Historian
  • Review count
    341
  • Helpfulness votes
    705
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    October 3, 2017
 
  • Question count
    1
     
    • Answer count
      511
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        341
      • Helpfulness votes
        705
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        October 3, 2017
       
      • Question count
        1
         
        • Answer count
          511
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          The Everbilt Step-Release Kick Down Doorstop flips down easily to hold a door open. Doorstop does not interfere with door operation while in raised position. Step pedal spring release allows the doorstop to rise without bending or lifting.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A couple years ago, we bought a very nice French Door for our patio. The main door we most often ...
          PostedOctober 3, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          A couple years ago, we bought a very nice French Door for our patio. The main door we most often open, is so well-balanced that the slightest breeze makes it swing. With ceiling fans and new casement windows, we get lots of nice breezes. Since that French Door is one source of breezes as well, we've had a lot of trouble keeping that door where we placed it. We've taken to using a extra long rubber band attached to our kitchen cabinet to wrap around the door knob. We've been looking for just the right door-stop solution, and we've found it in this Everbilt Satin Nickel Step-Release Kick Down Door Stop! We've used Everbilt products in the past, and trust them. This door stop is pretty cool! Read More
          A couple years ago, we bought a very nice French Door for our patio. The main door we most often open, is so well-balanced that the slightest breeze makes it swing. With ceiling fans and new casement windows, we get lots of nice breezes. Since that French Door is one source of breezes as well, we've had a lot of trouble keeping that door where we placed it. We've taken to using a extra long rubber band attached to our kitchen cabinet to wrap around the door knob. We've been looking for just the right door-stop solution, and we've found it in this Everbilt Satin Nickel Step-Release Kick Down Door Stop! We've used Everbilt products in the past, and trust them. This door stop is pretty cool! First off, it's satin nickel finish matches our door knobs. You push the door back, and flip down the leg. You can adjust the built in adjustment screw to raise or lower the foot slightly. That comes in real handy on tile floors like ours. When you are ready to close the door, you simply press down lightly on a little lever, and the leg flips back up into place. Very clever idea! Thanks Everbilt, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Sturdy, Stylish
          -1point
          0out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          The Frigidaire Gallery 30 in. Smudge-Proof Stainless Steel Freestanding Gas Range lets you cook more at once with a 5.0 cu. ft. capacity oven. The 5-burner gas cooktop features a heavy-duty griddle and sealed burners so you can prepare a variety of meals with less hassle. The versatile range of burners includes a 17,000 BTU Quick Boil burner, a center 10,000 BTU burner and a low-simmer burner, giving you precise temperature control with high and low heat. The extra-large window and bright lighting allow you to easily check on the progress of your baked goods without opening the door.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This Frigidaire Gallery 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning QuickBake Convection Oven in Smu...
          PostedOctober 2, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Energy efficiency 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This Frigidaire Gallery 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning QuickBake Convection Oven in Smudge-Proof Stainless Steel replaced an old stove from a used appliance store, so needless to say, it was a major upgrade! The delivery guys that Home Depot sent out offered to install it for us, but we were doing some remodeling and needed to move some stuff around to get it in. Still, it is very easy to install, and Home Depot included all but the two pair of channel-lock pliers I needed to hook it up. They even included a little vial of "leak detector", which was a nice touch. Set-up of the electronics console was a breeze too. Simply press Clock Set, then use the up and down arrows to dial in Read More
          This Frigidaire Gallery 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning QuickBake Convection Oven in Smudge-Proof Stainless Steel replaced an old stove from a used appliance store, so needless to say, it was a major upgrade! The delivery guys that Home Depot sent out offered to install it for us, but we were doing some remodeling and needed to move some stuff around to get it in. Still, it is very easy to install, and Home Depot included all but the two pair of channel-lock pliers I needed to hook it up. They even included a little vial of "leak detector", which was a nice touch. Set-up of the electronics console was a breeze too. Simply press Clock Set, then use the up and down arrows to dial in the correct time, then press the clock-set again. The continuous burner grills are very nice, so you can slide a pan or skillet across the stove without tipping it or picking it up. The oven is brightly lit, and a very nice size. They even included a flat-top griddle for the center stove burner, and my grandkids immediately started begging for pancakes! All in all, we really love this beautiful stove! Thanks Frigidaire, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Sturdy, Stylish
          +2points
          3out of 4found this review helpful.
           
