Alleycat
  • Review count
    214
  • Helpfulness votes
    287
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 31, 2012
  • Last Review:
    January 8, 2018
 
  • Question count
    2
     
    • Answer count
      209
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        214
      • Helpfulness votes
        287
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 31, 2012
      • Last Review:
        January 8, 2018
       
      • Question count
        2
         
        • Answer count
          209
           
           
           
           
          Alleycat's Reviews
           
          Remember when you could move your tools freely around the wood shop? Get the most out of your work space with the WEN Heavy Duty 500-Pound Capacity Universal Mobile Base. With 2 fixed casters and 2 swivel casters, this versatile dolly is the perfect companion for band saws, table saws, tool chests, gun cabinets, safes, lathes, planers, jointers, drill presses, sanders, and more. This versatile mobile stand fits both rectangular and square bases. The square configuration adjusts from 11.8 x 11.8 in. up to 35.4 x 35.4 in. in size while the rectangular configuration goes all the way up to 51.2 x 19.7 in. Ball bearings inside of the wheels provide smoother travel and a longer lifespan when compared to other mobile bases available on the market. Foot-locking brakes prevent users from needing to bend down to lock and unlock the stand. Plus, our compact design minimizes the bases invasiveness, increasing the height of the tool by a mere 7/8 in. And because its a WEN product, your mobile base comes backed by a 2-year warranty, a nationwide network of skilled service technicians and a friendly customer help line. Remember when your tools could easily roll wherever you wanted them. Remember WEN.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This mobile base is made of quality parts with well-done welds and a tough paint job. All needed ...
          PostedJanuary 8, 2018
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This mobile base is made of quality parts with well-done welds and a tough paint job. All needed parts except four bolts with nuts and washers that I needed to attach the base to my table saw stand were provided. The only quality issue that I found is that I was not able to insert the bolt that holds the foot lever into one of the front corner brackets without enlarging the holes with a properly sized drill bit (punch flare present).
          Mating this mobile base to my table saw stand was more difficult than I had expected. I worked alone to accomplish the task. My table saw is 45-years old, having a very heavy cast iron table and extensions, total machine weight just over 300 pounds. Read More
          This mobile base is made of quality parts with well-done welds and a tough paint job. All needed parts except four bolts with nuts and washers that I needed to attach the base to my table saw stand were provided. The only quality issue that I found is that I was not able to insert the bolt that holds the foot lever into one of the front corner brackets without enlarging the holes with a properly sized drill bit (punch flare present).
          Mating this mobile base to my table saw stand was more difficult than I had expected. I worked alone to accomplish the task. My table saw is 45-years old, having a very heavy cast iron table and extensions, total machine weight just over 300 pounds. Complicating the matter was the fact that the saw stand is mostly closed and has short legs. I did not plan the installation well as I had pre-assembled this mobile base, not reading the assembly instructions COMPLETELY before starting. I should have read the NOTE near the end of the instructions first, the NOTE indicating that for a difficult-to-move machine, the base should be assembled around the machine after the machine has been set on blocks. I had to partially disassemble what I had assembled and make a separate trip to a store get 4x4-inch inch lumber stock to make blocks. I ended up using an automotive floor jack to lift the machine to block it up. I had to block it up fairly high to bolt the saw stand to this base. I suggest that the assembly instructions be modified by the manufacturer to put the above-mentioned NOTE at the beginning of the assembly instructions.
          Once I had this mobile base assembled and attached, I found it to work well, the wheels being large enough so that I can now move my heavy table saw with ease. For the price, this is a good product. It has a two-year limited warranty. Read Less
          Pros: tough quality paint, base rolls easily even under heavy machine
          Cons: instructions need a change, difficult to install on a heavy machine
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Perfect for driving stakes and chipping or cracking concrete and stone. For smaller construction projects. Double injected handle for increased strength, durability and control and overstrike protection.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:Professional
          Received free product:Yes
          This Husky Engineer's hammer weighs about 4 pounds, 10 ounces (weighed on an accurate postal scal...
          PostedJanuary 5, 2018
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This Husky Engineer's hammer weighs about 4 pounds, 10 ounces (weighed on an accurate postal scale). It has an overall length of about 14 inches. This product has a tough, molded glass-reinforced plastic handle with comfortable rubber grip. The overall fit and finish is excellent, the best I have seen for a hammer of this size and price level. I do both landscape and land surveying work. This hammer works well for driving spikes into landscape timbers. It is about ideal in size and weight for driving 18-inch long, 1-inch diameter steel piping into the ground for marking property line corners. With its competitive pricing and high overall quality, this product is hard to beat, considering the Read More
