Historian
  • Review count
    140
  • Helpfulness votes
    341
  • Average rating
    4.9
    4.9 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    June 24, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      58
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        140
      • Helpfulness votes
        341
      • Average rating
        4.9
        4.9 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        June 24, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          58
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          Put power where you need it with the GE 20 Amp Backyard Outlet with Switch and GFI Receptacle. Made of corrosion-resistant steel. The outlet's compact design allows cords to exit freely and offers a padlock provision to help prevent unauthorized access.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          The Right Product For The Job!
          PostedJune 24, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have a hot tub room that I am rehabilitating. In the room, are a outdoor ceiling fan, and a water fountain that both run on electricity. Since these electrical devices are near water, I wanted them both to be powered by a GFI outdoor circuit for the protection of my family and home. I originally got a Backyard Outlet with 2-20 Amp GFCI Receptacles made by this same company for the project. You can see my review for that product on Home Depot's website. It is a great product, but it only dawned on me when I went to install it that my only way to turn off power to the fan and fountain would be to either install a separate switch, or unplug them each time. Then I saw this 20 Amp Backyard Read More
          I have a hot tub room that I am rehabilitating. In the room, are a outdoor ceiling fan, and a water fountain that both run on electricity. Since these electrical devices are near water, I wanted them both to be powered by a GFI outdoor circuit for the protection of my family and home. I originally got a Backyard Outlet with 2-20 Amp GFCI Receptacles made by this same company for the project. You can see my review for that product on Home Depot's website. It is a great product, but it only dawned on me when I went to install it that my only way to turn off power to the fan and fountain would be to either install a separate switch, or unplug them each time. Then I saw this 20 Amp Backyard Outlet with switch and GFI Receptacle, and an idea hit me. I'll use this to accomplish what I want in the hot tub room, and then use the other box to add an outdoor power source to my deck in the back yard. On the deck, anything I will use that needs power, can easily be unplugged when not in use. In the hot tub room, the idea is to leave the fan and fountain always plugged in, and just be able to turn them off & on with a flick of a switch. So, while I ended up with two boxes, they will both get put to the perfect use.
          Before I got this 20 Amp Backyard Outlet with switch and GFI Receptacle, I was a little concerned that perhaps I might have to rewire it for what I want it to do. However, the only wiring it contains is the ground wires leading from the switch and receptacle to the ground lug on the box itself. Perfect! Not only to they leave it for you to configure how you like, but they even provided wonderful instructions in both text and diagrams!
          I like the way Midwest Electrical Products makes this box! There are knock-outs on the back, both sides, and the bottom to route your wiring. It is designed to keep rain, snow and most normal moisture at bay, yet ventilate, be easy to access, and lock to prevent tampering. And for people like myself, another feature I really like is they provide GE switches and receptacles that are approved for aluminum wiring! Most people are not aware, but back in the 1970's when our house was built, copper prices were high, so many cheap builders used aluminum wire for house wiring. That was a big mistake, because if not wired correctly, it can cause fires. So, if you are one of those unlucky people who has a house wired in aluminum, you need switches and receptacles that are rated CU/AL, which means they are safe with copper and aluminum wire. Sometimes you have to pay more for such devices, or they are harder to find, but this company was very thoughtful in providing them inside this box! As it happens, I will be wiring this box with copper, but it is worth mentioning the CU/AL rating on these!
          All in all, I am very happy with this product, and the other box I got from them earlier. Thanks Midwest Electric Products and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          RIDGID introduces the ability to power all your 18-Volt tools with the new RIDGID 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Starter Kit. This 18-Volt charger features Rapid Charge Time, Smart Charging, Cold/Hot Warning and Energy Save Mode. This 2.0Ah battery will give the user up to 2X more runtime and has 2X longer life compared to standard Lithium-Ion batteries. This tool comes with a standard 3 year warranty. Free Parts and free service for 3 years. Includes R840086 2.0Ah Battery, R840095 Charger and Operator’s Manuals.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Rigid Makes A Great Hit With This New Product!
          PostedJune 18, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I'll freely admit I was already a big fan of Rigid tools, but this new Rigid 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Starter Kit is a great new product! The obvious innovation here is the new battery-charger design. It hangs on the wall, which in itself is a big plus, removing clutter from my work-bench top, and putting the charger up at eye level. It may just be my imagination, but it even seems to charge faster than my older model Rigid charger. The instructions say typically 30 minutes. I didn't time it on a fully depleted battery, but I can say it charged up a battery pretty quickly. I was already a big fan of Rigid's 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion 2.0 Ah high capacity battery, which will hold a charge for Read More
