Allan
  • Review count
    60
  • Helpfulness votes
    135
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 10, 2013
  • Last Review:
    March 19, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      21
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        60
      • Helpfulness votes
        135
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 10, 2013
      • Last Review:
        March 19, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          21
           
           
           
           
          Allan's Reviews
           
          50-Piece driving set is ideal for home project ideas. The driving set provides long lasting use. The compact design makes for convenient carrying.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good Quality
          PostedMarch 19, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is a really complete set of driver bits so that would be hard-pressed not to have the right driver bit at hand for just about any screw fastener. The bits are chrome vanadium alloy that should stand up well in hard use. I used one bit for driving a lot of drywall screws, it standing up well to power driver use. The magnetic bit holder designed for use in power drivers comes in handy for very quick bit switching while using a power driver. The plastic case supplied for organizing and storing the bits and holder is handy. A con concerning the plastic case is that I usually need to use a small screwdriver to pry the bits from the plastic clamping slots to remove them as they are clamped Read More
          This is a really complete set of driver bits so that would be hard-pressed not to have the right driver bit at hand for just about any screw fastener. The bits are chrome vanadium alloy that should stand up well in hard use. I used one bit for driving a lot of drywall screws, it standing up well to power driver use. The magnetic bit holder designed for use in power drivers comes in handy for very quick bit switching while using a power driver. The plastic case supplied for organizing and storing the bits and holder is handy. A con concerning the plastic case is that I usually need to use a small screwdriver to pry the bits from the plastic clamping slots to remove them as they are clamped very tightly in the holding slots. Read Less
          Pros: Durable
          Cons: case clamps bits too tightly
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Unger 36 in. Nifty Nabber is ideal for grasping items beyond your reach without stretching or bending. The lightweight aluminum handle features an ergonomic grip. The rubber-tipped grippers prevent damage to whatever you hold large or small.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Quite a bit of desterity
          PostedMarch 19, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I was quite surprised how much dexterity this reach and pickup device provides. One can pick a dime off of the floor without bending over. Do not count on the magnetic feature claimed for this device to do much. It will not attract steel dropped on a floor, however, simply close the jaws on it for clamping and one can pick it even a small screw, nut or washer without bending over. My main use for this aid is picking up litter while mowing with our riding mower. I have attached a clamping device to the fender of my rider to hold this device within easy reach while seated. I've tried it out, finding it handy for picking up paper and plastic litter as well as plastic bottles and aluminum cans Read More
          I was quite surprised how much dexterity this reach and pickup device provides. One can pick a dime off of the floor without bending over. Do not count on the magnetic feature claimed for this device to do much. It will not attract steel dropped on a floor, however, simply close the jaws on it for clamping and one can pick it even a small screw, nut or washer without bending over. My main use for this aid is picking up litter while mowing with our riding mower. I have attached a clamping device to the fender of my rider to hold this device within easy reach while seated. I've tried it out, finding it handy for picking up paper and plastic litter as well as plastic bottles and aluminum cans while on the mower. It ends the need to stop, get off the mower, get back on and restart the mower deck blades just to retrieve litter. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
          Cons: ineffective magnet
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This dual-sided mitt comes with the natural cleaning powers of microfiber - doubled. The microfiber/chenille side of the mitt attracts and traps dirt. Turn it over and the textured terry weave microfiber cleans smooth surfaces and leaves a streak-free shine. An elastic band helps the mitt stay put. It’s machine washable and reusable.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Picks up dust like a magnet picks up iron filings
          PostedMarch 8, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This dusting mitt takes on a static charge that attracts and holds dust with the sweep of your hand. My wife is impressed and so am I. We use our vacuum cleaner to clean it between washings. To extend it's life, be certain to follow the washing instructions. We no longer use ordinary cotton rags for dusting furniture and ledges, microfiber products like this Quickie glove a far better alternative.
          Pros: Easy to Use, Fast Results, Long-Lasting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The 48-22-3102 Milwaukee Inkzall Permanent Markers are optimized for jobsite conditions. The durable tip is designed to withstand writing on rough surfaces such as OSB, cinderblock and concrete and writes through dusty, wet or oily contamination. The hard hat clip is designed to clip onto the brim of hard hats for easy access.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Fit hand well due to shape
          PostedMarch 8, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This permanent marker cuts through dirt and grease often associated with construction and handyman activities. The marker fits the hand well and does not roll off the table or work surface readily due to the flattened cross section. The tips are fairly hard and stay so when others end up marking wide. This is another Milwaukee innovative product that I appreciate enough to buy again.
          Pros: Good Size & Weight, nice hand fit, shape resists rolling
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Bring the classic woven wicker style to your outdoor space with this elegant 3-piece patio bistro set from the Posada Collection by Hampton Bay. Perfect for sharing drinks or snacks, the set includes 2 luxuriously cushioned arm chairs and a 28 in. painted glass top bistro table with a woven rim, all in neutral gray tones to blend with any decor. The solid, powder-coated steel frames ensure that this set will provide outdoor enjoyment for years to come.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          High Quality for the Price
          PostedFebruary 11, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This Bistro patio set arrived without damage despite being shipped a long distance, the packaging being very well-designed. The frame is of all steel construction with high-quality welds and painted finish. Some assembly is required, specifically involving the table, that being quite easy. Stainless steel fasteners are provided for use in the table assembly which, along with the good-looking paint finish, should result in good corrosion resistance. The table top is quarter inch gray translucent glass. The vinyl wicker used in the chairs and on the table edging is thick and tough. The chairs nest for easy storage. The chair cushions have straps to keep them on the chairs on windy days. Read More
          This Bistro patio set arrived without damage despite being shipped a long distance, the packaging being very well-designed. The frame is of all steel construction with high-quality welds and painted finish. Some assembly is required, specifically involving the table, that being quite easy. Stainless steel fasteners are provided for use in the table assembly which, along with the good-looking paint finish, should result in good corrosion resistance. The table top is quarter inch gray translucent glass. The vinyl wicker used in the chairs and on the table edging is thick and tough. The chairs nest for easy storage. The chair cushions have straps to keep them on the chairs on windy days. Overall, this is a great-looking set that we are placing on the patio at the main entrance to our home. We like the chair seat height, it being higher than that for regular patio seating, that making it easy to get in and out of them. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>
           
