Historian
  • Review count
    131
  • Helpfulness votes
    313
  • Average rating
    4.9
    4.9 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    May 2, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      18
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        131
      • Helpfulness votes
        313
      • Average rating
        4.9
        4.9 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        May 2, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          18
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          BEHR MARQUEE Stain-Blocking Satin Enamel Interior Paint & Primer is our most advanced interior paint and primer ever – delivering high-performance one-coat coverage with every color in the exclusive MARQUEE Interior One-Coat Color Collection. Expressing yourself with exactly the colors you want has never been easier. The MARQUEE Interior One-Coat Color Collection offers an extensive palette of colors in both classic and contemporary hues. One-coat coverage means achieving the look you want in less time. Your new look will stay looking fresh and beautiful year after year – backed by a lifetime guarantee. Ideal for every room.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great One-Coat Paint!
          PostedMay 2, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          My step-dad was a painter for over 40 years. A couple things he taught me about painting, were to always use the best quality tools, and to always get a good paint. Several years ago, I sent my wife out to the store to buy some paint. The store I sent her to happened to be closed. So, she stopped at Home Depot and got me some Behr paint. I'd never tried it before, and at first was very skeptical about how good it could be at the relatively cheap price she got it for. Who says women are not smarter than men? Not me! I really liked the quality and one-coat coverage of the Behr paint she'd bought. I've been a big fan of Behr ever since. Recently, I got to try the Behr Marquee Interior Satin Read More
          My step-dad was a painter for over 40 years. A couple things he taught me about painting, were to always use the best quality tools, and to always get a good paint. Several years ago, I sent my wife out to the store to buy some paint. The store I sent her to happened to be closed. So, she stopped at Home Depot and got me some Behr paint. I'd never tried it before, and at first was very skeptical about how good it could be at the relatively cheap price she got it for. Who says women are not smarter than men? Not me! I really liked the quality and one-coat coverage of the Behr paint she'd bought. I've been a big fan of Behr ever since. Recently, I got to try the Behr Marquee Interior Satin enamel in "Kaffee" color, so naturally, I had high expectations for the high quality I have become used to for Behr paint. This paint did not disappoint.
          We have a hot tub room attached to our house. It was originally finished inside with polyurethene finished plywood and bat-board. That finish lasted about 5 years before needing painting. I painted the whole room top to bottom with a top-name and very expensive exterior latex house paint. That finish lasted about 15 years. During that time, our old hot tub had died, and the room was badly neglected until we got a new tub a few years ago. There was several small spots of mildew on the old paint, so this Behr Marquee paint was the perfect choice for painting the ceiling in the hot tub room. I've read a couple reviews where people complained that this paint didn't cover well in one coat, and they had bleed-through. I did not have that experience at all. For me, this paint went on like a dream, and being very thick, it spread well with minimal splatter. Going over the painted plywood, it filled the rough texture well, and no color bled through at all. The only spots where I could see that people might have a problem with, was on the bat-boards, which were slicker in texture, and you had to really keep the brush wetter than the rougher textured plywood required. But, even that was very minor in nature. You're not supposed to let a brush or roller get dry anyway. That is another trick my step-dad taught me!
          Besides spreading well, not bleeding through, and giving good coverage, this paint even covered those mildew spots perfectly with no bleed-through of them either! I really liked this paint! The only problem I do have now, is that this paint made my ceiling look so good, that the walls now look very shabby in comparison, so I need to go buy some paint for them too! The good news is, Behr has some great colors to choose from. Maybe I will send my wife paint shopping again! Thanks Behr, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Rust-Oleum Stops Rust 11 oz. Vintage Metallic Rose Gold Protective Enamel Spray Paint (6-Pack) has a formula that helps prevent rust and can be used on automobiles, bikes and fixtures. Provides a rich metallic color for your projects. Contains weather-resistant metallic flakes and provides rust protection for heavily used objects.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Nice Product With Many Uses
