Historian
  • Review count
    183
  • Helpfulness votes
    432
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    January 27, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      343
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        183
      • Helpfulness votes
        432
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        January 27, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          343
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          Enjoy high end exterior decor to your home with this 9.5 in. 2-Light Outdoor Decorative Water Glass Lantern LED with Fixed Flame Tip. Aluminum construction provides extra durability while the oil rubbed bronze finish provides that classic rustic look. The water glass accents give an antique feel while providing all around illumination for porch areas. No replacement bulbs necessary, this 2-Light Outdoor Decorative LED Lantern sources are rated at 25,000 hours or 22.8 years based on 3 hours/day of use ensuring you and your family beautify exterior lighting for years to come.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This Porch Light Is Just Awesome!
          PostedJanuary 27, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I got this 9.5 Inch 2-Light Oil Rubbed Bronze Decorative Water Glass Outdoor LED Lantern With Fixed Flame Tip by Hampton Bay to replace our old incandescent fixture that I was never really happy with from the beginning. It looked nice, but had some basic design flaws, and with a 60 Watt bulb, it used a lot of juice without all that much light given off. I love this new LED fixture!
          For starters, it is HUGE! Don't be misled by the 9.5 inch figure in the description. That 9.5 inches is the width of the globe. The fixture itself is roughly 19 inches tall! It was so big, I had to remove the house numbers of our address, and relocate them on the other side of our porch so people could see Read More
          I got this 9.5 Inch 2-Light Oil Rubbed Bronze Decorative Water Glass Outdoor LED Lantern With Fixed Flame Tip by Hampton Bay to replace our old incandescent fixture that I was never really happy with from the beginning. It looked nice, but had some basic design flaws, and with a 60 Watt bulb, it used a lot of juice without all that much light given off. I love this new LED fixture!
          For starters, it is HUGE! Don't be misled by the 9.5 inch figure in the description. That 9.5 inches is the width of the globe. The fixture itself is roughly 19 inches tall! It was so big, I had to remove the house numbers of our address, and relocate them on the other side of our porch so people could see them.
          Like most Hampton Bay products, it comes with a nice instruction booklet, but really, installation was so simple that I didn't even look at the booklet until after I was done. Still, kudos to Hampton Bay for keeping customers in mind, and doing great instructions!
          Our house is wired with the old and dangerous aluminum wiring from the 1970's, so I used plenty of Ox-Guard, an anti-oxidation compound to coat the wires. This is a safety must if you have aluminum wiring! The only problem I had with installation was that the fixture is large and bulky, so it would be best if you had a second pair of hands to help. Luckily, my porch railing comes up high enough and my wires are long enough that I was able to sit the fixture on the railing, and free up my hands for connecting the wires with the supplied wire-nuts. I also really liked the large circular mounting bracket that comes with this fixture. It is plenty substantial to hold the weight of this large fixture.
          Once it was wired, it was simply a matter of putting it on the mounting bracket, slipping two rubber o-rings over the bracket mounting screws (to keep out the weather), and screw on the little acorn nuts that hold it in place. All in all, installation is a breeze!
          Now, I just need to repaint my house so the fixture looks better! All in good time! The fixture uses just a fraction of the juice my old one did, and puts out every bit as much light, if not more. Did I say I love it? For what it sells for, I call this a bargain! Thanks Hampton Bay, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Functional, Good Size & Weight, High Quality of Material, Stylish, Unique, Well Made
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The subtle and elegant details of the Intensify rainshower creates an invigorating experience that stirs you to life. Optimized pressure in each setting for an excellent showering experience every time. MOEN sets the standard for exceptional beauty and reliable, innovative design.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          My First Disappointment In A Moen Product
          PostedJanuary 27, 2016
          Overall rating 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Value 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          I have always been a fan of Moen products, but like the title says, this is my first Moen product that has disappointed me. We have been using a Kohler shower head since we remodeled our master bathroom. We are planning on getting a HydroRail Shower Column for our shower, to give an overhead rain shower effect, with the optional handheld shower attachment mounted on the bottom. So, I saw this giant Moen Intensify 5-Spray 9-Inch Rainshower Showerhead In Chrome, and thought it would be perfect. After all, Moen says "creates an invigorating experience that stirs you to life." and says it has five settings, "Full, Massage, Soft, Vigorous, and Wide". That sounded pretty good to me. Not much I Read More
