Historian
  • Review count
    212
  • Helpfulness votes
    486
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    June 22, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      474
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        212
      • Helpfulness votes
        486
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        June 22, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          474
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          Complete the look of your garage with this beautiful Bold Series 2-Door Base cabinet. This cabinet is fully welded and constructed with 24-Gauge steel. It includes a fully adjustable shelf with a weight capacity of 200 lbs., adjustable leveling legs, full length anodized aluminum handles and an easy access cut-out for cables at the bottom of the cabinet to charge your tools while being securely locked.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          A Great Steel Cabinet, For Use On The Floor Or Wall
          PostedJune 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This Bold 3 Series Base Cabinet from New Age is very nice! Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these cabinets. While this cabinet is intended to be a base cabinet, and thus sit on the floor, it is also possible to use it as a wall cabinet if you want. That is exactly what I did. I left off the legs and height-adjustable feet. A clever feature of these New Age cabinets, is that the doors have a quick release feature, so you can remove them. In this case, since I mounted it on the wall, the door lock would have ended up near the ceiling, I simply removed the doors, flipped them over, and Read More
          This Bold 3 Series Base Cabinet from New Age is very nice! Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these cabinets. While this cabinet is intended to be a base cabinet, and thus sit on the floor, it is also possible to use it as a wall cabinet if you want. That is exactly what I did. I left off the legs and height-adjustable feet. A clever feature of these New Age cabinets, is that the doors have a quick release feature, so you can remove them. In this case, since I mounted it on the wall, the door lock would have ended up near the ceiling, I simply removed the doors, flipped them over, and installed them on the opposite side. I give New Age props for that brilliant design feature! Because this is a large cabinet, and heavy/bulky, and I was working alone, I used a jack with a board laid across it, to put under the cabinet, while I jacked it up into position. That worked out beautifully, and allowed me to have both hands free to bolt it to the wall with the included lag bolts.
          In the past, I reviewed a couple stainless steel topped workbenches by New Age, and gave them very poor reviews, partly on their design, and partly because the way they were shipped, which allowed unnecessary damage that could have been prevented if they had external cushioning in the boxes. Well, I am here to say that New Age has really stepped up their game, and both in design and shipping of these steel cabinets, they get 5 Stars from me! The cabinets were boxed in heavy-duty cardboard, with ample amounts of styrofoam packing material between the cardboard and the cabinet! Thanks New Age, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Lots of Features, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions, Looks High End, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Vibrant Color, Well Made
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Keep your hazardous cleaning products and things you want out of reach stored away in this beautiful Bold Series Wall cabinet. Redesigned with full length easy-to-grab handles, reinforced and welded 24-Gauge steel and a industrial grade sandtex paint finish; these cabinets will maintain their beautiful luster for a lifetime. They complete any organized garage.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          A Very Nice Lightweight Cabinet For Limited Space Locations
          PostedJune 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This Bold 3 Series Cabinet from New Age is fairly small, with no shelf included. Considering it's size, a shelf would probably be just a waste of space. Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these cabinets. It is fairly light in weight, and two of us easily hoisted it onto the wall, and attached it with the included lag bolts. This particular cabinet would be ideal in a location where space is limited, yet you want more storage space.
          I tested both the Bold and Pro cabinets, and they are beautiful for utility cabinets, and both are tough. The main difference is that the Pro cabinets Read More
          This Bold 3 Series Cabinet from New Age is fairly small, with no shelf included. Considering it's size, a shelf would probably be just a waste of space. Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these cabinets. It is fairly light in weight, and two of us easily hoisted it onto the wall, and attached it with the included lag bolts. This particular cabinet would be ideal in a location where space is limited, yet you want more storage space.
