DIYinUT
  • Review count
    140
  • Helpfulness votes
    531
  • Average rating
    4.3
    4.3 out of 5
  • First Review:
    April 27, 2011
  • Last Review:
    July 23, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      21
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        140
      • Helpfulness votes
        531
      • Average rating
        4.3
        4.3 out of 5
      • First Review:
        April 27, 2011
      • Last Review:
        July 23, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          21
           
           
           
           
          DIYinUT's Reviews
           
          Lamps come in many sizes and shapes, and so should light bulbs. Our new cylindrical-shaped LED Bright Stik was designed to fit even more sockets than ordinary bulbs. It is the ideal choice affordable LED light bulb that delivers instant brightness for any room in your house, while saving you 6 dollars a year, for each fixture. And will keep on doing just that for the next 13.7 years at 3 hours/day. That’s a long time you can spend not worrying about light bulbs.
           
          from Logan, UT
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          These are Great and Work Very Well
          PostedJuly 23, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We've been wanting to try some daylight lights in our house. We put these into a lamp in our living room and replaced some CFL's with these bulbs. These provide a good amount of light for being and LED.
          I'll admit at first I didn't think the bulb would work very well, but that was mostly due to the design of the bulb. But I love the amount of light these provide.
          I was also curious as to how many LED's are used to provide the amount of light these bulbs produce. So I took the plastic lens off the bulb. These use 6 LED's and provide a good amount of light. I would highly recommend.
          Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          This 28 in. Forged Lopper from Fiskars is designed for maximum durability when cutting extra-thick branches up to 1-3/4 in. diameter. The fully hardened, precision-ground, forged steel bypass blade offers the strength and durability you need for big jobs and the blade can be sharpened as needed to ensure clean, easy cuts. The strong aluminum handles offer reduced weight for easy handling and Softgrip touchpoints provide comfortable use and a secure grip.
           
          from Logan, UT
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          These are Great and Work Very Well
          PostedJuly 22, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I've been using these the past couple of weeks to get the crab-apple tree's in my yard under control. I have had no issues with these not being able to cut thick branches, or having the blades wear out. Overall these are great and would highly recommend these.
          Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Good Shape
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Fiskars Large Softgrip Bypass Pruner is specifically designed to make pruning more comfortable for people with medium to large hands. The razor-sharp, precision-ground blade stays sharp, and a low-friction coating makes every cut even easier and helps resist rust. Additionally, an ergonomically designed Softgrip handle helps reduce hand fatigue during extended use.
           
          from Logan, UT
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          comfortable, but they spring action sticks
          PostedJuly 22, 2015
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          These cut most of the bushes and smaller tree branches around my home fairly well and with ease. the soft grips are comfortable and don't have any issues with the feel of the product.
          My main issue on this product is that it sticks closed and does not spring back open. to be clear this happened before I cut anything so there is nothing stuck or caught in the joint to make it stick. I tried to loosen the nylon lock nut to see if it would help, and it did, but it then in turn made the pruners not cut very well as this opened up a gap between the blades. Very surprising and a bit disappointing for Fiskar products. As I have loppers and hedge clippers that I absolutely love.
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Sharp
          Cons: sticks closed
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Lamps come in many sizes and shapes, and so should light bulbs. Our new cylindrical-shaped LED Bright Stik was designed to fit even more sockets than ordinary bulbs. It is the ideal choice affordable LED light bulb that delivers instant brightness for any room in your house, while saving you 6 dollars a year, for each fixture. And will keep on doing just that for the next 13.7 years at 3 hours/day. That’s a long time you can spend not worrying about light bulbs.
           
          from Logan, UT
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          These are awesome
          PostedJuly 22, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I'll admit I was a little skeptical when I first opened these bulbs and took a look at them. They didn't look like they would work very well, or provide very much light. I was wrong. These are great. I pulled out some CFL's in my dining room ceiling fan and put these in, and they provide a better quality light. These are nice and bright, but not overbearing.
          Pros: Very Bright, Easy Installation
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          Varathane 1 qt. Satin Triple Thick Polyurethane is 3X thicker than traditional polyurethane. Its advanced Water-based, self-leveling formula allows wood projects to be completed with just one coat. It provides a durable finish with exceptional scratch and stain resistance on bare and stained wood.
           
          from Logan, UT
          Age Range:25 to 34
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Finished product looked good
          PostedJuly 21, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I picked this to work on some drawer fronts and cabinet doors for a bathroom project I've been working on. When the project was done I was happy with the overall appearance of the finished product.
          When I opened the can I was surprised by both the color and just how thick this product was. It was about the consistency of wood glue. I applied the first couple of strokes and started to worry about about how the brush strokes would look. But I decided to wait to see how things went after the first coat dried.
          After allowing two days dry time before applying the second coat I was happy with the overall finish. I just did some light sanding with 400 grit sand paper and applied a second coat. I Read More
          I picked this to work on some drawer fronts and cabinet doors for a bathroom project I've been working on. When the project was done I was happy with the overall appearance of the finished product.
          When I opened the can I was surprised by both the color and just how thick this product was. It was about the consistency of wood glue. I applied the first couple of strokes and started to worry about about how the brush strokes would look. But I decided to wait to see how things went after the first coat dried.
          After allowing two days dry time before applying the second coat I was happy with the overall finish. I just did some light sanding with 400 grit sand paper and applied a second coat. I allowed another 2 days dry time and I was happy with how the finish turned out.
          The self leveling seemed to work if I applied a thicker layer. If I was light on the brush stroke you could really see the brush lines from the bristles.
          This cleaned up fast an easy with soap and water, and didn't have any clumping issues with my brush as a result. I would recommend using a brush instead of one of those sponge type brushes due to how thick this is.
          Overall it took about the same amount of time and effort to use this product as a traditional polyurethane might and the finish was just as good. this is why I only gave this 4 stars as I didn't feel like I saved any time. Read Less
          Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks Great
          Cons: very thick
          Video Review:
          (click to see the video)
          User submitted video
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 28 >>
           
