Allan
  • Review count
    46
  • Helpfulness votes
    124
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 10, 2013
  • Last Review:
    December 3, 2014
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      21
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        46
      • Helpfulness votes
        124
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 10, 2013
      • Last Review:
        December 3, 2014
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          21
           
           
           
           
          Allan's Reviews
           
          Eliminate clutter in your shower with the rust-proof Aluminum Shower Caddy. It’s made from durable aluminum material that will never rust. A unique riveted frame and press-fit wire construction eliminates rust-prone welds and plating imperfections. Thick flatstock basket rim and frame offer strength and durability. There is a limited lifetime warranty to protect against material corrosion.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Simply will not rust
          PostedDecember 3, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          I have had issues with other shower caddy products that are plated steel or even stainless steel. Eventually most, if not all, of the steel products will show rust. This caddy has the added advantage that the finish is dull to begin with so that it does not show hard water or soap stains like shiny plated products of this type. The suction cups supplied with this product would best be redesigned as they do not hold the product in place well, even when new. I reused the suction cups from the old rusty caddy that I discarded, those holding the caddy in place better than the suction cups that come with this product. Take care when installing the suction cups as the wires they attach to will Read More
          I have had issues with other shower caddy products that are plated steel or even stainless steel. Eventually most, if not all, of the steel products will show rust. This caddy has the added advantage that the finish is dull to begin with so that it does not show hard water or soap stains like shiny plated products of this type. The suction cups supplied with this product would best be redesigned as they do not hold the product in place well, even when new. I reused the suction cups from the old rusty caddy that I discarded, those holding the caddy in place better than the suction cups that come with this product. Take care when installing the suction cups as the wires they attach to will likely bend unless lubricated as aluminum is fairly soft. I normally do not support our shower caddies from the shower head gooseneck supply pipe, supporting the caddy, instead, from a common stair rail bracket turned upside down. For two our of the three showers that have plastic liner panels, the gooseneck supply pipe penetrates the wall above the liner panel so that hanging the caddy from the gooseneck pipe makes it tend to slide down the pipe and toward the shower head. Hanging from the bracket offers the advantage of placing the caddy away from the hose line from the portable-style shower heads we use. I have attached a photo of the type of stair rail bracket I use. Of course, in this application, I discard the holding clip that is normally used to attach the stair rail bracket to the handrail. Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great
          Cons: poor suction cups
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The casual design of the Phoebe Towel Ring has linear elements that contribute to a fresh and clean look for your bathroom. Crafted from die-cast zinc for long lasting quality and durability. Installation hardware is included for your convenience.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice finish and neat mounting system
          PostedNovember 27, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          I added this second Delta Phoebe-style towel ring after installing the first in our main bath about a year ago. What I really like about this style of bath hardware is the high quality of the brushed nickel finish and the mounting method. To mount, all one needs to do to install this ring is to drill a couple of holes in the drywall for attaching the mounting bracket to the wall with the screw/fastener system provided. The towel ring base snaps into and is held in place by the bracket. Installing the ring onto the bracket is a matter of an upward push and pivot toward the wall that sets a holding spring into a groove that holds the ring base firmly in place. Taking the ring down is a simple Read More
          I added this second Delta Phoebe-style towel ring after installing the first in our main bath about a year ago. What I really like about this style of bath hardware is the high quality of the brushed nickel finish and the mounting method. To mount, all one needs to do to install this ring is to drill a couple of holes in the drywall for attaching the mounting bracket to the wall with the screw/fastener system provided. The towel ring base snaps into and is held in place by the bracket. Installing the ring onto the bracket is a matter of an upward push and pivot toward the wall that sets a holding spring into a groove that holds the ring base firmly in place. Taking the ring down is a simple matter of another upward push and a pivot away from the wall at the top. That means no more set screws that can corrode or strip. The unique toilet paper dispenser that is available in this style as well as the towel bars and three garment clothing hook mount the same secure and convenient way. This mounting system makes it easy to remove and reinstall the Phoebe hardware to repaint the walls behind the hardware. Read Less
          Pros: Looks Great, High Quality, great mouning system
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          FliK is a EVO lectionary new tool that delivers industrial strength and professional grade functionality within a compact design meant for everyday use. Combines one-handed deployment of pliers with outboard tools and a saw. Our patented Saf. T .Plus locking system assures tool components stay in place while in use.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Handy for the traveler
          PostedNovember 26, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          I put this multi-tool in my car as I am on the road a lot. Having screwdrivers, small knives, scissors, multi-purpose pliers (wire cutter, needle nose and gripping tool) has already come in handy while traveling during the short time I have had it. This tool is relatively small, but fits the hand well. It is corrosion resistant, has a good finish and is of high overall quality.
          Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, good finish
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Olympia Tools is a widely recognized brand of hardware products designed for True Professionals who takes their tools seriously. Each piece is made to exacting tolerances and tested to ensure that it meets and exceeds industry standards so that it meet your needs on the jobsite, shop or on home projects. Olympia goes all out to bring award winning innovation and quality to each product: the appearance, fit and finish of every Olympia product will make you proud you own the very best. Olympia Tools Turbo Driver features a ratchet handle made of ABS and nylon and a carbon steel body for long lasting durability.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Unusual, but Handy
          PostedNovember 10, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          This is an unusual tool that is made for octagonal fasteners, perhaps best-suited as a substitute for the handyman who does not want to carry complete sets of small hex head metric and standard sockets and a driver in a too-big toolbox like me. I find it handy because it adjusts automatically to many different sizes of screw heats and hex nuts, providing good grip and adequate torque with the twist of a wrist. I think that it would provide a nice gift for a homeowner who is not committed to buying a lot of tools.
          Pros: Easy to Use, All In One
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Philips SlimStyle 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) A19 Dimmable LED Light Bulb is the same size as a traditional A19 light bulb but with a new, sleek, flat design. Fully dimmable and with a medium base, this bulb replaces your current 60W incandescent A19 and costs about 1.26 per year in energy costs. This 10.5W bulb uses 28.88 of electricity over its 25,000 hour life, a 136.13 savings when compared to the 165 required to run a 60W, 800-lumen bulb over the same period. Philips SlimStyle A19 LED provides 360 degree, all around light. The unique shape of the Philips SilmStyle allows it to be used in more applications than your traditional A19, including table lamps, floor lamps and wall sconces.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Not Noisy and Good Light Color for Work Area
          PostedNovember 10, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          I tried one of these for my workshop after accidentally breaking a CFL while moving an object near the ceiling. Others have complained about this product being noisy. I have noticed no such thing. In fact, I liked the first one enough that I have purchased more to replace the rest of the CFLs in my workshop. The lamp is bright and lacks the blue hue of earlier LEDs that I find objectionable. The light cast from this LED lamp is just as bright as that cast from a 23 watt CFL, it using only about half the power.
          Pros: right light spectrum
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>
           
