Historian
  • Review count
    122
  • Helpfulness votes
    266
  • Average rating
    4.9
    4.9 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    March 20, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      18
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        122
      • Helpfulness votes
        266
      • Average rating
        4.9
        4.9 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        March 20, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          18
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          Built to withstand harsh environments and even harsher chemicals, our industrial series is essential for any contractor or construction work. Each product is fit with chemical-resistant seals and brass components specially designed for contact with acetone, xylene, bond breakers, curing compounds, and more. So no matter the application, our sprayers will go the distance. The smith performance 3.5 gal. Industrial and Contractor Stainless Steel Concrete Sprayer is a durable solutions for a wide variety of concrete applications. From sealers to form oils, and stains to activators, this stainless sprayer will hold up to the toughest chemicals and the toughest work conditions, guaranteed. The specially designed locking mechanism and corrosion resistant shut-off will be sure to last longer and perform better than other concrete sprayers on the market.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Sprayer To Last A Lifetime!
          PostedMarch 20, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This pro-grade 3.5 Gallon Industrial And Contractor Stainless Steel Concrete Compression Sprayer was intended for industrial and contractor use, mainly for concrete finishers. My wife used to work in a meat plant, and they had a couple of these they used for spraying chemicals on the floors. My neighbor used to work as a bridge builder, and they too had sprayers like this for their work. However, the average homeowner would also be well served with this sprayer too, whether it is weed-killer, bug-killer, liquid fertilizer, you name it, this will do the job well, and last a lifetime versus cheap plastic sprayers. The manufacturer does warn you to not use flammable liquids in it, as that could Read More
          This pro-grade 3.5 Gallon Industrial And Contractor Stainless Steel Concrete Compression Sprayer was intended for industrial and contractor use, mainly for concrete finishers. My wife used to work in a meat plant, and they had a couple of these they used for spraying chemicals on the floors. My neighbor used to work as a bridge builder, and they too had sprayers like this for their work. However, the average homeowner would also be well served with this sprayer too, whether it is weed-killer, bug-killer, liquid fertilizer, you name it, this will do the job well, and last a lifetime versus cheap plastic sprayers. The manufacturer does warn you to not use flammable liquids in it, as that could be dangerous since the liquid is under pressure. What I like most about this sprayer, is the manufacturer intends it to last a long time, and not just be a throw-away item. They even include a extra set of rubber o-rings for it, so you can get it back into service quickly. It comes with a pair of shoulder straps as well. The tank has built-in brackets for the sprayer wand to fit in like a holster. I am just very impressed with the quality built into this sprayer in every aspect. Thanks Smith Performance Sprayers, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Introducing the Ryobi 2-Cycle Gas Curved Shaft String Trimmer with a full crank engine for 2X longer life. This string trimmer accepts Ryobi Expand-It Universal Brand Fit attachments adding versatility to your trimmer. Simply attach a cultivator, blower, or even a hedge trimmer to the power head and quickly move from project to project. Save time, save space and save money with the Ryobi Expand-It System. Ryobi makes string head reloads easier with the Reel-Easy String Head; thread your string, twist the head, and resume trimming. Users will experience easier starting with the Zip Start carburetor and included Ethanol Shield 2-Cycle Oil. Backed by a 3 year warranty, trust the Ryobi 2-Cycle Gas Curved Shaft String Trimmer for your outdoor trimming needs.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          My Favorite String Trimmer Yet!
          PostedMarch 20, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of use 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I've gone through dozens of cheap electric string trimmers over the years, and a few gas-powered ones as well. A few lasted a whole season, and some only last a month. This new 25cc 2-Cycle Full Crank Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer is the best I have had yet! The engine is easy to start and operate, and has plenty of power for what I need. Best of all, it is part of Ryobi's Expand-It line. The Expand-It line includes several very clever attachments that you can buy to go with the engine unit of this trimmer. They make a blower, a hedge trimmer, a chain saw, an edger, a tiller and a heavy brush cutter for it. You simply detach the lower section of the shaft, attach one of the optional Read More
          I've gone through dozens of cheap electric string trimmers over the years, and a few gas-powered ones as well. A few lasted a whole season, and some only last a month. This new 25cc 2-Cycle Full Crank Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer is the best I have had yet! The engine is easy to start and operate, and has plenty of power for what I need. Best of all, it is part of Ryobi's Expand-It line. The Expand-It line includes several very clever attachments that you can buy to go with the engine unit of this trimmer. They make a blower, a hedge trimmer, a chain saw, an edger, a tiller and a heavy brush cutter for it. You simply detach the lower section of the shaft, attach one of the optional attachments in its place, tighten up the wing nut, and your are ready to go. What a brilliant idea! I plan to buy the brush cutter attachment first, since we have lots of heavy brush weeds around here that need to be taught a lesson! This trimmer is kind of heavy, so I will probably also be buying a shoulder-harness for it as well. Ryobi strongly urges you to buy a Ethanol Shield 2-Cycle oil for this trimmer, as ethanol will mess up the engine, and so often today, many gas stations sell gas with ethanol added. Ryobi has included a sample bottle of this oil to get you started, that treats one gallon of fuel. Look out weeds, here I come! Thanks Ryobi and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The GE Backyard Outlet with 2-20 Amp GFCI Receptacles offers an ideal way to put power outdoors. Its compact design conserves space, and the rolled edge hinged door allows cords to exit freely.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Life Just Got Easier!
          PostedMarch 19, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          For decades, I have had to string extension cords out a window or door to use electricity in my back yard. This GE Backyard Outlet With 2-20 Amp GFCI Receptacles solved my problems forever! The outlet box has lots of options on the sides and back with knock-outs for wiring. To my surprise, it is rated for aluminum/copper wiring. If you don't have aluminum wiring, you don't appreciate how important that is. Some unlucky folks like me, who have a 1970-built house, are stuck with aluminum wiring. Such wiring is now outlawed, because it can be dangerous, so you need to buy switches, outlets, etc., that are rated for aluminum wire to be safe. This Backyard Outlet is rated for both Aluminum and Read More
