Alleycat
  • Review count
    204
  • Helpfulness votes
    271
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 31, 2012
  • Last Review:
    October 10, 2017
 
  • Question count
    2
     
    • Answer count
      199
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        204
      • Helpfulness votes
        271
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 31, 2012
      • Last Review:
        October 10, 2017
       
      • Question count
        2
         
        • Answer count
          199
           
           
           
           
          Alleycat's Reviews
           
          DAP Alex Plus Spackling provides unsurpassed performance for filling holes and cracks in surfaces such as drywall, plaster, wood, brick, metal and stone. Its ready-to-use, smooth white formula spreads easily for fast, professional repairs that will not sink, shrink or crack. Alex Plus Spackling is ideal for interior or exterior projects.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This is my first use of ALEX PLUS spackling compound. It is white and very smooth right out of th...
          PostedOctober 10, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is my first use of ALEX PLUS spackling compound. It is white and very smooth right out of the container although mixing is recommended before use. I did so with an ordinary wood paint mixing stick. The product container has enough freeboard to allow thorough mixing without over-the-container-edge spillage. I used this product to repair minor drywall damage and to plug holes that had been drilled into pine woodwork the day before painting. For most of the work, one application of this spackling compound did the job well. For the 1/2-inch diameter, 1/2-inch deep holes in the woodwork, two coats were needed to fill and level the holes. Drying was a bit slow due to high humidity and cool Read More
          This is my first use of ALEX PLUS spackling compound. It is white and very smooth right out of the container although mixing is recommended before use. I did so with an ordinary wood paint mixing stick. The product container has enough freeboard to allow thorough mixing without over-the-container-edge spillage. I used this product to repair minor drywall damage and to plug holes that had been drilled into pine woodwork the day before painting. For most of the work, one application of this spackling compound did the job well. For the 1/2-inch diameter, 1/2-inch deep holes in the woodwork, two coats were needed to fill and level the holes. Drying was a bit slow due to high humidity and cool conditions, but this material worked very well for me as I did the repairs the day before painting. The product is smooth and easy to apply and sands easily after drying. Some of the drywall involved in my project has knockdown texturing. I found that this material has just the right adhesion and material surface tension so that I could hand form it into the desired appearance with only a slight touch of sanding needed after drying. This is the best spackling compound I have used so far, albeit a bit slower to dry than others that I have used. I used this product for indoor conditions only although the product is intended for both indoor and outdoor use, outdoors only if topcoated with exterior-grade paint. It is intended for application only if the temperature is 50 degrees F or higher. I will look for this product again if I need more spackling compound. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Even Application, Very Adhesive, homogenious
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Part of the industries most versatile and most durable modular storage system, the Milwaukee Pack out 20 in. storage tote features an impact resistant molded base that fully integrates with all Pack out system components. Constructed with 1680D ballistic material and all metal hardware, the 20 in. storage tote is designed for ultimate durability while the included padded should strap and durable over molded handle allow for easy transport. The 20 in. tote features 32 total pockets designed to organize and carry power tools, hand tools and accessories.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This is the Milwaukee 20-inch Packout tote. This is one of at least nine products in the Milwauke...
          PostedSeptember 26, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is the Milwaukee 20-inch Packout tote. This is one of at least nine products in the Milwaukee Packout modular tool and hardware storage and handling system line that will lock together. For me, it serves as a handy tote for jobs that are a bit beyond small. The smaller totes in this line are 10 and 15-inches in the long dimension. Empty, this tote weighs around 7.5 pounds. It is built tough constructed primarily of rugged nylon Ballistic 1680D fabric and high impact plastic. Steel rivets are used for attachment of the comfortable, over-molded carrying handle and main divider panel. A removable, comfortable-to-use, 2-inch wide nylon carrying strap with wider shoulder pad is included. The Read More
          This is the Milwaukee 20-inch Packout tote. This is one of at least nine products in the Milwaukee Packout modular tool and hardware storage and handling system line that will lock together. For me, it serves as a handy tote for jobs that are a bit beyond small. The smaller totes in this line are 10 and 15-inches in the long dimension. Empty, this tote weighs around 7.5 pounds. It is built tough constructed primarily of rugged nylon Ballistic 1680D fabric and high impact plastic. Steel rivets are used for attachment of the comfortable, over-molded carrying handle and main divider panel. A removable, comfortable-to-use, 2-inch wide nylon carrying strap with wider shoulder pad is included. The shoulder strap attachment hardware is of metal construction. This tote has 9 exterior pockets (one with zipper) and 23 interior pockets (one with zipper). Since a smaller tote in this style would be really handy for my smaller jobs, I intend to purchase the 10-inch model to add to my tote system. Considering its durable construction, this product is an excellent value. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, comfortable carrying handle, padded shoulder strap
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The 2767 M18 FUEL High Torque Impact Wrench with Friction Ring eliminates the need to use a pneumatic tool for those stubborn and rusted bolts by delivering 1,000 ft. /lbs. of fastening torque and 1400 ft. /lbs. of nut-busting torque. With 2X faster removal speed, users will be able to get the job done faster and be more productive throughout their day. By providing the industry's most compact cordless High Torque Impact Wrench at 8.39 in. L, this tool allows for more access in tight spaces. 4-Mode drive control with Bolt Removal mode gives users the most control over their fasteners. Bolt Removal mode gives the user more control when removing fasteners by slowing to 750 RPM once the fastener has been busted loose. This tool offers quick, tool-free socket changes with a 1/2 in. friction ring anvil. A premium rubber over mold material gives you ultimate comfort during prolonged use while lasting longer against corrosive materials.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This new Milwaukee Tool impact driver is a genuine brute, developing maximum bolt and nut driving...