          I have always been a fan of Moen products, but like the title says, this is my first Moen product that has disappointed me. We have been using a Kohler shower head since we remodeled our master bathroom. We are planning on getting a HydroRail Shower Column for our shower, to give an overhead rain shower effect, with the optional handheld shower attachment mounted on the bottom. So, I saw this giant Moen Intensify 5-Spray 9-Inch Rainshower Showerhead In Chrome, and thought it would be perfect. After all, Moen says "creates an invigorating experience that stirs you to life." and says it has five settings, "Full, Massage, Soft, Vigorous, and Wide". That sounded pretty good to me. Not much I like more that a hot, vigorous shower! Well, my experience was not what they described at all. I have had soft breezes give me more of a massage than this showerhead does. If I had to come up with descriptive names for the settings it has, would be "Wimpy, Extra Wimpy, Extra Extra Wimpy, Super Wimpy and Unbelievably Wimpy". I will say it is a good looking showerhead, and you'd think that a showerhead the size of a dinner plate should be just absolutely awesome. Sadly, that is not the case. I will be going back to my old Kohler! Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Durable, Easy to Install, Lots of Features, Modern, Stylish
          Cons: Weak Water Pressure
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Milwaukee 2493-22 M12 12-Volt lithium-ion Battery 2-Tool Combo Kit includes a HACKZALL reciprocating saw that delivers up to 3,000 Strokes per Minute (SPM) and a 3/8 in. Drill Driver that provides up to 275 in. lbs. of torque at up to 1,500 RPM for fast driving. The kit also includes two batteries, a 30-minute charger and a carrying bag. Cordless tools powered by REDLITHIUM batteries deliver more torque, more power and longer run-time than the competition.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This Is A Great Combination Of Tools
          PostedJanuary 23, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I do a lot of gunsmithing for myself. I have been doing it for years, and there is very little that I cannot do in that field. Over the years, I have needed to cut a barrel down to a shorter length several times. I always kind of dread that job, because it involves using a hand-held hacksaw. It is nearly impossible to get a perfect, or even near-perfect cut with a hand-held saw. You always seem to drift off vertically or horizontally, no matter how slow and careful you go. At least that has been my experience, and I have tried all sorts of techniques to do a better job at that task. After, I need to do a lot of filing to get the cut squared and looking nice.
          When I saw this new Milwaukee Read More
          I do a lot of gunsmithing for myself. I have been doing it for years, and there is very little that I cannot do in that field. Over the years, I have needed to cut a barrel down to a shorter length several times. I always kind of dread that job, because it involves using a hand-held hacksaw. It is nearly impossible to get a perfect, or even near-perfect cut with a hand-held saw. You always seem to drift off vertically or horizontally, no matter how slow and careful you go. At least that has been my experience, and I have tried all sorts of techniques to do a better job at that task. After, I need to do a lot of filing to get the cut squared and looking nice.
          When I saw this new Milwaukee Hackzall, the first thought I had was that this might just be a better solution to an old problem of mine. I have a black powder revolver, that I wanted to shorten the barrel on, and figured this would make a great test for the Milwaukee Hackzall. I clamped the revolver into my vise, and marked the spot where I wanted to make my cut. Yes, I freely admit I was a little nervous, but at the worst, if the Hackzall messed up my barrel, I'd just have to replace the barrel.
          With my left hand, I held the barrel tightly, so that any vibration would not cause it to wobble during the cut. I held the Hackzall in my right hand, and began cutting. To my utter shock, the Hackzall cut the revolver barrel like a hot knife through butter, with the metal cutting blade that Milwaukee supplies with the Hackzall. Total cutting time was less than a minute. The Hackzall blade guard rested against the barrel as I cut, which kept the blade squared horizontally. There was nearly zero side-to-side play in the saw blade, just a nice even forward and back movement.
          Very often with normal sized Sawzalls, you do get a little side-to-side play in a saw blade. Examining the cut afterward with a square, I did have a very small vertical angle to my cut. I don't blame the Hackzall for that. I believe that I was subconsciously twisting slightly with my right hand on the Hackzall grip, and that led the blade to cut slightly at an angle. One thing is for certain, what little hand-filing that I will have to do to square it up, is far less than what I would have had to do with a hand-saw. I would have had to do a little filing anyway, just to get the saw blade tool marks out of the steel, so squaring it up will be no big deal at all. I was very impressed with the Hackzall's performance.
