Allan
  • Review count
    85
  • Helpfulness votes
    145
  • Average rating
    4.7
    4.7 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 10, 2013
  • Last Review:
    July 22, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      21
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        85
      • Helpfulness votes
        145
      • Average rating
        4.7
        4.7 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 10, 2013
      • Last Review:
        July 22, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          21
           
           
           
           
          Allan's Reviews
           
          Philips 4.5-Watt clear G25 decorative globe with DiamondSpark technology offers energy-saving ambience with the elegant sparkle effect of incandescent decorative globe bulbs. DiamondSpark technology utilizes a prism design that enhances bulb aesthetic and improves light quality. The prism, similar to a filament, simulates incandescent-like sparkle desired in decorative applications around your home. Ideal for use in pendant, vanity and bare lamp applications, this Philips clear LED G25 delivers a soft white light, is fully dimmable and can replace your current 40-Watt decorative globe light bulb. Add a touch of sparkle to your home decor with Philips with DiamondSpark technology.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Sparking Clear Globe-shaped LED
          PostedJuly 22, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          LED bulbs keep improving, this Philips product a good example. It has a spherical shape with internal light scattering feature that makes it sparkle. It will be a nice for a multiple-bulb bathroom fixture with exposed bulbs. I have only one that was sent to me as a sample, so will buy more from The Home Depot to complete a set for our half bath over-the-mirror fixture. This bulb consumes only 4.5 watts for 330 lumens of light. It has a soft, natural color with not a hint of cold "blue" of earlier LED bulbs. Lighting efficiency and low operating temperature are great pluses for LED lamps, this no exception. I have been methodically replacing all of my incandescent bulbs and CFL bulbs with Read More
          LED bulbs keep improving, this Philips product a good example. It has a spherical shape with internal light scattering feature that makes it sparkle. It will be a nice for a multiple-bulb bathroom fixture with exposed bulbs. I have only one that was sent to me as a sample, so will buy more from The Home Depot to complete a set for our half bath over-the-mirror fixture. This bulb consumes only 4.5 watts for 330 lumens of light. It has a soft, natural color with not a hint of cold "blue" of earlier LED bulbs. Lighting efficiency and low operating temperature are great pluses for LED lamps, this no exception. I have been methodically replacing all of my incandescent bulbs and CFL bulbs with LEDs, watching our electric consumption drop significantly in the process. Use of cool LED lamps also lowers electric consumption for air conditioning as there is little waste heat generated during operation compared to incandescent and even CFL bulbs. Read Less
          Pros: Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, attractive light sparkle, not a hint of led "blue"
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Delta Carlisle collection is offered in a brushed nickel finish. It also features the Quick Click installation system that allows you to quickly mount the product with one drilling point thus reducing the number of tasks and creating a more secure attachment. The Carlisle Robe Hook in Brushed Nickel makes a great accent for any bathroom.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Unique Mounting System
          PostedJuly 18, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          The mounting design for Delta towel bars and rings, toilet paper dispensers, robe hangers, etc. is unique and very handy. It uses a special bracket with spring that is mounted to the surface. A template is provided with each product to assist in accurately marking holes to be drilled for mounting. With the bracket or brackets mounted, the fixture just snaps into place, held by a special spring that holds firmly. The design leaves no visible set screws to mar the appearance. Removal of the fixture is easy by a lift and pivot motion. That makes it very handy to temporarily remove the fixture for repainting the wall or other surface upon which the fixture is mounted. The finish for this robe Read More
          The mounting design for Delta towel bars and rings, toilet paper dispensers, robe hangers, etc. is unique and very handy. It uses a special bracket with spring that is mounted to the surface. A template is provided with each product to assist in accurately marking holes to be drilled for mounting. With the bracket or brackets mounted, the fixture just snaps into place, held by a special spring that holds firmly. The design leaves no visible set screws to mar the appearance. Removal of the fixture is easy by a lift and pivot motion. That makes it very handy to temporarily remove the fixture for repainting the wall or other surface upon which the fixture is mounted. The finish for this robe hook bar is of high quality. I like the fairly wide, stylish lower hook design fro this particular product. I recommend it highly. Read Less
          Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, High Quality, unique mount design
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Delta Carlisle collection is offered in a brushed nickel finish. It also features the Quick Click installation system that allows you to quickly mount the product with one drilling point thus reducing the number of tasks and creating a more secure attachment. The Carlisle collection includes a pivoting toilet paper holder that makes paper changing quick and easy.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Delta has the best mounting design
          PostedJuly 18, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          The mounting design for Delta towel bars and rings, toilet paper dispensers, robe hangers, etc. is great. It uses a special bracket with spring that is mounted to the surface. A template is provided with each product to assist in accurately marking holes to be drilled for mounting. With the bracket or brackets mounted, the fixture just snaps into place, held by a special spring that holds firmly. The design leaves no visible set screws to mar the appearance. Removal of the fixture is easy by a lift and pivot motion. That makes it very handy for repainting the wall or other surface upon which the fixture is mounted. The finish for this towel bar is of high quality. I recommend this product Read More
          The mounting design for Delta towel bars and rings, toilet paper dispensers, robe hangers, etc. is great. It uses a special bracket with spring that is mounted to the surface. A template is provided with each product to assist in accurately marking holes to be drilled for mounting. With the bracket or brackets mounted, the fixture just snaps into place, held by a special spring that holds firmly. The design leaves no visible set screws to mar the appearance. Removal of the fixture is easy by a lift and pivot motion. That makes it very handy for repainting the wall or other surface upon which the fixture is mounted. The finish for this towel bar is of high quality. I recommend this product highly. Read Less
          Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, High Quality, great mounting system
          Cons: great mounting system
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The Tomcat Press 'N Set Mouse Traps (2-Pack) are disposable for convenience, non-toxic for safety and are easy and ready-to-use. The Press 'N Set traps require only 1 touch to set as an added benefit. Constructed of plastic, the snap traps require no assembly.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Effective Trap for Both Mice and Voles
          PostedJuly 13, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I set these two traps a week ago after seeing a vole dart under my feet in our garage. I got four critters in the first two days, one field mouse and three voles, noticing no activity since. I followed the instructions, setting the traps about five feet apart along the baseboard behind our garbage cans. I baited them using peanut butter, it working well. I use the old-style peanut butter that I make myself from roast peanuts, the sticky oiliness seemingly an added attraction. I have used a competing mouse trap product in the past in our garage, it often allowing mice or voles to eat the bait without springing the traps. When and if I need more traps of this type, this TOMCAT PRESS 'N SET is Read More
          I set these two traps a week ago after seeing a vole dart under my feet in our garage. I got four critters in the first two days, one field mouse and three voles, noticing no activity since. I followed the instructions, setting the traps about five feet apart along the baseboard behind our garbage cans. I baited them using peanut butter, it working well. I use the old-style peanut butter that I make myself from roast peanuts, the sticky oiliness seemingly an added attraction. I have used a competing mouse trap product in the past in our garage, it often allowing mice or voles to eat the bait without springing the traps. When and if I need more traps of this type, this TOMCAT PRESS 'N SET is the model that I will seek. Read Less
          Pros: Functionality, easy to set, easy dead mouse release
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The new HART 25 ft. Tape Measure with Blade Brake gets the job done in the most demanding work environments. An arsenal of innovative Signature Features that include: Blade Brake, Double Sided Print, and Hook Magnet show why HART should be the tape of your choice. If HART’s superior performance and innovative Signature Features weren’t enough, you can be assured HART has your back with its limited lifetime warranty. HART Nothing Works Harder.
           
