Alleycat
  • Review count
    165
  • Helpfulness votes
    232
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 31, 2012
  • Last Review:
    February 18, 2017
 
  • Question count
    2
     
    • Answer count
      138
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        165
      • Helpfulness votes
        232
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 31, 2012
      • Last Review:
        February 18, 2017
       
      • Question count
        2
         
        • Answer count
          138
           
           
           
           
          Alleycat's Reviews
           
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Single Know Tensioning System Does Not Work Well
          PostedFebruary 18, 2017
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          I used this electric chain saw with success to do spring yard tree trimming and removal of a dying 5-inch Mountain Ash tree. I made sure that I had filled the chain oil reservoir with 30 weight oil plus had carefully tensioned the chain as specified in the Owner's Manual before starting. In the process I noticed that I had to turn the tensioning knob quite tight to achieve the tension specified in the Owner's Manual. After finishing my work, the chain was loose to the extent that it had a 1/4-inch sag in the middle of the bar. It was about 50 degrees F when I did my work with this saw. I waited for the saw to cool and then attempted to reset the chain tension, not being able to achieve Read More
          I used this electric chain saw with success to do spring yard tree trimming and removal of a dying 5-inch Mountain Ash tree. I made sure that I had filled the chain oil reservoir with 30 weight oil plus had carefully tensioned the chain as specified in the Owner's Manual before starting. In the process I noticed that I had to turn the tensioning knob quite tight to achieve the tension specified in the Owner's Manual. After finishing my work, the chain was loose to the extent that it had a 1/4-inch sag in the middle of the bar. It was about 50 degrees F when I did my work with this saw. I waited for the saw to cool and then attempted to reset the chain tension, not being able to achieve tightening to take out the sag. I think that the single knob tensioning system needs some re-engineering, preferring the knob and screw system that is present for my gasoline-powered chain saw. Perhaps the chain is one link too long. I do like the convenience of having the electric chain saw as it is handy not having to drain the fuel to prepare the saw for proper storage to maintain it, but it appears that this tensioning issue will likely lead to early failure of the cutting system, especially after significant chain wear and when weather gets hot. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, easy to start
          Cons: chain tensioning issues
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The M18 FUEL SAWZALL Reciprocating Saw cuts faster than its corded counterparts and offers up to 2x more runtime and 5x longer tool life than competitive saws. The POWERSTATE brushless motor provides cutting power that has only been associated with corded tools. The M18 REDLITHIUM HIGH DEMAND 9.0 Battery Pack delivers up to 5X more run-time, 35% more power, and runs 60% cooler than standard 18-Volt lithium-ion batteries. It maintains full power and runs substantially cooler through heavy applications, allowing users to push their cordless tools harder and longer than ever before. The M18 REDLITHIUM HIGH DEMAND 9.0 battery is fully compatible with 100+ M18 tools. The 18-Volt lithium-ion SAWZALL features an adjustable shoe, integrated LED light, and a hang hook for convenient storage on the job.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Milwaukee M18 SAWZALL with great performance and features
          PostedFebruary 12, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This Catalog No. 2720-22HD Milwaukee Electric Tool product includes reciprocating saw, two M18, 9.0AH Li-ion High Demand batteries, Multi-Voltage Rapid Charger, one saw blade, instructions and tough plastic carrying case.
          This saw has a 1-1/8-inch stroke length and variable speed control for 0 to 3000 strokes per minute.
          It is a heavy-duty, battery-powered reciprocating saw that performs like it is corded. It is a fast cutter that makes it handy to work just about anywhere without having to deal with extension cords, and often, with a generator for AC power. This tool is a bit on the heavy side at around 9.8 pounds, including installed 9.0AH battery. By comparison, my older corded
          Read More
          This Catalog No. 2720-22HD Milwaukee Electric Tool product includes reciprocating saw, two M18, 9.0AH Li-ion High Demand batteries, Multi-Voltage Rapid Charger, one saw blade, instructions and tough plastic carrying case.
          This saw has a 1-1/8-inch stroke length and variable speed control for 0 to 3000 strokes per minute.
          It is a heavy-duty, battery-powered reciprocating saw that performs like it is corded. It is a fast cutter that makes it handy to work just about anywhere without having to deal with extension cords, and often, with a generator for AC power. This tool is a bit on the heavy side at around 9.8 pounds, including installed 9.0AH battery. By comparison, my older corded 4-ampere Milwaukee SAWZALL weighs about 7.6 pounds, including cord. Because it is well-balanced and has comfortable rubber grips, the added weight makes little noticeable difference. I put it to use in a nearly full day of cutting and removing steel stanchions and cattle pens for an old barn being razed. There was no electricity for the barn area, the two 9AH batteries lasting the work day without recharge, a pleasant surprise. After running the batteries down, one to the point where the tool stopped, a full recharge for that battery took only about one hour and thirty minutes. Since I went through more than a few blades during this metal-cutting work, I came to appreciate the Quik-Loc blade clamping feature that involves just flicking the clamping lever to release the old blade and then again to clamp in a replacement. As some of the work was done in partial darkness, the LED light that illuminates the work area for a minimum of about ten seconds after a the light touch of the trigger is appreciated. The brushless motor for this tool has an electric brake to stop the saw within about two seconds of the time the trigger is released. That saves time as the tool can be safely removed from cuts and set down or hung quickly from the tool hang hook after cuts are made. Another safety feature is a trigger lock. My older corded SAWZALL does not have these motor brake and trigger lock safety features. The battery packs can have their charges topped off any time without concern about developing a "memory".
          The saw and charger have a 5-year limited warranty. The battery packs have a separate 3-year limited warranty. I have a number of Milwaukee Tools, finding from past experience that warranty claims are handled quickly and fairly. This is a new, cutting-edge M18 tool that I expect to appreciate for years to come. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Powerful, long run on battery charges, long warranty, comfortable grips, quick blade changes
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The EcoSmart 6.5-Watt G16.5 LED Flood Light Bulb uses only 6.5-Watt and lasts up to 25,000 hours. This LED bulb is energy efficient, can last up to 23 years and saves you $147.13 in energy costs over its life. The Soft White bulb may be used indoors and is dimmable for customized light.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A good LED bulb in certain applications
