PJCC
  • Review count
    137
  • Helpfulness votes
    472
  • Average rating
    4.1
    4.1 out of 5
  • First Review:
    March 30, 2009
  • Last Review:
    December 10, 2014
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      11
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        137
      • Helpfulness votes
        472
      • Average rating
        4.1
        4.1 out of 5
      • First Review:
        March 30, 2009
      • Last Review:
        December 10, 2014
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          11
           
           
           
           
          PJCC's Reviews
           
          Macally secure credit card terminal for iPhone and iPod. For the entrepreneur on the go. Accept credit cards straight from your iPhone. No contract required, just download the Swipe It app from the App Store and you’re ready to go. Accepts all major credit cards. Swipe It is the first Secure Credit Card Terminal available for the iPhone and iPod touch. Processing credit cards just got a lot easier and with the secure head reader, all swiped credit card transactions are encrypted before they are passed from the card reader to the iPhone/iPod touch. Swipe It has an adjustable spring loaded support system that provides the maximum flexibility for all form factors of existing and future iPhones and iPods One Size Fits All.
           
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nice product but not recommended in light of recent hacks and coming changes in law.
          PostedDecember 10, 2014
          Overall rating 
          2.0 out of 5.0
          2 out of 5
          Quality 
          2.0 out of 5.0
          2 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5.0
          3 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          In theory I looked at this and thought it was what I wanted. My enthusiasm waned as I did my due diligence in looking for a processing merchant and looking forward at new standards of security.
          Initially my only concerns were about WiFi Security.
          After reviewing information on recent hacks in major corporations, the EMV Chip and Pin technology that will be required for security in the EU by October 2005 and importantly legal liability shifts for card breeches, I couldn't in good conscience recommend the product.
          Pros: easy interface
          Cons: security & legal issues
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          With Schlage Touch Camelot Satin Nickel Deadbolt, no key means there’s nothing to lose, nothing to fiddle with, and - for intruders - nothing to pick. All in a slim profile that’s every bit as sleek as it is strong. When you take out the key, it’s amazing what all you can add.
           
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Attractive design that can be heavy appearing, Black Plastic Top not attractive
          PostedDecember 10, 2014
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5.0
          3 out of 5
          Quality 
          3.0 out of 5.0
          3 out of 5
          First, I worked taking this apart and putting it together before installation. I have RA and need to ensure it is workable for me. My purpose in changing my deadbolt right now is to speed access to a door I am in and out of moving things.
          This arrived with an easy to read manual. I've recently put in 2 other deadbolts. This appeared
          to be easy, but presented some problems.
          Oddly the electronics were not hard to work, but the hardware putting it on the door did not work
          smoothly for me. I took off an almost new deadbolt and found that was more secure. I prefer to rely on keyed entry for security.
          The most important aspect of installation is the measurements. In that respect you also can Read More
          First, I worked taking this apart and putting it together before installation. I have RA and need to ensure it is workable for me. My purpose in changing my deadbolt right now is to speed access to a door I am in and out of moving things.
          This arrived with an easy to read manual. I've recently put in 2 other deadbolts. This appeared
          to be easy, but presented some problems.
          Oddly the electronics were not hard to work, but the hardware putting it on the door did not work
          smoothly for me. I took off an almost new deadbolt and found that was more secure. I prefer to rely on keyed entry for security.
          The most important aspect of installation is the measurements. In that respect you also can look
          at the FAQ at the Schlage website if you have more questions.
          Not to my personal liking. If this facilitates quick and easy access, for someone with RA, over the next couple of months it will be worth it.
          Print the photo off the internet and put it on your door before you order it. It looks great on paper but not so much on the door. I don't like the black plastic cover on the 9 Volt Battery in the picture. It looked worse on the door. Read Less
          Pros: easy to use for people with handicaps, Good Instructions
          Cons: Difficult to Install, read all the measurements required before ordering
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The TOUGHBUILT C420 Steel Sawhorse is durable, rugged and offers unparalleled value. Constructed of high-grade steel, this sawhorse has a remarkable 1300 lb. capacity alone, and 2600 lb. per pair. Features 2 x 4 support arms that transform 2 sawhorses into a solid jobsite table. Also includes telescopic legs that allow the sawhorse to work in any terrain. With a fast-open mechanism, setup is straightforward and simple. Powder-coated and zinc-plated steel prevents corrosion and withstands rigorous environments. This folding sawhorse includes an easy carry handle for effortless transport and rolled edges for safety and comfort.
           
