Historian
  • Review count
    271
  • Helpfulness votes
    589
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    February 17, 2017
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      503
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        271
      • Helpfulness votes
        589
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        February 17, 2017
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          503
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          The 2000 Series Maximus Door Viewer allows you to see who is at the door without them seeing you. Capture up to 1000 views on a SMD card. View visitors from the large LCD screen from any angle.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A nice touch of added security in a dangerous world!
          PostedFebruary 17, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          A couple months ago, there was a homicide across the street from us. Outside of that, the world gets crazier by the day, so home security is becoming more important all the time. We had a wide-angle peep-hole on our door, but the view it gives you is somewhat distorted, and you have to put your eye up to it to see anything. While our neighborhood is generally as safe as most can be in today's world, I do worry about my wife when I am not around. Being able to see who may be at the door clearly is an important factor for your safety. This Maximus 3.5 in. Screen Door Viewer with Doorbell, IR and SD Card is a great solution for a homeowner! It comes with mounting hardware to allow it to mount Read More
          A couple months ago, there was a homicide across the street from us. Outside of that, the world gets crazier by the day, so home security is becoming more important all the time. We had a wide-angle peep-hole on our door, but the view it gives you is somewhat distorted, and you have to put your eye up to it to see anything. While our neighborhood is generally as safe as most can be in today's world, I do worry about my wife when I am not around. Being able to see who may be at the door clearly is an important factor for your safety. This Maximus 3.5 in. Screen Door Viewer with Doorbell, IR and SD Card is a great solution for a homeowner! It comes with mounting hardware to allow it to mount through a front door or a house wall. The outside unit has a doorbell and camera mounted in one unit. Inside the house, you get get a 3 1/2 inch screen unit that looks like a cell phone. They claim it has IR (infra-red), but I didn't notice that at all. It does come with a small SD card, but is upgrade-able to a standard 8 GB cell phone type SD card, and as cheap as those are now, its kind of a no-brainer to go ahead and upgrade that. The camera gives you a 110 degree view angle, and runs off of four AA batteries (included). Installation is simple (just need a proper sized hole), and set-up of the indoor viewer device firmware is simple as well (much like the controls on a digital camera). You can set it to take a still snap-shot, shoot a video, or just activate the device without taking pictures whenever the doorbell is pressed. The doorbell itself has three sound level settings, but they are not real loud. We have a standard household doorbell that is loud enough to hear all over our house, so I am not so interested in this device's doorbell feature, as I am it's camera feature for simply seeing who is at the door. They say it will run about five months on a set of batteries, but time will tell. The batteries they provide are an off-brand, so I will replace those with some good quality alkaline name brand batteries. The bottom line; this is much better than a standard peep-hole for your front door, and I really like this device! Thanks Maximus, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Quickie 24 oz. Heavy-Duty 100% Cotton Mop (4-Pack) is super absorbent for cleaning the toughest liquid spills and debris. It comes with a galvanized steel head for extra security and a 56 in. lacquered hardwood handle.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Finally, a decent mop!
          PostedFebruary 17, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          In my late teens, I worked as a supervisor for a maintenance/security team for a newly built major shopping mall. I trained and closely supervised a large team of maintenance and security people, and that included me working alongside them to get the job done. We had floor polishing machines, but mopping floors was a huge part of the maintenance job. A public floor in a huge shopping mall can get very filthy, and so we had a whole arsenal of professional mops/buckets. Needless to say, I know how to properly use, and what makes a good mop. Trust me, not all mops are created equal! In our home, our floors in the main living area are all porcelain tile. We breed Great Danes, so our floors get Read More
          In my late teens, I worked as a supervisor for a maintenance/security team for a newly built major shopping mall. I trained and closely supervised a large team of maintenance and security people, and that included me working alongside them to get the job done. We had floor polishing machines, but mopping floors was a huge part of the maintenance job. A public floor in a huge shopping mall can get very filthy, and so we had a whole arsenal of professional mops/buckets. Needless to say, I know how to properly use, and what makes a good mop. Trust me, not all mops are created equal! In our home, our floors in the main living area are all porcelain tile. We breed Great Danes, so our floors get messy, and need to be mopped. My wife has purchased every imaginable brand and type of mop, and most made today have sponges, or wimpy rag-heads, and are made with skinny, flimsy handles, and worse yet, plastic, flimsy attachments where the mop handle attaches to the mop-head. She has wasted so much money buying lousy mops, only to have them wear out quickly or simply break. Plus, worst of all, they just don't get the floor clean like they should. Nothing beats a janitorial quality mop for longevity and quality of work! Sadly, many of the companies who sell professional janitorial equipment, won't sell to the general public, so its harder than you'd think to find a really good mop. I saw this Quickie 21 oz. Heavy-Duty Wet Mop on Home Depot's website, and jumped on it! It has a nice thick handle, so your hands don't get as tired from working it, like a skinny-handled mop does. Best of all, it has a metal mop-head attachment that firmly holds the mop-head to the handle! That may not seem important to the unitiated, but take it from an old pro, if you want a mop to last and give you your money's worth, that is very important! They call the mop-head 21 oz "heavy duty", and it is heavier than most available to the public, but in my opinion, could be heavier. For mine, I plan to add some strips of t-shirt cotton fabric to beef up the mop-head a bit. But, even as it comes from the factory, it's a whole lot better than 99% of the mop heads on the market, and the price is very fair indeed for what you get. Thanks Quickie, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Nice Design, Sturdy
