Historian
  • Review count
    201
  • Helpfulness votes
    457
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    April 23, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      373
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        201
      • Helpfulness votes
        457
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        April 23, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          373
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          The innovative through design of the Husky 126-Piece Pass-Through Socket and Ratchet Set allows this set to tackle jobs that standard socket sets can't. The hollow sockets and ratchet heads allow threaded rod and bolts to pass completely through the tool for unbeatable access and virtually eliminating the need for deep sockets. This is the ultimate pass-through socket set from Husky offering 1/4 in., 3/8 in. and 1/2 in. drive tools all in 1 convenient set.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Brilliant Idea In Tools!
          PostedApril 23, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I've been doing my own mechanical work for close to 45 years. I have seen a lot of tools, used many, and have seen some innovations come on the market over the years. However, I have never seen anything quite as unique and brilliant in the area of socket wrenches and hand wrenches as this new Husky 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 in. Universal Pass-Through Mechanics Tool Set (126-Piece) tool set! What makes this set unique is the whole "pass-through" idea. Imagine for a moment, you have a nut on a really long bolt. A regular or a deep-well socket won't reach it because the bolt shaft is too long. So, you have to resort to a hand-wrench. However, in some situations, a hand-wrench is difficult or nearly Read More
          I've been doing my own mechanical work for close to 45 years. I have seen a lot of tools, used many, and have seen some innovations come on the market over the years. However, I have never seen anything quite as unique and brilliant in the area of socket wrenches and hand wrenches as this new Husky 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 in. Universal Pass-Through Mechanics Tool Set (126-Piece) tool set! What makes this set unique is the whole "pass-through" idea. Imagine for a moment, you have a nut on a really long bolt. A regular or a deep-well socket won't reach it because the bolt shaft is too long. So, you have to resort to a hand-wrench. However, in some situations, a hand-wrench is difficult or nearly impossible to get where you need it to be! The "pass-through" of this tool set means that the long shaft of the bolt you are working on can pass through the socket, pass through the extension, and pass through the ratchet, and you can get at the nut way down at the bottom without needing a hand-wrench. However, this set also includes "pass-through" hand-wrenches as well! This is one of the most clever ideas I have seen in tools for a very long time. And, it comes with Husky's Lifetime Warranty, so you know they have you covered! Thanks Husky, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, All In One, Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, Strong, Sturdy, innovative idea, wide variety of sizes
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          ANZZI is committed to introducing the latest in European bath fixture design to the North American home. ANZZI presents the Soave Series Dual Handle Kitchen Faucet with Pull Out Sprayer. Crafted using lead-free Rhino Alloy certified brass as the interior and our Lustrous Polished Chrome rust resistant finish. This this all metal combination of high quality materials ensures you will enjoy a flawlessly performing faucet for many years to come. The elegantly simple dual handle design allows for complete and easy control of both water flow and temperature while maintain the fine minimalist aesthetic to match with any modern or contemporary decor style. Additionally, the ANZZI Soave Series features a simple to use and easy to handle Euro-grip pull out sprayer offering the full range of motion needed for even the toughest washes. The ANZZI Soave Series is listed certified under cUPC / NSF / AB1953 for installation within North America.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Love This Faucet!
          PostedApril 23, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I originally had a Kohler two-handled faucet, then gave that up for a single-handled faucet. The single handled faucet was beautiful, and well made, but we just couldn't get used to just having a single handle. This Anzzi Soave Series 2-Handle Standard Kitchen Faucet In Polished Chrome beats them all! It gives us the precision temperature control of our old Kohler, but it is prettier and better made than the Kohler. And as a Kohler fan, I don't say that lightly! As anyone who's read my reviews knows, I am a huge believer in metal-bodied faucets and valves. This faucet is metal-bodied, and built like a tank! It is also exceptionally beautiful! When you rotate the faucet itself, there is none Read More
          I originally had a Kohler two-handled faucet, then gave that up for a single-handled faucet. The single handled faucet was beautiful, and well made, but we just couldn't get used to just having a single handle. This Anzzi Soave Series 2-Handle Standard Kitchen Faucet In Polished Chrome beats them all! It gives us the precision temperature control of our old Kohler, but it is prettier and better made than the Kohler. And as a Kohler fan, I don't say that lightly! As anyone who's read my reviews knows, I am a huge believer in metal-bodied faucets and valves. This faucet is metal-bodied, and built like a tank! It is also exceptionally beautiful! When you rotate the faucet itself, there is none of the wobble we had with our Kohler. I also love the flat valve handles, and with those too, there is a very solid feel to them as you open and close them. I am a new fan of Anzzi products! Thanks Anzzi, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Durable, Easy to Install, Lots of Features, Modern, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, metal body, Good Instructions
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Motorola Wi-Fi 720P HD Indoor Dome Security Camera
          Motorola Wi-Fi 720P HD Indoor Dome Security Camera
          The Focus 85 allows you to check up on your favorite people, pets and places with its 720p HD recording ability. Place the monitor on a flat surface with that allows you to view the room with a 300 degree viewing angle with the remote Digital Pan, Tilt and Zoom and get a close up view, while the night vision function allows you to check up on your children at night or check up on that noise in the garden or living room. Use the 2-way communication feature to hear and speak back. Switch on the motion, temperature and sound alerts and play back any footage so that you never miss any of the action. Access your Focus 85 Monitor via the free secured Hubble application on your Android or iOS enabled smartphone or tablet for free unlimited live streaming. The Focus 85 constantly records on a loop to capture the previous 15 seconds prior to any motion detected event, and use the Time Travel feature to go back in time to see the full event. The user friendly timeline contains all saved clips triggered by motion and sound detection and temperature alerts, helping you to manage what's going on. Be in complete control of how your videos are stored, accessed or shared.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Hardware may be good, but the software is risky and comes with a catch!
          PostedApril 23, 2016
          Overall rating 
          1.0 out of 5
          1.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          1.0 out of 5
          1.0 out of 5
          Value 
          1.0 out of 5
          1.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          I was excited at first, about this Motorola WiFi 720P HD Indoor Dome Security Camera. I mean, Motorola has a great name, right? In order to use this device, you have to download a free app from the Google Play Store for your Android device. Then you have to create an account with the Hubble app company, located in Hong Kong, China! This company is not part of Motorola, but rather a "partner" of Motorola. Then you pair the camera up with your cell phone over Bluetooth. Once you do that, you have to provide this foreign company with your home network password, so they can access your camera through your internet account.
          That is where I stopped. I have a secure home computer network, and Read More
          I was excited at first, about this Motorola WiFi 720P HD Indoor Dome Security Camera. I mean, Motorola has a great name, right? In order to use this device, you have to download a free app from the Google Play Store for your Android device. Then you have to create an account with the Hubble app company, located in Hong Kong, China! This company is not part of Motorola, but rather a "partner" of Motorola. Then you pair the camera up with your cell phone over Bluetooth. Once you do that, you have to provide this foreign company with your home network password, so they can access your camera through your internet account.
          That is where I stopped. I have a secure home computer network, and there is no way that I am giving the password to it, to some Chinese company in Hong Kong, plain and simple! Even if the connection between you and them is secure as they claim, you have no idea who these people are, or what sort of security measures they have in place to prevent hackers from breaking into their systems. There are internet websites out there, who specialize in showing the public what is on people's nanny-cams, computer-cams and security cameras. We have all seen stories on the news about how some creep hacked into someone's baby-camera and was talking to their baby. And this camera not only has video ability, but sound as well, so essentially you are bugging your own house with a microphone.
