Allan
  • Review count
    53
  • Helpfulness votes
    130
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 10, 2013
  • Last Review:
    January 23, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      21
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        53
      • Helpfulness votes
        130
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 10, 2013
      • Last Review:
        January 23, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          21
           
           
           
           
          Allan's Reviews
           
          The HDX Microfiber Ceiling Fan Duster has a bendable head, allowing horizontal surfaces to be wiped clean of dust and grime. The threaded handle allows you to attach to a pole. This duster grabs and holds dust from ledges, furniture and other large flat surfaces.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great Idea
          PostedJanuary 23, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          One thing we hate to do is ladder work, especially that required to clean dust ceiling fan blades, the tops of ceiling fan motors plus metal and glass shades and globes for light fixtures. This microfiber duster does the job on all, the finger projections picking up and holding dust like a magnet grabs and holds steel filings. The ceilings in our home vary from eleven to seventeen feet, this making quick work of dusting all seven of our ceiling fans. Bend the duster to the right L-shaped configuration, screw it to an extension pole (the type used for paint rolling) and dust way with both feet flat on the floor. I used a vacuum cleaner to remove the collected dust after used on every fixture Read More
          One thing we hate to do is ladder work, especially that required to clean dust ceiling fan blades, the tops of ceiling fan motors plus metal and glass shades and globes for light fixtures. This microfiber duster does the job on all, the finger projections picking up and holding dust like a magnet grabs and holds steel filings. The ceilings in our home vary from eleven to seventeen feet, this making quick work of dusting all seven of our ceiling fans. Bend the duster to the right L-shaped configuration, screw it to an extension pole (the type used for paint rolling) and dust way with both feet flat on the floor. I used a vacuum cleaner to remove the collected dust after used on every fixture and fan, it working great to clean the duster, making it ready for the next item. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective, dusts more than just fans
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The QEP 62970 3 in. Stainless Steel Chisel Scraper offers a hammer end to be used to add power while scraping. Comfortable rubber handle with non-slip thumb rest makes it easier to use, without slipping. This durable scraper is a multi-functioning tool that is ideal for removal of paint, adhesive and debris from most surfaces. It also can be used to spread materials including caulk, putty and grout.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          End the skinned knuckles with this chisel scraper
          PostedJanuary 23, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have skinned my knuckles repeatedly while scraping on rough surfaces, such as when scraping chewing gum wads that visitors and those passing by have dropped on our sidewalk. The bend in the blade about 1.5 inches below the handle is just enough to address that issue for me. The blade metal is extended through the handle, terminating at the handle end with a metal cap to facilitate striking the handle end with a hammer. This appears to be a sturdy tool that will last for years, it having a comfortable handle to boot.
          Pros: High Quality of Material, Comfortable, chisel blade end, made to be hammered
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This Halo LED Disk Light is a universal surface mount. It replaces bulbs, flush mounts, recessed trims, and fits in most junction boxes and recessed housings. Features wave stream LED technology to create an ultra-low profile surface mounting luminaire with the performance and look of a traditional down light. The surface disk light has a 6 in. nominal aperture and is designed for installation in many standard 4 in. x 2-1/8 in. square, octagon and round junction boxes. It may also retrofit in 5 in. and 6 in. aperture IC and Non-IC recessed housings. The units integral 120-volt LED driver is designed for compatibility with leading edge and trailing edge phase control dimmers. Dedicated LED wiring connector meets high efficacy code requirement when used in recessed downlighting. This unit is suitable for residential or commercial applications.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:Other
          Received free product:Yes
          Mimics Incandescent Light Color Well. It Has Good Installation Flexibility
          PostedJanuary 23, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This Cooper Lighting product works well to retrofit many of the 5- and 6-inch HALO recessed lighting products present in homes built years ago. It also installs easily over an ordinary octagon or square junction box, replacing ordinary bulb light fixtures in that application. It is also suitable for wet locations such as at ceilings over bathtubs and shower stalls. I installed it to retrofit a fully-enclosed, recessed Cooper Lighting HALO fixture over one of our bathtubs because the heat of the current incandescent bulb in that fixture was causing the thermal protection within the fixture to open the circuit and shut off the light after about ten minutes of "on time". The retrofit was quick Read More
          This Cooper Lighting product works well to retrofit many of the 5- and 6-inch HALO recessed lighting products present in homes built years ago. It also installs easily over an ordinary octagon or square junction box, replacing ordinary bulb light fixtures in that application. It is also suitable for wet locations such as at ceilings over bathtubs and shower stalls. I installed it to retrofit a fully-enclosed, recessed Cooper Lighting HALO fixture over one of our bathtubs because the heat of the current incandescent bulb in that fixture was causing the thermal protection within the fixture to open the circuit and shut off the light after about ten minutes of "on time". The retrofit was quick and easy, all of the parts to accomplish it included in the package. The light color is great, about the same as that from an ordinary 75-watt soft white incandescent bulb. With the 3000k color rating, there is not a hint of the blue so common for earlier generation LED lights. My plan is to buy a dozen of these surface disk lights to replace halogen-equipped flood lamps in recessed Cooper Lighting HALO fixtures in our living and kitchen areas because they run so much cooler and use a lot less power than the halogen flood lamps within those fixtures. An incentive to do so is the fact that the plastic finish rings are cracked and discolored for those 12-year old recessed fixtures. The plastic finish rings are not available as separate items for the older fixtures. Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Install, High Quality
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Duck covers provide breakthrough protection that keep grills looking like new. Our innovative multi-layered material creates superior airflow between your cover and grill, eliminating condensation that causes pitting and rust. Duck covers do not crack or fade over time. Migrate to the best in patio cover. Get duck covers today.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good Looking
          PostedJanuary 12, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I chose this cover instead of the higher-priced product with the Weber brand name because of its color (beige instead of black) and its reinforced pvc-coated fabric construction. It certainly looks like it will outlast my old covers as I have found it necessary to purchase several over the years. I grill during WI winters, finding this cover easier to remove and place back on the grill because the fabric is more flexible than other covers I have purchased and used.
          Pros: not black but beige, fabric construction
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The durable and accurate Johnson Eco-Tech 24 in. Bamboo Level features laminated bamboo construction with metal-bound edges. It has protective rubber end caps to resist work-site wear. The 6 durable, impact-resistant vials are hand-set for accuracy and protected by replaceable hardened-glass lenses.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Showpiece Level
          PostedJanuary 12, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This two-foot level has its body constructed of bamboo with aluminum edging. It is of showpiece quality as far as fit and finish are concerned. The quality, to me, is reminiscent of that I associate with the laminated bamboo construction of my antique Frederick Post slide rule, if anyone remembers what a slide rule is like or the purpose it served. I used it recently for mounting shelves with a helper. My helper was impressed by the high quality of this level as much as I am. The large hole for hanging is a handy feature. It has "dead-on" accuracy.
          Pros: Accurate, high quality construction
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>
           
