like it will have a long working life.
          Pros: Light Weight, Long-Lasting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The BESSEY CM series light duty, drop forged C-Clamps are well priced and durable. These clamps are great for light duty welding, fabrication and woodworking. They are appropriate for many small jobs around the home workshop as they are light and strong.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Light duty clamping
          PostedDecember 31, 2014
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This C-clamp is designated as 'light duty', so it is useful for clamping parts for gluing and other tasks that do not require high force. Unfortunately the frame is a bit slender for its size- if one end is held in a vise, I can twist the other end about an eighth of an inch by hand, and I have no special strength.
          One nice feature is the swivel pad that can accommodate surfaces that are not parallel. You will find many uses for this clamp around the shop, but make sure you have beefier ones for those tough jobs.
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          With sleek, confident curves inspired by nature, the Alteo faucet collection exudes a self-assured simplicity. Designed to deliver exceptional quality at an approachable price, the Alteo collection features fluid design lines that complement a wide range of decor. Available in a variety of Kohler finishes to perfectly compliment any decor.
           
          from New Mexico, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Very stylish and well made faucet
          PostedDecember 31, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Besides being a stylish faucet, the fit and finish of the hardware is excellent. A year ago we had to deal an imported 'high end' faucet that looked good but had many of the hidden parts out of alignment which made installation almost impossible. Not so this time, installation was easy and the instruction were clear and complete.
          Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Modern
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>
           
          EricG's Questions
           
          EricG has not submitted any questions.
           
          EricG's Answers
           
          The RIDGID 10 in. 13 Amp Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 Amp motor for speeds up to 3,450 RPM and a table with a polished and milled cast-iron core to provide a level, flat surface with low vibration. The saw can be customized by adding an extension table or auxiliary tables (not included) for routers or other specialty tools (not included).
           

          How good accurate is the fence itself?

          Asked by
          Matt
          Arkansas
          January 22, 2015
          I apologize if it's been asked already, but how accurate is the fence itself? I currently have a Bosch 4100-09 table saw and am wanting to get more of a stationary saw. The fence on it is fairly inaccurate so every time you move it you have to measure...every time.

          Does this table saw have a better fence that's stiffer? I know it's a one-handed operation, but I want to be able to make quick cuts and not have to always measure front and back to the blade!

          Thanks for your help.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          January 23, 2015
          Answer: 
          I've had this saw for two years. I lined everything up when I got it and I haven't had to readjust it since. The fence locks parallel to the blade to 'woodworking accuracy' every time - certainly within 1/64"
          I'm sure there are better table saws but they will be much heavier and more expensive. I like that it can be easily moved on a smooth concrete floor, but it is far from being portable like your Read More
          I've had this saw for two years. I lined everything up when I got it and I haven't had to readjust it since. The fence locks parallel to the blade to 'woodworking accuracy' every time - certainly within 1/64"
          I'm sure there are better table saws but they will be much heavier and more expensive. I like that it can be easily moved on a smooth concrete floor, but it is far from being portable like your Bosch. Read Less
           
          The Bosch GLM 15 Laser Measure is the smallest, simplest way of measuring. Thanks to its laser precision technology and continuous measurement mode, it takes instant and reliable measurements up to 50 ft. so you can size up your job in seconds. Square and compact by design, the GLM 15 Laser Measure is ready for anywhere portability, fitting comfortably in your hand and easily into your pocket. With just 1 button and a shape that lets you measure in any position, the GLM 15 Laser Measure makes measuring easier and faster than a tape measure.
           

          will it measure oil in a tank

          Asked by
          boss
          January 18, 2015
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          January 21, 2015
          Answer: 
          I have used this laser measure successfully for several projects, but not for measuring oil. It relies on detecting the spot where the laser beam hits the object. If you tried to measure the distance to a mirror you would not get the right reading unless the mirror was very dirty, so that a spot formed on the dirt. Depending upon the angle of a mirror, the laser beam might reflect onto a wall, and you Read More
          I have used this laser measure successfully for several projects, but not for measuring oil. It relies on detecting the spot where the laser beam hits the object. If you tried to measure the distance to a mirror you would not get the right reading unless the mirror was very dirty, so that a spot formed on the dirt. Depending upon the angle of a mirror, the laser beam might reflect onto a wall, and you would get a measure of the total path from laser to mirror to wall.
          Liquids like oil present even more problems. If the oil is murky, like used crankcase oil, you might get a usable spot on the surface. Otherwise a clear liquid would bend the beam by refraction and make a spot on the bottom of the tank, and also one by reflection, like that of the mirror.
          You best bet for measuring oil level would be to float something on the top of the oil. Then the position could be measured accurately. Read Less
           
