Alleycat
  • Review count
    159
  • Helpfulness votes
    229
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 31, 2012
  • Last Review:
    January 17, 2017
 
  • Question count
    2
     
    • Answer count
      130
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        159
      • Helpfulness votes
        229
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 31, 2012
      • Last Review:
        January 17, 2017
       
      • Question count
        2
         
        • Answer count
          130
           
           
           
           
          Alleycat's Reviews
           
          The BLACK+DECKER BDCD2204KIT is perfect for tackling most cutting, drilling and driving applications around the home. This combo kit features a cordless drill driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw and handy work light. The 20-Volt Max battery packs are compatible with all BLACK+DECKER 20-Volt max tools and accessories.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good Cordless Tool Set for Home Use
          PostedJanuary 17, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is an inexpensive four-tool set that surprised me a bit in some respects. Construction of the tools in this set uses a lot of tough plastic that contributes to their light weight. The reciprocating saw with the supplied wood-cutting blade and battery installed weighs only about 4 lb., 4 oz. The circular saw with the supplied carbide-tipped blade and battery installed weighs about 5 lb., 10 oz. The drill with battery installed weighs about 2 lb., 10 oz. These light weights can contribute to ease of use, especially when on a ladder or in a situation such as one where the tool(s) must be carried a long distance in an attic space with no floor.
          The two Li-ion batteries have 30 Wh of Read More
          This is an inexpensive four-tool set that surprised me a bit in some respects. Construction of the tools in this set uses a lot of tough plastic that contributes to their light weight. The reciprocating saw with the supplied wood-cutting blade and battery installed weighs only about 4 lb., 4 oz. The circular saw with the supplied carbide-tipped blade and battery installed weighs about 5 lb., 10 oz. The drill with battery installed weighs about 2 lb., 10 oz. These light weights can contribute to ease of use, especially when on a ladder or in a situation such as one where the tool(s) must be carried a long distance in an attic space with no floor.
          The two Li-ion batteries have 30 Wh of capacity, low compared some of the heavy-duty tools I own, most with 162 Wh of capacity. Charging of the batteries from a run-down condition takes up to four hours using the supplied battery charger. For charging the batteries, I generally leave the battery connected to the charger overnight. Despite the rated battery capacity, the tools have relatively long run times on the batteries supplied.
          The reciprocating saw does a really quick job of cutting through 2x4 studs with the supplied blade. The blade is very easy to install and remove, requiring just the flip of a lever to accomplish.
          Blade changes for the circular saw were easy, the direction to tighten the blade screw clearly indicated on the tool, a handy feature. I used the 5-1/2 inch circular saw to cut several 2x8's of treated southern pine lumber with high moisture content. It did relatively well under that kind of loading, but it went significantly slower than it does using my much heavier 7-1/4 inch corded circular saw This small saw has an automatic electric brake for safety.
          The drill has a wrenchless chuck. Bit changes were a bit unhandy, especially in the highest gear, requiring two hands, one to prevent the motor from turning and the second to do the chuck tightening. The drill has a built-in LED work light, a handy feature. To test the power of the drill, I used a 3/4-inch spade bit, cutting holes in 2x4's of southern pine with ease (no stalling).
