Allan
  • Review count
    89
  • Helpfulness votes
    148
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 10, 2013
  • Last Review:
    August 26, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      26
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        89
      • Helpfulness votes
        148
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 10, 2013
      • Last Review:
        August 26, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          26
           
           
           
           
          Allan's Reviews
           
          Add organized shoe storage to your mudroom, playroom, guest room, bedroom and other closets and entryways with the ClosetMaid 18-Pair Over-the-Door Shoe Rack. This lightweight, durable metal rack provides easy, no-tool assembly and can be hung over doors and mounted to walls for flexible accessibility. Perfect for storing shoes and other light-weight items were you can easily see them.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Received free product:Yes
          Grood Organizing Aid
          PostedAugust 26, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This product has several options for installing, including an over-the-door hook mount and screws to door mount and screws with wall anchors to attach to drywall. The product is all steel and is packaged well to prevent paint damage during shipping. The steel wire bracket that hold the shoes are hardened so that they will not bend easily in use. The attachment rails come in six pieces, that particularly handy for me since I am arthritic and cannot bend over easily to retrieve shoes on or near the floor. I mounted the rack product behind three doors at a handy, easy-to-reach height using screws to attach the rails (two pieces on each door near the top) instead of mounting all six rails on a Read More
          This product has several options for installing, including an over-the-door hook mount and screws to door mount and screws with wall anchors to attach to drywall. The product is all steel and is packaged well to prevent paint damage during shipping. The steel wire bracket that hold the shoes are hardened so that they will not bend easily in use. The attachment rails come in six pieces, that particularly handy for me since I am arthritic and cannot bend over easily to retrieve shoes on or near the floor. I mounted the rack product behind three doors at a handy, easy-to-reach height using screws to attach the rails (two pieces on each door near the top) instead of mounting all six rails on a single door. It is great to have shoes off of the floor now where they dry better and are easy to access. I recommend this product to all who ask Read Less
          Pros: Functional, Nice Design, well-packaged
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          TCP’s Soft White (2700K) A19 LED light bulb is the upgrade that more than pays for itself. Maintain the look and feel of your traditional 60-Watt incandescent light bulb with a 9.5-Watt LED that can save you up to $138 over its 25,000-hour lifetime. TCP’s A19’s smooth, lightweight design allows itself to blend seamlessly into a variety of existing lighting fixtures. The fully dimmable A19 bulb provides 800 lumens of warm, Omni-Directional or 360° light with an Estimated Energy Cost of just $1.14 per year.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Light color and brightness good, but distribution not as good as some
          PostedAugust 26, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          This bulb is shaped slightly different than depicted on the package, the light emitting part being more of an oblate spheroid than the more spherical shape shown on the package. This impacts the light distribution so that quite a bit of light emission toward the base is blocked. I have purchased eighteen of TCP General Purpose LED bulbs with this same shape and use them primarily in fixtures that are in our garage and outdoors so the light distribution is not an issue. That bulb is model LA1027ND. This bulb is model L9AD027K. This bulb has good light color, about matching that for a standard 60 watt standard incandescent bulb. The light intensity is about the same as a standard incandescent Read More
          This bulb is shaped slightly different than depicted on the package, the light emitting part being more of an oblate spheroid than the more spherical shape shown on the package. This impacts the light distribution so that quite a bit of light emission toward the base is blocked. I have purchased eighteen of TCP General Purpose LED bulbs with this same shape and use them primarily in fixtures that are in our garage and outdoors so the light distribution is not an issue. That bulb is model LA1027ND. This bulb is model L9AD027K. This bulb has good light color, about matching that for a standard 60 watt standard incandescent bulb. The light intensity is about the same as a standard incandescent 60 watt bulb as well. One thing I notice is that dimming is not nearly as linear when adjusting the dimmer control as it is for a standard incandescent bulb. I particularly like to use these bulbs in applications where changing light bulbs requires ladder work since they last a lot longer than standard incandescent bulbs and CFLs as well. In applications where the ambient temperatures can be low such as unheated garages or outdoors, they work much better than CFLs that require heat-up time to illuminate fully. I have used the general purpose version of this TCP A19 product in my garage door openers as well since they have stood up to the vibrations of the opener without failing rather quickly compared to standard or even rough duty incandescent bulbs. I notice no issues with hum noises. This is a good basic dimmable LED bulb. Read Less
          Pros: Eco-Friendly, good for low ambient temperature operation
          Cons: distributon of light not the best
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Gorilla takes epoxy to a new level, the Gorilla tough level. Easy to dispense and use, Gorilla Epoxy brings a strong, long-lasting bond for household and automotive repairs, alike. The two-part, gap-filling formula easily bonds steel, aluminum, wood, ceramic, tile and much more.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Good Product in Great Package
          PostedAugust 5, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I have used this product for two tasks so far. One was to fasten a 10-gage single strand copper wire to the back of a 12 pound copper tray to hang the tray from a wall from one hook. I had attempted to solder the wire to the copper tray, that a complete failure. The Gorilla epoxy glue worked well for the copper-to-copper bond after allowing it to cure overnight. The second project was to glue a 1/2-inch glass top to a steel table bottom assembly. The advantage for that task is that this glue dried clear and hardened quickly so I had no issues with the glue showing through the glass top or running. Again, an overnight cure made for a very strong bond. The dispensing package is well-designed Read More
