Historian
  • Review count
    219
  • Helpfulness votes
    509
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    August 6, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      490
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        219
      • Helpfulness votes
        509
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        August 6, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          490
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          With its clean, simple design and efficient performance, this Highline Classic water-conserving toilet combines both style and function. An innovative 1.28 Gal. flush setting provides significant water savings of up to 16,500 gallons per year, compared to an old 3.5 Gal. toilet, without sacrificing flushing power. This Complete Solution package includes everything necessary for installation.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Great Toilet Where Water Usage And A Small Footprint Are Important
          PostedAugust 6, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We needed a small foot-print toilet for the lake house that did not use a lot of water, since it is on a septic tank. This toilet fills both bills. The toilet arrived double-boxed, which was fabulous at preventing shipping damage, and I was very impressed with the packaging. It is very heavy. I was barefoot when it arrived, so when the driver helped me carry it up to my porch, I stumbled and broke a toe, but we didn't drop it. Assembly is very easy, and Kohler does a great job at providing good instructions. I would advise all people, no matter what brand of toilet you buy, to always get the extra large wax ring versus a standard one. Over the years, I have found that you get a leak-free Read More
          We needed a small foot-print toilet for the lake house that did not use a lot of water, since it is on a septic tank. This toilet fills both bills. The toilet arrived double-boxed, which was fabulous at preventing shipping damage, and I was very impressed with the packaging. It is very heavy. I was barefoot when it arrived, so when the driver helped me carry it up to my porch, I stumbled and broke a toe, but we didn't drop it. Assembly is very easy, and Kohler does a great job at providing good instructions. I would advise all people, no matter what brand of toilet you buy, to always get the extra large wax ring versus a standard one. Over the years, I have found that you get a leak-free installation the first try more often than not, that way. And, especially so in older houses, where the floor may not be perfect. Some have complained that this toilet doesn't flush completely enough for them. Since we are in a situation where water conservation is important, this is fine for us. If you just need to flush liquid, lightly depressing the handle flushes it fine, but if you need to flush solids, then holding down the handle longer gets the job done. All in all, we are very satisfied with this Kohler Highline Classic Complete Solution 2-piece 1.28 GPF Single Flush Comfort Height Round-Front Toilet in White. Thanks Kohler, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Comfortable, Depth, Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Good Use of Space, Great Value, High Quality, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Modern, Performs Well, Reliable, Sleek, Solid, Strong Water Pressure, Sturdy, Stylish
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          For laundry rooms, workshops and garages that need practical and versatile storage, the 32 in. 2-Door Wall Cabinet is the answer. Featured in a beautiful espresso finish to complement nearly any space, this cabinet features a durable construction for a long-lasting use. At 16 in. deep instead of the standard 12 in. and with one adjustable shelf, it offers both spacious storage and versatility
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          A Nice Wall cabinet
          PostedJuly 27, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          We got this cabinet for storage in our basement. Assembly is pretty easy, and all the hardware needed was included. Hanging it on the wall is at least a two-person job, and it is fairly heavy. You'll want to anchor it to wall studs. The only real complaint I have with it, is the hinges that come with it are kind of cheaply made, and are very difficult to get adjusted so that the doors hang properly and line up with each other. But, we do like the extra storage it affords in our basement. Thanks Home Depot!
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design, Sturdy, Well Made
          Cons: cheap hinges that are hard to adjust for the doors
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Traditional styling and a quiet motor make the Hampton Bay Rockport ceiling fan a great way to add comfort and style to any room. Installation is quick and easy, with a slide-on mounting bracket, QuickInstall blades and the ability to mount on flat or angled ceilings. There is a three-light kit with 9 Watt LED bulbs for energy efficiency. It is compatible with extension downrods for high ceilings.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A good looking fan/light
          PostedJuly 27, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          My wife and I are the legal guardians of my step-brother, who has Downs Syndrome. He lives with us, and his bedroom is fairly small. Sometimes it gets a little stuffy in his room, and the air doesn't circulate well with the rest of the house. The original light fixture was a cheap contractor single-bulb fixture that came with the house, and really made the room kind of gloomy. This Hampton Bay Rockport 52 in. LED Oil-Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan was the perfect solution for his bedroom. The large size really moves the air nicely, it looks very nice, it's super quiet, and the three LED bulbs they included really brightened up his bedroom considerably! And, being LED, they don't use much Read More
          My wife and I are the legal guardians of my step-brother, who has Downs Syndrome. He lives with us, and his bedroom is fairly small. Sometimes it gets a little stuffy in his room, and the air doesn't circulate well with the rest of the house. The original light fixture was a cheap contractor single-bulb fixture that came with the house, and really made the room kind of gloomy. This Hampton Bay Rockport 52 in. LED Oil-Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan was the perfect solution for his bedroom. The large size really moves the air nicely, it looks very nice, it's super quiet, and the three LED bulbs they included really brightened up his bedroom considerably! And, being LED, they don't use much electricity at all. My step-brother LOVES this fan, and brags about it to anyone who'll listen! My wife and I are delighted to see him so happy, and know that his room is better ventilated and brightened up. We have several Hampton Bay ceiling fans, and have had great experiences with all of them, so its a brand we trust! Installation is very easy, and the instructions are well written. Any home owner can install one with basic tools. Thanks Hampton Bay, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Fast / Speed, Functional, Good Size & Weight, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Stylish, Unique, Very Bright, Well Made
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Husky side-mounted truck boxes provide additional storage space for your pickup truck. Attaches to the bed rail for easy side-of-vehicle access. Aluminum diamond tread construction looks great and provides maximum corrosion resistance. Use in combination with a Husky crossover truck box to maximize the storage capacity of any pickup truck.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Another great Husky product!
          PostedJuly 27, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have the large side-to-side behind-the-cab Husky tool box in my 84 Chevy pickup, and love it. This side mount Husky tool box matches it perfectly, and is a great compliment to the bigger box! I've had the big box a few years now, and it has held up very nicely. Having some more storage is always nice, and this side mount box is a great solution! Unfortunately, it does not come with bolts, nuts and washers to mount it to your truck, so be sure to pick those up! I didn't realize that ahead of time, so I had to make a special trip to go get some. In the package, you get the box, a pair of keys, instructions, and a couple legs to support the rear of the box. You need to drill holes through the Read More
          I have the large side-to-side behind-the-cab Husky tool box in my 84 Chevy pickup, and love it. This side mount Husky tool box matches it perfectly, and is a great compliment to the bigger box! I've had the big box a few years now, and it has held up very nicely. Having some more storage is always nice, and this side mount box is a great solution! Unfortunately, it does not come with bolts, nuts and washers to mount it to your truck, so be sure to pick those up! I didn't realize that ahead of time, so I had to make a special trip to go get some. In the package, you get the box, a pair of keys, instructions, and a couple legs to support the rear of the box. You need to drill holes through the box and the side rail of your truck to run the bolts through to mount it, and then drill holes through the legs and rear corners of the box to mount the support legs to the box. In my case, because of where I positioned the box, I was not able to use one of the legs, because the wheel well was in the way. However, with all the bolts I put into the side rail, and the one leg I did use, it is very sturdily mounted. All in all, I love this tool box! Thanks Husky, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Sturdy, Stylish, tough
          Cons: no mounting hardware included
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +2points
          2out of 2found this review helpful.
           
