Alleycat
  • Review count
    169
  • Helpfulness votes
    236
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 31, 2012
  • Last Review:
    March 16, 2017
 
  • Question count
    2
     
    • Answer count
      147
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        169
      • Helpfulness votes
        236
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 31, 2012
      • Last Review:
        March 16, 2017
       
      • Question count
        2
         
        • Answer count
          147
           
           
           
           
          Alleycat's Reviews
           
          Outstanding air circulation with the Lasko Power Plus 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan. The fan includes our innovative Wind Ring system for 20% more air velocity. The wider body allows for greater stability while the easy to carry handle makes portability a breeze. The patented Weather-Shield motor allows for easy free use in your window.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Moves a lot of air without being excessively noisy
          PostedMarch 16, 2017
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This Lasko Power Plus box fan certainly beats my old box fan, it moving more air and being a lot less noisy at all three speeds. Running it at any of the three speeds produced very little vibration. This fan has a steel body with plastic blades, handle, control knob and grids. The power cord is about 6 feet long. This product is light in weight at about 5.8 pounds and is quite stable, resisting tipping well because of the two provided feet that are to be put into place after unpacking. The feet appear easy to damage during assembly. I made that assembly easy by applying a small amount of silicon spray onto the feet tabs before sliding the feet into place on the fan frame. Overall, this is a Read More
          This Lasko Power Plus box fan certainly beats my old box fan, it moving more air and being a lot less noisy at all three speeds. Running it at any of the three speeds produced very little vibration. This fan has a steel body with plastic blades, handle, control knob and grids. The power cord is about 6 feet long. This product is light in weight at about 5.8 pounds and is quite stable, resisting tipping well because of the two provided feet that are to be put into place after unpacking. The feet appear easy to damage during assembly. I made that assembly easy by applying a small amount of silicon spray onto the feet tabs before sliding the feet into place on the fan frame. Overall, this is a good product for the price. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, relatively quiet, very low vibration
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Klein Tools IR5 is a professional dual-laser targeting infrared thermometer, offering a wide measurement range, a tight distance-to-spot ratio, dual targeting lasers and several calculation modes to facilitate different temperature measurement applications. The dual lasers assist in targeting the measurement area. The distance between the 2 laser spots on the surface of the object being measured approximates the diameter of the circular measurement area from which the infrared sensor is collecting data.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good accuracy at a low price
          PostedMarch 11, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is an easy-to-use thermometer with comfortable handle and instructions that are written to be easily understood. It serves to provide the surface temperature within a few seconds of activation of point and shoot dual lazers aimed at the target surface. It is designed to be used in ambient temperatures of 32 to122 degrees F. The unit has adjustable emissivity settings. I set the emissivity at 0.95 and tested the accuracy by taking readings of water at a rolling boil and of melting ice cubes, finding it within 2 degrees of 212 and 32 degrees F, respectively. I made practical use of it at our main electrical panel with the face plate removed, finding one loose and heating electrical Read More
          This is an easy-to-use thermometer with comfortable handle and instructions that are written to be easily understood. It serves to provide the surface temperature within a few seconds of activation of point and shoot dual lazers aimed at the target surface. It is designed to be used in ambient temperatures of 32 to122 degrees F. The unit has adjustable emissivity settings. I set the emissivity at 0.95 and tested the accuracy by taking readings of water at a rolling boil and of melting ice cubes, finding it within 2 degrees of 212 and 32 degrees F, respectively. I made practical use of it at our main electrical panel with the face plate removed, finding one loose and heating electrical connection. I also verified the location of a poorly insulated small area of our attic space by taking close-up shots of the bottom side of ceiling drywall during a bitter cold Wisconsin day. One might call this tool a poor man's thermographic spot survey instrument as it is bargain priced by comparison to such equipment. It is designed to survive a 6.6 foot drop and is supplied with a 9-volt battery that is expected to last for 10 hours of continuous use with the display lit. A carrying pouch with belt loop is included. This is a handy addition to my tool box. Read Less
          Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy to Use, Nice Design, Accurate, attractively priced, long expected battery life
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Husky 1/2 in. Click Torque Wrench is made of alloy steel construction for strength and long-lasting performance. Its ergonomically designed handle easily turns to set torque. The finish provides resistance to corrosion and wipes clean easily.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          High Quality Husky Torque Wrench
          PostedFebruary 28, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This wrench has high quality fit and finish and a very comfortable handle. The wrench comes with a calibration certificate, the one I obtained showing test results all within 1% at test settings of 50, 150 and 250 ft-lbs. I own one other torque wrench, but it is not equipped with handy locking ring that this one has. The ring assures that the setting will not accidentally change during use. The click emitted when the set torque is reached is adequately loud. One can feel that click as well. This product comes with a tough plastic case to prevent damage during storage and transport. I will use this torque wrench primarily to tighten lug nuts on my vehicles to prevent uneven lug nut torque Read More
