Historian
  • Review count
    354
  • Helpfulness votes
    738
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    November 30, 2017
 
  • Question count
    1
     
    • Answer count
      511
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        354
      • Helpfulness votes
        738
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        November 30, 2017
       
      • Question count
        1
         
        • Answer count
          511
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          The Lithonia Lighting 4 ft. 40-Watt Chrome Integrated LED Diamond Plate Shop Light provides energy-efficient task lighting or general purpose lighting for utility applications such as workshops, garages and basements. This shop light is designed and manufactured to compliment a workshop's popular diamond plate storage cabinets and workbenches. It is linkable and features a convenience outlet for linkability of up to 10 fixtures.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This Lithonia Lighting 4 ft. 40-Watt Chrome Integrated LED Diamond Plate Shop Light is fabulous! ...
          PostedNovember 30, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This Lithonia Lighting 4 ft. 40-Watt Chrome Integrated LED Diamond Plate Shop Light is fabulous! We got it to light up a storage shed in the yard. It produces 4,000 Lumens, at 4,000 Kelvin and just uses 40 Watts! And, it starts at 0 Degrees Fahrenheit, so it is perfect for our outdoor shed. It comes with a 5-foot power cord, and an outlet so you could string several of these together in a daisy chain. I really love the diamond plate look of the shroud. Thanks Lithonia Lighting, and Home Depot!
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Fast / Speed, Functional, Good Size & Weight, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Stylish, Unique, Very Bright, Well Made, Energy Efficient
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          Everbilt 30 lbs. Mirror Hanging Kit contains everything you need to hang mirrors. Hangers range from 20 lbs. to 30 lbs. for the wall. It also includes ring hangers, d-rings, mirror clips, saw tooth hangers, screw eyes, and picture wire to attach to the frame. The kit comes in a reusable hard shell plastic case to allow for organization and storage.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          I really like this Everbilt 83-piece Miror Hanging Kit. Besides mirrors, it can also be useful f...
          PostedNovember 30, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I really like this Everbilt 83-piece Miror Hanging Kit. Besides mirrors, it can also be useful for hanging regular framed pictures, tile murals, etc. The pieces included are rated at 30 pounds weight capacity. Compared to buying the included parts individually, or in small kits, this is really a great bargain! This is a handy set to have around. Thanks Everbilt, and Home Depot!
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design, good selection
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          ClosetMaid Style+ is a stylish, yet affordable organization solution. The clean, versatile design creates shelving storage in closets and throughout the home. The shelving tower can be used alone or in combination with other Style+ items, creating a personalized solution.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          Recently, my wife and I decided to build an extra large walk-in closet, for our old 1970's house,...
          PostedNovember 27, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Recently, my wife and I decided to build an extra large walk-in closet, for our old 1970's house, which was originally built with old-fashioned tiny closets. Storage was always a major issue for us, until now. We got this ClosetMaid Style+ 15 in. D x 17 in. W x 72 in. H White melamine Hanging 5-Shelves Closet System for my side of our new closet. We got the whole set, with the tower storage shelf, three 4-foot top shelves, and three closet bars for hanging clothes. Like most men, I don't really have all that many clothes, so this set was really overkill for me, but I suspect that my wife will be stealing some of my space to use for her clothes, so that extra space won't go to waste. The set Read More
          Recently, my wife and I decided to build an extra large walk-in closet, for our old 1970's house, which was originally built with old-fashioned tiny closets. Storage was always a major issue for us, until now. We got this ClosetMaid Style+ 15 in. D x 17 in. W x 72 in. H White melamine Hanging 5-Shelves Closet System for my side of our new closet. We got the whole set, with the tower storage shelf, three 4-foot top shelves, and three closet bars for hanging clothes. Like most men, I don't really have all that many clothes, so this set was really overkill for me, but I suspect that my wife will be stealing some of my space to use for her clothes, so that extra space won't go to waste. The set is very heavy-built and comes nicely packaged. Assembly is easy and intuitive, although it really is a two-person job due to the weight. Since it is heavy, you should either try to place the hanging tower over wall studs, or use high quality drywall anchors. We like the fact that the tower shelf hangs from the wall, to leave the floor space underneath open. It really makes for a clean look! We got the 25-inch deep set for my wife's side of the closet, and it is very nice to have both sides match in look, even if the depth sizes are different. The white color looks very clean, and brightens the whole closet area. These are made in the USA, which keeps Americans working, and I always appreciate that! I really like the high quality of this set, and doubt that I will ever lack closet space again. Thanks ClosetMaid, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Looks High End, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Sturdy, Vibrant Color, Well Made
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          ClosetMaid Style+ is a stylish, yet affordable organization solution. The clean, versatile design creates shelving storage in closets and throughout the home. The shelving tower can be used alone or in combination with other Style+ items, creating a personalized solution.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          My wife and I decided to build an extra large walk-in closet. It is about the size of a small be...
