Alleycat
  • Review count
    152
  • Helpfulness votes
    223
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 31, 2012
  • Last Review:
    December 8, 2016
 
  • Question count
    2
     
    • Answer count
      114
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        152
      • Helpfulness votes
        223
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 31, 2012
      • Last Review:
        December 8, 2016
       
      • Question count
        2
         
        • Answer count
          114
           
           
           
           
          Alleycat's Reviews
           
          The Husky Gimbal Ratchet is not just your ordinary palm ratchet; its innovative design provides multi-directional rotation for easier access in hard to reach areas. The 100-tooth internal ratcheting mechanism allows the Gimbal Ratchet to engage fasteners with as little as a 3.6° rotation. The Husky Gimbal Ratchet is the perfect tool for high speed and low torque applications even in the most confined areas. This 1/4 inch drive gimbal and socket set is a must have for working on smaller fasteners in tight spots.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Socket and driver set with unique features for working in tight quarters
          PostedDecember 8, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This small fastener socket and screw bit set has unique features that make it stand out. The 100-tooth gimbal palm drive ratchet pivots in all directions allowing successful fastener access and engagement in really tight areas. This is further enhanced by the supplied 2-inch wobble extension bar that allows the driven socket or screw driver bit engagement angle to shift a bit to fully engage the heads of fasteners where the approach angle would otherwise be not quite right. This wobble effect can be defeated by pushing the driven socket more firmly onto the wobble extension bar. Except for the 1/4-inch socket, all 13 sockets in this set have knurl rings for easy grip and spin using Read More
          This small fastener socket and screw bit set has unique features that make it stand out. The 100-tooth gimbal palm drive ratchet pivots in all directions allowing successful fastener access and engagement in really tight areas. This is further enhanced by the supplied 2-inch wobble extension bar that allows the driven socket or screw driver bit engagement angle to shift a bit to fully engage the heads of fasteners where the approach angle would otherwise be not quite right. This wobble effect can be defeated by pushing the driven socket more firmly onto the wobble extension bar. Except for the 1/4-inch socket, all 13 sockets in this set have knurl rings for easy grip and spin using fingertips. Only the 1/4 inch socket is hex type as it serves as the screw driver bit adapter socket. The remaining sockets are bi-hex or 12-point type. The 1/4-inch socket is equipped with and internal spring clip so that the screw bits do not fall out after insertion. Truthfully, I would prefer all of the sockets to be hex type to reduce the potential for rounding of fastener heads or to facilitate working with existing fasteners that have been rounded. Regardless of that issue, this is a unique tool set that works very, very well for low-torque, small fastener applications in tight quarters. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, unique rachet system, unique wobble bar, lifetime warranty
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This Feit Electric A21 3-Way LED is specifically design to replace your standard incandescent with a similar color temperatures and same light output while providing you with the benefits of energy saving and long lasting LED’s. This A21 3-Way lasts 25,000 hours and uses 83% less energy than your standard incandescent 3-Way. This 3-Way has 3-settings that emit the like equal to 30/70/100-Watt equivalents.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:Professional
          Received free product:Yes
          Efficient FEIT electric LED 3-way lamp with pleasant soft white light output
          PostedNovember 27, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          If you prefer the soft white light color output of an incandescent lamp in an efficient LED lamp, this bulb is the best I have found so far. It is not dimmable and is suitable for damp locations, having a projected life of 25,000 hours or 22.8 years if used 3 hours/day. It is a bit more compact than other 3-way LED bulbs by other manufacturers that I have with equivalent incandescent ratings at 30, 70 and 100 watts. For this bulb, the corresponding power consumption levels are 5, 10 and 16 watts at light outputs at 500, 1050 and 1600 lumens, respectively. That makes this bulb more efficient than all of the other 30/70/100 watt equivalent LED bulbs I currently have in use. It is quiet at all Read More
          If you prefer the soft white light color output of an incandescent lamp in an efficient LED lamp, this bulb is the best I have found so far. It is not dimmable and is suitable for damp locations, having a projected life of 25,000 hours or 22.8 years if used 3 hours/day. It is a bit more compact than other 3-way LED bulbs by other manufacturers that I have with equivalent incandescent ratings at 30, 70 and 100 watts. For this bulb, the corresponding power consumption levels are 5, 10 and 16 watts at light outputs at 500, 1050 and 1600 lumens, respectively. That makes this bulb more efficient than all of the other 30/70/100 watt equivalent LED bulbs I currently have in use. It is quiet at all light levels and has very good light distribution, important in a table lamp from my perspective. This is a product worth buying if you want a highly efficient 3-way LED bulb with good light distribution and long life expectancy. Read Less
          Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Quiet, good light distribution
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Weiman Cook Top MAX is specially formulated with Advanced Micro-Bead Technology to easily remove burned on food, grease and watermarks, leaving glass sparkling. Micro-Beads provide extra scrubbing power to cut through the toughest burned on foods. They are guaranteed not to scratch. Cook Top MAX also contains glass protectants to maintain the cooking effectiveness of the glass cook top surface.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Weiman MAX works well for challenging smooth top cleaning