          I'll freely admit I was already a big fan of Rigid tools, but this new Rigid 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Starter Kit is a great new product! The obvious innovation here is the new battery-charger design. It hangs on the wall, which in itself is a big plus, removing clutter from my work-bench top, and putting the charger up at eye level. It may just be my imagination, but it even seems to charge faster than my older model Rigid charger. The instructions say typically 30 minutes. I didn't time it on a fully depleted battery, but I can say it charged up a battery pretty quickly. I was already a big fan of Rigid's 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion 2.0 Ah high capacity battery, which will hold a charge for quite a long time while working a tool. So, with this cool new charger, and a spare 2.0 Ah battery, you really do get a lot for your money here. Thanks Rigid, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design, fast charging!
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Johnson 6 in. Combination Square features computer-machined edges for accuracy. Its cast-zinc head slides along the square's blade and it can be locked into position to help transfer and hold a distance while you draw a line.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          One Impressive Little Square
          PostedJune 2, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I needed to fill out an order to get free shipping from Home Depot, and found this little combination square. I've been meaning to get one for a long time, but it was never a big enough need to rush out and buy one. I do some gunsmithing, reloading ammo, and LOTS of work around the house, so I'll find all kinds of uses for it. It seems well made and works as it should. I am glad I got it, and have no complaints whatsoever. Thanks Home Depot!
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Dremel 1/8 in. Multi-Max Grout Removal Blade is designed for removing grout from between wall or floor tiles. It's ideal for do-it-yourselfers or trade professionals.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Grout Removal Just Got Much Easier!
          PostedJune 2, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We had some grout that wasn't mixed right, and needs to be removed and replaced. Its the hard polymer-mixed grout, so removing it by hand with a hand tool is a real pain. I ordered a couple of these Dremel blades, and figured it was worth a shot. Oh boy, what a great purchase! They fit on my Dremel oscillating tool, as well as my Rigid JobMax tool. These blades tear into that hard grout like it is loose dirt! My 3-year old granddaughter was so fascinated by it, now she's begging me to let her do it. It really is that easy. I highly recommend these blades to anyone needing to remove grout!
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Long-Lasting
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          The RIDGID 18-Volt Compact Drill/Driver delivers 535 in. lbs. of torque in a more compact size to power through the most demanding applications. This kit includes (2) 2.0Ah Lithium-Ion batteries that deliver 2X the runtime compare to standard lithium. In addition to the increase runtime, these batteries also have Triple Protection Electronics, Best-in-Class Weather Performance that operates down to -4°F (-20°C) and a Fuel Gauge. With free registration, this tool is covered under the RIDGID Limited Lifetime Service Agreement. Free batteries, free parts, free service and for life.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          My New Go-To Drill
          PostedJune 1, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have a heavy duty (and heavy weight) corded 1/2 inch drill, and a battery powered 1/2 inch drill. The corded drill is built like a tank, but it is heavy, and requires dragging a cord around with you. The other battery powered drill works well, but makes a clattering noise sometimes that makes me think it can't last long. This Rigid 18-Volt Lithium-Ion 1/2 Inch Cordless Compact Drill/Driver Kit seems to have the same power that my corded drill does, without all the clatter noise and a more solid feel than my other cordless drill has. It also feels slightly heavier than the other cordless does as well, without being excessively heavy. According to Rigid, this drill delivers 535 inch-pounds Read More
          I have a heavy duty (and heavy weight) corded 1/2 inch drill, and a battery powered 1/2 inch drill. The corded drill is built like a tank, but it is heavy, and requires dragging a cord around with you. The other battery powered drill works well, but makes a clattering noise sometimes that makes me think it can't last long. This Rigid 18-Volt Lithium-Ion 1/2 Inch Cordless Compact Drill/Driver Kit seems to have the same power that my corded drill does, without all the clatter noise and a more solid feel than my other cordless drill has. It also feels slightly heavier than the other cordless does as well, without being excessively heavy. According to Rigid, this drill delivers 535 inch-pounds of torque. The chuck on this drill has a better feel and more positive lock on the drill bits than my other drills have. There are two speed settings, and a wide variety of torque settings to choose from. The side-brace handle locks across the top in a bridge manner, and can be switched from side to side. The belt hook also can be switched from side to side with the phillips-head screw they include. There is a combination phillips and slotted screwdriver bit included, and attached at the back of the handle. The grip feels great in the hand, with a solid feel, and has a good balance. The trigger is very comfortable to use. The kit comes with two batteries, and a charger. The batteries hold a charge for a good long time, and recharge in about an hour or so. The whole kit fits into a nice cloth storage bag that also is included. I would highly recommend this kit to homeowners and pros. Thanks Rigid, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, good ergonomic feel
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 28 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          The Belleville 7-Piece Patio Dining Set will help you to create the ideal outdoor dining setting for a larger group of people. This steel outdoor dining set comes with C-spring sling chairs and a tile top dining table. Take advantage of a beautiful day or a pleasant evening and have an outdoor meal or invite a few friends over to your home. The Belleville set, finished in antique bronze with a powder-coated finish, brings added style into your outdoor seating area. The set has been designed with a rust-resistant steel frame and a UV-protected sling fabric to incorporate comfort and durability into your outdoor seating areas. Entertain your guests and enjoy the presence of those closest to you from the comforts of your own home.
           

