Historian
  • Review count
    213
  • Helpfulness votes
    497
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    July 19, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      489
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        213
      • Helpfulness votes
        497
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        July 19, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          489
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          The huge, 6.9 cu. ft. combined capacity gives you the freedom to create the ultimate meal, cooking multiple dishes at different temperatures. And never mind babysitting or rotating pans—LG ProBake Convection ensures no dish gets left behind with even cooking on every rack, every time. This range’s pro-style looks are easy to maintain with 10-minute EasyClean Express, so you can spend more time enjoying meals, less time scrubbing.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Our best stove ever!
          PostedJuly 19, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Energy efficiency 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          My wife and I have been married 37 years this month. Our first stove, was a $20 junker we had to dig out of a barn, clean the mice nests out of, then clean and repaint. Needless to say, we come from very humble beginnings! Our most recent stove was one we inherited, and have used for the last 20 + years, and it was new in the 1970's. So, to say that this LG 6.9 cu. ft. Gas Double Oven Range with ProBake Convection in Stainless Steel is a big jump up for us, is very much an understatement. It came delivered by some very diligent, polite folks, directly from the manufacturer. They were supposed to haul away our old one, but I waived that option, and instead gave the old one to a needy family, Read More
          My wife and I have been married 37 years this month. Our first stove, was a $20 junker we had to dig out of a barn, clean the mice nests out of, then clean and repaint. Needless to say, we come from very humble beginnings! Our most recent stove was one we inherited, and have used for the last 20 + years, and it was new in the 1970's. So, to say that this LG 6.9 cu. ft. Gas Double Oven Range with ProBake Convection in Stainless Steel is a big jump up for us, is very much an understatement. It came delivered by some very diligent, polite folks, directly from the manufacturer. They were supposed to haul away our old one, but I waived that option, and instead gave the old one to a needy family, and they in turn gave their even worse old one to yet another even more needy family. Seemed much better than it ending up in a landfill or recycler.
          The delivery guys unboxed this LG range for me, and we discovered that the griddle that was supposed to come with it, was not in the box. He assured me that LG would take care of that. I will say that LG's customer service takes quite a bit of patience, but after several calls, I was finally assured that they would send me the missing part at no charge. I understand that with mass production, things like this sometimes happen to the best of companies, so I hold no grudges, and won't deduct points from them for this mistake. I will say that they need to smooth out the rough edges of their customer service department though. They were very polite and did seem earnest in wanting to help, once I made it past their labyrinth phone system and a employee who didn't speak English well.
          Got the range installed, and LG was great about including everything I needed. And I do mean everything! They included a flex-gas-supply-pipe, some fittings in case I used propane, some pipe thread compound, and some leak detection liquid, and extra fittings for connecting the gas line. Installation is really simple, and any home owner can easily do it with just basic tools. I had some difficulty getting my old gas line disconnected, but just needed an adjustable wrench and a pair of vise grips, along with some sweating and straining to break it loose. After that, installing the new range was a breeze. I then turned on the gas, and plugged in the electrical cord. Immediately, I heard a pleasant soft beep of the range's control panel initializing. I moved the range into place, and my wife and I gave each other high-fives!
          With me reading the very extensive and well-written manual, my wife began exploring how to control the ovens. Having never owned a convection oven, that part was totally new to us. My wife does a lot, and I do mean A LOT, of baking. People call her the "cake lady", and are always begging her to make cakes for birthdays, weddings, office parties, you name it. She is also big into cake decorating as well. Our son is a professional chef at a local hospital, so we take cooking serious in this house. The controls on this LG range look daunting at first glance, but really, once you start getting them figured out, they are really pretty intuitive. I do suggest that folks spend some time reading the manual, and testing out the range's features before putting them to real-life work.
          Our first evening, we wanted to do a simple, yet delicious meal of baked potatoes, teriyaki marinated steak and cooked carrots. All came out wonderful! We had a little issue with the oven not heating up the way we thought it should, but I had my wife clear the settings, then restart the timer step-by-step according to the manual. That worked like a charm, and we can only guess the first time she'd made some misstep. We were both utterly amazed at how fast the oven heated up to temperature! She was reading it off to me, as it was rapidly rising, in quick increments. Our old oven took forever to heat up, and you never really knew just when it was ready or not.
          Besides cooking for ourselves, we also cook for our dogs. We breed Great Danes, and I do not trust any commercial dog food manufacturers, so we cook human-grade, home-cooked food for our dogs. The base is most often ground chicken with pasta (with veggies added later), so we do a lot of boiling water in large pots. I'd read somewhere from LG, that this range had more powerful than normal burners, which could bring water to a boil faster. I found that hard to believe, and at first just dismissed it as a marketing gimmick. Wrong! It really does boil water MUCH faster! And its not a lazy boil, but a real bubbling full boil, even in a giant pot. With our old stove, if we were careless, and left the dog food boiling too long, it would burn the pasta and it would be stuck on the bottom of the pan. We already accidentally left some dog food boiling too long with this LG range, not expecting it to reach a boil as fast as it did. Amazingly, even though much of the water had boiled away, there was very little pasta stuck to the bottom of the pot, and what was there, easily and quickly scraped right off. I pondered that for awhile, and reached the conclusion that the old stove burners were narrower, so the heat was focused more in the center, creating a hot spot. The LG range burners are wider, with a more dispersed flame, so the heat is spread out more, creating a more even heat. Lessons learned!