          This Husky Engineer's hammer weighs about 4 pounds, 10 ounces (weighed on an accurate postal scale). It has an overall length of about 14 inches. This product has a tough, molded glass-reinforced plastic handle with comfortable rubber grip. The overall fit and finish is excellent, the best I have seen for a hammer of this size and price level. I do both landscape and land surveying work. This hammer works well for driving spikes into landscape timbers. It is about ideal in size and weight for driving 18-inch long, 1-inch diameter steel piping into the ground for marking property line corners. With its competitive pricing and high overall quality, this product is hard to beat, considering the lifetime warranty that is included. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Sturdy, great fit and finish, lifetime warranty, comfortable handle
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The patented Delta Cruzer sliding miter saw uses military-grade aluminum frame members with heavy duty bearings for super smooth cutting operation and extremely long life. The space saving design is easy to transport and ts against the wall in a shop. Smooth cuts are achieved with the easy to use sliding arm.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This new Delta 12-inch compound, sliding miter saw was delivered in well-designed packaging that ...
          PostedDecember 10, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This new Delta 12-inch compound, sliding miter saw was delivered in well-designed packaging that makes use of two large molded polystyrene foam inserts to protect the saw from damage during shipment. The saw arrived in factory condition, it having excellent fit and finish. This saw has a powerful 15-amp, 120 volt AC motor with 4000 RPM no-load speed rating. The documentation provided with this saw is well-written and includes a complete parts list with diagram and contact for replacement parts. This saw makes use of two triple-pivot, robot-style arms with bearings for silk-smooth sliding action. An advantage of this slider design is that it makes this saw quite compact. It allows the saw to Read More
          This new Delta 12-inch compound, sliding miter saw was delivered in well-designed packaging that makes use of two large molded polystyrene foam inserts to protect the saw from damage during shipment. The saw arrived in factory condition, it having excellent fit and finish. This saw has a powerful 15-amp, 120 volt AC motor with 4000 RPM no-load speed rating. The documentation provided with this saw is well-written and includes a complete parts list with diagram and contact for replacement parts. This saw makes use of two triple-pivot, robot-style arms with bearings for silk-smooth sliding action. An advantage of this slider design is that it makes this saw quite compact. It allows the saw to be backed up to and used right next to a wall. The saw was delivered with a 60-tooth, carbide-tipped general purpose blade, blade wrench, dust collection bag and a handy swing-away style work clamping device. It has a tall sliding fence that allows vertical baseboard cutting capacity of up to 6-1/2 inches. Out of the box, this saw has a cutting capacity with 0 degree bevel and 0 degree miter of 4 x 14 inches. It can cut a nominal 2 x 10-inch board at a 45 degree bevel and a 45 degree miter. By removing the upper fence, flipping lower fence tabs and adding a table board, one can cut material up to 2 x 18 inches. This miter saw has the features expected of a high quality product, including positive miter stops at 0, 15, 22.5, 31.6 and 45 degrees and bevel stops at 0, 22.5, 33.9 and 45 degrees.
          Out of the box, this saw weighs a fairly heavy 57 pounds. A central handle and smoothly shaped slots at the base sides facilitate carrying or moving.
          This saw has lots of controls and adjustments using blue-colored knobs, levers and buttons. Most of the controls are inherently well-positioned, although it took a bit practice to learn how to use all of them. The sliding tension as well as the depth of cut are adjustable. Complete instructions are provided in the documentation for realignment, if necessary. I found the alignments "right on" as delivered. This product carries a 5-year limited warranty.
          I made a trip to an area builders' tool market, finding this saw priced competitively compared to other high quality miter saw products. I found that it affords very good dust collection if I connected the saw dust outlet to my shop vacuum and operated the vacuum while sawing.
          Put simply, this is a high quality, feature-laden miter saw and a great addition to my working tool collection. Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, Easy to Use, Powerful, silk-smooth sliding, excellent instructions
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Milwaukee Fleece Lined Knit Hat features a fleece band around the ears to block wind and provide extra warmth in cold conditions. Beanie style construction allows for easy use under a hard hat. Durable 98% Polyester, 2% Spandex construction resists snagging and manages moisture to help prevent sweating and overheating. Product intended for cold weather use.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This Milwaukee stretchable, one-size beanie has a tight-knit outer fabric of 98% polyester with 2...
