Historian
  • Review count
    231
  • Helpfulness votes
    519
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    September 22, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      496
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        231
      • Helpfulness votes
        519
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        September 22, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          496
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          The AquaPro 1 HP stainless steel/cast-iron submersible sump pump is ideal for use in rugged applications. The oil-filled, high-efficiency PSC motor is equipped with durable ball bearings and automatic thermal protection. An innovative reed sensor vertical float switch provides performance reliability.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Much Nicer Pump, Than Our Old One!
          PostedSeptember 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Our old pump tended to get clogged a lot, and burned out. The problem was that the input was at the bottom, so it sucked up silt. The house has an underground river under it, so the basement tends to flood fairly regularly. This AquaPro pump has a iron base, with a stainless steel body. Most importantly, it's input is raised up just above the bottom plate, so any silt will be more likely to stay out of it. Yes, that means I'll have to shovel that silt up more often, but I'd rather do that than burn out pumps. At 5100 gallons per hour, this 1 hp pump also works much faster than our old 1/2 hp one did too! It came double-boxed, so I was also impressed with the packaging. Thanks AquaPro and Read More
          Our old pump tended to get clogged a lot, and burned out. The problem was that the input was at the bottom, so it sucked up silt. The house has an underground river under it, so the basement tends to flood fairly regularly. This AquaPro pump has a iron base, with a stainless steel body. Most importantly, it's input is raised up just above the bottom plate, so any silt will be more likely to stay out of it. Yes, that means I'll have to shovel that silt up more often, but I'd rather do that than burn out pumps. At 5100 gallons per hour, this 1 hp pump also works much faster than our old 1/2 hp one did too! It came double-boxed, so I was also impressed with the packaging. Thanks AquaPro and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, Reliable
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Polyblend 10.5 fl. oz. Sanded Ceramic Tile Caulk features a siliconized, latex-based formula for caulking around sinks, tubs and showers and where tile meets tile or another surface. Also adheres bath fixtures and loose tiles. Formula offers great durability and bond strengths.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Verified Purchase:Yes
          I love this caulk!
          PostedSeptember 6, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We are remodeling our kitchen, and used tile for our counter-top. This caulk worked perfect for sealing the area where our sink meets the tile, and for sealing the area where the tile counter-top meets the tile back-splash. Plus, it matches our grout in color perfectly! Great stuff!
          Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Try this House of Fara 1/4 in. x 3/4 in. x 8 ft. Oak Screen (WM142) moulding if you ft.re looking to add interest and dimension to your room or project. This solid oak moulding adds a touch of charming old-fashioned elegance. Manufactured from solid hardwood, it may be clear coated, stained or painted to match your existing decor. Its unique detail will add an architectural touch to any room or project.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Purchase frequency:Yearly
          Verified Purchase:Yes
          A great addon-trim for our kitchen remodel!
          PostedSeptember 6, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This moulding was made for screens, but I needed a small plain trim to dress out the trim on our tile kitchen counter-top, and this was the perfect solution. The pieces were delivered fast and arrived perfect and straight. Plus, the red oak matches our new cabinets!
          Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical, Great Value, High Quality, Seals Well, Straight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The house of fara 3/4 in. x 1-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Oak counter trim moulding is versatile and can be used as edging or for a variety of other projects. Manufactured from solid red oak hardwood, it may be clear coated, stained or painted to match your existing decor. Its unique detail will add an architectural touch to your counter top or project.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Purchase frequency:Yearly
          Verified Purchase:Yes
          Perfect trim solution for a tile counter-top!
          PostedSeptember 6, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We are installing tile for the counter-top of our new kitchen cabinets. Tile trim is unbelievably expensive and can cost you far more than the actual tile you are trimming. We needed a trim to cover the edges of the counter-tops, and this was the perfect solution. The pieces were delivered quickly, and were straight and perfect, and best of all, the red oak wood matches our cabinets.
          Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Performs Well, Seals Well, Straight, Stylish
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Polyblend is America's No. 1 grout. The non-sanded grout is polymer-modified to produce hard, dense joints that are resistant to shrinking, cracking and wear. It is formulated with proprietary technology to ensure durability, color consistency and quick setting.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Verified Purchase:Yes
          Great for small, tight grout lines or murals!
          PostedSeptember 6, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I got this grout for use on a kitchen counter-top, backsplash and a tile mural I am installing in a kitchen remodel. I have found that by using a flexible bladed putty knife, rather than a tile float, I can consistently get the grout into the cracks better, and control it. Once it begins to set, I use a green kitchen scratch pad to knock loose any thick areas of grout on the tile surface, then wipe down with a damp sponge. This is great grout!
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 47 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          Try this House of Fara 1/4 in. x 3/4 in. x 8 ft. Oak Screen (WM142) moulding if you ft.re looking to add interest and dimension to your room or project. This solid oak moulding adds a touch of charming old-fashioned elegance. Manufactured from solid hardwood, it may be clear coated, stained or painted to match your existing decor. Its unique detail will add an architectural touch to any room or project.
           