          Allan's Questions
           
          Allan has not submitted any questions.
           
          Allan's Answers
           
          Use the Milwaukee 11-in-1 5 in. Multi-Tip Screwdriver for your driving needs. The screwdriver offers a 5 in. shaft that holds up to 9 bits so you can carry fewer drivers. It contains hardened tips ranging in size from #1 to #2 and features a rubber handle for comfort.
           

          where are the bits?

          Asked by
          James
          Colleyville, TX
          October 11, 2014
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          October 16, 2014
          Answer: 
          They are self-stored in the shaft of the driver, not in the handle. That makes for a sturdy handle with no potential for a top cap to come off or break.
           
          Traditional styling with a contemporary flair. The Portsmouth features the Champion 4 flushing system for virtually clog free performance. The Champion 4 system features the industry's largest flush valve. It achieves a maximum MaP score rating of 1,000 g. You may never have to use your plunger again. It also helps keep itself cleaner with our exclusive EverClean surface. And it's all backed by a 10 year warranty on china and trim. Generating a faster and more powerful flush. You may never have to use a plunger again.
           

          The American Standard on your site, does this include the bowl and the tank. Also will it come with the seat shown in the picture?

          Asked by
          Browny32
          Augusta, Ga.
          December 21, 2011
          model #2733.014.020
          internet # 202499514
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          December 11, 2013
          Answer: 
          The seat is NOT included.
           
          The LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Extra Large Capacity Gas Steam Dryer features 9 drying programs, including SteamFresh, SteamSanitary, heavy duty, delicate and towel cycles. The LoDecibel motor minimizes noise for quiet operation, and the intelligent electronic control panel makes it easy to find the right setting. This dryer has a 7.3 cu. ft. capacity to accommodate large loads and help save you time and energy.
           

          What size gas line is needed?

          Asked by
          Doug
          August 14, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          August 14, 2013
          Answer: 
          Most gas dryer lines, at least near the connector, are 1/2-inch, so a pipe that size should be adequate. I have seen 1/2-black iron feed pipes to dryers at least seven feet long. Of course, the size of the piping diameter needed can depend on the length of the run to the dryer, a larger size likely needed for long runs.
           
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can I buy the steam washing machine, but only purchase the regular front load dryer and they match?

          Asked by
          Takeisha
          Dallas, TX
          July 3, 2013
          Is it necessary for me to purchase the steam dryer along with the steam washing machine? What is the benefit of steaming clothes both times if done in the washer, then the dryer? I'm thinking I would prefer to purchase the steam washing machine and purchase the regular front load dryer without the steam option to save a few bucks. Will they match?
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          July 3, 2013
          Answer: 
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for Read More
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for the best price at the time. We wanted a match in appearance, so bought the pair. These LG's are great machines for the price. Read Less
           
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can you wash waterproof items (sneakers, mattress pads) in the LG front loader?

          Asked by
          KathleenW
          Tallahassee, FL
          June 22, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          June 23, 2013
          Answer: 
          These items are washable and can be washed in this LG machine. We do that very thing regularly with our machine.