Historian
  • Review count
    153
  • Helpfulness votes
    380
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    August 20, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      212
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        153
      • Helpfulness votes
        380
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        August 20, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          212
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          EnviroLite low profile ceiling light fixtures are designed to enhance any decor and with a clean, fresh appearance. This modern LED ceiling light fixture easily mounts flush with the ceiling, and the low profile design keeps it out of the way of closet doors. The protective brushed nickel finish will look great for years to come, and the white lens diffuses the LED light evenly. You won't see any dark spots or shadows. This flush mount uses a LED powered lighting engine instead of lamps to produce higher quality light for a fraction of the electricity, saving you money off your utility bill. The LED lighting source is made to last for 45 years at 3 hours per day; there are no bulbs to replace -ever! This ceiling fixture is ENERGY STAR listed and environmentally friendly.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          An Awesome Workshop Light
          PostedAugust 20, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I am relocating and reorganizing my workshop, and all I had for light in the new area was a two-bulb incandescent fixture. I replaced it with this new Low Profile LED 32 Inch Flush Mount Ceiling Brushed Nickel/White Lighting Fixture by Cordelia Lighting. When I ordered it, based on the website image, I expected a round fixture, but it is actually oval shaped, and I like that even more. Because I was working alone on installing it, it was kind of awkward, as the wires are fairly short, and the fixture itself is so long and wide that it was challenging. Having a second person to hold it up while you wire it would be ideal. Its not heavy, just cumbersome due to the size. Installation was a Read More
          I am relocating and reorganizing my workshop, and all I had for light in the new area was a two-bulb incandescent fixture. I replaced it with this new Low Profile LED 32 Inch Flush Mount Ceiling Brushed Nickel/White Lighting Fixture by Cordelia Lighting. When I ordered it, based on the website image, I expected a round fixture, but it is actually oval shaped, and I like that even more. Because I was working alone on installing it, it was kind of awkward, as the wires are fairly short, and the fixture itself is so long and wide that it was challenging. Having a second person to hold it up while you wire it would be ideal. Its not heavy, just cumbersome due to the size. Installation was a breeze, and I only needed a pencil to mark the holes for hanging, and a Phillips screwdriver. It does have extra wires on it, that could be used if you want to put it on a dimmer. In my case, I just wanted a big, bright white light for my workshop, and this filled the bill perfectly! My shop is now very well illuminated! The shape of the fixture itself is very pleasing to the eye, and would look great in any room. It throws off far more light than my old fixture ever dreamed of, and only uses about 1/4 the wattage or less. I really love this LED fixture! Thanks Cordelia Lighting and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          EnviroLite low profile ceiling light fixtures are designed to enhance any decor and with a clean, fresh appearance. This modern LED ceiling light fixture easily mounts flush with the ceiling, and the low profile design keeps it out of the way of closet doors. The protective brushed nickel finish will look great for years to come, and the white lens diffuses the LED light evenly. You won't see any dark spots or shadows. This flush mount uses a LED powered lighting engine instead of lamps to produce higher quality light for a fraction of the electricity, saving you money off your utility bill. This light fixture produces 2100 lumens (about the equivalent of two 100 watt bulbs) using only 25 watts. The LED lighting source is made to last for 45 years at 3 hours per day; there are no bulbs to replace -ever! This ceiling fixture is ENERGY STAR listed and environmentally friendly.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Great Solution To An Old Problem
          PostedAugust 20, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This fixture replaced an old incandescent one that used four times the wattage, and hung low enough in my basement office that I was forever banging my head on it (I'm tall and the basement has low ceilings). Installation was a breeze. The wires could stand to be a touch longer, to make wiring easier, but I managed. I now have a very well-lit office and it's a bright white color versus the old yellowish dingy look. Dis-assembly and assembly of the fixture is very easy, and requires no tools. All I needed for installation was a Phillips screwdriver. Since I was working alone, and needed to hold the fixture up high enough to connect the wires, I just made a temporary hanger out of coat-hanger Read More
          This fixture replaced an old incandescent one that used four times the wattage, and hung low enough in my basement office that I was forever banging my head on it (I'm tall and the basement has low ceilings). Installation was a breeze. The wires could stand to be a touch longer, to make wiring easier, but I managed. I now have a very well-lit office and it's a bright white color versus the old yellowish dingy look. Dis-assembly and assembly of the fixture is very easy, and requires no tools. All I needed for installation was a Phillips screwdriver. Since I was working alone, and needed to hold the fixture up high enough to connect the wires, I just made a temporary hanger out of coat-hanger wire to hold the fixture up close enough that I could make the connections. Ideally, you would want a second person nearby to do that for you, not because it is heavy, but just something that requires a third hand. All in all, I really love this fixture, its bright white light and energy savings! Thanks Cordelia Lighting and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          The StudioSync Music Shelf includes 2 encased wireless Bluetooth 3.0-Volt speakers. It eliminates the need for additional bulky stereo speakers, freeing up space for more important things. StudioSync understands that sound quality is truly important to real music lovers. There’s no reason to sacrifice sound quality for convenience anymore. And there’s no need to clutter up shelves to get better sound quality. The StudioSync Music Shelf’s wireless speaker system includes two 60-watt speakers and is engineered to produce the clearest sound possible. Since StudioSync speakers are mounted inside a decorative shelf, you can enjoy music right from your Bluetooth device and add more shelf space. The music control panel on the right side of the shelf has an indicator, power switch and a micro USB port. No wall plug is required to charge the shelf. The built in 3.7-Volt rechargeable Li-ion battery charges easily with the included 8 ft. micro USB cord. The Music Shelf encased speakers connect to your music library by Bluetooth and works with any portable device, i.e., your phone, tablet, laptop or even you desktop. You can control the volume of the speakers up to 32 ft. away, using the portable device it is connected to.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Love it, love it, LOVE IT!
          PostedAugust 19, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This StudioSync 31.5 In x 9.25 In 2-Speaker Black Music Shelf is nothing but awesome! I am in the midst of relocating and reorganizing my workshop in my basement, and this product seemed the perfect solution to an old problem I've had. As everyone knows, a cell phone speaker is pretty lame for listening to music without headphones. While working in my shop, I like to listen to music, or occasionally watch a movie or instructional video from my Samsung Galaxy Note II. If the room is quiet, you can barely hear what you are playing. If there are tools running, forget it. This shelf arrived today, and was packaged nicely. Installation was a breeze. There are seven holes in the steel bracket they Read More