          PostedNovember 18, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Our family cooks nearly all meals at home using a ceramic cook top and aluminum-clad stainless steel cookware. Ceramic cook tops present a temperature control challenge due to the time lag between control adjustments and cook top responses, that characteristic occasionally resulting in boil-overs and food burn-on cleanup challenges. Another issue for us is the fact that aluminum deposits ending up on the cook top are very hard to remove. This is the best product that we have found so far for removing burned into place food and the aluminum deposits that come from using aluminum cookware. This product includes an non-scratching pad that works very well. Because the product contains chemicals Read More
          Our family cooks nearly all meals at home using a ceramic cook top and aluminum-clad stainless steel cookware. Ceramic cook tops present a temperature control challenge due to the time lag between control adjustments and cook top responses, that characteristic occasionally resulting in boil-overs and food burn-on cleanup challenges. Another issue for us is the fact that aluminum deposits ending up on the cook top are very hard to remove. This is the best product that we have found so far for removing burned into place food and the aluminum deposits that come from using aluminum cookware. This product includes an non-scratching pad that works very well. Because the product contains chemicals that can cause irritation, it should be used with protective gloves and eyewear, a minor inconvenience. When we run low, we will look for more of this product at our The Home Depot retailer. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, very effective
          Cons: a potential irritant
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Weiman Cook Top Daily Cleaner cleans, shines and protects all stove tops and ranges including glass/ceramic smooth top ranges and gas stove tops. This product is formulated for light-to-moderate soil. It has non-abrasive formula that will not scratch or damage delicate range finishes and keeps food and residue from sticking to the surface, making cleaning easier in the long run.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good Stovetop Cleaner
          PostedNovember 18, 2016
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          We are a busy family, having moved recently to a home with a smooth ceramic cooktop, a new experience for us. We prepare almost all meals at home, that keeping our ceramic cooktop busy. Keeping the cooktop clean quickly became a concern, we resorting to use of a heavy duty glass cooktop cleaning product by Weiman about three times a week. By Using this product after the top cools after any spills or splashes of food, those heavy duty cleanups that took more time end up being done less often and being less of a challenge, the cooktop looking better as well. A few sprays and a quick wiping with a paper towel after the cooktop cools does the job. We will look for this product at The Home Depot Read More
          We are a busy family, having moved recently to a home with a smooth ceramic cooktop, a new experience for us. We prepare almost all meals at home, that keeping our ceramic cooktop busy. Keeping the cooktop clean quickly became a concern, we resorting to use of a heavy duty glass cooktop cleaning product by Weiman about three times a week. By Using this product after the top cools after any spills or splashes of food, those heavy duty cleanups that took more time end up being done less often and being less of a challenge, the cooktop looking better as well. A few sprays and a quick wiping with a paper towel after the cooktop cools does the job. We will look for this product at The Home Depot when we run out. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, time saver
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          12-2-Gauge Low-Voltage (low-energy) underground landscape lighting cable is designed for landscape, security, and outdoor accent lighting applications not to exceed 150-Volt. Landscape Lighting Cable is sunlight-resistant, suitable for direct burial, and for use at temperatures between -20˚C and 60˚C. Jacket is made of PVC.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This Cerro Product Works Well
          PostedNovember 16, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I used this cable in two installations of outdoor buried conductors, one for extension of our landscape lighting system and the second for installation of a high-powered outdoor audio speaker system. This cable is heavy duty, yet quite flexible and easy to install as a result. I had no issues with this cable being so stiff that it had "a mind of its own", despite temperatures in the 30's during my installations. The insulation was easy to strip, despite the fact that it is quite tough. I tinned the wires, that easy to do with this product as well because the conductors contain many strands of fine wire. This is a heavy duty product that will add little voltage drop that is important for long Read More
          I used this cable in two installations of outdoor buried conductors, one for extension of our landscape lighting system and the second for installation of a high-powered outdoor audio speaker system. This cable is heavy duty, yet quite flexible and easy to install as a result. I had no issues with this cable being so stiff that it had "a mind of its own", despite temperatures in the 30's during my installations. The insulation was easy to strip, despite the fact that it is quite tough. I tinned the wires, that easy to do with this product as well because the conductors contain many strands of fine wire. This is a heavy duty product that will add little voltage drop that is important for long runs of landscape cable in systems that use incandescent lighting like mine, now having 24 fixtures. Instead of shopping for heavy duty speaker wire that is suitable for direct burial, I used this wire, it working well. I again tinned the stripped ends for connections. Incidentally, for the best installation results, I recommend using dielectric grease on all connections for landscape lighting. This is an excellent product that I will look for again when I need it. Read Less
          Pros: Easy Installation, Easy to Use, quite flexible
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 31 >>
           
