Alleycat
  • Review count
    139
  • Helpfulness votes
    214
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 31, 2012
  • Last Review:
    September 15, 2016
 
  • Question count
    2
     
    • Answer count
      104
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        139
      • Helpfulness votes
        214
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 31, 2012
      • Last Review:
        September 15, 2016
       
      • Question count
        2
         
        • Answer count
          104
           
           
           
           
          Alleycat's Reviews
           
          This Crescent 16 in. adjustable construction wrench is the ideal wrench for any iron or steel worker's tool box. The adjustable jaw opens up to a capacity of 1-1/2 in. for tightening nuts and bolts and also features a tapered tang for aligning bolt holes. The world famous brand of Crescent adjustable wrenches are used and trusted by professional mechanics, industrial tradesmen and the home DIYers everywhere.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Tough and Heavy
          PostedSeptember 15, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This adjustable spud wrench lives up to the Crescent reputation for tough, quality tools. It is drop-forged and obviously properly alloyed and heat-treated. It weighs in at 2 pounds, 8 ounces, a bit heavy. It adjusts smoothly and holds the jaw settings well. The finish is black oxide that abrades a bit easily, but that makes little difference to those lime me who appreciate a quality tool that stands up to regular use and some abuse. I purposely abused it by using a 2-foot, 1-inch inside diameter, thick-walled steel pipe to extend the handle length, using the wrench with the cheater handle extension to shear off 1/2-inch diameter, severely rusted through-bolts to dismantle an antique Read More
          This adjustable spud wrench lives up to the Crescent reputation for tough, quality tools. It is drop-forged and obviously properly alloyed and heat-treated. It weighs in at 2 pounds, 8 ounces, a bit heavy. It adjusts smoothly and holds the jaw settings well. The finish is black oxide that abrades a bit easily, but that makes little difference to those lime me who appreciate a quality tool that stands up to regular use and some abuse. I purposely abused it by using a 2-foot, 1-inch inside diameter, thick-walled steel pipe to extend the handle length, using the wrench with the cheater handle extension to shear off 1/2-inch diameter, severely rusted through-bolts to dismantle an antique machine. I wanted to avoid ruining the rust patina of the machine parts by cutting the bolts off with a torch. This wrench did not flinch to the stressing I subjected it to. This is a quality Crescent product. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Strong
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Diablo’s new, high performance carbide-tipped hole saws deliver 20 times longer cutting life, faster cutting performance and increased productivity. Diablo's carbide-tipped hole saws are the industry's first carbide-tipped hole saws to cut both wood and metal. Unlike anything on the market, Diablo’s hole saw system and mandrel design simplify the attachment process for fast and efficient hole saw mounting. These radical new hole saws provide ultimate cutting length to bore deeper holes in a single pass; and a tool-free plug ejection and Variable Pitch Tooth Design for faster cuts.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Aggressive Cutter
          PostedAugust 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I tried this hole saw by cutting several holes in 1.5 inch thick, very dry ash. Ash is known as a tough wood. This cutter worked well in that wood, cutting the holes quickly without generating excessive temperature at the tool. I did notice, however, that the start was quite rough when the saw teeth first made contact with the wood. I anticipated this, doing the cuts with a high-power, corded, 1/2-inch drill with a bolstering handle that I held onto firmly during cutting. It is best to start the cuts in wood at high rotational speed, feeding into the wood slowly to minimize tearing and jerking when the saw makes initial contact with the wood. The plugs were easy to remove from this saw after Read More
          I tried this hole saw by cutting several holes in 1.5 inch thick, very dry ash. Ash is known as a tough wood. This cutter worked well in that wood, cutting the holes quickly without generating excessive temperature at the tool. I did notice, however, that the start was quite rough when the saw teeth first made contact with the wood. I anticipated this, doing the cuts with a high-power, corded, 1/2-inch drill with a bolstering handle that I held onto firmly during cutting. It is best to start the cuts in wood at high rotational speed, feeding into the wood slowly to minimize tearing and jerking when the saw makes initial contact with the wood. The plugs were easy to remove from this saw after cuts were finished. I tried my old, ordinary 3-inch hole saw to make a comparison. This Diablo hole saw has 25 teeth. My old saw has 50. My old saw made for smoother sawing starts, but it took longer to complete cutting a hole. For the old saw, a lot of prying was needed to remove the plug from the saw. Read Less
          Pros: quick wood cuts, easy wood plug removal
          Cons: rough saw starts in wood
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          RELAX HD light offers a warm, soft white light perfect for comfortable moments and cozy spaces. Use RELAX light in spaces like bedrooms, family rooms and dining rooms. Real, comfortable, soft white light.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great LED Bulb
