Historian
  • Review count
    114
  • Helpfulness votes
    259
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    March 2, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      16
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        114
      • Helpfulness votes
        259
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        March 2, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          16
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          The Paslode F325R Pneumatic 3-1/4 in. 30-Degree Compact Framing Nailer is a quality-built tool designed for use in residential framing applications. This tool will deliver efficient, dependable performance for the Pro Remodeler. Always use Paslode 30-Degree Framing nails for optimal performance.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          The Lightest Framing Nailer Ever, And The Compact Size Is Beautiful!
          PostedMarch 2, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have a large Paslode framing nailer, and have reviewed it on Home Depot's website. So, I am already a fan of Paslode nailers. Paslode makes nailers for Pros. Their nailers are not something you use until it breaks, throw away, and buy a new one. If a Paslode breaks or wears out, you fix it and get right back to work! The full-sized Model # F350-S I already have is a great nailer, and I have zero complaints about it, and nothing but praise. However, the one limitation it has, is that it is "full-sized". In any construction project, there are always little nooks and crannies where you simply cannot get a full-sized nailer into. Those spots are where a compact nailer really shines! Paslode Read More
          I have a large Paslode framing nailer, and have reviewed it on Home Depot's website. So, I am already a fan of Paslode nailers. Paslode makes nailers for Pros. Their nailers are not something you use until it breaks, throw away, and buy a new one. If a Paslode breaks or wears out, you fix it and get right back to work! The full-sized Model # F350-S I already have is a great nailer, and I have zero complaints about it, and nothing but praise. However, the one limitation it has, is that it is "full-sized". In any construction project, there are always little nooks and crannies where you simply cannot get a full-sized nailer into. Those spots are where a compact nailer really shines! Paslode advertises this F325R nailer as the "Lightest Framing Nailer Ever". While I have never personally weighed every nailer on the market, I have no doubt that their claim is true. This is a very light nailer, and even if you don't need to get into tight spots to shoot nails, you're going to love this nailer just for its light weight alone! You could drag this puppy around all day without wearing your arms out! At the same time, lighter doesn't mean cheaper built either. It looks to me to be the same stout quality that you'd expect from a Paslode. Naturally, the nail magazine is shorter, so it doesn't hold as many nails at once as the full-sized model does, but that is no big deal. These nailers are so quick and easy to load, you can very quickly get back to business. Like the full-size model, they include a rafter hanger, which can double as a belt hanger. If you've ever stood up on a ladder, and tried to manipulate a sheet of plywood, without wanting to climb down and set your nailer on the floor, you'll really appreciate the ability to hang your nailer from a rafter or your belt to free up your hands. I also like Paslode's rubber grips, which help you maintain a solid grip, even on the hottest summer days when you are sweating on a job. Inside the box, they include four strips of Paslode nails, and a pair of clear plastic safety glasses. Like the full-sized model, the one thing they don't include, that I wish they would, is a brass air-hose fitting, so you'll need to buy one of those. Home Depot sells those pretty cheap, so put that on your shopping list too. I do strongly suggest that you only buy Paslode nail strips. They are expensive, but they are top quality nails and worth the money. Some people have complained in reviews about having problems with their Paslode nailers. Three things to consider about those kinds of complaints: #1 You need to have a moisture filter on your compressor to prevent moisture in the air supply from reaching your valuable tool. #2 Like any good tool, keeping your Paslode clean and lubed is important! #3 This is not a "throw-away" cheap consumer grade tool. There are certain parts that do wear out with use. The good news is those parts are readily available from Paslode, and not expensive, and not at all hard to replace as needed. Take care of your tools, and they will take care of you, and pay for themselves in time. Thanks Paslode, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Werner Is The Go-To Company For Ladders!
          PostedMarch 2, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I am already a fan of Werner Ladders, and with good reason; they make great ladders that hold up over time. I have two other Werner step-ladders, both taller than this 9 ft. Reach Fiberglass Podium Ladder with a 250 lb. Load Capacity Type 1. Years ago, when fiberglass ladders first hit the market, I was naive enough to think, "How can a plastic ladder be better than a metal or wood one?" Then, one day I was up on a wooden ladder, and accidentally cut into a live electrical line. After all the sparks quit flying, and my heart-rate slowed down to less than light-speed, it dawned on me that had I been on a metal ladder, I'd have been toast. The problem with wood ladders, is they just don't hold Read More