          Alleycat's Questions
           
          Suitable for residential and hotel bathroom renovations, the Panasonic WhisperFit EZ Dual-Speed Exhaust Fan includes a 4 in.-to-3 in. duct adapter to fit smaller-diameter ductwork. The fan features a low-profile housing and includes a Flex-Z bracket for fast, flexible and easy installation. It offers two fan speeds (80 CFM or 110 CFM) to circulate air in your bathroom, thereby inhibiting mildew buildup and fogged-up mirrors. It operates ultra-quietly on low speed at just 0.3 sone, keeping background bathroom noise to a minimum.
           

          Will the Flex-Z Fast bracket extend far enough for mounting on joists that are spaced 24 inches on-center?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 2, 2016
           
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Eliminate shower clutter with Zenith's Stainless Steel Shower Head Caddy. The stainless steel construction provides durable rust-free performance as well as aesthetic appeal. Two spacious shelves and a soap tray can accommodate a wide variety of bathroom products. These shelves are self-draining, so standing water will not damage your stored items. Hang your razors by using curved wire located in the front of each shelf. Additionally, this premium caddy features hooks for hanging storage of loofahs, shower poufs, washcloths, and more. This caddy is stabilized by a non-slip PVC shower head grip and suction cups, which will prevent swaying and keep the caddy secure on your shower head. This efficient and stylish storage device arrives fully assembled and ready to provide valuable storage space in your home shower. Zenith's toll-free USA based Customer Service department is available (800-892-3986) to answer any additional questions.
           

          Is this really constructed of stainless steel or is it just plated steel that will, in the end rust?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          October 24, 2014
           
          Alleycat's Answers
           
          The Delta Carlisle collection is offered in a brushed nickel finish. It also features the Quick Click installation system that allows you to quickly mount the product with one drilling point thus reducing the number of tasks and creating a more secure attachment. The Carlisle Robe Hook in Brushed Nickel makes a great accent for any bathroom.
           

