Historian
  • Review count
    101
  • Helpfulness votes
    219
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    December 9, 2014
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      15
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        101
      • Helpfulness votes
        219
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        December 9, 2014
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          15
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          MAX clearing power. Ideal for removing heavy snow off large driveways and walkways, the Snow Joe MAX makes snow clean up fast, easy and convenient. No messy gas and oil to mix, no fumes to inhale, no costly seasonal tune-ups. Just plug in your Snow Joe MAX and start clearing instantly. Driven by a robust 13.5-Amp electric motor, the Snow Joe MAX moves up to 650 pounds of snow per minute. Its 4 rubber-tipped steel blades cut a swath 18-in. wide by 10 in. deep, clearing up to 2,450 sq. ft. per hour without any surface damage. Featuring a 180-degree adjustable discharge chute, the Snow Joe MAX throws snow up to 20 ft. away in the direction you want it to go. Control the height of the snow stream by simply adjusting the chute deflector. For safe nighttime clearing, switch on the 20 W headlight to conveniently illuminate the path in front of you. Get equipped this winter with Snow Joe MAX and clear out fast from tough winter messes.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          No More Sore Back For Me!
          PostedDecember 9, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Features 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Ease of use 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          At 32.9 lb, this little snow blower is amazing! It has a 13.5 Amp motor, which seems much more powerful than that number would make you think. While I haven't had a chance yet to test it in snow, I can tell by the power of that auger spinning at 2450 RPM that this little beast should handle most of the snowstorms that we get here in Missouri. If you live in Buffalo, NY, and get 7 foot snows, you may have a problem, but around here, it should handle just about anything. If the snow is heavy and wet, you may need to plan on making several passes, so as to not bog it down, but then, if you were shoveling in that kind of snow, you'd be doing the same thing anyway. It will clear a 18-inch wide Read More
          At 32.9 lb, this little snow blower is amazing! It has a 13.5 Amp motor, which seems much more powerful than that number would make you think. While I haven't had a chance yet to test it in snow, I can tell by the power of that auger spinning at 2450 RPM that this little beast should handle most of the snowstorms that we get here in Missouri. If you live in Buffalo, NY, and get 7 foot snows, you may have a problem, but around here, it should handle just about anything. If the snow is heavy and wet, you may need to plan on making several passes, so as to not bog it down, but then, if you were shoveling in that kind of snow, you'd be doing the same thing anyway. It will clear a 18-inch wide space, and handle 650 lb a minute, up to 10 inches deep, and throw that snow 20 feet. Assembly could not be easier or quicker! No tools were required, except a box knife to open the box. I didn't even to look at the instructions. I doubt that I will be using it much at night, but it does have a headlight, which could come in real handy depending upon what time a snow storm hits. Last winter, my neighbor and I were out shoveling our driveways for hours, and both of us were exhausted and very sore by time we finished. He is an older man, and recently had heart surgery, so I look forward to helping him out and cleaning his drive and mine this winter now. This SnowJoe Model SJ621 blower comes with a 2 year warranty, but it honestly doesn't look like there is much to go wrong with it. Operation is very simple, and just about anyone could easily handle using it. You can easily and quickly adjust the direction or angle of the snow exhaust too. It also folds up neatly, so storage is easy as well. For the low price this blower sells for, I call it a real bargain for any homeowner. Do yourself a favor, and get one before the snow hits, and they are all sold out! Thanks SnowJoe and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          RIDGID introduces the new 14 in. Bandsaw. Fully equipped with industry leading features, it would be a great addition to any shop. With Registration, it qualifies for the RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement, giving the user free part and service for life.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          I Am Very Impressed With This Band Saw!
          PostedDecember 9, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          I used to have a Craftsman band saw, that I ended up giving to my son-in-law. It was okay, but didn't come with a stand, and was about as basic a band saw as you could get. I built a wooden stand for it, but never did care for it much. Compared to this Rigid 14-Inch Band Saw Model # R474, that Craftsman was a sad joke. Rigid used to have another model of 14-inch band saw, the BS1400. That particular model got some bad reviews, and maybe justifiably so based upon what I have read. Like a good manufacturer should, Rigid discontinued the BS1400, and made improvements, and is now releasing the R474 Band Saw. Not having personally used the older model, I cannot make a direct comparison of the Read More
          I used to have a Craftsman band saw, that I ended up giving to my son-in-law. It was okay, but didn't come with a stand, and was about as basic a band saw as you could get. I built a wooden stand for it, but never did care for it much. Compared to this Rigid 14-Inch Band Saw Model # R474, that Craftsman was a sad joke. Rigid used to have another model of 14-inch band saw, the BS1400. That particular model got some bad reviews, and maybe justifiably so based upon what I have read. Like a good manufacturer should, Rigid discontinued the BS1400, and made improvements, and is now releasing the R474 Band Saw. Not having personally used the older model, I cannot make a direct comparison of the two. I do know that this new R474 has a more powerful motor, and I believe will take a wider variety of saw blade sizes than the old model. This model has a beefy 1 HP motor.
          Upon assembling the R474, I only had two minor complaints. It was missing one small hex bolt that fastens the lower stand to the motor mounting plate. That is not a major problem. The other problem was that the plastic motor cooling fan blade was cracked. It's just a $2 fan, so its really no big deal, and I may be able to repair it by welding the plastic back together with a hot knife. The instruction booklet could stand some improvement, as the instructions are rather vague, and the pictorial descriptions are located at the back of the book, so you'll find yourself reading the text instructions, then thumbing to the back for the pictures, then back to the front again for the text. Fortunately, assembly itself is pretty really fairly simple, so you can get through it all with some basic skills. You will need help placing the saw frame on top of the stand section, as it is a cast iron frame, and is very heavy! Many people complained about the old Rigid BS1400 vibrating a lot. With the R474, I did not experience that problem at all, even before making initial adjustments and fine tuning. It ran very smoothly, straight out of the box. Standing next to it, working, as very comfortable for me. It has all the adjustment potential I would expect, and all the features I would expect in a professional band saw.
          While it may not have all the fancy features of professional band saws costing far more money, I would say that Rigid has done a remarkable job making a very nice band saw for a modest cost. It has all the features that most people would want. As my review title states, I was very impressed with this saw, and will use it far more than I ever did that old Craftsman, and with far better results. One feature I especially like, is the clever caster feature, which allows you to easily move this very heavy tool around your shop, yet have it not move when you want it to stay put. It runs quiet compared to my old Craftsman, and offers far more options in settings and blade sizes. All in all, I applaud Rigid for their design and efforts to improve their product! Thanks Rigid, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, Easy to Move
          Cons: instruction booklet needs improved
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +2points
          2out of 2found this review helpful.
           
