Historian
  • Review count
    275
  • Helpfulness votes
    598
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    March 19, 2017
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      503
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        275
      • Helpfulness votes
        598
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        March 19, 2017
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          503
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          PPG TIMELESS Penetrating Wood Oil is ideal for enriching wood grain and providing high-clarity color to decks, fences and siding. It contains rich, penetrating oils that provide beauty and protection. It strengthens and protects wood fibers, helping to ensure the wood's natural beauty lasts.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Quality Product!
          PostedMarch 19, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          My step-dad was a professional painter for 40-plus years, and I worked for him as a teenager, so I have used PPG products before. This 3 gal. Oxford Brown Transparent Penetrating Wood Oil Exterior Stain was of the quality that I came to expect from PPG. We had a sun-bleached wood deck that was looking pretty shabby, and this stain breathed new life into it. The fact that it is a oil-based product means that it penetrates well into old dried wood, and helps those wood fibers swell and restores the wood nicely, not to mention protecting it from moisture much better than a surface coating does. Would I recommend this product to anyone? Absolutely! Thanks PPG, and Home Depot!
          Pros: Dries Quickly, Easy Instructions, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Even Application, Good Coverage, Good Protection, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Looks High End
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Hampton Bay 3-Tier Solar Path-light 6-pack is a quick and easy way to add lighting accents to your landscape or pathways. Classic 3-tier design with a ribbed lens casts a bright 10 Lumen glow to illuminate pathways or focal points in your garden. With no wiring necessary and LED bulbs, these solar path lights are installed in seconds and are virtually maintenance free. The rechargeable battery is included for your convenience.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Gorgeous Solar Lights!
          PostedMarch 17, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Rather than place these Mediterranean Bronze Solar 3-Tier Path Light (6-Pack) by Hampton Bay along a walkway, as intended, I drilled holes in the railings of our deck, and placed these in the deck railings. They make fabulous accent lights, and give us a soft light that illuminates the deck area much more than you might expect! We are getting ready to stain our deck an Oxford brown, so the bronze finish of these lights will compliment the new deck color very nicely! Thanks Hampton Bay, and Home Depot!
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Functional, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design, Stylish, Unique, Very Bright, Well Made
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The CE TECH HDC706C Surge Suppressor is ideal for home entertainment and Home Office protection with 2100 joules, 7 outlets, Coax protection and a 6 ft. cord. The surge suppressor provides protection for HDTVs, cable/satellite receivers, personal computers, cable modems, phones/fax/DSL, printers, stereos, and CD/DVD players. The HDC706C features 7 outlets with 1 widely spaced outlet, MOV technology to guard the surge suppressor and connected electronics against line abnormalities and lightning surges, while EMI/RFI filters block unwanted line noise. The RG-6 Coaxial connectors provide protection for cable/satellite TV receivers and broadband modems. The 6 ft. power cord includes a right angle plug with a 45° off-set for convenient installation in the tightest of environments.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Not Real Impressed
          PostedMarch 15, 2017
          Overall rating 
          1.0 out of 5
          1.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          1.0 out of 5
          1.0 out of 5
          Value 
          1.0 out of 5
          1.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          The 6 ft. 7-Outlet Coax Surge Protector made by CE Tech I got is not an impressive product. The on/off switch is fairly flimsy. The switch works, but is not very strongly built and kind of squishy, and leaves you wondering just how long it will last. The plug outlets are placed so closely together that only one will accept a "brick" transformer plug without blocking one or two other outlets. I needed one for one of my PC's. which has several such brick plugs, so that effectively reduces the real number of outlets I can make use of. Would I recommend this product to anyone? Not at all.
          Cons: flimsy switch, outlets too close together
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Assembled in the USA with Global Materials and designed with a Universal Shank, Milwaukee Multi-Tool Blades are compatible with most professional grade oscillating multi-tools. This 9-piece blade set features an assortment of our most popular multi-tool blades for a broad range of professional applications. Featuring two 3/4 in. Fine Tooth blades for detail applications in wood and hardwood, one 1-1/4 in. Japanese Tooth Blade for aggressive cuts in wood and hardwood two 1-1/4 in. Hard Point blades for added durability in wood and hardwood, one 2-1/2 in. Segmented Carbide Grit blade for grout removal and cuts in abrasive materials, one 3-1/8 in. Segmented blade for fiberglass, non-ferrous metals and drywall and two 2-1/2 in. Bi-Metal blades for extended life in a variety of demanding applications such as wood with nails and non-ferrous metals. This set also includes a jobsite durable case for convenient blade storage.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Great Value On Well-made Blades
          PostedMarch 8, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have a Dremel brand oscillating tool, and these Milwaukee Oscillating Multi-Tool 9PC Blade Kit blades fit it perfectly. I have used the tool for cutting out grout and various wood cuts for miscellaneous projects. These are very useful tools to have. Purchased individually, the blades can get expensive. However, this 9 piece kit has most of the blades you'll need at a money-saving price. Milwaukee makes top-notch tools and accessories, so you know you're getting great quality with these blades! Thanks Milwaukee, and Home Depot!
          Pros: Accurate, All In One, Durable, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting, Strong
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The 2000 Series Maximus Door Viewer allows you to see who is at the door without them seeing you. Capture up to 1000 views on a SMD card. View visitors from the large LCD screen from any angle.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A nice touch of added security in a dangerous world!
          PostedFebruary 17, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          A couple months ago, there was a homicide across the street from us. Outside of that, the world gets crazier by the day, so home security is becoming more important all the time. We had a wide-angle peep-hole on our door, but the view it gives you is somewhat distorted, and you have to put your eye up to it to see anything. While our neighborhood is generally as safe as most can be in today's world, I do worry about my wife when I am not around. Being able to see who may be at the door clearly is an important factor for your safety. This Maximus 3.5 in. Screen Door Viewer with Doorbell, IR and SD Card is a great solution for a homeowner! It comes with mounting hardware to allow it to mount Read More
          A couple months ago, there was a homicide across the street from us. Outside of that, the world gets crazier by the day, so home security is becoming more important all the time. We had a wide-angle peep-hole on our door, but the view it gives you is somewhat distorted, and you have to put your eye up to it to see anything. While our neighborhood is generally as safe as most can be in today's world, I do worry about my wife when I am not around. Being able to see who may be at the door clearly is an important factor for your safety. This Maximus 3.5 in. Screen Door Viewer with Doorbell, IR and SD Card is a great solution for a homeowner! It comes with mounting hardware to allow it to mount through a front door or a house wall. The outside unit has a doorbell and camera mounted in one unit. Inside the house, you get get a 3 1/2 inch screen unit that looks like a cell phone. They claim it has IR (infra-red), but I didn't notice that at all. It does come with a small SD card, but is upgrade-able to a standard 8 GB cell phone type SD card, and as cheap as those are now, its kind of a no-brainer to go ahead and upgrade that. The camera gives you a 110 degree view angle, and runs off of four AA batteries (included). Installation is simple (just need a proper sized hole), and set-up of the indoor viewer device firmware is simple as well (much like the controls on a digital camera). You can set it to take a still snap-shot, shoot a video, or just activate the device without taking pictures whenever the doorbell is pressed. The doorbell itself has three sound level settings, but they are not real loud. We have a standard household doorbell that is loud enough to hear all over our house, so I am not so interested in this device's doorbell feature, as I am it's camera feature for simply seeing who is at the door. They say it will run about five months on a set of batteries, but time will tell. The batteries they provide are an off-brand, so I will replace those with some good quality alkaline name brand batteries. The bottom line; this is much better than a standard peep-hole for your front door, and I really like this device! Thanks Maximus, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design
          -2points
          0out of 2found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 55 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          The 2000 Series Maximus Door Viewer allows you to see who is at the door without them seeing you. Capture up to 1000 views on a SMD card. View visitors from the large LCD screen from any angle.
           

