Historian
  • Review count
    148
  • Helpfulness votes
    355
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    July 27, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      159
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        148
      • Helpfulness votes
        355
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        July 27, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          159
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          Whether in the office, kitchen or garage, workbenches offer an ideal work surface for your creative projects. With plenty of space to work with, the Metal Workbench with Bamboo Top from NewAge Products is equipped with tons of features to create an efficient and versatile working environment. Powerbar mounting, a tablet stand, an organization tray for your tools, adjustable leveling feet and a bamboo worktop complete this durable workstation.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          The Bamboo Top Benches Are More Durable, But Still Suffer From Poor Packaging
          PostedJuly 27, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This bamboo-topped workbench was the third I assembled. The first two were the stainless steel topped models, and both arrived dented and dinged from horrible packaging. The packaging for these workbenches is horrible at best. They include styrofoam blocks to keep the pieces from sliding around inside the box, but there is no real protection from outside forces during shipping. As a result, this workbench also arrived slightly damaged, albeit not as badly the stainless steel topped ones. The manufacturer really needs to rethink how they package these benches because items being shipped are exposed to all sorts of bumps and rough handling en-transit. Luckily, this bamboo topped model arrived Read More
          This bamboo-topped workbench was the third I assembled. The first two were the stainless steel topped models, and both arrived dented and dinged from horrible packaging. The packaging for these workbenches is horrible at best. They include styrofoam blocks to keep the pieces from sliding around inside the box, but there is no real protection from outside forces during shipping. As a result, this workbench also arrived slightly damaged, albeit not as badly the stainless steel topped ones. The manufacturer really needs to rethink how they package these benches because items being shipped are exposed to all sorts of bumps and rough handling en-transit. Luckily, this bamboo topped model arrived in much better shape than the other two. It did have some minor damage in the form of slightly dented corners, but is not so noticeable.
          Being bamboo, I was actually expecting this bench top to be far more fragile than the stainless steel models, but I found quite the opposite to be true. The stainless steel they use is very thin, and gets dented and dinged easily. By contrast, the bamboo is pretty tough, and much tougher than you would expect for such wood. And, it actually looks very pretty! By the time I got around to assembling this workbench, it was dark outside, but by then I had it all figured out and could do it blindfolded. I also learned a couple handy tricks from my previous experience, so that helped too.
          First off, the instructions say to drill pilot holes for the screws that go into the bamboo. That is a must, or you risk splitting the wood. When screwing the pilot holes for the back edge, where the tool tray attaches, ignore the drill bit size they suggest, and get one just under size for the big screws that go there. The front and back overlap measurements they give you for the top in relation to the leg system is all wrong, so ignore that as well. In fact, if you leave an overlap for the top on the back side, you'll find that the tool tray will hang down on the back side. So, mount the bench top flush with the leg brackets on the back side, and leave out the top bolts on the back at each end. Then, when you mount your tool tray, it will be supported on the underside, and hang squarely. I didn't feel like the loss of those two bolts weakened the workbench at all, but if you feel the need to have them, drill new holes, and run bolts and nuts through in another spot. When it is all said and done, this is a nice looking workbench, and could easily become a piece of furniture in your house, rather than a workshop.
          Thanks New Age, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Sturdy, bamboo top is nice and durable
          Cons: horrible packaging, poor instructions
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Whether in the office, kitchen or garage, workbenches offer an ideal work surface for your creative projects. With plenty of space to work with, the Metal Workbench with Stainless Steel Top from NewAge Products is equipped with tons of features to create an efficient and versatile working environment. Powerbar mounting, a tablet stand, an organization tray for your tools, adjustable leveling feet and a stainless steel worktop complete this durable workstation.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Potentially A Nice Workbench, But Poor Packaging
          PostedJuly 27, 2015
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          My experience with this workbench was slightly better than the 8 foot one I got, partly because it arrived less damaged than the bigger one, and partly because I learned a lesson or two with the first one I assembled. The packaging for these workbenches is horrible at best. They include styrofoam blocks to keep the pieces from sliding around inside the box, but there is no real protection from outside forces during shipping. As a result, this workbench also arrived damaged, albeit not as badly as its bigger and heavier brother. The manufacturer really needs to rethink how they package these benches because items being shipped are exposed to all sorts of bumps and rough handling Read More