          I tested both the Bold and Pro cabinets, and they are beautiful for utility cabinets, and both are tough. The main difference is that the Pro cabinets are heavier gauge steel, and thus have a higher weight capacity. Both the Bold and Pro wall cabinets came with an under-cabinet light valance, but I chose not to use those, as power sources in my location are limited.
          In the past, I reviewed a couple stainless steel topped workbenches by New Age, and gave them very poor reviews, partly on their design, and partly because the way they were shipped, which allowed unnecessary damage that could have been prevented if they had external cushioning in the boxes. Well, I am here to say that New Age has really stepped up their game, and both in design and shipping of these steel cabinets, they get 5 Stars from me! Thanks New Age, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Lots of Features, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions, Looks High End, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Vibrant Color, Well Made
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This redesigned Pro Series line by NewAge Products arrives fully welded with minimal assembly required. The tool cabinet is an all-new design that has 5 full extension drawers on double ball bearing slides with 3 movable drawer dividers in each of the top 4-drawers. The top 4-drawers have a weight capacity of 100 lbs. each, while the bottom drawer boasts a 200 lbs. weight capacity. All drawers are locked simultaneously with 1 keyed lock mechanism. Each tool cabinet comes with leveling legs or you can choose to mount the cabinets on the wall. The series has always been available in charcoal gray and a deep red finish. The newest edition to the various color options is a new high gloss white.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          A Mechanic's Dream Cabinet!
          PostedJune 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I got a chance to test out the New Age "Bold" and "Pro" series cabinets, and simply put, I am in love. Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these cabinets. All four of my cabinets arrived in perfect shape, three from one carrier, one from another.
          Both the Bold and Pro cabinets are beautiful for utility cabinets, and both are tough. The main difference is that the Pro cabinets are heavier gauge steel, and thus have a higher weight capacity. There are some other nice features in the Pro line that don't come with the Bold line, as well. Still, a person could mix and match them as your Read More
          I got a chance to test out the New Age "Bold" and "Pro" series cabinets, and simply put, I am in love. Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these cabinets. All four of my cabinets arrived in perfect shape, three from one carrier, one from another.
          Both the Bold and Pro cabinets are beautiful for utility cabinets, and both are tough. The main difference is that the Pro cabinets are heavier gauge steel, and thus have a higher weight capacity. There are some other nice features in the Pro line that don't come with the Bold line, as well. Still, a person could mix and match them as your needs dictate.
          This particular cabinet was very heavy, and I needed a two-wheel dolly to bring it into the house. A extra person would have been a big help! I wanted this cabinet to go under one of my workbenches, so I chose to leave off the legs and their included height-adjustable feet. The drawers on this cabinet are lined with rubber mats, and have soft-closing drawer-slides. The included partitions they give you are a very nice feature, for separating sections of the drawers for holding different items. My old tool drawer was in a bad location, which was kind of dark, so hunting for a particular tool, or size of tool was a pain. Now, with this cabinet located under my bench, I have nice bright light shining down into it's drawers, so finding what I am looking for is real sweet!
          In the past, I reviewed a couple stainless steel topped workbenches by New Age, and gave them very poor reviews, partly on their design, and partly because the way they were shipped, which allowed unnecessary damage that could have been prevented if they had external cushioning in the boxes. Well, I am here to say that New Age has really stepped up their game, and both in design and shipping of these steel cabinets, they get 5 Stars from me! Thanks New Age, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Lots of Features, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions, Looks High End, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Vibrant Color, Well Made
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This redesigned Pro Series line by NewAge Products boasts cabinets which are fully welded and constructed with 18-Gauge steel. They require minimal assembly. The new wall cabinet has all the great features and benefits which NewAge and the Pro Series lines are known for. The Wall cabinet includes 1 easy-to-adjust shelf adjustable in 1 in. increments;, with a weight capacity of 100 lbs. It also includes a new light valance that can be mounted under the cabinet and a set of easy wall hanging brackets for a simple installation. The all-new design has 19-Gauge steel double wall doors and full length anodized aluminum handles. 1 touch and you know you're dealing with quality. The series has always been available in charcoal gray and a deep red finish. The newest edition to the various color options is now a high gloss white.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          I Love This Pro Wall Cabinet!
