Alleycat
  • Review count
    178
  • Helpfulness votes
    241
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 31, 2012
  • Last Review:
    April 29, 2017
 
  • Question count
    2
     
    • Answer count
      152
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        178
      • Helpfulness votes
        241
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 31, 2012
      • Last Review:
        April 29, 2017
       
      • Question count
        2
         
        • Answer count
          152
           
           
           
           
          Alleycat's Reviews
           
          This Diamond Series torque wrench by Capri Tools features a diamond contour grip design that combines an ergonomic sure-grip and a lightweight impact resistant construction. The diamond contour grip is designed for a comfortable and steady hold. The handle is made of premium impact resistant materials which is 30% lighter than traditional torque wrench handles. Our spring loaded pull down ring and specially engineered ultra smooth torque dialing help you switch torque settings on the fly: simply pull down the ring, turn the handle, and release the ring. The positive lock mechanism secures the torque setting in place while you work. The quick release button helps you easily switch between bits and sockets. The engraved in. lb. and newton meter dual scale provides a vivid and clear reading of the measurement. Adjustment is available anywhere between 25 in. lbs. - 250 in. lbs. or 2.8-16.4 newton meters, with torque tolerance at +/- 4%. Each one of our torque wrenches comes with a NIST traceable certificate of calibration, in accordance with ASME B107.300-2010 and ISO 6789:2003 standards. Each torque wrench comes with a high-image case for storage.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:Professional
          Received free product:Yes
          Easy to use 1/4-in. drive torque wrench with well-defined indication that set torque has been reached
          PostedApril 29, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is a light-weight torque wrench with flaw-free fit and finish with comfortable plastic handle. It weighs about 1 lb, 1.5 oz. The overall length at the "0" torque setting is 11 inches. It comes in a 15-1/4 inch long, 2-2/4 inch wide high-impact plastic storage case that has extra room that I use for stowing a 1/4 to 3/8-inch socket adapter. This product is delivered with a certification document confirming calibration for clockwise torque. The torque tests for the wrench I have indicate that it falls within +/-2.8%, better than the specified +/-4%. This wrench has both inch-pound and Newton-meter settings etched into the shaft. The documentation includes a torque unit conversion table. Read More
          This is a light-weight torque wrench with flaw-free fit and finish with comfortable plastic handle. It weighs about 1 lb, 1.5 oz. The overall length at the "0" torque setting is 11 inches. It comes in a 15-1/4 inch long, 2-2/4 inch wide high-impact plastic storage case that has extra room that I use for stowing a 1/4 to 3/8-inch socket adapter. This product is delivered with a certification document confirming calibration for clockwise torque. The torque tests for the wrench I have indicate that it falls within +/-2.8%, better than the specified +/-4%. This wrench has both inch-pound and Newton-meter settings etched into the shaft. The documentation includes a torque unit conversion table.