          PostedFebruary 6, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          The small size of these bulbs lends them to use in our refrigerator and freezer units as they are about the same size as a standard 25 watt appliance bulb. They have the advantages of emitting little heat and providing brighter light than standard 25 watt appliance bulbs, using only 6.5 watts. I tried them in a bathroom fixture with frosted glass shades, not liking the shadow created by the very broad white base that houses the electronics, it interfering with light distribution in the direction toward the bulb base. I also tried them in recessed light fixtures, they working as a good substitute for flood lamps because they cast most of the light away from the bulb base. In that application, Read More
          The small size of these bulbs lends them to use in our refrigerator and freezer units as they are about the same size as a standard 25 watt appliance bulb. They have the advantages of emitting little heat and providing brighter light than standard 25 watt appliance bulbs, using only 6.5 watts. I tried them in a bathroom fixture with frosted glass shades, not liking the shadow created by the very broad white base that houses the electronics, it interfering with light distribution in the direction toward the bulb base. I also tried them in recessed light fixtures, they working as a good substitute for flood lamps because they cast most of the light away from the bulb base. In that application, I found them very quiet using an LED-compatible dimmer. The color temperature is a pleasant incandescent-like warm white as advertised. Read Less
          Pros: Compact, Eco-Friendly, Quiet, cool during operation
          Cons: light distribution
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Campbell Hausfeld Air Compressor, 13-gallon Horizontal Oil-free (DC130010) is designed for the DIY enthusiast or weekend warrior. The compressor comes with an induction motor, designed for long product life. Its oil free design makes this air compressor low maintenance. With a max pressure of 150 PSI and delivery of 4 CFM @ 90 PSI, the DC130010 is perfect for a wide range of garage and workshop projects. The steel handle and large wheels are ideal for garage or shop portability. Finish your projects faster and easier with Campbell Hausfeld - The Air Power Expert.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          A good homeowner/handyman, oilless, direct-drive electric air compressor at a fair price
          PostedFebruary 3, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          The unit arrived in well-designed packaging with no damage, not even scratching of the factory paint. Assembly was easy, only requiring attaching the wheels and handle. It weighs about 79 pounds but is easy to move around because of the well-placed handle and easy-roll 6-inch wheels. I followed the easy-to-understand instructions, breaking this unit in by running it for 30 minutes with the air tank drain wide open. Doing so assures that the unit will perform as intended by the manufacturer and that it will last. This type of break-in instruction is common for oilless air compressors. I have a similar 4-gallon oilless air compressor that has a higher SCFM rating than this unit, but that unit Read More
          The unit arrived in well-designed packaging with no damage, not even scratching of the factory paint. Assembly was easy, only requiring attaching the wheels and handle. It weighs about 79 pounds but is easy to move around because of the well-placed handle and easy-roll 6-inch wheels. I followed the easy-to-understand instructions, breaking this unit in by running it for 30 minutes with the air tank drain wide open. Doing so assures that the unit will perform as intended by the manufacturer and that it will last. This type of break-in instruction is common for oilless air compressors. I have a similar 4-gallon oilless air compressor that has a higher SCFM rating than this unit, but that unit cannot keep up with the demand for my 1/2-inch impact wrench. This one does so handily, also doing well with handling my air-driven grinder or my two framing nailers when operating simultaneously. I suspect that the larger 13-gallon air tank is one reason it does so. The tank and regulated discharge pressure gages are large and easy to read. After break-in and restarting, this unit took the tank pressure from zero to 150 psi in about 4 minutes, 15 seconds. When the pressure was dropped to the 100 psi restart setting, the tank pressure reached the 150 psi shutoff setting in about 50 seconds with no compressed air use. I checked the unit for air leaks by soaping joints, finding none. The only minus I noted is that it is a bit noisy, that not an issue for me since I will use it only in my garage workshop and outdoors. If a quiet air compressor is needed, one should expect to spend about 50% more for an electric unit of about the same capacity. This product has a one-year limited warranty. It is a good homeowner/handyman air compressor at a fair price. Read Less
          Pros: well-packaged, Easy to Move, free of defects, good documentation, easy- to- read gages
          Cons: a bit noisy
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This hand held pump sprayer features a 2 liter capacity. It has an adjustable nozzle tip to deliver a range of water patterns from a fine mist to powerful jet. Translucent graduated bottle to make mixing up your foliar fertilizer, pesticide, herbicide, bactericide, or fungicide easier.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great for the price
          PostedJanuary 28, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This pressure sprayer is great for the low price. It facilitates one-handed spraying of water solutions of herbicides, fungicides, pesticides and, of course, water. It is handy for small tasks that would otherwise involve partial filling of a two-handed garden pressure sprayer and cleaning it afterward. This product cleans up after use much more easily. The two-piece brass nozzle allows one to adjust from a solid stream to a fine spray and to clean it effectively. The tapered container shape with broad base makes it very stable when placed on a flat surface. A minor issue I found was a bit of handle discomfort during use caused by flash from molding the plastic. I addressed that by sanding Read More
          This pressure sprayer is great for the low price. It facilitates one-handed spraying of water solutions of herbicides, fungicides, pesticides and, of course, water. It is handy for small tasks that would otherwise involve partial filling of a two-handed garden pressure sprayer and cleaning it afterward. This product cleans up after use much more easily. The two-piece brass nozzle allows one to adjust from a solid stream to a fine spray and to clean it effectively. The tapered container shape with broad base makes it very stable when placed on a flat surface. A minor issue I found was a bit of handle discomfort during use caused by flash from molding the plastic. I addressed that by sanding the flash from the handle rear edges and rounding the upper corners a bit. This is a good product for the price. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality, Good Shape
          Cons: handle flash
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 33 >>
           