          Allan's Questions
           
          Allan has not submitted any questions.
           
          Allan's Answers
           
          Use the Milwaukee 11-in-1 5 in. Multi-Tip Screwdriver for your driving needs. The screwdriver offers a 5 in. shaft that holds up to 9 bits so you can carry fewer drivers. It contains hardened tips ranging in size from #1 to #2 and features a rubber handle for comfort.
           

          where are the bits?

          Asked by
          James
          Colleyville, TX
          October 11, 2014
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          October 16, 2014
          Answer: 
          They are self-stored in the shaft of the driver, not in the handle. That makes for a sturdy handle with no potential for a top cap to come off or break.
           
          Traditional styling with a contemporary flair. The Portsmouth features the Champion 4 flushing system for virtually clog free performance. The Champion 4 system features the industry's largest flush valve. It achieves a maximum MaP score rating of 1,000 g. You may never have to use your plunger again. It also helps keep itself cleaner with our exclusive EverClean surface. And it's all backed by a 10 year warranty on china and trim. Generating a faster and more powerful flush. You may never have to use a plunger again.
           

          The American Standard on your site, does this include the bowl and the tank. Also will it come with the seat shown in the picture?

          Asked by
          Browny32
          Augusta, Ga.
          December 21, 2011
          model #2733.014.020
          internet # 202499514
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          December 11, 2013
          Answer: 
          The seat is NOT included.
           
          The LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Extra Large Capacity Gas Steam Dryer features 9 drying programs, including SteamFresh, SteamSanitary, heavy duty, delicate and towel cycles. The LoDecibel motor minimizes noise for quiet operation, and the intelligent electronic control panel makes it easy to find the right setting. This dryer has a 7.3 cu. ft. capacity to accommodate large loads and help save you time and energy.
           

          What size gas line is needed?

          Asked by
          Doug
          August 14, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          August 14, 2013
          Answer: 
          Most gas dryer lines, at least near the connector, are 1/2-inch, so a pipe that size should be adequate. I have seen 1/2-black iron feed pipes to dryers at least seven feet long. Of course, the size of the piping diameter needed can depend on the length of the run to the dryer, a larger size likely needed for long runs.
           
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can I buy the steam washing machine, but only purchase the regular front load dryer and they match?

          Asked by
          Takeisha
          Dallas, TX
          July 3, 2013
          Is it necessary for me to purchase the steam dryer along with the steam washing machine? What is the benefit of steaming clothes both times if done in the washer, then the dryer? I'm thinking I would prefer to purchase the steam washing machine and purchase the regular front load dryer without the steam option to save a few bucks. Will they match?
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          July 3, 2013
          Answer: 
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for Read More
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for the best price at the time. We wanted a match in appearance, so bought the pair. These LG's are great machines for the price. Read Less
           
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can you wash waterproof items (sneakers, mattress pads) in the LG front loader?

          Asked by
          KathleenW
          Tallahassee, FL
          June 22, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          June 23, 2013
          Answer: 
          These items are washable and can be washed in this LG machine. We do that very thing regularly with our machine.