          This optical mouse provides high speed movement and pin point accuracy on almost any surface. Its ergonomic design fits either hand comfortably. It has a quiet scroll wheel for smooth web and document scrolling or zooming.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          I am a destroyer of mice! Seriously, I am a heavy computer user, and am hard on a mouse. And, U...
          PostedSeptember 28, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I am a destroyer of mice! Seriously, I am a heavy computer user, and am hard on a mouse. And, USB Optical mice are getting harder and harder to find! So many retailers only carry wireless mice and keyboards because they think that is what consumers want. Wrong! I hate wireless! Nothing is as fast responding and as precise as a good wired mouse or keyboard. So, I was delighted that good ole Home Depot carries this GE Wired Ergonomic Optical Mouse - Black and Silver! I love the way it fits the hand, giving your thumb and pinky a nice grip on the body, and a perfect layout for the left and right buttons, and a center wheel that gives you a good tactile feel and response. As much as Read More
          I am a destroyer of mice! Seriously, I am a heavy computer user, and am hard on a mouse. And, USB Optical mice are getting harder and harder to find! So many retailers only carry wireless mice and keyboards because they think that is what consumers want. Wrong! I hate wireless! Nothing is as fast responding and as precise as a good wired mouse or keyboard. So, I was delighted that good ole Home Depot carries this GE Wired Ergonomic Optical Mouse - Black and Silver! I love the way it fits the hand, giving your thumb and pinky a nice grip on the body, and a perfect layout for the left and right buttons, and a center wheel that gives you a good tactile feel and response. As much as manufacturers claim to make mice ergonomic, it really is hard to find one that fits the hand right, and this one does. As long as GE keeps making them, and Home Depot keeps selling them, I'll keep buying them there! Thanks GE, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Compact, Easy Installation, Easy Replacement, Easy to Use, Nice Design, Stylish, precise, fast response
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Engineered to survive the jobsite and outlast the elements, the Milwaukee GRIDIRON Zip-to-Thigh Bib Overalls are built for tradesman who cant let cold slow them down. Focused on providing reinforcement in areas where traditional work wear fails, GRIDIRON Ripstop Polyester Outlasts 12 oz. cotton duck by 3x against abrasion and tearing. FREEFLEX Stretch Panels across the inner legs combined with lighter, more durable materials maximize mobility by reducing bulk and eliminating break in time. NO DAYS OFF Weather Protection provides wind and water resistance and combines with high loft insulation to combat the most extreme weather conditions.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Unfortunately, our cars always seem to break down in winter, or some other job outside seems to n...
          PostedSeptember 26, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Unfortunately, our cars always seem to break down in winter, or some other job outside seems to need my attention. Can't begin to tell you how many times I have froze my backside off working in cold weather. A pair of jeans just doesn't cut it! Even with long-johns on. I got to try out these Milwaukee Men's GRIDIRON Large Black Zip-to-Thigh Bib Tall Overalls, and I have to say, I AM IN LOVE! They have a heavy fabric that seems to be tough as nails, nice metal zippers down the outsides of the legs, with snaps to close the flap. Two adjustment buttons on each side of your waist, to adjust for your belly size. I started out thinking that I didn't like the suspenders, because I thought they were Read More
          Unfortunately, our cars always seem to break down in winter, or some other job outside seems to need my attention. Can't begin to tell you how many times I have froze my backside off working in cold weather. A pair of jeans just doesn't cut it! Even with long-johns on. I got to try out these Milwaukee Men's GRIDIRON Large Black Zip-to-Thigh Bib Tall Overalls, and I have to say, I AM IN LOVE! They have a heavy fabric that seems to be tough as nails, nice metal zippers down the outsides of the legs, with snaps to close the flap. Two adjustment buttons on each side of your waist, to adjust for your belly size. I started out thinking that I didn't like the suspenders, because I thought they were fixed in place. Then my smarter-than-me wife pointed out that the front of the suspender hooks into its own loop. I was also a little worried that this size large might not fit well, since my belly has been growing, much to my regret! They fit me perfectly! I just can't say enough praise for these overalls, and I know that for hunting, or any outdoor work I may need to do this winter, I will be warm, and have enough freedom of movement to make any man happy! Thanks Milwaukee, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Sturdy, Stylish
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The strong shell extra-large sized car cover protects your vehicle's finish from damage caused by moisture, UV rays, leaves, dust and dirt, animals, winter weather and more. Strong Shell material is comprised of four layers for maximum protection, yet is breathable so moisture doesn't collect underneath the cover. Elastic edges hold the cover in place for a secure and semi-custom fit.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          I have a 1984 C4 Corvette I am restoring. Since I don't have a garage to park it in, I needed to...
          PostedSeptember 25, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have a 1984 C4 Corvette I am restoring. Since I don't have a garage to park it in, I needed to find a good car cover to protect it over winter. This Detailer's Preference Strong Shell 215 in. L x 77 in. W x 51 in. H Car Cover - XL was just about perfect for my needs. Detailer's Preference actually recommends a Large size for Corvettes, but I don't think they took into account that there are currently seven different generations of Corvettes, and all are various sizes and shapes. I'm not saying a size large would not have fit my C4, but I think it might have been a tighter fit than this Extra Large. Personally, I would prefer to have those extra inches of coverage, so I chose this. Read More
          I have a 1984 C4 Corvette I am restoring. Since I don't have a garage to park it in, I needed to find a good car cover to protect it over winter. This Detailer's Preference Strong Shell 215 in. L x 77 in. W x 51 in. H Car Cover - XL was just about perfect for my needs. Detailer's Preference actually recommends a Large size for Corvettes, but I don't think they took into account that there are currently seven different generations of Corvettes, and all are various sizes and shapes. I'm not saying a size large would not have fit my C4, but I think it might have been a tighter fit than this Extra Large. Personally, I would prefer to have those extra inches of coverage, so I chose this. Beforehand, I'd shopped around at Corvette specific car covers, and saw prices ranging from three times what this cover sells for, to as much as nine times what this sells for. Honestly, I don't think you necessarily get a better cover by spending all that much; you're just paying what we Corvette owners call a "Corvette Tax", meaning that you are paying for a name. This cover fit my C4 very nicely, with just enough looseness to make it easy to put on and adjust. In fact, its on my Corvette right now, as I sit here waiting for a rainstorm to hit! Thanks Detailers Preference, and Home Depot! If it wears out, I'll come back and buy another! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Sturdy, Stylish
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 69 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Wire residential indoor branch circuits for outlets, switches and other loads with Southwire Romex SIMpull Type NM-B Cable. SlikQuik jacket allows for 50% reduction in pulling force for easier installation. NM has a heat capacity of 90 Degree C and a usage rating of up to 600-Volt.
           