          from Germantown, WI, USA
          Age Range:65 or over
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Magnetic tang assures accuracy. Great value.
          PostedJuly 8, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is a somewhat unique product with its tang (tape end) design that assures measurement accuracy whether it be from the end of the tang or with the tang hooked onto the edge of a surface while measuring in tension. The tang is fastened to the end of the tape so that it slides away from the end of the tape by the thickness of the tang hook under tension and moves toward the tape by the thickness of the hook in compression. That means no adding or subtracting the hook thickness for precise measuring. One-man measurement from steel surfaces is the purpose of the magnetic tang for this tape. The magnet strength is sufficient for my purposes, however, how well it holds to a ferrous surface Read More
          This is a somewhat unique product with its tang (tape end) design that assures measurement accuracy whether it be from the end of the tang or with the tang hooked onto the edge of a surface while measuring in tension. The tang is fastened to the end of the tape so that it slides away from the end of the tape by the thickness of the tang hook under tension and moves toward the tape by the thickness of the hook in compression. That means no adding or subtracting the hook thickness for precise measuring. One-man measurement from steel surfaces is the purpose of the magnetic tang for this tape. The magnet strength is sufficient for my purposes, however, how well it holds to a ferrous surface depends on the thickness of the metal and the metal finish. I tested it from our painted refrigerator and noted that it supported the entire extension to the 25 foot tape length. For a wrought iron rail, the tape pulled away from the rail at a 13 foot extension. The magnet at the tape tang is a handy tool to pick up small steel objects that have been dropped or are hard to reach.
          Both the top and bottom sides of the tape have measurement graduations printed on them. This would be handier if the tang hook were double sided. The tape has a nicely designed wire belt hook that, to me, is better than a metal strip hook, it scuffing belts less than other tapes I have used with metal strap hooks. I like the thumb actuated braking mechanism as well as the tape slowdown button at the bottom of the case near the tape exit slot. Overall, this is a sturdy product at a bargain price of only around $13, beating the competition in that area. I recommend it highly. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Accurate, nice belt hook, strong magnet
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>
           
          Allan's Questions
           
          Allan has not submitted any questions.
           