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The EZ Handrail heavy duty aluminum hand rails are perfect for indoor or outdoor installations where an extra hand is needed to prevent falls or just that additional support when heading up a couple of stairs.  Made from 100% aluminum alloy and sporting a stylish powder coat finish, this hand rail is ready for years of use without the maintenance of repainting due to rust or wood rot. Additionally, the open-ended design allows for integration with other EZ Handrail components to meet most custom hand rail requirements.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Well Designed, Sturdy Product
          PostedFebruary 17, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We have a hot tub spa room attached to our house. There is a elevated deck that surrounds the tub, so you must climb a short flight of stairs to get up on the deck. Very often, when climbing back down, your feet are wet, so I have always been concerned for my wife and grandkids slipping and falling as they came down the stairs. Because the room has high humidity, a stair railing cannot be something that will rust, so this EZ Handrail 8 ft. Copper Vein Aluminum Round Hand Rail Kit was the perfect solution for us. It was slightly too long, but cutting the length down to size was very easy. Before I got it, one concern I had was that perhaps the mounting brackets might be pre-located in an Read More
          We have a hot tub spa room attached to our house. There is a elevated deck that surrounds the tub, so you must climb a short flight of stairs to get up on the deck. Very often, when climbing back down, your feet are wet, so I have always been concerned for my wife and grandkids slipping and falling as they came down the stairs. Because the room has high humidity, a stair railing cannot be something that will rust, so this EZ Handrail 8 ft. Copper Vein Aluminum Round Hand Rail Kit was the perfect solution for us. It was slightly too long, but cutting the length down to size was very easy. Before I got it, one concern I had was that perhaps the mounting brackets might be pre-located in an inconvenient spot, and make installation difficult. That was not the case at all. It is made so that you can locate the brackets anywhere you need, so that you can properly anchor the rail. Our hot tub room is mostly brown Earth-tone colors, so the copper color fits perfectly with the rest of the room, and looks classy. The rail is very sturdy too, so safety is no longer a concern! Thanks EZ Handrail, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Good Shape, High Quality of Material, Vibrant Color
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Madison Square Ottoman is the star of the living room, family room or den. Crafted with sleek saddle brown bicast leather upholstery and birch wood legs in a black finish, its hinged top conceals the bits and bobs that contribute to never-ending clutter, while its cushioned top offers seating for that extra friend-of-a-friend. It is a perfect companion for country homes, city apartments or formal manors.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          My Grandkids Really Love This!
          PostedFebruary 15, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          My grandkids love to play video games. Until now, they have used whatever was at hand to sit on while playing games. Now, they have this Safavieh Madison Birchwood Bicast Leather Square Ottoman in Saddle to sit on, and best of all, they can store their games and controllers inside the Ottoman when not in use, to reduce clutter in the house. It has a fairly soft cushion on top, so the kids can sit on it for hours without getting uncomfortable. It's also fairly easy to keep clean, and required no assembly. All in all, we love it! Thanks Safavieh, and Home Depot!
          Pros: Comfortable, Excellent Quality, Functional, Good Size & Weight, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design, Perfect Size, Rich Looking, Sturdy, Vibrant Color, Well Made
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This touchless soap dispenser combines a sculptural form with the simple functionality of architectural style. This soap dispenser features durable metal construction and provides a stylish way to store liquid soap, hand sanitizer, or hand lotion within easy reach. It comes with a lifetime limited warranty.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Useful, But Imperfect Product
          PostedJanuary 28, 2017
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          This new Kohler Touchless Foaming Soap Dispenser in Stainless Steel is a useful product, in that it allows you to dispense liquid soap into your dirty hands, without the need to actually touch the dispenser. It takes four AAA batteries, and has settings for foaming and liquid dispensed soap using normal liquid hand soap. It does work as designed, and even lights up on the inside so you can see how much soap remains through the little window on the front. The foaming comes from it injecting air bubbles into what it dispenses. It dispenses what I consider to be a reasonable amount of soap for washing one's hands. The foaming action is somewhat overstated, as what actually comes out is still Read More
          This new Kohler Touchless Foaming Soap Dispenser in Stainless Steel is a useful product, in that it allows you to dispense liquid soap into your dirty hands, without the need to actually touch the dispenser. It takes four AAA batteries, and has settings for foaming and liquid dispensed soap using normal liquid hand soap. It does work as designed, and even lights up on the inside so you can see how much soap remains through the little window on the front. The foaming comes from it injecting air bubbles into what it dispenses. It dispenses what I consider to be a reasonable amount of soap for washing one's hands. The foaming action is somewhat overstated, as what actually comes out is still part liquid, even on the highest "foam" setting. I'm not really even sure why they bothered with this foam setting to begin with, as the fact that the soap is foamy doesn't really help you get your hands any cleaner, than if it were liquid. They also warn you not to use any soaps containing beads, pumice or other particles, as it will jam up the machine. There is also a slight problem with the device dripping slightly after it has dispensed your soap. I discovered that when I had placed the dispenser on a finished red oak shelf, and after dispensing my soap, it dripped a drop of the soap onto the wood, staining it with the soap. Since I do lots of work that involves having very dirty hands, I really like the idea of a hands-free operation so I am not spreading dirt and germs onto a dispenser. I also like the look of the device as well. However, I cannot in good conscience recommend this device to friends and family. Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Modern, Stylish, hands-free operation
          Cons: drips soap, doesn't foam well
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 55 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          The 2000 Series Maximus Door Viewer allows you to see who is at the door without them seeing you. Capture up to 1000 views on a SMD card. View visitors from the large LCD screen from any angle.
           