          Security issues aside, another thing I really don't like about this product is that the portion you get to use for free, is, and I quote, "Currently the Freemium plan includes:
          • Motion-triggered snapshots
          • Temperature alerts and sounds alerts for a span of 24 hours if supported by your camera.
          You may currently be enjoying our ‘Free Trial plan’, which, in addition, allows you to see motion-triggered video recording events as well as other alerts from the past 24 hours. Once this trial plan has ended, you will continue to receive our Freemium plan at no cost.
          For information about our Paid Plans:" then it tells you to go to a page on their website, where they present you with paid plans that range from $29 a year to $299 a year.
          Nowhere on the box does it say that using the majority of the features of this camera will incur a subscription fee! Neither does it say that you have to provide some foreign company with your personal information and the password to your home network.
          So, NO I would not recommend this product to anyone, at all, for any reason! Read Less
          Pros: Easy Installation
          Cons: a security risk, involves paid subscription
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          With a look inspired by vintage street lights, the Sun Vista is a charming fan ready to meet your casual style. The burnished paddle-shaped blades surround a small fan body for a warm, inviting appearance that will fit well either indoors or under covered porches. Install the metal wire around the glass for a lake house vibe, or you can install this fan without the wire cage for a more rounded look that is clean and simple.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A gorgeous, well-built fan!
          PostedApril 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We needed a fan for an outdoor pergola, and this Hunter Sun Vista 54 Inch LED Outdoor Noble Bronze Ceiling Fan is the perfect solution! The LED lights make it very energy efficient. The bronze finish gives it a rustic look that will fit perfectly with the wood pergola, and the 54 inch blades will move some air! Over the years, I have owned many ceiling fans, but this is probably the nicest one I have got yet! Hunter puts a lifetime warranty on the motor, which is a big deal! Because it is rated as an outdoor fan, does not mean you can leave it exposed to the weather. It is "damp proof", meaning that humidity in the air won't bother it, but you still don't want it being exposed to direct rain Read More
          We needed a fan for an outdoor pergola, and this Hunter Sun Vista 54 Inch LED Outdoor Noble Bronze Ceiling Fan is the perfect solution! The LED lights make it very energy efficient. The bronze finish gives it a rustic look that will fit perfectly with the wood pergola, and the 54 inch blades will move some air! Over the years, I have owned many ceiling fans, but this is probably the nicest one I have got yet! Hunter puts a lifetime warranty on the motor, which is a big deal! Because it is rated as an outdoor fan, does not mean you can leave it exposed to the weather. It is "damp proof", meaning that humidity in the air won't bother it, but you still don't want it being exposed to direct rain or snow. Now, I just have to get busy and build an overhead weather shelter above where the fan will mount, to keep the rain/snow off of it! It should be beautiful and functional when I am done! Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Functional, Good Size & Weight, High Quality of Material, Stylish, Well Made
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Take back your yard with new gear this year and choose the greener grooming solution that’s better for you, better for your lawn, and better for the environment. Say goodbye to gas, oil, noxious fumes, pull-cords, and costly tune-ups. For smaller yards, the cutting-edge, 12-Amp electric MJ402E is your greener, cleaner alternative to get the job done with zero carbon emissions for cleaner air. Startup is instant, reliable, and effortless with virtually zero maintenance, season after season. Simply plug in your mower and go. Delivering the power of a gas machine with the convenience of an electric unit, it’s durable steel blade cuts a 15 in. wide path with precision on each pass and features a convenient 6-position manual height adjustment for maximum control. MJ402E comes equipped with a detachable 9.3 Gal. rear bag for quick and easy disposal. The unit is ETL-approved and carries a full two-year warranty.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Light-Weight, Handy Mower
          PostedApril 21, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Features 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of use 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Setup and assembly of this mower is pretty straight forward. I did have to refer to the instructions to figure out how to assemble the grass catcher bag. However, once you figure it out, it really is a breeze to install and remove when you need to empty it. The grass-catcher does not hold a lot of grass, so you will need to empty it very often if you use it much. The mower is very light weight, so an elderly person should have no problem using it, and even a younger person is not liable to get worn out as quickly as they would with some mowers.
          The instructions say to use some cord-clips to attach the cord leading from the mower up the handle, to the handle. However, those clips were not Read More
          Setup and assembly of this mower is pretty straight forward. I did have to refer to the instructions to figure out how to assemble the grass catcher bag. However, once you figure it out, it really is a breeze to install and remove when you need to empty it. The grass-catcher does not hold a lot of grass, so you will need to empty it very often if you use it much. The mower is very light weight, so an elderly person should have no problem using it, and even a younger person is not liable to get worn out as quickly as they would with some mowers.
          The instructions say to use some cord-clips to attach the cord leading from the mower up the handle, to the handle. However, those clips were not included with my mower. I can easily substitute a couple trash-bag wire-ties, so I am not too upset over that.
          I do like the height adjuster, although I do wish that it was marked with actual height in inches, versus the 1 2 3 4 5 6 that it is. For my test, I set it on "5", which according to the instructions, translates to 3 inches, which is what most lawn experts suggest as an ideal cutting height.
          Luckily, or unluckily, my lawn needed to be mowed, so the timing was perfect to test this Sun Joe out. Because my extension cord is short, my test area was fairly limited. I do need to get a longer, 100 foot extension cord. The mower motor is very quiet, which is very nice. You could mow late at night or very early in the morning without disturbing your neighbors.
          While the motor seems to have plenty of power, and never bogged down, it seemed to be kind of hit & miss and didn't cut as evenly as I would have liked. Some spots were cut nice, but others were left high, so you'd have to go back over those high-spots and hit them again. A mower should be able to cut evenly on the first pass, unless the grass was extraordinarily high to begin with. For this reason, I could not honestly give it 5 Stars.
          Even though my test cut area was fairly short, the grass catcher bag ended up about half full, so I can well imagine having to repeatedly empty it often. The good news here, is that it is very simple to detach and reattach the grass bag, so the only hassle would be that you have to stop mowing, remove the bag, empty it, then reattach it and return to mowing.
          All in all, this is not at all a bad mower, despite my criticisms. It would be ideal for an elderly person, or someone who has just a small yard. I would recommend this Sun Joe Mower to anyone. Thanks Sun Joe, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Store, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Light Weight, Powerful, Small Turn Radius, Sturdy
          Cons: small grass catcher bag, some uneven cutting
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 41 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          The Powermate Rear Tine Tiller is the perfect tool for any job from gardening and light tilling to hard groundbreaking work. The 9.6 ft. per lb. 4-Stroke OHV engine is both powerful and efficient. The gear-drive system provides maximum fuel and engine efficiency, allowing the unit to run on less power input than when operated manually and the gasoline-powered engine allows the user to till a large amount of area in little time. This powerful tiller works to complete the job quickly and effectively while still being easy to maneuver. The 11 in. counter-rotating tines dig deep into the earth to remove weeds and allow for fresh soil to be upturned and the 13 in. heavy duty, pneumatic tires stabilize the tiller over rough terrain. This machine boasts an 18 in. tilling width which allows the tiller to cover a large amount of space in one pass while still being easy to maneuver and capable of making sharp turns. This tiller makes easy work of any garden or groundbreaking project.
           

