Allan
  • Review count
    74
  • Helpfulness votes
    140
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 10, 2013
  • Last Review:
    May 24, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      21
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        74
      • Helpfulness votes
        140
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 10, 2013
      • Last Review:
        May 24, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          21
           
           
           
           
          Allan's Reviews
           
          These 7 in. Diagonal Cutting Pliers feature a unique knife and anvil style cutting system to ensure a clean cut every time. Precision machined and laser heat-treated, these cutting edges have superior cutting edge life. With over 1 in. of jaw clearance, the Channellock 337 accommodates a wider variety of cutting jobs.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great Made-in-the USA Quality
          PostedMay 24, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Channel Lock manufactures in the USA, making consistently high quality hand tools, this diagonal cutting pliers being no exception. The anvil-style cutter is properly heat-treated so that one can expect a clean, sharp cutting action for a long time. The jaws open very wide (a whole inch), making it easy to home in on the material to be cut in poor lighting conditions and/or where the reach is long. The blue handle covers afford a secure, comfortable grip, also making it easy to spot this tool in my nearly full toolbox. This tool is a welcome addition to my workshop collection.
          Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, jaws open wide, comfortable handles
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Imagine a world where weeds weren’t an issue, One feeding of Scotts Turf Builder Weed and Feed will not only kill dandelions, clover and other weeds that have invaded your lawn, but will help to thicken your grass to help crowd out new weeds from taking hold. And by developing an annual feeding routine that includes Scotts Turf Builder Weed and Feed will help your lawn look its best all year round and protect it from other stress as well such as heat, drought and everyday family activity.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Greenest lawn in the neighborhood
          PostedMay 24, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I have wandered away from Scotts Turf Builder products occasionally, always coming back after trying others. This weed and feed product has improved over the years, now effective at killing even clover, a stubborn broadleaf that has survived my past attacks with spot-sprayed products containing 2-4-D. One application to damp grass of this product did the job of wilting and finally killing the clover.
          I have a neighbor who does little to control weeds, mowing short, that fostering a prolific crop of broadleaf weed seeds that are carried my way by the wind. Although I mow long and have very thick turf, each spring I have a new crop in my grass close to this neighbor. This product does the Read More
          I have wandered away from Scotts Turf Builder products occasionally, always coming back after trying others. This weed and feed product has improved over the years, now effective at killing even clover, a stubborn broadleaf that has survived my past attacks with spot-sprayed products containing 2-4-D. One application to damp grass of this product did the job of wilting and finally killing the clover.
          I have a neighbor who does little to control weeds, mowing short, that fostering a prolific crop of broadleaf weed seeds that are carried my way by the wind. Although I mow long and have very thick turf, each spring I have a new crop in my grass close to this neighbor. This product does the weed control job well if applied after the broadleaf weeds show in warmer weather. I make sure to apply in the early AM when the grass is wet with dew. I have never experienced problems with grass burning using this or any other Scotts Turf Builder product, either here in WI and in GA where I lived before. The bit of extra cost for this brand is worth it as I consistently have had the greenest grass in the neighborhood. I use Turf Builder products in the late spring and late fall. When buying, I do so early and late in the season to take advantage of the sales for Turf Builder as this product generally sells for a bit more than competing brands. Read Less
          Pros: Great Quality, very effective weed ccontrol, long lasting greening
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Milwaukee 9 in. High Leverage Lineman’s Pliers feature hardened cutting edges, an integrated reaming head to smooth out rough edges of metal pipe. The Pliers on-board crimper helps for insulated and non-insulated terminals and fish tape puller. The Milwaukee comfort handle grips will not peel or dig into hands during extended use.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Man Tough
          PostedMay 13, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is a versatile, high quality tool that is comfortable to use. It is tough enough to stand up to years of use, the relatively soft handle covers molded in place so that they do not shift. I have large, strong hands, this tool fitting them well. This is a great addition to my toolbox.
          Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, comfortable handles
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Milorganite 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer is good for promoting healthy growth of lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers. The non burning formula doesn't have to be watered-in. It is fortified with 4% iron to help produce thick, green lawns without excessive growth. It doesn't contain any salts, so it is good for use in drought conditions.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Great for vole control
          PostedMay 12, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This is a product of City of Milwaukee sewage treatment, a natural fertilizer with low, slow release nitrogen and some iron. I use it primarily for the fall application of fertilizer, having the very greenest spring lawn in our neighborhood. I live in WI where this product is relatively inexpensive due to lower transportation costs than many other parts of the country. As it stands, it costs a bit more to apply this than the chemical fertilizer as respects cost per pound of nitrogen. I find it very effective to repel voles, they having done significant tunneling during winters under snow cover. This past winter, neighboring lawns had a lot of vole damage, but mine had none due to use of this Read More
          This is a product of City of Milwaukee sewage treatment, a natural fertilizer with low, slow release nitrogen and some iron. I use it primarily for the fall application of fertilizer, having the very greenest spring lawn in our neighborhood. I live in WI where this product is relatively inexpensive due to lower transportation costs than many other parts of the country. As it stands, it costs a bit more to apply this than the chemical fertilizer as respects cost per pound of nitrogen. I find it very effective to repel voles, they having done significant tunneling during winters under snow cover. This past winter, neighboring lawns had a lot of vole damage, but mine had none due to use of this product. It has a slight odor as it is treated sewage sludge. Read Less
          Pros: effective vole repellent, natural product
          Cons: slight odor of sewage sludge
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          The HDX Shower Squeegee makes for easy wiping of showers and glass. The HDX brand ergonomic grip and clear blade makes for a quick clean. The large 10 in. wide blade makes cleaning easier and you always get streak-free windows.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good Product
          PostedMay 6, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          We have very hard well water that is softened for showering. The softened water leaves behind deposits that waterspot terribly if not squeegeed or wiped dry. This squeegee does the job nicely, at ten inches wide, the right width for our shower glass enclosure. This product has no metal parts to scratch the glass and a curved handle to provide clearance between ones hand and the glass. A large hole near the handle end facilitates hanging it from a hook on our shower caddy. This is a good product for the price.
          Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, no metal parts to scratch glass
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 15 >>
           
