mikeo
  • Review count
    4
  • Helpfulness votes
    13
  • Average rating
    3.8
    3.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    October 11, 2011
  • Last Review:
    November 20, 2012
 
Ask & Answer
  • Question count
    0
     
    Answers
    • Answer count
      0
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        4
      • Helpfulness votes
        13
      • Average rating
        3.8
        3.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        October 11, 2011
      • Last Review:
        November 20, 2012
       
      Ask & Answer
      • Question count
        0
         
        Answers
        • Answer count
          0
           
           
           
           
          mikeo's Reviews
           
          The Husky 6-Piece Torx Screwdriver Set includes a screwdriver, spinning removable cap and 4 double-sided bits with T4, T5, T6, T7, T8, T9, T10 and T15 Torx Hex tip sizes. The S2 steel bits are precision formed to provide better engagement with fasteners. The set is ideal for use in work on electronics and in other tasks involving small parts.
           
          mikeo
          from phoenix, md
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Really basic small torx, does the job though
          PostedNovember 20, 2012
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5.0
          3 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          I needed several very small torx bits to do some computer disassembly, bought this at HomeDepot for less than $6. It is plastic, except for the bit and holder. It is lightly magnetic, but not harmful to computers. The top is plastic and pops off.
          The one drawback is that you cannot store *all* the bits in the handle. One has to be in the holder. I wish it had a spot for that bit so that all bits are in the handle.
          Pros: All In One, Light Weight
          +3points
          3out of 3found this review helpful.
           
          This easy to install insulator closes the insulation gap created by attic stair access, helping to reduce energy costs year round. Insulator is comprised of a durable, Pink Fiberglas Insulation and tough, highly reflective foil.
           
          mikeo
          from phoenix, md
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Purchase frequency:Monthly
          Works well, a little pricey
          PostedJanuary 31, 2012
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          As others note, you can make one of these for less money; having said that, it is really convenient. It looks like a silver triangular tent, about 1 inch thick, that has silver tape/covering over that layer of insulation, and easily covers a standard attic closet ladder opening. The silver covers everything except the bottom, where the insulation shows through. Would have been nicer to have a foam bottom covering.
          Does keep cold air out . . . does the job
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          The House of Fara 7/8 in. x 2-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Hardwood Chair Rail Moulding helps protect your walls and its embossed-leaf design adds decorative flair. It makes an excellent casing too and can add beauty to any project you might have. It may be clear coated, painted or stained to match your decor.
           
          mikeo
          from phoenix, md
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Nice looking chair rail
          PostedNovember 19, 2011
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          I purchased and stained and will install this in an office and bedroom. It did not require a lot of sanding, and was fairly consistent with the stain (Polyshades) after use of minwax conditioner. It is soft wood so I do not think this would work in a true office environment where an actual chair might hit it, for me it is decorative. The leaves appear to be imprinted and so the stain does not sink in to that, and so they show up well. Assuming you want the leaves to stand out, this is a nice effect. In our HD they have a board up with these professionally stained and sealed and they look great.
          One note, at least for me, the profile of the top is about 1/4 " above the height of my windowRead More
          I purchased and stained and will install this in an office and bedroom. It did not require a lot of sanding, and was fairly consistent with the stain (Polyshades) after use of minwax conditioner. It is soft wood so I do not think this would work in a true office environment where an actual chair might hit it, for me it is decorative. The leaves appear to be imprinted and so the stain does not sink in to that, and so they show up well. Assuming you want the leaves to stand out, this is a nice effect. In our HD they have a board up with these professionally stained and sealed and they look great.
          One note, at least for me, the profile of the top is about 1/4 " above the height of my window sills. My contractor recommended to shave that down with a table saw. I did not want to do that, so we decided to bevel the edges that butt up to the window 45 degrees. To me this looks fine. If you want it to be flush, check the profile of your widow sills first.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          Paint your interior walls in 1/3 the time without the mess that comes with traditional trays and rollers. The original paintstick draws paint directly from the can into its handle and feeds it onto the roller cover with a simple push of the handle. No need for an open tray eliminates dripping from the can or roller. The paintstick’s high quality shed resistant roller cover creates even one-coat coverage. The extended handle provides added reach eliminating bending over and reducing the need for a ladder.
           
          mikeo
          from phoenix, md
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Product design changes for the worse
          PostedOctober 11, 2011
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5.0
          3 out of 5
          Coverage 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Low odor 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          2.0 out of 5.0
          2 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          I have used the paintsticks for many years. The old one was basically secured by pushing the roller over the end and it would go over a gasket and seal. These new ones have an end piece that has a plastic locking mechanism that is supposed to keep the roller on.
          I bought two, used one myself, and a friend used the other one. In both cases, the locking mechanism failed while painting and paint oozed out. Once this happened, I was not able to really get the end cap to stay on because the end cap is plastic and the locking mechanism would not secure the end cap. I had to be very careful and watch if it opened again.
          I reverted to the old tried and true hand roller, which is less efficient,Read More
          I have used the paintsticks for many years. The old one was basically secured by pushing the roller over the end and it would go over a gasket and seal. These new ones have an end piece that has a plastic locking mechanism that is supposed to keep the roller on.
          I bought two, used one myself, and a friend used the other one. In both cases, the locking mechanism failed while painting and paint oozed out. Once this happened, I was not able to really get the end cap to stay on because the end cap is plastic and the locking mechanism would not secure the end cap. I had to be very careful and watch if it opened again.
          I reverted to the old tried and true hand roller, which is less efficient, but works. I also had used another product without this poorly designed end cap.
          +8points
          8out of 8found this review helpful.
           
          mikeo's Questions
           
          mikeo has not submitted any questions.
           
          mikeo's Answers
           
          mikeo has not submitted any answers.