Alleycat
  • Review count
    131
  • Helpfulness votes
    206
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 31, 2012
  • Last Review:
    June 12, 2016
 
  • Question count
    2
     
    • Answer count
      87
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        131
      • Helpfulness votes
        206
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 31, 2012
      • Last Review:
        June 12, 2016
       
      • Question count
        2
         
        • Answer count
          87
           
           
           
           
          Alleycat's Reviews
           
          The all in one Paint Station makes any painting project easy. Simply drop it in, lock it in to your ladder and have access to your paint, brushes, rollers, tools and more. No more trips up and down the ladder to retrieve important tools. Paint Station’s cover supports a quart or gallon size paint can.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great paint station and work table
          PostedJune 12, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I wish that this product had been available sooner. It is a greatly improved replacement for the folding shelf that was common in older wooden step ladders that are now of limited availability. The station slips over the top of the ladder and attaches firmly to the ladder so that the potential for a dropped painting tray is eliminated. Holders for three paint brushes, (including one brush wet well), a paint tape storage well, scraper slot, two screw driver holders and a magnetic pad for steel fastener/drill bits/screwdriver bit holding as well as a paint tray with cover are included. The tray cover has molded-in grooves for quart and gallon paint cans. The tray cleans up well after use. Read More
          I wish that this product had been available sooner. It is a greatly improved replacement for the folding shelf that was common in older wooden step ladders that are now of limited availability. The station slips over the top of the ladder and attaches firmly to the ladder so that the potential for a dropped painting tray is eliminated. Holders for three paint brushes, (including one brush wet well), a paint tape storage well, scraper slot, two screw driver holders and a magnetic pad for steel fastener/drill bits/screwdriver bit holding as well as a paint tray with cover are included. The tray cover has molded-in grooves for quart and gallon paint cans. The tray cleans up well after use.
          I have found this product very handy for other than painting projects as well. With the paint tray cover in place, it serves as a stable, elevated platform/work table to stow items for use such as fairly heavy cordless tools or items being installed. I found it a great aid for installing candelabra light fixtures, it providing support for the fixtures to facilitate release the chain tension while connecting and wiring the fixtures. I have used it to hold an empty corrugated carton to catch drywall dust and falling blown-in insulation while cutting a hole in a drywall ceiling to install a bathroom ceiling exhaust fan. For that project, it also served as a place to support the fan below the ceiling while I made electrical and flexible exhaust duct connections.
          This is a very handy product for homeowners, and for that matter, professionals, it saving time-consuming trips up and down ladders. I wish that I had gotten it sooner. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, attaches securely, great elevated work table
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Can Holster eliminates the mess from any painting project. Simply snap it on to your gallon paint can and keep the rim free from dripping paint. That means when putting the lid back, it is clean and easy and provides a tight seal for your paint can.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Ingenious and really handy product
          PostedJune 2, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I often open left-over gallons of paint the have been saved specifically for touchup work. For that type of activity, it makes little sense to transfer paint to another container for use, dirtying an extra container that would require cleaning. I have found this holster really handy when the painting activity involves touchup work, very effectively keeping paint out of the gallon can lid groove to help assure good resealing of the paint container after use. The brush holder feature is very handy, especially when working on a ladder, reducing the potential mess of a dropped paint-laden brush. This is a great addition to my tool collection for painting work.
          Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The EcoSmart B11 LED 40-Watt Equivalent Light Bulb and uses only 4-Watt and lasts up to 20,000 hours. This LED bulb is energy efficient, can last up to 18.3 years and saves you $79.20 in energy costs over its life. The bulb is designed for indoor use and features a candle shape and a candle base.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Just the right light color
          PostedJune 2, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I wanted these LED light bulbs specifically for an enclosed, outdoor lamp pole fixture on a ten foot tall lamp post. Before putting them to that use, I tried them in an indoor chandelier along with other 40 watt incandescent bulbs. I found that the light color from these LED bulbs is very close to the warm. pleasant color of the incandescent bulbs. They are quiet as well with very little hum or buzz that I have noticed with some LED bulbs, an important quality for indoor lamps in quiet indoor settings.
          With our outdoor lamp pole illumination from dusk until dawn using ordinary incandescent bulbs, the incandescent bulbs had filament failures about monthly, that likely due to the Read More
          I wanted these LED light bulbs specifically for an enclosed, outdoor lamp pole fixture on a ten foot tall lamp post. Before putting them to that use, I tried them in an indoor chandelier along with other 40 watt incandescent bulbs. I found that the light color from these LED bulbs is very close to the warm. pleasant color of the incandescent bulbs. They are quiet as well with very little hum or buzz that I have noticed with some LED bulbs, an important quality for indoor lamps in quiet indoor settings.
          With our outdoor lamp pole illumination from dusk until dawn using ordinary incandescent bulbs, the incandescent bulbs had filament failures about monthly, that likely due to the combination of long hours being lit and vibrations from winds that affect the unsheltered lamp pole fixture. These bulbs eliminate the unpleasant chore of frequent lamp replacement, a big advantage. In addition, these bulbs use only about ten percent of the power of equivalent 40 watt incandescent bulbs. Before installing them, I put these bulbs in our -10 degree freezer for several hours, noticing that they lit up promptly when very cold. The conclusion is that they will light properly when exposed to our cold winter weather.
          These bulbs are dimmable, but I did not try them in that application as my fixtures are not equipped with dimming capabilities. Read Less
          Pros: Eco-Friendly, nice color rendering, expected long life, Quiet
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Add versatility to your electrical outlets using the Polarized 3-Outlet Adapter from GE. Converting one polarized outlet into three, the adapter adds more outlets where you need them most. Thanks to the adapter's unique design, one of your outlets stay free and flexible at all times. Get more from your electrical outlets using the GE Polarized 3-Outlet Adapter.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Great for close-quarters installations
          PostedMay 31, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I bought several of these adapters for use where china and curio cabinets with lights are placed very close to the wall in front of outlets for lighting in the cabinets. They take the stress off of cords that should have, in the first place, been equipped with right angle plugs to reduce the potential for pinching cords and creating a fire hazard in the process. This product does the job well.
          Pros: takes stress of of cords
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          SecurityMan CARCAM-SDE is an easy-to-use high-definition (1080P Full HD) car camera recorder with a 1.5 in. LCD display and impact sensing recording. It records both audio and video with time and date stamp which can be used to pinpoint exactly when an event occurred. The events are recorded to a Micro SD card which can be used as evidence for auto insurance company, if there are any legal complications during an insurance claim. The CARCAM-SDE is perfect for all motorists and it is budget-friendly.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good Value Carcam
          PostedApril 21, 2016
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I have had this Security Man Carcam SDE for about nine months. I have used it on all trips since installation without issues. For the price, this Model SDE provides recordings that meet my desire to monitor conditions in event there is an accident to show what transpired. I am not particularly savvy when it comes to electronics, but was able to figure this thing out and get it to work easily. A minus is that the camera came without the required microSD card. The video quality is not what I would call HD compared to the HD video cameras I have monitoring my home, but that is not a big issue. I consider this product to be fine for the low price. I appreciated this product enough to buy the Read More
          I have had this Security Man Carcam SDE for about nine months. I have used it on all trips since installation without issues. For the price, this Model SDE provides recordings that meet my desire to monitor conditions in event there is an accident to show what transpired. I am not particularly savvy when it comes to electronics, but was able to figure this thing out and get it to work easily. A minus is that the camera came without the required microSD card. The video quality is not what I would call HD compared to the HD video cameras I have monitoring my home, but that is not a big issue. I consider this product to be fine for the low price. I appreciated this product enough to buy the updated version, Carcam SDEII for my main car. Read Less
          Pros: Compact, Easy Installation, Easy to Use, low price
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 27 >>
           