          The innovative Undertone Preserve sink resists scratching and withstands the everyday wear and tear your sink endures, keeping it looking newer for longer. Constructed from premium stainless steel, this sink also features an engineered sound-absorption system that significantly reduces disposal and dishwashing noise for a quieter kitchen environment. The included bottom basin rack provides a flat work surface in the sink basin.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Quality You Expect From Kohler-First Rate
          PostedNovember 29, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          While expensive, this sink is Kohler quality all the way. In person, it is much more impressive than what its dimensions and product description would lead you to believe. This is a nice, deep sink, and that was what I wanted most. Being undermount, it does require a stone, composite or tile countertop, so keep that in mind when ordering. Years ago, we remodeled our Master Bathroom, and used Kohler products then. All of the other manufacturers only offered plastic or fiberglass shower pans, but I wanted a cast iron one, with a porcelain finish. Plastic looks nice when it is new, but it doesn't age well, and tends to crack easily. Our Kohler shower pan cost us a lot more than plastic would Read More
          While expensive, this sink is Kohler quality all the way. In person, it is much more impressive than what its dimensions and product description would lead you to believe. This is a nice, deep sink, and that was what I wanted most. Being undermount, it does require a stone, composite or tile countertop, so keep that in mind when ordering. Years ago, we remodeled our Master Bathroom, and used Kohler products then. All of the other manufacturers only offered plastic or fiberglass shower pans, but I wanted a cast iron one, with a porcelain finish. Plastic looks nice when it is new, but it doesn't age well, and tends to crack easily. Our Kohler shower pan cost us a lot more than plastic would have, but all these years later, is just as nice as the day it was new. With our faucets, the only ones offered in the stores, off the shelf, had plastic internal parts. Since we were doing our bath in tile walls, I did not want to have to rip out tile later because a plastic internal faucet part failed. I found that to get great quality faucets with brass bodies and ceramic seals that Kohler had them available online through Home Depot. Interestingly, the faucets were not really more expensive than the cheaper quality ones were. All these years later, those Kohler faucets are still performing like new. So, while you may pay more for Kohler products, you do get the quality you would expect for that money. Kohler is a name that has earned my trust over time, and this sink lives up to that reputation. Thanks Kohler, and Home Depot.! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, nice and deep
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Gain a set of extra eyes with the Premium Series 4-Channel 500GB Surveillance System and watch over your property or assets in high resolution. This DVR provides you with real-time D1 resolution, which offers four-times the detail and clarity of conventional CIF resolution. At 120 FPS (30 FPS per channel) recorded video will appear smooth and fluid. Not only can you watch over your back yard with confidence, you can rest assured that it will all be captured in real-time so you never miss a moment. Enjoy the convenience and security of a complete system with the 4 included high resolution cameras. The QM6510B cameras are premium cameras that offer 700TVL of resolution. Coupled with the DVR"s real-time D1 resolution, this system offers large, detailed images that actually deliver. Darkness doesn't stop these cameras either. Thanks to 36 high-quality infrared LEDs, the QM6510B can see up to an impressive 100 ft. in the dark while still offering the same quality, in black and white, as you would expect in the day time. Day or night, the camera's high resolution capabilities and infrared cut filter ensure images will be clear, crisp and accurate. Always capture the details with this DVR"s Real-time Full D1 resolution. A full 30 FPS means recorded video on all channels will be smooth and fluid.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Okay, But WIth Problems
          PostedNovember 29, 2014
          Overall rating 
          2.0 out of 5.0
          2 out of 5
          Quality 
          2.0 out of 5.0
          2 out of 5
          Value 
          2.0 out of 5.0
          2 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          This Q-See Video Surveillance System with four 700TVL Cameras arrived quickly enough. Setup was simple. Controls are simple. However, one of the four cameras I got was faulty. It works, but is fuzzier than the others, and when you go to Night Vision, rather than the LED's lighting up and the display being Black & White, the LED's didn't kick in, and the display had a bluish tint. There was no damage to the box, so I can only presume that the faulty camera was faulty to begin with. That makes me question the quality control that Q-See applies to their equipment. I'd read other reviewers who had similar problems, so this seems to be a common problem. Like other reviewers, I too find the Read More
          This Q-See Video Surveillance System with four 700TVL Cameras arrived quickly enough. Setup was simple. Controls are simple. However, one of the four cameras I got was faulty. It works, but is fuzzier than the others, and when you go to Night Vision, rather than the LED's lighting up and the display being Black & White, the LED's didn't kick in, and the display had a bluish tint. There was no damage to the box, so I can only presume that the faulty camera was faulty to begin with. That makes me question the quality control that Q-See applies to their equipment. I'd read other reviewers who had similar problems, so this seems to be a common problem. Like other reviewers, I too find the included USB mouse to be far too small for average sized hands. It works, but takes some getting used to. Considering that you won't really be using the mouse as much as you would with a PC, I don't see that as a real deal-breaker, and you could always replace it with a full sized mouse available anywhere at a cheap price. Still, when you are paying as much as you are for a system like this, it wouldn't cost the manufacturer much to throw in a full size mouse. All in all, I would not recommend this system to anyone. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
          Cons: faulty camera, mouse too small
          -4points
          1out of 6found this review helpful.
           