          PostedDecember 7, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This Milwaukee stretchable, one-size beanie has a tight-knit outer fabric of 98% polyester with 2% Spandex. The fleece liner is 100% polyester. It fits well, much more so than loosely-knit hats of this type that I have worn that have a tendency to pull or sag downward in the front to obscure vision. I wore it several times in the last few days while working outdoors in gusty winds (to 25 mph) with temperatures in the low-to-mid 20's F. It worked well to keep my head and ears warm in such conditions. I anticipate wearing it under a hood during days I blow snow from sidewalks and drives in my neighborhood as it is not the least bit bulky. Cleaning instructions are not provided on the label Read More
          This Milwaukee stretchable, one-size beanie has a tight-knit outer fabric of 98% polyester with 2% Spandex. The fleece liner is 100% polyester. It fits well, much more so than loosely-knit hats of this type that I have worn that have a tendency to pull or sag downward in the front to obscure vision. I wore it several times in the last few days while working outdoors in gusty winds (to 25 mph) with temperatures in the low-to-mid 20's F. It worked well to keep my head and ears warm in such conditions. I anticipate wearing it under a hood during days I blow snow from sidewalks and drives in my neighborhood as it is not the least bit bulky. Cleaning instructions are not provided on the label inside the hat. Since the product is primarily polyester, it should wash well in detergent and water. Overall, this is a nice product. Read Less
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, Looks Great, keeps ears warm
          Cons: no cleaning instructions
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The FreeReel Cord/Hose Management System gives you the freedom to use your air hoses, extension cords, cables, garden hoses in the ways you want and need. Imagine your hoses and cords out of the way and neatly coiled and stored when not in use, but very conveniently and quickly placed into use when you need them. The FreeReel System provides unparalleled flexibility in managing all aspects of using hoses and cords. The patented precision cord/hose guide/winder physically guides the cord or hose on to the storage reel during coiling. This means you do not need to use your hand to guide the cord or hose, keeping your hand clean and the cord or hose untangled. Once the cord or hose has been wound on the storage reel, the user carries the FreeReel with the cord or hose, using the integrated handle, and stores both the cord or hose and storage reel in the wall storage mount. Now everything is out of the way and neatly stored, ready for the next use. When removing the cord or hose from the reel for use, the user simply puts a hand on the integrated handle, with their thumb on the thumb rest pointing the direction to unwind. And then the user walks in the direction where the cord or hose will be used, all the while laying the cord neatly on the ground.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:Professional
          Received free product:Yes
          Freereel is an innovative coiling and storage product by Martin Product Design of Madison, WI. Th...
          PostedDecember 5, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Freereel is an innovative coiling and storage product by Martin Product Design of Madison, WI. The delivered system included one reel cassette, a cord guide/winder and one wall storage mount. It is constructed of tough fiber-reinforced plastic. It included easy-to-understand instructions with photos showing how to wind and unwind cord, hose or rope. I followed the instructions carefully and found, with a bit of learning, that this is a very handy system, particularly for the 100-foot, 12-gage heavy duty extension cord that I use the most inside my garage and for powering yard equipment. It handles that cord easily. Despite what other reviews have indicated, I find it particularly good for Read More
          Freereel is an innovative coiling and storage product by Martin Product Design of Madison, WI. The delivered system included one reel cassette, a cord guide/winder and one wall storage mount. It is constructed of tough fiber-reinforced plastic. It included easy-to-understand instructions with photos showing how to wind and unwind cord, hose or rope. I followed the instructions carefully and found, with a bit of learning, that this is a very handy system, particularly for the 100-foot, 12-gage heavy duty extension cord that I use the most inside my garage and for powering yard equipment. It handles that cord easily. Despite what other reviews have indicated, I find it particularly good for use in my garage where, for use, I usually unwind and less than the entire coiled extension cord. To accommodate doing so, I use the clips on the winding handle side of the reel to hold a pigtail of power cord long enough to reach an outlet a few feet from where I hang the winder with attached reel. I hang the system on a ladder hook as shown in an accompanying photo. This product eliminates the inconvenience of tangles and knotting of the long power cord that I had become accustomed to dealing with in the past. I tried using this system with my 50-foot 3/8-inch ID polyurethane air hose finding that the reel does not have sufficient capacity to easily handle more than about 40 feet of such hose. The product is warranted for five years from defects in materials and workmanship. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, Sturdy, 5-year warranty, Clear Instructions
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 43 >>
           
