Historian
  • Review count
    109
  • Helpfulness votes
    242
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    January 22, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      15
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        109
      • Helpfulness votes
        242
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        January 22, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          15
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          The Husky 1/4 in. Full-Polish Ratchet features alloy steel construction for strength and long-lasting use. The finish provides resistance to corrosion. This ratchet has a 1/4 in. drive and a teardrop-style head with a low profile to provide excellent access.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Perfect Addition To My Husky 1/4-Inch Sockets!
          PostedJanuary 22, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have a set of 1/4 inch Husky sockets, and use them often. My old 1/4 inch ratchet is probably 50 years old, and pretty much worn out. Like Husky's 3/8 and 1/2 drive ratchets, which I also have, this sweet little 1/4 inch ratchet has Husky's ergonomically shaped handle that I like so much. You can use Husky's ratchets for hours on end, and not get cramped hands. Their ratchet direction switches are well designed, in easy reach, and engage in a positive way, so you can bank on it going in the direction you want. The socket release button works just like the bigger Husky ratchets, which is important when working with one hand. Press the button and the socket drops right off, yet it doesn't Read More
          I have a set of 1/4 inch Husky sockets, and use them often. My old 1/4 inch ratchet is probably 50 years old, and pretty much worn out. Like Husky's 3/8 and 1/2 drive ratchets, which I also have, this sweet little 1/4 inch ratchet has Husky's ergonomically shaped handle that I like so much. You can use Husky's ratchets for hours on end, and not get cramped hands. Their ratchet direction switches are well designed, in easy reach, and engage in a positive way, so you can bank on it going in the direction you want. The socket release button works just like the bigger Husky ratchets, which is important when working with one hand. Press the button and the socket drops right off, yet it doesn't fall off when you want it to stay put. I have several Husky tools, and have never had one fail or break on me yet. If so, they have a "Forever Guarantee". For the money, you can't go wrong with Husky tools that are every bit as good as ones selling for an arm and a leg. Thanks Husky, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Husky 3/8 in. Full-Polish Ratchet is made from alloy steel for excellent durability, and the corrosion-resistant chrome finish wipes clean easily. This ratchet has a flush-mounted reversing lever and features a teardrop-style head with a low profile to provide excellent access.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Husky Tools Are Always Welcome In My Husky Toolbox!
          PostedJanuary 22, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have an old 3/8 ratchet that is probably 70 years old, and it's seen better days. Needless to say, I was delighted to replace it with this Husky 3/8 Inch Full Polish 72 Tooth Ratchet. Husky ratchets have handles that fit well in your hand without undue fatigue from grasping them. My old ratchet had a straight handle, and your hands would start aching after a few hours of using it. Husky has a "Forever" guarantee on their tools, but honestly, I have never had one fail on me yet. Husky hand tools are made of high quality steel. The direction change switch is in easy reach, switches smoothly and with a positive engagement. I love Husky tools! Thanks Husky, and Home Depot!
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Luxurious upholstery. European design. This attractive patio dining set comes with a beautiful, dark powder-coated finish on the table that matches the visually appealing woven pattern style of the chairs. Aria 7-piece Dining set accentuates the carefree vibe of outdoor living. The Aria set mixes style and functionality with its premium steel frame and weather resistant fabric over padded cushions. The dining set's contemporary table features a silkscreen printed glass in subtle wood grain effect. Set includes 6 chairs and one dining table.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Very Luxurious Patio Set!
          PostedJanuary 21, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          When this patio set was delivered, I was just sure that it all couldn't possibly be included inside the two giant boxes it arrived in. Boy, was I wrong. Hampton Bay must have had a computer design the packing for the box the chairs came in. The box is about 3 foot square and four feet high. It weighs 268 lb., and you're going to need a couple people to help you move this box. Every single inch of space inside that box was taken up by the chair parts ingeniously packed like sardines inside the box. The cushions and fabric portions of the chairs are pre-assembled onto the upper frame sections, so assembly is pretty straight forward. All the bolts, etc., are all included. The fabric seems Read More
