Alleycat
  • Review count
    138
  • Helpfulness votes
    213
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 31, 2012
  • Last Review:
    August 22, 2016
 
  • Question count
    2
     
    • Answer count
      97
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        138
      • Helpfulness votes
        213
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 31, 2012
      • Last Review:
        August 22, 2016
       
      • Question count
        2
         
        • Answer count
          97
           
           
           
           
          Alleycat's Reviews
           
          Diablo’s new, high performance carbide-tipped hole saws deliver 20 times longer cutting life, faster cutting performance and increased productivity. Diablo's carbide-tipped hole saws are the industry's first carbide-tipped hole saws to cut both wood and metal. Unlike anything on the market, Diablo’s hole saw system and mandrel design simplify the attachment process for fast and efficient hole saw mounting. These radical new hole saws provide ultimate cutting length to bore deeper holes in a single pass; and a tool-free plug ejection and Variable Pitch Tooth Design for faster cuts.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Aggressive Cutter
          PostedAugust 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I tried this hole saw by cutting several holes in 1.5 inch thick, very dry ash. Ash is known as a tough wood. This cutter worked well in that wood, cutting the holes quickly without generating excessive temperature at the tool. I did notice, however, that the start was quite rough when the saw teeth first made contact with the wood. I anticipated this, doing the cuts with a high-power, corded, 1/2-inch drill with a bolstering handle that I held onto firmly during cutting. It is best to start the cuts in wood at high rotational speed, feeding into the wood slowly to minimize tearing and jerking when the saw makes initial contact with the wood. The plugs were easy to remove from this saw after Read More
          I tried this hole saw by cutting several holes in 1.5 inch thick, very dry ash. Ash is known as a tough wood. This cutter worked well in that wood, cutting the holes quickly without generating excessive temperature at the tool. I did notice, however, that the start was quite rough when the saw teeth first made contact with the wood. I anticipated this, doing the cuts with a high-power, corded, 1/2-inch drill with a bolstering handle that I held onto firmly during cutting. It is best to start the cuts in wood at high rotational speed, feeding into the wood slowly to minimize tearing and jerking when the saw makes initial contact with the wood. The plugs were easy to remove from this saw after cuts were finished. I tried my old, ordinary 3-inch hole saw to make a comparison. This Diablo hole saw has 25 teeth. My old saw has 50. My old saw made for smoother sawing starts, but it took longer to complete cutting a hole. For the old saw, a lot of prying was needed to remove the plug from the saw. Read Less
          Pros: quick wood cuts, easy wood plug removal
          Cons: rough saw starts in wood
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great LED Bulb
          PostedAugust 22, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          It is great to see improvements in LED lighting, this bulb being an excellent example of a dimmable lamp with very bright light in the pleasant color range of an ordinary incandescent lamp. This bulb is a bit larger than ordinary 100 watt incandescent lamps that I have, but not overly so. It measures about 5 inches in overall length and is about 2-5/8 inches in diameter at its widest point. It is very quiet, not the case with some other LEDs that I have tried. This bulb is intended for use in living areas of homes such as dining, bedroom and family room areas.
          Pros: Nice Design, Quiet, dimmable, efficient
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This black and yellow Stay Plug Cord replacement end is good for all SJT/SJTW 16 through 12-Gauge cords. The holding strength of the locking devices holds up to 40 lbs. It works with any standard plug end.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Ends Accidentally Pulled Plugs
          PostedAugust 20, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I grew tired of the plug accidentally pulling from my electric edger that I use while plugged in to a 100-foot, heavy-duty extension cord. My outdoor use extension cord has thick, heavy-duty insulation and 12-gage stranded copper wires. I purposely cut the otherwise perfectly good end plug off of the extension cord to install this product. The plug was easy to install following the instructions provided. The openings into which the wires are to be inserted are adequate in size for the wires if the screws are loosened fully and if the stranded wires are twisted tightly before insertion, even for thick 12-gage wiring. The screw clamping devices inside the plug hold the three wires very, very Read More
          I grew tired of the plug accidentally pulling from my electric edger that I use while plugged in to a 100-foot, heavy-duty extension cord. My outdoor use extension cord has thick, heavy-duty insulation and 12-gage stranded copper wires. I purposely cut the otherwise perfectly good end plug off of the extension cord to install this product. The plug was easy to install following the instructions provided. The openings into which the wires are to be inserted are adequate in size for the wires if the screws are loosened fully and if the stranded wires are twisted tightly before insertion, even for thick 12-gage wiring. The screw clamping devices inside the plug hold the three wires very, very firmly. Heed the instructions and do not tin the wires to make them easier to insert. If tinned, the wires might loosen due to dimensional changes with repeated use. This plug is designed so that it clamps the cord itself very firmly when two screws are tightened to specification. I tested the installed plug by putting it to use to edge my drive and sidewalk. The edger stayed plugged in to the extension cord despite my repeated tugs on my edger cord to go around trees and to clear shrubs. This is a well-designed, quality product. Read Less
          Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy Installation, Sturdy
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Dual-Pawl technology of the New Husky 100-Position 3/8 in. drive ratchet provides access to turn fasteners where other ratchets can't with its ultra-narrow 3.6° arch swing. It is 10% longer handle allows for increased reach to access hard reaching fasteners and improves overall leverage. The Industrial grade black finish gives the tool a sleek look while adding durability and corrosion prevention.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good Hand Feel, Great Finish and Long Warranty
          PostedAugust 1, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I do quite a bit of small engine and automotive repair, generally using only six-point sockets to prevent issues with slipping on rusty bolts or nuts and rounding corners on them during disassembly. The small 3.6 degree interval for this ratchet makes it easy to find the right starting position when quarters for handle movement are tight, frequently an issue when using six-point sockets. That feature has already made this my favorite 3/8-in. ratchet. The low profile for this tool also is an advantage in some tight quarter applications, The ebony finish looks great and has stood up well so far to a few weeks of almost daily use. The lifetime warranty is a surprise for such a competitively Read More
          I do quite a bit of small engine and automotive repair, generally using only six-point sockets to prevent issues with slipping on rusty bolts or nuts and rounding corners on them during disassembly. The small 3.6 degree interval for this ratchet makes it easy to find the right starting position when quarters for handle movement are tight, frequently an issue when using six-point sockets. That feature has already made this my favorite 3/8-in. ratchet. The low profile for this tool also is an advantage in some tight quarter applications, The ebony finish looks great and has stood up well so far to a few weeks of almost daily use. The lifetime warranty is a surprise for such a competitively priced tool. The quality of this tool alone convinces me to shop The Home Depot for future mechanics tool purchases and to look for the Husky brand, something I have not done in the past. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, long warranty, quality finish, low profile, long handle
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This Best trylon brush is made with a unique proprietary blend of ingredients which allows it to pick up and release more paint. It performs great in high heat and humidity. It offers better leveling with today's heavy-bodied, fast drying, low/no VOC paints.
           