          This StudioSync 31.5 In x 9.25 In 2-Speaker Black Music Shelf is nothing but awesome! I am in the midst of relocating and reorganizing my workshop in my basement, and this product seemed the perfect solution to an old problem I've had. As everyone knows, a cell phone speaker is pretty lame for listening to music without headphones. While working in my shop, I like to listen to music, or occasionally watch a movie or instructional video from my Samsung Galaxy Note II. If the room is quiet, you can barely hear what you are playing. If there are tools running, forget it. This shelf arrived today, and was packaged nicely. Installation was a breeze. There are seven holes in the steel bracket they provide, for mounting to the wall. They just give you six screws and four drywall anchors for mounting it to the wall. They strongly suggest that you use at least one screw to anchor into a wall stud, but two studs would be ideal. If you have studs on an 18-inch center, it is not possible to use two studs. Since I didn't need a drywall anchor for the screw I anchored into the stud with a deck screw, I just added a couple more drywall anchors I had laying around, and made use of all seven bracket holes. Maybe that was overkill, but better safe than sorry! As most people know, there are two types of mini-USB plugs, one narrow and one wider. This shelf uses the narrow style like the charger for my Samsung phone, so I was all set. Rather than use the cable provided, I just plugged my charger directly into the shelf. I turned on the Bluetooth to my phone, then pressed and held the Bluetooth button on the shelf until it beeped. I told my phone to search for Bluetooth devices, and it instantly found the shelf. I told it to pair, and pairing was almost instantaneous. I pulled up my favorite music app on the phone, and selected a song to play. Right away, I was treated to some great tunes at a good volume. While it won't normally be needed for my usage, I walked away from the shelf with my phone to test out the Bluetooth range. I walked outdoors, maybe 40 feet away, and it never skipped a beat, so I could not be more satisfied! Thanks StudioSync and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Nice Design
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          BEHR Premium DeckOver is an innovative new solid color coating that will bring your old, weathered wood or concrete back to life. The advanced 100% acrylic resin, fused with ceramic microspheres, creates a durable coating on your tired deck, rejuvenating its look. Spatter resistant formula makes application quick and easy. For the best results, be sure to properly prepare the surface using other applicable BEHR products displayed above.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great Product For Damp Locations!
          PostedAugust 11, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I will begin by saying that I have long been a big fan of Behr products, and this one has fully lived up to my expectations so far. I got the Behr Premium Deck-Over Wood And Concrete Coating textured version for our deck that surrounds our hot tub, and got this non-textured version for our shutters. When I built our hot tub room, I made six 2 ft x 8 ft x 4inch screened windows. In warm weather, we leave those windows open, to vent the room out. In cold weather, I install insulated shutters that I made to fit those windows, almost like a door. The shutters get exposed to moisture from outdoors on one side, and steamy hot tub moisture on the inside, so they really take a lot of abuse. This Read More
          I will begin by saying that I have long been a big fan of Behr products, and this one has fully lived up to my expectations so far. I got the Behr Premium Deck-Over Wood And Concrete Coating textured version for our deck that surrounds our hot tub, and got this non-textured version for our shutters. When I built our hot tub room, I made six 2 ft x 8 ft x 4inch screened windows. In warm weather, we leave those windows open, to vent the room out. In cold weather, I install insulated shutters that I made to fit those windows, almost like a door. The shutters get exposed to moisture from outdoors on one side, and steamy hot tub moisture on the inside, so they really take a lot of abuse. This Behr Premium DeckOver Wood And Concrete Coating is the perfect solution for this application. I began by using the Behr All-In-One Wood Cleaner diluted to a 50-50 mixture to clean the wood surface, and give the paint product something good to bond to. Like all Behr products I have ever used, this coating flows nice, and goes a long ways. I won't know until we've gone through a brutal winter on how well it holds up long-term, but if my previous experience with Behr products is any indicator, I have no doubt that it will do it's job like I've come to expect with Behr products. Thanks Behr and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          BEHR Premium Textured DECKOVER is an innovative solid color coating. It will bring your old, weathered wood or concrete back to life. The advanced 100% acrylic resin formula creates a durable coating for your tired and worn out deck, rejuvenating to a whole new look. For the best results, be sure to properly prepare the surface using other applicable BEHR products displayed above.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Yet Another Great Behr Product!
          PostedAugust 11, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We have a hot tub room attached to our house, and my wild grandkids often get out of the tub dripping wet, and while the wood deck surrounding the tub provides some texture, I often worry that one of them will slip and fall while acting like kids do. I chose this Behr Premium Textured DeckOver Wood And Concrete Coating to finish the deck and make it a little safer for my wild grandkids and yet add some nice color to the deck. I began this project by using the Behr All-In-One Wood Cleaner mixed 50-50 with water, to get a good clean wood surface. The wood cleaner works great, and really gives the paint something good to bond with. Like all Behr products I have ever used, this DeckOver coating Read More
          We have a hot tub room attached to our house, and my wild grandkids often get out of the tub dripping wet, and while the wood deck surrounding the tub provides some texture, I often worry that one of them will slip and fall while acting like kids do. I chose this Behr Premium Textured DeckOver Wood And Concrete Coating to finish the deck and make it a little safer for my wild grandkids and yet add some nice color to the deck. I began this project by using the Behr All-In-One Wood Cleaner mixed 50-50 with water, to get a good clean wood surface. The wood cleaner works great, and really gives the paint something good to bond with. Like all Behr products I have ever used, this DeckOver coating goes on smooth, and goes a long ways. Actually, I have always found Behr's estimate of coverage to be pretty close to real-world usage. My step-dad was a professional painter, and always used a premium brand paint that cost a lot more than Behr products do. I've used his premium brand products in the past, and while they were good, in my opinion, the Behr products are just as good, but with a much better price. Thanks Behr, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 31 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          This rectangular shaped floor lamp enhances your decor with a soft glow of light warming up your living space. The paper shade features a crinkle effect that adds texture to the lamp, while the decorative faux wood base adds a touch of elegance. The lamp requires a 100 watt bulb that is not included and is turned on and off using a pull chain switch.
           

