Historian
  • Review count
    205
  • Helpfulness votes
    469
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    May 22, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      436
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        205
      • Helpfulness votes
        469
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        May 22, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          436
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          If you’ve ever worked with fiber cement material, you know cutting it can be tough on both you and your saw. Now you can power through stacks of fiber cement while the silica dust is funneled away from the tool motor for longer life this Sidewinder has a blade guard extension and dust channel to funnel silica dust into the included vacuum hose to be collected by your jobsite vac. Cut siding and trim straight and clean all day with less fatigue, thanks to the lightweight yet rugged magnesium components. And nothing tops SKILSAW Dual-Field motor for durability. This saw even helps keep the vacuum hose and power cord from getting in your way with its unique no-mar cord sleeve. Big job or small job this Sidewinder will leave all other circular saws in the dust.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Skilsaw Just Keeps Getting Better And Better!
          PostedMay 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have an older model Skilsaw circular saw. It is a good saw, but it seems much cheaper made than this one, and doesn't have the blade lock that this one has. It also doesn't have that very cool vacuum hose attachment that this one has! Skilsaw markets this saw as being for fiber cement board, because it has the dust-collection vacuum attachment, and comes with a Diablo Hardie Board blade. If you've ever cut cement board for a bathroom remodel before, with a regular circular saw, you know what a pain in the neck mess that is! Clouds of cement dust fills the air, and you better be wearing a respirator if you value your lungs! This Diablo blade does a much better job of cutting the cement Read More
          I have an older model Skilsaw circular saw. It is a good saw, but it seems much cheaper made than this one, and doesn't have the blade lock that this one has. It also doesn't have that very cool vacuum hose attachment that this one has! Skilsaw markets this saw as being for fiber cement board, because it has the dust-collection vacuum attachment, and comes with a Diablo Hardie Board blade. If you've ever cut cement board for a bathroom remodel before, with a regular circular saw, you know what a pain in the neck mess that is! Clouds of cement dust fills the air, and you better be wearing a respirator if you value your lungs! This Diablo blade does a much better job of cutting the cement board than a regular saw blade, and that dust collection vacuum attachment is a life-saver for cutting down the dust.
          Now, Skilsaw says not to use this saw with cutting other materials such as wood, but if you change out the blade with a standard 7 1/4 wood blade, it works just perfect for that as well. Skilsaw has made a lot of other improvements with this saw too. For instance, the base plate is a very heavy Magnesium one, versus the stamped steel one on my old saw. It looks and feels much more substantial. The blade wrench on my old saw was fairly light weight and simple. The blade wrench on this new saw is much thicker, has two holes for undoing the bolt, and even has a screwdriver edge cut into the back end. I was very impressed with that.
          The adjustments for this saw are pretty much the same as before. The put the vacuum attachment at the back of the blade guard, in just the right place. They include a vacuum hose, with a nylon type fabric hose guard, so you don't rip the hose on something you are working on. They also include two vacuum adapters, so that you can attach it to your shop vac. The only complaint I have whatsoever with this saw, is that the hose they provide doesn't really fit snugly on the vacuum adapter they provide. As a result, it slips off the adapter easily, and leaks air. That can easily be addressed by taking a medium sized radiator hose clamp, and snugging down the hose to the adapter for a tighter fit. Since it is so easy to fix, I'm not knocking off any stars for that, but Skilsaw might want to look into making their adapter castings just slightly bigger in diameter in that area. The portion on the saw itself is a nice snug fit for the vacuum hose.
          All in all, I really love this saw, and think it is a great improvement over Skilsaw's older models, and certainly better than many of their competitor's products! Thanks Skilsaw, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, All In One, Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, Powerful, Strong Suction, Sturdy, great at cutting hardie cement board!
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Husky 30 Gal. compressor features a high performance pump and motor that delivers 175 max psi along with 5.1 SCFM at 90 psi. Higher psi equates to longer air tool run times and increased project efficiency while the quiet operation at 78 dBA brings less noise to your work environment. 9 in. wheels make the unit portable in your shop or garage and the dual quick connects make it easy to switch between tools and applications. The Husky 30 Gal. 175 psi air compressor is perfect for all inflation tasks, nailing and stapling, automotive applications and spray painting tasks. The oil free feature eliminates the need for oil separators in your air delivery system while conducting painting projects.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Far Better Compressor Than My Old One!