          The LED flashlight is handy as the light source can be pivoted to focus on the work area.
          This set includes a carrying bag of tough fabric. These tools have a two-year home-use warranty. Overall, at the price, this is a handy set for relatively light to moderate home use, not construction . On that basis, I consider it a good buy. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, easy blade changes, Clear Instructions
          Cons: long battery charge time
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The DEWALT 1/2 in. Variable Speed Reversing Dual Range Hammer Drill features a high-performance 7.8 Amp motor with overload protection. The lightweight design makes it easy to use for extended periods of time without fatigue. The 360 Degree sides handle and depth rod provide control, versatility and enhanced depth accuracy. The 2 modes, hammer drill and drill, allow for versatile use in wood, steel and masonry applications.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This is a light-weight, corded hammer drill with plenty of power
          PostedJanuary 17, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I used this 1/2-inch hammer drill to drive a hole saw, cutting a dozen 2-inch diameter holes in 2-inch laminated wood joists with no signs of overheating of the electric tool itself. The hammer provision worked well in this application, kicking out sawdust to help keep the hole saw relatively cool when compared to a single try at not using the hammer setting for the same operation. In the past, I had not thought of using a hammer drill to cut holes in wood, finding that doing so is a great assist. One issue I had is that this tool is that it is relatively long at about 13.5 inches vs. another 1/2-inch, 8-ampere hammer drill I have that is only 11.5 inches long, clearance between the joists Read More
          I used this 1/2-inch hammer drill to drive a hole saw, cutting a dozen 2-inch diameter holes in 2-inch laminated wood joists with no signs of overheating of the electric tool itself. The hammer provision worked well in this application, kicking out sawdust to help keep the hole saw relatively cool when compared to a single try at not using the hammer setting for the same operation. In the past, I had not thought of using a hammer drill to cut holes in wood, finding that doing so is a great assist. One issue I had is that this tool is that it is relatively long at about 13.5 inches vs. another 1/2-inch, 8-ampere hammer drill I have that is only 11.5 inches long, clearance between the joists for my project being only 22 inches with the overall length of the drill with attached tool at 19.5 inches That allowed little clearance for working. As indicated in the instructions, such work must be done in the low gear setting.
          I also used the hammer feature to drill ten 4-inch deep, 3/16-inch diameter holes in concrete to accommodate Tapcon screws, it working well at the high gear speed setting.
          I loaded the motor in this tool very heavily in low gear to drive a drywall mixing tool for several a full 5-gallon pails of drywall mud. The drill showed no signs of overheating. In such high-torque applications, one must make sure to use the side handle and position it 90 degrees from the main handle to avoid wrist or arm injury. One thing that I do like a great deal about this product is that the side handle is mounted so that it is offset from the centerline of the tool, that affording a more comfortable hand position for steadying the tool in some high torque demand operations. My other hammer drill is arranged so that the side handle is not offset from the tool centerline.

