DIYinUT
  • Review count
    189
  • Helpfulness votes
    633
  • Average rating
    4.3
    4.3 out of 5
  • First Review:
    April 27, 2011
  • Last Review:
    May 20, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      28
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        189
      • Helpfulness votes
        633
      • Average rating
        4.3
        4.3 out of 5
      • First Review:
        April 27, 2011
      • Last Review:
        May 20, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          28
           
           
           
           
          DIYinUT's Reviews
           
          The Vigoro 20 lb. Grass Sun-Shade Lawn Seed is great for establishing new lawns or repairing existing ones. It is designed to quickly establish itself, weave with existing turf and fill in bare spots to produce a thick, green lawn.
           
          from Logan, UT
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Used to fill in dead spots
          PostedMay 20, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This was ordered online and delivered with no issues.
          I applied this early spring to fill in some dead spots in the grass, as well as places that had minimal coverage. So far with all the rain the new grass has started to sprout and fill in the lawn. with the all the rain it has been hard to gauge how much water it has taken to start sprouting as I haven't turned on my sprinklers yet.
          to apply I put the grass seed in the spots I wanted to repair. used a rack to then work the grass seed into the soil and then just watered that first time by hand. keeping the soil damp will help get this growing faster.
          Pros: it works
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Create your own unique shower door to fit your personal style using Delta’s customizable shower door program Step 1 choose your glass, Step 2 choose your track assembly kit, Step 3 choose your hardware. Featured above is our 31 in. pivoting shower door with Clear tempered glass, Bronze assembly kit, Silverton Bronze knobs.  Some assembly required - glass, track and knobs are packaged separately. Delta shower doors coordinate well with other great Delta products available at The Home Depot.
           
          from Logan, UT
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          looks great and east to install
          PostedApril 30, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This was a nice upgrade to our bathroom. The installation was took about an hour or so to install. I would suggest buying a tube of black silicone caulk to help fill in any gaps around the door once installed.
          This shipped directly to our home on a large pallet as the door shipped upright and did not have shipping damage to the door.
          to install you will need to drill through your existing tile or drywall to mount the door frame and hing. you'll want to use some of that silicone at this point to make sure everything stays water tight. The glass door cleans easily enough. It does not need any special cleaners.
          I would highly recommend this product.
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy to Clean, High Quality
          Cons: big pallet to dispose of if buying online
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Glidden 1-qt. Rich Navy High-Gloss Trim and Door Paint features gel-flow technology to help resist leaving drips or brushstroke marks. The paint can be applied indoors or outdoors and offers mildew resistance for a long-lasting, clean-looking appearance. Use The can of paint to effectively cover up to 75 sq. ft.
           
          from Logan, UT
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Once paint seperates, It's tough to mix back together
          PostedApril 30, 2016
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          I used this paint to add some color to the front and side doors on my house. This has been of the most difficult paints I have ever had to work with.
          When I opened this can of paint I found that the paint had separated. Mixing back together was a long process that took well over an hour of mixing that left the paint still looking semi chunky, about like cottage cheese.
          apply the paint was about the same as any other paint, except it went on semi thin and slightly splotchy as a result of the paint separating. However you have to apply more than one coat to get a nice even coat. Once the paint it looks quite smooth and nice. dry times are quite long as this is an oil based paint.
          I used this paint to add some color to the front and side doors on my house. This has been of the most difficult paints I have ever had to work with.
          When I opened this can of paint I found that the paint had separated. Mixing back together was a long process that took well over an hour of mixing that left the paint still looking semi chunky, about like cottage cheese.
          apply the paint was about the same as any other paint, except it went on semi thin and slightly splotchy as a result of the paint separating. However you have to apply more than one coat to get a nice even coat. Once the paint it looks quite smooth and nice. dry times are quite long as this is an oil based paint.
          I only gave this 3 stars because of how difficult it was to mix back together and after the paint separated. If you can get a fresh batch it would have been a different story I think. Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
          Cons: difficut to mix
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Swiffer 16 in. x 20 in. x 1 in. Extreme Dust Collector Air Filter (Case of 12)
          Swiffer 16 in. x 20 in. x 1 in. Extreme Dust Collector Air Filter (Case of 12)
          The Swiffer Extreme Dust Collector indoor air filter incorporates a specially designed, proprietary media that improves its dust-holding capabilities. Within the durable moisture-resistant frame electro-statically charged fibers help trap and lock large airborne particles that are known to aggravate seasonal allergies. For homes that need superior air filtration, the Swiffer Extreme Dust Collector indoor air filter captures contaminants such as dust/lint, airborne dust mite debris, pollen, pet dander, mold spores, and bacteria.
           
          from Logan, UT
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          works just as well as other top brand filters
          PostedApril 30, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          We've used this over the winter when we used the furnace the most and circulated air throughout the house. I am pleased with how well this filter has worked. It seems to have done as well as other filters we have used in the past.
          This filter looks to have caught about the same amount of dirt as other filters in the past. but to be fair, I don't keep a record of previous filters and am just going off of memory.
          These worked great and have no issues. I would recommend this filter.
          Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, High Quality, high quality filter
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Add a sense of timeless beauty to any wall in your home with the Builder's Choice mantel collection. Whether you are using the mantel over a fireplace or simply as a wall shelf, the Craftsman design creates an inviting architectural statement for your home. Builder's Choice mantels are domestically produced from the highest quality lumber using detailed profiling and superior craftsmanship. Sold as unfinished, the Builder's Choice mantels are ready to paint or stain to the color of your choice. With the included step-by-step instructions and supplied mounting board, installation is quick and easy.
           