          I have at&t unversity wifi will I be able to view away from my home

          Asked by
          Adhb
          December 29, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          February 17, 2017
          Answer: 
          This does not connect to the internet. It is a stand-alone device.
           
          The 2000 Series Maximus Door Viewer allows you to see who is at the door without them seeing you. Capture up to 1000 views on a SMD card. View visitors from the large LCD screen from any angle.
           

          Can it be ship to nassua Bahamas And can it be used with out internet

          Asked by
          Shenikasith66
          February 9, 2017
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          February 17, 2017
          Answer: 
          This does not connect to the internet. It is a stand-alone device.
           
          Get ready for a whole new experience in quartz. Elkay Premium Quartz sinks are designed for superior strength. The difference is in the details! A proprietary manufacturing process combines natural quartz with high-performance, UV-stable acrylic resins. The result is striking, crisp colors and rugged durability to stand up to your toughest kitchen tasks. These sinks make a statement! Select a color that complements your decor or contrasts with your countertop. Premium Quartz gives you the style you want with the functionality you need for the many jobs that happen at your sink.
           

          Is there one hole for mounting the faucet?

          Asked by
          Chelsea
          December 12, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          December 21, 2016
          Answer: 
          It is made for multiple holes, but you only knock out however many you need for the faucet you plan to use. Very nice feature!
           
          Get ready for a whole new experience in quartz. Elkay Premium Quartz sinks are designed for superior strength. The difference is in the details! A proprietary manufacturing process combines natural quartz with high-performance, UV-stable acrylic resins. The result is striking, crisp colors and rugged durability to stand up to your toughest kitchen tasks. These sinks make a statement! Select a color that complements your decor or contrasts with your countertop. Premium Quartz gives you the style you want with the functionality you need for the many jobs that happen at your sink.
           

          I bought this sink yesterday 11/12/16 I went to put it in and did not have any instructions can y...

          Asked by
          Dave
          November 12, 2016
          I bought this sink yesterday 11/12/16 I went to put it in and did not have any instructions can you help?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          December 21, 2016
          Answer: 
          The instructions are available on Home Depot's website product page in PDF format, so you can read them online or print them out.
           
          Cast a warm glow over any space with the Edis 3 Light Steel Island light. Perfect for any island or dining space. A perfect match that can work with any modern or contemporary decors. Get fancy and stagger these lights to create a layered look.
           

          How far does this hang from the ceiling

          Asked by
          JSome
          November 16, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          November 18, 2016
          Answer: 
          It can be adjusted to whatever length you desire.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 101 >>