Alleycat
  • Review count
    118
  • Helpfulness votes
    192
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 31, 2012
  • Last Review:
    February 9, 2016
 
  • Question count
    1
     
    • Answer count
      65
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        118
      • Helpfulness votes
        192
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 31, 2012
      • Last Review:
        February 9, 2016
       
      • Question count
        1
         
        • Answer count
          65
           
           
           
           
          Alleycat's Reviews
           
          Easy to install, this Morgan Slow-Close Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat with NoSlip Bumpers in White will provide years of reliable use. Delta toilet seats are thoughtfully designed and engineered for outstanding functionality and durability. The innovative NoSlip seat bumpers improve stability for extra comfort while the slow-close feature prevents the seat from slamming shut. Includes mounting hardware and installation instructions for DIY peace of mind.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A good seat for the price and really silent during closing
          PostedFebruary 9, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This all-plastic seat is very easy to install and looks great. The lid edge style is squared off a bit in a way that fits well with contemporary-style toilets.. It fits the oval shape of our elongated toilet bowl like it was designed specifically for the bowl on that toilet brand that happens to be American Standard. The seat bottom has four softer "feet" that are shaped to a fit the bowl rim in a way that prevents slipping when one is seated. The all-plastic construction should result in long life as there are no metal parts that are exposed to the effects of corrosion. The slow-closing feature works well and is practically silent.
          One item I noticed is that the profile of the seat places Read More
          This all-plastic seat is very easy to install and looks great. The lid edge style is squared off a bit in a way that fits well with contemporary-style toilets.. It fits the oval shape of our elongated toilet bowl like it was designed specifically for the bowl on that toilet brand that happens to be American Standard. The seat bottom has four softer "feet" that are shaped to a fit the bowl rim in a way that prevents slipping when one is seated. The all-plastic construction should result in long life as there are no metal parts that are exposed to the effects of corrosion. The slow-closing feature works well and is practically silent.
          One item I noticed is that the profile of the seat places the seat top a full 2-1/4 inches above the bowl rim when down, this being at least a quarter inch higher than all three of the other different brand toilet seats we have in our home. This relatively high profile results in the seat not falling against the lid when open and against the toilet tank. This is a only a minor issue.
          The only feature that I would like added is a toggle arrangement for quick seat removal for cleaning, a feature that we have on one of our other slow-closing seats that we purchased from The Home Depot. Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Install, Sleek, silent when closing
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Move more water to clean more quickly with the Unger AquaDozer Floor Squeegee. It's ideal for smooth surfaces, such as concrete and asphalt. Use it in residential and commercial applications.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great for the Garage
          PostedJanuary 25, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have a three-car garage in WI that is heated to 40 degrees F. That means that the salty slush that builds up in wheel wells during the winter season melts off the vehicles in our garage and makes a mess of the floors. This squeegee works great to push the salty water and slush out of the garage after I back a vehicle out and leave the overhead door open briefly to do so. The forward-curved bar above the rubber facilitates pushing out fairly large clumps the icy slush without allowing them to go over the squeegee in the process. I occasionally deploy garden hose to wet down the floor and use this squeegee to mostly dry the floor by pushing the water outside through the open doors. This is a Read More
          I have a three-car garage in WI that is heated to 40 degrees F. That means that the salty slush that builds up in wheel wells during the winter season melts off the vehicles in our garage and makes a mess of the floors. This squeegee works great to push the salty water and slush out of the garage after I back a vehicle out and leave the overhead door open briefly to do so. The forward-curved bar above the rubber facilitates pushing out fairly large clumps the icy slush without allowing them to go over the squeegee in the process. I occasionally deploy garden hose to wet down the floor and use this squeegee to mostly dry the floor by pushing the water outside through the open doors. This is a professional-grade product that should last a long time. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Honeywell A19 LED bulb allows you to efficiently light your home and save money on electric bills annually. With an extended life, this 9.5-Watt A19 bulb replaces your 60-Watt incandescent lights. $1.14 energy cost per year savings based on 3 hours/day for 22.8 years of life.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          So Far, the Best 60W LED Dimmable Bulb I've Found
          PostedJanuary 25, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have been looking for a while for a 60W equivalent LED bulb that will work in our garage door openers. This one fills the bill. The difference between this bulb and other "standard" LED 60W bulbs is that this bulb is sized and shaped very much like a standard 60W incandescent bulb. The critical issue for our garage door openers is whether or not the center contact of the bulb makes contact with the center electrical contact point inside the socket. For all other LED bulbs I have tried in our garage door openers, the larger diameter shoulder of the bulb above the screw base prevents the bulbs from being screwed into the socket far enough to reliably complete the center electrical Read More