          Alleycat's Questions
           
          Suitable for residential and hotel bathroom renovations, the Panasonic WhisperFit EZ Dual-Speed Exhaust Fan includes a 4 in.-to-3 in. duct adapter to fit smaller-diameter ductwork. The fan features a low-profile housing and includes a Flex-Z bracket for fast, flexible and easy installation. It offers two fan speeds (80 CFM or 110 CFM) to circulate air in your bathroom, thereby inhibiting mildew buildup and fogged-up mirrors. It operates ultra-quietly on low speed at just 0.3 sone, keeping background bathroom noise to a minimum.
           

          Will the Flex-Z Fast bracket extend far enough for mounting on joists that are spaced 24 inches on-center?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 2, 2016
           
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Eliminate shower clutter with Zenith's Stainless Steel Shower Head Caddy. The stainless steel construction provides durable rust-free performance as well as aesthetic appeal. Two spacious shelves and a soap tray can accommodate a wide variety of bathroom products. These shelves are self-draining, so standing water will not damage your stored items. Hang your razors by using curved wire located in the front of each shelf. Additionally, this premium caddy features hooks for hanging storage of loofahs, shower poufs, washcloths, and more. This caddy is stabilized by a non-slip PVC shower head grip and suction cups, which will prevent swaying and keep the caddy secure on your shower head. This efficient and stylish storage device arrives fully assembled and ready to provide valuable storage space in your home shower. Zenith's toll-free USA based Customer Service department is available (800-892-3986) to answer any additional questions.
           