          The Bosch GLM 15 Laser Measure is the smallest, simplest way of measuring. Thanks to its laser precision technology and continuous measurement mode, it takes instant and reliable measurements up to 50 ft. so you can size up your job in seconds. Square and compact by design, the GLM 15 Laser Measure is ready for anywhere portability, fitting comfortably in your hand and easily into your pocket. With just 1 button and a shape that lets you measure in any position, the GLM 15 Laser Measure makes measuring easier and faster than a tape measure.
           

          Can it measure without having a solid end point; end to end of roof of house without a wall to stop laser?

          Asked by
          NeedToKnow
          California
          January 6, 2015
          Kitchen entry to exit with no doors or threshold for laser to begin or end.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          January 7, 2015
          Answer: 
          No, it does need an end point, something light colored and not shiny is ideal. However when there is no suitable end point, such as my large router compass, I have made a paper target and taped it in place
           
          The Bosch GLM 15 Laser Measure is the smallest, simplest way of measuring. Thanks to its laser precision technology and continuous measurement mode, it takes instant and reliable measurements up to 50 ft. so you can size up your job in seconds. Square and compact by design, the GLM 15 Laser Measure is ready for anywhere portability, fitting comfortably in your hand and easily into your pocket. With just 1 button and a shape that lets you measure in any position, the GLM 15 Laser Measure makes measuring easier and faster than a tape measure.
           

          What is this laser measure's range on the short end of the measurement capabilities?

          Asked by
          Homedepotmike
          Altoona, IA
          January 3, 2015
          So I know that this laser measure is capable of measuring out up to 50 ft., but how close of an object is it capable of measuring? For example, there was another brand laser measure that I was looking at possibly getting that had up to 64' range, but if you wanted to measure the distance on something it had to be at least 8" away, which was disappointing to me because I want the capability of measuring things that don't have a large distance...
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          January 4, 2015
          Answer: 
          The manual says the minimum range is typically 6 inches. I found mine would display down to 5 15/16. Below that it displays a dashed line.
          Since the measurement is taken from the back of the rangefinder you can measure down to 2 inches by placing the front to the rangefinder at the measurement point and then mentally subtracting the length of the rangefinder from the indicated value. The length of the Read More
          The manual says the minimum range is typically 6 inches. I found mine would display down to 5 15/16. Below that it displays a dashed line.
          Since the measurement is taken from the back of the rangefinder you can measure down to 2 inches by placing the front to the rangefinder at the measurement point and then mentally subtracting the length of the rangefinder from the indicated value. The length of the rangefinder is a fraction less than four inches, so subtract four from the display and then add another 1/16th.
          As useful as this tool is, I usually grab a ruler for short measurements. Read Less
           
          The Fluidmaster Duo Flush System gives you a tool to help save more water than any other dual flush system on the market. The Dual Flush System retrofits into any 2 in. toilet tank, and is proven to use up to 45% less water than the original tank parts. It also has been shown to improve flushing power on the full flush, so you will actually see better performance than before. It comes complete with a high refill fill valve to insure consistent flushes every single time. A dual flush tank lever is included with this system.
           

          Is a replacement handle available?

          Asked by
          Dag8trs
          Aiken, SC
          January 1, 2015
          Had this unit for a year. The plastic handle snapped and seems to be unique to this device.
          Asked by
          EricG
          New Mexico, USA
          January 2, 2015
          Answer: 
          Your best bet is to contact Fluidmaster directly
          800-631-2011 from M-F between 5:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. PST.
          If they can't help you may be able to repair the part with an adhesive made for plastic.
          I have had good luck with Loctite Plastic Epoxy which is carried by by my local HD
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>