Allan
  • Review count
    79
  • Helpfulness votes
    142
  • Average rating
    4.7
    4.7 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 10, 2013
  • Last Review:
    June 28, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      21
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        79
      • Helpfulness votes
        142
      • Average rating
        4.7
        4.7 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 10, 2013
      • Last Review:
        June 28, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          21
           
           
           
           
          Allan's Reviews
           
          Gorilla Wood Glue is the reliable adhesive that woodworkers, carpenters and hobbyists trust for their woodworking projects. Gorilla Wood Glue, a PVA glue, offers the benefits of an easy-to-use water based adhesive, with the holding power Gorilla is known for. Gorilla Wood Glue's premium formula creates a cross-linking bond to provide superior strength indoors or out.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Stronger than wood
          PostedJune 28, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Where wood needs a good bond, this one does the trick, it setting up in about a half hour. The dispenser cap leaves something to desire, however. It is hard to get off after using the glue and closing it. What I have learned to do is remove the semi-transparent cap by pulling it off and cleaning the inside of the cap and the brown plastic loop inside the cap before snapping the cap back into place for closing. The eight oz. bottle is a good size for all of my projects, it fitting the hand nicely for application purposes. I will look for this product again when this bottle is empty.
          Pros: Easy to Apply, Dries Quickly, strong bond
          Cons: container cap just ok
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Neutralize kitchen trash odor with Glad OdorShield Tall Kitchen Drawstring Trash Bags in Fresh Clean Scent. Go ahead and throw your smelly kitchen trash in your garbage can without worry. Time-lapse technical evaluation shows that OdorShield technology with Febreze Freshness provides continuous odor elimination. Innovative reinforcing bands add strength to these sturdy, 3-ply garbage bags while reducing plastic, compared to a leading branded bag. When the plastic bag is full, one quick pull of the sturdy 3-layer drawstring, and it’s closed. Grab it by the drawstrings, toss it away with ease and leave nothing behind but a fresh scent. These 13 gallon trash bags are great for a kitchen or busy home office. Stock up with this pack of 110 odor neutralizing waste bags. Get a handle on trash with Glad.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Glad OdorShield Trash Bags are Tough
          PostedJune 22, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          My first reaction after opening the carton was that the bags emitted an overwhelming febreze smell, however, that strong odor dissipated and no longer bothers. The odor neutralization quality of these bags does work. In addition, these bags live up to the Glad reputation for strength, we never having the issue with a broken bag and spilled garbage, a problem with some competing brands when set out as "overflow" for pickup without being inside a garbage can. This is an excellent product that I will buy in the future.
          Pros: High Quality, effective odor neutralization
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Keep your grilling grates and cooking surfaces spotless and clean by using the Brinkmann BBQ Scrubber. The 5 inch plastic easy grip handle attaches to a 6 in. long industrial grade scrubbing pad to allow you to apply extra "elbow grease" when needed. These BBQ scrubbers also include one additional easy-to-replace scrubbing pad. Grill on a clean, hygienic surface all through the grilling season by using the Brinkmann BBQ Scrubber on your gas or charcoal grill.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Brinkman Model 812-920-S, Works Very Well
          PostedJune 19, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          The product I got is Brinkman Model 812-920-S, Store SKU # 1000711633. It is a dual brush product with comfortable handle. The brushes are woven steel pads, the steel appearing to be stainless. This scrubber works considerably better than any steel or brass BBQ brush than I'd used in decades of BBQ grilling. It avoids the issue of bristles working loose with the potential of metal bristles getting into food cooked on the grill, a hazard with metal bristle brushes that I have read about more than once. This scrubber has a sturdy and comfortable plastic handle. The product labeling advises the user to wear a glove or oven mitt when using. What I do is oil the grill cooking surface before Read More
          The product I got is Brinkman Model 812-920-S, Store SKU # 1000711633. It is a dual brush product with comfortable handle. The brushes are woven steel pads, the steel appearing to be stainless. This scrubber works considerably better than any steel or brass BBQ brush than I'd used in decades of BBQ grilling. It avoids the issue of bristles working loose with the potential of metal bristles getting into food cooked on the grill, a hazard with metal bristle brushes that I have read about more than once. This scrubber has a sturdy and comfortable plastic handle. The product labeling advises the user to wear a glove or oven mitt when using. What I do is oil the grill cooking surface before cooking after the grill has heated up. That prevents food sticking and makes it easier to keep the cooking surface clean. To avoid having to wear a mitt when using this product, I use this scrubber after shutting the gas off and waiting for the grill to cool a bit. That also avoids the potential of touching the hot grill with the plastic handle part of the scrubber and getting melted plastic on the cooking surface. I will buy a replacement of this product when this one wears out. It is a very good product for the price. Read Less
          Pros: works better than bristled brushes, comfortable handle, safer than bristle brushes
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          10-year sealed Lithium-ion battery, combination smoke and carbon monoxide alarm with voice warning that features photoelectric and electrochemical sensing technology with Smart Hush feature. This combination alarm combines the detection capabilities of a photoelectric sensor with that of an electrochemical sensor, used to detect CO. When either sensor notices a potential hazard, it will communicate with the other reducing nuisance alarms increasing the detection of actual threats.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good for high ceilings
          PostedJune 5, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I have high ceilings in my home making accessibility of fire and carbon dioxide detectors for battery replacement a chore. The lithium ion battery in this detector has a projected life as long as the detector which is ten years. Testing each month is recommended, that easily accomplished with a long pole to push the test button in the center of the unit. The button is large at about an inch in diameter, making that easy. I was surprised how human-like the voice warning alarm identifying the issue as either fire or carbon dioxide-related, not sounding the least bit like a computer-generated announcement. This detector is easy to install in drywall, just one mounting hole needed. When the Read More
          I have high ceilings in my home making accessibility of fire and carbon dioxide detectors for battery replacement a chore. The lithium ion battery in this detector has a projected life as long as the detector which is ten years. Testing each month is recommended, that easily accomplished with a long pole to push the test button in the center of the unit. The button is large at about an inch in diameter, making that easy. I was surprised how human-like the voice warning alarm identifying the issue as either fire or carbon dioxide-related, not sounding the least bit like a computer-generated announcement. This detector is easy to install in drywall, just one mounting hole needed. When the detector is installed on the mounting plate supplied, it automatically activates, a nice feature as well. Read Less
          Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy Installation, large test button
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Channellock 7-1/2 in. Long Nose Pliers have a wire cutter feature and are ideal for work in tight spaces. The pliers have a cross-hatched jaw for maximum non-slip gripping. Handle material is soft for comfort. Includes wire cutter.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Quality made-in-the USA product
          PostedMay 31, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is a quality product, typical of Channel Lock. It is made in PA. The cutter is laser heat treated to stay sharp. The needle head has a cross-hatched pattern on the clamping surfaces for good grip. The blue handle surfaces are vinyl-covered for hand comfort and good grip during use. I have a number of other Channel Lock products that I have used for decades, they all standing up well to a lot of use. I expect that this product will last a long time as well. This is a welcome addition to my tool collection.
          Pros: Durable, comfortable handles, cross-hatched clamp surfaces
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>
           