          Alleycat's Questions
           
          Suitable for residential and hotel bathroom renovations, the Panasonic WhisperFit EZ Dual-Speed Exhaust Fan includes a 4 in.-to-3 in. duct adapter to fit smaller-diameter ductwork. The fan features a low-profile housing and includes a Flex-Z bracket for fast, flexible and easy installation. It offers two fan speeds (80 CFM or 110 CFM) to circulate air in your bathroom, thereby inhibiting mildew buildup and fogged-up mirrors. It operates ultra-quietly on low speed at just 0.3 sone, keeping background bathroom noise to a minimum.
           

          Will the Flex-Z Fast bracket extend far enough for mounting on joists that are spaced 24 inches on-center?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 2, 2016
           
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Eliminate shower clutter with Zenith's Stainless Steel Shower Head Caddy. The stainless steel construction provides durable rust-free performance as well as aesthetic appeal. Two spacious shelves and a soap tray can accommodate a wide variety of bathroom products. These shelves are self-draining, so standing water will not damage your stored items. Hang your razors by using curved wire located in the front of each shelf. Additionally, this premium caddy features hooks for hanging storage of loofahs, shower poufs, washcloths, and more. This caddy is stabilized by a non-slip PVC shower head grip and suction cups, which will prevent swaying and keep the caddy secure on your shower head. This efficient and stylish storage device arrives fully assembled and ready to provide valuable storage space in your home shower. Zenith's toll-free USA based Customer Service department is available (800-892-3986) to answer any additional questions.
           

          Is this really constructed of stainless steel or is it just plated steel that will, in the end rust?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          October 24, 2014
           
          Alleycat's Answers
           
          Loud, clear sound. Built for work. Featuring a high-performance audio system and rugged design, the Milwaukee M18 Jobsite Radio is built to amplify and survive the jobsite. Dual speakers and passive radiators combine to produce sharp highs, rich midst and deep bass at all volumes. Durable metal speaker grills and shock-absorbing end caps protect from drops and other harmful job site conditions, while integrated handles allow for easy transport and storage. Listening options include a digital processor with best-in-class reception and signal clarity or a 3.5 mm aux jack for wired playback. A weather-sealed auxiliary compartment protects devices and houses a 2.1 amp USB charging port. For versatility, the M18 Jobsite Radio can be powered by all M18 REDLITHIUM batteries or A/C power.
           

