goodreason
  • Review count
    133
  • Helpfulness votes
    237
  • Average rating
    4.3
    4.3 out of 5
  • First Review:
    December 13, 2012
  • Last Review:
    April 29, 2016
 
  • Question count
    1
     
    • Answer count
      45
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        133
      • Helpfulness votes
        237
      • Average rating
        4.3
        4.3 out of 5
      • First Review:
        December 13, 2012
      • Last Review:
        April 29, 2016
       
      • Question count
        1
         
        • Answer count
          45
           
           
           
           
          goodreason's Reviews
           
          These Nylon Large Grease Monkey General Purpose Work Gloves are great for mechanical and other tasks. The adjustable wrist strap provides a snug fit, and nylon and spandex materials enhance your dexterity.
           
          from Upstate New York
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Like These Gloves!
          PostedApril 29, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          At THD there are basically only a few brands of gloves at the store. After trying another brand and being extremely disappointed I bought the Grease Monkey gloves and have never been more delighted in work gloves.
          The fit is true to size. Been using them for cutting trees and general duties around the property for about 4-5 months and show very little wear. The Velcro fastener for the cuff is on the top of the wrist not on the bottom, for me, making them easier to put on and take off.
          When they do wear out I'll be looking for this brand again.
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Eliminate entire ant colonies from your home or yard with these Ant Stakes (8-Pack). These stakes are suitable for indoor or outdoor use, and are fast-acting with a high rate of success. Once in place, baited ants deliver poison back to the queen, neutralizing the entire colony.
           
          from Upstate New York
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Works At Once
          PostedApril 21, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Living in the country has its positives and negatives and one of the negatives is that of ants coming into the house, mainly the kitchen where all their favorite sweets are.
          Noticed the little brown ones creeping around and before receiving the Amdro Ant Killing Bait we were killing them by hand. There is something about spraying poison in the kitchen that is a real turn off. After receiving the bait I placed it under the sink between the inlet pipes and the drain pipe, we stopped seeing them instantly, except for one following the 5 days of putting out the trap. After about a week there weren't anymore to be seen.
          What's nice about this product is that it's a solid very similar to a Read More
          Living in the country has its positives and negatives and one of the negatives is that of ants coming into the house, mainly the kitchen where all their favorite sweets are.
          Noticed the little brown ones creeping around and before receiving the Amdro Ant Killing Bait we were killing them by hand. There is something about spraying poison in the kitchen that is a real turn off. After receiving the bait I placed it under the sink between the inlet pipes and the drain pipe, we stopped seeing them instantly, except for one following the 5 days of putting out the trap. After about a week there weren't anymore to be seen.
          What's nice about this product is that it's a solid very similar to a glue trap for a mouse, only much smaller and with only a tiny hole for the ants. It's neat, and relatively safe, sure there are precautions, it's merely better than some of the other alternatives. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Install, Multi Use
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Stanley introduces its solution-the Synthetic Leather Impact Pro Glove. It is made of synthetic leather with PVC Reinforcements to increase hand protection. Moreover, it offers gel padding for impact and vibration resistance as well as a stretch spandex back with TPR finger and knuckle protectors. Feel free to give the give of safety to your team or stock up for your next project.
           
          from Upstate New York
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Pretty Good Pair of Gloves
          PostedApril 20, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Have been using the gloves pretty intensely for well over a month without any complaints except for one, more on that later.
          I cut and split about 8 cords of wood a season and with that in mind you can see how your hands and fingers can become prone to banging and jamming especially with the splitter. There are numerous times you'll place the wood on the cradle and sure enough your fingers get jammed. I haven't noticed that happening this season and I know that it's happening. So yes, these gloves do work.
          On the complaint, there are a few loops of thread that hadn't been sewed properly so your fingers could and would get hung up. Easily remedied by cutting the threads. Other than that Read More
          Have been using the gloves pretty intensely for well over a month without any complaints except for one, more on that later.
          I cut and split about 8 cords of wood a season and with that in mind you can see how your hands and fingers can become prone to banging and jamming especially with the splitter. There are numerous times you'll place the wood on the cradle and sure enough your fingers get jammed. I haven't noticed that happening this season and I know that it's happening. So yes, these gloves do work.
          On the complaint, there are a few loops of thread that hadn't been sewed properly so your fingers could and would get hung up. Easily remedied by cutting the threads. Other than that the workmanship is of the higher end quality. Read Less
          Pros: Sturdy, High Quality
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The NEW RIDGID 300RS is a 1/3 HP Professional Grade Cast Iron Sump Pump. The 300RS is epoxy coated with a cast iron motor housing and base. 1/3 HP High Performance and energy efficient motor lengthens the life of the switch.
           