          Allan's Answers
           
          Use the Milwaukee 11-in-1 5 in. Multi-Tip Screwdriver for your driving needs. The screwdriver offers a 5 in. shaft that holds up to 9 bits so you can carry fewer drivers. It contains hardened tips ranging in size from #1 to #2 and features a rubber handle for comfort.
           

          where are the bits?

          Asked by
          James
          Colleyville, TX
          October 11, 2014
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          October 16, 2014
          Answer: 
          They are self-stored in the shaft of the driver, not in the handle. That makes for a sturdy handle with no potential for a top cap to come off or break.
           
          Traditional styling with a contemporary flair. The Portsmouth features the Champion 4 flushing system for virtually clog free performance. The Champion 4 system features the industry's largest flush valve. It achieves a maximum MaP score rating of 1,000 g. You may never have to use your plunger again. It also helps keep itself cleaner with our exclusive EverClean surface. And it's all backed by a 10 year warranty on china and trim. Generating a faster and more powerful flush. You may never have to use a plunger again.
           

          The American Standard on your site, does this include the bowl and the tank. Also will it come with the seat shown in the picture?

          Asked by
          Browny32
          Augusta, Ga.
          December 21, 2011
          model #2733.014.020
          internet # 202499514
          Asked by
          Allan
          Germantown, WI, USA
          December 11, 2013
          Answer: 
          The seat is NOT included.
           
          LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Gas Dryer with Steam in White
          LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Gas Dryer with Steam in White
          The LG Electronics 7.3 cu. ft. Extra Large Capacity Gas Steam Dryer features 9 drying programs, including SteamFresh, SteamSanitary, heavy duty, delicate and towel cycles. The LoDecibel motor minimizes noise for quiet operation, and the intelligent electronic control panel makes it easy to find the right setting. This dryer has a 7.3 cu. ft. capacity to accommodate large loads and help save you time and energy.
           

          What size gas line is needed?

          Asked by
          Doug
          August 14, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          August 14, 2013
          Answer: 
          Most gas dryer lines, at least near the connector, are 1/2-inch, so a pipe that size should be adequate. I have seen 1/2-black iron feed pipes to dryers at least seven feet long. Of course, the size of the piping diameter needed can depend on the length of the run to the dryer, a larger size likely needed for long runs.
           
          LG Electronics 3.6 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
          LG Electronics 3.6 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can I buy the steam washing machine, but only purchase the regular front load dryer and they match?

          Asked by
          Takeisha
          Dallas, TX
          July 3, 2013
          Is it necessary for me to purchase the steam dryer along with the steam washing machine? What is the benefit of steaming clothes both times if done in the washer, then the dryer? I'm thinking I would prefer to purchase the steam washing machine and purchase the regular front load dryer without the steam option to save a few bucks. Will they match?
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          July 3, 2013
          Answer: 
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for Read More
          They do not match in appearance. The steam machine has chrome finish for the door surround, whereas, the lower line model has a dull gray finish for the door surround. We bought the steam models but do not use the steam feature in either. Our reason for buying the steam machines was that they were on sale and cost less at the time than the lower line model. We needed a new washer in a hurry so went for the best price at the time. We wanted a match in appearance, so bought the pair. These LG's are great machines for the price. Read Less
           
          LG Electronics 3.6 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
          LG Electronics 3.6 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
          The LG Electronics 3.6 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load SteamWasher features 9 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel on the washer has an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle to make it easy to find the right setting. The washer's Allergiene cycle helps reduce more than 95% of common household allergens, such as dust mites and domestic animal dander. This washer is Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX2650W or Gas Dryer model DLGX2651W. Also available in Wild Cherry Red model WM2650HRA.
           

          Can you wash waterproof items (sneakers, mattress pads) in the LG front loader?

          Asked by
          KathleenW
          Tallahassee, FL
          June 22, 2013
          Asked by
          Allan
          Cumming, GA, USA
          June 23, 2013
          Answer: 
          These items are washable and can be washed in this LG machine. We do that very thing regularly with our machine.