          Learning how to use this wrench was easy. Settings are very easy to change by pushing up on the locking ring and rotating the wrench shaft to achieve the setting desired. Releasing the locking ring automatically locks the setting in place. When the set torque is reached during use, there is a faint click, however, an easy to sense handle-to-drive head position shift occurs that is very easy to see or feel.
          This wrench has 1/4-inch drive, that I easily adapted to 3/8-inch drive for my spark plug sockets. I have stripped spark plug threads for small engines with aluminum heads by over-torquing on more than one occasion, the fix always involving the trouble of removing the cylinder head and having a helicoil insert installed. This torque wrench is ideal for preventing this type of incident as the torque specifications for spark plugs in aluminum heads for small engines generally fall within the 25 to 250 inch-pound or 3.7 to 27.4 Newton-meter torque range of this wrench. I just used this torque wrench to achieve the specified torque for the spark plugs in six of my small engines, it working very well every time.
          This is a great, small torque wrench and a welcome addition to my tool collection. Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, Easy to Use, Light Weight
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Milwaukee 24 in. Hardtop Rolling Bag was designed with professional tradesman in mind and built to be the most durable and provide the most versatility of any rolling bag in the industry. Featuring a Hardtop lid, 6 in. All-Terrain metal rimmed wheels and the industry's strongest extension handle, the 24 in. Hardtop Rolling bag is designed to carry loads up to 250 lbs. and easily navigate jobsite terrain. All metal skid plates and 1680D ballistic material construction further enhance the durability and a fold down front panel helps to keep hand tools and accessories organized and easily accessible.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:Professional
          Received free product:Yes
          Handy Milwaukee Tool, easy rolling 24-inch tool bag
          PostedApril 28, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This rolling bag is built tough and is of the high quality that is typical of other Milwaukee Tool products I own. It weighs about 27.5 pounds empty and is intended to tote up to 250 pounds of tools around jobsites. The bag has rigid front, back and sides faced with tough, synthetic woven fabric that also lines the inside. The bottom and top are of hard plastic, the bottom having metal skid plates to reduce wear. Lift handles are provided on both sides of the main storage compartment which has inside dimensions of about 23 inches long, 9-1/2 inches wide and 14-1/2 inches high. The hard lid has straps with clips to hold it down. The 12-inch wide tow handle extends to about 42 inches off the Read More
          This rolling bag is built tough and is of the high quality that is typical of other Milwaukee Tool products I own. It weighs about 27.5 pounds empty and is intended to tote up to 250 pounds of tools around jobsites. The bag has rigid front, back and sides faced with tough, synthetic woven fabric that also lines the inside. The bottom and top are of hard plastic, the bottom having metal skid plates to reduce wear. Lift handles are provided on both sides of the main storage compartment which has inside dimensions of about 23 inches long, 9-1/2 inches wide and 14-1/2 inches high. The hard lid has straps with clips to hold it down. The 12-inch wide tow handle extends to about 42 inches off the floor, a very comfortable height that avoids stooping while towing.
          This bag has numerous small pockets including a 10-inch wide pocket with Velcro closure to organize the tools inside the main compartment, two exterior beverage bottle pockets on the sides and 2 exterior zippered pockets. The large exterior zippered pocket across the front of the main compartment has an interior zippered pocket and 12 other pockets with elastic loops. The hard top has two beverage holders and a groove that is handy to steady objects like pipe, conduit and wood dowels for cutting. The top is not intended to provide a sitting area. I find it handy as a lunch table at my work area instead.
          I have had this tool bag for nearly a month now, finding that it makes moving my tools to work areas much easier than carrying them in several trips, including up and down stairs and on other than smooth outdoor surfaces. This bag rolls easily, even with a heavy load. It has 6-inch wheels with steel hubs and hard rubber tires on a full-width, single-piece axle with steel bearings, not bushings. I often use it to carry cordless and corded power tools that tend to be heavy.
          This is a quality product that is worth having, even for the home handyman. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Sturdy
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The first tool of its kind, the M18 FUEL SUPER HAWG delivers the power and run-time necessary to complete cordless rough-ins. Optimized for Plumbing and HVAC professionals, this drill powers through 6 in. holes and can drill over (150) 2-9/16 in. holes per charge in 2x dimensional lumber with a self-feed bit. The POWERSTATE brushless motor delivers constant power under heavy load to maintain drilling speed. REDLINK PLUS Intelligence is the most advanced electronic system on the market, preventing damage to the tool and battery caused by overloading or overheating. The M18 REDLITHIUM HIGH DEMAND 9.0 Battery Pack delivers up to 5X more run-time, 35% more power and runs 60% cooler than standard 18-Volt lithium-ion batteries. It maintains full power and runs substantially cooler through heavy applications, allowing users to push their cordless tools harder and longer than ever before. The M18 REDLITHIUM HIGH DEMAND 9.0 battery is fully compatible with 125+ M18 tools. A mechanical clutch in low speed protects the tool from damage in the case that a bit binds up and the tool stalls.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Brute power with this 1/2-inch, right-angle, cordless drill designed for rough-in work
          PostedApril 27, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is a heavy duty right-angle, cordless, variable-speed, reversible drill with two speed ranges. It comes with two High Demand 9.0 lithium batteries, chuck wrench, side handle and rapid charger in a tough fabric carrying case. The speed ranges are shifted with a two-position knob that is positioned so that it is out of the way to prevent accidental, unintended speed range shifts while working. Such shifts must be avoided during tool operation to prevent tool damage and/or operator injury.
          This tool has brute power, capable of effectively driving a 6-inch hole saw for rough-in work. The tool is heavy, weighing about 14-3/4 pounds, including one of the two supplied High Demand 9.0 Read More
          This is a heavy duty right-angle, cordless, variable-speed, reversible drill with two speed ranges. It comes with two High Demand 9.0 lithium batteries, chuck wrench, side handle and rapid charger in a tough fabric carrying case. The speed ranges are shifted with a two-position knob that is positioned so that it is out of the way to prevent accidental, unintended speed range shifts while working. Such shifts must be avoided during tool operation to prevent tool damage and/or operator injury.
