Allan
  • Review count
    40
  • Helpfulness votes
    122
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 10, 2013
  • Last Review:
    October 21, 2014
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      21
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        40
      • Helpfulness votes
        122
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 10, 2013
      • Last Review:
        October 21, 2014
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          21
           
           
           
           
          Allan's Reviews
           
          The new Lufkin control series tape is a rugged tape that fits securely in the hand with the perfect amount of grip and comfort. The release control feature on the bottom gives the user the ability to confidently manipulate the tape, with no concerns of inaccuracy or safety. This wide blade 25 ft. tape also provides the user with 10 ft. blade standout, for easy one-person measurements.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          American Ingenuity at Work
          PostedOctober 21, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          This tool, a simple tape measure is a testament to American ingenuity that rids the tool of inconveniences that are common in other designs. The wide case resists tip over when the case is left upright and the tape locked into position with hands off. The flared, wide end hook holds the tape end into position so that it does not slip off the object being measured, a handy convenience when measuring long objects. The end of the tape case has a D-shaped hole for easy hanging with a tether strap. Especially handy is the "Drag Strip" feature on the bottom front of the case that facilitates finger control of the tape for retraction and measuring control. This is a great addition to my handymanRead More
          This tool, a simple tape measure is a testament to American ingenuity that rids the tool of inconveniences that are common in other designs. The wide case resists tip over when the case is left upright and the tape locked into position with hands off. The flared, wide end hook holds the tape end into position so that it does not slip off the object being measured, a handy convenience when measuring long objects. The end of the tape case has a D-shaped hole for easy hanging with a tether strap. Especially handy is the "Drag Strip" feature on the bottom front of the case that facilitates finger control of the tape for retraction and measuring control. This is a great addition to my handyman tool collection.Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, great tape control
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Empire Framing Square is ideal for laying out and marking patterns in framing, roofing and stairway work. It features permanently stamped numbers and 1/8 in. graduations. 24 in. x 2 in. body, 1/16 in. thick. 16 in. x 1-1/2 in. tongue.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice provisions for hanging.
          PostedOctober 16, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          I lost my framing square in a recent move, so needed this replacement. This tool beats my old one as it has two provisions for hanging from my viewpoint. One is a hole punched in the 16-inch leg of the square at a position so that the framing square hangs with the short leg horizontal and the long leg vertical. A notch at the inside intersection of the short and long legs facilitates hanging the square from that point as well. This square has a clear finish so that it should resist rusting. Overall, this is a good product.
          Pros: Durable, Accurate
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Use the Milwaukee 11-in-1 5 in. Multi-Tip Screwdriver for your driving needs. The screwdriver offers a 5 in. shaft that holds up to 9 bits so you can carry fewer drivers. It contains hardened tips ranging in size from #1 to #2 and features a rubber handle for comfort.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Feels Good in Hand
          PostedOctober 16, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Milwaukee Tool means high quality in this case. The Phillips bit in this tool that I have used for a lot for hand-tightening of hard drywall screws for days is standing up well. I do not have an electric drywall screw shooter, so do the main screw driving with a variable speed electric drill, leaving the final screw tightening to be done by hand. The handle for this screwdriver is comfortable in the hand so that I can work for a long period without significant discomfort. A unique feature of this tool is a provision that can be used to cut string.
          Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Milwaukee Torque Lock Locking Tools provide faster tool setup and more locking force for the professional tradesmen. The patent pending thumb screw provides the user with a more convenient geometry for hand force, while providing clearance to generate more torque with the unique screwdriver through-hole design. Featuring hardened jaws for increased gripping power and forged alloy steel for maximum durability, the Milwaukee 48-22-3402 is perfect for the toughest of jobsites. Milwaukee stands behind their product and offers a Limited Lifetime Warranty with all locking tools. The Milwaukee 48-22-3402 includes (1) 48-22-3410 10 in. Torque Lock Curved Jaw Locking Pliers with Durable Grip and (1) 48-22-3407 7 in. Torque Lock Curved Jaw Locking Pliers with Durable Grip.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Firm Grippers
          PostedSeptember 10, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Locking pliers must grip firmly to do the job. The adjustment screws on this pair of locking pliers are unique as they permit one to apply extra tightening torque because of the holes in flat adjustment screw grips. The holes allow one to use a screwdriver shaft to turn the adjustment screws with extra force. The holes in the adjustment grips are a really handy way to hang the pliers on the pegboard over my tool bench, much handier than other locking pliers I have. The soft grip handles of these pliers make for hand comfort during use. I have learned to appreciate the innovation of Milwaukee Tool, this product being no exception.
          Pros: Easy to Use, innovative design, comfortable handles
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Milwaukee 13 in. Tool Box is a great way to quickly transport tools for a job which requires the bare minimum. This tool box allows you to organize your tools and have easy access to smaller items. The Milwaukee 13 in. tool box is extremely durable and exclusive to The Home Depot.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great Small Project Tool Box
          PostedSeptember 3, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Being 70 years old, it is great that a tool box like this is available. For many of my handyman activities, I really want to sit at the project to do the work. This toolbox is designed to be a place to sit with the cover in place. My first project after getting this box was to work on 12-volt landscape lighting which is at ground level that, for me, is best done while sitting.
          I appreciate the innovative design of this workbox, including the presence of a groove in the lid to accommodate holding conduit and pipe in place for cutting. The fact that long screwdrivers and tools like large pump pliers stand upright in the central divider makes them easy to spot and retrieve while working. ThisRead More
          Being 70 years old, it is great that a tool box like this is available. For many of my handyman activities, I really want to sit at the project to do the work. This toolbox is designed to be a place to sit with the cover in place. My first project after getting this box was to work on 12-volt landscape lighting which is at ground level that, for me, is best done while sitting.
          I appreciate the innovative design of this workbox, including the presence of a groove in the lid to accommodate holding conduit and pipe in place for cutting. The fact that long screwdrivers and tools like large pump pliers stand upright in the central divider makes them easy to spot and retrieve while working. This box is tough and does not depend on a special latch to keep it closed. The large and comfortable handle serves as the top latching device. This is a great small project tool carrier that I will use often. It is fairly pricy, but innovation costs more.Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, good work chair
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>
           