          PostedAugust 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          It is great to see improvements in LED lighting, this bulb being an excellent example of a dimmable lamp with very bright light in the pleasant color range of an ordinary incandescent lamp. This bulb is a bit larger than ordinary 100 watt incandescent lamps that I have, but not overly so. It measures about 5 inches in overall length and is about 2-5/8 inches in diameter at its widest point. It is very quiet, not the case with some other LEDs that I have tried. This bulb is intended for use in living areas of homes such as dining, bedroom and family room areas.
          Pros: Nice Design, Quiet, dimmable, efficient
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This black and yellow Stay Plug Cord replacement end is good for all SJT/SJTW 16 through 12-Gauge cords. The holding strength of the locking devices holds up to 40 lbs. It works with any standard plug end.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Ends Accidentally Pulled Plugs
          PostedAugust 20, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I grew tired of the plug accidentally pulling from my electric edger that I use while plugged in to a 100-foot, heavy-duty extension cord. My outdoor use extension cord has thick, heavy-duty insulation and 12-gage stranded copper wires. I purposely cut the otherwise perfectly good end plug off of the extension cord to install this product. The plug was easy to install following the instructions provided. The openings into which the wires are to be inserted are adequate in size for the wires if the screws are loosened fully and if the stranded wires are twisted tightly before insertion, even for thick 12-gage wiring. The screw clamping devices inside the plug hold the three wires very, very Read More
          I grew tired of the plug accidentally pulling from my electric edger that I use while plugged in to a 100-foot, heavy-duty extension cord. My outdoor use extension cord has thick, heavy-duty insulation and 12-gage stranded copper wires. I purposely cut the otherwise perfectly good end plug off of the extension cord to install this product. The plug was easy to install following the instructions provided. The openings into which the wires are to be inserted are adequate in size for the wires if the screws are loosened fully and if the stranded wires are twisted tightly before insertion, even for thick 12-gage wiring. The screw clamping devices inside the plug hold the three wires very, very firmly. Heed the instructions and do not tin the wires to make them easier to insert. If tinned, the wires might loosen due to dimensional changes with repeated use. This plug is designed so that it clamps the cord itself very firmly when two screws are tightened to specification. I tested the installed plug by putting it to use to edge my drive and sidewalk. The edger stayed plugged in to the extension cord despite my repeated tugs on my edger cord to go around trees and to clear shrubs. This is a well-designed, quality product. Read Less
          Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy Installation, Sturdy
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Dual-Pawl technology of the New Husky 100-Position 3/8 in. drive ratchet provides access to turn fasteners where other ratchets can't with its ultra-narrow 3.6° arch swing. It is 10% longer handle allows for increased reach to access hard reaching fasteners and improves overall leverage. The Industrial grade black finish gives the tool a sleek look while adding durability and corrosion prevention.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good Hand Feel, Great Finish and Long Warranty
          PostedAugust 1, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I do quite a bit of small engine and automotive repair, generally using only six-point sockets to prevent issues with slipping on rusty bolts or nuts and rounding corners on them during disassembly. The small 3.6 degree interval for this ratchet makes it easy to find the right starting position when quarters for handle movement are tight, frequently an issue when using six-point sockets. That feature has already made this my favorite 3/8-in. ratchet. The low profile for this tool also is an advantage in some tight quarter applications, The ebony finish looks great and has stood up well so far to a few weeks of almost daily use. The lifetime warranty is a surprise for such a competitively Read More
          I do quite a bit of small engine and automotive repair, generally using only six-point sockets to prevent issues with slipping on rusty bolts or nuts and rounding corners on them during disassembly. The small 3.6 degree interval for this ratchet makes it easy to find the right starting position when quarters for handle movement are tight, frequently an issue when using six-point sockets. That feature has already made this my favorite 3/8-in. ratchet. The low profile for this tool also is an advantage in some tight quarter applications, The ebony finish looks great and has stood up well so far to a few weeks of almost daily use. The lifetime warranty is a surprise for such a competitively priced tool. The quality of this tool alone convinces me to shop The Home Depot for future mechanics tool purchases and to look for the Husky brand, something I have not done in the past. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, long warranty, quality finish, low profile, long handle
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 28 >>
           
          Alleycat's Questions
           
          Suitable for residential and hotel bathroom renovations, the Panasonic WhisperFit EZ Dual-Speed Exhaust Fan includes a 4 in.-to-3 in. duct adapter to fit smaller-diameter ductwork. The fan features a low-profile housing and includes a Flex-Z bracket for fast, flexible and easy installation. It offers two fan speeds (80 CFM or 110 CFM) to circulate air in your bathroom, thereby inhibiting mildew buildup and fogged-up mirrors. It operates ultra-quietly on low speed at just 0.3 sone, keeping background bathroom noise to a minimum.
           

