Historian
  • Review count
    84
  • Helpfulness votes
    182
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    June 16, 2010
  • Last Review:
    August 26, 2014
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      10
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        84
      • Helpfulness votes
        182
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        June 16, 2010
      • Last Review:
        August 26, 2014
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          10
           
           
           
           
          Historian's Reviews
           
          The Ryobi 7 in. Tile Saw features portability with its compact size that is designed for fast and secure setup. This saw also features best in class cutting capacity with the ability to rip 20 in. tile and diagonally cut 13 in. tile. The tile saw cuts through ceramic, porcelain and stone tiles up to 1-1/4 in. thick with ease and accuracy. This saw has a tilting stainless-steel table to allow bevel cuts at 22.5 degree and 45 degree angles. The saw features a rip guide that locks in place on the front and rear rails to ensure precision cuts that are straight every time.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Very Nice Wet-Saw!
          PostedAugust 26, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          The first tile-job I did, I rented a giant wet-saw for, and spent a small fortune on rental fees, not to mention it was murder on my back to haul and set up. The second time I did a tile job, I bought myself a cheap QEP wet-saw. It was nowhere near as fancy as that big pro saw was, but it was easy to move, and cost a whole lot less that a single day's rental fee would have been for a big saw. I used that little QEP saw a lot. The design of the blade-guard mounting bracket was very poor, and was probably my biggest complaint about that saw. Unlike a table saw, you can't just take the blade-guard off on a wet-saw, because besides protecting you from injury, it also acts as a way to controlRead More
          The first tile-job I did, I rented a giant wet-saw for, and spent a small fortune on rental fees, not to mention it was murder on my back to haul and set up. The second time I did a tile job, I bought myself a cheap QEP wet-saw. It was nowhere near as fancy as that big pro saw was, but it was easy to move, and cost a whole lot less that a single day's rental fee would have been for a big saw. I used that little QEP saw a lot. The design of the blade-guard mounting bracket was very poor, and was probably my biggest complaint about that saw. Unlike a table saw, you can't just take the blade-guard off on a wet-saw, because besides protecting you from injury, it also acts as a way to control water splash and guide water back down into the tub. The cheap bracket on that QEP saw was constantly getting bent and would interfere with the tile, and the blade guard was constantly flopping down and getting in the way of seeing what you are doing. Another drawback to the QEP, was its light-weight. The saw would move too easily, and you especially noticed it with large tiles.
          So, when Ryobi came out with this new wet-saw, I was really anxious to try it out. One of the features Ryobi touts with this saw is a see-through blade-guard. In theory, that is a nice idea, but in reality, it simply fails at being see-through. When the saw is running, the water gets cloudy from the tile you are cutting, so almost immediately the colored water eliminates any ability to see through the guard. The guard bracket is much better designed than that QEP one is, having three mounting screws versus just one on the QEP, and it is a thicker metal, so it is sturdier. However, it still has a tendency to get out of adjustment after being used for awhile, so you have to pay attention to that. Even so, it is much easier to adjust and get back in line with the saw blade, and being thicker, it doesn't bend so easily. The guard itself also stays where you set it, and that is more important than you might think.
          My old QEP saw had a rip-guide that was a big joke. It was not accurate, would not stay set, and as a result, it never got used. Ryobi put some thought into the rip-guide for their new saw. A rip guide is not a real essential feature, in my opinion, since tiles tend to vary in width and thickness quite a bit, and in real-world tile jobs, you are usually better off measuring and precisely cutting each tile individually. However, on the tile job I am currently working on, I reached a point where I thought I could get away with using a rip-guide to quickly cut a series of tiles to the same exact width, and tried out Ryobi's rip-guide. As skeptical as I was, I ended up very impressed with how well this feature works. The rip guide held in place right where I set it, and I cranked out quite a few tiles with it in a fraction of the time it would have been without the rip-guide.
          Another feature of the Ryobi I liked was it's weight. It is light weight enough to move around easily, yet not so, light that it moves from vibration like that old QEP did. One feature the QEP had that I wish Ryobi would have done, was provide a flat working surface, so tiles slide easily. The Ryobi has a textured surface that works, but would be better if it were completely flat. After using it quite a lot, I think it would be a good idea ahead of time, to use an automotive type car wax to polish the saw surface and the rip-guide so that tiles slide easier.
          I really worked this saw all day and night recently on a tile job for my dining room and kitchen, and did all my cut tiles in one session. The included blade was decent quality, and I didn't end up as soaking wet from water splashing as I would have with the QEP. My tile cuts were much straighter, and only a couple times did I end up binding the blade to a stand-still from cutting crooked. I did some really complicated cuts, with compound angled cuts, and as long as I did my measuring of those complex angles right, the saw did exactly what it was supposed to. The saw and I impressed myself with how well those tiles turned out. Ryobi also includes a miter-bracket for doing diagonal cuts, but I didn't use that since all my cuts were either straight or required lots of hand-work. When the job was done, clean-up was nice. You pull the tub plug out, and that allows the mess at the bottom to be quickly washed out. The motor in the saw never really got hot from being used all day sitting outside in the hot sun, so that was impressive as well.
          Overall, I really like this saw by Ryobi. It is a little work-horse, and does what it was designed to do very well. It is far better than the old QEP, and still much cheaper to buy it, versus renting a big pro saw, not to mention being much easier to move around and set-up! I still have a living room, hallway, and two bedrooms to tile yet, so this little beast will get a great work-out. In all honesty, I dread that task much less than I would have with that old QEP. Tile work is a tiresome job, so anything that makes it quicker and easier, and still do a nice job, is really important! Thanks Ryobi, and Home Depot!Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Dremel CKDR-02 three-tool combo kit includes everything you will need to repair, remodel, restore, cut, sand, and more. Between the Dremel 3000 variable-speed rotary tool, the Multi-Max MM20 oscillating tool, and the Saw-Max cutting tool, you will be able to multitask your way through a variety of projects at home or in the shop. Perfect Dremel tool kit for tackling a variety of jobs around the home, workshop, or job site. This three-tool combo kit offers ultimate value and versatility.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great Tools At A Great Value!