          I have at&t unversity wifi will I be able to view away from my home

          Asked by
          Adhb
          December 29, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          February 17, 2017
          Answer: 
          This does not connect to the internet. It is a stand-alone device.
           
          The 2000 Series Maximus Door Viewer allows you to see who is at the door without them seeing you. Capture up to 1000 views on a SMD card. View visitors from the large LCD screen from any angle.
           

          Can it be ship to nassua Bahamas And can it be used with out internet

          Asked by
          Shenikasith66
          February 9, 2017
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          February 17, 2017
          Answer: 
          This does not connect to the internet. It is a stand-alone device.
           
          Get ready for a whole new experience in quartz. Elkay Premium Quartz sinks are designed for superior strength. The difference is in the details! A proprietary manufacturing process combines natural quartz with high-performance, UV-stable acrylic resins. The result is striking, crisp colors and rugged durability to stand up to your toughest kitchen tasks. These sinks make a statement! Select a color that complements your decor or contrasts with your countertop. Premium Quartz gives you the style you want with the functionality you need for the many jobs that happen at your sink.
           

          Is there one hole for mounting the faucet?

          Asked by
          Chelsea
          December 12, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          December 21, 2016
          Answer: 
          It is made for multiple holes, but you only knock out however many you need for the faucet you plan to use. Very nice feature!
           
          Get ready for a whole new experience in quartz. Elkay Premium Quartz sinks are designed for superior strength. The difference is in the details! A proprietary manufacturing process combines natural quartz with high-performance, UV-stable acrylic resins. The result is striking, crisp colors and rugged durability to stand up to your toughest kitchen tasks. These sinks make a statement! Select a color that complements your decor or contrasts with your countertop. Premium Quartz gives you the style you want with the functionality you need for the many jobs that happen at your sink.
           

          I bought this sink yesterday 11/12/16 I went to put it in and did not have any instructions can y...

          Asked by
          Dave
          November 12, 2016
          I bought this sink yesterday 11/12/16 I went to put it in and did not have any instructions can you help?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          December 21, 2016
          Answer: 
          The instructions are available on Home Depot's website product page in PDF format, so you can read them online or print them out.
           
          Cast a warm glow over any space with the Edis 3 Light Steel Island light. Perfect for any island or dining space. A perfect match that can work with any modern or contemporary decors. Get fancy and stagger these lights to create a layered look.
           

          How far does this hang from the ceiling

          Asked by
          JSome
          November 16, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          November 18, 2016
          Answer: 
          It can be adjusted to whatever length you desire.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 101 >>