Historian
  • Review count
    96
  • Helpfulness votes
    203
  • Average rating
    4.9
    4.9 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    November 18, 2014
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      11
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        96
      • Helpfulness votes
        203
      • Average rating
        4.9
        4.9 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        November 18, 2014
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          11
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          Have true peace of mind for important documents and hard-to-replace records. Redesigned with a durable body and a flush mounted face plate, this file provides reliable protection from threats like fire and flood. Integrated handles make the file easy to carry, making organizing, accessing and protecting your vital home and office papers simpler than ever.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Far More Impressive Than I Expected From The Photos!
          PostedNovember 18, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          To be honest, I figured this safe would be a light, wimpy thing, and while you could lock documents up in it, a thief could easily tote it off and run away down the street. Boy, was I wrong! This isn't just a locking metal box like you'd think looking at the photo. First off, it weighs 44 pounds! It's about 17 inches wide outside, 14 inches front to back, and about 14.5 inches tall. My UPS delivery guy asked if I was ordering bricks by the box-full. This thing has some serious heft to it! inside, it is 11 7/8 inches wide, 8 1/8 inches front to back, and 9 3/8 inches deep (not counting the dome-shape in the lid). The day it was delivered, it was sub-freezing temperatures outside. The safe satRead More
          To be honest, I figured this safe would be a light, wimpy thing, and while you could lock documents up in it, a thief could easily tote it off and run away down the street. Boy, was I wrong! This isn't just a locking metal box like you'd think looking at the photo. First off, it weighs 44 pounds! It's about 17 inches wide outside, 14 inches front to back, and about 14.5 inches tall. My UPS delivery guy asked if I was ordering bricks by the box-full. This thing has some serious heft to it! inside, it is 11 7/8 inches wide, 8 1/8 inches front to back, and 9 3/8 inches deep (not counting the dome-shape in the lid). The day it was delivered, it was sub-freezing temperatures outside. The safe sat in my very warm house a couple hours before I opened it. The safe was still ice-cold! That tells me that the thermal properties of this safe are of excellent quality. After all, it is supposed to keep your documents safe during a fire, so that is an important factor in a product like this! The manufacturer warranties this safe for one year, but what you may not notice until you buy it, and read the enclosed paperwork, is that they put a Lifetime After-Fire Replacement warranty on it if it should be in a fire. That is because it has a rubber seal around the inside of the lid, and if it were in a fire, that seal would melt and seal the lid closed. That is also a important feature you might not expect. It comes with two keys, and Sentry can replace a lost key for you if you contact them. There are two inset handles along the sides, but trust me, you won't want to move this little beast around much. And should a thief decide to run off down the street with your safe, he won't be running fast with this heavy thing either! While it is intended to be more of a fire-resistant safe, than a thief-resistant one, it is designed to be resistant to prying open by a casual thief. It is also designed to protect your items in a flood. They do say that it is not intended to securely store firearms, other weapons, combustible materials, medications, delicate items (stored directly) or pearls. However, for your precious documents, such as birth certificates, passports, family photos, or digital media, it would be perfect, in my opinion. For the small price they are charging for this safe, I call it a real bargain! It would also make a great gift idea for someone you love. You can bet that I will be looking for more Sentry products in the future! Thanks Sentry, and Home Depot!Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, well designed
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Samsung's latest WaterWall Technology cleans every item in the dishwasher with unprecedented power and range. Zone Boost offers the flexibility to wash every kind of dish in one load. Improved flexibility offers more space for dishes and utensils of every shape and size.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          My Wife Is A Happy Camper! So am I!
          PostedOctober 27, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Energy efficiency 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          In 35 years of marriage, we've never owned a dishwasher. My mother owned one, and several people I know had them. It always seemed such a waste to have one, because based on older style ones, you'd have to wash your dishes by hand first, to get any gunk off them, before putting them in the dishwasher. Heck, by that point, you may as well just finish washing them by hand and be done with it. We just never could justify spending money on a dishwasher that couldn't really wash dishes unless they were already almost clean. This Samsung DW80H9930 Dishwasher with its Waterwall Wash System is a whole new idea in dishwashers! Besides the typical rotating water sprayer, it has a device mounted in theRead More
          In 35 years of marriage, we've never owned a dishwasher. My mother owned one, and several people I know had them. It always seemed such a waste to have one, because based on older style ones, you'd have to wash your dishes by hand first, to get any gunk off them, before putting them in the dishwasher. Heck, by that point, you may as well just finish washing them by hand and be done with it. We just never could justify spending money on a dishwasher that couldn't really wash dishes unless they were already almost clean. This Samsung DW80H9930 Dishwasher with its Waterwall Wash System is a whole new idea in dishwashers! Besides the typical rotating water sprayer, it has a device mounted in the bottom that sprays a wall of water up, and slides back & forth getting all your dishes thoroughly soaked and clean. I've read some bad reviews for this dishwasher, and most sound like user error by people who either didn't read the manual, or didn't install it properly to begin with. One person complained that their dishes didn't fit properly. Its hardly the fault of a dishwasher for what kind of dishes you have, or if you didn't push the trays in all the way. We have had none of those problems. This dishwasher is just awesome! Besides doing a better job of cleaning than any dishwasher I have seen, it is much quieter than any I have seen too. I especially like the stainless steel inner tub, the stainless steel face, and really love the touch controls! Now, I want a stainless steel stove and refrigerator to go with this amazing dishwasher! Thanks Samsung, and Home Depot!Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
          -1point
          0out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          The Husky 3-Ton Garage Jack Kit includes one 3 Ton Garage Jack, two 3 Ton Jack Stands and a 36 in. 6 Wheel Creeper. Perfect for work on you automobile in your home or business garage. Use the jack stands to support your vehicle after lifting to desired height. Then use the creeper to roll underneath the car to make repairs. The creeper has a maximum weight capacity of 300 lbs.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Perfect Tools, Just In Time!
          PostedOctober 22, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Irony of ironies, on the same day my Husky floor jack, jack stands and creeper arrived, my wife's van needed rear brakes replaced. I go to get parts from the store, and my truck broke down as well! Needless to say, it was one of those days we all dread. Luckily, my Husky tools saved the day! My old floor jack was 35 years old, and wasn't a good one when it was new, and it gave up the ghost last winter. It was never able to lift my truck high enough, so I had to either pile lumber or bricks under it to lift it high enough, to get the tires off my truck. My old jack-stands were cheap sheet-metal with pins that set them in place. The pre-set pin holes never seemed to be just the right heightRead More