          I am already a fan of Werner Ladders, and with good reason; they make great ladders that hold up over time. I have two other Werner step-ladders, both taller than this 9 ft. Reach Fiberglass Podium Ladder with a 250 lb. Load Capacity Type 1. Years ago, when fiberglass ladders first hit the market, I was naive enough to think, "How can a plastic ladder be better than a metal or wood one?" Then, one day I was up on a wooden ladder, and accidentally cut into a live electrical line. After all the sparks quit flying, and my heart-rate slowed down to less than light-speed, it dawned on me that had I been on a metal ladder, I'd have been toast. The problem with wood ladders, is they just don't hold up long, and they tend to get wobbly and dangerous. Fiberglass ladders are not the cheap plastic you might think if you've never owned one. Besides protecting you around electricity, they also hold up over time far better than you might think. My oldest Werner ladder (also fiberglass) has been through the wringer with lots of work, and it still looks and feels like new. I never have the slightest worry about standing on it while working, and its stability is rock-solid, with nary a wobble. This new ladder is every bit as solid and well-built as my older ones, just shorter. It is rated as 9 ft reach. I am 6'1" tall, and in a room with a 8 ft. ceiling, I can comfortably stand on the second rung, and reach the ceiling. It is light weight enough to easily move around while working, and I can move it with one hand while holding tools or materials in my other hand. The podium on Werner ladders is a feature I really love. They allow you to turn 360 degrees while working, and feel completely safe with plenty of foot room. The upper-most rail on these podium ladders feature a small cup for holding nails or screws, some screwdriver holes to drop your screwdriver shafts into, and a hole for your drill to hold it as well. Werner has an optional tool holder basket-like device that also locks into these ladders, although I don't happen to own one myself. Any time I or anyone I know needs another ladder, I always urge Werner as a company to buy from. You simply cannot go wrong with their products. Thanks Werner, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          The sleek stylish design of this Riosa 2-Piece Elongated Toilet in White provides innovations, maximum performance and water-savings. Beautifully designed for easy installation, maximum flush and water savings, Delta toilets are the smart choice. All Delta toilets feature the exclusive Smart Fit tank-to-bowl connection. This technology eliminates potential leak points and the fear of over-tightening bolts. All while adding stability to the tank and making for an easier installation process. The Riosa features a factory-installed supply line that resided in a channel on the back of the tank above the water line, eliminating another potential leak point. The concealed trap way gives it a smoother, cleaner look. The elongated bowl and chair height allow for greater comfort. The quick-release seat allows for easy cleaning. This stylish design provides maximum performance and water-savings. Another smart innovation is the inclusion of a toilet removal kit. The kit includes items needed to aid in the removal of your existing toilet: a pair of disposal gloves, disposable scraper, highly absorbent sponge, and cloth. No additional tools are required to assemble and install this complete toilet.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Really, An Impressive Toilet!
          PostedFebruary 25, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I've bought more than a few toilets in my time. Delta has thought of everything with this Riosa 2-Piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet. First, they include a EZ Out toilet removal kit to remove your old toilet. This kit includes a foam sponge, a scraper, a pair of wrist-length latex gloves, a large towel and a bag to dispose of your old wax ring. While these items are not expensive, they show a lot of forethought on the part of Delta to help make your transition from your old toilet to the new one less messy and less of a headache. Bravo Delta! Next, they include a new wax ring. More forethought. They include all the hardware that most people will need, with the exception of your water supply Read More
          I've bought more than a few toilets in my time. Delta has thought of everything with this Riosa 2-Piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet. First, they include a EZ Out toilet removal kit to remove your old toilet. This kit includes a foam sponge, a scraper, a pair of wrist-length latex gloves, a large towel and a bag to dispose of your old wax ring. While these items are not expensive, they show a lot of forethought on the part of Delta to help make your transition from your old toilet to the new one less messy and less of a headache. Bravo Delta! Next, they include a new wax ring. More forethought. They include all the hardware that most people will need, with the exception of your water supply line and some adapters you may or may not need depending on your situation. They even include the tools you'll need for installing the toilet! It comes with a toilet seat as well. The water valve system is very unique on this toilet tank. For those who have never changed a toilet, I suggest the videos that Delta has for removing your old toilet, and installing the new one. One feature I like for this toilet is the simple, yet smart plastic washers you put on the mounting bolts. Anyone who has installed a toilet and had to fight mounting bolts that want to move around on you while you try to lower the very heavy base over them, and keep everything lined up, will know what I am talking about. I am also a big fan of Delta's trademark SmartFit tank mounting system. I have cracked a new toilet tank before, by over-tightening it, in an effort to stop it from leaking. The SmartFit idea is brilliant, and all toilet makers should use this idea. Besides preventing breakage, it also make the toilet tank more stable on the base. I've seen cheap toilets, where the tank wobbles all over the place, because of poor design. Still, even with the SmartFit, you should be careful to not over-tighten. In the event that you don't understand the simple instructions provided, or the videos Delta offers online, they also offer a customer service number where you can call for assistance. Folks, Delta has made this job about as easy as it can get. All in all, I am very happy with this toilet. In time, it will even pay for itself in water savings, versus older toilets, depending on how much it is used in your household. Thanks Delta, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Modern, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The new All-Pro Dusk-to-Dawn LED Twin Head Round Flood fixtures utilize the latest in LED technology for maximum light output in a low-profile, compact housing. This design is ideal as a direct replacement for traditional styles, producing the equivalent of a 150-Watt incandescent fixture. Available in white or bronze, they can be wall or eave mounted for a wide range of applications. All-Pro LED outdoor security lighting provides the safety of super bright lighting, energy savings up to 90%, and the convenience of 1-timeinstallation without re-lamping.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Far Better Light Fixture Than Ones I've Used In The Past!