          We are huge fans of the full coverage grills on the stove-top, so you can easily slide a heavy pot of food from one burner to another. So too, are we in love with the area under the grills. Our old stove had smallish drip-pans, that collected spills, and were a real pain to clean. This LG range has all that nice wide open space where you can quickly wipe the messes up with a sponge. Who doesn't appreciate a quick cleaning job? We also love that the larger burners are in the front, as opposed to the back on our old stove.
          The only complaint we have with this LG range at all, is something other reviewers have mentioned, and that is the ease with which you can accidentally turn the burner knobs on and off by accidentally bumping them. We've encountered that issue a couple times ourselves, and I can see it being a problem with young children or pets that paw at the range. Luckily, our dogs are so giant that they don't need to climb or paw at the stove, and can just stand there and see what is cooking. Also, our grandkids are of an age that they know better than to ever mess with the stove. As for us bumping the knobs by accident, we'll just have to learn to be careful. I do think that LG should have made the valves with more resistance, to make turning them more of a positive thing, and less easy thing.
          All in all, we are madly in love with this LG range, our first LG major appliance I will add. I would certainly consider buying other LG products in the future and recommend them to family and friends. Thanks LG, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Sturdy, Stylish
          Cons: burner knobs need more resistance
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          Complete the look of your garage with this beautiful Bold Series 2-Door Base cabinet. This cabinet is fully welded and constructed with 24-Gauge steel. It includes a fully adjustable shelf with a weight capacity of 200 lbs., adjustable leveling legs, full length anodized aluminum handles and an easy access cut-out for cables at the bottom of the cabinet to charge your tools while being securely locked.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          A Great Steel Cabinet, For Use On The Floor Or Wall
          PostedJune 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This Bold 3 Series Base Cabinet from New Age is very nice! Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these cabinets. While this cabinet is intended to be a base cabinet, and thus sit on the floor, it is also possible to use it as a wall cabinet if you want. That is exactly what I did. I left off the legs and height-adjustable feet. A clever feature of these New Age cabinets, is that the doors have a quick release feature, so you can remove them. In this case, since I mounted it on the wall, the door lock would have ended up near the ceiling, I simply removed the doors, flipped them over, and Read More
          This Bold 3 Series Base Cabinet from New Age is very nice! Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these cabinets. While this cabinet is intended to be a base cabinet, and thus sit on the floor, it is also possible to use it as a wall cabinet if you want. That is exactly what I did. I left off the legs and height-adjustable feet. A clever feature of these New Age cabinets, is that the doors have a quick release feature, so you can remove them. In this case, since I mounted it on the wall, the door lock would have ended up near the ceiling, I simply removed the doors, flipped them over, and installed them on the opposite side. I give New Age props for that brilliant design feature! Because this is a large cabinet, and heavy/bulky, and I was working alone, I used a jack with a board laid across it, to put under the cabinet, while I jacked it up into position. That worked out beautifully, and allowed me to have both hands free to bolt it to the wall with the included lag bolts.
          In the past, I reviewed a couple stainless steel topped workbenches by New Age, and gave them very poor reviews, partly on their design, and partly because the way they were shipped, which allowed unnecessary damage that could have been prevented if they had external cushioning in the boxes. Well, I am here to say that New Age has really stepped up their game, and both in design and shipping of these steel cabinets, they get 5 Stars from me! The cabinets were boxed in heavy-duty cardboard, with ample amounts of styrofoam packing material between the cardboard and the cabinet! Thanks New Age, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Lots of Features, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions, Looks High End, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Vibrant Color, Well Made
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Keep your hazardous cleaning products and things you want out of reach stored away in this beautiful Bold Series Wall cabinet. Redesigned with full length easy-to-grab handles, reinforced and welded 24-Gauge steel and a industrial grade sandtex paint finish; these cabinets will maintain their beautiful luster for a lifetime. They complete any organized garage.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          A Very Nice Lightweight Cabinet For Limited Space Locations
          PostedJune 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This Bold 3 Series Cabinet from New Age is fairly small, with no shelf included. Considering it's size, a shelf would probably be just a waste of space. Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these cabinets. It is fairly light in weight, and two of us easily hoisted it onto the wall, and attached it with the included lag bolts. This particular cabinet would be ideal in a location where space is limited, yet you want more storage space.
          I tested both the Bold and Pro cabinets, and they are beautiful for utility cabinets, and both are tough. The main difference is that the Pro cabinets Read More
          This Bold 3 Series Cabinet from New Age is fairly small, with no shelf included. Considering it's size, a shelf would probably be just a waste of space. Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these cabinets. It is fairly light in weight, and two of us easily hoisted it onto the wall, and attached it with the included lag bolts. This particular cabinet would be ideal in a location where space is limited, yet you want more storage space.
          I tested both the Bold and Pro cabinets, and they are beautiful for utility cabinets, and both are tough. The main difference is that the Pro cabinets are heavier gauge steel, and thus have a higher weight capacity. Both the Bold and Pro wall cabinets came with an under-cabinet light valance, but I chose not to use those, as power sources in my location are limited.
          In the past, I reviewed a couple stainless steel topped workbenches by New Age, and gave them very poor reviews, partly on their design, and partly because the way they were shipped, which allowed unnecessary damage that could have been prevented if they had external cushioning in the boxes. Well, I am here to say that New Age has really stepped up their game, and both in design and shipping of these steel cabinets, they get 5 Stars from me! Thanks New Age, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Lots of Features, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions, Looks High End, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Vibrant Color, Well Made