          PostedJune 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          In the past, I reviewed a couple stainless steel topped workbenches by New Age, and gave them very poor reviews, partly on their design, and partly because the way they were shipped, which allowed unnecessary damage that could have been prevented if they had external cushioning in the boxes. Well, I am here to say that New Age has really stepped up their game, and both in design and shipping of these steel cabinets, they get 5 Stars from me! I got a chance to test out their "Bold" and "Pro" series cabinets, and simply put, I am in love. Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these Read More
          In the past, I reviewed a couple stainless steel topped workbenches by New Age, and gave them very poor reviews, partly on their design, and partly because the way they were shipped, which allowed unnecessary damage that could have been prevented if they had external cushioning in the boxes. Well, I am here to say that New Age has really stepped up their game, and both in design and shipping of these steel cabinets, they get 5 Stars from me! I got a chance to test out their "Bold" and "Pro" series cabinets, and simply put, I am in love. Assembly is very simple, packaging is beautifully done, the instructions are well done, and all around, New Age deserves a pat on the back for these cabinets. All four of my cabinets arrived in perfect shape, three from one carrier, one from another. Both the Bold and Pro cabinets are beautiful for utility cabinets, and both are tough. The main difference is that the Pro cabinets are heavier gauge steel, and thus have a higher weight capacity. There are some other nice features in the Pro line that don't come with the Bold line, as well. Still, a person could mix and match them as your needs dictate, and you'll still have a great looking set! This particular cabinet was very heavy, and my brother and I just barely managed to hoist it up on the wall, and get it anchored with the lag bolts provided. A third person would have been a big help! Thanks New Age, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Lots of Features, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions, Looks High End, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Vibrant Color, Well Made
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Farberware Classic Microwave delivers power, style and convenience with a sleek design to compliment your kitchen. Features include 10 power levels and a Memory Function that stores and recalls your preferred cooking settings. The Farberware Classic offers an easy to operate digital interface with 1-6 minute express cook buttons, time or weight based defrost controls, an Add 30-Seconds control, as well as 6 pre-programmed cooking functions for popcorn, pizza, a dinner plate and more. Multi-stage cooking means that you can set the power level to adjust during the cooking cycle for perfect results without interruption. The LCD display provides a clock and kitchen timer. With a generous 1.1 cu. ft. cooking capacity, 1000-Watt of power, and a rotating turntable, the Farberware Classic is the perfect multi-tasker for your kitchen.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          I Really Like This Microwave!
          PostedJune 16, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Energy efficiency 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We've gone through several microwaves over the years. I like this one best, because the controls offer you the most selections, yet are not confusing to use either. My wife wishes it were a bit bigger than it is, but really, it is big enough for most things you'd want to cook in it. I really like the charcoal gray interior. This also has a lock-out feature, to keep young children from messing with it. I love it!
          Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy to Clean, High Quality
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 43 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          The shower doesn't have to be off-limits for a full day. Caulk the shower or tub with GE Silicone II Kitchen and Bath and reduce the wait time dramatically. GE Silicone II 100% Silicone adheres to a wide variety of substrates and quickly builds a tight seal that can be exposed to water as little as 30 minutes after application. Some caulk requires wait time of a full day or longer before using the shower or the caulk might wash away. Mold-free product protection helps keep the cured caulk mold- and mildew-free and looking clean for seven years, with regular cleaning. Mold is not only an unsightly and embarrassing problem to have in your bathroom, around a tub or shower, but it might also lead to health problems. Some caulk might claim limited protection, but GE Silicone II Kitchen and Bath is formulated for increased protection. 100% Silicone sealant is widely considered to be the best caulk for re-caulking and sealing around bathtubs, showers and faucets as well as other areas in your home that will be exposed to water.
           