          Next, I wanted to see how it did with wood. I had a couple sets of hardwood grip blanks, that needed the top section removed. One was walnut, one was Zebra wood. Changing Hackzall blades, I clamped the wood and began cutting. The cuts went fast, and I ended up with clean cuts. What more could you ask for? I have read some reviews on the Hackzall where folks complained that the Hackzall was too light and wobbled in their hand. Yes, it is naturally lighter than a full-size Sawzall, that is to be expected. It is a smaller tool after all. However, for its relative size, I found the Hackzall to have a nice heft to it for its size, without being too light or too heavy.
          I have also read reviews that complained that it did not cut wood very fast. I did not find that to be the case whatsoever. It cut through my hardwood very quickly. Mainly, whether cutting wood or metal, don't push the saw as you cut. Let the blade do its work, and just follow the blade with the saw body, and it cuts metal or wood fairly quickly. I think some people look at the Hackzall as just a mini-sawzall. Even Milwaukee makes it abundantly clear that this is not a replacement for a full-sized sawzall. It is not intended for full-scale production work all day like you'd use a sawzall for. Think of the Hackzall more as a surgical tool for doing surgery cuts that a Sawzall just doesn't work well for. If you were to use a real long Sawzall blade, yes, you may get more wobble in the grip of the Hackzall, but that is more due to blade drag against the relative weight of the lighter tool, and that does not mean the Hackzall is too light. It just means that you are trying to use it for something that pushes its boundaries of what it was designed for.
          Personally, I love the precision of movement that the Hackzall has. Through both material tests, the Hackzall never bogged down, and the tool body never even got warm.
          This kit also comes with the M12 Cordless 3/8 Inch Drill. I have used these drills in the past for drilling and driving screws, so I know them to be excellent tools for that. For my current project, I wanted to try this one for a more unusual job. After cutting a gun barrel, the muzzle, where the bullet will exit the barrel, needs to be crowned. In short, that means cutting a very slight angle to the inside edge of the muzzle, to remove any sharp edges that the bullet might catch on as it exits. No crown means horrible accuracy, and conversely, a well-cut crown means excellent accuracy.
          You can spend a large amount of money to buy a special crown cutting tool, for a job that you very rarely do unless you are a full-time gunsmith. Another alternative, and one that I always do, is a far easier, and much less expensive method. I take a rounded-head screw, with a single slot of the type you'd use a standard screwdriver for. You'll want a screw-head that is a little bigger in diameter than the diameter of the muzzle. I prefer brass screws for this, as they are more forgiving, but a steel screw will work also, you just have to be more careful and work slower. I chuck the screw shaft into a drill, so that the screw head is sticking out. I clamp the barrel in a vise, and place the screw head at the muzzle so that it is resting against the muzzle. You have to be careful to hold the drill straight and square to the barrel. Then, simply run the drill. The slot in the screw head does the cutting, and the rounded head acts as a guide, to keep the screw centered in the hole.
          I tried this task with the M12 Cordless 3/8 Inch Drill, and in less than 30 seconds, I had a beautifully cut barrel crown with no sharp edges. The drill didn't bog down or even get warm, and I was done.
          So folks, for the purposes of my tests, which are admittedly unusual, both of these tools performed excellently, and I was very satisfied with the end results. Milwaukee puts quality in their design and engineering of their tools, which is why they have such great warranties. I had a Milwaukee corded drill that was used constantly for over 20 years, which I then sold for almost as much as I originally paid for it, and it still ran like the day it was new. Milwaukee is a brand you can trust with your hard-earned money. Thanks Milwaukee, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, All In One, Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, Powerful, Sturdy
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          Homax Easy Gate Fleur-de-lis design No-Sag Gate Kit enables any homeowner to build a sag-free, square gate with decorative flair in as little as 20 minutes. The kit includes 4 decorative gate brackets with attached hinges and screws for easy assembly. All parts are constructed of heavy powder-coated steel in a black finish to resist rust. Constructs a gate for an opening of 27 in. to 72 in. wide, with no height restrictions. Fits various lumber sizes (2x4s, 2x6s, etc.) and types. Choose a left or right swing. Ideal for use with fence gates, driveway gates, corral gates and shed doors.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Clever Solution To An Old Problem!