          Is this really constructed of stainless steel or is it just plated steel that will, in the end rust?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          October 24, 2014
           
          Alleycat's Answers
           
          Loud clear sound. Built for work. Featuring a high-performance audio system and rugged design, the M18 Jobsite Radio is built to amplify and survive the jobsite. Dual speakers and passive radiators combine to produce sharp highs, rich midst and deep bass at all volumes. Durable metal speaker grills and shock absorbing end caps protect from drops and other harmful jobsite conditions while integrated handles allow for easy transport and storage. Listening options include a digital processor with best-in-class reception and signal clarity or a 3.5 mm aux jack for wired playback. A weather-sealed auxiliary compartment protects devices and houses a 2.1 Amp USB charging port. The M18 Jobsite Radio is powered by all M18 REDLITHIUM Batteries or A/C power.
           

          Mine completely lost power, what can I do to fix it

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          June 14, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          June 22, 2016
          Answer: 
          My :advice is to find a Milwaukee Tool Service Center, perhaps calling one to find out how to proceed. I have found Milwaukee Tool warranty policies and service outstandingly good. Start here: https://www.milwaukeetool.com/service
           
          Available in assorted colors and varieties Knockout Roses are easy to grow and easy to care for. They are beautiful planted among shrubs, annuals and perennials in mixed beds or borders. For optimal performance, cut back once a year in Spring after the last threat of frost to promote new growth.
           

          Can you grow knockout roses in planters? I do not want to dig a hole to plant them.

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          dublin, georgia
          April 24, 2015
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          June 13, 2016
          Answer: 
          Putting them in planters will impede growth and may result in loss of the plants during cold winters, if the planters are left outdoors, the issue being repeated freeze/thaws of the root system.
           
          Available in assorted colors and varieties Knockout Roses are easy to grow and easy to care for. They are beautiful planted among shrubs, annuals and perennials in mixed beds or borders. For optimal performance, cut back once a year in Spring after the last threat of frost to promote new growth.
           

          I live in Pa.Is this a good rosebush for our weather ? When is the best time to plant these?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          May 20, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          June 13, 2016
          Answer: 
          This rose was developed in Wisconsin where I live. Winter weather in WI gets as cold or colder than PA. In WI winters, it freezes to the ground or to the winter mulch level. It springs back to life in WI springs. from new sprouts low on the plant. I simply cut it back to below the freeze damage level and end up with great blooms and two-ft. high bushes by June. I lived in GA for 14 years, planting this Read More
          This rose was developed in Wisconsin where I live. Winter weather in WI gets as cold or colder than PA. In WI winters, it freezes to the ground or to the winter mulch level. It springs back to life in WI springs. from new sprouts low on the plant. I simply cut it back to below the freeze damage level and end up with great blooms and two-ft. high bushes by June. I lived in GA for 14 years, planting this rose there where it is not affected by the moderate freezes, outside of losing the leaves in late winter. . In GA, I ended up with 8 ft. high plants, cutting them back to 2 ft. high each second spring to control them. This is a very disease-resistant rose, even in humid GA. Read Less
           
          This 1-Step Steel Step Stool Ladder from Gorilla Ladders features a large, oversized platform step for comfort and stability. Sturdy steel construction keeps you safe when climbing, and the comfort grip makes transport and storage easy. The self-locking step adds an extra element of security and ensures safe and easy use for all ages, ideal for the home, office or classroom.
           

          Where i can buy this 1-step steel stool ladder?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          June 4, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          June 10, 2016
          Answer: 
          This product was manufactured by Gorilla Ladders, their website being www.gorillaladders.net. Their website no longer displays this product, it apparently having been discontinued.
           
          The EcoSmart B11 LED 40-Watt Equivalent Light Bulb and uses only 4-Watt and lasts up to 20,000 hours. This LED bulb is energy efficient, can last up to 18.3 years and saves you $79.20 in energy costs over its life. The bulb is designed for indoor use and features a candle shape and a candle base.
           

          Does this LED have a candelabra base?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          tampa
          May 26, 2016
          I want to replace my incandescent candelabra bulbs in my lanterns at my front door (outside). will the bases on this LED fit?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          June 2, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 18 >>