          This wrench has high quality fit and finish and a very comfortable handle. The wrench comes with a calibration certificate, the one I obtained showing test results all within 1% at test settings of 50, 150 and 250 ft-lbs. I own one other torque wrench, but it is not equipped with handy locking ring that this one has. The ring assures that the setting will not accidentally change during use. The click emitted when the set torque is reached is adequately loud. One can feel that click as well. This product comes with a tough plastic case to prevent damage during storage and transport. I will use this torque wrench primarily to tighten lug nuts on my vehicles to prevent uneven lug nut torque that can easily lead to warped brake rotors. When I checked my two vehicles that were recently serviced by my dealer, including tire rotations, I found both had all lug nuts over- as well as unequally-tightened. A good reason to choose this Husky torque wrench over other brands is the forever warranty. This is an excellent addition to my tool collection. Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, Easy to Use, comfortable handle, tough storage case, high-quality fit and finish
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Klinge series is our premium line of cutting tools by Capri Tools. The Klinge 6 in. End Cutting Pliers are constructed entirely of premium Japanese forged high-carbon steel and underwent state of the art heat treating process. Combined with our expertly hardened high-carbon steel cutting edges, our plies stay sharp over time. 55 HRC cutting edge hardness achieves optimal balance between toughness and edge retention. Our cutters cuts through soft wires (4.0 mm), medium hard wires (2.8 mm) and hard wires (2.3 mm). Pull and cut nails or twist and cut wires in one easy action. A slim and compact profile makes these pliers lighter and more agile especially in tight spots. The Klinge 6-Inch End Cutting Pliers meet ASME B107.11 standards.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This is a high quality cutter with comfortable handles
          PostedFebruary 25, 2017
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is a high quality, 6-inch end cutter that works well for cutting wire, nails, strapping and other materials, even in close quarters. The chisel cutter shapes make this tool handy for wire twisting. I found it handy for pulling finish nails with counter-sunk heads from removed hardwood baseboards from the back side so that I could reuse the finished baseboards without damage or a need for refinishing or touchup. It is of drop-forged, sharpened, machined and properly heat-treated steel so that it should stand up well to hard use. The fit and finish are excellent, the chisel cutters meeting perfectly for clean cuts. The pivot fastener fits very well, holding the handles together without a Read More
          This is a high quality, 6-inch end cutter that works well for cutting wire, nails, strapping and other materials, even in close quarters. The chisel cutter shapes make this tool handy for wire twisting. I found it handy for pulling finish nails with counter-sunk heads from removed hardwood baseboards from the back side so that I could reuse the finished baseboards without damage or a need for refinishing or touchup. It is of drop-forged, sharpened, machined and properly heat-treated steel so that it should stand up well to hard use. The fit and finish are excellent, the chisel cutters meeting perfectly for clean cuts. The pivot fastener fits very well, holding the handles together without a hint of wobble. The handles are sufficiently wide and the handle covers moderately soft so that this tool is comfortable to use. This is an excellent tool for the price and a worthwhile addition to my tool collection. Read Less
          Pros: Accurate, Durable, Easy to Use, comfortable handles
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Single Know Tensioning System Does Not Work Well
          PostedFebruary 18, 2017
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          I used this electric chain saw with success to do spring yard tree trimming and removal of a dying 5-inch Mountain Ash tree. I made sure that I had filled the chain oil reservoir with 30 weight oil plus had carefully tensioned the chain as specified in the Owner's Manual before starting. In the process I noticed that I had to turn the tensioning knob quite tight to achieve the tension specified in the Owner's Manual. After finishing my work, the chain was loose to the extent that it had a 1/4-inch sag in the middle of the bar. It was about 50 degrees F when I did my work with this saw. I waited for the saw to cool and then attempted to reset the chain tension, not being able to achieve Read More
          I used this electric chain saw with success to do spring yard tree trimming and removal of a dying 5-inch Mountain Ash tree. I made sure that I had filled the chain oil reservoir with 30 weight oil plus had carefully tensioned the chain as specified in the Owner's Manual before starting. In the process I noticed that I had to turn the tensioning knob quite tight to achieve the tension specified in the Owner's Manual. After finishing my work, the chain was loose to the extent that it had a 1/4-inch sag in the middle of the bar. It was about 50 degrees F when I did my work with this saw. I waited for the saw to cool and then attempted to reset the chain tension, not being able to achieve tightening to take out the sag. I think that the single knob tensioning system needs some re-engineering, preferring the knob and screw system that is present for my gasoline-powered chain saw. Perhaps the chain is one link too long. I do like the convenience of having the electric chain saw as it is handy not having to drain the fuel to prepare the saw for proper storage to maintain it, but it appears that this tensioning issue will likely lead to early failure of the cutting system, especially after significant chain wear and when weather gets hot. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, easy to start
          Cons: chain tensioning issues
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 34 >>
           