          I have used this product for two tasks so far. One was to fasten a 10-gage single strand copper wire to the back of a 12 pound copper tray to hang the tray from a wall from one hook. I had attempted to solder the wire to the copper tray, that a complete failure. The Gorilla epoxy glue worked well for the copper-to-copper bond after allowing it to cure overnight. The second project was to glue a 1/2-inch glass top to a steel table bottom assembly. The advantage for that task is that this glue dried clear and hardened quickly so I had no issues with the glue showing through the glass top or running. Again, an overnight cure made for a very strong bond. The dispensing package is well-designed so that the two glue components stay separated and the cap removes easily for subsequent uses. Just make certain to follow the cleaning and product pull-back instructions for recapping. This is a good product for general-purpose use. Read Less
          Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, dries clear, strong bonds, great dispenser design
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The first time you try these 24 in. PowerGear Titanium Hedge Shears from Fiskars, you’ll be amazed - but it’s not magic, it’s gears. Patented gear technology multiplies your leverage to give you up to three times more power on every cut. This means you can power through tough branches that you wouldn’t be able to cut with traditional hedge shears. The fully hardened steel blades are enhanced with a titanium coating to glide through branches without gumming up and resist rust for long-lasting value. PowerGear tools - the perfect choice for anyone who appreciates tools that make work easier.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great for Arthritis Sufferers
          PostedAugust 1, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          It appears that this product has been improved since earlier, unfavorable reviews of it found on The Home Depot website. The product I am reviewing is labeled as Fiskars HS551, PowerGear2. It has one of the two blades coated with a black finish. I have arthritis, so appreciate the mechanical advantage that is built into this product. It takes considerable less force to trim my hedges than with my old shears that do not have the gear system. Of course, more hand movement is needed to do the job, but the effort required is reduced. The blades are very sharp and have resisted dings through the three times I have put them to use. They still are sharp enough to cut paper after those uses. I like Read More
          It appears that this product has been improved since earlier, unfavorable reviews of it found on The Home Depot website. The product I am reviewing is labeled as Fiskars HS551, PowerGear2. It has one of the two blades coated with a black finish. I have arthritis, so appreciate the mechanical advantage that is built into this product. It takes considerable less force to trim my hedges than with my old shears that do not have the gear system. Of course, more hand movement is needed to do the job, but the effort required is reduced. The blades are very sharp and have resisted dings through the three times I have put them to use. They still are sharp enough to cut paper after those uses. I like this product enough that I gave my old hedge shears away. The price is reasonable so will look for the same product again when one is no longer serviceable or functional. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Sharp, great for arthritis victims
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Philips 4.5-Watt clear G25 decorative globe with DiamondSpark technology offers energy-saving ambience with the elegant sparkle effect of incandescent decorative globe bulbs. DiamondSpark technology utilizes a prism design that enhances bulb aesthetic and improves light quality. The prism, similar to a filament, simulates incandescent-like sparkle desired in decorative applications around your home. Ideal for use in pendant, vanity and bare lamp applications, this Philips clear LED G25 delivers a soft white light, is fully dimmable and can replace your current 40-Watt decorative globe light bulb. Add a touch of sparkle to your home decor with Philips with DiamondSpark technology.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Sparking Clear Globe-shaped LED
          PostedJuly 22, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          LED bulbs keep improving, this Philips product a good example. It has a spherical shape with internal light scattering feature that makes it sparkle. It will be a nice for a multiple-bulb bathroom fixture with exposed bulbs. I have only one that was sent to me as a sample, so will buy more from The Home Depot to complete a set for our half bath over-the-mirror fixture. This bulb consumes only 4.5 watts for 330 lumens of light. It has a soft, natural color with not a hint of cold "blue" of earlier LED bulbs. Lighting efficiency and low operating temperature are great pluses for LED lamps, this no exception. I have been methodically replacing all of my incandescent bulbs and CFL bulbs with Read More
          LED bulbs keep improving, this Philips product a good example. It has a spherical shape with internal light scattering feature that makes it sparkle. It will be a nice for a multiple-bulb bathroom fixture with exposed bulbs. I have only one that was sent to me as a sample, so will buy more from The Home Depot to complete a set for our half bath over-the-mirror fixture. This bulb consumes only 4.5 watts for 330 lumens of light. It has a soft, natural color with not a hint of cold "blue" of earlier LED bulbs. Lighting efficiency and low operating temperature are great pluses for LED lamps, this no exception. I have been methodically replacing all of my incandescent bulbs and CFL bulbs with LEDs, watching our electric consumption drop significantly in the process. Use of cool LED lamps also lowers electric consumption for air conditioning as there is little waste heat generated during operation compared to incandescent and even CFL bulbs. Read Less
          Pros: Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, attractive light sparkle, not a hint of led "blue"
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 18 >>
           
          Allan's Questions
           
          Allan has not submitted any questions.
           
