Alleycat
  • Review count
    127
  • Helpfulness votes
    205
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 31, 2012
  • Last Review:
    April 21, 2016
 
  • Question count
    2
     
    • Answer count
      81
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        127
      • Helpfulness votes
        205
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 31, 2012
      • Last Review:
        April 21, 2016
       
      • Question count
        2
         
        • Answer count
          81
           
           
           
           
          Alleycat's Reviews
           
          SecurityMan CARCAM-SDE is an easy-to-use high-definition (1080P Full HD) car camera recorder with a 1.5 in. LCD display and impact sensing recording. It records both audio and video with time and date stamp which can be used to pinpoint exactly when an event occurred. The events are recorded to a Micro SD card which can be used as evidence for auto insurance company, if there are any legal complications during an insurance claim. The CARCAM-SDE is perfect for all motorists and it is budget-friendly.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good Value Carcam
          PostedApril 21, 2016
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I have had this Security Man Carcam SDE for about nine months. I have used it on all trips since installation without issues. For the price, this Model SDE provides recordings that meet my desire to monitor conditions in event there is an accident to show what transpired. I am not particularly savvy when it comes to electronics, but was able to figure this thing out and get it to work easily. A minus is that the camera came without the required microSD card. The video quality is not what I would call HD compared to the HD video cameras I have monitoring my home, but that is not a big issue. I consider this product to be fine for the low price. I appreciated this product enough to buy the Read More
          I have had this Security Man Carcam SDE for about nine months. I have used it on all trips since installation without issues. For the price, this Model SDE provides recordings that meet my desire to monitor conditions in event there is an accident to show what transpired. I am not particularly savvy when it comes to electronics, but was able to figure this thing out and get it to work easily. A minus is that the camera came without the required microSD card. The video quality is not what I would call HD compared to the HD video cameras I have monitoring my home, but that is not a big issue. I consider this product to be fine for the low price. I appreciated this product enough to buy the updated version, Carcam SDEII for my main car. Read Less
          Pros: Compact, Easy Installation, Easy to Use, low price
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The FILTERSCAN Air Filter Monitor, along with the AirFilterSentry Notification System notifies you when it is time to change your HVAC air filter, therefore removing guesswork and optimizing air filter life. It utilizes patented differential pressure technology sensors and intelligent software to determine the optimum time to service your air filter. Taking approximately 30 minutes, the monitor is easily installed on your HVAC system's air handler return plenum, either upstream, downstream, or optionally differentially across the air filter, and is calibrated whenever the air filter is replaced.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Sophisticated, but more than I need
          PostedApril 18, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          This is a pretty sophisticated product, amounting basically to an electronic manometer to measure the pressure drop past your HVAC system air handler filter and to transmit a text or an email message to you if the filter is plugged enough to justify cleaning or replacement. An appropriate WiFi system is with high speed data connection is needed to do so. If you are interested in just receiving an audible and visual alert only rather than via text or email, CleanAlert manufacturers an alternate FILTERSCAN Air Filter Monitor, model FS-242-C, that provides the same air filter monitoring benefits of the WiFi model without the WiFi Internet connection, text alerts, email alerts, or reporting Read More
          This is a pretty sophisticated product, amounting basically to an electronic manometer to measure the pressure drop past your HVAC system air handler filter and to transmit a text or an email message to you if the filter is plugged enough to justify cleaning or replacement. An appropriate WiFi system is with high speed data connection is needed to do so. If you are interested in just receiving an audible and visual alert only rather than via text or email, CleanAlert manufacturers an alternate FILTERSCAN Air Filter Monitor, model FS-242-C, that provides the same air filter monitoring benefits of the WiFi model without the WiFi Internet connection, text alerts, email alerts, or reporting capability. That model is just a local alerting air filter monitor.
          This model FS-242-B monitor is equipped with a light sensor that will set the unit to alarm with indicator lights only when the monitor is in a dark area. The intention is to prevent disturbing sleep or an alarm condition for a monitor in an area that has limited or inconvenient accessibility to silence the alarm.
          The instructions for installation, set up and calibration are clear, but required about an hour of my time to accomplish, more than I expected.