          PostedFebruary 24, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We have a area near the driveway of our house that is very dark at night. So far, I have bought two different light fixtures to place in that area. Neither lasted very long at all. Both were cheap in price, and I guess that I got what I paid for. Both of those were the type with motion detectors, and it appeared that the motion detector switching device is what failed. Even when they did work, things like the wind blowing nearby tree limbs would trigger the motion detector. This Eaton's Cooper Lighting Company Twin-Head Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn LED Flood Light costs about triple what I spent on those previous lights, but, it is simpler in design, so there is less to go wrong with it. And the big Read More
          We have a area near the driveway of our house that is very dark at night. So far, I have bought two different light fixtures to place in that area. Neither lasted very long at all. Both were cheap in price, and I guess that I got what I paid for. Both of those were the type with motion detectors, and it appeared that the motion detector switching device is what failed. Even when they did work, things like the wind blowing nearby tree limbs would trigger the motion detector. This Eaton's Cooper Lighting Company Twin-Head Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn LED Flood Light costs about triple what I spent on those previous lights, but, it is simpler in design, so there is less to go wrong with it. And the big plus, is that this fixture uses LED lights, which not only last longer, but use just a fraction of the electricity that those old incandescent bulbs did! And the output of light is just as good, if not better than the old ones. If you were mounting this outside a bedroom, the constant light all night might be a problem for you, but in areas like we have, where it is just illuminating a driveway, this is the perfect solution. Without the fixture constantly switching on and off every few minutes, but rather switching on and staying on until dawn, I suspect it will last much longer than our old ones did. I've encountered a Eaton's Cooper Lighting employee, and have to say that I was impressed at the honesty and professional diligence I found. I've used Eaton products in the past, and found them reliable and well made. There are a lot of competing products out there, but I think what we got was a great product, and for what you'll spend here, you can't go wrong. Thanks Eaton's Cooper and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          This LED light fixture from Hampton Bay features a low-profile design and high-quality illumination that is perfect for kitchens, laundry rooms, garages and basements. A thick, brushed nickel band around the edge adds distinctive style to blend with any decor. Compatible with a variety of dimmer switches, the fixture can be mounted on either a ceiling or wall to provide light anywhere you need it. The lightweight construction makes for easy installation, while the LED technology ensures long-lasting, energy-efficient service.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Enter the 21st Century! I Have See The Light!
          PostedFebruary 11, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quite frankly, when I ordered this 15-Inch Round LED Brush Nickel Flush Mount light fixture, I figured they had just stuck the same lights into a bigger globe, much like you'd expect from an old incandescent fixture. Not so! Bigger fixture equals more LED lights! Very Nice! I replaced a dirt cheap 1970 building contractor's light fixture with this new fixture in a hallway. Until now, the hall was dingy and had very little light from the old single-bulb fixture with it's yellowed globe. I had a little trouble getting the mounting bolts from the old box to line up with the holes in the new fixture base, but I managed. The problem is more likely that of the box being out of spec than it was Read More
          Quite frankly, when I ordered this 15-Inch Round LED Brush Nickel Flush Mount light fixture, I figured they had just stuck the same lights into a bigger globe, much like you'd expect from an old incandescent fixture. Not so! Bigger fixture equals more LED lights! Very Nice! I replaced a dirt cheap 1970 building contractor's light fixture with this new fixture in a hallway. Until now, the hall was dingy and had very little light from the old single-bulb fixture with it's yellowed globe. I had a little trouble getting the mounting bolts from the old box to line up with the holes in the new fixture base, but I managed. The problem is more likely that of the box being out of spec than it was with the new fixture. As I was tightening the screws the last bit, I needed a little more light to see what I was doing. So, I turned on the fixture to get some light. Big mistake! The effect of those LED lights at close range to your eyes without the globe is like a hundred photographers taking flash pictures of you at once! I did get some light! I finished the assembly, and have to say this fixture looks beautiful, as well as lighting up our hall very nicely! It gives off a very bright white light. I just don't advise being close to it with the globe off and staring into those tiny little LED's! My vision will be back to normal soon! <smile> Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 23 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          The sleek stylish design of this Riosa 2-Piece Elongated Toilet in White provides innovations, maximum performance and water-savings. Beautifully designed for easy installation, maximum flush and water savings, Delta toilets are the smart choice. All Delta toilets feature the exclusive Smart Fit tank-to-bowl connection. This technology eliminates potential leak points and the fear of over-tightening bolts. All while adding stability to the tank and making for an easier installation process. The Riosa features a factory-installed supply line that resided in a channel on the back of the tank above the water line, eliminating another potential leak point. The concealed trap way gives it a smoother, cleaner look. The elongated bowl and chair height allow for greater comfort. The quick-release seat allows for easy cleaning. This stylish design provides maximum performance and water-savings. Another smart innovation is the inclusion of a toilet removal kit. The kit includes items needed to aid in the removal of your existing toilet: a pair of disposal gloves, disposable scraper, highly absorbent sponge, and cloth. No additional tools are required to assemble and install this complete toilet.
           