          Can I just order a table for a belleville dining set? The glass in my table shattered.

          Asked by
          Janet
          Shirley, NY
          July 1, 2015
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 2, 2015
          Answer: 
          Contact Home Depot Customer Service
           
          The Ryobi Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Attachment for Trimmer helps you eliminate unsightly weeds and pulpy stalks from your yard. The straight-shaft attachment can be used with Ryobi, Toro, Weed Eater and Troy Bilt Trimmer.
           

          Will this attachment fit my Poulan Pro PP125. I know it is not on the list of machines that it will work on.

          Asked by
          Dan127
          Independence, Missouri
          January 18, 2014
          I have a Poulan Pro PP125 weed trimmer. Need a good attachment to cut brush and heavy weeds. I am interested in using the Ryobi Expand-It 8 inch brush cutter. Thought maybe someone had tried it on their Poulan. Thanks for any help you may be able to offer.
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 1, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes, it should.
           
          The Ryobi Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Attachment for Trimmer helps you eliminate unsightly weeds and pulpy stalks from your yard. The straight-shaft attachment can be used with Ryobi, Toro, Weed Eater and Troy Bilt Trimmer.
           

          Will this attachment work on my Toto 14" Electric trimmer/Model #51480?

          Asked by
          DeJo
          Denair, CA
          April 6, 2015
          I want to know before I purchase it.
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 1, 2015
          Answer: 
          No, it will not.
           
          The Ryobi Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Attachment for Trimmer helps you eliminate unsightly weeds and pulpy stalks from your yard. The straight-shaft attachment can be used with Ryobi, Toro, Weed Eater and Troy Bilt Trimmer.
           

          Will this attachment fit the Ryobi RY40225 power head?

          Asked by
          valgal
          San Diego. CA
          April 12, 2015
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 1, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes it will.
           
          The Ryobi Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Attachment for Trimmer helps you eliminate unsightly weeds and pulpy stalks from your yard. The straight-shaft attachment can be used with Ryobi, Toro, Weed Eater and Troy Bilt Trimmer.
           

          will this fit the Homelite ZIP start head?

          Asked by
          daveprc
          Nashua NH
          May 18, 2015
          none
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 1, 2015
          Answer: 
          It may. I looked at the parts manual for your Homelite, and it looks like it accepts an attachment like this.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>