          My experience with this workbench was slightly better than the 8 foot one I got, partly because it arrived less damaged than the bigger one, and partly because I learned a lesson or two with the first one I assembled. The packaging for these workbenches is horrible at best. They include styrofoam blocks to keep the pieces from sliding around inside the box, but there is no real protection from outside forces during shipping. As a result, this workbench also arrived damaged, albeit not as badly as its bigger and heavier brother. The manufacturer really needs to rethink how they package these benches because items being shipped are exposed to all sorts of bumps and rough handling en-transit.
          The illustrations in the instructions are well-done, but you really need to just ignore the text for the most part, and use your own common sense for best results. The instructions have you leave an overhang of the top in relation to the leg section below, when mounting the top. The problem with that, is that by time you attach the tool tray, the lower part of the tool tray has no support, and it will hang down on the back side. I discovered that if you attach the top so that the back edge is flush with the rear leg bracket, and leave out the top bolts on the back of the leg bracket at each end, by time you attach the tool tray, it will hang square, since it is being supported from below by the leg bracket. See my photos for details. Leaving out those two top bolts from the leg bracket on the back side doesn't appreciably reduce strength much, and you can always drill and run bolts & nuts through there nearby if you feel the need. I still believe that the manufacturer should have supplied lag-bolts and washers for attaching that tool tray, instead of the screws they provided.
          I really like the powder coated steel leg/bracket system in these benches. That is a nice touch. As with the larger bench I got, the bolt holes lined up nicely, but again I stress, that you should finger-tighten all bolts before cinching them down with a wrench. On mine, some of the sections were not squared, so assembling like this allows the bolts to all get positioned, and as you tighten them, they pull any bent parts into place. The manufacturer only provides an exact number of bolts, screws, nuts and washers, so be sure to not lose any. The instructions say to use a specific size drill bit for drilling the pilot holes for the screws that attach the tool tray. Ignore that, and get yourself a bit that is just under size for those screws. The wood under these stainless steel tops is very dense when screwed from the edges, so you'll need bigger pilot holes to get the screws all the way in without stripping them. The stainless steel sheets they cover the tops with is unbelievable thin for a workbench, so also be careful when handling it, as it will dent easily.
          All in all, I cannot honestly say that I would recommend this workbench to anyone. Read Less
          Pros: nice powder coating on the steel leg system
          Cons: Not Durable, horrible packaging, poor instructions, thin stainless steel top, poor tool tray attachment
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Workbenches are versatile work stations. Whether in the office, kitchen or garage, workbenches offer an ideal work surface for your creative projects. With plenty of space to work with, our Workbenches are equipped with tons of features to create an efficient and versatile working environment. Powerbar mounting, a tablet stand, an organization tray for your tools, adjustable leveling feet and a choice of either a stainless steel or bamboo worktop to complete your workstation.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Potentially A Good Workbench But Poor Packaging Is Its Downfall
          PostedJuly 27, 2015
          Overall rating 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Value 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          I'll start off by saying that I was excited about getting this workbench and two others by the same manufacturer. This one arrived first. For starters, these benches come woefully poorly packaged. The cardboard of the box is so flimsy you can easily tear it with your bare hands. There is very little padding inside the box, and what does exist is mainly intended to keep the parts from sliding into each other inside the box. As for protecting the contents from outside forces, there is no protection. I cannot imagine what the manufacturer was thinking. This is an 8-foot, VERY heavy product, and was shipped from China to Canada, and finally to the US. You have to anticipate that along the way, Read More
          I'll start off by saying that I was excited about getting this workbench and two others by the same manufacturer. This one arrived first. For starters, these benches come woefully poorly packaged. The cardboard of the box is so flimsy you can easily tear it with your bare hands. There is very little padding inside the box, and what does exist is mainly intended to keep the parts from sliding into each other inside the box. As for protecting the contents from outside forces, there is no protection. I cannot imagine what the manufacturer was thinking. This is an 8-foot, VERY heavy product, and was shipped from China to Canada, and finally to the US. You have to anticipate that along the way, the packaging is going to be subjected to rough handling in transit! As a result of this awful packaging, the workbench arrived damaged in multiple places.
