Allan
  • Review count
    37
  • Helpfulness votes
    120
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 10, 2013
  • Last Review:
    September 10, 2014
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      20
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        37
      • Helpfulness votes
        120
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 10, 2013
      • Last Review:
        September 10, 2014
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          20
           
           
           
           
          Allan's Reviews
           
          Milwaukee Torque Lock Locking Tools provide faster tool setup and more locking force for the professional tradesmen. The patent pending thumb screw provides the user with a more convenient geometry for hand force, while providing clearance to generate more torque with the unique screwdriver through-hole design. Featuring hardened jaws for increased gripping power and forged alloy steel for maximum durability, the Milwaukee 48-22-3402 is perfect for the toughest of jobsites. Milwaukee stands behind their product and offers a Limited Lifetime Warranty with all locking tools. The Milwaukee 48-22-3402 includes (1) 48-22-3410 10 in. Torque Lock Curved Jaw Locking Pliers with Durable Grip and (1) 48-22-3407 7 in. Torque Lock Curved Jaw Locking Pliers with Durable Grip.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Firm Grippers
          PostedSeptember 10, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Locking pliers must grip firmly to do the job. The adjustment screws on this pair of locking pliers are unique as they permit one to apply extra tightening torque because of the holes in flat adjustment screw grips. The holes allow one to use a screwdriver shaft to turn the adjustment screws with extra force. The holes in the adjustment grips are a really handy way to hang the pliers on the pegboard over my tool bench, much handier than other locking pliers I have. The soft grip handles of these pliers make for hand comfort during use. I have learned to appreciate the innovation of Milwaukee Tool, this product being no exception.
          Pros: Easy to Use, innovative design, comfortable handles
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Milwaukee 13 in. Tool Box is a great way to quickly transport tools for a job which requires the bare minimum. This tool box allows you to organize your tools and have easy access to smaller items. The Milwaukee 13 in. tool box is extremely durable and exclusive to The Home Depot.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great Small Project Tool Box
          PostedSeptember 3, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Being 70 years old, it is great that a tool box like this is available. For many of my handyman activities, I really want to sit at the project to do the work. This toolbox is designed to be a place to sit with the cover in place. My first project after getting this box was to work on 12-volt landscape lighting which is at ground level that, for me, is best done while sitting.
          I appreciate the innovative design of this workbox, including the presence of a groove in the lid to accommodate holding conduit and pipe in place for cutting. The fact that long screwdrivers and tools like large pump pliers stand upright in the central divider makes them easy to spot and retrieve while working. ThisRead More
          Being 70 years old, it is great that a tool box like this is available. For many of my handyman activities, I really want to sit at the project to do the work. This toolbox is designed to be a place to sit with the cover in place. My first project after getting this box was to work on 12-volt landscape lighting which is at ground level that, for me, is best done while sitting.
          I appreciate the innovative design of this workbox, including the presence of a groove in the lid to accommodate holding conduit and pipe in place for cutting. The fact that long screwdrivers and tools like large pump pliers stand upright in the central divider makes them easy to spot and retrieve while working. This box is tough and does not depend on a special latch to keep it closed. The large and comfortable handle serves as the top latching device. This is a great small project tool carrier that I will use often. It is fairly pricy, but innovation costs more.Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, good work chair
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          OLYMPIA Tools is a widely recognized brand of hardware products designed for True Professionals who takes their tools seriously. Each piece is made to exacting tolerances and tested to ensure that it meets and exceeds industry standards so that it meet your needs on the jobsite, shop or on home projects. OLYMPIA goes all out to bring award winning innovation and quality to each product: the appearance, fit and finish of every OLYMPIA product will make you proud you own the very best. The 6-Piece Retractable Utility Knife Set is designed with DIY projects in mind. The 6-Piece set allows you to keep a utility knife in multiple places, wherever cutting tools are needed.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Great Product
          PostedSeptember 3, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          It took a couple of tries to learn how to correctly insert the blades but once that was done, I found this product superior to others I have. The blades are very, very sharp and slide very easily into and out of the cutting position for safety sake. We recently moved, so unpacking by a group of friends and relatives made the six-pack of the product very handy. The recycler we have locally requires that the corrugated cartons be cut into 2 x 2 ft. pieces and bundled before they will accept them. The very sharp blades make for easy cutting of even tri-wall corrugated container board, a time-saver. What surprised me is how long the blades stay sharp. I definitely recommend this product.
          Pros: Easy to Use, easy to deploy & retract blade, blade long-lasting
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The 10-Watt (60W) Soft White LED A19 Light Bulb (6-Pack) is a perfect energy saving replacement to the traditional incandescent light bulb. In fact, these bulbs provide just as much light as a 60 Watt incandescent bulb while only using 10 Watts of electricity. The estimated cost of operation is only $1.18 a year.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Bright and Good Color
          PostedAugust 22, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Gone is the blue hue associated with LED lighting with these bulbs. I put all six of the bulbs in this package in outdoor fixtures that are on from dusk until dawn every day. With the regular incandescent bulbs I had used, I needed to do ladder work at each fixture at least once a year to replace burned out bulbs. With these LEDs installed, that should no longer be the case. These bulbs cast plenty of light, indeed the equivalent of the 60 watt incandescent bulbs. I definitely recommend this product, especially in security lighting applications.
          Pros: Nice Design
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          This 100 ft. 14-Gauge Speaker Wire features copper and aluminum conductors insulated and jacketed in PVC. It has very good flexibility. Use this wire to connect speakers to your stereo or home theater receiver.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          The conductors are aluminum.
          PostedAugust 21, 2014
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5.0
          3 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5.0
          3 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          As an audio buff, I prefer copper conductors for speaker wiring. One reason is that I prefer to "tin" stranded wires at connections using tin/lead solder to assure solid connections without the fear of shorting at terminals from "stray" strands. I used this wire for connections made for one of my systems and have had no issues with it. The aluminum makes for a economical connecting means that some might prefer.
          Pros: Easy to Use
          Cons: not copper
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>
           