          PostedAugust 26, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          I have been a huge fan of Dremel tools for decades. I got my first moto-tool probably 20 years ago, and used it for a million jobs. Last Christmas, I got the Dremel Forti-flex heavy-duty tool, and love it. I gave my old moto-tool (still working great after all these years) to my son-in-law, thinking that I wouldn't need it again, since I have the bigger Forti-flex. However, since then, I have had a few jobs where the bigger Forti-flex was not handy and mobile enough to use. The Forti-flex is best used at a work-bench where you can have it set up and kept ready. However, there are some jobs where a smaller moto-tool is quicker and easier to use. This combo kit comes with the Dremel 3000,Read More
          I have been a huge fan of Dremel tools for decades. I got my first moto-tool probably 20 years ago, and used it for a million jobs. Last Christmas, I got the Dremel Forti-flex heavy-duty tool, and love it. I gave my old moto-tool (still working great after all these years) to my son-in-law, thinking that I wouldn't need it again, since I have the bigger Forti-flex. However, since then, I have had a few jobs where the bigger Forti-flex was not handy and mobile enough to use. The Forti-flex is best used at a work-bench where you can have it set up and kept ready. However, there are some jobs where a smaller moto-tool is quicker and easier to use. This combo kit comes with the Dremel 3000, which is the smaller version of the moto-tool that everyone is familiar with. Since I bought my first Dremel years ago, they have really improved the design of the tool quite a bit. First, instead of that hard, slick plastic case, they now have a rubber-like texture which feels really good in the hand, giving you a nice solid grip on the tool. They also added a neat feature of being able to unscrew the collar at the end of the tool, flip it over, and use it as a quick wrench for tightening the nut that secures the tool bit. In my opinion, about the only thing that would make this tool better, would be to add a drill-type chuck to the end, like the Forti-flex has.
          Also included in this combo kit, is a Dremel saw-max SM20. The saw-max is a neat tool in itself. It has the same rubberized texture of the Dremel 3000, as well as a good heft and feel in your hand. The first job I used it on was to cut some 3/4-inch MDF wood for a cabinet countertop I was making. I needed to slice off an inch of the MDF and it would have been more hassle to drag out my circular saw and set it up, so the Dremel Saw-Max SM20 was much quicker and handier for this job. I also figured this would be a good test for the Saw-Max, since the MDF I was cutting was a fairly dense product, and would be the maximum thickness for the Saw-Max reach. The Saw-Max buzzed right through it without even slowing down! The only drawback to the Saw-Max is that it produces a lot of saw-dust, and the way the blade guard is designed, the saw-dust builds up so much that it is hard to follow your cut line. Dremel makes a attachment for it that allows the use of a vacuum to suck away the saw dust, but that kind of defeats the handiness and quickness of this tool because you'd have to have a vacuum and set it up. Still, this is a very nice tool, and very handy for quick cutting jobs that don't really need a bigger, bulkier saw.
          The last tool in this combo-kit is probably my new favorite! That is the Dremel multi-max MM20 tool. I've seen oscillating tools over the years, and never owned one. Quite frankly, I didn't think I would find a use for one. Boy, I couldn't have been more wrong! These tools are a great invention! Whether it is precisely cutting out a section of drywall, or removing moulding, or cutting grout, this is the tool to have! It too has the rubberized textured surface of the other two tools, and a nice heft and weight in your hand. Since the tool oscillates, I would think that a lighter tool would vibrate your hand too much, so Dremel got it right with this tool. There are a million jobs that I could think of to use this great device on!
          With all three tools, you get a small assortment of bits and attachments to get you started, but you will want to buy more for each tool for specific jobs you need to do. Still, with all three tools in the Dremel carrying bag, you are getting a great value for the money, as opposed to buying each tool separately. I couldn't be happier with this Dremel Ultimate Combo-Kit! Thanks Dremel, and Home Depot!Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Crescent X2 Long Reach Pliers contain a compound joint allows access with minimal handle movement. Jaws open greater distance than the handle for added reach in tight locations. Extends pliers where others cannot go. Contains: 12-3/4 in. 45 Degree Bent long nose pliers.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Very Cleverly Designed Tool!
          PostedAugust 26, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          More than once, I have been working on something that required a needle-nose pliers, and very often, that task involved being able to reach into a tight spot where your hands can't really reach. The most recent example was me replacing the vehicle speed sensor on my wife's mini-van. Anyone who owns one, knows that with a V-6 engine crammed in sideways in the engine compartment, there is not much elbow room for working. In this case, the sensor was located on the back side of the engine (which was hot), so reaching the bolts, wire harness and the part was difficult to say the least. This Crescent X2 Bent Nose Long Reach Pliers is the perfect solution for jobs like this! Whomever thought upRead More
          More than once, I have been working on something that required a needle-nose pliers, and very often, that task involved being able to reach into a tight spot where your hands can't really reach. The most recent example was me replacing the vehicle speed sensor on my wife's mini-van. Anyone who owns one, knows that with a V-6 engine crammed in sideways in the engine compartment, there is not much elbow room for working. In this case, the sensor was located on the back side of the engine (which was hot), so reaching the bolts, wire harness and the part was difficult to say the least. This Crescent X2 Bent Nose Long Reach Pliers is the perfect solution for jobs like this! Whomever thought up the "X" design in these pliers was a genius, because it allows you to open the plier tool end wide, without the handle section being extended overly far. The tool seems stoutly built, and should last a lifetime. I really like this tool! Thanks Crescent, and Home Depot!Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, great reach
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The QEP Black Widow Diamond Blade is a premier blade for very fast, chip-and wobble-free cutting of porcelain, marble, granite and ceramic tile. The unique diamond-shaped micro segmented laser cutouts around the perimeter keep the blade cooler for superior performance and a longer life. In fact, independent testing has shown that the total average cut speed for the Black Widow blade is 17.14 seconds; faster than other porcelain cutting blades on the market today.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Faulty Saw Blade
          PostedAugust 26, 2014
          Overall rating 
          1.0 out of 5.0
          1 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          1.0 out of 5.0
          1 out of 5
          Value 
          1.0 out of 5.0
          1 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          These blades have a great rating in consumer reviews, but I must have got one made on an off-day. When I installed it on my wet-saw, and tried to use it, it wobbled, vibrated, and chipped my tile really badly. I have used quite a few different wet-saw blades over the years, but this was the worst I have come across. There was no visible warpage, or other visible problems, so I really don't understand why it performed so poorly.
          Cons: faulty
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Slightly smaller than our Multi-Pliers 600, the Compact Sport is Gerber’s most popular multitool. Built with stainless steel hardware, including Fiskars scissors and one-handed opening pliers, the 400 is durable and easy to use. This is a do-it-all Gerber multi-pliers designed for a lifetime of use.
           