          PostedApril 26, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Being a no-rust paint, I am sure Rust-Oleum intended this 11oz. Vintage Metallic Rose Gold Protective Enamel Spray Paint to be used on metal. However, we have a hot tub room attached to our house. Inside, is a wood deck that surrounds the hot tub. On this deck, we have some concrete statues, and a concrete clamshell water fountain. We are decorating with an Asian theme, and wanted to paint the water fountain and statues with an antique gold look, with just a hint of metallic look to it. This paint was just what we wanted in look. You do have to spend quite a bit of time shaking it up well, and a single can doesn't really go that far. However, it does work well on concrete items like we are Read More
          Being a no-rust paint, I am sure Rust-Oleum intended this 11oz. Vintage Metallic Rose Gold Protective Enamel Spray Paint to be used on metal. However, we have a hot tub room attached to our house. Inside, is a wood deck that surrounds the hot tub. On this deck, we have some concrete statues, and a concrete clamshell water fountain. We are decorating with an Asian theme, and wanted to paint the water fountain and statues with an antique gold look, with just a hint of metallic look to it. This paint was just what we wanted in look. You do have to spend quite a bit of time shaking it up well, and a single can doesn't really go that far. However, it does work well on concrete items like we are using it on, and once it is dry, it leaves a surface that is easy to keep clean, because of the slickness of the finish. Now, I just need to run out to my nearest Home Depot and pick up another half-dozen cans! Thanks Rust-Oleum and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The TOUGHBUILT GELFIT Fanatic - Thigh Support Stabilization Knee Pads are the new benchmark for all-day kneeling ergonomics, comfort and functionality. Provides ultimate stability while maintaining easy side-to-side movement. Integrated thigh support keeps the knee perfectly centered, never twisting out of the knee pad. The lower platform raises the shin off of the ground alleviating pressure on the ankles. Ergonomic gel and foam design embraces the natural shape of the knee and upper shin, maximizing pressure distribution for an extremely comfortable fit.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          I Am Robo-Tile-Man!
          PostedApril 23, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Wow! That was my first impression of these very cool knee pads! I feel like a six-million-dollar Robo-Tile-Man! Not only are these Gelfit Fanatic-Thigh Support Stabilization Knee Pads soft and comfortable on your knees, but they don't cut off your blood flow on the back of your legs like the cheap ones I borrowed from my neighbor. Those cheap ones were worse than wearing none at all, so that was what I ended up doing (not wearing any) when I began tiling the floor of my house. Anyone who has laid lots of floor tile knows how it can be murder on your knees, ankles, and back. These fabulous knee-pads not only protect your knees, but lift your calves up so that you are not putting excess Read More
          Wow! That was my first impression of these very cool knee pads! I feel like a six-million-dollar Robo-Tile-Man! Not only are these Gelfit Fanatic-Thigh Support Stabilization Knee Pads soft and comfortable on your knees, but they don't cut off your blood flow on the back of your legs like the cheap ones I borrowed from my neighbor. Those cheap ones were worse than wearing none at all, so that was what I ended up doing (not wearing any) when I began tiling the floor of my house. Anyone who has laid lots of floor tile knows how it can be murder on your knees, ankles, and back. These fabulous knee-pads not only protect your knees, but lift your calves up so that you are not putting excess pressure on your ankles. In short, you end up balanced between your knee and the tips of the toe of your boots. Someone mentioned in a review that they felt like these were too slick against a already slick tile floor. Personally, I disagree. I like that I can kind of glide as I move. If that freedom of movement bothers you, you could always use some rubber cement and a couple pieces of bicycle inner-tube rubber to give you more grip. I don't see that as necessary though. Moving freely is a big plus in my book, and I don't have any trouble not sliding when I don't want to. I really like the way these knee-pads are articulated so that when you stand up straight, they adjust with your body, versus bunching up like the cheap pads do. They even look cool, like a "Iron" superhero, or a robotic Cop we've all seen in movies. I currently have half a house to finish tiling the floor of, and now that I am armed with these knee-pads, I am no longer dreading the work ahead of me like I was! I will wager that even my back won't be hurting as much, because my posture while working is now better. Thanks Toughbuilt, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Looks Great, Effective, soft on knees, doesn't cut off blood flow behind your knees, allows freedom of movement, look and feel like a superhero!
