DIYinUT
  • Review count
    278
  • Helpfulness votes
    792
  • Average rating
    4.3
    4.3 out of 5
  • First Review:
    April 27, 2011
  • Last Review:
    September 12, 2017
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      61
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        278
      • Helpfulness votes
        792
      • Average rating
        4.3
        4.3 out of 5
      • First Review:
        April 27, 2011
      • Last Review:
        September 12, 2017
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          61
           
           
           
           
          DIYinUT's Reviews
           
          Get non-stop security and non-stop power with Ring Cam Wired, a motion-activated security camera with two-way audio, LED spotlights and a siren alarm. Armed with 1080HD video, custom motion zones and simple plug-and-play installation, Ring Cam Wired adds smart security to every corner of your home. Ring Cam Wired lets you create and customize your own motion zones, so you can focus on the most important areas of your home. When anyone steps on your property and triggers your motion sensors, you’ll get an instant alert on your phone, tablet and PC. Answer the alert and you can see, hear and speak to people on your property from anywhere. Ring also lets you check-in on your property at any time with Live View, so you can get streaming video and audio right at your fingertips. Its built-in night vision and LED spotlights allow you to protect your home around the clock and get high-quality HD video in any setting. And if you catch a suspicious person at your home, you can sound the 110dB alarm to scare them away. Ring Cam Wired plugs into standard power outlets, so you’ll never have to worry about charging a battery and it comes with everything you need to get your camera setup in just a few minutes. With your purchase, you’ll also get a free 30-day trial of Ring Video Recording, so you can review, save and share all your videos at any time.
           
          from Logan, UT
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This is pretty cool camera concept, though not without its flaws. I have the doorbell and thought...
          PostedSeptember 12, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is pretty cool camera concept, though not without its flaws.
          I have the doorbell and thought this would be a good addition to my growing ring network at home. The physical installation of this product was pretty easy and straight forward. You will need to mount the base plate to the wall with 4 screws which are included, twist on the camera to the base, and install the pin that keeps the camera from being twisted loose without a tool.
          setting up the camera to the existing network was fairly simple. Since I already had the app i just needed to add the device and I was all set. you can set your motion zones and time schedule for when you don't want the camera to pick up motion Read More
          This is pretty cool camera concept, though not without its flaws.
          I have the doorbell and thought this would be a good addition to my growing ring network at home. The physical installation of this product was pretty easy and straight forward. You will need to mount the base plate to the wall with 4 screws which are included, twist on the camera to the base, and install the pin that keeps the camera from being twisted loose without a tool.
          setting up the camera to the existing network was fairly simple. Since I already had the app i just needed to add the device and I was all set. you can set your motion zones and time schedule for when you don't want the camera to pick up motion alerts and send it to your phone or tablet, which is nice.
          The video feed from the camera is excellent both day an night. the spot light is pretty bright and you can turn the light on and off from the app. The siren wasn't as loud as I thought it would be. if you are up close to it, it's plenty loud, but once you're back 20 feet or so it doesn't seems to be as bad. Also the siren in manually activated, there are no settings in the app to automate this.
          The only thing I don't particularly like about this product is that it is powered by a plug. So anyone would just need to unplug this to turn the alarm off, but it would still capture video up to that point. Luckily I can plug this in on my upper deck and run the cord down, instead of having to plug this in down below where i mounted this. You could cut the end of the plug off and hard wire this to an outlet no problem, as there is no AC adapter. I would have done this, but I have decided to move this camera to the inside of my garage a put the Ring flood light on my back porch instead.
          All in all I really like this product and the ring camera. Read Less
          Pros: Clear Instructions, Compact, Easy Installation, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Very Bright
          Cons: easy to unplug
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Natural form. Versatile function. This 1-handle, pull-down faucet from our Quince Collection complements kitchens with casual decor. Features include a high arc swivel spout; pull-down spray with toggle switch, memory position valving that provides water at your preferred temperature and an ADA-approved lever handle.
           
          from Logan, UT
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This faucet was ordered online and shipped to my house with out issue. The pull down sprayer is n...
          PostedSeptember 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This faucet was ordered online and shipped to my house with out issue. The pull down sprayer is nicely balanced and will return to the faucet. The spray pattern in nice when you change it up and provides nice pressure.
          Installation was easy and similar to other faucets that I've installed and presented no issue. I'm happy with the overall look of the faucet and how it looks in our kitchen. There are two things that I don't like and one is easily fixable.
          First if you purchase this and you have a detached sprayer you will need to pick up a separate plug to cover the whole as this faucet combo doesn't come with on.
          The second issue i have is with the design of the spray handle. It's a Read More
          This faucet was ordered online and shipped to my house with out issue. The pull down sprayer is nicely balanced and will return to the faucet. The spray pattern in nice when you change it up and provides nice pressure.
          Installation was easy and similar to other faucets that I've installed and presented no issue. I'm happy with the overall look of the faucet and how it looks in our kitchen. There are two things that I don't like and one is easily fixable.
          First if you purchase this and you have a detached sprayer you will need to pick up a separate plug to cover the whole as this faucet combo doesn't come with on.
          The second issue i have is with the design of the spray handle. It's a little clunky and doesn't seem to fit well with the overall design of the faucet itself. overall small complaint, but I gave this a 4 star review. Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Modern, Stylish
          Cons: plug not included
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Provide a beautiful centerpiece for your living area, accentuate a hallway, or just create more storage space in any room with this elegantly designed coffee table. Includes two darling wicker baskets that not only complement the piece, but keeps toys, accessories, and books tidy. Keep your home looking tidy and trendy with this vast storage coffee table.
           
