Historian
  • Review count
    250
  • Helpfulness votes
    544
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    November 24, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      499
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        250
      • Helpfulness votes
        544
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        November 24, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          499
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          The DEWALT DWCS20100 hardwood flooring staples are constructed from 20-Gauge steel. The bright finish provides holding power. The staples feature a chisel point. Each package has 5,000 staples.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great Staples For The Dewalt 20 Ga Engineered Flooring Stapler
          PostedNovember 24, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I got these Dewalt 1 in. x 20-Gauge 3/16 in. Crown Glue Collated Hardwood Flooring Staple (5,000 per Box) to go with the Dewalt 20-Gauge Engineered Flooring Stapler from Home Depot I got. The stapler itself is designed to be used on the wood-look engineered flooring that is so popular now, but I would imagine that it and these staples would work well with regular hardwood flooring or tongue & groove wall paneling too. They are well-made staples, like most Dewalt products are, and they are designed to work in that stapler. You get 5,000 in a box, so that should cover a fair bit of flooring, when you space staples 6-10 inches apart, depending on the flooring width. So, figure roughly 1,000 Read More
          I got these Dewalt 1 in. x 20-Gauge 3/16 in. Crown Glue Collated Hardwood Flooring Staple (5,000 per Box) to go with the Dewalt 20-Gauge Engineered Flooring Stapler from Home Depot I got. The stapler itself is designed to be used on the wood-look engineered flooring that is so popular now, but I would imagine that it and these staples would work well with regular hardwood flooring or tongue & groove wall paneling too. They are well-made staples, like most Dewalt products are, and they are designed to work in that stapler. You get 5,000 in a box, so that should cover a fair bit of flooring, when you space staples 6-10 inches apart, depending on the flooring width. So, figure roughly 1,000 square feet of flooring, more or less per box. Considering what you are paying for the staples, and the added value of the flooring to your home, I call that a pretty economical deal. Thanks Dewalt, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Strong, Sturdy
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Tools are not required to change the depth of this stapler. A non-marring tip helps to prevent floor abrasions. Oil is not needed for this motor to run which eliminates the risk of oil stains on work surfaces.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Fabulous Flooring Specialty Stapler
          PostedNovember 24, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          While this stapler is designed to be used on the engineered wood-look flooring that is so popular today, I would just imagine that it would also work well with regular hardwood flooring, although I haven't tried it on that. But, if you wanted to shoot through the tongue of tongue and grooved wood, I would imagine it would work well. So, I could see it being useful also for tongue and groove wall paneling. But really, it is designed for engineered flooring, and that is where it shines. There were no instructions included with this stapler, and as of this date, none available for download on Home Depot or Dewalt's website. As it is, it's simple enough to use, that it doesn't need instructions Read More
          While this stapler is designed to be used on the engineered wood-look flooring that is so popular today, I would just imagine that it would also work well with regular hardwood flooring, although I haven't tried it on that. But, if you wanted to shoot through the tongue of tongue and grooved wood, I would imagine it would work well. So, I could see it being useful also for tongue and groove wall paneling. But really, it is designed for engineered flooring, and that is where it shines. There were no instructions included with this stapler, and as of this date, none available for download on Home Depot or Dewalt's website. As it is, it's simple enough to use, that it doesn't need instructions for that, but it would be nice to know for instance about the warranty, and if there are any adjustments possible. The Dewalt 20-Gauge Engineered Flooring Stapler doesn't use oil, according to the packaging, so you don't have to worry about oil staining your flooring, and it blows the air backwards, and not into the face of the user. I have a brad nailer by another manufacturer, and that is always an annoyance for me, getting blasted in the face while using it. Like many staplers and nailers, this one has a trigger safety lock, and the ability to shoot a single staple, or bump-fire several. It's pretty light-weight too, so I don't see myself getting a lot of arm fatigue after a full day of laying flooring. The stapler comes with a small box of 1-inch staples to get you started, packed inside the nice hard-case it comes in. All in all, this is a nice tool to add to my arsenal, and I'm sure it will get lots of workouts over time. Thanks Dewalt, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Sturdy
          Cons: No Instructions
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Cast a warm glow over any space with the Edis 3 Light Steel Island light. Perfect for any island or dining space. A perfect match that can work with any modern or contemporary decors. Get fancy and stagger these lights to create a layered look.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          FINALLY, my perfect bathroom light fixture!
          PostedNovember 18, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I remodeled our main bathroom about 6 years ago. At the time, I bought and installed a light fixture we liked. That fixture had chrome plating that looked good initially, but quickly began rusting and soon looked terrible. In our bathroom, the light fixture must hang from the ceiling, but most bathroom fixtures are wall-mounted. I have looked at literally hundreds of light fixtures over the last couple years, and for various reasons, could not find one that we liked the look of, and yet would fit the space we are limited to. I saw this Edis 3-Light Steel Island Pendant on Home Depot, and while the description was not real clear, I had a sense that it would probably fit our space, and it Read More