          Will the Flex-Z Fast bracket extend far enough for mounting on joists that are spaced 24 inches on-center?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 2, 2016
           
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Eliminate shower clutter with Zenith's Stainless Steel Shower Head Caddy. The stainless steel construction provides durable rust-free performance as well as aesthetic appeal. Two spacious shelves and a soap tray can accommodate a wide variety of bathroom products. These shelves are self-draining, so standing water will not damage your stored items. Hang your razors by using curved wire located in the front of each shelf. Additionally, this premium caddy features hooks for hanging storage of loofahs, shower poufs, washcloths, and more. This caddy is stabilized by a non-slip PVC shower head grip and suction cups, which will prevent swaying and keep the caddy secure on your shower head. This efficient and stylish storage device arrives fully assembled and ready to provide valuable storage space in your home shower. Zenith's toll-free USA based Customer Service department is available (800-892-3986) to answer any additional questions.
           

          Is this really constructed of stainless steel or is it just plated steel that will, in the end rust?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          October 24, 2014
           
          Alleycat's Answers
           
          Milorganite 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer is good for promoting healthy growth of lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers. The non burning formula doesn't have to be watered-in. It is fortified with 4% iron to help produce thick, green lawns without excessive growth. It doesn't contain any salts, so it is good for use in drought conditions.
           

          Can I use milorganite on my vegetable garden?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          September 22, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          September 22, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes. During processing, it is sampled and tested eighteen to twenty times daily to ensure it is safe for use, including for gardening of vegetables, and that it meets federal and local regulations.
           
          The Milwaukee 48-22-2404 is a 4-Piece Hollow Shaft SAE Nut Driver Set. The Nut Drivers are Chrome Plated for Rust Protection and extended life on the jobsite. The 48-22-2404 set is ideal for use with threaded rod, long bolts and removal of stripped bolts. The set contains (1) Slotted 9/16 in. x 3 in. Nut driver, (1) 7/16 in. x 3 in. Nut driver, (1) 5/16 in. x 3 in. Nut driver and (1) 1/4 in. x 3 in. Nut driver. Milwaukee Nut Drivers deliver maximum functionality and versatility to the jobsite.
           

          are the nut runners hollow all the way through.

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          September 16, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          September 18, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes
           
          Available in assorted colors and varieties Knockout Roses are easy to grow and easy to care for. They are beautiful planted among shrubs, annuals and perennials in mixed beds or borders. For optimal performance, cut back once a year in Spring after the last threat of frost to promote new growth.
           

          do you have a white Knockout Rose

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          September 14, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          September 14, 2016
          Answer: 
          Their has been no white rose developed in the Knockout rose family. The closest available Knockout rose to white is known as the Knockout Sunny that is bright yellow that fades to a cream color as the blossom matures.
           
          Gorilla takes epoxy to a new level, the Gorilla tough level. Easy to dispense and use, Gorilla Epoxy brings a strong, long-lasting bond for household and automotive repairs, alike. The two-part, gap-filling formula easily bonds steel, aluminum, wood, ceramic, tile and much more.
           

          Does gorilla glue general epoxy bond metal to glass

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          September 8, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          September 9, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, but both surfaces must be clean to assure a good bond. I have made use of this product for fastening a glass table top to a stainless steel frame, it working well.
           
          BEHR Premium Plus Zero VOC, Self-Priming Interior Eggshell Enamel is 100% acrylic, provides a mildew resistant finish and is suitable for active households. This sheen resists dirt and grime, provides ultimate durability and exceptional hide. The finish displays a soft, velvety appearance.
           

          is this item returnable

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          September 3, 2016
          can I return Behr interior eggshell enamel ultra pure white
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          September 4, 2016
          Answer: 
          If not tinted or custom-mixed, it generally is returnable. Check with your local store by calling their paint department.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 21 >>