          Allan's Questions
           
          Allan has not submitted any questions.
           
          Allan's Answers
           
          Use the Milwaukee 11-in-1 5 in. Multi-Tip Screwdriver for your driving needs. The screwdriver offers a 5 in. shaft that holds up to 9 bits so you can carry fewer drivers. It contains hardened tips ranging in size from #1 to #2 and features a rubber handle for comfort.
           

          where are the bits?

          Asked by
          James
          Colleyville, TX
          October 11, 2014
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          October 16, 2014
          Answer: 
          They are self-stored in the shaft of the driver, not in the handle. That makes for a sturdy handle with no potential for a top cap to come off or break.
           
          Traditional styling with a contemporary flair. The Portsmouth features the Champion 4 flushing system for virtually clog free performance. The Champion 4 system features the industry's largest flush valve. It achieves a maximum MaP score rating of 1,000 g. You may never have to use your plunger again. It also helps keep itself cleaner with our exclusive EverClean surface. And it's all backed by a 10 year warranty on china and trim. Generating a faster and more powerful flush. You may never have to use a plunger again.
           

          The American Standard on your site, does this include the bowl and the tank. Also will it come with the seat shown in the picture?

          Asked by
          Browny32
          Augusta, Ga.
          December 21, 2011
          model #2733.014.020
          internet # 202499514
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          December 11, 2013
          Answer: 
          The seat is NOT included.
           
          The LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Extra Large Capacity Gas Steam Dryer features 9 drying programs, including SteamFresh, SteamSanitary, heavy duty, delicate and towel cycles. The LoDecibel motor minimizes noise for quiet operation, and the intelligent electronic control panel makes it easy to find the right setting. This dryer has a 7.3 cu. ft. capacity to accommodate large loads and help save you time and energy.
           

          What size gas line is needed?

          Asked by
          Doug
          August 14, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          August 14, 2013
          Answer: 
          Most gas dryer lines, at least near the connector, are 1/2-inch, so a pipe that size should be adequate. I have seen 1/2-black iron feed pipes to dryers at least seven feet long. Of course, the size of the piping diameter needed can depend on the length of the run to the dryer, a larger size likely needed for long runs.
           
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can I buy the steam washing machine, but only purchase the regular front load dryer and they match?

          Asked by
          Takeisha
          Dallas, TX
          July 3, 2013
          Is it necessary for me to purchase the steam dryer along with the steam washing machine? What is the benefit of steaming clothes both times if done in the washer, then the dryer? I'm thinking I would prefer to purchase the steam washing machine and purchase the regular front load dryer without the steam option to save a few bucks. Will they match?
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          July 3, 2013
          Answer: 
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went forRead More
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for the best price at the time. We wanted a match in appearance, so bought the pair. These LG's are great machines for the price.Read Less
           
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can you wash waterproof items (sneakers, mattress pads) in the LG front loader?

          Asked by
          KathleenW
          Tallahassee, FL
          June 22, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          June 23, 2013
          Answer: 
          These items are washable and can be washed in this LG machine. We do that very thing regularly with our machine.