          I remodeled our main bathroom about 6 years ago. At the time, I bought and installed a light fixture we liked. That fixture had chrome plating that looked good initially, but quickly began rusting and soon looked terrible. In our bathroom, the light fixture must hang from the ceiling, but most bathroom fixtures are wall-mounted. I have looked at literally hundreds of light fixtures over the last couple years, and for various reasons, could not find one that we liked the look of, and yet would fit the space we are limited to. I saw this Edis 3-Light Steel Island Pendant on Home Depot, and while the description was not real clear, I had a sense that it would probably fit our space, and it certainly looked beautiful. Once it arrived, I was even more impressed! It is a perfect fit for us, in size, and seems to be high in quality as far as build is concerned. The glass globes are bigger around than what I thought from the Home Depot website photo, but that is a big plus as far as I am concerned. Assembly is very straight-forward, and installation is a breeze. The cords that the pendants hang from can be shortened to whatever length you want. In our case, I wanted them to hang just above our vanity mirror. By using three daylight-bright 100W equivalent LED bulbs (standard size), we have a very bright bathroom, which we wanted. All in all, I am in love with this fixture! Thanks Edis and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Functional, Good Size & Weight, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design, Stylish, Unique, Very Bright, Well Made
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Wall-Mounted Work Table from Lifetime Products is the perfect work and storage solution for your garage or shop area. This unique folding table is constructed of water-resistant wood with a heavy-duty metal frame. The sturdy steel frame has a powder-coated finish that protects against weather, rust and corrosion and the wood table surface is made of water-resistant durable wood. Included in the design are interior and exterior pegboards to add hooks for tool storage and the exterior loop will fit any standard padlock, keeping your tools safe and secure. The table also has a convenient fold-up design to make storage simple.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          Very neat idea for a workbench!
          PostedNovember 18, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We have some other workbenches, but needed something that would not take up much room when not being used, and this workbench was the perfect solution! I don't impress easily, but this 59 in. L x 27 in. W x 38 in. H Wall-Mounted Work Table by Lifetime is a very cool product! When not needed, it folds up against the wall like a Murphy bed, and the tools I have hanging on the peg board inside stay nicely stored. When needed, it folds down and is quick and easy to work from. It is probably not ideal for very heavy work, like car engines, but for most things that most people would ever do, it is perfect. I can see hobbyists or crafters really loving this bench. It is very heavy, at 112 pounds Read More
          We have some other workbenches, but needed something that would not take up much room when not being used, and this workbench was the perfect solution! I don't impress easily, but this 59 in. L x 27 in. W x 38 in. H Wall-Mounted Work Table by Lifetime is a very cool product! When not needed, it folds up against the wall like a Murphy bed, and the tools I have hanging on the peg board inside stay nicely stored. When needed, it folds down and is quick and easy to work from. It is probably not ideal for very heavy work, like car engines, but for most things that most people would ever do, it is perfect. I can see hobbyists or crafters really loving this bench. It is very heavy, at 112 pounds shipping weight, so be sure to have someone help you in setting up and installing. I would also strongly suggest that you anchor it to wall studs, since so much weight will need to be supported. Assembly and installation is easy, except as I said, it is heavy. I really love this bench! Thanks Lifetime, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Functional, Good Size & Weight, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Looks High End, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Sturdy, Well Made
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Cadet Right Height toilet from American Standard includes a space-saving round front toilet design that fits exceptionally well in smaller bathrooms and tight spaces. This smart design delivers high performance with less clogs, all at a great price. A permanent EverClean surface and PowerWash rim help to keep the bowl cleaner than an ordinary toilet, and a taller Right Height design adds comfort for all, and handicap accessibility for those who need it.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          American Standard IS an American Standard!
          PostedNovember 18, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We needed a toilet with a small footprint, and a 10 inch rough-in, and this Cadet 2-piece 1.28 GPF Single Flush Round Toilet with 10 in. Rough-In in White was perfect. Over the years, I have bought a couple American Standard Champion toilets, and loved them. Many years ago, I worked as the maintenance man at a big name hotel chain franchise. American Standard was the only brand we used, and for good reason. They held up to abuse by hotel guests, and were easy to repair and parts were commonly available, so I have worked on literally hundreds of their products. I have also seen first-hand that if you have a problem, the nice folks at American Standard will take it serious, and do what they Read More
          We needed a toilet with a small footprint, and a 10 inch rough-in, and this Cadet 2-piece 1.28 GPF Single Flush Round Toilet with 10 in. Rough-In in White was perfect. Over the years, I have bought a couple American Standard Champion toilets, and loved them. Many years ago, I worked as the maintenance man at a big name hotel chain franchise. American Standard was the only brand we used, and for good reason. They held up to abuse by hotel guests, and were easy to repair and parts were commonly available, so I have worked on literally hundreds of their products. I have also seen first-hand that if you have a problem, the nice folks at American Standard will take it serious, and do what they can to address it. This Cadet 2-piece 1.28 GPF Single Flush Round Toilet with 10 in. Rough-In in White flushes nicely, is fairly quiet, and is certainly very easy to install. I would highly recommend it, or any other American Standard product to anyone. Thanks American Standard, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Comfortable, Depth, Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Good Use of Space, Great Value, High Quality, Looks Great, Modern, Performs Well, Reliable, Sleek, Solid, Strong Water Pressure, Sturdy
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 50 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          Cast a warm glow over any space with the Edis 3 Light Steel Island light. Perfect for any island or dining space. A perfect match that can work with any modern or contemporary decors. Get fancy and stagger these lights to create a layered look.
           