          PostedMay 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have another compressor, made by a competitor that I paid a pretty fair price for new. I needed it at the time to frame out some walls while building my son's house. It worked, but overall, I was not real happy with it. It had a 20 gallon tank, and would hold up to 200 psi. My framing nailer would empty the tank fairly quick, then I'd have to wait for quite a while for the motor to refill it. Add to that, even being unused, it would bleed out air from the tank gradually, so it seemed to always need refilling. Worse still, the motor was horribly loud! You could hear that thing from a long ways off, and up close, it was deafening!
          This Husky 30 Gal. 175 psi High Performance Quiet Portable Read More
          I have another compressor, made by a competitor that I paid a pretty fair price for new. I needed it at the time to frame out some walls while building my son's house. It worked, but overall, I was not real happy with it. It had a 20 gallon tank, and would hold up to 200 psi. My framing nailer would empty the tank fairly quick, then I'd have to wait for quite a while for the motor to refill it. Add to that, even being unused, it would bleed out air from the tank gradually, so it seemed to always need refilling. Worse still, the motor was horribly loud! You could hear that thing from a long ways off, and up close, it was deafening!
          This Husky 30 Gal. 175 psi High Performance Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor has more tank capacity than my old one. While the old one touted itself as running 200 psi, my tools generally only needed 90 psi, so it isn't as much about the pressure, as it is the volume of air available. Husky markets this compressor as being quieter than others. I call that a big understatement that you don't appreciate until you've heard this one and can compare it to one such as my old one. This Husky compressor is maybe 6 times quieter than my old one, and certainly quieter than our vacuum cleaner! I filled it up two days ago, and its still holding air very nicely, and the motor has not kicked on once to refill it yet!
          All in all, I love this Husky compressor! I've been a big fan of their tools and other products for years, but I am here to tell you that this is one very well-made compressor! I would most certainly highly recommend this compressor to my friends and anyone else! Thanks Husky, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: All In One, Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, Strong, Sturdy, very quiet
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          RIDGID introduces the GEN5X 18-Volt Hammer Drill. This hammer drill is engineered with GEN5X Motor Technology. GEN5X permanent magnet motors have been engineered to provide best-in-class power, performance and run-time.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          My new favorite drill!
          PostedMay 21, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Until now, my go-to drill for most jobs is my older model Rigid 18 Volt 1/2 inch drill. It is so handy and lasts so long on a full battery that it just seems to be the first I reach for. However, this new Rigid Gen5X 18-Volt Lithium-Ion 1/2 in. Cordless Hammer Drill already has me excited, so this will be my new go-to drill! First thing you notice, is it is heavier, with a bigger looking motor, a much nicer metal chuck, more features (Hammer, Drill) and what I love most of all, is the new worklight! Rather than be a small LED down by the trigger, the light is built right in to the chuck! There were many times in the past, where I was doing close work in low light, and the actual body of the Read More
          Until now, my go-to drill for most jobs is my older model Rigid 18 Volt 1/2 inch drill. It is so handy and lasts so long on a full battery that it just seems to be the first I reach for. However, this new Rigid Gen5X 18-Volt Lithium-Ion 1/2 in. Cordless Hammer Drill already has me excited, so this will be my new go-to drill! First thing you notice, is it is heavier, with a bigger looking motor, a much nicer metal chuck, more features (Hammer, Drill) and what I love most of all, is the new worklight! Rather than be a small LED down by the trigger, the light is built right in to the chuck! There were many times in the past, where I was doing close work in low light, and the actual body of the old drill cast shadows on the spot I was drilling. This new light puts the light right at the spot you are working on, with nothing getting in the way! The folks at Rigid are genius! Thanks Rigid, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, All In One, Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, Powerful, Sturdy, very cool work light!
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Bosch, the #1 power tool accessory company in the world, invests in research and development and we listen to our customers. This leads to innovation that provides and enhances performance on the jobsite. Better Accessories, Better Results. Bosch Taps and Dies are for use in aluminum, mild steel and stainless steel. Cut and renew internal threads to exacting specifications.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Well worth the price, and a treasure to have!