          This tool has brute power, capable of effectively driving a 6-inch hole saw for rough-in work. The tool is heavy, weighing about 14-3/4 pounds, including one of the two supplied High Demand 9.0 lithium batteries and the chuck wrench. From my perspective, the fairly heavy weight is an advantage for operating such a powerful tool as it encourages a tight grip on the tool. The overall length of the tool, including battery is about 23 inches with about 15 inches between centers for the main handles. Comfortable handles, the spread between the main handles and good balance made it easy for me to control this tool during use. This drill comes with a strong 11-inch detachable side handle that affords greater control for bracing the tool position, especially useful for cutting larger holes. If a bit or saw binds, the drill will react in the direction opposite the cutting bit rotation, so that the above features are important for operator safety from my perspective.
          I used this tool to do rough-in work for installation of a central vacuum cleaning system for a 4200 sq. ft. home. It worked very well, doing the job quickly, aided by the fact that I used sharp bits and saws. I also used it, without recharging the battery, for plumbing retrofit work and electrical retrofit work. Despite working all day, no battery recharge was needed with the battery indicator showing only about 25% discharge. For a bit of the retrofit work, I found that the overall width of this tool of 3-1/2 inches at the chuck end requires a cutout hole in the drywall of over 3-1/2 inches, a minus. I tackled that issue by using my smaller Milwaukee, corded right-angle drill which has a width of less than 2 inches at the chuck end.
          This is a mighty powerful tool with strong, high charge capacity batteries designed with the professional construction trades in mind. The tool is warranted for five years. I have found that Milwaukee Tool warranty service is outstanding, based on many years using Milwaukee Tool products. I will find this tool handy for future high challenge work requiring a lot of right-angle drill power. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy, good safety features, very high capacity batteries
          Cons: long warranty
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Nashua Tape Bath Fan Installation Tape ensures a permanent, air-tight seal for exhaust ducts and connectors and is the professional’s choice - trusted by generations of contractors and do it yourselfers. Nashua Trusted Tapes get the job done right, the first time, every time.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great tape release from backing, yet very strong adhesion
          PostedApril 13, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I used part of this roll of tape to install 4-inch diameter insulated, flexible exhaust ducting in our attic for two replacement bathroom ventilation fans. It worked well, having strong adhesion. What I appreciate is how easily the tape releases from the coated heavy paper backing. That is especially handy when one is in the attic of a home like mine, where I had to stand and balance on narrow floor joists spaced two feet apart. I have used other similar aluminum foil tape in such installations, the backing being thin plastic so that removing the tape from the backing was difficult and frustrating. This tape is foil so it should last a long time for exhaust fan applications in attics where Read More
          I used part of this roll of tape to install 4-inch diameter insulated, flexible exhaust ducting in our attic for two replacement bathroom ventilation fans. It worked well, having strong adhesion. What I appreciate is how easily the tape releases from the coated heavy paper backing. That is especially handy when one is in the attic of a home like mine, where I had to stand and balance on narrow floor joists spaced two feet apart. I have used other similar aluminum foil tape in such installations, the backing being thin plastic so that removing the tape from the backing was difficult and frustrating. This tape is foil so it should last a long time for exhaust fan applications in attics where temperatures can run well over 100 degrees F during hot summer days. One should avoid using woven fabric "duct tape" in such applications since it will not last. This is an excellent product from my perspective. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, High Quality, easy to remove backing, strong adhesion
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Milwaukee Hole Dozer Hole Saw features Rip guard, the strongest tooth form in the industry, backed by the Rip guard limited lifetime tooth break warranty. Each tooth is built with more steel behind the cutting edge for added strength. The Rip Guard warranty on tooth breaks is a first for the hole saw industry. The added tooth strength along with 8% cobalt give added life to the teeth, allowing for increased productivity on the jobsite, as well as continued hole quality. The Hole Dozer includes Plug Jack, an all access slot design that allows for full access during plug removal. The Plug Jack gives access lower into the cup for thick material and higher towards the teeth for thin material. With multiple positions to apply leverage and better plug access, Plug Jack increases productivity and eliminates wasted downtime between holes. For fast, tool-free change-outs, use Milwaukee's universal Quick-Change Arbors. 49-56-7210, 49-56-7240, 49-56-7250 and 49-56-9100.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:Professional
          Received free product:Yes
          Tough as nails
          PostedApril 10, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I have used this 2 inch hole saw that is designed for metal to cut holes in doors to install deadbolt locks. I did so for over a dozen steel-faced, solid core exterior wood doors. It handled that task without a sign of going dull. I bought the 2-1/8 inch version of this hole saw because of my excellent experience with this 2-inch version as most locksets and passage sets I install require a hole of that size. I build doors for interior applications using recycled hardwood barn siding, it occasionally containing nails not found and removed during the recycling process. I ran into several nails while cutting holes in the doors with this saw, it cutting through the nails without dulling the Read More
          I have used this 2 inch hole saw that is designed for metal to cut holes in doors to install deadbolt locks. I did so for over a dozen steel-faced, solid core exterior wood doors. It handled that task without a sign of going dull. I bought the 2-1/8 inch version of this hole saw because of my excellent experience with this 2-inch version as most locksets and passage sets I install require a hole of that size. I build doors for interior applications using recycled hardwood barn siding, it occasionally containing nails not found and removed during the recycling process. I ran into several nails while cutting holes in the doors with this saw, it cutting through the nails without dulling the saw. A handy feature for this hole saw are the large side openings that facilitate easy removal of cutouts. This is an excellent addition to my toolset. I will replace it with the same tool when it wears out. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Long-Lasting, large openings for cutout removal
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 36 >>
           
