Allan
  • Review count
    56
  • Helpfulness votes
    131
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 10, 2013
  • Last Review:
    February 11, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      21
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        56
      • Helpfulness votes
        131
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 10, 2013
      • Last Review:
        February 11, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          21
           
           
           
           
          Allan's Reviews
           
          Bring the classic woven wicker style to your outdoor space with this elegant 3-piece patio bistro set from the Posada Collection by Hampton Bay. Perfect for sharing drinks or snacks, the set includes 2 luxuriously cushioned arm chairs and a 28 in. painted glass top bistro table with a woven rim, all in neutral gray tones to blend with any decor. The solid, powder-coated steel frames ensure that this set will provide outdoor enjoyment for years to come.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          High Quality for the Price
          PostedFebruary 11, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This Bistro patio set arrived without damage despite being shipped a long distance, the packaging being very well-designed. The frame is of all steel construction with high-quality welds and painted finish. Some assembly is required, specifically involving the table, that being quite easy. Stainless steel fasteners are provided for use in the table assembly which, along with the good-looking paint finish, should result in good corrosion resistance. The table top is quarter inch gray translucent glass. The vinyl wicker used in the chairs and on the table edging is thick and tough. The chairs nest for easy storage. The chair cushions have straps to keep them on the chairs on windy days. Read More
          This Bistro patio set arrived without damage despite being shipped a long distance, the packaging being very well-designed. The frame is of all steel construction with high-quality welds and painted finish. Some assembly is required, specifically involving the table, that being quite easy. Stainless steel fasteners are provided for use in the table assembly which, along with the good-looking paint finish, should result in good corrosion resistance. The table top is quarter inch gray translucent glass. The vinyl wicker used in the chairs and on the table edging is thick and tough. The chairs nest for easy storage. The chair cushions have straps to keep them on the chairs on windy days. Overall, this is a great-looking set that we are placing on the patio at the main entrance to our home. We like the chair seat height, it being higher than that for regular patio seating, that making it easy to get in and out of them. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The EcoSmart 3-Way Light 10 watt (60W) LED Light Bulb can replace a standard 60 watt bulb. The LED bulb puts out 810 Lumens with 10 watt of power and can last up to 18.26 years for extended use, saving you up to $110 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. The bulb is designed for indoor use and features an A-line shape and medium base.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          The Warm Color is Welcome
          PostedFebruary 11, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This the is the first LED 3-way lamp for our home, it having the right warm color rendering for a 2700k rated bulb. Higher k ratings are too cold and blue in color for reading or pleasant indoor illumination from my perspective. The light level equivalents from this bulb are advertised at 25 watts, 40 watts and 60 watts. We use it mostly at the 25-watt equivalent as a night light. This is a product that I would buy again, if in need of at three-way bulb with these light levels.
          Pros: Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Unbranded Premium Expandable Shower Caddy for Hand Held Shower or Tall Bottles in Chrome with Nickel Accent
          Unbranded Premium Expandable Shower Caddy for Hand Held Shower or Tall Bottles in Chrome with Nickel Accent
          Eliminate clutter in your shower with this functional Expanding Handheld Shower Head Caddy. Featuring a two-tone finish and bold decorative bands, this shower caddy adds distinctive aesthetic appeal. Due to the patented Swivel Lock collar and suction cups, this caddy will stay in place while in use. The shelves slide back and forth to help fit those extra tall shampoo bottles. Have a hand held shower? No problem! Simply slide the shelves outward and tuck the flexible shower hose between the shelves. Four small hooks at the bottom of the unit allow you to hang razors, washcloths or poufs. The wire shelves allow excess water to drain, enabling your items to dry more effectively.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A Heavy-duty caddy
          PostedFebruary 11, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is a larger shower caddy than previous models I have purchased. It is also constructed of heavier wire than most others. It holds those large bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body wash that do not fit in many other caddies of this type. It has a good-looking finish, the nickel accent being a nice touch to hide water spotting that polished chrome would otherwise reveal. Because of the heavy weight and fairly large size, I hung this unit on an upside down stair rail bracket fastened to the wall, because if hung from the shower goose neck pipe, it would be in the way of the hand held shower hose. The stair rail bracket I used as a caddy hanger is from The Home Depot, Internet # Read More
          This is a larger shower caddy than previous models I have purchased. It is also constructed of heavier wire than most others. It holds those large bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body wash that do not fit in many other caddies of this type. It has a good-looking finish, the nickel accent being a nice touch to hide water spotting that polished chrome would otherwise reveal. Because of the heavy weight and fairly large size, I hung this unit on an upside down stair rail bracket fastened to the wall, because if hung from the shower goose neck pipe, it would be in the way of the hand held shower hose. The stair rail bracket I used as a caddy hanger is from The Home Depot, Internet # 203725886. Read Less
          Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The HDX Microfiber Ceiling Fan Duster has a bendable head, allowing horizontal surfaces to be wiped clean of dust and grime. The threaded handle allows you to attach to a pole. This duster grabs and holds dust from ledges, furniture and other large flat surfaces.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great Idea
          PostedJanuary 23, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          One thing we hate to do is ladder work, especially that required to clean dust ceiling fan blades, the tops of ceiling fan motors plus metal and glass shades and globes for light fixtures. This microfiber duster does the job on all, the finger projections picking up and holding dust like a magnet grabs and holds steel filings. The ceilings in our home vary from eleven to seventeen feet, this making quick work of dusting all seven of our ceiling fans. Bend the duster to the right L-shaped configuration, screw it to an extension pole (the type used for paint rolling) and dust way with both feet flat on the floor. I used a vacuum cleaner to remove the collected dust after used on every fixture Read More
          One thing we hate to do is ladder work, especially that required to clean dust ceiling fan blades, the tops of ceiling fan motors plus metal and glass shades and globes for light fixtures. This microfiber duster does the job on all, the finger projections picking up and holding dust like a magnet grabs and holds steel filings. The ceilings in our home vary from eleven to seventeen feet, this making quick work of dusting all seven of our ceiling fans. Bend the duster to the right L-shaped configuration, screw it to an extension pole (the type used for paint rolling) and dust way with both feet flat on the floor. I used a vacuum cleaner to remove the collected dust after used on every fixture and fan, it working great to clean the duster, making it ready for the next item. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective, dusts more than just fans
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The QEP 62970 3 in. Stainless Steel Chisel Scraper offers a hammer end to be used to add power while scraping. Comfortable rubber handle with non-slip thumb rest makes it easier to use, without slipping. This durable scraper is a multi-functioning tool that is ideal for removal of paint, adhesive and debris from most surfaces. It also can be used to spread materials including caulk, putty and grout.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          End the skinned knuckles with this chisel scraper
          PostedJanuary 23, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have skinned my knuckles repeatedly while scraping on rough surfaces, such as when scraping chewing gum wads that visitors and those passing by have dropped on our sidewalk. The bend in the blade about 1.5 inches below the handle is just enough to address that issue for me. The blade metal is extended through the handle, terminating at the handle end with a metal cap to facilitate striking the handle end with a hammer. This appears to be a sturdy tool that will last for years, it having a comfortable handle to boot.
          Pros: High Quality of Material, Comfortable, chisel blade end, made to be hammered
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>
           