          PostedMay 19, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I do a lot of mechanical work, on cars as well as my own gunsmithing. It is inevitable that you will occasionally break off a bolt, or strip a bolt or threaded hole. On a firearm, you may need to drill and tap threads to mount a sight or scope. Most of us don't use tap & die sets every day, but when you need one, you need it NOW! Years ago, money was very tight, and I couldn't afford a decent tap & die set, so I bought a small set in one of those bargain bins you see in hardware stores. It got me by for many things, and occasionally, I would have to buy a tap that was a size that I didn't have. My collection got me by, but it was nothing to brag about. This Bosch Tap & Die set is very nice Read More
          I do a lot of mechanical work, on cars as well as my own gunsmithing. It is inevitable that you will occasionally break off a bolt, or strip a bolt or threaded hole. On a firearm, you may need to drill and tap threads to mount a sight or scope. Most of us don't use tap & die sets every day, but when you need one, you need it NOW! Years ago, money was very tight, and I couldn't afford a decent tap & die set, so I bought a small set in one of those bargain bins you see in hardware stores. It got me by for many things, and occasionally, I would have to buy a tap that was a size that I didn't have. My collection got me by, but it was nothing to brag about. This Bosch Tap & Die set is very nice compared to that bargain set I got years ago! It has a wide variety of taps, dies and handles to cover most of the situations you may need to deal with. For gunsmithing, you may need a few very tiny taps that this set doesn't include, but they are not expensive and can easily be bought to supplement this set. But, for most mechanical needs, this set will cover what you need. I really love the carrying case they include, with its little slide out panels to retain the dies in place! I also love the black oxide finish that Bosch puts on these tools! You could spend hundreds of dollars to put together a set like this piece by piece, or you could save yourself a bunch of money by just buying this great set! Thanks Bosch and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, All In One, Durable, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting, Strong, Sturdy
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The innovative through design of the Husky 126-Piece Pass-Through Socket and Ratchet Set allows this set to tackle jobs that standard socket sets can't. The hollow sockets and ratchet heads allow threaded rod and bolts to pass completely through the tool for unbeatable access and virtually eliminating the need for deep sockets. This is the ultimate pass-through socket set from Husky offering 1/4 in., 3/8 in. and 1/2 in. drive tools all in 1 convenient set.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Brilliant Idea In Tools!
          PostedApril 23, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I've been doing my own mechanical work for close to 45 years. I have seen a lot of tools, used many, and have seen some innovations come on the market over the years. However, I have never seen anything quite as unique and brilliant in the area of socket wrenches and hand wrenches as this new Husky 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 in. Universal Pass-Through Mechanics Tool Set (126-Piece) tool set! What makes this set unique is the whole "pass-through" idea. Imagine for a moment, you have a nut on a really long bolt. A regular or a deep-well socket won't reach it because the bolt shaft is too long. So, you have to resort to a hand-wrench. However, in some situations, a hand-wrench is difficult or nearly Read More
          I've been doing my own mechanical work for close to 45 years. I have seen a lot of tools, used many, and have seen some innovations come on the market over the years. However, I have never seen anything quite as unique and brilliant in the area of socket wrenches and hand wrenches as this new Husky 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 in. Universal Pass-Through Mechanics Tool Set (126-Piece) tool set! What makes this set unique is the whole "pass-through" idea. Imagine for a moment, you have a nut on a really long bolt. A regular or a deep-well socket won't reach it because the bolt shaft is too long. So, you have to resort to a hand-wrench. However, in some situations, a hand-wrench is difficult or nearly impossible to get where you need it to be! The "pass-through" of this tool set means that the long shaft of the bolt you are working on can pass through the socket, pass through the extension, and pass through the ratchet, and you can get at the nut way down at the bottom without needing a hand-wrench. However, this set also includes "pass-through" hand-wrenches as well! This is one of the most clever ideas I have seen in tools for a very long time. And, it comes with Husky's Lifetime Warranty, so you know they have you covered! Thanks Husky, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, All In One, Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, Strong, Sturdy, innovative idea, wide variety of sizes
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 41 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          The GE Treviso 52 in. ceiling fan has a modern look for your room that is available in brushed nickel or bronze finish. The low profile design allows installation on lower ceilings. Featuring modern technologies such as an integrated 18-Watt LED light source that is energy efficient as well as dimmable. It also includes a remote control that operates both the light and speed of the fan. This fan is built with high quality GE specifications and includes a limited lifetime motor warranty.
           