          Alleycat's Questions
           
          Suitable for residential and hotel bathroom renovations, the Panasonic WhisperFit EZ Dual-Speed Exhaust Fan includes a 4 in.-to-3 in. duct adapter to fit smaller-diameter ductwork. The fan features a low-profile housing and includes a Flex-Z bracket for fast, flexible and easy installation. It offers two fan speeds (80 CFM or 110 CFM) to circulate air in your bathroom, thereby inhibiting mildew buildup and fogged-up mirrors. It operates ultra-quietly on low speed at just 0.3 sone, keeping background bathroom noise to a minimum.
           

          Will the Flex-Z Fast bracket extend far enough for mounting on joists that are spaced 24 inches on-center?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 2, 2016
           
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Eliminate shower clutter with Zenith's Stainless Steel Shower Head Caddy. The stainless steel construction provides durable rust-free performance as well as aesthetic appeal. Two spacious shelves and a soap tray can accommodate a wide variety of bathroom products. These shelves are self-draining, so standing water will not damage your stored items. Hang your razors by using curved wire located in the front of each shelf. Additionally, this premium caddy features hooks for hanging storage of loofahs, shower poufs, washcloths, and more. This caddy is stabilized by a non-slip PVC shower head grip and suction cups, which will prevent swaying and keep the caddy secure on your shower head. This efficient and stylish storage device arrives fully assembled and ready to provide valuable storage space in your home shower. Zenith's toll-free USA based Customer Service department is available (800-892-3986) to answer any additional questions.
           

          Is this really constructed of stainless steel or is it just plated steel that will, in the end rust?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          October 24, 2014
           
          Alleycat's Answers
           
          The Milwaukee 24 in. Hardtop Rolling Bag was designed with professional tradesman in mind and built to be the most durable and provide the most versatility of any rolling bag in the industry. Featuring a Hardtop lid, 6 in. All-Terrain metal rimmed wheels and the industry's strongest extension handle, the 24 in. Hardtop Rolling bag is designed to carry loads up to 250 lbs. and easily navigate jobsite terrain. All metal skid plates and 1680D ballistic material construction further enhance the durability and a fold down front panel helps to keep hand tools and accessories organized and easily accessible.
           