          For decades, I have had to string extension cords out a window or door to use electricity in my back yard. This GE Backyard Outlet With 2-20 Amp GFCI Receptacles solved my problems forever! The outlet box has lots of options on the sides and back with knock-outs for wiring. To my surprise, it is rated for aluminum/copper wiring. If you don't have aluminum wiring, you don't appreciate how important that is. Some unlucky folks like me, who have a 1970-built house, are stuck with aluminum wiring. Such wiring is now outlawed, because it can be dangerous, so you need to buy switches, outlets, etc., that are rated for aluminum wire to be safe. This Backyard Outlet is rated for both Aluminum and Copper wiring, so it is very safe! Plus, it has GFCI receptacles to protect you and your house in case of a short. To stop thieves from tapping into your electric supply, the box is outfitted with a padlock hole. I can't install it just yet, due to the constant rain we are having, but I will mount this box in a central location on the back of my house where I can reach it from everywhere. Thanks GE and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation, cu/al rated
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Angular-inspired shapes with soft, curved edges give the Hensley suite a renewed traditional style. The Microban antimicrobial protection helps prevent the growth of damaging bacteria on the finish. The Hensley also features an innovative Spot Resist finish that resists fingerprints and water spots to maintain the brilliance of the original finish and easily wipe clean.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Moen Is Always A Name You Can Count On For Quality
          PostedMarch 19, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I'd recently got a bathroom vanity, and wanted a good quality faucet to go with it. This Moen Hensley 4 Inch Centerset 2-Handle Bathroom Faucet Featuring Microban Protection In Spot Resistant Nickel fit the bill just perfectly! The styling and high-arched spout are just fabulous! I can't speak to how well the "Microban" feature works, but it seems like a great idea, especially in a house with small grandchildren. What I like best about this faucet is something you won't see unless you look for it; the valve body is brass! With so many faucet valve bodies being made of plastic nowadays, you usually have to pay a premium for a brass one. In my opinion, brass valve bodies hold up over time far Read More
          I'd recently got a bathroom vanity, and wanted a good quality faucet to go with it. This Moen Hensley 4 Inch Centerset 2-Handle Bathroom Faucet Featuring Microban Protection In Spot Resistant Nickel fit the bill just perfectly! The styling and high-arched spout are just fabulous! I can't speak to how well the "Microban" feature works, but it seems like a great idea, especially in a house with small grandchildren. What I like best about this faucet is something you won't see unless you look for it; the valve body is brass! With so many faucet valve bodies being made of plastic nowadays, you usually have to pay a premium for a brass one. In my opinion, brass valve bodies hold up over time far better than plastic. I also like a two-handle faucet, so you can better control water temps. I was surprised to see that Moen also included the drain-valve for the sink. Usually, you have to buy those separately, so getting one to match the faucet was a nice touch! All in all, I love this faucet, and appreciate the forethought that Moen put into it. Thanks Moen, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Install, Strong Water Pressure, Looks Great, Stylish, Modern, well done instructions
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Home Decorators Collection 52 in. Gazelle indoor/outdoor ceiling fan is designed to enhance your outdoor living space while being strong enough to withstand the elements. The matte white finish is paired with matte white ABS blades to blend in with the ceiling and keep the focus on your decor. The twist-lock shatter-resistant plastic light shades install quickly and are held securely in place with a simple twist - no more screws. Installation is quick and easy with the inclusion of QuickInstall blades which snap into place without the need to tighten screws for each blade - so you can get back to enjoying the outdoors, not working in them.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great Ceiling Fan For Damp Areas!
          PostedMarch 19, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We have a hot tub room in our house, and it gets fairly humid. A normal ceiling fan with wood blades tends to end up with badly warped blades in no time at all. This gorgeous Gazelle 52 Inch Indoor/Outdoor Matte White Ceiling Fan With Shatter Resistant Light Shades is the perfect solution for our needs. The blades on this fan are heavy plastic, with a pressed wood grain on the lower side. Like the other newer Hampton Bay fans, this fan has the quick and easy mounting method using three screw/rubber bushings that slip into pre-cut holes, and then are pulled into their slots and lock into place. So too, it has my favorite wiring connection for the light fixture that uses a plug-in connector Read More
          We have a hot tub room in our house, and it gets fairly humid. A normal ceiling fan with wood blades tends to end up with badly warped blades in no time at all. This gorgeous Gazelle 52 Inch Indoor/Outdoor Matte White Ceiling Fan With Shatter Resistant Light Shades is the perfect solution for our needs. The blades on this fan are heavy plastic, with a pressed wood grain on the lower side. Like the other newer Hampton Bay fans, this fan has the quick and easy mounting method using three screw/rubber bushings that slip into pre-cut holes, and then are pulled into their slots and lock into place. So too, it has my favorite wiring connection for the light fixture that uses a plug-in connector versus the twist-nut connection. The fan runs very quiet, and the three light fixture throws off a nice light with the included CF light bulbs. The light shades are shatter-resistant plastic, and as it will be located near a hot tub, that is a big plus in an area where bare feet are the norm! Assembly was a breeze, and the instructions are very well designed. All in all, I am very happy with this ceiling fan. Thanks Hampton Bay, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Great Instructions
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 25 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          The 36 in. Hampton Bay Luxenberg ceiling fan is the perfect solution for any small room application. The brushed nickel finish is complemented with 5 reversible blades in matte black or maple finish. The 3-light light kit creates a nice amount of light with the (3)14-Watt CFL bulbs included. This small room indoor ceiling fan was designed to operate quietly and wobble free while circulating the right amount of air to create a comfortable environment.
           