          Allan's Questions
           
          Allan has not submitted any questions.
           
          Allan's Answers
           
          Use the Milwaukee 11-in-1 5 in. Multi-Tip Screwdriver for your driving needs. The screwdriver offers a 5 in. shaft that holds up to 9 bits so you can carry fewer drivers. It contains hardened tips ranging in size from #1 to #2 and features a rubber handle for comfort.
           

          where are the bits?

          Asked by
          James
          Colleyville, TX
          October 11, 2014
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          October 16, 2014
          Answer: 
          They are self-stored in the shaft of the driver, not in the handle. That makes for a sturdy handle with no potential for a top cap to come off or break.
           
          Traditional styling with a contemporary flair. The Portsmouth features the Champion 4 flushing system for virtually clog free performance. The Champion 4 system features the industry's largest flush valve. It achieves a maximum MaP score rating of 1,000 g. You may never have to use your plunger again. It also helps keep itself cleaner with our exclusive EverClean surface. And it's all backed by a 10 year warranty on china and trim. Generating a faster and more powerful flush. You may never have to use a plunger again.
           

          The American Standard on your site, does this include the bowl and the tank. Also will it come with the seat shown in the picture?

          Asked by
          Browny32
          Augusta, Ga.
          December 21, 2011
          model #2733.014.020
          internet # 202499514
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          December 11, 2013
          Answer: 
          The seat is NOT included.
           
          The LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Extra Large Capacity Gas Steam Dryer features 9 drying programs, including SteamFresh, SteamSanitary, heavy duty, delicate and towel cycles. The LoDecibel motor minimizes noise for quiet operation, and the intelligent electronic control panel makes it easy to find the right setting. This dryer has a 7.3 cu. ft. capacity to accommodate large loads and help save you time and energy.
           

          What size gas line is needed?

          Asked by
          Doug
          August 14, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          August 14, 2013
          Answer: 
          Most gas dryer lines, at least near the connector, are 1/2-inch, so a pipe that size should be adequate. I have seen 1/2-black iron feed pipes to dryers at least seven feet long. Of course, the size of the piping diameter needed can depend on the length of the run to the dryer, a larger size likely needed for long runs.
           
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can I buy the steam washing machine, but only purchase the regular front load dryer and they match?

          Asked by
          Takeisha
          Dallas, TX
          July 3, 2013
          Is it necessary for me to purchase the steam dryer along with the steam washing machine? What is the benefit of steaming clothes both times if done in the washer, then the dryer? I'm thinking I would prefer to purchase the steam washing machine and purchase the regular front load dryer without the steam option to save a few bucks. Will they match?
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          July 3, 2013
          Answer: 
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for Read More
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for the best price at the time. We wanted a match in appearance, so bought the pair. These LG's are great machines for the price. Read Less
           
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can you wash waterproof items (sneakers, mattress pads) in the LG front loader?

          Asked by
          KathleenW
          Tallahassee, FL
          June 22, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          June 23, 2013
          Answer: 
          These items are washable and can be washed in this LG machine. We do that very thing regularly with our machine.