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          RIDGID introduces the new 12-Volt Drill/Driver kit. With the included Hyper Lithium batteries, you can get up to 50% more work output compared to standard lithium. With free registration, this tool is covered for life, free Batteries, free Parts and free Service, for Life. Includes: R82005 Drill, (2) R82048 Hyper Lithium-Ion Batteries, R86049 Charger, Double Ended Bit, Bag and Operator’s Manuals.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Rigid, A Trusted Brand, Makes A Great Drill!
          PostedApril 21, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have always been a fan of Rigid tools, and this 18-Volt Compact Drill/Driver Kit has only reinforced my faith in this company! Unlike some lesser quality drills, this Rigid drill features all metal gears, versus plastic in some. Rigid backs up this drill with a lifetime warranty, for not just the drill, but also for parts, batteries and service! I don't know any battery-powered tool maker who puts that kind of warranty on batteries! This drill fits the hand well, has great balance, and the power to work all day on a job-site or at home. I love these hand-tighten chucks on these drills, for quickly changing bits without messing with a chuck-key. This drill has two speeds, and a clutch Read More
          I have always been a fan of Rigid tools, and this 18-Volt Compact Drill/Driver Kit has only reinforced my faith in this company! Unlike some lesser quality drills, this Rigid drill features all metal gears, versus plastic in some. Rigid backs up this drill with a lifetime warranty, for not just the drill, but also for parts, batteries and service! I don't know any battery-powered tool maker who puts that kind of warranty on batteries! This drill fits the hand well, has great balance, and the power to work all day on a job-site or at home. I love these hand-tighten chucks on these drills, for quickly changing bits without messing with a chuck-key. This drill has two speeds, and a clutch adjustment with 24 settings for tailoring the torque to the job you are doing. They even included a straight/Phillips screwdriver bit with it! The tool bag is a nice extra, and seems very well constructed as well. This really is a do-it-all drill you'll want to have in your arsenal! Thanks Rigid, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Pacific Sun Lounger from Keter combines the benefits of patio furniture and pool furniture in 1 attractive, comfortable seat. Supported by 2 sturdy pairs of curved legs, its contoured seat is molded to fit the natural shape of your body and provides comfortable support for an afternoon outside. The reclining back can be set to one of 4 positions so you can sit up, lean back or lay down completely.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Very Elegant, Modern And Comfortable Chaise Lounger Set!
          PostedApril 21, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This Keter Pacific Grey All-Weather Adjustable Resin Chaise Lounger With Side Table set is very elegant, modern looking and comfortable. Often people associate plastic with poor quality, but in this case, that is simply not the case. I would wager that these lounges will outlast the traditional aluminum/webbing type loungers by quite a bit. Plus, they would be easier to keep clean, and not allow your body parts or your items (cell phone, suntan lotion, etc.) to fall through like webbed loungers do. If sunbathing, you will probably want a towel under you, as I'd imagine that the loungers would get hot in direct sunlight, although not hotter than any other lounger. As loungers go, these are Read More
          This Keter Pacific Grey All-Weather Adjustable Resin Chaise Lounger With Side Table set is very elegant, modern looking and comfortable. Often people associate plastic with poor quality, but in this case, that is simply not the case. I would wager that these lounges will outlast the traditional aluminum/webbing type loungers by quite a bit. Plus, they would be easier to keep clean, and not allow your body parts or your items (cell phone, suntan lotion, etc.) to fall through like webbed loungers do. If sunbathing, you will probably want a towel under you, as I'd imagine that the loungers would get hot in direct sunlight, although not hotter than any other lounger. As loungers go, these are fairly heavily built and very sturdy. The legs fold up, and the upper-body section folds up as well with its self-storing bracket. The side table, while small, seems sturdy enough for holding ice-cold drinks on a hot summer day. I really like the sleek, modern look of these loungers! I would recommend this lounger set to anyone. Thanks Keter, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Comfortable, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 27 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          The 36 in. Hampton Bay Luxenberg ceiling fan is the perfect solution for any small room application. The brushed nickel finish is complemented with five reversible blades in matte black or maple finish. The three-light light kit creates a nice amount of light with the three 14-Watt CFL bulbs included. This small room indoor ceiling fan was designed to operate quietly and wobble free while circulating the right amount of air to create a comfortable environment.
           