          PostedSeptember 20, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This new Milwaukee Tool impact driver is a genuine brute, developing maximum bolt and nut driving and removal torques that are hard to beat, including for more costly air-driven models. This tool makes use of brushless motor technology for long life, high efficiency and long run times between battery charges. It comes in a rugged plastic case and includes two Milwaukee XC 5.0 ampere-hour lithium-ion battery packs and an M12/M18 battery charger. Out of the package, the charger brought the batteries to full charge in about 35 minutes each. This tool is compact measuring 8.4 inches between the end of the square drive and the rear of the housing. With the battery installed, it stands at about Read More
          This new Milwaukee Tool impact driver is a genuine brute, developing maximum bolt and nut driving and removal torques that are hard to beat, including for more costly air-driven models. This tool makes use of brushless motor technology for long life, high efficiency and long run times between battery charges. It comes in a rugged plastic case and includes two Milwaukee XC 5.0 ampere-hour lithium-ion battery packs and an M12/M18 battery charger. Out of the package, the charger brought the batteries to full charge in about 35 minutes each. This tool is compact measuring 8.4 inches between the end of the square drive and the rear of the housing. With the battery installed, it stands at about 10-3/4 inches tall. It is a bit heavy, but good balance and a comfortable handle contribute to better user comfort during use than for my air impact wrench. With battery this driver weighs about 7.5 pounds, the same as my air impact wrench that is less effective at rusted bolt removal. I put this tool to use removing lawn mower blades and for removing rusted bolts for disassembly of a truck chassis in an effort to limit torch use, it working very, very well. Being battery-operated makes this a handy tool to keep in our pickup truck for on-the-road tasks such as changing a tire, including deployment of the scissors jack.
          This driver has a hog ring (split ring) to hold the socket onto the square drive which I prefer over the detent pin holding method to accomplish the same purpose. There is a version of this tool available with the detent pin holder for those who prefer that socket holding method. I prefer the hog ring as it facilitates easier and quicker socket changes.
          This impact driver is warranted for 5 years. The batteries are warranted for 3 years. Having owned a lot of Milwaukee Tools for decades, I know that the company stands behind their products. This is a welcome addition to my large collection of power tools. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, well-balanced, comfortable handle, long warranty, efficient, Compact
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Color Trim Large umbrella is great for staying dry in rainy weather. The large canopy provides for extra coverage. The metal frame and straight handle ensures durability and easy use.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This rainbrella product is bargain-priced for its features and quality. I has fiberglass reinforc...
          PostedSeptember 17, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This rainbrella product is bargain-priced for its features and quality. I has fiberglass reinforced plastic rib assembly and composite shaft construction for strength and light weight. The umbrella weighs in at a light 1 pound, 1 ounce compared to 1 pound, 10 ounces for my old umbrella of the same size that uses steel for the ribs and the shaft. Both this umbrella and old one use 8 canopy ribs. This umbrella has a 60-inch canopy that is large enough to shield two adults from the rain. Cinching for storage in the closed position is afforded by an 8-inch long, 2-inch wide Velcro-type strap that fastens with ease. Deployment is by a manual push button that is wide and comfortable vs. the Read More
          This rainbrella product is bargain-priced for its features and quality. I has fiberglass reinforced plastic rib assembly and composite shaft construction for strength and light weight. The umbrella weighs in at a light 1 pound, 1 ounce compared to 1 pound, 10 ounces for my old umbrella of the same size that uses steel for the ribs and the shaft. Both this umbrella and old one use 8 canopy ribs. This umbrella has a 60-inch canopy that is large enough to shield two adults from the rain. Cinching for storage in the closed position is afforded by an 8-inch long, 2-inch wide Velcro-type strap that fastens with ease. Deployment is by a manual push button that is wide and comfortable vs. the narrow, relatively sharp-edged manual push button for my older umbrella of this size. The handle for this product has good hand feel as it has a 1-1/2-inch wide recessed strip of softer material about two-thirds upward from the handle end. The tip at the top end of the umbrella is about 1/2-inch in diameter affording safety compared to the sharper tip of my other 60-inch umbrella. This is a great product for the price. Read Less
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, Sturdy, comfortable handle, blunt not sharp tip, priced competitively
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The EcoSmart 6-Watt B11 LED Flood Light Bulb uses only 6-Watt and lasts up to 20,000 hours. This LED bulb is energy efficient, can last up to 18.2 years and saves you $149.00 in energy costs over its life. The Soft White bulb may be used indoors and is dimmable for customized light.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          PostedSeptember 9, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This ecosmart brand dimmable LED, candelabra-base product emits light with much the same color as an ordinary incandescent bulb. These bulbs are intended as replacements for 60 watt incandescent lamps, emitting 500 lumens at 6 watts. I put all three of the bulbs to use in an outdoor, weather-resistant fixture on a 10-foot tall lamp post, the light intensity high enough for such outdoor use. The bulbs run cool and are not the least bit noisy, an observation of mine when I tried them in an indoor fixture with an LED compatible dimmer. I have had them in service in the lamp post fixture for close to a month without an issue. With ordinary incandescent bulbs in that lamp post fixture, I had to Read More
          This ecosmart brand dimmable LED, candelabra-base product emits light with much the same color as an ordinary incandescent bulb. These bulbs are intended as replacements for 60 watt incandescent lamps, emitting 500 lumens at 6 watts. I put all three of the bulbs to use in an outdoor, weather-resistant fixture on a 10-foot tall lamp post, the light intensity high enough for such outdoor use. The bulbs run cool and are not the least bit noisy, an observation of mine when I tried them in an indoor fixture with an LED compatible dimmer. I have had them in service in the lamp post fixture for close to a month without an issue. With ordinary incandescent bulbs in that lamp post fixture, I had to replace bulbs about once a month as vibrations from wind kept causing filament failures. These bulbs will save the effort of having to go up a ladder often for bulb changes, often in less than ideal weather conditions. That alone is a great reason for their use in this application. Another big advantage of these bulb is the fact that they are very economical as respects power consumption. These bulbs are rated for use in temperatures of 0 degrees F or above. I tested one of them in a -10 degree F freezer, waiting for an hour to allow the lamp to get cold. It started and illuminated under that challenging condition. These bulbs are worth purchasing from my experience. Read Less
          Pros: Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Very Bright, warm light color, quiet during operation
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 41 >>
           