          DIYinUT's Questions
           
          DIYinUT has not submitted any questions.
           
          DIYinUT's Answers
           
          Lamps come in many sizes and shapes, and so should light bulbs. Our new cylindrical-shaped LED Bright Stik was designed to fit even more sockets than ordinary bulbs. It is the ideal choice affordable LED light bulb that delivers instant brightness for any room in your house, while saving you 6 dollars a year, for each fixture. And will keep on doing just that for the next 13.7 years at 3 hours/day. That’s a long time you can spend not worrying about light bulbs.
           

          Can these be used in your ceiling fan/light fixutre combinations? Or is the ceiling fan vibration too much for them?

          Asked by
          cjhuntavon
          Texas
          July 16, 2015
          Asked by
          DIYinUT
          Logan, UT
          July 22, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes. I have been using them in my ceiling fan for about a month now. LED's are not prone to vibration failures.
           
          The more you dim, the warmer the light with the Philips household A19 with Warm Glow dimmable light technology. This new Philips LED A19 offers a new experience for dimmable LED's by creating a soft, diffused light and smooth dimming from 2700K to 2200K. As the light is dimmed, the color temperature of the bulb is reduced and creates a warm, relaxing ambiance. Until now, this warm, dimming effect was only available in dimmable halogen and incandescent lamps. Now, here’s the perfect alternative for these household applications where ambience is as important as lowering energy bills and reducing the hassle of frequently replacing light bulbs. This fully dimmable light bulb is ideal for residential use in kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms and for commercial use in restaurants and hospitality applications. It is perfect for table lamps, or anywhere traditional light bulbs are used, offering 800 Lumens of soft white light for a pleasing and relaxed ambiance. It’s dimming your way.
           

          do the LED dimmable bulbs work with 3-way swtches

          Asked by
          Pappy1966
          June 22, 2015
          Asked by
          DIYinUT
          Logan, UT
          July 7, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes, 3-way switches should have no issue as long as it's wired correctly.
           
          Philips Disney SoftPals Mickey night light portables are the perfect nighttime friends for your child. A great way to scare away bad dreams, this LED guide light creates a soft dim light that helps to keep your child safe through the night. Chase away the shadows with this guide and night light that your child can bring along for great company. Mickey Mouse SoftPals are the cutest little friends to accompany your child through the night. Tilt to turn on and off, and with its small size it will fit anywhere. With its cool soft to the touch, Softpals provides a safe atmosphere for bedtime reading. Philips Disney SoftPals portables are the perfect guides for the child’s bedtime ritual. Set-up with the plug and play feature, getting started right away, couldn't be easier. Designed with children in mind the Soft Pals are sturdy, robust cool and soft to the touch. Use the rechargeable base when not in use.
           

          Will it get hot and burn u at night

          Asked by
          littlemiller12
          fountain inn, south Carolina
          December 24, 2014
          Because it's a night light and a stuffed animal how does that work
          Asked by
          DIYinUT
          Logan, UT
          April 28, 2015
          Answer: 
          No, it will not. It doesn't even feel warm to the touch. it uses LED's so not much heat is generated.
           
          Husky 33 gal. Quiet Compressor features a powerful 1.7 HP motor and oil-free pump that deliver up to 165 maximum psi and 5.1 SCFM at 90 psi. At 78 dB, this unit operates quietly for convenient use. This compressor is equipped with a high flow regulator that provides more usable air to your tool to ensure maximum performance and run time.
           

          Will this unit run fine on a 15 amp circuit?

          Asked by
          lewis
          Plano,Illinois
          December 28, 2013
          My breaker for garage is rated at 15 amps.
          Asked by
          DIYinUT
          Logan, UT
          January 7, 2015
          Answer: 
          yes. I've used this inside my home to do some framing and finish work.
           
          Husky 33 gal. Quiet Compressor features a powerful 1.7 HP motor and oil-free pump that deliver up to 165 maximum psi and 5.1 SCFM at 90 psi. At 78 dB, this unit operates quietly for convenient use. This compressor is equipped with a high flow regulator that provides more usable air to your tool to ensure maximum performance and run time.
           

          Can this handle blowing out a sprinkler system one zone at a time?

          Asked by
          Merlot
          Long Island, NY
          December 15, 2014
          I have a 5 zone sprinkler system at home and want to blow out the lines myself. Would this suffice?
          Asked by
          DIYinUT
          Logan, UT
          January 7, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes. just make sure you output to the airline is not too high.