          Give your home a custom look with Plantation styled Bi-fold Doors. With unique 3 in. louvers, this factory finished Bi-fold door unit is ready to install and looks great in any room. Use for closet, room divider, pantry, laundry area or storage room. 29-3/4 in. x 78-3/4 in. x 1-1/8 in. This factory finished white louver bi-fold door kit opens left or right. Fits 30 in. x 80-5/8 in. opening. Adjust height up to 3/4 in. using hardware provided. Up to 1 in. can be cut from the bottom edge to fit opening.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A great choice for a closet door!
          PostedJuly 27, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We are building a new closet in our basement, and needed a good closet door for it. This Home Fashion Technologies door was a great choice. Some people have complained that these doors are made of plastic over a metal frame. Personally, I see that as a good thing. We've had a wooden louvered bi-fold door, and not only was it heavy, but a real pain to clean, because the dust tended to cling to the wood. This door has a slick surface that dust just wipes off of quickly. It is also much lighter weight than wood, so installing and using it is much easier. We are not quite done with the drywall of our new closet yet, so we have not got it installed yet, but if you follow the directions of the Read More
          We are building a new closet in our basement, and needed a good closet door for it. This Home Fashion Technologies door was a great choice. Some people have complained that these doors are made of plastic over a metal frame. Personally, I see that as a good thing. We've had a wooden louvered bi-fold door, and not only was it heavy, but a real pain to clean, because the dust tended to cling to the wood. This door has a slick surface that dust just wipes off of quickly. It is also much lighter weight than wood, so installing and using it is much easier. We are not quite done with the drywall of our new closet yet, so we have not got it installed yet, but if you follow the directions of the video and PDF provided here on Home Depot's product page, installation is a breeze. Unfortunately, the door did not come with instructions included. That is my only complaint about this door. Thanks Home Fashion Technologies, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functional, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail, Great Value, High Quality, Sturdy, Well Made
          Cons: no instructions included
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 44 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          Traditional styling and a quiet motor make the Hampton Bay Rockport ceiling fan a great way to add comfort and style to any room. Installation is quick and easy, with a slide-on mounting bracket, QuickInstall blades and the ability to mount on flat or angled ceilings. There is a three-light kit with 9 Watt LED bulbs for energy efficiency. It is compatible with extension downrods for high ceilings.
           