          Can you use as a seat?

          Asked by
          Randy
          March 31, 2017
          Can you use as a seat?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          April 28, 2017
          Answer: 
          This box is not intended as a seat.
           
          The Carlisle™ Collection combines sleek lines with a bit of attitude for a contemporary look throughout the bathroom. The traditional silhouette pairs magically with a sleek nickel finish to give your bathroom an elegant and timeless appeal.
           

          What is the diameter of the bar itself?

          Asked by
          Rosegirl62
          April 18, 2017
          What is the diameter of the bar itself?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          April 27, 2017
          Answer: 
          The outside diameter of the bar itself is 5/8 inch.
           
          The Milwaukee Hole Dozer Hole Saw features Rip guard, the strongest tooth form in the industry, backed by the Rip guard limited lifetime tooth break warranty. Each tooth is built with more steel behind the cutting edge for added strength. The Rip Guard warranty on tooth breaks is a first for the hole saw industry. The added tooth strength along with 8% cobalt give added life to the teeth, allowing for increased productivity on the jobsite, as well as continued hole quality. The Hole Dozer includes Plug Jack, an all access slot design that allows for full access during plug removal. The Plug Jack gives access lower into the cup for thick material and higher towards the teeth for thin material. With multiple positions to apply leverage and better plug access, Plug Jack increases productivity and eliminates wasted downtime between holes. For fast, tool-free change-outs, use Milwaukee's universal Quick-Change Arbors. 49-56-7210, 49-56-7240, 49-56-7250 and 49-56-9100.
           

          Will the Hole Dozer drill through ceramic tile?

          Asked by
          Mike
          January 11, 2017
          Will the Hole Dozer drill through ceramic tile?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          April 10, 2017
          Answer: 
          No, it is not designed for cutting ceramics.
           
          The Milwaukee Hole Dozer Hole Saw features Rip guard, the strongest tooth form in the industry, backed by the Rip guard limited lifetime tooth break warranty. Each tooth is built with more steel behind the cutting edge for added strength. The Rip Guard warranty on tooth breaks is a first for the hole saw industry. The added tooth strength along with 8% cobalt give added life to the teeth, allowing for increased productivity on the jobsite, as well as continued hole quality. The Hole Dozer includes Plug Jack, an all access slot design that allows for full access during plug removal. The Plug Jack gives access lower into the cup for thick material and higher towards the teeth for thin material. With multiple positions to apply leverage and better plug access, Plug Jack increases productivity and eliminates wasted downtime between holes. For fast, tool-free change-outs, use Milwaukee's universal Quick-Change Arbors. 49-56-7210, 49-56-7240, 49-56-7250 and 49-56-9100.
           

          Will the mandrel fit other Dozer hole saws with no mandrel

          Asked by
          SteO
          December 28, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          April 10, 2017
          Answer: 
          The mandrel is not removable for use in other hole saws.
           
          The Farberware Pro Microwave delivers power, style and convenience with a sleek, stainless steel design to compliment your kitchen. Features include 10 power levels and a Memory Function that stores and recalls your preferred cooking settings. The Farberware Pro offers an easy to operate digital interface with 1 to 6-minute express cook buttons, time or weight based defrost controls, an Add 30-Seconds control, as well as 6 pre-programmed cooking functions for popcorn, pizza, a dinner plate and more. Multi-stage cooking means that you can set the power level to adjust during the cooking cycle for perfect results without interruption. The LCD display provides a clock and kitchen timer. With a generous 1.3 cu. ft. cooking capacity, 1000-Watt of power, and a rotating turntable, the Farberware Pro is the perfect multi-tasker for your kitchen.
           

          Turntable

          Asked by
          Ruby
          September 11, 2016
          Is the turntable removable to wash?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          March 31, 2017
          Answer: 
          The turntable is clear glass, likely a Pyrex-type product. To remove it, simply pick it up. It is certainly washable.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 31 >>