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This redesigned Pro Series line by NewAge Products arrives fully welded with minimal assembly required. The tool cabinet is an all-new design that has 5 full extension drawers on double ball bearing slides with 3 movable drawer dividers in each of the top 4-drawers. The top 4-drawers have a weight capacity of 100 lbs. each, while the bottom drawer boasts a 200 lbs. weight capacity. All drawers are locked simultaneously with 1 keyed lock mechanism. Each tool cabinet comes with leveling legs or you can choose to mount the cabinets on the wall. The series has always been available in charcoal gray and a deep red finish. The newest edition to the various color options is a new high gloss white.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          A Mechanic's Dream Cabinet!
          PostedJune 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I got a chance to test out the New Age "Bold" and "Pro" series cabinets, and simply put, I am in love. Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these cabinets. All four of my cabinets arrived in perfect shape, three from one carrier, one from another.
          Both the Bold and Pro cabinets are beautiful for utility cabinets, and both are tough. The main difference is that the Pro cabinets are heavier gauge steel, and thus have a higher weight capacity. There are some other nice features in the Pro line that don't come with the Bold line, as well. Still, a person could mix and match them as your Read More
          I got a chance to test out the New Age "Bold" and "Pro" series cabinets, and simply put, I am in love. Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these cabinets. All four of my cabinets arrived in perfect shape, three from one carrier, one from another.
          Both the Bold and Pro cabinets are beautiful for utility cabinets, and both are tough. The main difference is that the Pro cabinets are heavier gauge steel, and thus have a higher weight capacity. There are some other nice features in the Pro line that don't come with the Bold line, as well. Still, a person could mix and match them as your needs dictate.
          This particular cabinet was very heavy, and I needed a two-wheel dolly to bring it into the house. A extra person would have been a big help! I wanted this cabinet to go under one of my workbenches, so I chose to leave off the legs and their included height-adjustable feet. The drawers on this cabinet are lined with rubber mats, and have soft-closing drawer-slides. The included partitions they give you are a very nice feature, for separating sections of the drawers for holding different items. My old tool drawer was in a bad location, which was kind of dark, so hunting for a particular tool, or size of tool was a pain. Now, with this cabinet located under my bench, I have nice bright light shining down into it's drawers, so finding what I am looking for is real sweet!
          In the past, I reviewed a couple stainless steel topped workbenches by New Age, and gave them very poor reviews, partly on their design, and partly because the way they were shipped, which allowed unnecessary damage that could have been prevented if they had external cushioning in the boxes. Well, I am here to say that New Age has really stepped up their game, and both in design and shipping of these steel cabinets, they get 5 Stars from me! Thanks New Age, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Lots of Features, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions, Looks High End, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Vibrant Color, Well Made
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          -1point
          0out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          This redesigned Pro Series line by NewAge Products boasts cabinets which are fully welded and constructed with 18-Gauge steel. They require minimal assembly. The new wall cabinet has all the great features and benefits which NewAge and the Pro Series lines are known for. The Wall cabinet includes 1 easy-to-adjust shelf adjustable in 1 in. increments;, with a weight capacity of 100 lbs. It also includes a new light valance that can be mounted under the cabinet and a set of easy wall hanging brackets for a simple installation. The all-new design has 19-Gauge steel double wall doors and full length anodized aluminum handles. 1 touch and you know you're dealing with quality. The series has always been available in charcoal gray and a deep red finish. The newest edition to the various color options is now a high gloss white.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          I Love This Pro Wall Cabinet!
          PostedJune 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          In the past, I reviewed a couple stainless steel topped workbenches by New Age, and gave them very poor reviews, partly on their design, and partly because the way they were shipped, which allowed unnecessary damage that could have been prevented if they had external cushioning in the boxes. Well, I am here to say that New Age has really stepped up their game, and both in design and shipping of these steel cabinets, they get 5 Stars from me! I got a chance to test out their "Bold" and "Pro" series cabinets, and simply put, I am in love. Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these Read More
          In the past, I reviewed a couple stainless steel topped workbenches by New Age, and gave them very poor reviews, partly on their design, and partly because the way they were shipped, which allowed unnecessary damage that could have been prevented if they had external cushioning in the boxes. Well, I am here to say that New Age has really stepped up their game, and both in design and shipping of these steel cabinets, they get 5 Stars from me! I got a chance to test out their "Bold" and "Pro" series cabinets, and simply put, I am in love. Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these cabinets. All four of my cabinets arrived in perfect shape, three from one carrier, one from another. Both the Bold and Pro cabinets are beautiful for utility cabinets, and both are tough. The main difference is that the Pro cabinets are heavier gauge steel, and thus have a higher weight capacity. There are some other nice features in the Pro line that don't come with the Bold line, as well. Still, a person could mix and match them as your needs dictate, and you'll still have a great looking set! This particular cabinet was very heavy, and my brother and I just barely managed to hoist it up on the wall, and get it anchored with the lag bolts provided. A third person would have been a big help! Thanks New Age, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Lots of Features, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions, Looks High End, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Vibrant Color, Well Made
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 43 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          The huge, 6.9 cu. ft. combined capacity gives you the freedom to create the ultimate meal, cooking multiple dishes at different temperatures. And never mind babysitting or rotating pans—LG ProBake Convection ensures no dish gets left behind with even cooking on every rack, every time. This range’s pro-style looks are easy to maintain with 10-minute EasyClean Express, so you can spend more time enjoying meals, less time scrubbing.
           