          I found the gear speed selection a bit difficult at first, noting that slight hand turning of the chuck was needed to accomplish a gear setting change. After a few uses, the gear shifts became easier. The gear shifting is not as convenient as with competing brands I have used. I note the instructions clearly indicate that one is not to attempt gear shifts while the tool is in operation, as doing so may do gear damage. The gearbox is of plastic composite instead of metal, an apparent way to accomplish the light weight, this unit weighing in at a relatively light 4.8 pounds vs. about 6.5 pounds for my other hammer drill. I have another old DeWALT drill that makes use of the same type of plastic composition transmission housing, that causing no durability issues after 8 years of ownership with occasional use.
          This hammer drill carries a three-year warranty vs. the five-year warranty for my other, comparable hammer drill product. Based on my limited use so far, this is a good product at the price charged. On the other hand, because product weight is not an issue for me and since this product is a bit long and does not have the longest industry warranty, I prefer my other hammer drill product (red) that is currently sold by The Home Depot at the same price. Read Less
          Pros: Light Weight, Powerful
          Cons: a bit long at 13.5 in.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Powered by M12 REDLITHIUM Battery Technology, the Milwaukee M12 3-in-1 Heated Jacket combines technology and toughness to redefine layering on the jobsite. Pairing a heated hoodie with a heavy duty wind/water resistant outer shell provides ultimate warmth, versatility, and durability. The inner layer uses carbon fiber heating elements to create and distribute heat to the chest and back. Both pieces utilize GridIron 900 Denier Ripstop Polyester in high wear areas to Outlast 12 oz. cotton duck workwear by 3X against abrasion and tearing. Also featuring tarnish resistant metal zippers, and riveted, reinforced storage pockets the 3-in-1 Heated Jacket is built to survive jobsite conditions in any weather.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great for the outdoor worker
          PostedDecember 28, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This 3-in-1 Milwaukee heated jacket works well for me. It fits well and looks great. I have long arms and am otherwise wearing medium-tall size outer garments, if available. This garment is not available in tall sizes. The sizing for this garment seemingly runs a bit small compared to some other outerwear purchases I have made. I got the large size that fits me well, including sleeve length. I suggest that, If ordering without trying on, consider ordering one size larger. Better yet, try the garment on in a store before purchase.
          I do quite a bit of handyman work that includes climbing ladders in all weather conditions to replace light bulbs. I also do snow removal for several homes using Read More
          This 3-in-1 Milwaukee heated jacket works well for me. It fits well and looks great. I have long arms and am otherwise wearing medium-tall size outer garments, if available. This garment is not available in tall sizes. The sizing for this garment seemingly runs a bit small compared to some other outerwear purchases I have made. I got the large size that fits me well, including sleeve length. I suggest that, If ordering without trying on, consider ordering one size larger. Better yet, try the garment on in a store before purchase.
          I do quite a bit of handyman work that includes climbing ladders in all weather conditions to replace light bulbs. I also do snow removal for several homes using a walk-behind snow blower. Since getting this product, we have had three snowfalls, the last one was accompanied by chill factor temperatures in the -20 degrees F range. This jacket system, used on medium power, worked very well during the very cold conditions of that last storm, keeping me warm enough so that my hands did not get cold while guiding a snow blower that does not have heated handles. Apparently the warmth from this heated jacket kept my core temperature up enough so that sufficient warming circulation went to my extremities to keep them warm.
          The inner liner part of the garment is heated and has a fitted hood with drawstring to tighten it well so that blowing snow is kept out. Knit cuffs for both the inner and outer garments work well to keep out snow and cold as well. The inner heated, hooded garment has two large front pockets with corner rivet attachment reinforcements for durability. I has a zippered pocket to contain the M12 battery for heating. The battery pocket is located near the rear side on the left so that it is out of the way for work. Where located, it does not interfere with being seated for driving a car or truck. I use it without the battery when the weather requires a bit more than a shirt to keep warm. For the inner garment, the outside fabric from the elbows down for the outer part of the sleeves is of tougher, wear-resistant polyester fabric than that for the shell of the rest of the inner garment.
          The shell fabric for the outer garment is made of a very tough polyester fabric that should stand up well to wear. It has four large outside pockets with riveted corner attachment reinforcement plus a zippered inside pocket on the upper left side. This outer garment has a quilted lining and is warm enough for what I call moderately cold days without also wearing the inner heated garment. The zippers for the fronts of both garments look very sturdy.