          Can I hang the fan flush to the ceiling?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          June 25, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 27, 2016
          Answer: 
          No, you cannot. It must hang from the short drop-rod. In an 8 foot ceiling room that is no problem.
          User submitted photo
           
          The huge, 6.9 cu. ft. combined capacity gives you the freedom to create the ultimate meal, cooking multiple dishes at different temperatures. And never mind babysitting or rotating pans—LG ProBake Convection ensures no dish gets left behind with even cooking on every rack, every time. This range’s pro-style looks are easy to maintain with 10-minute EasyClean Express, so you can spend more time enjoying meals, less time scrubbing.
           

          Can a large turkey fit in the bottom oven?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          San Francisco, CA
          October 27, 2015
          I have seen this in person, and it appears that you can't cook anything bigger than a lasagna or maybe a pot roast (in a very shallow pot) in the bottom oven, and the top oven maybe a pizza or a cookie sheet of cookies. I don't understand the point?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 19, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, it can.
           
          The huge, 6.9 cu. ft. combined capacity gives you the freedom to create the ultimate meal, cooking multiple dishes at different temperatures. And never mind babysitting or rotating pans—LG ProBake Convection ensures no dish gets left behind with even cooking on every rack, every time. This range’s pro-style looks are easy to maintain with 10-minute EasyClean Express, so you can spend more time enjoying meals, less time scrubbing.
           

          Are the handles or doors removeable? Need to get this through a tight entryway.

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          June 28, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 19, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, but the range top extends out as far as the oven door handles do.
           
          The huge, 6.9 cu. ft. combined capacity gives you the freedom to create the ultimate meal, cooking multiple dishes at different temperatures. And never mind babysitting or rotating pans—LG ProBake Convection ensures no dish gets left behind with even cooking on every rack, every time. This range’s pro-style looks are easy to maintain with 10-minute EasyClean Express, so you can spend more time enjoying meals, less time scrubbing.
           

          Which side is the gas valve or hook up located? Left or right

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          December 31, 2015
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 19, 2016
          Answer: 
          If you are standing in front of the range, the valve is on the right rear side. Our gas pipe was on the left, but the connection hose they sent me was plenty long enough to reach across to the other side.
           
          The huge, 6.9 cu. ft. combined capacity gives you the freedom to create the ultimate meal, cooking multiple dishes at different temperatures. And never mind babysitting or rotating pans—LG ProBake Convection ensures no dish gets left behind with even cooking on every rack, every time. This range’s pro-style looks are easy to maintain with 10-minute EasyClean Express, so you can spend more time enjoying meals, less time scrubbing.
           

          Does the griddle shown in the image actually come WITH the oven or is it an add-on that must be purchaed?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          48047
          March 19, 2016
          Does the griddle shown in the image actually come WITH the oven or is it an add-on that must be purchaed?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 19, 2016
          Answer: 
          The 315 model does come with the griddle, the 313 does not.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 98 >>