          Can a large turkey fit in the bottom oven?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          San Francisco, CA
          October 27, 2015
          I have seen this in person, and it appears that you can't cook anything bigger than a lasagna or maybe a pot roast (in a very shallow pot) in the bottom oven, and the top oven maybe a pizza or a cookie sheet of cookies. I don't understand the point?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 19, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, it can.
           
          The huge, 6.9 cu. ft. combined capacity gives you the freedom to create the ultimate meal, cooking multiple dishes at different temperatures. And never mind babysitting or rotating pans—LG ProBake Convection ensures no dish gets left behind with even cooking on every rack, every time. This range’s pro-style looks are easy to maintain with 10-minute EasyClean Express, so you can spend more time enjoying meals, less time scrubbing.
           

          Are the handles or doors removeable? Need to get this through a tight entryway.

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          June 28, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 19, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, but the range top extends out as far as the oven door handles do.
           
          The huge, 6.9 cu. ft. combined capacity gives you the freedom to create the ultimate meal, cooking multiple dishes at different temperatures. And never mind babysitting or rotating pans—LG ProBake Convection ensures no dish gets left behind with even cooking on every rack, every time. This range’s pro-style looks are easy to maintain with 10-minute EasyClean Express, so you can spend more time enjoying meals, less time scrubbing.
           

          Which side is the gas valve or hook up located? Left or right

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          December 31, 2015
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 19, 2016
          Answer: 
          If you are standing in front of the range, the valve is on the right rear side. Our gas pipe was on the left, but the connection hose they sent me was plenty long enough to reach across to the other side.
           
          The huge, 6.9 cu. ft. combined capacity gives you the freedom to create the ultimate meal, cooking multiple dishes at different temperatures. And never mind babysitting or rotating pans—LG ProBake Convection ensures no dish gets left behind with even cooking on every rack, every time. This range’s pro-style looks are easy to maintain with 10-minute EasyClean Express, so you can spend more time enjoying meals, less time scrubbing.
           

          Does the griddle shown in the image actually come WITH the oven or is it an add-on that must be purchaed?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          48047
          March 19, 2016
          Does the griddle shown in the image actually come WITH the oven or is it an add-on that must be purchaed?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 19, 2016
          Answer: 
          The 315 model does come with the griddle, the 313 does not.
           
          The huge, 6.9 cu. ft. combined capacity gives you the freedom to create the ultimate meal, cooking multiple dishes at different temperatures. And never mind babysitting or rotating pans—LG ProBake Convection ensures no dish gets left behind with even cooking on every rack, every time. This range’s pro-style looks are easy to maintain with 10-minute EasyClean Express, so you can spend more time enjoying meals, less time scrubbing.
           

          Does this oven cme with a lp conversion kit or do I need to purchase that separately?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          November 14, 2015
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 19, 2016
          Answer: 
          Mine came with the propane kit.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 98 >>