          Allan's Questions
           
          Allan has not submitted any questions.
           
          Allan's Answers
           
          Use the Milwaukee 11-in-1 5 in. Multi-Tip Screwdriver for your driving needs. The screwdriver offers a 5 in. shaft that holds up to 9 bits so you can carry fewer drivers. It contains hardened tips ranging in size from #1 to #2 and features a rubber handle for comfort.
           

          where are the bits?

          Asked by
          James
          Colleyville, TX
          October 11, 2014
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          October 16, 2014
          Answer: 
          They are self-stored in the shaft of the driver, not in the handle. That makes for a sturdy handle with no potential for a top cap to come off or break.
           
          Traditional styling with a contemporary flair. The Portsmouth features the Champion 4 flushing system for virtually clog free performance. The Champion 4 system features the industry's largest flush valve. It achieves a maximum MaP score rating of 1,000 g. You may never have to use your plunger again. It also helps keep itself cleaner with our exclusive EverClean surface. And it's all backed by a 10 year warranty on china and trim. Generating a faster and more powerful flush. You may never have to use a plunger again.
           

          The American Standard on your site, does this include the bowl and the tank. Also will it come with the seat shown in the picture?

          Asked by
          Browny32
          Augusta, Ga.
          December 21, 2011
          model #2733.014.020
          internet # 202499514
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          December 11, 2013
          Answer: 
          The seat is NOT included.
           
          LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Gas Dryer with Steam in White
          LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Gas Dryer with Steam in White
          The LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Extra Large Capacity Gas Steam Dryer features 9 drying programs, including SteamFresh, SteamSanitary, heavy duty, delicate and towel cycles. The LoDecibel motor minimizes noise for quiet operation, and the intelligent electronic control panel makes it easy to find the right setting. This dryer has a 7.3 cu. ft. capacity to accommodate large loads and help save you time and energy.
           

          What size gas line is needed?

          Asked by
          Doug
          August 14, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          August 14, 2013
          Answer: 
          Most gas dryer lines, at least near the connector, are 1/2-inch, so a pipe that size should be adequate. I have seen 1/2-black iron feed pipes to dryers at least seven feet long. Of course, the size of the piping diameter needed can depend on the length of the run to the dryer, a larger size likely needed for long runs.
           
          LG Electronics 3.6 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
          LG Electronics 3.6 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can I buy the steam washing machine, but only purchase the regular front load dryer and they match?

          Asked by
          Takeisha
          Dallas, TX
          July 3, 2013
          Is it necessary for me to purchase the steam dryer along with the steam washing machine? What is the benefit of steaming clothes both times if done in the washer, then the dryer? I'm thinking I would prefer to purchase the steam washing machine and purchase the regular front load dryer without the steam option to save a few bucks. Will they match?
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          July 3, 2013
          Answer: 
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for Read More
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for the best price at the time. We wanted a match in appearance, so bought the pair. These LG's are great machines for the price. Read Less
           
          LG Electronics 3.6 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
          LG Electronics 3.6 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can you wash waterproof items (sneakers, mattress pads) in the LG front loader?

          Asked by
          KathleenW
          Tallahassee, FL
          June 22, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          June 23, 2013
          Answer: 
          These items are washable and can be washed in this LG machine. We do that very thing regularly with our machine.