          This Milwaukee heated coat product does not include an M12 battery or charger. Any of the M12 battery chargers will accomplish charging. A suitable M12 battery and charger combination is available as product 48-59-2420. It labeled as M12 REDLITHIUM 2.0 System Starter Kit. That kit charges the included battery in 45 minutes or less. Starting with the fully charged battery in this kit, I got at about three hours of continuous run time on medium heat before recharging was needed.
          The only minus that I noticed is that the shell fabric for the outer garment was seriously wrinkled and remained so until I steamed it flatten the fabric. This is another fine Milwaukee product that I intend to use often. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design, washable, large reinforced pockets
          Cons: no battery & charger, arrived wrinkled
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Globe Electric's Ultra Bright LED Integrated 360° Portable Boomstick Worklight is the perfect worklight for all your home renovations. Standing as tall as 60", even the darkest corner will be bright. Ideal for working in a space with no overhead lighting, the 360° light spread means you have enough light to fill the room. A 5.5-foot power cord allows you the freedom of not worrying where your socket is located. Suitable for indoor and outdoor use, the Boomstick Worklight is completely weather resistant. Using only 48W of power, you get the brightness of over a 100-watt incandescent bulb, saving you money in energy costs. Shining with 3500 lumens at a 5000 kelvin temperature, you will feel like you are working outside even after sundown. Long-lasting LEDs mean you can use your light for years to come!
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This is a nicely designed, bright LED portable work light
          PostedDecember 27, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I do quite a bit of interior painting, often in poorly lit areas like closets and hallways. This light works especially well in applications where an entire room needs illumination as it casts light in a 360 degree pattern. This light is AC-powered and is plenty bright. Being an LED light provides the advantage of high efficiency while emitting little unwanted heat. That is a definite plus when working in a small or marginally ventilated area like a closet or hallway. Fully unfolded for use, the unit is very stable and about 52inches tall. Clamping devices prevent unintended folding while in use. The tripod light folds nicely into a unit only 32 inches long and about 6 inches wide. A Velcro Read More
          I do quite a bit of interior painting, often in poorly lit areas like closets and hallways. This light works especially well in applications where an entire room needs illumination as it casts light in a 360 degree pattern. This light is AC-powered and is plenty bright. Being an LED light provides the advantage of high efficiency while emitting little unwanted heat. That is a definite plus when working in a small or marginally ventilated area like a closet or hallway. Fully unfolded for use, the unit is very stable and about 52inches tall. Clamping devices prevent unintended folding while in use. The tripod light folds nicely into a unit only 32 inches long and about 6 inches wide. A Velcro strap is attached to prevent unintended unfolding of the tripod legs while transporting. Two brackets are provided to wind the cord and hold it into place when folded. Another strap is attached to the cord to hold it in place on the winding brackets. Folded, the unit is easy to carry using the included padded strap. The unit is fairly light in weight at about 11 pounds. This product is assembled using screwed fasteners instead of rivets meaning that it can be easily serviced, another plus. This is nicely designed product that has already made my interior painting work easier. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Very Bright, easy to transport, not easily tipped, has on-off switch
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          The Aquaus 360° is the World's First Hand Held Bidet with thumb pressure controls on both sides of the sprayer. Dual thumb controls make the Aquaus 360° the most user-friendly and comfortable to hold and maneuver bidet sprayer ever made. New ergonomic design, combined with the perfect size spray pattern and dual adjustable thumb pressure controls allow you to easily spray up or down to rinse your front and back bottom areas quickly and neatly. The Aquaus 360° is the only hand held bidet that is NSF Certified to U.P.C. (Uniform Plumbing Code) for installation in the USA & Canada and includes 2 Certified Plumbing Code Required Backflow Preventers. The Aquaus 360° spray wand is made of high strength, impact resistant, corrosion free medical grade ABS polymers with a bacteria resistant polished chromed finish and a brass valve core with ceramic disk seals with a 250 PSI pressure rating. The High Quality, Solid Brass, American Made T-Connector and Valve easily connects to 7/8 in. toilet threads without tools or a plumber. T-Connector has a 1/4 turn Ball Valve designed so the ON/OFF lever is easy to reach and the hose connects vertically, allowing it to hang straight down preventing unnecessary stress on the hose crimp. NSF Certified, StayFlex 54 in. long, stainless steel, high-pressure hose with a burst rating of 270 psi. StayFlex hose includes double hose crimps on both ends and a high-pressure braided polymer inner hose that stays completely flexible when pressurized.
           