          How do you secure the toilet to the floor?

          Asked by
          ace48
          Jackson, MS
          February 4, 2015
          Is there a video on securing the toilet to the floor since the bolts are hidden when the toilet is placed?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          February 25, 2015
          Answer: 
          With the included anchor bolts. Yes, Delta has videos on their website for removing old toilets, and for installing the new one.
           
          Blending with a wide variety of kitchen styles, this Verse double-basin sink features stainless-steel construction and a low-profile rim that simplifies cleanup, allowing you to sweep crumbs and liquid into the sink and out of sight. The engineered sound-absorption system significantly reduces disposal and dishwashing noise.
           

          what gauge stainless

          Asked by
          ronald
          June 14, 2014
          what gauge stainless steel is this? thanks
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          December 18, 2014
          Answer: 
          Not sure of the gauge in numbers, but its much heavier than our old no-name brand was.
           
          Blending with a wide variety of kitchen styles, this Verse double-basin sink features stainless-steel construction and a low-profile rim that simplifies cleanup, allowing you to sweep crumbs and liquid into the sink and out of sight. The engineered sound-absorption system significantly reduces disposal and dishwashing noise.
           

          how deep are the sinks?

          Asked by
          mimi
          Snellville, GA
          December 15, 2014
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          December 18, 2014
          Answer: 
          8 1/2 inches below the counter, and 1/2 above, for a total of 9 height. Still, in person, it is deeper than what you might think from those numbers.
           
          Gain a set of extra eyes with the Premium Series 4-Channel 500GB Surveillance System and watch over your property or assets in high resolution. This DVR provides you with real-time D1 resolution, which offers 4-times the detail and clarity of conventional CIF resolution. At 120 FPS (30 FPS per channel) recorded video will appear smooth and fluid. Not only can you watch over your back yard with confidence, you can rest assured that it will all be captured in real-time so you never miss a moment. Enjoy the convenience and security of a complete system with the 4 included high resolution cameras. The QM6510B cameras are premium cameras that offer 700TVL of resolution. Coupled with the DVR's real-time D1 resolution, this system offers large, detailed images that actually deliver. Darkness doesn't stop these cameras either. Thanks to 36 high-qualities infrared LED's, the QM6510B can see up to an impressive 100 ft. in the dark while still offering the same quality, in black and white, as you would expect in the day time. Day or night, the camera's high resolution capabilities and infrared cut filter ensure images will be clear, crisp and accurate. Always capture the details with this DVR's Real-time Full D1 resolution. A full 30 FPS means recorded video on all channels will be smooth and fluid.
           

          is this wireless?

          Asked by
          Mike
          Log Island, N;Y
          November 28, 2014
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          November 29, 2014
          Answer: 
          No
           
          Gain a set of extra eyes with the Premium Series 4-Channel 500GB Surveillance System and watch over your property or assets in high resolution. This DVR provides you with real-time D1 resolution, which offers 4-times the detail and clarity of conventional CIF resolution. At 120 FPS (30 FPS per channel) recorded video will appear smooth and fluid. Not only can you watch over your back yard with confidence, you can rest assured that it will all be captured in real-time so you never miss a moment. Enjoy the convenience and security of a complete system with the 4 included high resolution cameras. The QM6510B cameras are premium cameras that offer 700TVL of resolution. Coupled with the DVR's real-time D1 resolution, this system offers large, detailed images that actually deliver. Darkness doesn't stop these cameras either. Thanks to 36 high-qualities infrared LED's, the QM6510B can see up to an impressive 100 ft. in the dark while still offering the same quality, in black and white, as you would expect in the day time. Day or night, the camera's high resolution capabilities and infrared cut filter ensure images will be clear, crisp and accurate. Always capture the details with this DVR's Real-time Full D1 resolution. A full 30 FPS means recorded video on all channels will be smooth and fluid.
           

          Do the cameras record audio as well?

          Asked by
          edberta
          okc
          November 28, 2014
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          November 29, 2014
          Answer: 
          No, you'd need to add your own audio mics, which will plug into the DVR with a standard RCA type plug.