          Is the assembled height shown with or without the down rod? How low will this hang flush mounted?

          Asked by
          Quinny
          March 6, 2015
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          March 18, 2015
          Answer: 
          Flush Mounted, it measures 8.4 inches to the fan bottom and 14 inches to the bottom of the light fixture. If mounted with the included downrod tube, its 12.2 inches to the fan bottom, and 17.7 inches to the bottom of the light. Those are all measured from the ceiling. You could add as much as a 72 inch tube if you so desired. The longer tubes are optional.
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
           
          This Shaker-inspired Glacier Bay Modular Vanity Cabinet in Java with Solid Surface Technology Top in Cappuccino has 2 cabinet doors with a furniture-quality finish. It has a maple-finished interior that is attractive and easy to clean. The cultured marble vanity top has an integral sink basin to make cleaning easier. The vanity top is pre-drilled for a 3-hole, 4 in. spread faucet (not included). Limited Lifetime Warranty.
           

          To confirm, is the sink basin actually marble as listed or is it porcelain?

          Asked by
          TWilli
          December 1, 2014
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          March 10, 2015
          Answer: 
          The sink is not marble, the vanity top is.
           
          The sleek stylish design of this Riosa 2-Piece Elongated Toilet in White provides innovations, maximum performance and water-savings. Beautifully designed for easy installation, maximum flush and water savings, Delta toilets are the smart choice. All Delta toilets feature the exclusive Smart Fit tank-to-bowl connection. This technology eliminates potential leak points and the fear of over-tightening bolts. All while adding stability to the tank and making for an easier installation process. The Riosa features a factory-installed supply line that resided in a channel on the back of the tank above the water line, eliminating another potential leak point. The concealed trap way gives it a smoother, cleaner look. The elongated bowl and chair height allow for greater comfort. The quick-release seat allows for easy cleaning. This stylish design provides maximum performance and water-savings. Another smart innovation is the inclusion of a toilet removal kit. The kit includes items needed to aid in the removal of your existing toilet: a pair of disposal gloves, disposable scraper, highly absorbent sponge, and cloth. No additional tools are required to assemble and install this complete toilet.
           

          How do you secure the toilet to the floor?

          Asked by
          ace48
          Jackson, MS
          February 4, 2015
          Is there a video on securing the toilet to the floor since the bolts are hidden when the toilet is placed?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          February 25, 2015
          Answer: 
          With the included anchor bolts. Yes, Delta has videos on their website for removing old toilets, and for installing the new one.
           
          Blending with a wide variety of kitchen styles, this Verse double-basin sink features stainless-steel construction and a low-profile rim that simplifies cleanup, allowing you to sweep crumbs and liquid into the sink and out of sight. The engineered sound-absorption system significantly reduces disposal and dishwashing noise.
           

          what gauge stainless

          Asked by
          ronald
          June 14, 2014
          what gauge stainless steel is this? thanks
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          December 18, 2014
          Answer: 
          Not sure of the gauge in numbers, but its much heavier than our old no-name brand was.
           
          Blending with a wide variety of kitchen styles, this Verse double-basin sink features stainless-steel construction and a low-profile rim that simplifies cleanup, allowing you to sweep crumbs and liquid into the sink and out of sight. The engineered sound-absorption system significantly reduces disposal and dishwashing noise.
           

          how deep are the sinks?

          Asked by
          mimi
          Snellville, GA
          December 15, 2014
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          December 18, 2014
          Answer: 
          8 1/2 inches below the counter, and 1/2 above, for a total of 9 height. Still, in person, it is deeper than what you might think from those numbers.