          Are the speakers weather resistant like the m12 version?

          Asked by
          TheMaxwell
          February 16, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          December 30, 2017
          Answer: 
          This radio is weatherproof.
           
          Loud, clear sound. Built for work. Featuring a high-performance audio system and rugged design, the Milwaukee M18 Jobsite Radio is built to amplify and survive the jobsite. Dual speakers and passive radiators combine to produce sharp highs, rich midst and deep bass at all volumes. Durable metal speaker grills and shock-absorbing end caps protect from drops and other harmful job site conditions, while integrated handles allow for easy transport and storage. Listening options include a digital processor with best-in-class reception and signal clarity or a 3.5 mm aux jack for wired playback. A weather-sealed auxiliary compartment protects devices and houses a 2.1 amp USB charging port. For versatility, the M18 Jobsite Radio can be powered by all M18 REDLITHIUM batteries or A/C power.
           

          Does the radio charge the M18 battery when plugged into an AC outlet or does the battery require ...

          Asked by
          JMD
          December 29, 2017
          Does the radio charge the M18 battery when plugged into an AC outlet or does the battery require a stand-alone charger station?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          December 30, 2017
          Answer: 
          A separate battery charger is required.
           
          The patented Delta Cruzer sliding miter saw uses military-grade aluminum frame members with heavy duty bearings for super smooth cutting operation and extremely long life. The space saving design is easy to transport and ts against the wall in a shop. Smooth cuts are achieved with the easy to use sliding arm.
           

          What is the total height from table top to top of the handle with the saw blade assembly tilted u...

          Asked by
          Marvin
          November 7, 2017
          What is the total height from table top to top of the handle with the saw blade assembly tilted up? What is the total distance from the front of the front knob to the extreme back of the saw? Answers to these questions will assist those of us who contend with permanent shelving above the saw and a limited fore and aft distance on which to use the saw.
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          December 10, 2017
          Answer: 
          With the saw up, the dimension between the bottom of the saw base to the top of the handle is approximately 26-1/4 inches. At zero miter setting, the back-of- saw to front-of-the- lock-knob dimension is approximately 31 inches.
           
          This RIDGID 10 Gal. stainless steel wet dry vacuum is designed to deliver high performance through its 6.0 peak HP motor that easily handles tough clean-up tasks. Add a top handle with a cord wrap, stainless steel drum construction and caster feet with accessory storage and you have a shop vacuum that meets the demands of Pros, DIYers and homeowners. It features the Patented Qwik Lock Filter Fastening System that makes installing or removing your filter quick, easy and secure.
           

          My other Shop Vac's always ended up having a sucked in collapsing hose. How is this hose?

          Asked by
          RubyLips
          December 3, 2017
          My other Shop Vac's always ended up having a sucked in collapsing hose. How is this hose?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          December 3, 2017
          Answer: 
          I have not had the least bit of an issue with a kinked or collapsed hose with this vacuum, despite its high suction.
           
          The M18 and M12 Rapid Charger charges pack up to 40% faster, reducing downtime and maximizing productivity. The charger accepts all M18 and M12 batteries, providing an upgrade for both systems. Featuring REDLINK Intelligence, it communicates directly with the battery to monitor cell voltage, temperature and charge status to optimize the performance and extend the life of the pack. As an added level of communication, the charger indicates when the battery reaches an 80% charge, providing confidence that a substantial amount of work can be completed without waiting for a full charge.
           

          how fast does this charge a 5.0amp battery?

          Asked by
          Chevy513
          November 24, 2017
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          November 26, 2017
          Answer: 
          With this charger, expect a 30 to 45 minute recharge time for a run down 5 ampere hour battery..
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 42 >>