          Allan's Questions
           
          Allan has not submitted any questions.
           
          Allan's Answers
           
          Use the Milwaukee 11-in-1 5 in. Multi-Tip Screwdriver for your driving needs. The screwdriver offers a 5 in. shaft that holds up to 9 bits so you can carry fewer drivers. It contains hardened tips ranging in size from #1 to #2 and features a rubber handle for comfort.
           

          where are the bits?

          Asked by
          James
          Colleyville, TX
          October 11, 2014
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          October 16, 2014
          Answer: 
          They are self-stored in the shaft of the driver, not in the handle. That makes for a sturdy handle with no potential for a top cap to come off or break.
           
          Traditional styling with a contemporary flair. The Portsmouth features the Champion 4 flushing system for virtually clog free performance. The Champion 4 system features the industry's largest flush valve. It achieves a maximum MaP score rating of 1,000 g. You may never have to use your plunger again. It also helps keep itself cleaner with our exclusive EverClean surface. And it's all backed by a 10 year warranty on china and trim. Generating a faster and more powerful flush. You may never have to use a plunger again.
           

          The American Standard on your site, does this include the bowl and the tank. Also will it come with the seat shown in the picture?

          Asked by
          Browny32
          Augusta, Ga.
          December 21, 2011
          model #2733.014.020
          internet # 202499514
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          December 11, 2013
          Answer: 
          The seat is NOT included.
           
          LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Gas Dryer with Steam in White
          LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Gas Dryer with Steam in White
          The LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Extra Large Capacity Gas Steam Dryer features 9 drying programs, including SteamFresh, SteamSanitary, heavy duty, delicate and towel cycles. The LoDecibel motor minimizes noise for quiet operation, and the intelligent electronic control panel makes it easy to find the right setting. This dryer has a 7.3 cu. ft. capacity to accommodate large loads and help save you time and energy.
           

          What size gas line is needed?

          Asked by
          Doug
          August 14, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          August 14, 2013
          Answer: 
          Most gas dryer lines, at least near the connector, are 1/2-inch, so a pipe that size should be adequate. I have seen 1/2-black iron feed pipes to dryers at least seven feet long. Of course, the size of the piping diameter needed can depend on the length of the run to the dryer, a larger size likely needed for long runs.
           
          LG Electronics 3.6 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
          LG Electronics 3.6 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can I buy the steam washing machine, but only purchase the regular front load dryer and they match?

          Asked by
          Takeisha
          Dallas, TX
          July 3, 2013
          Is it necessary for me to purchase the steam dryer along with the steam washing machine? What is the benefit of steaming clothes both times if done in the washer, then the dryer? I'm thinking I would prefer to purchase the steam washing machine and purchase the regular front load dryer without the steam option to save a few bucks. Will they match?
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          July 3, 2013
          Answer: 
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for Read More
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for the best price at the time. We wanted a match in appearance, so bought the pair. These LG's are great machines for the price. Read Less
           
          LG Electronics 3.6 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
          LG Electronics 3.6 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can you wash waterproof items (sneakers, mattress pads) in the LG front loader?

          Asked by
          KathleenW
          Tallahassee, FL
          June 22, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          June 23, 2013
          Answer: 
          These items are washable and can be washed in this LG machine. We do that very thing regularly with our machine.