          Alleycat's Questions
           
          Suitable for residential and hotel bathroom renovations, the Panasonic WhisperFit EZ Dual-Speed Exhaust Fan includes a 4 in.-to-3 in. duct adapter to fit smaller-diameter ductwork. The fan features a low-profile housing and includes a Flex-Z bracket for fast, flexible and easy installation. It offers two fan speeds (80 CFM or 110 CFM) to circulate air in your bathroom, thereby inhibiting mildew buildup and fogged-up mirrors. It operates ultra-quietly on low speed at just 0.3 sone, keeping background bathroom noise to a minimum.
           

          Will the Flex-Z Fast bracket extend far enough for mounting on joists that are spaced 24 inches on-center?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 2, 2016
           
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Eliminate shower clutter with Zenith's Stainless Steel Shower Head Caddy. The stainless steel construction provides durable rust-free performance as well as aesthetic appeal. Two spacious shelves and a soap tray can accommodate a wide variety of bathroom products. These shelves are self-draining, so standing water will not damage your stored items. Hang your razors by using curved wire located in the front of each shelf. Additionally, this premium caddy features hooks for hanging storage of loofahs, shower poufs, washcloths, and more. This caddy is stabilized by a non-slip PVC shower head grip and suction cups, which will prevent swaying and keep the caddy secure on your shower head. This efficient and stylish storage device arrives fully assembled and ready to provide valuable storage space in your home shower. Zenith's toll-free USA based Customer Service department is available (800-892-3986) to answer any additional questions.
           