          Allan's Questions
           
          Allan has not submitted any questions.
           
          Allan's Answers
           
          Traditional styling with a contemporary flair. The Portsmouth features the Champion 4 flushing system for virtually clog free performance. The Champion 4 system features the industry's largest flush valve. It achieves a maximum MaP score rating of 1,000 g. You may never have to use your plunger again. It also helps keep itself cleaner with our exclusive EverClean surface. And it's all backed by a 10 year warranty on china and trim. Generating a faster and more powerful flush. You may never have to use a plunger again.
           

          The American Standard on your site, does this include the bowl and the tank. Also will it come with the seat shown in the picture?

          Asked by
          Browny32
          Augusta, Ga.
          December 21, 2011
          model #2733.014.020
          internet # 202499514
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          December 11, 2013
          Answer: 
          The seat is NOT included.
           
          The LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Extra Large Capacity Gas Steam Dryer features 9 drying programs, including SteamFresh, SteamSanitary, heavy duty, delicate and towel cycles. The LoDecibel motor minimizes noise for quiet operation, and the intelligent electronic control panel makes it easy to find the right setting. This dryer has a 7.3 cu. ft. capacity to accommodate large loads and help save you time and energy.
           

          What size gas line is needed?

          Asked by
          Doug
          August 14, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          August 14, 2013
          Answer: 
          Most gas dryer lines, at least near the connector, are 1/2-inch, so a pipe that size should be adequate. I have seen 1/2-black iron feed pipes to dryers at least seven feet long. Of course, the size of the piping diameter needed can depend on the length of the run to the dryer, a larger size likely needed for long runs.
           
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can I buy the steam washing machine, but only purchase the regular front load dryer and they match?

          Asked by
          Takeisha
          Dallas, TX
          July 3, 2013
          Is it necessary for me to purchase the steam dryer along with the steam washing machine? What is the benefit of steaming clothes both times if done in the washer, then the dryer? I'm thinking I would prefer to purchase the steam washing machine and purchase the regular front load dryer without the steam option to save a few bucks. Will they match?
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          July 3, 2013
          Answer: 
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went forRead More
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for the best price at the time. We wanted a match in appearance, so bought the pair. These LG's are great machines for the price.Read Less
           
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can you wash waterproof items (sneakers, mattress pads) in the LG front loader?

          Asked by
          KathleenW
          Tallahassee, FL
          June 22, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          June 23, 2013
          Answer: 
          These items are washable and can be washed in this LG machine. We do that very thing regularly with our machine.
           
          The LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Extra Large Capacity Gas Steam Dryer features 9 drying programs, including SteamFresh, SteamSanitary, heavy duty, delicate and towel cycles. The LoDecibel motor minimizes noise for quiet operation, and the intelligent electronic control panel makes it easy to find the right setting. This dryer has a 7.3 cu. ft. capacity to accommodate large loads and help save you time and energy.
           

          Different model?

          Asked by
          AA
          Oakhurst, ca
          January 7, 2013
          Is there a turbo wash washer and dryer set that would be basically the same -have the same motor -but without steam?
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          May 25, 2013
          Answer: 
          Step down one model and you will get basically the same machine without steam. That would be LG model WM2250CW washer and companion model DLG2251W gas dryer.