          Does this have shear pins that will break everytime you hit a rock?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          January 21, 2015
          Our garden is a fairly new one with large rocks that have to be pulled everytime we till. Our old tiller was a beast and would lift them but not break any pins doing it. The newer ones we have used have these shear pins that break as soon as you hit a rock bigger than an orange. Is this one better suited for rocky soil or is it something I should pass on?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          April 29, 2016
          Answer: 
          It does not have such shear pins. If the rock is small, it will flip it to the surface. If it is big enough, it will just catch onto it, then you reverse to back it off and pull the stone by hand. I have hit many in my yard with no ill effects.
           
          The Powermate Rear Tine Tiller is the perfect tool for any job from gardening and light tilling to hard groundbreaking work. The 9.6 ft. per lb. 4-Stroke OHV engine is both powerful and efficient. The gear-drive system provides maximum fuel and engine efficiency, allowing the unit to run on less power input than when operated manually and the gasoline-powered engine allows the user to till a large amount of area in little time. This powerful tiller works to complete the job quickly and effectively while still being easy to maneuver. The 11 in. counter-rotating tines dig deep into the earth to remove weeds and allow for fresh soil to be upturned and the 13 in. heavy duty, pneumatic tires stabilize the tiller over rough terrain. This machine boasts an 18 in. tilling width which allows the tiller to cover a large amount of space in one pass while still being easy to maneuver and capable of making sharp turns. This tiller makes easy work of any garden or groundbreaking project.
           