          The New Ryobi 12-Volt Compact Drill/Driver gives you optimal performance in a compact size. To help you get the job done faster, an accessory kit is included with all the drill bits you need with the 31-piece drill bit kit. MicroTexture Grip offers the ergonomics, comfort, and control to easily tackle most household applications. The ultra-compact size makes it easy to handle and perfect for tight spaces.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Great Value For The Money!
          PostedNovember 25, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          To be honest, I'd tried a Ryobi battery powered device in the past, and was not at all impressed with the battery life and power, so I was more than a little skeptical of this 12-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill With 31-Piece Drill Bit Kit. I am happy to say that Ryobi has come a long ways, and I was very impressed with this tool. After fully charging the battery, I gave it the ultimate test for a device like this; namely driving a deck screw into tough CCA lumber. Anyone who has worked with CCA treated lumber knows what I am talking about. I have a heavy-duty 1/2 inch corded drill, and even with it, that is a very tough job. This battery-powered Ryobi shot that screw into the CCA like it was Read More
          To be honest, I'd tried a Ryobi battery powered device in the past, and was not at all impressed with the battery life and power, so I was more than a little skeptical of this 12-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill With 31-Piece Drill Bit Kit. I am happy to say that Ryobi has come a long ways, and I was very impressed with this tool. After fully charging the battery, I gave it the ultimate test for a device like this; namely driving a deck screw into tough CCA lumber. Anyone who has worked with CCA treated lumber knows what I am talking about. I have a heavy-duty 1/2 inch corded drill, and even with it, that is a very tough job. This battery-powered Ryobi shot that screw into the CCA like it was made of butter! For such a light-weight tool, that is impressive to say the least! And, the light weight of this drill is one of it's greatest features. You could work it all day, and not get tired, which I cannot say is true about that big heavy 1/2 inch drill! The one feature it doesn't have, that I wish it did, is a belt clip. It wouldn't cost the manufacturer much, and would sure help when you are doing a big job and need to free up your hands to move or position materials. Ryobi includes a charger, and one battery with this drill. Charging took me a couple hours, so a spare battery would be useful. They also include a nice set of 30 bits and an extension for your bits. The bits include some screwdriver bits, some masonry bits, three carbon steel bits, four wood paddle bits, and a nice selection of titanium bits. The bits come in a handy plastic carrying case. The drill itself is both reversible and speed adjustable, and like most newer drills, has a keyless chuck that makes changing bits a breeze. Overall, this is a nice tool, and a great value for the money. Thanks Ryobi and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
          Cons: needs a belt clip
          0points
          1out of 2found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 21 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          Blending with a wide variety of kitchen styles, this Verse double-basin sink features stainless-steel construction and a low-profile rim that simplifies cleanup, allowing you to sweep crumbs and liquid into the sink and out of sight. The engineered sound-absorption system significantly reduces disposal and dishwashing noise.
           