          PostedNovember 27, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          My wife and I decided to build an extra large walk-in closet. It is about the size of a small bedroom. Our old 1970's house came with old-fashioned tiny closets, so storage was always an issue for us. My wife has a huge amount of clothes, so it was especially tough for her. We got this ClosetMaid Style+ 15 in. D x 25 in. W x 72 in. H White Hanging 6-Shelves Closet System for my wife's side of our new closet. We got the whole set, with the tower storage shelf, three 4 ft. top shelves, and three closet bars for hanging clothes. For starters, these are made in the USA, which really made me feel great, knowing that your purchase keeps Americans working! The set is heavy-built and comes packaged Read More
          My wife and I decided to build an extra large walk-in closet. It is about the size of a small bedroom. Our old 1970's house came with old-fashioned tiny closets, so storage was always an issue for us. My wife has a huge amount of clothes, so it was especially tough for her. We got this ClosetMaid Style+ 15 in. D x 25 in. W x 72 in. H White Hanging 6-Shelves Closet System for my wife's side of our new closet. We got the whole set, with the tower storage shelf, three 4 ft. top shelves, and three closet bars for hanging clothes. For starters, these are made in the USA, which really made me feel great, knowing that your purchase keeps Americans working! The set is heavy-built and comes packaged very well. Assembly is very simple and intuitive. We really like the fact that the tower shelf hangs from the wall, to leave the floor space underneath open. The white color looks very neat and clean, and actually brightens the closet area. I cannot speak highly enough of the quality of this set. My wife really loves it! Thanks ClosetMaid, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Looks High End, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Sturdy, Vibrant Color, Well Made
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          GE Profile products offer the best in contemporary design matched with the latest in appliance technologies to transform the way you live. Sporting a bold, dramatic look and state of the art features. This collection provides the perfect combination of style and innovation throughout your kitchen.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A few years ago, we got a new dishwasher made by another maker. It was quite expensive. It fail...
          PostedNovember 27, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Energy efficiency 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          A few years ago, we got a new dishwasher made by another maker. It was quite expensive. It failed very soon after we got it, and the problem was in the digital control panel. We replaced it with an older, second-hand dishwasher, which worked, but was awful noisy and didn't really clean all that well. We just got this GE Profile Top Control Built-In Tall Tub Dishwasher in Black Slate with Stainless Steel Tub, and are already madly in love with it! The delivery guys were first-rate, and went out of their way to deliver and install this dishwasher. They were very helpful, and made a point of not making any messes, and were out of here in record time. After running the dishwasher empty the first Read More
          A few years ago, we got a new dishwasher made by another maker. It was quite expensive. It failed very soon after we got it, and the problem was in the digital control panel. We replaced it with an older, second-hand dishwasher, which worked, but was awful noisy and didn't really clean all that well. We just got this GE Profile Top Control Built-In Tall Tub Dishwasher in Black Slate with Stainless Steel Tub, and are already madly in love with it! The delivery guys were first-rate, and went out of their way to deliver and install this dishwasher. They were very helpful, and made a point of not making any messes, and were out of here in record time. After running the dishwasher empty the first time, to verify that it worked as it should, we loaded it up with a big load of very dirty dishes, that we had not rinsed off, to see just how well it really cleaned when put to a true test. For starters, it is whisper quiet! You can barely tell it is even running, unlike our old one, that was so loud you could hear it all over the house. When the test load was done, all of the dishes came out sparkling clean with nary a spot of left over food on them. Our old dishwasher was so poor that you'd pretty much have to wash the dishes by hand before putting them in the dishwasher, or they'd come out dirty. That pretty much defeats the purpose of even having a dishwasher. This GE Profile Top Control Built-In Tall Tub Dishwasher in Black Slate with Stainless Steel Tub really does a beautiful job of cleaning and has a high capacity! The controls for this dishwasher are very simple, intuitive and easy to manipulate. The installer did warn me, that once it has started, if you want to open it, to add something inside, to open the door slightly, then wait for it to stop running, before you open the door all the way, so you don't get sprayed. I doubt that will be a concern for us, but was good to know. I can honestly say we really love this dishwasher, and would certainly recommend it to friends and family! It sure made our Thanksgiving cleanup a breeze! The color is beautiful, and goes very well with our GE stove and refrigerator. Thanks GE, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Sturdy, Stylish, whisper quiet, cleans very well, high capacity, Economical, simple controls
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 71 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Wire residential indoor branch circuits for outlets, switches and other loads with Southwire Romex SIMpull Type NM-B Cable. SlikQuik jacket allows for 50% reduction in pulling force for easier installation. NM has a heat capacity of 90 Degree C and a usage rating of up to 600-Volt.
           