          The instructions included have some nice illustrations, but bear in mind these are generic instructions that are intended to fit all their workbenches, and are not specific to the product in hand. For instance, the measurements given for attaching the top to the legs assembly is totally wrong. This 8 foot bench has a brace bracket that stabilizes the legs, and it needs to be attached between the legs on the back side, yet there is no mention of this bracket anywhere in the instructions. There are also bolt holes on the legs at the front of the bench, where this bracket could attach, so that made me think at first that perhaps I was missing a bracket. Making their instructions detail such information would have saved me a lot of time and frustration.
          The stainless steel in this bench is so thin that it can easily be dented and dinged, and not only was mine damaged by shipping, but the stainless steel of the top was also rippled like water waves. Contrary to what you might expect, the bamboo top on their other model is actually a more durable top than this stainless steel is. When it came time to attach the tool tray to the back of the bench, I had some more lessons in store for me. The stainless steel models come with pre-drilled holes in the steel, and the instructions tell you what size drill bit to use to drill holes for the screws that attach the tray to the top. I'm not sure what kind of wood is under that steel, but it is extremely dense, and there is no way you can screw those fat screws into a hole that small, and I began stripping the screw heads. I ended up drilling much bigger pilot holes than they tell you to, just so I could get the screws to go in all the way. Once installed, the tool tray hangs down at the back edge, since it doesn't have full support, and only hangs by these four screws. Instead of these screws, the manufacturer should have provided lag-bolts and washers to more securely attach the tool tray. The bracket for cell phones or tablets is a nice idea, but my phone in its case would not fit, so I had to bend the bracket ears outward to allow my phone to sit in the cradle.
          I did very much like the powder coating to the steel legs and brackets. the bolt holes and nut-ends all lined up nicely. I would suggest that you put all the bolts into their holes and finger--tighten before cinching them down with a wrench. Some of my parts were bent out of true, so getting all the bolts in place prior to tightening them down helped pull the bent parts together as I tightened the bolts.
          All in all, I ended up frustrated and very disappointed in this workbench, and cannot honestly recommend it to anyone. Read Less
          Pros: nice powder coating to lower sections
          Cons: Not Durable, horrible packaging, badly written instructions, poor design
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Courant is a traditional faucet design that works well with a wide array of bathroom styles. Its decorative handles and high arc spout will add a touch of elegance to any bathroom remodel or faucet replacement. The swivel spout adds extra functionality when hand washing clothing or washing your hands.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          I Love This Bathroom Faucet!
          PostedJuly 20, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I will begin by saying that I have not installed this Courant 8 Inch Widespread 2-Handle Bathroom Faucet by Pfister yet, as I need to install the new vanity it is going in first, and that is waiting on some other work being done in the remodel project. I have examined the fit and finish of this faucet however, and have to say it is not only gorgeous, but well designed too. Pfister puts a lifetime warranty on this faucet, so I am not the least worried about it working like its supposed to. The vanity and top it will be installed in, are white, but this would look great in just about any color scheme bathroom. Those white handles add a very nice antique look, yet the faucet internal design is Read More
          I will begin by saying that I have not installed this Courant 8 Inch Widespread 2-Handle Bathroom Faucet by Pfister yet, as I need to install the new vanity it is going in first, and that is waiting on some other work being done in the remodel project. I have examined the fit and finish of this faucet however, and have to say it is not only gorgeous, but well designed too. Pfister puts a lifetime warranty on this faucet, so I am not the least worried about it working like its supposed to. The vanity and top it will be installed in, are white, but this would look great in just about any color scheme bathroom. Those white handles add a very nice antique look, yet the faucet internal design is about as modern and eco-friendly as you can get. The chrome finish itself looks well-done and thickly coated on the metal. All my parts fit together perfectly, and everything was in the box that is supposed to be. I like that the 7.8 inch high-arch faucet spout rotates like a kitchen faucet! The rubber gaskets and brass fittings are also nice touches. So many faucets these days are all plastic, so kudos to Pfister for not scrimping on quality! You'll need 1/2 inch supply hoses or tubes for this install. I really love that push-button drain! Everyone knows that the old-fashioned lift-lever style drains are sometimes difficult to get adjusted right, and their mechanism tends to catch hair and other gunk that clogs and makes your drain stink. This mechanism should eliminate all those problems. Its simplicity is fabulous! I have installed many, many faucets over the years, and can honestly say that I can't find one thing about this faucet to complain about. Thanks Pfister, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The New Defiant Bluetooth smart LED motion security light with DualBrite chases away night time darkness. No need to climb ladders for motion sensor adjustment as the innovative use of Bluetooth smart Technology allows sensor control from your smart phone device. Bluetooth smart technology allows control of light level outside your home by adjustable dimming feature. LED technology provides no bulbs to change. Install quick and safely with DIY friendly 3 Easy Steps to Connect. The DualBrite feature protects and saves energy by utilizing accent light from Dusk-to-Dawn and full light when motion is detected. Energy Star certified.