          I bought this product as I am a caregiver for two individuals, this spray unit working great. Ev...
          PostedDecember 21, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I bought this product as I am a caregiver for two individuals, this spray unit working great. Everything about it works well including the hanger bracket, the control valve on the spray wand and the ball valve to shut the water supply off at the connection near the toilet tank. Installation was a snap, taking no more than five minutes. I have used this bidet sprayer on myself, finding that it works very well for self-cleaning. I will buy a second for our half bath.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 32 >>
           
          Alleycat's Questions
           
          Suitable for residential and hotel bathroom renovations, the Panasonic WhisperFit EZ Dual-Speed Exhaust Fan includes a 4 in.-to-3 in. duct adapter to fit smaller-diameter ductwork. The fan features a low-profile housing and includes a Flex-Z bracket for fast, flexible and easy installation. It offers two fan speeds (80 CFM or 110 CFM) to circulate air in your bathroom, thereby inhibiting mildew buildup and fogged-up mirrors. It operates ultra-quietly on low speed at just 0.3 sone, keeping background bathroom noise to a minimum.
           

          Will the Flex-Z Fast bracket extend far enough for mounting on joists that are spaced 24 inches on-center?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 2, 2016
           
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Eliminate shower clutter with Zenith's Stainless Steel Shower Head Caddy. The stainless steel construction provides durable rust-free performance as well as aesthetic appeal. Two spacious shelves and a soap tray can accommodate a wide variety of bathroom products. These shelves are self-draining, so standing water will not damage your stored items. Hang your razors by using curved wire located in the front of each shelf. Additionally, this premium caddy features hooks for hanging storage of loofahs, shower poufs, washcloths, and more. This caddy is stabilized by a non-slip PVC shower head grip and suction cups, which will prevent swaying and keep the caddy secure on your shower head. This efficient and stylish storage device arrives fully assembled and ready to provide valuable storage space in your home shower. Zenith's toll-free USA based Customer Service department is available (800-892-3986) to answer any additional questions.
           

          Is this really constructed of stainless steel or is it just plated steel that will, in the end rust?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          October 24, 2014
           
          Alleycat's Answers
           
          The BLACK+DECKER BDCD2204KIT is perfect for tackling most cutting, drilling and driving applications around the home. This combo kit features a cordless drill driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw and handy work light. The 20-Volt Max battery packs are compatible with all BLACK+DECKER 20-Volt max tools and accessories.
           

          Does this come with a charger ?

          Asked by
          Trish
          MT
          December 12, 2015
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          January 17, 2017
          Answer: 
          A charger is included.
           
          The BLACK+DECKER BDCD2204KIT is perfect for tackling most cutting, drilling and driving applications around the home. This combo kit features a cordless drill driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw and handy work light. The 20-Volt Max battery packs are compatible with all BLACK+DECKER 20-Volt max tools and accessories.
           

          are the tools new or reconditioned ?

          Asked by
          bear
          November 26, 2016
          are the tools new or reconditioned ?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          January 17, 2017
          Answer: 
          New
           
          The BLACK+DECKER BDCD2204KIT is perfect for tackling most cutting, drilling and driving applications around the home. This combo kit features a cordless drill driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw and handy work light. The 20-Volt Max battery packs are compatible with all BLACK+DECKER 20-Volt max tools and accessories.
           

          Is this drill 1/2" or 3/8" chuck ???

          Asked by
          Kit
          Independence, Mo.
          January 1, 2016
          I can't find out in the product overview or the specifications
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          January 17, 2017
          Answer: 
          The chuck is 3/8-inch.
           
          The BLACK+DECKER BDCD2204KIT is perfect for tackling most cutting, drilling and driving applications around the home. This combo kit features a cordless drill driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw and handy work light. The 20-Volt Max battery packs are compatible with all BLACK+DECKER 20-Volt max tools and accessories.
           

          Hello - does this kit come with one, or 2 batteries as pictured?

          Asked by
          jonathan
          chattanooga
          July 25, 2015
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          January 17, 2017
          Answer: 
          This set is supplied with two batteries.
           
          The BLACK+DECKER BDCD2204KIT is perfect for tackling most cutting, drilling and driving applications around the home. This combo kit features a cordless drill driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw and handy work light. The 20-Volt Max battery packs are compatible with all BLACK+DECKER 20-Volt max tools and accessories.
           

          The drill and reciprocating saw, are they variable speed ?

          Asked by
          Sparky2u
          November 30, 2016
          The drill and reciprocating saw, are they variable speed ?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          January 17, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes, both are variable speed tools, the drill also being reversible. In addition, the drill has a gearbox with two speed ranges.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 26 >>