          Our home HVAC has its air handler set up to run 24/7 and uses a large, expensive five-inch thick filter that I had been changing quarterly. This system has worked our well since it has told me that replacement of the filters is needed less frequently, so far just once in seven months. If I were to go for monitoring again by this method, I would have gone with the simpler model FS-242-C which is simpler and easier to set up for use as I do not really desire the benefit of email or text notifications. Read Less
          Pros: Lots of Features, light sensor silencing
          Cons: Difficult to Install, no ac adapter included
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          The BESSEY TK-6 table clamp is a handy accessory. TK-6 can be used to attach many BESSEY products to work a surface up to 2 in. thick. You can turn any REVO clamp into a tail vise or a WS-3 into a bench mounted corner vise.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Work well with my Bessey clamping devices
          PostedApril 15, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have gotten into more serious woodworking, using these clamps to hold Bessey angle clamps (WS-3 and WS-6) to my tabletop while working. They have held the Bessey clamping devices in place firmly, despite the fact that they are lightweight and do not appear to be particularly strong. They are clearly a special application device, although I have found other uses for them such as clamping straight edges to large doors to serve as cutting guides for trimming the bottoms of doors that were dragging on newly installed carpeting. As an owner of Bessey clamping devices, I recommend this product.
          Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, hold well
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Dremel Multi-Max MM485 Carbide Flush Cut Blade is the first oscillating cutting blade with high performance carbide teeth on the market that is engineered to cut through harder materials. Carbide teeth allows you to not only perform the same applications as a traditional flush cut blade but also can cut through hardwoods, nails, screws, stainless steel bolts, cast iron, plaster and lathe, cement board, fiber board, sheet metal, etc.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Works well for steel bolt cutting
          PostedApril 12, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Blades like this are what makes the Dremel Mult-Max and similar tools great for the handyman and/or the professional. I flush cut four 1/2-inch bolts that were protruding out of concrete with relative ease using this blade. Although the blade dulled a bit, it accomplished the task at hand. I would otherwise have had to hire someone with a cutting torch to remove those bolts. This flush cut carbide blade fits more than just Dremel Multi-Max. It also fits Bosch, Dremel, Rigid, Fein, Makita, Craftsman, Milwaukee, Skil, Rockwell branded tools.
          Pros: Easy to Use
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The all NEW Dremel SM710 Saw-Max Accessory kit gives you all of the accessories needed for making simple cuts through a wide range of materials. This kit features 12 Saw-Max accessory wheels valued at $115 and allows users to cut through wood, plastic, drywall, laminates, metals, brick, tile and more.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          The Saw-Max tool and blades work well for occasional handyman jobs
          PostedApril 12, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I am a handyman, maintaining several homes and a condo. The Saw-Max is really handy for cutting a variety of materials. I just used it to plunge cut openings for additional soffit vents in my home into 3/8-inch thick in-place plywood facia material. One-handed cutting was needed as I was working from a ladder 24 feet above grade. I used it recently to plunge cut a square hole into the sheet metal of a cold air return using this tool, it working well.
          This 12-blade set is a good way to get full use of the Saw-Max tool, the blades having a full array of cutting applications including wood, metal, plastics, tile, masonry and ceramics. The case included is a handy way to organize the blade Read More
          I am a handyman, maintaining several homes and a condo. The Saw-Max is really handy for cutting a variety of materials. I just used it to plunge cut openings for additional soffit vents in my home into 3/8-inch thick in-place plywood facia material. One-handed cutting was needed as I was working from a ladder 24 feet above grade. I used it recently to plunge cut a square hole into the sheet metal of a cold air return using this tool, it working well.
          This 12-blade set is a good way to get full use of the Saw-Max tool, the blades having a full array of cutting applications including wood, metal, plastics, tile, masonry and ceramics. The case included is a handy way to organize the blade storage and to track what you have on hand. As far as these blades themselves are concerned, they have fairly short lives, making them a bit expensive and geared for small jobs. Buying a set like this helps reduce the cost per blade. I obtained my Saw-Max with the relatively short blade life as an expectation, that overcome by how versatile and handy the tool is. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, veratile, handy one-handed cutting, handy carrying case
          Cons: relatively short lived blades
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 26 >>
           