          Alleycat's Questions
           
          Suitable for residential and hotel bathroom renovations, the Panasonic WhisperFit EZ Dual-Speed Exhaust Fan includes a 4 in.-to-3 in. duct adapter to fit smaller-diameter ductwork. The fan features a low-profile housing and includes a Flex-Z bracket for fast, flexible and easy installation. It offers two fan speeds (80 CFM or 110 CFM) to circulate air in your bathroom, thereby inhibiting mildew buildup and fogged-up mirrors. It operates ultra-quietly on low speed at just 0.3 sone, keeping background bathroom noise to a minimum.
           

          Will the Flex-Z Fast bracket extend far enough for mounting on joists that are spaced 24 inches on-center?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 2, 2016
           
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Eliminate shower clutter with Zenith's Stainless Steel Shower Head Caddy. The stainless steel construction provides durable rust-free performance as well as aesthetic appeal. Two spacious shelves and a soap tray can accommodate a wide variety of bathroom products. These shelves are self-draining, so standing water will not damage your stored items. Hang your razors by using curved wire located in the front of each shelf. Additionally, this premium caddy features hooks for hanging storage of loofahs, shower poufs, washcloths, and more. This caddy is stabilized by a non-slip PVC shower head grip and suction cups, which will prevent swaying and keep the caddy secure on your shower head. This efficient and stylish storage device arrives fully assembled and ready to provide valuable storage space in your home shower. Zenith's toll-free USA based Customer Service department is available (800-892-3986) to answer any additional questions.
           