          from Kansas City, Mo.
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Real Handy Tool To Have
          PostedAugust 26, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          I have the Gerber MP600, and like it a lot. I didn't think it could be beat as a well-made multi-tool. However, I like this MP400 even better. It has all the strength and reliability of the MP600, as well as those nice locking features, but I find the tools included to be actually more useful to me than the MP600, even though it actually has less tools included (12 vs 14). The MP600 was originally designed with military personnel in mind, and has the ability to adjust the front sights on a M4 or M16 rifle. The MP400 seems like it was designed more with a civilian in mind. If you are looking for a tool for yourself, or a great gift idea for someone you love, you can't do much better than theRead More
          I have the Gerber MP600, and like it a lot. I didn't think it could be beat as a well-made multi-tool. However, I like this MP400 even better. It has all the strength and reliability of the MP600, as well as those nice locking features, but I find the tools included to be actually more useful to me than the MP600, even though it actually has less tools included (12 vs 14). The MP600 was originally designed with military personnel in mind, and has the ability to adjust the front sights on a M4 or M16 rifle. The MP400 seems like it was designed more with a civilian in mind. If you are looking for a tool for yourself, or a great gift idea for someone you love, you can't do much better than the MP400. Like other Gerber products, it comes with a Lifetime Warranty! Thanks Gerber, and Home Depot!Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>
           