          Alleycat's Questions
           
          Suitable for residential and hotel bathroom renovations, the Panasonic WhisperFit EZ Dual-Speed Exhaust Fan includes a 4 in.-to-3 in. duct adapter to fit smaller-diameter ductwork. The fan features a low-profile housing and includes a Flex-Z bracket for fast, flexible and easy installation. It offers two fan speeds (80 CFM or 110 CFM) to circulate air in your bathroom, thereby inhibiting mildew buildup and fogged-up mirrors. It operates ultra-quietly on low speed at just 0.3 sone, keeping background bathroom noise to a minimum.
           

          Will the Flex-Z Fast bracket extend far enough for mounting on joists that are spaced 24 inches on-center?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 2, 2016
           
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Eliminate shower clutter with Zenith's Stainless Steel Shower Head Caddy. The stainless steel construction provides durable rust-free performance as well as aesthetic appeal. Two spacious shelves and a soap tray can accommodate a wide variety of bathroom products. These shelves are self-draining, so standing water will not damage your stored items. Hang your razors by using curved wire located in the front of each shelf. Additionally, this premium caddy features hooks for hanging storage of loofahs, shower poufs, washcloths, and more. This caddy is stabilized by a non-slip PVC shower head grip and suction cups, which will prevent swaying and keep the caddy secure on your shower head. This efficient and stylish storage device arrives fully assembled and ready to provide valuable storage space in your home shower. Zenith's toll-free USA based Customer Service department is available (800-892-3986) to answer any additional questions.
           

          Is this really constructed of stainless steel or is it just plated steel that will, in the end rust?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          October 24, 2014
           
          Alleycat's Answers
           
          This large-capacity 125 lb., 2.5 cu. ft. Broadcast Spreader is perfect for seeding and fertilizing lots 1/2 acre and larger. Brinly spreaders are built to last; heavy duty polyethylene hoppers won’t rust or dent and stainless steel interior hardware that won’t corrode. And the fully enclosed gearbox eliminates down time so you spend more time spreading and less time repairing. Brinly also uses a patented directional spread pattern, Auto flow, to ensure accurate and precise application. Use year round to apply seed, fertilizer, lawn chemicals and sand, salt and other snow and ice melting agents.
           

          Does it come with a hopper cover? Shows one I the pictures but not mentioned in the manual.

          Asked by
          TS
          March 16, 2017
          Does it come with a hopper cover? Shows one I the pictures but not mentioned in the manual.
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 19, 2017
          Answer: 
          It comes with a see-through soft plastic hopper cover with elasticized band to hold it in place.
           
          Outstanding air circulation with the Lasko Power Plus 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan. The fan includes our innovative Wind Ring system for 20% more air velocity. The wider body allows for greater stability while the easy to carry handle makes portability a breeze. The patented Weather-Shield motor allows for easy free use in your window.
           

          20% more than what? What is the CFM?

          Asked by
          BobF
          September 3, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 16, 2017
          Answer: 
          A note on the package indicates that this product produces 20% more velocity THAN MOST STANDARD BOX FANS. The CFM rating is not indicated.
           
          Enjoy the classic style of wicker in your outdoor oasis. The Posada 3-Piece Balcony-Height Patio Bistro Set from Hampton Bay is great for sharing drinks or snacks. It includes two cushioned arm chairs and a 28 in. painted glass-top bistro table with a woven rim, all in neutral gray tones to match almost any decor. The solid, powder-coated steel frames enable this set to provide years of outdoor enjoyment on your balcony, patio or deck.
           

          We have had this set for just under two years and the wicker on one of the chairs has rotted thro...

          Asked by
          Jo
          March 10, 2017
          We have had this set for just under two years and the wicker on one of the chairs has rotted through. It is very strange, because the other chair seems fine, as are the six Posada chairs that came with the patio set, so I have no idea why the wicker on only one chair is rotten, but it is not usable. It should still be under warranty, right? How do we go about getting one chair replaced?
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 12, 2017
          Answer: 
          Our set has two chairs, both in very good condition after two summers of weather exposure in Wisconsin. My suggestion is that you take the chair with the rotted webbing to your local Home Depot store and discuss the matter with the store manager. If you still have it, take your purchase documentation with you.
           
          Gorilla takes epoxy to the Gorilla tough level. Easy to dispense, and use, Gorilla Epoxy brings a strong, long-lasting bond for household and automotive repairs, alike. The two-part, gap-filling formula easily bonds steel, aluminum, wood, ceramic, tile and much more.
           

          Can this be use in bathtub floor to seal a crack hole. Water drain out the bottom crack hole

          Asked by
          Mike
          March 8, 2017
          I have use some kind of bond putty. It keeps wearing off after 3 to 4 months.
          User submitted photo
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 8, 2017
          Answer: 
          I really doubt that you will get a satisfactory repair with an epoxy product for a cracked bathtub floor such as one made of fiberglass reinforced polyester plastic (similar to a boat hull in construction). There are special kits available for such repairs, one sold by The Home Depot as their Internet No. 206364013 Devcon manufactures kits for such repairs.
           
          Milorganite 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer is good for promoting healthy growth of lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers. The non-burning organic-nitrogen feeds up to 10 weeks and the iron delivers a long-lasting green. The slow-release formula helps reduce mowing, conserve water, and is non-leaching. Trust the fertilizer that has been proven effective for over 90 years.
           

          Does it get rid of moss? I need something to get rid of a lot of moss

          Asked by
          Nancy
          March 4, 2017
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 4, 2017
          Answer: 
          Milorganite will not kill moss. A bleach solution will, however, the bleach will very likely damage grass.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 30 >>