          Irony of ironies, on the same day my Husky floor jack, jack stands and creeper arrived, my wife's van needed rear brakes replaced. I go to get parts from the store, and my truck broke down as well! Needless to say, it was one of those days we all dread. Luckily, my Husky tools saved the day! My old floor jack was 35 years old, and wasn't a good one when it was new, and it gave up the ghost last winter. It was never able to lift my truck high enough, so I had to either pile lumber or bricks under it to lift it high enough, to get the tires off my truck. My old jack-stands were cheap sheet-metal with pins that set them in place. The pre-set pin holes never seemed to be just the right height for whatever I was working on, so I'd either have to jack the vehicle higher or lower it to accommodate the jack stands. The last time I used them, a friend commented that I "liked to live dangerously". That's not true, but that old jack and jack-stands were indeed cheap and dangerous. My old creeper was a pathetic joke from the get-go, made of wood, with angled wheels that would never roll straight and always seemed to get caught in the cracks of concrete, or blocked by a tiny pebble. I mention all of these old tool problems, because those are the kind of things to avoid in tools such as these. Husky, a tool maker I love, makes none of those mistakes in design! The jack is a dream, and hoists a car into the air like an Indy pit crew. It's built like a tank, and lifts about two feet (I didn't actually measure the height, but just eyeballed it). If you have to carry it, it is heavy, but that is exactly what you want in a floor jack. There is just no comparison between this beautiful Husky 3-ton floor jack, and my old junk one! There is also no comparison between my old junk jack stands and these fabulous Husky heavy duty jack stands! The Husky ones are heavy, and instead of that ridiculous pin-setting design, have a ratcheting height adjustment, that allows you to raise the jack stand to just where you need it, or close enough anyway! If you are going to have 2,000 to 5,000 pounds of steel sitting above you while you lay underneath it, you want some solid, reliable products like these from Husky! They didn't spare the quality on the mechanic's creeper either. It has a square steel tube construction, with a nice full-length cushion for your back, and 6 heavy duty casters with real wheels that easily slide where you want them to go. I cannot begin to tell you how many times my old creeper caused me to whack my head on the underside of a car, because of those ridiculous angled "wheels". This Husky creeper is a dream come true! It not only wheels where you want it, its comfortable to lay on. As a side-note, I used my Husky brand sockets to fix the brakes on my wife's van, and it is now finished. Tomorrow, I will tackle fixing my truck, and you can bet this Husky Jack, Jack Stands, and Creeper will get used again! I can honestly say that I won't dread that job nearly as much as I would have with my old stuff. I love these products! Thanks Husky, and Home Depot!Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Dermal Sharpening Station is a multi-purpose sharpener that allows you to extend the life of a variety DIY tools and accessories including knives, scissors, drill bits, chisels and planer blades. Designed for users wanting to save money by extending the life of commonly used household accessories the sharpener is also ideal for those who have items requiring frequent sharpening. Its compact size enables table-top use and the three dedicated guides that help you get the perfect edge, store conveniently on the tool when not in use. The diamond-coated steel sharpening wheel is durable and will not distort over time providing smooth and consistent edges for the life of the tool.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Yet Another Great Product From The Folks At Dremel!
          PostedOctober 16, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          I have been a huge fan of Dremel tools for a very long time, and have several of their tools, all of which I love for the purposes they are made for. Enter the Dremel Sharpening Station, my latest new love! With a small footprint for your workbench, and light weight in case you need to tote it around, it sharpens drill bits, knives, chisel blades, planer blades, and probably a few things I haven't thought of yet. My son is a professional chef, and has a large collection of knives that he has to keep sharp. He has been paying a sharpening service to keep his blades sharpened, and it wouldn't take long doing that to pay for one of these Dremel Sharpening Stations. I expect he will now beRead More
          I have been a huge fan of Dremel tools for a very long time, and have several of their tools, all of which I love for the purposes they are made for. Enter the Dremel Sharpening Station, my latest new love! With a small footprint for your workbench, and light weight in case you need to tote it around, it sharpens drill bits, knives, chisel blades, planer blades, and probably a few things I haven't thought of yet. My son is a professional chef, and has a large collection of knives that he has to keep sharp. He has been paying a sharpening service to keep his blades sharpened, and it wouldn't take long doing that to pay for one of these Dremel Sharpening Stations. I expect he will now be bringing all his knives to dear old dad to sharpen now. Thanks Dremel, and Home Depot!Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          This rectangular shaped floor lamp enhances your decor with a soft glow of light warming up your living space. The paper shade features a crinkle effect that adds texture to the lamp. The decorative faux wood adds a touch of elegance to the lamp. The lamp requires a 100 watt bulb that is not included and is turned on and off using a pull chain switch.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          An Elegant Lamp!
          PostedOctober 15, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          For some strange reason, the builder of our home did not install any living room light fixtures. As a result, it tends to be fairly dark. Our only lamps were end-table type lamps, but due to our furniture taking up so much room, we don't have space for end-tables. I got this lamp for our living room, and it solves the problem just fine. Our interior is all Earth-tones, and this lamp fits it well, and would still look great in just about any color themed room. My wife is half-Japanese, and the shade on this lamp looks sort of like a Japanese lantern, so that pleases her very much. The pull-chain is just the right height to turn the lamp on while sitting in a chair. Overall, we are veryRead More
          For some strange reason, the builder of our home did not install any living room light fixtures. As a result, it tends to be fairly dark. Our only lamps were end-table type lamps, but due to our furniture taking up so much room, we don't have space for end-tables. I got this lamp for our living room, and it solves the problem just fine. Our interior is all Earth-tones, and this lamp fits it well, and would still look great in just about any color themed room. My wife is half-Japanese, and the shade on this lamp looks sort of like a Japanese lantern, so that pleases her very much. The pull-chain is just the right height to turn the lamp on while sitting in a chair. Overall, we are very pleased with this lamp, and it not only solves a big problem we had, but looks great too. Thanks Evolution Lighting, and Home Depot!Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 20 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          Inspired by the retro silhouettes of classic American pottery. The Delta Silverton Single Robe Hook in Chrome will bring relaxed elegance to your bath. Dual-purpose hook holds more items.
           