          from Upstate New York
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Powerful
          PostedApril 3, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          The Ridgid Sump Pump was installed as a replacement to a tethered switch pump which is a very light pump (16 lbs.), more on that later. The Ridgid pump is a vertical switch, in my opinion much more reliable. Switching the pumps in my crawl space didn't require too much of an effort because everything was interchangeable from the old pump, from the discharge line to the check valve. In all, the time it took to remove and install the pumps took less than a half hour.
          There were times when the flexible hose on the old pump would get entangled with the switch preventing it from coming on and with the pump being light it would float. The Ridgid is heavy (23 lbs.) there is no way that this pump Read More
          The Ridgid Sump Pump was installed as a replacement to a tethered switch pump which is a very light pump (16 lbs.), more on that later. The Ridgid pump is a vertical switch, in my opinion much more reliable. Switching the pumps in my crawl space didn't require too much of an effort because everything was interchangeable from the old pump, from the discharge line to the check valve. In all, the time it took to remove and install the pumps took less than a half hour.
          There were times when the flexible hose on the old pump would get entangled with the switch preventing it from coming on and with the pump being light it would float. The Ridgid is heavy (23 lbs.) there is no way that this pump will float and with the guard that protects the switch from any mishaps as those that I encountered. Also, took other precautions to help in this matter.
          Before writing the review I was waiting for some rain and in this case a late snow storm in April to see how it came on. It was quieter, came on sooner, didn't have to worry about the hose getting caught in the switch because of the guard, emptied the cellar quicker because of the 1 ½” discharge as compared to the other pump which was 1 1/4”. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The new and improved 1 gal. Roundup Multi-purpose Sprayer is perfect for all of your household needs. From cleaning decks and siding, to weed and pest control, this sprayer makes tackling any job a breeze. With the new all-in-one multi nozzle, this sprayer’s versatility has never been greater. No more changing out small nozzles for different applications, simply twist and click the nozzle into place. The three settings range from fan to stream to cone patterns that can be easily identified for fast and easy operation. Backed by a 5-year warranty, this Roundup sprayer is built to last and is the perfect addition to any homeowner’s tool assortment.
           
          from Upstate New York
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Works As Advertised
          PostedApril 3, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          As far as the product itself is concerned, it preforms flawlessly. All three sprays had a nice stream, pressurizing the tank did not need much effort, and the pressure in the tank lasted a good amount of time. It's with the instructions that I had a problem with. When you get to the part “Operating Multi-Nozzle” the directions under “Rotating”, 1a, “hold the shut-off with one hand, rotate the nozzle to the desired position”. I tightened the nozzle onto the extension as tight as I could without stripping the threads and still had to hold the extension to turn the nozzle head. While in of itself not a big thing, the installer should just be made aware so as not to strip the threads.
          Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Multi Use
          Cons: instructions are fair to good
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 27 >>
           
          goodreason's Questions
           
          Fit plenty of food storage in a small space with this 21.9 cu. ft. Maytag EcoConserve bottom-freezer refrigerator that fits in a 33-in. opening. This refrigerator uses less energy than a 60-watt bulb running continuously for one year, and it's 30 percent more efficient than minimum federal energy standards require. Spill-Catcher glass shelves help make cleanup a breeze and a half-width deli drawer adjusts to accommodate tall items on the shelves. And when you need something frozen, just open the glide-out bottom freezer drawer with SmoothClose tracks.
           