          When this patio set was delivered, I was just sure that it all couldn't possibly be included inside the two giant boxes it arrived in. Boy, was I wrong. Hampton Bay must have had a computer design the packing for the box the chairs came in. The box is about 3 foot square and four feet high. It weighs 268 lb., and you're going to need a couple people to help you move this box. Every single inch of space inside that box was taken up by the chair parts ingeniously packed like sardines inside the box. The cushions and fabric portions of the chairs are pre-assembled onto the upper frame sections, so assembly is pretty straight forward. All the bolts, etc., are all included. The fabric seems tougher than you might imagine for something that looks so cushy. The fabric color is very close in color to what you see on the website. The chair lower frames are located at the bottom of the box in a tightly bound bundle. The table comes in its own box, and while the top is glass, and I was initially concerned about whether it would arrive intact, it did arrive just perfect with no breakage or scratches. The color of the table actually looks nicer in person than it does in the online photos. The color scheme of the whole set blends really nicely together. As the website states, the frames are all powder-coated steel, so this set should hold up for a very long time. The size of the table is really ample for six people to dine without bumping elbows. The center of the table is made to allow you to add an optional umbrella, which would really benefit this table greatly. Home Depot has several other matching sets to compliment this set, and I'd imagine combining it all together would really be nice if your budget allows. I have no doubt that this set will outlast it's warranty by quite a bit, so despite it's price, I'd call it a good investment compared to lesser quality sets I have seen. All in all, I am very happy with this set, and look forward to many summer BBQ's with my family around this table. Thanks Hampton Bay, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Comfortable, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This new take on the classic Weber Performer grill has a space-saving design and exceptional maneuverability. A sturdy painted metal table is right at hand while grilling, but folds down for convenient storage or when not in use. The Tuck-Away lid holder allows you to simply move the lid to the side to check on your meal or add charcoal. Other convenience features include an aluminized steel One-Touch cleaning system and enclosed high-capacity Ash Catcher. Together these make dealing with ashes and cleanup as hassle-free as possible.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          My Favorite Weber Grill Yet!
          PostedJanuary 21, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          My family likes to BBQ a lot, and often. This new Performer Grill by Weber is a a huge improvement on their old designs. The cart and fold-down table on this Performer is the most noticeable nice feature! Having some extra space available for supplies or cooking needs is a big deal. The included tool-hanging hooks on the table don't fit my BBQ tools, but that is no big deal, and I can change that out on my own. I really like the extra space and stability that the cart provides, over the normal three-leg design. The temperature gauge is a much higher quality than my old one was. The aluminum vent damper has also been improved, now heavier than the old one. These new Weber grills feature a Read More
          My family likes to BBQ a lot, and often. This new Performer Grill by Weber is a a huge improvement on their old designs. The cart and fold-down table on this Performer is the most noticeable nice feature! Having some extra space available for supplies or cooking needs is a big deal. The included tool-hanging hooks on the table don't fit my BBQ tools, but that is no big deal, and I can change that out on my own. I really like the extra space and stability that the cart provides, over the normal three-leg design. The temperature gauge is a much higher quality than my old one was. The aluminum vent damper has also been improved, now heavier than the old one. These new Weber grills feature a One-Touch Cleaning system. With my old Weber, rather than waste time trying to push the ashes out through the bottom holes, I'd just turn the whole grill upside down and empty the ashes. The new Weber has a rotating blade system that pushes the ashes out. The hinged cooking grate they invented is great too. Besides offering more options, it also allows the use of specialized devices that Weber sells to fit the cooking grate. The handles are greatly improved on the new Webers. My old one had two pieces of wood sandwiched over a piece of sheet metal. The wood often broke off, and left just the bare sheet metal. Now, they have nice molded heavy plastic handles, which I really like. While we don't move our grills around much, I also like the new and improved wheels on this new Weber. Another nice feature is the Tuck-Away lid holder. I can't begin to tell you how many times I have searched for a good spot to sit a hot Weber lid while I worked on whatever I was cooking. Now, you just tuck it into the lid holder. I love this grill and appreciate Weber's efforts to improve the tried-and-true grill we all love. Thanks Weber, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Master-Touch 22 in. Charcoal Grill is a new addition to the Weber lineup in 2015. The grill is outfitted with innovative heavy-duty gourmet BBQ System cooking grates, a 2-part grate system that may be used in tandem with Weber's Gourmet BBQ System cookware collection. To use the cookware, the center insert grate is removed and the cookware installed. The outer grate remains in place so additional foods may be grilled. The cookware collection (sold separately) includes a porcelain-enameled cast-iron Griddle, Sear Grate, Wok, Korean barbecue and Ebelskiver Danish pancake maker, plus stainless steel Poultry Roaster and Pizza Stone with carry rack. The Master-Touch charcoal grill features many other benefits, such as taller legs to raise the grill to optimal height.
           