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Brilliant Security Light Design
          PostedJuly 20, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We had some old security lights that used about 200 watts of electricity, and from the beginning, their motion detectors were unreliable. If you needed to adjust the detectors, you'd drag out the extension ladder, climb up, make an adjustment, then go test it out to see if it was correct or not. Expensive, and lots of hassle, to say the least. This Defiant 270 Degree 2350 Lumen LED Motion Security Light With Bluetooth Sensor is a brilliant solution to a old problem! First, it's made by Heathco. The Heath Company has been around making electronics since I was born, and I am as old as dirt! Needless to say, they know their stuff when it comes to electronics.
          This fixture has a very clever Read More
          We had some old security lights that used about 200 watts of electricity, and from the beginning, their motion detectors were unreliable. If you needed to adjust the detectors, you'd drag out the extension ladder, climb up, make an adjustment, then go test it out to see if it was correct or not. Expensive, and lots of hassle, to say the least. This Defiant 270 Degree 2350 Lumen LED Motion Security Light With Bluetooth Sensor is a brilliant solution to a old problem! First, it's made by Heathco. The Heath Company has been around making electronics since I was born, and I am as old as dirt! Needless to say, they know their stuff when it comes to electronics.
          This fixture has a very clever design that makes installation a breeze. You unscrew a screw mounted in the front, between the two LED lights, and that separates the main fixture from a back-plate. After mounting an included metal bracket to your junction box, this back-plate attaches to that, after you feed your wires through the backplate. They've made attaching your wires very easy to lugs mounted on the back-plate. Once you have that done, you slip the fixture onto the back-plate, and screw it back down, and caulk around it. I would suggest using a good silicone sealant to weather-proof it.
          The lights and motion detector have a fairly decent range of adjustment movement, so you can point them as needed. The lights themselves will cover a 270-degree field of area to light up. Rather than suck up a horrible 200 watts of electricity like our old lights, this fabulous fixture uses just 28 Watts to produce 2350 Lumens of light at a 5000 K light brightness temperature. They say this light will only cost you about $3.37 a year to operate! I don't want to think about how much those old 200 Watt fixtures have been costing us! The motion detector will cover an area up to 70 feet. And, the fixture is very light-weight, so you won't be struggling with a heavy fixture while doing the installation.
          One thing to make note of, the free Bluetooth Android app requires Android 4.3 or later to function. I learned this the hard way, when I couldn't find the app available to me on the Google Play Store. It took a phonecall to Heathco's technical support to find out why the Play Store wasn't showing me the app (my phone operating system was too old!). I will add here that customer service was very quick and friendly to deal with, so thanks to Heathco and Home Depot for great service! I upgraded my phone to a newer Android version, and was able to install and use the Bluetooth App. The app itself is very straight forward and not hard to use. And best of all, it saves you from climbing up and down ladders to make adjustments! If you don't have an Apple or Android phone, the light fixture will still work on preset manual functions, but you're better off if you can use the Bluetooth app, as it gives you far more options.
          All in all, I really like this fixture, and would like to get more to replace those other old energy-sucking fixtures we have. Thanks Heathco and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +2points
          2out of 2found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 30 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          The Belleville 7-Piece Patio Dining Set will help you to create the ideal outdoor dining setting for a larger group of people. This steel outdoor dining set comes with C-spring sling chairs and a tile top dining table. Take advantage of a beautiful day or a pleasant evening and have an outdoor meal or invite a few friends over to your home. The Belleville set, finished in antique bronze with a powder-coated finish, brings added style into your outdoor seating area. The set has been designed with a rust-resistant steel frame and a UV-protected sling fabric to incorporate comfort and durability into your outdoor seating areas. Entertain your guests and enjoy the presence of those closest to you from the comforts of your own home.
           