          Is this really constructed of stainless steel or is it just plated steel that will, in the end rust?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          October 24, 2014
           
          Alleycat's Answers
           
          The HDX Shower Squeegee cleans shower doors, mirrors and windows leaving them shiny clean and streak-free. It has an ergonomic angled grip for maximum performance removing grime and spots. Has a convenient hang up feature for easy storage.
           

          best squeegee i have ever used very unfortunate that you don't carry any more i guess that's the ...

          Asked by
          gator
          February 18, 2017
          best squeegee i have ever used very unfortunate that you don't carry any more i guess that's the case with items that work great and last
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          February 21, 2017
          Answer: 
          As a regular customer at The Home Depot, I searched my local store finding the last one in stock. I paid exactly one cent for it as it was a clearance item. I agree that this is a great product, especially for shower glass because it cannot scratch (soft plastic handle cover and plastic frame). The squeegee blade holds up well. I, too, hope that it is again made available.
           
          Loud, clear sound. Built for work. Featuring a high-performance audio system and rugged design, the Milwaukee M18 Jobsite Radio is built to amplify and survive the jobsite. Dual speakers and passive radiators combine to produce sharp highs, rich midst and deep bass at all volumes. Durable metal speaker grills and shock-absorbing end caps protect from drops and other harmful job site conditions, while integrated handles allow for easy transport and storage. Listening options include a digital processor with best-in-class reception and signal clarity or a 3.5 mm aux jack for wired playback. A weather-sealed auxiliary compartment protects devices and houses a 2.1 amp USB charging port. For versatility, the M18 Jobsite Radio can be powered by all M18 REDLITHIUM batteries or A/C power.
           

          Is it as loud as the previous model jobsite radio?

          Asked by
          Jay
          February 16, 2017
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          February 17, 2017
          Answer: 
          I do not know which older Milwaukee jobsite radio you are referring to, but I have an older model, namely, Catalog # 49-24-0200. The M18 new model you are citing is clearly louder and has better sound than Catalog # 49-24-0200, a 12 volt model that uses Milwaukee Ni-Cad batteries.
           
          Imagine a world where weeds weren't an issue, One feeding of Scotts Turf Builder Weed and Feed will not only kill dandelions, clover and other weeds that have invaded your lawn, but will help to thicken your grass to help crowd out new weeds from taking hold. And by developing an annual feeding routine that includes Scotts Turf Builder Weed and Feed will help your lawn look its best all year round and protect it from other stress as well such as heat, drought and everyday family activity.
           

          Will it harm st augustine or carpet grass

          Asked by
          Rhond
          February 12, 2017
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          February 14, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes, this product will damage St. Augustine turf grass. Use Scotts Turf Builder Bonus S Southern Weed & Feed instead.
           
          Imagine a world where weeds weren't an issue, One feeding of Scotts Turf Builder Weed and Feed will not only kill dandelions, clover and other weeds that have invaded your lawn, but will help to thicken your grass to help crowd out new weeds from taking hold. And by developing an annual feeding routine that includes Scotts Turf Builder Weed and Feed will help your lawn look its best all year round and protect it from other stress as well such as heat, drought and everyday family activity.
           

          Will it harm st augustine or carpet grass

          Asked by
          Rhond
          February 12, 2017
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          February 14, 2017
          Answer: 
          Yes, it will do damage to St. Augustine turf. Use Scotts Turf Builder Bonus S Southern Weed & Feed instead.
           
          Loud, clear sound. Built for work. Featuring a high-performance audio system and rugged design, the Milwaukee M18 Jobsite Radio is built to amplify and survive the jobsite. Dual speakers and passive radiators combine to produce sharp highs, rich midst and deep bass at all volumes. Durable metal speaker grills and shock-absorbing end caps protect from drops and other harmful job site conditions, while integrated handles allow for easy transport and storage. Listening options include a digital processor with best-in-class reception and signal clarity or a 3.5 mm aux jack for wired playback. A weather-sealed auxiliary compartment protects devices and houses a 2.1 amp USB charging port. For versatility, the M18 Jobsite Radio can be powered by all M18 REDLITHIUM batteries or A/C power.
           

          It come with the ac cable?

          Asked by
          chris
          May 27, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          February 10, 2017
          Answer: 
          This Milwaukee Jobsite Radio comes with a plug and cord for AC operation at 120 volts.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 28 >>