          Is the assembled height shown with or without the down rod? How low will this hang flush mounted?

          Asked by
          Quinny
          March 6, 2015
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          March 18, 2015
          Answer: 
          Flush Mounted, it measures 8.4 inches to the fan bottom and 14 inches to the bottom of the light fixture. If mounted with the included downrod tube, its 12.2 inches to the fan bottom, and 17.7 inches to the bottom of the light. Those are all measured from the ceiling. You could add as much as a 72 inch tube if you so desired. The longer tubes are optional.
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
           
          This Shaker-inspired Glacier Bay Modular Vanity Cabinet in Java with Solid Surface Technology Top in Cappuccino has 2 cabinet doors with a furniture-quality finish. It has a maple-finished interior that is attractive and easy to clean. The cultured marble vanity top has an integral sink basin to make cleaning easier. The vanity top is pre-drilled for a 3-hole, 4 in. spread faucet (not included). Limited Lifetime Warranty.
           

          To confirm, is the sink basin actually marble as listed or is it porcelain?

          Asked by
          TWilli
          December 1, 2014
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          March 10, 2015
          Answer: 
          The sink is not marble, the vanity top is.
           
          The sleek stylish design of this Riosa 2-Piece Elongated Toilet in White provides innovations, maximum performance and water-savings. Beautifully designed for easy installation, maximum flush and water savings, Delta toilets are the smart choice. All Delta toilets feature the exclusive Smart Fit tank-to-bowl connection. This technology eliminates potential leak points and the fear of over-tightening bolts. All while adding stability to the tank and making for an easier installation process. The Riosa features a factory-installed supply line that resided in a channel on the back of the tank above the water line, eliminating another potential leak point. The concealed trap way gives it a smoother, cleaner look. The elongated bowl and chair height allow for greater comfort. The quick-release seat allows for easy cleaning. This stylish design provides maximum performance and water-savings. Another smart innovation is the inclusion of a toilet removal kit. The kit includes items needed to aid in the removal of your existing toilet: a pair of disposal gloves, disposable scraper, highly absorbent sponge, and cloth. No additional tools are required to assemble and install this complete toilet.
           

          How do you secure the toilet to the floor?

          Asked by
          ace48
          Jackson, MS
          February 4, 2015
          Is there a video on securing the toilet to the floor since the bolts are hidden when the toilet is placed?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          February 25, 2015
          Answer: 
          With the included anchor bolts. Yes, Delta has videos on their website for removing old toilets, and for installing the new one.
           
          Blending with a wide variety of kitchen styles, this Verse double-basin sink features stainless-steel construction and a low-profile rim that simplifies cleanup, allowing you to sweep crumbs and liquid into the sink and out of sight. The engineered sound-absorption system significantly reduces disposal and dishwashing noise.
           

          what gauge stainless

          Asked by
          ronald
          June 14, 2014
          what gauge stainless steel is this? thanks
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          December 18, 2014
          Answer: 
          Not sure of the gauge in numbers, but its much heavier than our old no-name brand was.
           
          Blending with a wide variety of kitchen styles, this Verse double-basin sink features stainless-steel construction and a low-profile rim that simplifies cleanup, allowing you to sweep crumbs and liquid into the sink and out of sight. The engineered sound-absorption system significantly reduces disposal and dishwashing noise.
           

          how deep are the sinks?

          Asked by
          mimi
          Snellville, GA
          December 15, 2014
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          December 18, 2014
          Answer: 
          8 1/2 inches below the counter, and 1/2 above, for a total of 9 height. Still, in person, it is deeper than what you might think from those numbers.