          Is this really constructed of stainless steel or is it just plated steel that will, in the end rust?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          October 24, 2014
           
          Alleycat's Answers
           
          The Dorcy 41-1080 Rechargeable Pistol Grip LED Spotlight Flashlight uses a new battery saver technology that will extend the life of the battery to ensure years of great performance. The 41-1080 is perfectly proportioned to stand on its own for convenient hands-free use. With a durable rubber and plastic construction and a convenient trigger locking switch, this spotlight is an ideal portable lighting device wherever you may go. Light weight at 2.75 lbs., this spotlight features a yellow and black finish. The 41-1080 offers 7-hours of continuous use, while the battery saver circuit prevents the battery from being fully discharged, which helps to maintain battery capacity. This spotlight measures 7.4 in. by 4 in. by 9 in. The Dorcy 41-1080 Rechargeable Pistol Grip LED Spotlight Flashlight comes with a 1-year limited warranty to protect against defects in material or workmanship. Dorcy International offers an expansive range of lighting products and continues to evolve with new market demands, ranging from LED technology and fashion to leadership in new product development. Dorcy complete packaging and distribution center is located right here in the Columbus, Ohio.
           

          can you buy a new battery when you need one?

          Asked by
          Gus
          October 19, 2017
          can you buy a new battery when you need one?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          October 21, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes, replacement batteries are available. One of several sources is Dorcy itself at: https://www.dorcy.com/shop-now/parts.
           
          Designed to give you quiet confidence during power outages, the Q6500 QuietPower Series inverter generator is more than 60% quieter than standard generators. It delivers 6,500 starting watts of reliable backup power for essential home appliances, including sensitive electronics. It's 45% more compact and 30% lighter than standard generators so moving and storing your generator is no hassle. A highly-efficient Briggs and Stratton 306cc engine with integrated alternator provides up to 14 hours of run time at 25% load.
           

          How those this compair to the Honda EU 70005

          Asked by
          Dee5200
          September 22, 2017
          How those this generator compair to the Honda EU 7000
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          September 22, 2017
          Answer: 
          That Honda costs more than double the price for this unit. The Honda is rated for about 10% more output at 5500 watts vs. 5000 watts for this unit. The Honda weighs about 162 pounds vs. 128 pounds for this unit. The Honda is quieter than this unit.
           
          The 2767 M18 FUEL High Torque Impact Wrench with Friction Ring eliminates the need to use a pneumatic tool for those stubborn and rusted bolts by delivering 1,000 ft. /lbs. of fastening torque and 1400 ft. /lbs. of nut-busting torque. With 2X faster removal speed, users will be able to get the job done faster and be more productive throughout their day. By providing the industry's most compact cordless High Torque Impact Wrench at 8.39 in. L, this tool allows for more access in tight spaces. 4-Mode drive control with Bolt Removal mode gives users the most control over their fasteners. Bolt Removal mode gives the user more control when removing fasteners by slowing to 750 RPM once the fastener has been busted loose. This tool offers quick, tool-free socket changes with a 1/2 in. friction ring anvil. A premium rubber over mold material gives you ultimate comfort during prolonged use while lasting longer against corrosive materials.
           

          What Herts is it 50 or 60

          Asked by
          Mick
          September 19, 2017
          What Herts is this 50 or 60
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          September 20, 2017
          Answer: 
          The battery charger is rated for 60 cycle per second AC.
           
          Add versatility to your electrical outlets using the Polarized 3-Outlet Adapter from GE. Converting one polarized outlet into three, the adapter adds more outlets where you need them most. Thanks to the adapter's unique design, one of your outlets stay free and flexible at all times. Get more from your electrical outlets using the GE Polarized 3-Outlet Adapter.
           

          Can you use this adapter in a gfi outlet

          Asked by
          KatB72
          September 11, 2017
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          September 14, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes, but it may partially or completely hide the test and reset buttons on the GFI outlet, depending on how it is plugged in.
           
          The EcoSmart 6-Watt B11 LED Flood Light Bulb uses only 6-Watt and lasts up to 20,000 hours. This LED bulb is energy efficient, can last up to 18.2 years and saves you $149.00 in energy costs over its life. The Soft White bulb may be used indoors and is dimmable for customized light.
           

          They have a 5-year warranty and I've had them 11 months. How do I use the warranty?

          Asked by
          Brandon
          May 16, 2017
          They have a 5-year warranty and I've had them 11 months. How do I use the warranty?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          September 9, 2017
          Answer: 
          For warranty information, look up the item number at www.homedepot.com/ecosmart.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 40 >>