          does this tiller have a reverse

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          April 27, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          April 29, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, it does. Putting it in reverse also reverses the blades, so if you get caught up on a root or rock, you can back it off. If you want it to move forward or backward without the blades turning, then you pull the axle pins next to the wheels, so they spin freely, and the engine isn't driving them.
           
          Powerplay PressureJet 2000 is built using best-in-class components that can withstand rugged use from any dirty job you throw its way. Putting the muscle behind the name with a Universal 120-Volt Electric Motor and Annovi-Reverberi High Pressure Axial pump delivering a flow rate of 1.4 GPM. Engineered for longevity and reliability thanks to our Total Stop System and wide track wheels for great maneuverability. PressureJet can handle any cleaning job from siding and windows to power washing vehicles. Our machines are built to out perform and outlast the competition.
           

          canyou purchasse a addded pressure hose section?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          milton nh
          April 27, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          April 28, 2016
          Answer: 
          I don't believe so, and its pretty long already compared to most pressure washers.
           
          Choose the Milwaukee 49-56-0511 1/2 in. diamond plus hole saw for up to 10x longer life when cutting tile, stone and glass. Diamond plus hole saws deliver best-in-class performance, with higher grade diamonds for maximum heat and fracture resistance. An improved braze provides superior diamond retention when cutting hard, abrasive materials. The one-piece hole saw has a 1/4 in. quick change hex shank and features a large slug ejection slot. Designed as the single cutting solution for all tile, stone, and glass applications, diamond plus offers the lowest cost-per-hole on the market.
           

          is this the right choice for porcelain tile? hard porcelain tile

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          October 26, 2015
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          April 28, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes it is. Worked perfectly on mine.
           
          Choose the Milwaukee 49-56-0511 1/2 in. diamond plus hole saw for up to 10x longer life when cutting tile, stone and glass. Diamond plus hole saws deliver best-in-class performance, with higher grade diamonds for maximum heat and fracture resistance. An improved braze provides superior diamond retention when cutting hard, abrasive materials. The one-piece hole saw has a 1/4 in. quick change hex shank and features a large slug ejection slot. Designed as the single cutting solution for all tile, stone, and glass applications, diamond plus offers the lowest cost-per-hole on the market.
           

          Can this be used dry or does it need to be kept wet?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          April 27, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          April 28, 2016
          Answer: 
          It most certainly needs to be kept wet. I used a spray bottle of water and gave it an occasional shot to keep it wet as I drilled.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 75 >>