          I have used this around my kitchen sink, it has been there for 1w hours now. It will not dry/cure. Still wet to the touc

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 29, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          May 30, 2016
          Answer: 
          It needs 1-3 days to cure, depending on the air conditions.
           
          BEHR Premium DeckOver is an innovative new solid color coating that will bring your old, weathered wood or concrete back to life. The advanced 100% acrylic resin, fused with ceramic microspheres, creates a durable coating on your tired deck, rejuvenating its look. Spatter resistant formula makes application quick and easy. For the best results, be sure to properly prepare the surface using other applicable BEHR products displayed above.
           

          I was really interested in the concrete part. I wanted to stain my concrete patio. Is this product good for that?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 28, 2016
          How long will it last on concrete and is it just like staining concrete. Do you have pictures of some done on concrete?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          May 30, 2016
          Answer: 
          I have not used it on concrete, but keep in mind, this is not stain. It is an acrylic product similar to paint, and very thick. If the surface is cleaned first, then you allow plenty of time to dry between coats, it should work well for you, and it will fill cracks.
           
          The Original Shed-in-a-Box mid-size 8 ft. x 8 ft. x 8 ft. makes back yard storage fast and easy. Constructed of heavy duty 1-3/8 in. steel frame. Bonded with DuPont Premium powder coat process which prevents chipping, peeling, rust and corrosion. Advanced engineered rip stop tough woven polyethylene fabric is triple layered, heat bonded for ultimate 4 season performance and is waterproof, UV treated inside, outside and in between with added fade blockers, anti-anti-aging and anti-fungal agents High profile white interior provides enhanced illumination. Patent pending ShelterLock stabilizers at every rib connection ensure a rock solid frame. Rugged Ratchet Tite Tensioning system enables quick cover installation. Easy Slide Cross Rail system locks down and squares up frames for initial and continuous frame to fabric fit.
           

          when installing to concrete how did you secure it from moving?and how secure is it when it is not secured into grass?Also does a car fit comfortably .

          Asked by
          dcoach
          ohio
          May 17, 2012
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          May 29, 2016
          Answer: 
          You would have to anchor it to the concrete. You could drill holes and sink anchors in the concrete, which is not that difficult. No, it is not a garage or car port. Mainly used for lawn equipment, etc.
           
          The Original Shed-in-a-Box mid-size 8 ft. x 8 ft. x 8 ft. makes back yard storage fast and easy. Constructed of heavy duty 1-3/8 in. steel frame. Bonded with DuPont Premium powder coat process which prevents chipping, peeling, rust and corrosion. Advanced engineered rip stop tough woven polyethylene fabric is triple layered, heat bonded for ultimate 4 season performance and is waterproof, UV treated inside, outside and in between with added fade blockers, anti-anti-aging and anti-fungal agents High profile white interior provides enhanced illumination. Patent pending ShelterLock stabilizers at every rib connection ensure a rock solid frame. Rugged Ratchet Tite Tensioning system enables quick cover installation. Easy Slide Cross Rail system locks down and squares up frames for initial and continuous frame to fabric fit.
           

          I have a pasture with 2 mini donkeys, that need shelter will it withstand wind and weather changes.

          Asked by
          Sue
          Madera, California
          September 14, 2012
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          May 29, 2016
          Answer: 
          Mine has held up nicely in Missouri, and we get lots of wind and weather changes.
           
          The Original Shed-in-a-Box mid-size 8 ft. x 8 ft. x 8 ft. makes back yard storage fast and easy. Constructed of heavy duty 1-3/8 in. steel frame. Bonded with DuPont Premium powder coat process which prevents chipping, peeling, rust and corrosion. Advanced engineered rip stop tough woven polyethylene fabric is triple layered, heat bonded for ultimate 4 season performance and is waterproof, UV treated inside, outside and in between with added fade blockers, anti-anti-aging and anti-fungal agents High profile white interior provides enhanced illumination. Patent pending ShelterLock stabilizers at every rib connection ensure a rock solid frame. Rugged Ratchet Tite Tensioning system enables quick cover installation. Easy Slide Cross Rail system locks down and squares up frames for initial and continuous frame to fabric fit.
           

          Would this be a good choice to cover my peddle boat and keep it clean in winter?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Brewster, MA
          August 18, 2014
          Has anyone else used it for this purpose?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          May 29, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, it would.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 95 >>