          What is the length the freezer draw pulls out? From closed to fully extended.

          Asked by
          goodreason
          August 15, 2013
           
          goodreason's Answers
           
          Rat-X is a non-toxic rodent bait that kills rodents without harming any other species. Rat-X is made from 100% natural ingredients, it can even be used inside food handling facilities. The mice and rats will eat the bait like a food source and Rat-X will cause dehydration. Mice and rats have stomach sensors that tells them when they are thirsty. When they eat this bait, it turns off their stomach sensors and it can no longer tell their brain to drink water. They have no desire for drinking water. So they will just go back to their burrow, and begin the cycle - dehydration, failing kidneys, coma and then death. It is a great product to use around animals and children because it is safe and non toxic. Rat-X can also be used as a refill for existing bait boxes.
           

          will this work on chipmunks?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          October 15, 2015
          will this work on chipmunks?
          Asked by
          goodreason
          Upstate New York
          February 11, 2016
          Answer: 
          Good question! I also have a problem but not sure if it would. Being a rodent similar in size and burrowing in the ground it just might. Will give this a try in the spring.
           
          The Delta Lyndall Collection features a refined, modern style. The clean lines and sleek feel of this collection are inspired by the silhouettes of contemporary architecture. Available in both Brushed Nickel and Polished Chrome finishes, Lyndall offers a versatile design that is at home in a variety of decor themes. Add modern design to your bath today with this toilet paper holder in Brushed Nickel.
           

          How do I secure it so that it stays horizontal?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          North Royalton, Ohio
          November 12, 2015
          Asked by
          goodreason
          Upstate New York
          February 1, 2016
          Answer: 
          Install the bracket 90 degrees of what the instructions show.
           
          The Delta Lyndall Collection features a refined, modern style. The clean lines and sleek feel of this collection are inspired by the silhouettes of contemporary architecture. Available in both Brushed Nickel and Polished Chrome finishes, Lyndall offers a versatile design that is at home in a variety of decor themes. Add modern design to your bath today with this toilet paper holder in Brushed Nickel.
           

          Can not figure out how to attach

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Rockville MD
          October 28, 2015
          Please, I tried to email the link in the last question (but it bounced back), and call the 800 number, but there was no ring. I have tried to install this holder that my wife bought... however, I do not have the instructions. Can you tell me where I can access them? I now have a hole in my cabinet, but when I try to mount the holder it either has to be too lose (and I still can not click it on) or too tight (and there for too close to the wall for enabling the click on) or I am just too closed minded.

          Please help.
          Asked by
          goodreason
          Upstate New York
          February 1, 2016
          Answer: 
          You may have attached the bracket in reverse of what it should be. The flat side should be up against the wall.
           
          The AcuRite 8.5 in. Thermometer with humidity allows you to check comfort conditions at a glance with this temperature and humidity gauge combination. Durable, weather resistant construction is suitable for indoor or outdoor use. Includes an integrated hang hole for easy mounting. One-year limited warranty. It's more than accurate, it's AcuRite.
           

          Are these adhesive backed?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          June 12, 2015
          Asked by
          goodreason
          Upstate New York
          December 29, 2015
          Answer: 
          No, you'll have to put a screw or nail in your wall. It isn't heavy so there are no worries of it falling. I used the Command fasteners but only has been on the wall a few days, take that with a grain of salt.
           
          This Gorilla Ladders 3-Step Steel Ladder is perfect for the pro contractor, do-it-yourself or homeowner. The large top platform step offers a wide, secure standing area and the tool organizer provides a place to hold tools, hardware and accessories while working on the ladder. Large, slip resistant feet add stability and the self-locking safety latch makes this step stool easy to use. With a sleek black finish and ANSI type 1 duty rating; this ladder is the perfect tool for everyone.
           

          WHAT are the folded up dimensions ? Need to know if it will store in small space ?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          October 12, 2015
          Why don't you have these specs on ALL folding items ??? GRRR
          Asked by
          goodreason
          Upstate New York
          October 24, 2015
          Answer: 
          About 3' deep, 18" wide, 57" high.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>