          PostedJanuary 23, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have an old gate on our elevated deck. Having a gate for this deck is critical, to protect children and puppies from tumbling off the deck. When I built the deck over 20 years ago, the only solution I could find to keep the gate from sagging, was the old fashioned angle support bar that you attach at opposing corners, with an adjustment nut in the center. At first, it worked well enough, but as time passed, it failed to really do its job. What I have today is a sad looking, pathetic thing that sags and looks horrible. I have had this gate on my to-do list for quite some time, but just hadn't got around to building a new gate yet. To be honest, it was kind of discouraging to sink much time Read More
          I have an old gate on our elevated deck. Having a gate for this deck is critical, to protect children and puppies from tumbling off the deck. When I built the deck over 20 years ago, the only solution I could find to keep the gate from sagging, was the old fashioned angle support bar that you attach at opposing corners, with an adjustment nut in the center. At first, it worked well enough, but as time passed, it failed to really do its job. What I have today is a sad looking, pathetic thing that sags and looks horrible. I have had this gate on my to-do list for quite some time, but just hadn't got around to building a new gate yet. To be honest, it was kind of discouraging to sink much time into building a nice gate, knowing that it would end up looking just as pathetic as the old one over time. Then I saw this Homax EasyGate Decor Fleur-De-Lis No-Sag Gate Kit! What a very simple, yet very clever idea this is. By incorporating the hinges with a rigid framework between the vertical and horizontal frame sections of the gate, you eliminate the stress that gravity places on the wood, and transfer that to the metal which won't give. Brilliantly simple! As you can see from my photos, we are in the midst of winter snows, so it will be a little while before I can get out there and install a new gate. And, I need to run to Home Depot for some pressure-treated lumber to build a new gate from. However, I can now look forward to not seeing gravity undo my investment and hard work, and hopefully, 20 years from now, all my new gate will need is a new coat of paint! Thanks Homax and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, High Quality of Material, Good Shape, Stylish
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Protect yourself from the elements with this John Deere D100 series snow. Its rear locking panel holds attaches it securely to the tractor frame, with non-scratch magnets providing a custom fit. The durable steel frame cab shields against snow, rain, sun and wind and the super-clear vinyl windows are cold crack tested to -20 degrees C.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Finally My Beloved Deere Is Complete!
          PostedDecember 22, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of use 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I bought myself a John Deere D100 about three years ago, and it is the best mower I have ever owned. When I bought it, I also bought a snow plow, some tire-chains, and the optional weights that hang on the back. I wanted to get the Snow Cab then, but alas, I was out of money. So, I jumped at the chance to try out the John Deere Snow Cab from Home Depot recently. Assembly is very easy. The instructions are very clear. The quality is pretty decent. Now, I just need to get my plow hooked up again, and I'll be ready for whatever winter throws at me! The last time I plowed snow, I just about froze to death! It wasn't so much the temperature, but the driving wind that was bothering me. Having this Read More
          I bought myself a John Deere D100 about three years ago, and it is the best mower I have ever owned. When I bought it, I also bought a snow plow, some tire-chains, and the optional weights that hang on the back. I wanted to get the Snow Cab then, but alas, I was out of money. So, I jumped at the chance to try out the John Deere Snow Cab from Home Depot recently. Assembly is very easy. The instructions are very clear. The quality is pretty decent. Now, I just need to get my plow hooked up again, and I'll be ready for whatever winter throws at me! The last time I plowed snow, I just about froze to death! It wasn't so much the temperature, but the driving wind that was bothering me. Having this snow cab installed will cut the wind and help keep me much warmer! Now, if it just had windshield wipers..... Thanks John Deere and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Store, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, great windbreaker, Easy to Assemble, roomy enough for my six foot frame
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 37 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          Enjoy high end exterior decor to your home with this 9.5 in. 2-Light Outdoor Decorative Water Glass Lantern LED with Fixed Flame Tip. Aluminum construction provides extra durability while the oil rubbed bronze finish provides that classic rustic look. The water glass accents give an antique feel while providing all around illumination for porch areas. No replacement bulbs necessary, this 2-Light Outdoor Decorative LED Lantern sources are rated at 25,000 hours or 22.8 years based on 3 hours/day of use ensuring you and your family beautify exterior lighting for years to come.
           