          Is this red oak or white oak?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Sterling Heights Michih=gan
          July 21, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          September 6, 2016
          Answer: 
          This is red oak.
           
          An ideal choice for your space, the MS International Piazza Ivory 18 in. x 18 in. Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile features a textured, low-sheen finish to help add style to your decor. This multicolored tile with a natural stone look adds class to a contemporary aesthetic. With rectified edges, this tile is easier to install with minimally visible grout joints. Suitable for medium-duty commercial or residential floors and walls, install this tile to incorporate a distinctive personal signature in a wide variety of designs and patterns.
           

          Why do the heavy splotches on this tile not appear?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          St. Louis
          March 7, 2014
          The first tile looks great in the box. But there are some heavy darkened colors that look terrible in the mix and no warning that they are there.
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          September 6, 2016
          Answer: 
          The color and pattern of this tile was made to look like marble. If you had used real marble, you'd have the same situation where the pattern would vary slightly from one tile to another. If you don't like that, then choose a plain colored tile.
           
          An ideal choice for your space, the MS International Piazza Ivory 18 in. x 18 in. Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile features a textured, low-sheen finish to help add style to your decor. This multicolored tile with a natural stone look adds class to a contemporary aesthetic. With rectified edges, this tile is easier to install with minimally visible grout joints. Suitable for medium-duty commercial or residential floors and walls, install this tile to incorporate a distinctive personal signature in a wide variety of designs and patterns.
           

          You see this beautiful tile in the box top and on the website. Why are there dark splotches in the corner of 1 or 2 that ruin this beautiful tile?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          St. Louis, MO
          March 8, 2014
          Very upsetting to be misled by this tile look. My floor is layed and the pattern is terrible on some. There is no flow. It looks like I used a total different tile interspersed in it.
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          September 6, 2016
          Answer: 
          The color and pattern of this tile was made to look like marble. If you had used real marble, you'd have the same situation where the pattern would vary slightly from one tile to another. If you don't like that, then choose a plain colored tile.
           
          An ideal choice for your space, the MS International Piazza Ivory 18 in. x 18 in. Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile features a textured, low-sheen finish to help add style to your decor. This multicolored tile with a natural stone look adds class to a contemporary aesthetic. With rectified edges, this tile is easier to install with minimally visible grout joints. Suitable for medium-duty commercial or residential floors and walls, install this tile to incorporate a distinctive personal signature in a wide variety of designs and patterns.
           

          Is it good for the kitchen floor

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          February 12, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          September 6, 2016
          Answer: 
          It is fabulous tile!
           
          An ideal choice for your space, the MS International Piazza Ivory 18 in. x 18 in. Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile features a textured, low-sheen finish to help add style to your decor. This multicolored tile with a natural stone look adds class to a contemporary aesthetic. With rectified edges, this tile is easier to install with minimally visible grout joints. Suitable for medium-duty commercial or residential floors and walls, install this tile to incorporate a distinctive personal signature in a wide variety of designs and patterns.
           

          Does this tile need to be sealed?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Thousand Oaks, CA
          June 9, 2014
          It is being installed over concrete patio in southern California
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          September 6, 2016
          Answer: 
          No, just seal your grout.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 100 >>