          I needed some Romex wire for a couple projects I was working on. The store employee showed me a ...

          Asked by
          Historian
          March 30, 2017
          I needed some Romex wire for a couple projects I was working on. The store employee showed me a smaller roll they had, and I asked if they had any bigger rolls. He pointed out this one. I ended up getting more wire for my money per foot by buying the bigger roll, than if I had got the smaller roll, and I should have some left over for future projects! This is great wire!
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          Universal Anchor Points allow tie-downs to be easily attached to pickup trucks and trailers as a means of securing all types of cargo, including furniture or sports equipment. With universal attachments that fit all truck stake pockets, these anchor points do not require drilling or special equipment to install, making them ideal when convenience and re-positioning flexibility are essential. The durable eye holes are performance manufactured from the highest quality materials and come in both chrome and black, making them a dependable solution for everyday cargo transport needs.
           

          Is the 333lb working load for each or both?

          Asked by
          thedogscar
          September 1, 2017
          Is the 333lb working load for each or both?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          September 6, 2017
          Answer: 
          The rating is for each.
           
          With its beveled edges and clean geometry, this Archer shower base creates a universal look that suits an array of bathroom styles. Designed for alcove installations, this rectangular base comes equipped with a covered drain that adds a unique design element and enhances comfort. Choreograph shower walls and accessories let you personalize your shower with beautiful wall designs and thoughtfully designed storage. This wall kit includes three shower walls - one back wall and two end walls - of the same design and color, plus two matching corner joints. Customize your shower design with optional accent panels, and use the innovative storage solutions and clever accessories to make your shower more organized, comfortable, and convenient.
           

          If I want to install this but have a tiled floor, is it the same installation process?

          Asked by
          Mir
          January 30, 2017
          If I want to install this but have a tiled floor, is it the same installation process?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          August 16, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes it is, but naturally, you'd want to end the tile so that it meets up to the edge of the shower base.
           
          Bring a psychedelic black light effect to your Halloween party with the LED Projection Fire and Ice. Just plug it in and begin using it, this outdoor UV light is extremely durable and reflect bright when using a UV interactive product.
           

          The description calls this Black Ice, is it blue like the picture shows or it is a black light ?...

          Asked by
          AngieG
          August 3, 2017
          The description calls this Black Ice, is it blue like the picture shows or it is a black light ?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          August 7, 2017
          Answer: 
          It is mostly blue.
           
          The 10.7 cu. ft. Weather Guard DEFENDER SERIES Model 302105-9-01 Saddle Box for full size trucks provides Professional Protection. This new truck box includes a tamper-resistant push-button lock, steel reinforced, looped strikers, D-shaped ribbed weather stripping and heavy-duty 4-piece welded aluminum box construction.
           

          does this fit a ford ranger xlt

          Asked by
          customer
          June 9, 2017
          does this fit a ford ranger xlt
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          June 27, 2017
          Answer: 
          It fits all Ford F-Series from 2004 to 2017, and maybe more.
           
          When you need to replace your lawn mower belt consider the John Deere 42 in. Mower Belt for Select John Deere Mowers. The More Kevlar cords help provide strength for your mower's high horsepower demands.
           

          Tightening belt on 42 inch John Deere riding mower

          Asked by
          Jim1954
          Ohio
          August 19, 2015
          We bought the GX20072 belt for our 42 inch John Deere riding mower. It appears to be too large. What are we doing wrong?
          Asked by
          Historian
          April 22, 2017
          Answer: 
          Check the tension pulley. I had the same issue, and gave my pulley a tug, and realized that grass, dirt, weather, etc., had prevented it from moving all the way into the tight position, and it was only moving part way. Once I did that, the belt was tight enough to do the job. Bear in mind, when the mower is not engaged, a certain amount of looseness is needed to keep from burning up the belt.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 103 >>