          from Logan, UT
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          KNotty Adler & Plywood
          PostedApril 30, 2016
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is a no frills wood shelf that's easy to install. First off this shelf is not 100% Knotty Adler. The top and bottom of the shelf are actually plywood and not solid Knotty Adler as the front or side panels of the shelf. this is partially why I have this 3 stars.
          This shipped to our home in a box with minimal protection to shelf. So there was some small dings and dents on the corners of the shelf. But the great thing about Knotty Adler is that it is a soft wood so a little bit of steam popped out some of the dents. and some wood putty fixed the chips. This is the other reason I gave this 3 stars.
          to hand this shelf you just need to mount a 2x2 to the wall and screw the shelf to the Read More
          This is a no frills wood shelf that's easy to install. First off this shelf is not 100% Knotty Adler. The top and bottom of the shelf are actually plywood and not solid Knotty Adler as the front or side panels of the shelf. this is partially why I have this 3 stars.
          This shipped to our home in a box with minimal protection to shelf. So there was some small dings and dents on the corners of the shelf. But the great thing about Knotty Adler is that it is a soft wood so a little bit of steam popped out some of the dents. and some wood putty fixed the chips. This is the other reason I gave this 3 stars.
          to hand this shelf you just need to mount a 2x2 to the wall and screw the shelf to the 2x2. there is no hardware included for this. I used 3" screws to mount the 2x2 to the wall and 1" screws to mount the shelf to the 22. Read Less
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, simple design
          Cons: not full knotty adler
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 38 >>
           
          DIYinUT's Questions
           
          DIYinUT has not submitted any questions.
           
          DIYinUT's Answers
           
          The Everbilt Gate Latch Cable is ideal for gates and makes it easy to open a gate from either side. Detailed instructions included. Easy to install.
           

          Cover for loop end?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Washington, DC
          January 17, 2016
          Is there a knob or mechanism to put over the loop end? Instead of just leaving the loop hanging out, which looks a bit raw. I'm trying to figure out a way to attach the loop end into a doorknob or such. Ideas welcome.
          Asked by
          DIYinUT
          Logan, UT
          April 25, 2016
          Answer: 
          no cover on the loop. I ended up using a small eye bolt and put a key chain ring on the end so it would fall through the hole.
           
          The full-featured SteriPEN Classic 3 is an exceptionally powerful portable water purifier that includes a patented pre-filter for extra purification. The micron screen pre-filter fits perfectly on wide-mouth 1-liter water bottles and removes particulates that can get in the way of UV light in water. Operating on four AA batteries, the Classic 3 quickly and effectively eliminates over 99.9% of bacteria, viruses, protozoa and giardia that cause water-borne illness. Like all SteriPEN models, it carries the Water Quality Association’s Gold Seal, so you can be sure it’s safe and effective.
           

          Is it made in China?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          January 22, 2016
          Asked by
          DIYinUT
          Logan, UT
          March 6, 2016
          Answer: 
          yes it is.
           
          With subtle lines emanating from its handle, the Trielle faucet brings a touch of glamour to contemporary design. DockNetik technology secures spray head in place through our signature magnetic docking system. Two-function spray head features stream and Sweep, a wide forceful spray that makes cleanup easier, to facilitate all the various tasks of the kitchen space.
           

          Can the soap dispenser be mounted on the left side?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          February 6, 2016
          Asked by
          DIYinUT
          Logan, UT
          March 5, 2016
          Answer: 
          if you have a hole on the left side of your sink and nothing obstructing it you'll be fine.
           
          Clean your home with the touch of a remote with this Samsung POWERbot VR20H9050W robotic vacuum cleaner, which features CycloneForce technology for powerful suction and Visionary Mapping Plus for optimal navigation. Easy Pass Wheels offer versatile functionality.
           

          What is the height of this vacuum? Does it recharge and resume cleaning on its own? Is it good for underneath beds?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          November 28, 2015
          Asked by
          DIYinUT
          Logan, UT
          December 5, 2015
          Answer: 
          it's about 6" tall. Yes if you set a cleaning schedule for it. It works great under beads if it can fit under the bed.
           
          Brighten up your living space with the Hampton Bay Universal Ceiling Fan Light Kit. This ceiling fan light kit is wet rated for outdoor use, but it can also be installed indoors to add light to any room. The universal ceiling fan light kit includes shatter resistant plastic light shades and four 14-Watt CFL bulbs.
           

          what style connecter is used with this light?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          October 3, 2015
          I'm replacing an existing light. It has a square connecter with 9 leads that matches the connecter in the fan.
          Asked by
          DIYinUT
          Logan, UT
          November 13, 2015
          Answer: 
          This just uses the twist on nuts and exposed wires.
           
          1 2 3 4 5 6 >>