          from Germantown, WI
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Quality Product
          PostedJuly 26, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          With the recent hot weather, exterior painting with acrylic products is a challenge. I have been using this brush for nearly a week of exterior work applying fairly thick, water-based acrylic paint for window sash and trim. This brush has the perfect combination of fairly stiff bristles with taper at the ends so that one gets a very smooth finish, even with hot weather that thickens the paint quickly. This brush carries quite a bit of paint to the work surface in the process. The brush cleans up well using warm, but not hot, soapy water with the help of a wire brush as a brush comb. The brush has retained its like-new shape well, after storage in the originally supplied packaging after Read More
          With the recent hot weather, exterior painting with acrylic products is a challenge. I have been using this brush for nearly a week of exterior work applying fairly thick, water-based acrylic paint for window sash and trim. This brush has the perfect combination of fairly stiff bristles with taper at the ends so that one gets a very smooth finish, even with hot weather that thickens the paint quickly. This brush carries quite a bit of paint to the work surface in the process. The brush cleans up well using warm, but not hot, soapy water with the help of a wire brush as a brush comb. The brush has retained its like-new shape well, after storage in the originally supplied packaging after cleaning. It is very simply worth the extra relatively small cost to buy a better brush, this one filling the bill well. Time is money and this quality brush is worth the extra cost for a good finish and the time-saved using it. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Even Application, great packing for storage
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 28 >>
           
          Alleycat's Questions
           
          Suitable for residential and hotel bathroom renovations, the Panasonic WhisperFit EZ Dual-Speed Exhaust Fan includes a 4 in.-to-3 in. duct adapter to fit smaller-diameter ductwork. The fan features a low-profile housing and includes a Flex-Z bracket for fast, flexible and easy installation. It offers two fan speeds (80 CFM or 110 CFM) to circulate air in your bathroom, thereby inhibiting mildew buildup and fogged-up mirrors. It operates ultra-quietly on low speed at just 0.3 sone, keeping background bathroom noise to a minimum.
           

          Will the Flex-Z Fast bracket extend far enough for mounting on joists that are spaced 24 inches on-center?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          March 2, 2016
           
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Zenith Manhattan Over-the-Showerhead Caddy in Stainless Steel
          Eliminate shower clutter with Zenith's Stainless Steel Shower Head Caddy. The stainless steel construction provides durable rust-free performance as well as aesthetic appeal. Two spacious shelves and a soap tray can accommodate a wide variety of bathroom products. These shelves are self-draining, so standing water will not damage your stored items. Hang your razors by using curved wire located in the front of each shelf. Additionally, this premium caddy features hooks for hanging storage of loofahs, shower poufs, washcloths, and more. This caddy is stabilized by a non-slip PVC shower head grip and suction cups, which will prevent swaying and keep the caddy secure on your shower head. This efficient and stylish storage device arrives fully assembled and ready to provide valuable storage space in your home shower. Zenith's toll-free USA based Customer Service department is available (800-892-3986) to answer any additional questions.
           