          Are there matching swivel chairs available for purchase?

          Asked by
          Dave
          Dade City, FL
          April 2, 2015
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo
          July 29, 2015
          Answer: 
          No.
           
          The Belleville 7-Piece Patio Dining Set will help you to create the ideal outdoor dining setting for a larger group of people. This steel outdoor dining set comes with C-spring sling chairs and a tile top dining table. Take advantage of a beautiful day or a pleasant evening and have an outdoor meal or invite a few friends over to your home. The Belleville set, finished in antique bronze with a powder-coated finish, brings added style into your outdoor seating area. The set has been designed with a rust-resistant steel frame and a UV-protected sling fabric to incorporate comfort and durability into your outdoor seating areas. Entertain your guests and enjoy the presence of those closest to you from the comforts of your own home.
           

          How do I purchase one replacement chair?

          Asked by
          Bill
          Pleasanton, Ca.
          May 26, 2015
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo
          July 29, 2015
          Answer: 
          Home Depot doesn't sell these chairs individually, but does offer them in pairs: Model # FCS80198-2PK
           
          The Belleville 7-Piece Patio Dining Set will help you to create the ideal outdoor dining setting for a larger group of people. This steel outdoor dining set comes with C-spring sling chairs and a tile top dining table. Take advantage of a beautiful day or a pleasant evening and have an outdoor meal or invite a few friends over to your home. The Belleville set, finished in antique bronze with a powder-coated finish, brings added style into your outdoor seating area. The set has been designed with a rust-resistant steel frame and a UV-protected sling fabric to incorporate comfort and durability into your outdoor seating areas. Entertain your guests and enjoy the presence of those closest to you from the comforts of your own home.
           

          can I purchase 1 chair only from this set?

          Asked by
          George
          Zanesville Ohio
          July 27, 2015
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo
          July 29, 2015
          Answer: 
          Home Depot doesn't sell single chairs of this model, but they do sell them in pairs. Model # FCS80198-2PK currently for $139.00
           
          The RM 2570 Wrangler straight shaft Trimmer is lightweight and provides longer reach for trimming under hedges or fences. The quick starting system reduces pulling effort. Release additional trimming line while operating with ease by tapping the cutting head on the ground. This trimmer also has the ability to accept most trimmer fitting attachments.
           

          Does this trimmer have a lawn broom attachment?

          Asked by
          Michael
          July 26, 2015
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo
          July 28, 2015
          Answer: 
          No.
           
          Gain a set of extra eyes with the Premium Series 4-Channel 500GB Surveillance System and watch over your property or assets in high resolution. This DVR provides you with real-time D1 resolution, which offers four times the detail and clarity of conventional CIF resolution. At 120 FPS (30 FPS per channel), recorded video will appear smooth and fluid. Not only can you watch over your backyard with confidence, you can rest assured that it will all be captured in real time so you never miss a moment. Enjoy the convenience and security of a complete system with the four included high-resolution cameras. The QM6510B cameras are premium cameras that offer 900TVL of resolution. Coupled with the DVR's real-time D1 resolution, this system offers large, detailed images that actually deliver. Darkness doesn't stop these cameras either. Thanks to 36 high-quality infrared LEDs, the QM6510B can see up to an impressive 100 ft. in the dark while still offering the same quality, in black and white, as you would expect in daytime. Day or night, the camera's high-resolution capabilities and infrared cut filter ensure images will be clear, crisp and accurate. Always capture the details with this DVR's real-time full D1 resolution. A full 30 FPS means recorded video on all channels will be smooth and fluid.
           

          If you wanted to add two additional cameras to this unit, Is that possible?

          Asked by
          Deedeemeeks
          West Palm Beach Florida
          July 26, 2015
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo
          July 27, 2015
          Answer: 
          You could if you could rig a splitter/switcher. They make systems with more cameras already, and Home Depot sells them.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 32 >>