          Historian's Questions
           
          Historian has not submitted any questions.
           
          Historian's Answers
           
          Featuring a great power-to-weight ratio, the Paslode 3-1/2 in. Clipped Head and Round Drive Strip 30-Degree Framing Nailer provides powerful performance in a lightweight design. The low-recoil nailer offers a center of gravity that is close to the trigger to provide great balance and to help minimize arm fatigue while working. The depth-of-drive adjustment is located on the nailer instead of at the compressor for optimal time saving.
           

          does this nail gun have a soft tip application for siding nails, i.e. no mar tip?

          Asked by
          juss
          June 13, 2014
          July 22, 2014
          Answer: 
          Yes, Paslode offers that as an optional item you buy seperately.
           
          Nashua Trusted Tapes get the job done right, the first time, every time. Protect your windows and doors from rough weather with the Nashua Select Premium Butyl Rubber Tape Flashing. When properly installed, this versatile tape can help seal against wind-driven rain and air infiltration and defend against mold, mildew and premature decay. One roll is typically enough material to flash three standard windows or two doors.
           

          SO...EACH CASE IS 23.88 ?

          Asked by
          ATEBALLMAKER
          TACOMA,WASHINGTON
          July 6, 2013
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 7, 2014
          Answer: 
          No, price per roll.
           
          Nashua Trusted Tapes get the job done right, the first time, every time. Protect your windows and doors from rough weather with the Nashua Select Premium Butyl Rubber Tape Flashing. When properly installed, this versatile tape can help seal against wind-driven rain and air infiltration and defend against mold, mildew and premature decay. One roll is typically enough material to flash three standard windows or two doors.
           

          Can you purchase 1 roll of this tape vs. the whole case(8)?

          Asked by
          vickinkc
          Kansas City, MO
          April 25, 2013
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 7, 2014
          Answer: 
          Yes
           
          Nashua Trusted Tapes get the job done right, the first time, every time. Protect your windows and doors from rough weather with the Nashua Select Premium Butyl Rubber Tape Flashing. When properly installed, this versatile tape can help seal against wind-driven rain and air infiltration and defend against mold, mildew and premature decay. One roll is typically enough material to flash three standard windows or two doors.
           

          Do you use a primer with the tape prior to installing ?

          Asked by
          John
          August 16, 2013
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 7, 2014
          Answer: 
          No
           
          Nashua Trusted Tapes get the job done right, the first time, every time. Protect your windows and doors from rough weather with the Nashua Select Premium Butyl Rubber Tape Flashing. When properly installed, this versatile tape can help seal against wind-driven rain and air infiltration and defend against mold, mildew and premature decay. One roll is typically enough material to flash three standard windows or two doors.
           

          Is this flexible enough to put at the bottom of a window sill?

          Asked by
          Homeowner
          NJ
          October 14, 2013
          Asked by
          Historian
          Kansas City, Mo.
          July 7, 2014
          Answer: 
          Yes