          from Kansas City, Missouri
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Huge Improvement On The Well-Loved Weber
          PostedJanuary 21, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I've owned and loved Weber Grills since I was a very young adult. This new Master-Touch Grill by Weber is a a huge improvement on the tried and true Weber. These new Webers feature a One-Touch Cleaning system which is a great idea. With my old Weber, after spending a lot of time trying to push the ashes out through the bottom holes, I'd give up and just turn the whole grill upside down and empty the ashes. What a hassle! The new Weber has a rotating blade system that pushes the ashes out! Nice! The Char-Basket Fuel Holders are another great improvement! Being able to shift your charcoal around quickly and easy is a nice thing. With my old Weber, I had to use a hand tool to shovel hot coals Read More
          I've owned and loved Weber Grills since I was a very young adult. This new Master-Touch Grill by Weber is a a huge improvement on the tried and true Weber. These new Webers feature a One-Touch Cleaning system which is a great idea. With my old Weber, after spending a lot of time trying to push the ashes out through the bottom holes, I'd give up and just turn the whole grill upside down and empty the ashes. What a hassle! The new Weber has a rotating blade system that pushes the ashes out! Nice! The Char-Basket Fuel Holders are another great improvement! Being able to shift your charcoal around quickly and easy is a nice thing. With my old Weber, I had to use a hand tool to shovel hot coals around, as my cooking needs changed for heat requirements. With the coals all spread out, I'd inevitably end up getting burned. Now, all the coals are neatly contained and easy to manage! Even the well-known aluminum vent damper has been improved, now being heavier made than the one on my old Weber. I also like the hinged cooking grate they have invented too. Besides offering more options alone, it also allows the use of specialized devices that Weber sells to fit the center of the cooking grate. The temperature gauge is also much higher quality than my old one was. So too, are the handles greatly improved. My old one had two pieces of wood sandwiched over a piece of sheet metal. The wood invariably broke off, and left just the bare sheet metal. Now, they have nice molded heavy plastic handles, which I really like. The side handle even has BBQ tool hooks built in, to hang a couple tools from. That was a nice touch. Another nice touch is the Tuck-Away lid holder. I can't begin to tell you how many times I have searched for a good spot to sit a hot Weber lid while I worked on whatever I was cooking. Now, you just tuck it into the lid holder and have it near at hand. All in all, this is a great grill, and far better in design than our old one. Weber deserves a big "Thumb's Up" for their efforts to improve the well-known grill we all love. Thanks Weber, and Home Depot! Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 22 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          Blending with a wide variety of kitchen styles, this Verse double-basin sink features stainless-steel construction and a low-profile rim that simplifies cleanup, allowing you to sweep crumbs and liquid into the sink and out of sight. The engineered sound-absorption system significantly reduces disposal and dishwashing noise.
           