          Hello....Can this be mounted in the shower, on tile???

          Asked by
          Pearlie Girl
          May 7, 2012
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          September 25, 2014
          Answer: 
          Yes, but you'll need to drill screw holes through the tile.
           
          Featuring a great power-to-weight ratio, the Paslode 3-1/2 in. Clipped Head and Round Drive Strip 30-Degree Framing Nailer provides powerful performance in a lightweight design. The low-recoil nailer offers a center of gravity that is close to the trigger to provide great balance and to help minimize arm fatigue while working. The depth-of-drive adjustment is located on the nailer instead of at the compressor for optimal time saving.
           

          does this nail gun have a soft tip application for siding nails, i.e. no mar tip?

          Asked by
          juss
          June 13, 2014
          July 22, 2014
          Answer: 
          Yes, Paslode offers that as an optional item you buy seperately.
           
          Nashua Trusted Tapes get the job done right, the first time, every time. Protect your windows and doors from rough weather with the Nashua Select Premium Butyl Rubber Tape Flashing. When properly installed, this versatile tape can help seal against wind-driven rain and air infiltration and defend against mold, mildew and premature decay. One roll is typically enough material to flash three standard windows or two doors.
           

          SO...EACH CASE IS 23.88 ?

          Asked by
          ATEBALLMAKER
          TACOMA,WASHINGTON
          July 6, 2013
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 7, 2014
          Answer: 
          No, price per roll.
           
          Nashua Trusted Tapes get the job done right, the first time, every time. Protect your windows and doors from rough weather with the Nashua Select Premium Butyl Rubber Tape Flashing. When properly installed, this versatile tape can help seal against wind-driven rain and air infiltration and defend against mold, mildew and premature decay. One roll is typically enough material to flash three standard windows or two doors.
           

          Can you purchase 1 roll of this tape vs. the whole case(8)?

          Asked by
          vickinkc
          Kansas City, MO
          April 25, 2013
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 7, 2014
          Answer: 
          Yes
           
          Nashua Trusted Tapes get the job done right, the first time, every time. Protect your windows and doors from rough weather with the Nashua Select Premium Butyl Rubber Tape Flashing. When properly installed, this versatile tape can help seal against wind-driven rain and air infiltration and defend against mold, mildew and premature decay. One roll is typically enough material to flash three standard windows or two doors.
           

          Do you use a primer with the tape prior to installing ?

          Asked by
          John
          August 16, 2013
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 7, 2014
          Answer: 
          No