          what gauge stainless

          Asked by
          ronald
          June 14, 2014
          what gauge stainless steel is this? thanks
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          December 18, 2014
          Answer: 
          Not sure of the gauge in numbers, but its much heavier than our old no-name brand was.
           
          Blending with a wide variety of kitchen styles, this Verse double-basin sink features stainless-steel construction and a low-profile rim that simplifies cleanup, allowing you to sweep crumbs and liquid into the sink and out of sight. The engineered sound-absorption system significantly reduces disposal and dishwashing noise.
           

          how deep are the sinks?

          Asked by
          mimi
          Snellville, GA
          December 15, 2014
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          December 18, 2014
          Answer: 
          8 1/2 inches below the counter, and 1/2 above, for a total of 9 height. Still, in person, it is deeper than what you might think from those numbers.
           
          Gain a set of extra eyes with the Premium Series 4-Channel 500GB Surveillance System and watch over your property or assets in high resolution. This DVR provides you with real-time D1 resolution, which offers four-times the detail and clarity of conventional CIF resolution. At 120 FPS (30 FPS per channel) recorded video will appear smooth and fluid. Not only can you watch over your back yard with confidence, you can rest assured that it will all be captured in real-time so you never miss a moment. Enjoy the convenience and security of a complete system with the 4 included high resolution cameras. The QM6510B cameras are premium cameras that offer 700TVL of resolution. Coupled with the DVR"s real-time D1 resolution, this system offers large, detailed images that actually deliver. Darkness doesn't stop these cameras either. Thanks to 36 high-quality infrared LEDs, the QM6510B can see up to an impressive 100 ft. in the dark while still offering the same quality, in black and white, as you would expect in the day time. Day or night, the camera's high resolution capabilities and infrared cut filter ensure images will be clear, crisp and accurate. Always capture the details with this DVR"s Real-time Full D1 resolution. A full 30 FPS means recorded video on all channels will be smooth and fluid.
           

          is this wireless?

          Asked by
          Mike
          Log Island, N;Y
          November 28, 2014
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          November 29, 2014
          Answer: 
          No
           
          Gain a set of extra eyes with the Premium Series 4-Channel 500GB Surveillance System and watch over your property or assets in high resolution. This DVR provides you with real-time D1 resolution, which offers four-times the detail and clarity of conventional CIF resolution. At 120 FPS (30 FPS per channel) recorded video will appear smooth and fluid. Not only can you watch over your back yard with confidence, you can rest assured that it will all be captured in real-time so you never miss a moment. Enjoy the convenience and security of a complete system with the 4 included high resolution cameras. The QM6510B cameras are premium cameras that offer 700TVL of resolution. Coupled with the DVR"s real-time D1 resolution, this system offers large, detailed images that actually deliver. Darkness doesn't stop these cameras either. Thanks to 36 high-quality infrared LEDs, the QM6510B can see up to an impressive 100 ft. in the dark while still offering the same quality, in black and white, as you would expect in the day time. Day or night, the camera's high resolution capabilities and infrared cut filter ensure images will be clear, crisp and accurate. Always capture the details with this DVR"s Real-time Full D1 resolution. A full 30 FPS means recorded video on all channels will be smooth and fluid.
           

          Do the cameras record audio as well?

          Asked by
          edberta
          okc
          November 28, 2014
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          November 29, 2014
          Answer: 
          No, you'd need to add your own audio mics, which will plug into the DVR with a standard RCA type plug.
           
          Inspired by the retro silhouettes of classic American pottery. The Delta Silverton Single Robe Hook in Chrome will bring relaxed elegance to your bath. Dual-purpose hook holds more items.
           

          Hello....Can this be mounted in the shower, on tile???

          Asked by
          Pearlie Girl
          May 7, 2012
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          September 25, 2014
          Answer: 
          Yes, but you'll need to drill screw holes through the tile.