          How far does this hang from the ceiling

          Asked by
          JSome
          November 16, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          November 18, 2016
          Answer: 
          It can be adjusted to whatever length you desire.
           
          The Cadet Right Height toilet from American Standard includes a space-saving round front toilet design that fits exceptionally well in smaller bathrooms and tight spaces. This smart design delivers high performance with less clogs, all at a great price. A permanent EverClean surface and PowerWash rim help to keep the bowl cleaner than an ordinary toilet, and a taller Right Height design adds comfort for all, and handicap accessibility for those who need it.
           

          Is this the one that has the capacity to flush down 12 golf balls.

          Asked by
          Boojie
          June 27, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          November 18, 2016
          Answer: 
          No, that is their Champion model. It does indeed work as advertised. We have never needed to plunge ours in years, and don't even know where our plunger is anymore! Great product!
           
          Compact and lightweight, Genesis GCS545C quickly cuts through all 2X material. This 4-1/2 in. circular saw has a powerful 5.8 Amp motor and 3500 RPM. Ergonomic control grip allows one-handed operation. Built-in dust port and vacuum adapter keeps cutting area clear of debris.
           

          hi I'm Daniel can I find blades to by at store or I have to order online?

          Asked by
          Dan
          September 4, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          October 28, 2016
          Answer: 
          Smaller 4 or 4 1/2 inch blades are commonly available in stores, and usually very inexpensive.
           
          Try this House of Fara 1/4 in. x 3/4 in. x 8 ft. Oak Screen (WM142) moulding if you ft.re looking to add interest and dimension to your room or project. This solid oak moulding adds a touch of charming old-fashioned elegance. Manufactured from solid hardwood, it may be clear coated, stained or painted to match your existing decor. Its unique detail will add an architectural touch to any room or project.
           

          Is this red oak or white oak?

          Asked by
          Roller
          Sterling Heights Michih=gan
          July 21, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          September 6, 2016
          Answer: 
          This is red oak.
           
          An ideal choice for your space, the MS International Piazza Ivory 18 in. x 18 in. Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile features a textured, low-sheen finish to help add style to your decor. This multicolored tile with a natural stone look adds class to a contemporary aesthetic. With rectified edges, this tile is easier to install with minimally visible grout joints. Suitable for medium-duty commercial or residential floors and walls, install this tile to incorporate a distinctive personal signature in a wide variety of designs and patterns.
           

          Why do the heavy splotches on this tile not appear?

          Asked by
          Susie
          St. Louis
          March 7, 2014
          The first tile looks great in the box. But there are some heavy darkened colors that look terrible in the mix and no warning that they are there.
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          September 6, 2016
          Answer: 
          The color and pattern of this tile was made to look like marble. If you had used real marble, you'd have the same situation where the pattern would vary slightly from one tile to another. If you don't like that, then choose a plain colored tile.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 100 >>