          what gauge stainless

          Asked by
          ronald
          June 14, 2014
          what gauge stainless steel is this? thanks
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          December 18, 2014
          Answer: 
          Not sure of the gauge in numbers, but its much heavier than our old no-name brand was.
           
          Blending with a wide variety of kitchen styles, this Verse double-basin sink features stainless-steel construction and a low-profile rim that simplifies cleanup, allowing you to sweep crumbs and liquid into the sink and out of sight. The engineered sound-absorption system significantly reduces disposal and dishwashing noise.
           

          how deep are the sinks?

          Asked by
          mimi
          Snellville, GA
          December 15, 2014
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Missouri
          December 18, 2014
          Answer: 
          8 1/2 inches below the counter, and 1/2 above, for a total of 9 height. Still, in person, it is deeper than what you might think from those numbers.
           
          Gain a set of extra eyes with the Premium Series 4-Channel 500GB Surveillance System and watch over your property or assets in high resolution. This DVR provides you with real-time D1 resolution, which offers four-times the detail and clarity of conventional CIF resolution. At 120 FPS (30 FPS per channel) recorded video will appear smooth and fluid. Not only can you watch over your back yard with confidence, you can rest assured that it will all be captured in real-time so you never miss a moment. Enjoy the convenience and security of a complete system with the 4 included high resolution cameras. The QM6510B cameras are premium cameras that offer 700TVL of resolution. Coupled with the DVR"s real-time D1 resolution, this system offers large, detailed images that actually deliver. Darkness doesn't stop these cameras either. Thanks to 36 high-quality infrared LEDs, the QM6510B can see up to an impressive 100 ft. in the dark while still offering the same quality, in black and white, as you would expect in the day time. Day or night, the camera's high resolution capabilities and infrared cut filter ensure images will be clear, crisp and accurate. Always capture the details with this DVR"s Real-time Full D1 resolution. A full 30 FPS means recorded video on all channels will be smooth and fluid.
           

          is this wireless?

          Asked by
          Mike
          Log Island, N;Y
          November 28, 2014
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          November 29, 2014
          Answer: 
          No
           
          Gain a set of extra eyes with the Premium Series 4-Channel 500GB Surveillance System and watch over your property or assets in high resolution. This DVR provides you with real-time D1 resolution, which offers four-times the detail and clarity of conventional CIF resolution. At 120 FPS (30 FPS per channel) recorded video will appear smooth and fluid. Not only can you watch over your back yard with confidence, you can rest assured that it will all be captured in real-time so you never miss a moment. Enjoy the convenience and security of a complete system with the 4 included high resolution cameras. The QM6510B cameras are premium cameras that offer 700TVL of resolution. Coupled with the DVR"s real-time D1 resolution, this system offers large, detailed images that actually deliver. Darkness doesn't stop these cameras either. Thanks to 36 high-quality infrared LEDs, the QM6510B can see up to an impressive 100 ft. in the dark while still offering the same quality, in black and white, as you would expect in the day time. Day or night, the camera's high resolution capabilities and infrared cut filter ensure images will be clear, crisp and accurate. Always capture the details with this DVR"s Real-time Full D1 resolution. A full 30 FPS means recorded video on all channels will be smooth and fluid.
           

          Do the cameras record audio as well?

          Asked by
          edberta
          okc
          November 28, 2014
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          November 29, 2014
          Answer: 
          No, you'd need to add your own audio mics, which will plug into the DVR with a standard RCA type plug.
           
          Inspired by the retro silhouettes of classic American pottery. The Delta Silverton Single Robe Hook in Chrome will bring relaxed elegance to your bath. Dual-purpose hook holds more items.
           

          Hello....Can this be mounted in the shower, on tile???

          Asked by
          Pearlie Girl
          May 7, 2012
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          September 25, 2014
          Answer: 
          Yes, but you'll need to drill screw holes through the tile.