          Allan's Answers
           
          Add organized shoe storage to your mudroom, playroom, guest room, bedroom and other closets and entryways with the ClosetMaid 18-Pair Over-the-Door Shoe Rack. This lightweight, durable metal rack provides easy, no-tool assembly and can be hung over doors and mounted to walls for flexible accessibility. Perfect for storing shoes and other light-weight items were you can easily see them.
           

          I would like to hang this on the wall

          Asked by
          edward
          Carlsbadq
          September 19, 2014
          Is there something I can by to afix this on a wall? Thank you
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          August 26, 2015
          Answer: 
          The product is easy to wall mount. The rails need to be installed 17 inches on center. That means that if you locate the wall studs, you can mount them firmly to studs of a standard framed home that has studs on 16-inch centers using scews. If you prefer to mount them to drywall, that will work as well. If done that way, I prefer to use Easy-Anchor products, such as Model # 25210 sold by The Home Depot.
           
          TCP’s Soft White (2700K) A19 LED light bulb is the upgrade that more than pays for itself. Maintain the look and feel of your traditional 60-Watt incandescent light bulb with a 9.5-Watt LED that can save you up to $138 over its 25,000-hour lifetime. TCP’s A19’s smooth, lightweight design allows itself to blend seamlessly into a variety of existing lighting fixtures. The fully dimmable A19 bulb provides 800 lumens of warm, Omni-Directional or 360° light with an Estimated Energy Cost of just $1.14 per year.
           

          Are they instant on?

          Asked by
          David
          Shelby Twp., MI
          August 10, 2015
          Is there a time delay when you turn them on or do they light up immediately/
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          August 26, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes, and much, much better at providing early full light intensity than CFL lamps.
           
          The first time you try these 24 in. PowerGear Titanium Hedge Shears from Fiskars, you’ll be amazed - but it’s not magic, it’s gears. Patented gear technology multiplies your leverage to give you up to three times more power on every cut. This means you can power through tough branches that you wouldn’t be able to cut with traditional hedge shears. The fully hardened steel blades are enhanced with a titanium coating to glide through branches without gumming up and resist rust for long-lasting value. PowerGear tools - the perfect choice for anyone who appreciates tools that make work easier.
           

          How long is the cutting blade?

          Asked by
          Doneitall
          Maryland
          June 12, 2015
          They are listed as 24" overall and one reviewer marveled at cutting at 24" at a time but I don't think the blades are 24" long.
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          August 1, 2015
          Answer: 
          The blades for the Fiskars HS551 PowerGear2 are 8-1/8 inches long, measured along the effective cutting edges.
           
          The first time you try these 24 in. PowerGear Titanium Hedge Shears from Fiskars, you’ll be amazed - but it’s not magic, it’s gears. Patented gear technology multiplies your leverage to give you up to three times more power on every cut. This means you can power through tough branches that you wouldn’t be able to cut with traditional hedge shears. The fully hardened steel blades are enhanced with a titanium coating to glide through branches without gumming up and resist rust for long-lasting value. PowerGear tools - the perfect choice for anyone who appreciates tools that make work easier.
           

          Are the blades supposed to close all the way?

          Asked by
          Michelle
          July 13, 2015
          I just purchased these and now the blades won't close. The gear shape won't allow it. Is there a mechanism to adjust so that they close again?
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          August 1, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes, they should close fully. I am looking at my product and see no way to adjust the degree of closure. Incidentally, my PowerGear2 hedge shears are labeled Fiskars HS551.
           
          The first time you try these 24 in. PowerGear Titanium Hedge Shears from Fiskars, you’ll be amazed - but it’s not magic, it’s gears. Patented gear technology multiplies your leverage to give you up to three times more power on every cut. This means you can power through tough branches that you wouldn’t be able to cut with traditional hedge shears. The fully hardened steel blades are enhanced with a titanium coating to glide through branches without gumming up and resist rust for long-lasting value. PowerGear tools - the perfect choice for anyone who appreciates tools that make work easier.
           

          WHO IS THE MANUFACTURER AND WHAT IS THERE CONTACT INFORMATION

          Asked by
          DEAN
          June 8, 2014
          I HAVE THESE SHEARS FOR 2 MONTHASAND THEY BROKE
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          August 1, 2015
          Answer: 
          The Manufacturer is Fiskars Brands, Inc., 2537 Daniels St., Madison, WI 53718, phone 866-348-5661. Their email address for warranty service is warranty@fiskars.com. I expect that they should provide you with a replacement product since the warranty is "full lifetime".
           
          1 2 3 4 5 6 >>