          Is this really constructed of stainless steel or is it just plated steel that will, in the end rust?

          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          October 24, 2014
           
          Alleycat's Answers
           
          The Milwaukee 13 in. Tool Box is a great way to quickly transport tools for a job which requires the bare minimum. This tool box allows you to organize your tools and have easy access to smaller items. The Milwaukee 13 in. tool box is extremely durable and exclusive to The Home Depot.
           

          Will this drop into a 13"x13" typical milk crate?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          August 18, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          August 20, 2016
          Answer: 
          The exterior dimensions at the lip just below the handle pivot point bottoms are about 11.25" x 11.25". The handle pivot point bottoms are about 10.25" above the base. The largest overall dimension at the handle pivots is about 14". I suspect that it will fit inside a typical 4-gallon milk crate if you place a 1/4-inch thick piece of plywood in the bottom of the crate. I am giving these dimensions as I Read More
          The exterior dimensions at the lip just below the handle pivot point bottoms are about 11.25" x 11.25". The handle pivot point bottoms are about 10.25" above the base. The largest overall dimension at the handle pivots is about 14". I suspect that it will fit inside a typical 4-gallon milk crate if you place a 1/4-inch thick piece of plywood in the bottom of the crate. I am giving these dimensions as I do not have a typical milk crate to make a try at putting this box inside it. Read Less
           
          decorative crown molding and a rich java finish give the Glacier Bay 25 in. Bi-view Surface Mount Medicine Cabinet in Java an elegant look that complements almost any bathroom. Constructed for long-lasting strength, this sturdy cabinet has two doors that give you easy access to your toiletries, bath accessories and other items. The cabinet's plain mirror offers a classic appearance. Cabinet hardware is included. Limited Lifetime Warranty.
           

          Want to order this cabinet in Java but can't find a Home Depot that has one

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          August 15, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          August 17, 2016
          Answer: 
          I suggest that you call your local The Home Depot store and have them order one for you.
           
          Tapcon 1/4 in. x 5 in. Polymer-Plated Steel Hex-Head Concrete Anchors (25-Pack) are designed for fastening into concrete, brick and block. These steel anchors feature hex heads and a polymer coating.
           

          why are the 5 inch not in the store 1/4 x5 tapcon screws

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          byhalia ms
          August 10, 2016
          I see there on line
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          August 13, 2016
          Answer: 
          Ask yourself this question. I expect that it is simply low demand as this screw has special applications. I use it for fastening one-inch thick exterior trim boards to the outside of my home because my home is constructed using Insulating Concrete Forms(ICF). The forms are of 2.5-inch polystyrene that stays in place after the concrete exterior walls are poured. For such construction, nailers are Read More
          Ask yourself this question. I expect that it is simply low demand as this screw has special applications. I use it for fastening one-inch thick exterior trim boards to the outside of my home because my home is constructed using Insulating Concrete Forms(ICF). The forms are of 2.5-inch polystyrene that stays in place after the concrete exterior walls are poured. For such construction, nailers are generally lacking for reliably fastening of wide trim at corners and door/window openings. I also envision use of this screw for fastening through thick plastic foam insulation for certain roofing applications such as for attachment of flashing nailers. Read Less
           
          Milorganite 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer is good for promoting healthy growth of lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers. The non burning formula doesn't have to be watered-in. It is fortified with 4% iron to help produce thick, green lawns without excessive growth. It doesn't contain any salts, so it is good for use in drought conditions.
           

          Is it safe to apply this in the summer? over 100 every day so most products burn.

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          August 8, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          August 9, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, as this an organic fertilizer with slow-release of nitrogen, it does not chemically burn turf grass or garden plants. It has been on the market since 1926 and is actually dead, sanitized micro-organisms from the Milwaukee sewerage treatment operation. I have used it annually since the early 1970's, finding that it will not burn very young grasses, even when applied in relatively hot weather.
           
          The Milwaukee 13 in. Tool Box is a great way to quickly transport tools for a job which requires the bare minimum. This tool box allows you to organize your tools and have easy access to smaller items. The Milwaukee 13 in. tool box is extremely durable and exclusive to The Home Depot.
           

          Can you sit on it?

          Asked by
          Anonymous
          August 1, 2016
          Asked by
          Alleycat
          Germantown, WI
          August 6, 2016
          Answer: 
          Yes, I find it a handy resting place to work on lower objects to reduce stooping. It is plenty strong for even someone who is heavy.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 20 >>