          I needed some Romex wire for a couple projects I was working on. The store employee showed me a ...

          Asked by
          Historian
          March 30, 2017
          I needed some Romex wire for a couple projects I was working on. The store employee showed me a smaller roll they had, and I asked if they had any bigger rolls. He pointed out this one. I ended up getting more wire for my money per foot by buying the bigger roll, than if I had got the smaller roll, and I should have some left over for future projects! This is great wire!
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          Universal Anchor Points allow tie-downs to be easily attached to pickup trucks and trailers as a means of securing all types of cargo, including furniture or sports equipment. With universal attachments that fit all truck stake pockets, these anchor points do not require drilling or special equipment to install, making them ideal when convenience and re-positioning flexibility are essential. The durable eye holes are performance manufactured from the highest quality materials and come in both chrome and black, making them a dependable solution for everyday cargo transport needs.
           

          Is the 333lb working load for each or both?

          Asked by
          thedogscar
          September 1, 2017
          Is the 333lb working load for each or both?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          September 6, 2017
          Answer: 
          The rating is for each.
           
          With its beveled edges and clean geometry, this Archer shower base creates a universal look that suits an array of bathroom styles. Designed for alcove installations, this rectangular base comes equipped with a covered drain that adds a unique design element and enhances comfort. Choreograph shower walls and accessories let you personalize your shower with beautiful wall designs and thoughtfully designed storage. This wall kit includes three shower walls - one back wall and two end walls - of the same design and color, plus two matching corner joints. Customize your shower design with optional accent panels, and use the innovative storage solutions and clever accessories to make your shower more organized, comfortable, and convenient.
           

          If I want to install this but have a tiled floor, is it the same installation process?

          Asked by
          Mir
          January 30, 2017
          If I want to install this but have a tiled floor, is it the same installation process?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          August 16, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes it is, but naturally, you'd want to end the tile so that it meets up to the edge of the shower base.
           
          Bring a psychedelic black light effect to your Halloween party with the LED Projection Fire and Ice. Just plug it in and begin using it, this outdoor UV light is extremely durable and reflect bright when using a UV interactive product.
           

          The description calls this Black Ice, is it blue like the picture shows or it is a black light ?...

          Asked by
          AngieG
          August 3, 2017
          The description calls this Black Ice, is it blue like the picture shows or it is a black light ?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          August 7, 2017
          Answer: 
          It is mostly blue.
           
          The 10.7 cu. ft. Weather Guard DEFENDER SERIES Model 302105-9-01 Saddle Box for full size trucks provides Professional Protection. This new truck box includes a tamper-resistant push-button lock, steel reinforced, looped strikers, D-shaped ribbed weather stripping and heavy-duty 4-piece welded aluminum box construction.
           

          does this fit a ford ranger xlt

          Asked by
          customer
          June 9, 2017
          does this fit a ford ranger xlt
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          June 27, 2017
          Answer: 
          It fits all Ford F-Series from 2004 to 2017, and maybe more.
           
          When you need to replace your lawn mower belt consider the John Deere 42 in. Mower Belt for Select John Deere Mowers. The More Kevlar cords help provide strength for your mower's high horsepower demands.
           

          Tightening belt on 42 inch John Deere riding mower

          Asked by
          Jim1954
          Ohio
          August 19, 2015
          We bought the GX20072 belt for our 42 inch John Deere riding mower. It appears to be too large. What are we doing wrong?
          Asked by
          Historian
          April 22, 2017
          Answer: 
          Check the tension pulley. I had the same issue, and gave my pulley a tug, and realized that grass, dirt, weather, etc., had prevented it from moving all the way into the tight position, and it was only moving part way. Once I did that, the belt was tight enough to do the job. Bear in mind, when the mower is not engaged, a certain amount of looseness is needed to keep from burning up the belt.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 103 >>