          How do I get the Carlisle hook off the wall

          Asked by
          Jom
          December 6, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          December 9, 2016
          Answer: 
          To remove this Delta Quickclick hook from the wall, lift it straight upward. While lifted, tilt the top of the hook assembly away from the wall. With this motion, the Quickclick will release for removal of the hook This procedure is opposite that used for installation. Refer to this film clip link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZwK9eMpCYE.
           
          This Feit Electric A21 3-Way LED is specifically design to replace your standard incandescent with a similar color temperatures and same light output while providing you with the benefits of energy saving and long lasting LED’s. This A21 3-Way lasts 25,000 hours and uses 83% less energy than your standard incandescent 3-Way. This 3-Way has 3-settings that emit the like equal to 30/70/100-Watt equivalents.
           

          Is this bulb dimmable?

          Asked by
          nequi51
          Miami,Florida
          April 20, 2016
          I have table lamps 3 way.I don't know how work this bulb.
          I need to know if is good for my lamps,please help me about my doubts?.
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          November 27, 2016
          Answer: 
          This bulb is NOT dimmable. It is intended for use in 3-way sockets only.
           
          Weiman Cook Top MAX is specially formulated with Advanced Micro-Bead Technology to easily remove burned on food, grease and watermarks, leaving glass sparkling. Micro-Beads provide extra scrubbing power to cut through the toughest burned on foods. They are guaranteed not to scratch. Cook Top MAX also contains glass protectants to maintain the cooking effectiveness of the glass cook top surface.
           

          Can you use the black side of pad

          Asked by
          jolean
          May 10, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          November 18, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, and without scratching the cooktop, too.
           
          E-Z Ancor Twist-N-Lock 75 lb. #8 x 1-1/4 Zinc-Plated Nylon Flat-Head Philips Drywall Anchors with Screws (4-Pack) can support medium loads up to 75 lbs. in 1/2 in. drywall. Use to install shelving, mirrors, pictures and other items in drywall. Install using a #8 x 1/4 in. screw (included) and a #2 Philips screwdriver (not included). No pre-drilling is necessary - screw directly into drywall. Audible click lets you know when the anchor is firmly set.
           

          Would these be good for mounting a projection screen onto wall? (Not ceiling hung)

          Asked by
          LKCorp
          November 14, 2016
          Would these be good for mounting a projection screen onto wall? (Not ceiling hung)
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          November 17, 2016
          Answer: 
          I think that this wall anchor would work for your project. I do not know what style projection screen you have, but know that many are designed for wall hanging using brackets. Most pull-down projection screens that I have seen weigh less than 32 pounds, so mounting using these anchors in drywall should work using only two anchors, of course, unless the brackets are of a design needing more than one Read More
          I think that this wall anchor would work for your project. I do not know what style projection screen you have, but know that many are designed for wall hanging using brackets. Most pull-down projection screens that I have seen weigh less than 32 pounds, so mounting using these anchors in drywall should work using only two anchors, of course, unless the brackets are of a design needing more than one fastener each. I expect that your plan is to mount the brackets using these anchors with screws. If you hit a wood or metal stud when driving an anchor, eliminate that anchor and drive the bracket mounting screw directly into the stud instead. Read Less
           
          12-2-Gauge Low-Voltage (low-energy) underground landscape lighting cable is designed for landscape, security, and outdoor accent lighting applications not to exceed 150-Volt. Landscape Lighting Cable is sunlight-resistant, suitable for direct burial, and for use at temperatures between -20˚C and 60˚C. Jacket is made of PVC.
           

          Can this wire be used for any brand landscape lighting and wire connectors

          Asked by
          Steve
          Ocala, Florida
          August 14, 2015
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          November 16, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, it is suitable for any brand of low voltage landscape lighting. It is really meant for installations of 12 volt systems, although the insulation is rated for 150 volts. For best connections, used suitably sized wire nuts and dielectric grease for reliability.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 23 >>