          Does come as a hanging fixture?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Tyler,tx
          November 11, 2015
          I am looking for a light to hang in my front door area where there is a small porch.
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo
          January 27, 2016
          Answer: 
          It hangs from the wall. I love mine!
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
           
          Enjoy high end exterior decor to your home with this 9.5 in. 2-Light Outdoor Decorative Water Glass Lantern LED with Fixed Flame Tip. Aluminum construction provides extra durability while the oil rubbed bronze finish provides that classic rustic look. The water glass accents give an antique feel while providing all around illumination for porch areas. No replacement bulbs necessary, this 2-Light Outdoor Decorative LED Lantern sources are rated at 25,000 hours or 22.8 years based on 3 hours/day of use ensuring you and your family beautify exterior lighting for years to come.
           

          What happens when the LED's go out? Can they be replaced or do you have to replace the fixture?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Clearwater Florida
          December 7, 2015
          We would use these fixtures from dusk to dawn which is a lot more than the rated 3 hours per night which will greatly shorten the led life.
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo
          January 27, 2016
          Answer: 
          The bulbs are fixed, so you'd need to replace the fixture. But, with the lifespan of LED's, it should pay for itself many times over in energy savings!
           
          Enjoy high end exterior decor to your home with this 9.5 in. 2-Light Outdoor Decorative Water Glass Lantern LED with Fixed Flame Tip. Aluminum construction provides extra durability while the oil rubbed bronze finish provides that classic rustic look. The water glass accents give an antique feel while providing all around illumination for porch areas. No replacement bulbs necessary, this 2-Light Outdoor Decorative LED Lantern sources are rated at 25,000 hours or 22.8 years based on 3 hours/day of use ensuring you and your family beautify exterior lighting for years to come.
           

          can light bulbs be replaced?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Ohio
          December 21, 2015
          How do I change the bulbs in this fixture? And is it possible?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo
          January 27, 2016
          Answer: 
          No, they are fixed, but with the lifespan of LED bulbs, it should pay for itself in energy savings alone.
           
          Enjoy high end exterior decor to your home with this 9.5 in. 2-Light Outdoor Decorative Water Glass Lantern LED with Fixed Flame Tip. Aluminum construction provides extra durability while the oil rubbed bronze finish provides that classic rustic look. The water glass accents give an antique feel while providing all around illumination for porch areas. No replacement bulbs necessary, this 2-Light Outdoor Decorative LED Lantern sources are rated at 25,000 hours or 22.8 years based on 3 hours/day of use ensuring you and your family beautify exterior lighting for years to come.
           

          Is the light of this fixture warm?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          North Carolina
          January 10, 2016
          I am not crazy about cool LED light - while this says that 2700 K - I don't see any pictures of it lit so it's hard to say if it feels warm. Is this light when lit a warm LED?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo
          January 27, 2016
          Answer: 
          It is considered to be a "Warm" light, rated 490 Lumens, at 11.5 watts. Love mine!
          User submitted photo
           
          Enjoy high end exterior decor to your home with this 9.5 in. 2-Light Outdoor Decorative Water Glass Lantern LED with Fixed Flame Tip. Aluminum construction provides extra durability while the oil rubbed bronze finish provides that classic rustic look. The water glass accents give an antique feel while providing all around illumination for porch areas. No replacement bulbs necessary, this 2-Light Outdoor Decorative LED Lantern sources are rated at 25,000 hours or 22.8 years based on 3 hours/day of use ensuring you and your family beautify exterior lighting for years to come.
           

          They are 2 inside the box or only one ?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          January 14, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo
          January 27, 2016
          Answer: 
          Just one is in the box.
          User submitted photo
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 69 >>