          Correct Wattage?

          Asked by
          nrap
          ny
          August 26, 2015
          Sticker on the socket assembly says Max 23W , instructions say Maximum 100w. Which is correct?
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo
          August 29, 2015
          Answer: 
          That 23 Watts refers to a CFL (Compact Florescent) bulb.
           
          It has 4 heavy-duty casters. Adjustable shelves fit your project and needs. Perfect for organizing the office, kitchen, and more.
           

          Are extra individual shelves available for this unit?

          Asked by
          EmmysDaddyGuy
          Florida
          March 22, 2014
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo
          August 28, 2015
          Answer: 
          Probably not sold separately.
           
          It has 4 heavy-duty casters. Adjustable shelves fit your project and needs. Perfect for organizing the office, kitchen, and more.
           

          can this be used in a greenhouse without rusting?

          Asked by
          greenuhm
          augusta ga
          November 30, 2014
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo
          August 28, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes
           
          It has 4 heavy-duty casters. Adjustable shelves fit your project and needs. Perfect for organizing the office, kitchen, and more.
           

          What is the height of this unit including the wheels?

          Asked by
          Guss
          Chicago, Illinois
          January 7, 2015
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo
          August 28, 2015
          Answer: 
          77 inches
           
          It has 4 heavy-duty casters. Adjustable shelves fit your project and needs. Perfect for organizing the office, kitchen, and more.
           

          Can you lock the wheels in place?

          Asked by
          Teresa
          NY
          May 27, 2015
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo
          August 28, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 43 >>