          Alleycat's Questions
           
          Suitable for residential and hotel bathroom renovations, the Panasonic WhisperFit EZ Dual-Speed Exhaust Fan includes a 4 in.-to-3 in. duct adapter to fit smaller-diameter ductwork. The fan features a low-profile housing and includes a Flex-Z bracket for fast, flexible and easy installation. It offers two fan speeds (80 CFM or 110 CFM) to circulate air in your bathroom, thereby inhibiting mildew buildup and fogged-up mirrors. It operates ultra-quietly on low speed at just 0.3 sone, keeping background bathroom noise to a minimum.
           

          Will the Flex-Z Fast bracket extend far enough for mounting on joists that are spaced 24 inches on-center?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 2, 2016
           
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Eliminate shower clutter with Zenith's Stainless Steel Shower Head Caddy. The stainless steel construction provides durable rust-free performance as well as aesthetic appeal. Two spacious shelves and a soap tray can accommodate a wide variety of bathroom products. These shelves are self-draining, so standing water will not damage your stored items. Hang your razors by using curved wire located in the front of each shelf. Additionally, this premium caddy features hooks for hanging storage of loofahs, shower poufs, washcloths, and more. This caddy is stabilized by a non-slip PVC shower head grip and suction cups, which will prevent swaying and keep the caddy secure on your shower head. This efficient and stylish storage device arrives fully assembled and ready to provide valuable storage space in your home shower. Zenith's toll-free USA based Customer Service department is available (800-892-3986) to answer any additional questions.
           

          Is this really constructed of stainless steel or is it just plated steel that will, in the end rust?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          October 24, 2014
           
          Alleycat's Answers
           
          Imagine a world where weeds weren’t an issue, One feeding of Scotts Turf Builder Weed and Feed will not only kill dandelions, clover and other weeds that have invaded your lawn, but will help to thicken your grass to help crowd out new weeds from taking hold. And by developing an annual feeding routine that includes Scotts Turf Builder Weed and Feed will help your lawn look its best all year round and protect it from other stress as well such as heat, drought and everyday family activity.
           

          After applying when can you cut the lawn?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 16, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          May 27, 2016
          Answer: 
          I recommend not applying this product right after mowing as you will markedly reduce its effectiveness by doing do. It is best to apply it when the turf is damp to assure absorption of the herbicide by the broadleaf weeds you are trying to kill. When you do mow, I also encourage you to leave the clippings on the lawn to return the nitrogen in the fertilizer to the soil
           
          The 8.5-Watt (60W) Soft White LED A19 Light Bulb (6-Pack) is a perfect energy saving replacement to the traditional incandescent light bulb. In fact, these bulbs provide just as much light as a 60 Watt incandescent bulb while only using 10 Watts of electricity. The estimated cost of operation is only $1.18 a year.
           

          Can I use this light bulb on fully enclosed luminaire

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          December 27, 2015
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          May 23, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, as I have had eight of them in one enclosed fixture for over a year without issues.
           
          The 8.5-Watt (60W) Soft White LED A19 Light Bulb (6-Pack) is a perfect energy saving replacement to the traditional incandescent light bulb. In fact, these bulbs provide just as much light as a 60 Watt incandescent bulb while only using 10 Watts of electricity. The estimated cost of operation is only $1.18 a year.
           

          Enclosed indoor fixture??

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          NH
          May 10, 2016
          Saying here you can run this bulb inside an enclosed fixture thats what I need it for..
          TCP Model # LA1027KND6. But the information seems contradicting?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          May 23, 2016
          Answer: 
          I know that the heat generated by these bulbs is low because I have eight of them inside an enclosed fixture, it being in service with these bulbs for more than a year without issues. They are on about five hours per day.v Incandescent bulbs kept burning out in this fixture, so these were my solution. A minor minus is that so many of them in service in one fixture in one room make a slightly noticeable Read More
          I know that the heat generated by these bulbs is low because I have eight of them inside an enclosed fixture, it being in service with these bulbs for more than a year without issues. They are on about five hours per day.v Incandescent bulbs kept burning out in this fixture, so these were my solution. A minor minus is that so many of them in service in one fixture in one room make a slightly noticeable sound when it is very, very quiet in the room. Read Less
           
          Available in assorted colors and varieties Knockout Roses are easy to grow and easy to care for. They are beautiful planted among shrubs, annuals and perennials in mixed beds or borders. For optimal performance, cut back once a year in Spring after the last threat of frost to promote new growth.
           

          A couple of my knockout rose bushes have a white powery mildew on the leaves and in the middle of the plant, what can I use to treat this problem

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Harlem, GA.
          May 2, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          May 20, 2016
          Answer: 
          I have used BAYER ADVANCED Rose and Flower Disease Control Liquid with success on Knock Out roses. In the South, where I experienced the worst of it, I resorted to Bonide Fruit Tree Spray, also with success as I was also having an issue with black spot and aphids at the same time.
           
          Imagine a world where weeds weren’t an issue, One feeding of Scotts Turf Builder Weed and Feed will not only kill dandelions, clover and other weeds that have invaded your lawn, but will help to thicken your grass to help crowd out new weeds from taking hold. And by developing an annual feeding routine that includes Scotts Turf Builder Weed and Feed will help your lawn look its best all year round and protect it from other stress as well such as heat, drought and everyday family activity.
           

          Is this product compatible with St Augustine's grass?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Rancho Cucamonga, CA
          March 20, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          May 6, 2016
          Answer: 
          NO, as it may cause injury to St. Augustine grasses. This is from the website for this product:
          Where Not to Use
          Do not use on St Augustine grass including Floratam, Dichonda, Lippia, Carpetgrass, and Bentgrass lawns as injury may occur.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>