          I have been looking for a while for a 60W equivalent LED bulb that will work in our garage door openers. This one fills the bill. The difference between this bulb and other "standard" LED 60W bulbs is that this bulb is sized and shaped very much like a standard 60W incandescent bulb. The critical issue for our garage door openers is whether or not the center contact of the bulb makes contact with the center electrical contact point inside the socket. For all other LED bulbs I have tried in our garage door openers, the larger diameter shoulder of the bulb above the screw base prevents the bulbs from being screwed into the socket far enough to reliably complete the center electrical contact.
          The light from these LED bulbs is truly warm in color with no noticeable hint of blue. These bulbs illuminate instantly even in our cold, unheated garage and make no noticeable noise. I checked all three bulbs in the package by placing them in a-three bulb fixture with dimmer. They all cast the same light intensity and color. One thing I have learned is that for multiple-bulb fixtures, is that it is best to replace all bulbs in the fixture with the same LED product. Otherwise the light intensity and/or the color of the light may be different. These bulbs work well in table lamps as they cast more light downward and toward the bulb base than some other LED bulbs I have tried. Read Less
          Pros: Nice Design, Eco-Friendly, truly warm color, right shape and size
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This Best trylon brush is made with a unique proprietary blend of ingredients which allows it to pick up and release more paint. It performs great in high heat and humidity. It offers better leveling with today's heavy-bodied, fast drying, low/no VOC paints.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A good brush for cutting in
          PostedJanuary 3, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I am in the midst of painting six large rooms using latex wall paint on drywall with knock-down drywall texturing. This is an excellent brush for doing the cut-in work for this project, the oval shape effectively carrying enough paint to the surface, at the same time providing the taper needed to cut in nicely against door and window trim that, for our home, is stained clear polyurethane finished wood. The brush handle is just the right length and is quite comfortable in use. The brush cleans up well for latex paints using warm (not hot) water with bar soap and a brush comb. I have two of these brushes, expecting both to survive this project for reuse based on wear so far, despite the fact Read More
          I am in the midst of painting six large rooms using latex wall paint on drywall with knock-down drywall texturing. This is an excellent brush for doing the cut-in work for this project, the oval shape effectively carrying enough paint to the surface, at the same time providing the taper needed to cut in nicely against door and window trim that, for our home, is stained clear polyurethane finished wood. The brush handle is just the right length and is quite comfortable in use. The brush cleans up well for latex paints using warm (not hot) water with bar soap and a brush comb. I have two of these brushes, expecting both to survive this project for reuse based on wear so far, despite the fact that I anticipate going through 30 gallons of paint for this project. Read Less
          Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, comfortable handle
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Easy to install, this Wycliffe Slow-Close Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat with NoSlip Bumpers in White will provide years of reliable use. Delta toilet seats are thoughtfully designed and engineered for outstanding functionality and durability. The innovative NoSlip seat bumpers improve stability for extra comfort while the slow-close feature prevents the seat from slamming shut. Includes mounting hardware and installation instructions for DIY peace of mind.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A fine product for the price
          PostedJanuary 3, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This all-plastic seat is very easy to install and looks great. We especially like the ogee-style lid edge that goes well with the style of our toilets that all happen to be by American Standard. It fits the oval shape of our elongated toilet bowl like it was designed specifically for the bowl on that toilet brand. The seat bottom has four softer "feet" that are shaped to a fit the bowl rim in a way that prevents slipping when one is seated. The all-plastic construction should result in long life as there are no metal parts that are exposed to the effects of corrosion. The slow-closing feature works well and is practically silent.
          One item I noticed is that the profile of the seat places the Read More
          This all-plastic seat is very easy to install and looks great. We especially like the ogee-style lid edge that goes well with the style of our toilets that all happen to be by American Standard. It fits the oval shape of our elongated toilet bowl like it was designed specifically for the bowl on that toilet brand. The seat bottom has four softer "feet" that are shaped to a fit the bowl rim in a way that prevents slipping when one is seated. The all-plastic construction should result in long life as there are no metal parts that are exposed to the effects of corrosion. The slow-closing feature works well and is practically silent.
          One item I noticed is that the profile of the seat places the seat top a full 2-1/4 inches above the bowl rim when down, this being at least a quarter inch higher than all three of the other different brand toilet seats we have in our home. This relatively high profile results in the seat not falling against the lid when open and against the toilet tank. This is a only a minor issue. The only added feature that I would like added is a toggle arrangement for quick seat removal for cleaning, a feature that we have on one of our other slow-closing seats that we purchased from The Home Depot. Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, Durable, Easy to Install
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 24 >>
           
