Historian
  • Review count
    303
  • Helpfulness votes
    611
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    April 27, 2017
 
  • Question count
    1
     
    • Answer count
      507
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        303
      • Helpfulness votes
        611
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        April 27, 2017
       
      • Question count
        1
         
        • Answer count
          507
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          Built to move and made to last, our newly designed Performance Plus 2.0 Series Mobile Locker is the only locker you can manoeuver where ever you need. This handy locker is designed fully welded with 18-gauge steel frames, fully lockable double-walled doors, soft-close hinges and an intuitive cable management solution which allows you to charge your power tools behind closed doors. The Mobile Locker ships on its included lockable casters with two fully-adjustable steel shelves and an included closet rod with multi-peg hooks for endless storage possibilities. It may be small, but this locker has it all; complete your garage set with the Performance Plus 2.0 Mobile Locker.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          An Impressive Cabinet!
          PostedApril 27, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          While I was aware of the published dimensions of this cabinet, in person, it seems bigger than I expected. That is a great thing as far as I am concerned! It is also heavier built than I expected too. NewAge really did well with packaging this cabinet, and it arrived in perfect condition, arriving all strapped down and on two pallets, no less! Assembly is very straight-forward and simple, but you may need a second person to help move the cabinet around. They definitely built this cabinet to hold up over the long term, and to hold an amazing amount of stuff. I really appreciated that they put holes in it for bolting it to a wall, although I don't think you'd really have to bolt it down, as it Read More
          While I was aware of the published dimensions of this cabinet, in person, it seems bigger than I expected. That is a great thing as far as I am concerned! It is also heavier built than I expected too. NewAge really did well with packaging this cabinet, and it arrived in perfect condition, arriving all strapped down and on two pallets, no less! Assembly is very straight-forward and simple, but you may need a second person to help move the cabinet around. They definitely built this cabinet to hold up over the long term, and to hold an amazing amount of stuff. I really appreciated that they put holes in it for bolting it to a wall, although I don't think you'd really have to bolt it down, as it is very stable on its own. I really love this new cabinet! Thanks NewAge, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Functional, Great Instructions, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Looks High End, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Sturdy, Vibrant Color, Well Made
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The GE Morgan 54 in. Ceiling Fan has a modern design that is available in brushed nickel or bronze finishes, and has 3 matte black blades, making it ideal for most any room. The fan features the new and technologically advanced SkyPlug Mounting System to provide safe, quick and easy installation. This innovative Plug and Play feature eliminates complicated wiring, and allows the fan to be easily taken down, or switched out with a large variety of ceiling fans and light fixtures within seconds. The GE Morgan Fan has an integrated and dimmable 18W LED light kit and includes a 3-speed remote control. The fan is built with high quality GE specifications and includes a limited lifetime motor warranty.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          I love these newly designed fans!
          PostedApril 27, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Installing this fan is so easy compared to your average ceiling fan! It comes with a "skyplug" that you attach your wires to, then mount to your electrical box. This device is very light-weight, and easy to manipulate. Once that is in place, you simply lift the fan section into place, and twist & lock. After that, you attach the remaining items like the blades, and you are done. The fan puts off a very nice breeze, and the LED light throws off a very bright light. If you need to take the fan down later to paint the ceiling, or replace the fan, you have a very easy job ahead of you to take it down. GE really re-invented the ceiling fan with these "Skyplug" fans like the Morgan 54 in. LED Read More
          Installing this fan is so easy compared to your average ceiling fan! It comes with a "skyplug" that you attach your wires to, then mount to your electrical box. This device is very light-weight, and easy to manipulate. Once that is in place, you simply lift the fan section into place, and twist & lock. After that, you attach the remaining items like the blades, and you are done. The fan puts off a very nice breeze, and the LED light throws off a very bright light. If you need to take the fan down later to paint the ceiling, or replace the fan, you have a very easy job ahead of you to take it down. GE really re-invented the ceiling fan with these "Skyplug" fans like the Morgan 54 in. LED Indoor/Outdoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan with SkyPlug Technology! Thanks GE, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Fast / Speed, Functional, Good Size & Weight, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Stylish, Unique, Very Bright, Well Made
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          DAP 10.1 oz. ALEX PLUS Caulking (12-Pack) acrylic latex caulk plus silicone is an excellent quality, all purpose caulk ideal for sealing a wide variety of interior and exterior surfaces. It contains silicone additives for greater flexibility and adhesion and it shrinks less for a durable, 100% waterproof seal. Paint ready in only 30 minutes to finish the job faster. It is easy to apply and tool, low in odor and cleans up easily with water. Ideal for sealing cracks and gaps around windows, doors, baseboards, molding and trim.
           
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          I've always liked Dap products, and when we installed new windows in our home, and trimmed the ou...
          PostedApril 24, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I've always liked Dap products, and when we installed new windows in our home, and trimmed the outside, this Dap Alex Plus 10.1 oz. White Acrylic Latex Caulk Plus Silicone (12-Pack) was the perfect product for caulking the new window trim. Thanks Dap, and Home Depot!
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Looking for an inexpensive, fast air sealing solution. Then you've got to get GREAT STUFF Window and Door Insulating Foam Sealant Quick Stop Straw. For windows, doors and skylights, this minimal-expanding foam with a low pressure build forms a durable, airtight and water-resistant seal. It's the original window and door draft stopper.
           