          from Logan, UT
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This shipped to my house with no issues and no damage. Assembly was easy enough and took about 20...
          PostedSeptember 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This shipped to my house with no issues and no damage. Assembly was easy enough and took about 20 minutes to unbox and put together. the hardware kit came with a bottle of wood glue for assembly, but it's not specifically mentioned in any of the assembly steps. I ended up using the glue anywhere there is bare wood and not veneer to help with adhesion.
          Overall I'm pretty happy with this and it looks good in the TV room. The finish is pretty durable and hadn't chipped up or scratched from the day to day use for the past 2 months of use. The baskets are sturdy and work well.
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Excellent Quality, Good Size & Weight, Looks Great, Nice Design, Perfect Size, Rich Looking, Well Made
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This MyQ Smartphone-Controlled garage door opener with built-in Wi-Fi gives you complete peace of mind by allowing you to monitor and control your garage door from anywhere. With Wi-Fi built-in, this opener connects directly to your home's Wi-Fi network to provide Smartphone Control. No additional hardware is required. The powerful motor is perfect for very frequent use and the durable, ultra-quiet Whisper Drive is ideal when the garage is located near a bedroom or living area. You will also enjoy the added convenience of a wall control plus light switch that detects motion.
           
          from Logan, UT
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This is a great garage door that was easy to assemble and set up. The assembly of the track and ...
          PostedSeptember 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is a great garage door that was easy to assemble and set up.
          The assembly of the track and hanging is pretty straight forward as is similar to other garage door openers that I've installed in the past. The belt drive is nice and quiet and doesn't make hardly any noise as it opens or closes.
          The app works well, though a bit clunky. The screen will have an icon that shows if the door is open or closed and how long they have been opened or closed. Not sure why a time duration was needed. When closing the door from the app the garage door makes a continuous beeping noise to alert anyone that might be around that the garage door is closing. The only thing the garage door cannot do via Read More
          This is a great garage door that was easy to assemble and set up.
          The assembly of the track and hanging is pretty straight forward as is similar to other garage door openers that I've installed in the past. The belt drive is nice and quiet and doesn't make hardly any noise as it opens or closes.
          The app works well, though a bit clunky. The screen will have an icon that shows if the door is open or closed and how long they have been opened or closed. Not sure why a time duration was needed. When closing the door from the app the garage door makes a continuous beeping noise to alert anyone that might be around that the garage door is closing. The only thing the garage door cannot do via the app is stop mid cycle. you will have to wait for the door to fully open or close before reversing the process.
          I replaced chain drive garage door open that was also a Chamberlain. This opener ended up being a foot shorter than the other so the garage door doesn't open all the way (see picture) and my garage door is a standard 8ft door. so if you mount this directly to the wall it might not allow the door to open all the way.
          It also looks like the opener loses the programmed stop point as I have tried multiple times program the stop point about 2 inches from the hard stop point on the opener and after about a week, the trolley is hitting the hard stop.
          Overall 4 star review. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Good Size & Fit, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Well Made
          Cons: possibly shorter than most openers.
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Defiant LED Penlight and Mini Flex Light Combo (3-Pack)
          Defiant LED Penlight and Mini Flex Light Combo (3-Pack)
          The Defiant 3PK Penlight and Mini Flex Light Combo features aluminum construction for durability and corrosion resistance. Powered by 2pieces AAA heavy duty batteries (included). Clips are included for convenient attachment to a pocket, belt, collar, cap or clipboard.
           
          from Logan, UT
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          These are nice little pen light set, however note, that only one has the flexible light adapter. ...
          PostedSeptember 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          These are nice little pen light set, however note, that only one has the flexible light adapter. the other two are just basic pen lights. I've been using the flex-light for various projects around the house where it's been difficult to get a light or hold a light in the right place. I've been able to wrap the flex light around a stud and it's held well.
          These also give off a good deal of light and pretty good for around the campsite or just around the hard. if you only need to see what's at your feet, but nothing more.
          Pros: All In One, Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Strong, Sturdy
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 56 >>
           
          DIYinUT's Questions
           
          DIYinUT has not submitted any questions.
           
