Allan
  • Review count
    43
  • Helpfulness votes
    124
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 10, 2013
  • Last Review:
    November 10, 2014
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      21
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        43
      • Helpfulness votes
        124
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 10, 2013
      • Last Review:
        November 10, 2014
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          21
           
           
           
           
          Allan's Reviews
           
          Olympia Tools is a widely recognized brand of hardware products designed for True Professionals who takes their tools seriously. Each piece is made to exacting tolerances and tested to ensure that it meets and exceeds industry standards so that it meet your needs on the jobsite, shop or on home projects. Olympia goes all out to bring award winning innovation and quality to each product: the appearance, fit and finish of every Olympia product will make you proud you own the very best. Olympia Tools Turbo Driver features a ratchet handle made of ABS and nylon and a carbon steel body for long lasting durability.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Unusual, but Handy
          PostedNovember 10, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          This is an unusual tool that is made for octagonal fasteners, perhaps best-suited as a substitute for the handyman who does not want to carry complete sets of small hex head metric and standard sockets and a driver in a too-big toolbox like me. I find it handy because it adjusts automatically to many different sizes of screw heats and hex nuts, providing good grip and adequate torque with the twist of a wrist. I think that it would provide a nice gift for a homeowner who is not committed to buying a lot of tools.
          Pros: Easy to Use, All In One
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Philips SlimStyle 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) A19 Dimmable LED Light Bulb is the same size as a traditional A19 light bulb but with a new, sleek, flat design. Fully dimmable and with a medium base, this bulb replaces your current 60W incandescent A19 and costs about 1.26 per year in energy costs. This 10.5W bulb uses 28.88 of electricity over its 25,000 hour life, a 136.13 savings when compared to the 165 required to run a 60W, 800-lumen bulb over the same period. Philips SlimStyle A19 LED provides 360 degree, all around light. The unique shape of the Philips SilmStyle allows it to be used in more applications than your traditional A19, including table lamps, floor lamps and wall sconces.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Not Noisy and Good Light Color for Work Area
          PostedNovember 10, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          I tried one of these for my workshop after accidentally breaking a CFL while moving an object near the ceiling. Others have complained about this product being noisy. I have noticed no such thing. In fact, I liked the first one enough that I have purchased more to replace the rest of the CFLs in my workshop. The lamp is bright and lacks the blue hue of earlier LEDs that I find objectionable. The light cast from this LED lamp is just as bright as that cast from a 23 watt CFL, it using only about half the power.
          Pros: right light spectrum
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Crescent CODE RED Molding Nail Removal Pry Bar is one item in a full line of Innovative Demolition, Renovation and Construction Tools by Crescent. The Crescent brand adjustable wrench, celebrating its 105th Anniversary in 2012, is the flagship product of the brand. A true American icon, it is prized by tradesman and homeowners alike for its utility and durability. Today, the Crescent brand can be found on many other high quality tools, including tongue and groove pliers and locking pliers.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Works well
          PostedOctober 29, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          I am in the process of remodeling two of our baths that requires removing maple quarter round and mop board molding. This tool worked well for that job, facilitating getting under nail heads and removing the finish wood without digging large gouges or breaking the relatively thin quarter round. I was able to reuse the wood because of the limited damage to it. I appreciate h the red color that makes it easy to locate the tool in my toolbox. The hammerhead-shaped striking surface at one end is key to getting the V-grove to grab nail heads to get a start at prying them out, a key feature to making this a handy tool and a good addition to my tool collection.
          Pros: Easy to Use, nice red color
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The new Lufkin control series tape is a rugged tape that fits securely in the hand with the perfect amount of grip and comfort. The release control feature on the bottom gives the user the ability to confidently manipulate the tape, with no concerns of inaccuracy or safety. This wide blade 25 ft. tape also provides the user with 10 ft. blade standout, for easy one-person measurements.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          American Ingenuity at Work
          PostedOctober 21, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          This tool, a simple tape measure is a testament to American ingenuity that rids the tool of inconveniences that are common in other designs. The wide case resists tip over when the case is left upright and the tape locked into position with hands off. The flared, wide end hook holds the tape end into position so that it does not slip off the object being measured, a handy convenience when measuring long objects. The end of the tape case has a D-shaped hole for easy hanging with a tether strap. Especially handy is the "Drag Strip" feature on the bottom front of the case that facilitates finger control of the tape for retraction and measuring control. This is a great addition to my handymanRead More
          This tool, a simple tape measure is a testament to American ingenuity that rids the tool of inconveniences that are common in other designs. The wide case resists tip over when the case is left upright and the tape locked into position with hands off. The flared, wide end hook holds the tape end into position so that it does not slip off the object being measured, a handy convenience when measuring long objects. The end of the tape case has a D-shaped hole for easy hanging with a tether strap. Especially handy is the "Drag Strip" feature on the bottom front of the case that facilitates finger control of the tape for retraction and measuring control. This is a great addition to my handyman tool collection.Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, great tape control
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Empire Framing Square is ideal for laying out and marking patterns in framing, roofing and stairway work. It features permanently stamped numbers and 1/8 in. graduations. 24 in. x 2 in. body, 1/16 in. thick. 16 in. x 1-1/2 in. tongue.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice provisions for hanging.
          PostedOctober 16, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          I lost my framing square in a recent move, so needed this replacement. This tool beats my old one as it has two provisions for hanging from my viewpoint. One is a hole punched in the 16-inch leg of the square at a position so that the framing square hangs with the short leg horizontal and the long leg vertical. A notch at the inside intersection of the short and long legs facilitates hanging the square from that point as well. This square has a clear finish so that it should resist rusting. Overall, this is a good product.
          Pros: Durable, Accurate
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>
           