          anyone else have a hum mine is loud even on low.

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 21, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          May 22, 2016
          Answer: 
          No, it is nice and quiet. Contact GE at 1-866-885-4649
           
          The Husky 30 Gal. compressor features a high performance pump and motor that delivers 175 max psi along with 5.1 SCFM at 90 psi. Higher psi equates to longer air tool run times and increased project efficiency while the quiet operation at 78 dBA brings less noise to your work environment. 9 in. wheels make the unit portable in your shop or garage and the dual quick connects make it easy to switch between tools and applications. The Husky 30 Gal. 175 psi air compressor is perfect for all inflation tasks, nailing and stapling, automotive applications and spray painting tasks. The oil free feature eliminates the need for oil separators in your air delivery system while conducting painting projects.
           

          Would you recommend using this compressor for auto body tools (eg. DA sander, grinder, etc.). Private use in my case.

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 21, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          May 22, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes I would, for private use. For commercial use, you'd probably want something with a much bigger tank.
           
          The Husky 30 Gal. compressor features a high performance pump and motor that delivers 175 max psi along with 5.1 SCFM at 90 psi. Higher psi equates to longer air tool run times and increased project efficiency while the quiet operation at 78 dBA brings less noise to your work environment. 9 in. wheels make the unit portable in your shop or garage and the dual quick connects make it easy to switch between tools and applications. The Husky 30 Gal. 175 psi air compressor is perfect for all inflation tasks, nailing and stapling, automotive applications and spray painting tasks. The oil free feature eliminates the need for oil separators in your air delivery system while conducting painting projects.
           

          what is the difference between this compressor and the 33 gallon unit for the same price?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Michigan
          May 15, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          May 22, 2016
          Answer: 
          Obviously, this has 3 gallons less capacity. It also has a 10 psi higher pressure rating. Most importantly, it is less expensive. I believe it is a newer model, and the 33 is an older model.
           
          This new versatile yard tool is a 2-wheeled cart designed to be attached to any lawn or garden tractor. 4 collapsible sides allow the Hauler to be folded flat and stored vertically, taking up 70% less space in a garage or shed than traditional yard carts. The foldable feature also allows the Hauler to be used in flat-bed mode, convenient for hauling long loads like logs or lumber.
           

          I'd like to get the accessories for this cart where can I find the part numbers and where can I get them ordered? Thnx

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 20, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          May 21, 2016
          Answer: 
          This is a Cub Cadet product. Cub Cadet is now owned by MTD. As best as I can tell, they never made any parts or accessories for this cart, or any of their other carts. They just sell the carts. So, if you want accessories or parts, you'll probably just have to make your own.
           
          RIDGID introduces the GEN5X 18-Volt Hammer Drill. This hammer drill is engineered with GEN5X Motor Technology. GEN5X permanent magnet motors have been engineered to provide best-in-class power, performance and run-time.
           

          Brushless?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          April 25, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          May 21, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, brushless, as described in the Home Depot website product page.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 88 >>