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          I just recently installed new windows in our home. I'd deliberately ordered undersized windows t...
          PostedApril 24, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I just recently installed new windows in our home. I'd deliberately ordered undersized windows to make the install easier. That meant that I had to add 2x4 and 1x4 wood fillers to fill the gap between the old window openings and the new window frames. We used a window flashing rubber-type tape to seal the openings. We had gaps of varying sizes between the new window frames and the flashing that needed to be sealed. This Great Stuff 16 oz. Window and Door Insulating Foam Sealant with Quick Stop Straw was the perfect product for our needs. I'd purchased six cans to do six windows, but ended up only needing half that. This product expanded nicely to fill the gaps, but did not expand so much Read More
          I just recently installed new windows in our home. I'd deliberately ordered undersized windows to make the install easier. That meant that I had to add 2x4 and 1x4 wood fillers to fill the gap between the old window openings and the new window frames. We used a window flashing rubber-type tape to seal the openings. We had gaps of varying sizes between the new window frames and the flashing that needed to be sealed. This Great Stuff 16 oz. Window and Door Insulating Foam Sealant with Quick Stop Straw was the perfect product for our needs. I'd purchased six cans to do six windows, but ended up only needing half that. This product expanded nicely to fill the gaps, but did not expand so much that it bowed the new window frames; just enough to stop weather from migrating through the gaps. Once it had thoroughly dried, it is a breeze to cut off any excess. Thanks Great Stuff, and Home Depot! Read Less
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Fall into comfort with this stunning ten piece comforter set by Patina, in blue or red tones. Constructed of 100 percent polyester, this set is conveniently machine washable. Coordinating decorative pillows really bring the look together.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Very Nice Bedding Set
          PostedApril 24, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We really like this Patina Blue King Microfiber Comforter Set (10-Piece) from Home Depot! The only thing that would improve it were if it came with sheets. The comforter is a nice, soft material. We didn't need the bed skirt, since we have a waterbed. The pillows are always a handy thing to have for propping yourself upright in bed, as well as for decor purposes. All in all, we are very happy with this set. Thanks Home Depot!
          Pros: Comfortable, Excellent Quality, Functional, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design, Perfect Size, Rich Looking, Vibrant Color, Well Made
          Cons: needs sheets
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 61 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Wire residential indoor branch circuits for outlets, switches and other loads with Southwire Romex SIMpull Type NM-B Cable. SlikQuik jacket allows for 50% reduction in pulling force for easier installation. NM has a heat capacity of 90 Degree C and a usage rating of up to 600-Volt.
           

          I needed some Romex wire for a couple projects I was working on. The store employee showed me a ...

          Asked by
          Historian
          March 30, 2017
          I needed some Romex wire for a couple projects I was working on. The store employee showed me a smaller roll they had, and I asked if they had any bigger rolls. He pointed out this one. I ended up getting more wire for my money per foot by buying the bigger roll, than if I had got the smaller roll, and I should have some left over for future projects! This is great wire!
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          When you need to replace your lawn mower belt consider the John Deere 42 in. Mower Belt for Select John Deere Mowers. The More Kevlar cords help provide strength for your mower's high horsepower demands.
           

          Tightening belt on 42 inch John Deere riding mower

          Asked by
          Jim1954
          Ohio
          August 19, 2015
          We bought the GX20072 belt for our 42 inch John Deere riding mower. It appears to be too large. What are we doing wrong?
          Asked by
          Historian
          April 22, 2017
          Answer: 
          Check the tension pulley. I had the same issue, and gave my pulley a tug, and realized that grass, dirt, weather, etc., had prevented it from moving all the way into the tight position, and it was only moving part way. Once I did that, the belt was tight enough to do the job. Bear in mind, when the mower is not engaged, a certain amount of looseness is needed to keep from burning up the belt.
           
          The Husky 2500 Lumen LED Work Light is versatile and can be used with or without the tripod. It provides ample lighting with its long-lasting LED bulb. Once detached from the tripod, its easy grip handle also allows it to be transported with ease.
           

          I am a photographer and am looking to either use the Husky 1500 or Husky 2500 portable LED workli...

          Asked by
          Tracey
          December 22, 2016
          I am a photographer and am looking to either use the Husky 1500 or Husky 2500 portable LED worklight as something to power while i take pictures at a shoot. I am wondering since everyone is saying the stands are so cruddy if the pin or part that swivels into a tripod is a universal size. I have a Manfrotto tripod I use with my Canon camera which is universal for cameras will it work with the part here?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          April 4, 2017
          Answer: 
          I used to be a pro photographer. This light throws off an impressive amount of light, and should work well with photography. I don't know if it will work with your tripod, but it should be simple to adapt it to work on a good tripod.
           
          The Husky 2500 Lumen LED Work Light is versatile and can be used with or without the tripod. It provides ample lighting with its long-lasting LED bulb. Once detached from the tripod, its easy grip handle also allows it to be transported with ease.
           

          is this a battery powered, rechargeable light?

          Asked by
          bob
          December 21, 2016
          is this a battery powered, rechargeable light?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          April 4, 2017
          Answer: 
          This is not battery powered, and uses a cord.
           
          The Husky 2500 Lumen LED Work Light is versatile and can be used with or without the tripod. It provides ample lighting with its long-lasting LED bulb. Once detached from the tripod, its easy grip handle also allows it to be transported with ease.
           

          What is battery life on this light ?

          Asked by
          sethlight
          January 15, 2017
          What is battery life on this light ?
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          April 4, 2017
          Answer: 
          This is not battery powered, and uses a cord.
           
          The 2000 Series Maximus Door Viewer allows you to see who is at the door without them seeing you. Capture up to 1000 views on a SMD card. View visitors from the large LCD screen from any angle.
           

          I have at&t unversity wifi will I be able to view away from my home

          Asked by
          Adhb
          December 29, 2016
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          February 17, 2017
          Answer: 
          This does not connect to the internet. It is a stand-alone device.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 102 >>