          Alleycat's Questions
           
          Eliminate shower clutter with Zenith's Stainless Steel Shower Head Caddy. The stainless steel construction provides durable rust-free performance as well as aesthetic appeal. Two spacious shelves and a soap tray can accommodate a wide variety of bathroom products. These shelves are self-draining, so standing water will not damage your stored items. Hang your razors by using curved wire located in the front of each shelf. Additionally, this premium caddy features hooks for hanging storage of loofahs, shower poufs, washcloths, and more. This caddy is stabilized by a non-slip PVC shower head grip and suction cups, which will prevent swaying and keep the caddy secure on your shower head. This efficient and stylish storage device arrives fully assembled and ready to provide valuable storage space in your home shower. Zenith's toll-free USA based Customer Service department is available (800-892-3986) to answer any additional questions.
           

          Is this really constructed of stainless steel or is it just plated steel that will, in the end rust?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          October 24, 2014
           
          Alleycat's Answers
           
          The Honeywell A19 LED bulb allows you to efficiently light your home and save money on electric bills annually. With an extended life, this 9.5-Watt A19 bulb replaces your 60-Watt incandescent lights. $1.14 energy cost per year savings based on 3 hours/day for 22.8 years of life.
           

          Daylight or Warm Light?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          January 17, 2016
          There is a conflict on description here ... one says daylight and another says 2700K warm white light appearance ... So which one is it ... 5000K for Daylight or 2700K for Warm?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          January 25, 2016
          Answer: 
          Warm Light
           
          The 3-Light Oil Rubbed Bronze fixed track lighting kit from Lithonia Lighting allows you to direct energy efficient LED lighting wherever you need. Using only 4.5-Watt of energy per bulb (included), this fixture only uses an estimated $1.63 of energy per year. The sleek look of the fixture allows you to upgrade any room in your house, while saving you money over the life of the fixture over other light sources.
           

          what's the diameter of the round "box" that goes against the ceiling with the wiring inside?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          allentown, pa
          November 16, 2015
          Want to make sure that my ceiling beam is wide enough so that the fixture "box" isn't larger than the beam it will be hanging from.
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          November 18, 2015
          Answer: 
          The round escutcheon for this fixture is 5 and 1/2 inches in diameter.
           
          Rust-Oleum 12 oz. High Heat Flat Black Enamel Spray Paint (Case of 6) is a tough protective enamel that renews and protects surfaces subject to intermittent heat up to 2000°F (1093°C). This rust-preventive formula is ideal for automotive parts and more. Rust-Oleum Stops Rust Formula.
           

          Can this be used on a stove? How easy is it to clean the painted surface?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          November 9, 2015
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, Wi
          November 14, 2015
          Answer: 
          I used this product for a steel fireplace firebox liner with success, so I expect it will also work on a stove.
           
          Milorganite 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer is good for promoting healthy growth of lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers. The non burning formula doesn't have to be watered-in. It is fortified with 4% iron to help produce thick, green lawns without excessive growth. It doesn't contain any salts, so it is good for use in drought conditions.
           

          I'm fairly sure I have take all root rot in my lawn and one suggestion is to use ammonium sulfate and urea containing fertilizers and other methods to

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Ft Myers Fl
          October 28, 2015
          Lower soil ph. Will milorganite help with this?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, Wi
          October 29, 2015
          Answer: 
          Milorganite will do little as far as changing the pH of soil is concerned. Plain elemental sulfur is probably the easiest and most common way to make soil more acidic. It is inexpensive and relatively safe and can be spread on top of the soil. Since sulfur is slow-acting, you shouldn’t apply more than 2 pounds per 100 square feet at a time.
           
          Milorganite 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer is good for promoting healthy growth of lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers. The non burning formula doesn't have to be watered-in. It is fortified with 4% iron to help produce thick, green lawns without excessive growth. It doesn't contain any salts, so it is good for use in drought conditions.
           

          Iron Staining

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          Venice
          October 21, 2015
          Does Milorganite stain concrete as does other nitrogen based fertilizers?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, Wi
          October 23, 2015
          Answer: 
          Milorganite does not stain concrete. It composted organic material that has had a lot of exposure to water, that making it essentially non-staining. I do not hesitate to use it even in wet conditions when it is likely to fall on concrete sidewalks and driveways.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>