          Allan's Questions
           
          Allan has not submitted any questions.
           
          Allan's Answers
           
          Use the Milwaukee 11-in-1 5 in. Multi-Tip Screwdriver for your driving needs. The screwdriver offers a 5 in. shaft that holds up to 9 bits so you can carry fewer drivers. It contains hardened tips ranging in size from #1 to #2 and features a rubber handle for comfort.
           

          where are the bits?

          Asked by
          James
          Colleyville, TX
          October 11, 2014
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          October 16, 2014
          Answer: 
          They are self-stored in the shaft of the driver, not in the handle. That makes for a sturdy handle with no potential for a top cap to come off or break.
           
          Traditional styling with a contemporary flair. The Portsmouth features the Champion 4 flushing system for virtually clog free performance. The Champion 4 system features the industry's largest flush valve. It achieves a maximum MaP score rating of 1,000 g. You may never have to use your plunger again. It also helps keep itself cleaner with our exclusive EverClean surface. And it's all backed by a 10 year warranty on china and trim. Generating a faster and more powerful flush. You may never have to use a plunger again.
           

          The American Standard on your site, does this include the bowl and the tank. Also will it come with the seat shown in the picture?

          Asked by
          Browny32
          Augusta, Ga.
          December 21, 2011
          model #2733.014.020
          internet # 202499514
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          December 11, 2013
          Answer: 
          The seat is NOT included.
           
          The LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Extra Large Capacity Gas Steam Dryer features 9 drying programs, including SteamFresh, SteamSanitary, heavy duty, delicate and towel cycles. The LoDecibel motor minimizes noise for quiet operation, and the intelligent electronic control panel makes it easy to find the right setting. This dryer has a 7.3 cu. ft. capacity to accommodate large loads and help save you time and energy.
           

          What size gas line is needed?

          Asked by
          Doug
          August 14, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          August 14, 2013
          Answer: 
          Most gas dryer lines, at least near the connector, are 1/2-inch, so a pipe that size should be adequate. I have seen 1/2-black iron feed pipes to dryers at least seven feet long. Of course, the size of the piping diameter needed can depend on the length of the run to the dryer, a larger size likely needed for long runs.
           
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can I buy the steam washing machine, but only purchase the regular front load dryer and they match?

          Asked by
          Takeisha
          Dallas, TX
          July 3, 2013
          Is it necessary for me to purchase the steam dryer along with the steam washing machine? What is the benefit of steaming clothes both times if done in the washer, then the dryer? I'm thinking I would prefer to purchase the steam washing machine and purchase the regular front load dryer without the steam option to save a few bucks. Will they match?
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          July 3, 2013
          Answer: 
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for Read More
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for the best price at the time. We wanted a match in appearance, so bought the pair. These LG's are great machines for the price. Read Less
           
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can you wash waterproof items (sneakers, mattress pads) in the LG front loader?

          Asked by
          KathleenW
          Tallahassee, FL
          June 22, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          June 23, 2013
          Answer: 
          These items are washable and can be washed in this LG machine. We do that very thing regularly with our machine.