          Allan's Questions
           
          Allan has not submitted any questions.
           
          Allan's Answers
           
          Use the Milwaukee 11-in-1 5 in. Multi-Tip Screwdriver for your driving needs. The screwdriver offers a 5 in. shaft that holds up to 9 bits so you can carry fewer drivers. It contains hardened tips ranging in size from #1 to #2 and features a rubber handle for comfort.
           

          where are the bits?

          Asked by
          James
          Colleyville, TX
          October 11, 2014
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          October 16, 2014
          Answer: 
          They are self-stored in the shaft of the driver, not in the handle. That makes for a sturdy handle with no potential for a top cap to come off or break.
           
          Traditional styling with a contemporary flair. The Portsmouth features the Champion 4 flushing system for virtually clog free performance. The Champion 4 system features the industry's largest flush valve. It achieves a maximum MaP score rating of 1,000 g. You may never have to use your plunger again. It also helps keep itself cleaner with our exclusive EverClean surface. And it's all backed by a 10 year warranty on china and trim. Generating a faster and more powerful flush. You may never have to use a plunger again.
           

          The American Standard on your site, does this include the bowl and the tank. Also will it come with the seat shown in the picture?

          Asked by
          Browny32
          Augusta, Ga.
          December 21, 2011
          model #2733.014.020
          internet # 202499514
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          December 11, 2013
          Answer: 
          The seat is NOT included.
           
          The LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Extra Large Capacity Gas Steam Dryer features 9 drying programs, including SteamFresh, SteamSanitary, heavy duty, delicate and towel cycles. The LoDecibel motor minimizes noise for quiet operation, and the intelligent electronic control panel makes it easy to find the right setting. This dryer has a 7.3 cu. ft. capacity to accommodate large loads and help save you time and energy.
           

          What size gas line is needed?

          Asked by
          Doug
          August 14, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          August 14, 2013
          Answer: 
          Most gas dryer lines, at least near the connector, are 1/2-inch, so a pipe that size should be adequate. I have seen 1/2-black iron feed pipes to dryers at least seven feet long. Of course, the size of the piping diameter needed can depend on the length of the run to the dryer, a larger size likely needed for long runs.
           
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can I buy the steam washing machine, but only purchase the regular front load dryer and they match?

          Asked by
          Takeisha
          Dallas, TX
          July 3, 2013
          Is it necessary for me to purchase the steam dryer along with the steam washing machine? What is the benefit of steaming clothes both times if done in the washer, then the dryer? I'm thinking I would prefer to purchase the steam washing machine and purchase the regular front load dryer without the steam option to save a few bucks. Will they match?
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          July 3, 2013
          Answer: 
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went forRead More
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for the best price at the time. We wanted a match in appearance, so bought the pair. These LG's are great machines for the price.Read Less
           
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can you wash waterproof items (sneakers, mattress pads) in the LG front loader?

          Asked by
          KathleenW
          Tallahassee, FL
          June 22, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          June 23, 2013
          Answer: 
          These items are washable and can be washed in this LG machine. We do that very thing regularly with our machine.