          DIYinUT's Answers
           
          This MyQ Smartphone-Controlled garage door opener with built-in Wi-Fi gives you complete peace of mind by allowing you to monitor and control your garage door from anywhere. With Wi-Fi built-in, this opener connects directly to your home's Wi-Fi network to provide Smartphone Control. No additional hardware is required. The powerful motor is perfect for very frequent use and the durable, ultra-quiet Whisper Drive is ideal when the garage is located near a bedroom or living area. You will also enjoy the added convenience of a wall control plus light switch that detects motion.
           

          IS there a manual release feature ?

          Asked by
          steve
          August 21, 2017
          IS there a manual release feature ?
          Asked by
          DIYinUT
          Logan, UT
          September 11, 2017
          Answer: 
          yes. the trolley can be manually released.
          User submitted photo
           
          This MyQ Smartphone-Controlled garage door opener with built-in Wi-Fi gives you complete peace of mind by allowing you to monitor and control your garage door from anywhere. With Wi-Fi built-in, this opener connects directly to your home's Wi-Fi network to provide Smartphone Control. No additional hardware is required. The powerful motor is perfect for very frequent use and the durable, ultra-quiet Whisper Drive is ideal when the garage is located near a bedroom or living area. You will also enjoy the added convenience of a wall control plus light switch that detects motion.
           

          Does one need to purchase the internet gateway separately to use this with a smartphone?

          Asked by
          crabjoe
          September 9, 2017
          Does one need to purchase the internet gateway separately to use this with a smartphone?
          Asked by
          DIYinUT
          Logan, UT
          September 11, 2017
          Answer: 
          nope. just download the app and you're set.
           
          This MyQ Smartphone-Controlled garage door opener with built-in Wi-Fi gives you complete peace of mind by allowing you to monitor and control your garage door from anywhere. With Wi-Fi built-in, this opener connects directly to your home's Wi-Fi network to provide Smartphone Control. No additional hardware is required. The powerful motor is perfect for very frequent use and the durable, ultra-quiet Whisper Drive is ideal when the garage is located near a bedroom or living area. You will also enjoy the added convenience of a wall control plus light switch that detects motion.
           

          I have a 8 foot garage door with installation in back. It is not a wood door. Does this 3/4 HP is...

          Asked by
          Karim
          August 27, 2017
          I have a 8 foot garage door with installation in back. It is not a wood door. Does this 3/4 HP is sufficient enough & can be install on 8 foot door. or what is recommended. Thanks
          Asked by
          DIYinUT
          Logan, UT
          September 11, 2017
          Answer: 
          I have an 8ft aluminum door that is a double car garage and it works well. no issues.
           
          Whether you are tailgating, camping or on the jobsite, the Ryobi Bluetooth 2,300-Watt Inverter Generator is ready with clean, quiet power for any occasion. With 2,300 Starting Watts and 1,800 Running Watts, this generator is whisper quiet and is safe for most sensitive electronics. Conveniently monitor power consumption, fuel level, runtime remaining, and even remotely shut off your generator with the GENControl app on your Apple or Android smart phone. This Inverter is equipped with Idle-Down Technology for increased fuel efficiency and rear wheels with an extending handle for easy transportation. It is also parallel capable, so when larger power demands are needed you can link two Ryobi inverter generators together for twice the power. Backed by a 3-Year Manufacturer Warranty.
           

          can you tie two together

          Asked by
          86426
          August 20, 2017
          can you tie two together
          Asked by
          DIYinUT
          Logan, UT
          August 20, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes these can be linked together and are designed to do so.
           
          Experience next-level security and convenience with the all-new Ring Video Doorbell 2. The latest version of Ring's iconic Video Doorbell gives you the same peace of mind in an innovative design packed with advanced security features. With 1080HD video, two interchangeable faceplates and a quick-release rechargeable battery pack, the new Ring Video Doorbell 2 makes monitoRing your home even easier than before. Ring's adjustable motion sensors let you focus on the most important areas of your yard and you will get an instant alert on your phone, tablet and PC as soon as motion is detected or when someone presses your Doorbell. When you answer the alert, you can see, hear and speak to visitors from anywhere. Ring Video Doorbell 2 comes with two interchangeable faceplates, so you can pick a color that matches your home and your style. Its quick-release rechargeable battery pack lets you easily charge your battery without moving the device and if you add a second battery pack, you will always have backup power. In addition, with your free 30-day trial of Ring Video Recording, you can save, review and share your videos at any time with anyone.
           

          Motion sensor what is the distance it covers?

          Asked by
          Ali
          July 21, 2017
          Motion sensor what is the distance it covers?
          Asked by
          DIYinUT
          Logan, UT
          August 8, 2017
          Answer: 
          the motion sensor seems to cover a wide area. But you also set your motion zone. So you can make the zone as big as what the camera field of view can pick up or just a small as the walkway to your front door.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>