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Construction Site tough, adjustable legs. Need strong hands to adjust height.
          PostedDecember 3, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Sawhorses fit a set of 2x4s that move easily in and out. Anyone could set it up as a worktable. Slightly heavy at about 38lbs.
          Easy Instructions on the Steel top tell you which side to open first and close first. One side needs to
          be collapsed to the shortest point to close them. You cannot get away without learning how to adjust
          the legs for storage
          Steel adjustable legs are sometimes difficult for a person with arthritis, but it can be done. I had to
          allow the adjustable prong to go all the way down the leg to get it back up. After the legs are adjusted
          it appear to sit well. but I didn'tt test this with a 1,000 pound load.
          They can be stored under a bed at 42 inches long and about 5 Read More
          Sawhorses fit a set of 2x4s that move easily in and out. Anyone could set it up as a worktable. Slightly heavy at about 38lbs.
          Easy Instructions on the Steel top tell you which side to open first and close first. One side needs to
          be collapsed to the shortest point to close them. You cannot get away without learning how to adjust
          the legs for storage
          Steel adjustable legs are sometimes difficult for a person with arthritis, but it can be done. I had to
          allow the adjustable prong to go all the way down the leg to get it back up. After the legs are adjusted
          it appear to sit well. but I didn'tt test this with a 1,000 pound load.
          They can be stored under a bed at 42 inches long and about 5 inches high. I want this set to build a one Room home for myself. I know from the experience of building a small alpine playhouse for cats, a good sawhorse is the tool you'll use the most.
          I recommend it for a small construction site, but not for anyone with arthritis. Go with an easier pair to open and shut, without adjustable legs.
          I was very excited to received these to review, DIY and great tools give me hope for a home I can build myself. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, adjustable legs, can be stored under a bed, turns into table with 2x4s, open & shut directions right on the table
          Cons: can be difficult to adjust legs, hard to test for max weight at 2600lb
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The TOUGHBUILT C470 Sawhorse and Jobsite Table are durable, rugged and offer unparalleled value. Constructed of 100% high-grade steel, this sawhorse has a remarkable 1100 lb. capacity alone, and 2200 lb. per pair. Also includes innovative material support pegs that allow for safe and easy cutting of materials. With a fast-open mechanism, setup is straightforward and simple. Powder-coated and zinc-plated steel prevents corrosion and withstands rigorous environments. This folding sawhorse includes an easy carry handle for effortless transport and rolled edges for safety and comfort.
           
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Handicapped Arthritic hands will find these easy to use! Solid for Carving Wood
          PostedDecember 3, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          A steel static height sawhorse with foam pads and handles, the legs snap in and out easily with very little pressure to push the button on the leg hardware.
          The Video I've added is not meant to be professional. It is meant to show my handicap when working alone. I can take down the 2x4's and snap in legs on both sides with one hand, almost. RA attacks the joints in my hands, not my strength. The about 35lb weight of 2 sawhorses with soft plastic handles is easy to carry.
          Closed, each sawhorse measures 40" x 5". You can store a few under your bed!
          One of my 2x4's I used on the sawhorse ends is warped. Even then, the wood carving I've been trying to complete lays on them solidly. It would Read More
          A steel static height sawhorse with foam pads and handles, the legs snap in and out easily with very little pressure to push the button on the leg hardware.
          The Video I've added is not meant to be professional. It is meant to show my handicap when working alone. I can take down the 2x4's and snap in legs on both sides with one hand, almost. RA attacks the joints in my hands, not my strength. The about 35lb weight of 2 sawhorses with soft plastic handles is easy to carry.
          Closed, each sawhorse measures 40" x 5". You can store a few under your bed!
          One of my 2x4's I used on the sawhorse ends is warped. Even then, the wood carving I've been trying to complete lays on them solidly. It would also be a great work table.
          I recommend them for anyone, but particularly for people with stiff joints. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Easy to Store
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          Video Review:
          (click to see the video)
          User submitted video
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Pinless Moisture Meter for non-invasive measurement in wood and other building materials with virtually no surface damage. Measurement depth from 078 in. (20mm) to 1.6 in. (40mm) below the surface. Two user-settable alarm levels with audible beeper and visual flashing RISK or WET indicators. Triple backlit LCD. Complete with 3 AA batteries and pouch case.
           
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Testing for RISK and WET areas in a home is easy and quick with this meter.
          PostedNovember 10, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Out of the box, a meter with batteries, a case for the meter, a mini computer disk, a paper quick start manual that fits in the case. Read a few pages, you will be using this in minutes.
          Press the front button to turn it on then immediately hold the side button to calibrate. Pass it over the area to be tested. The highest reading will stay on the meter even as it moves and fluctuates.
          I studied science instead of playing with dolls, blew up my bedroom with a chemical experiment. Loved science, I never looked back. This meter was used to test my entire household. The
          foundation is cracked from settling after being built on reclaimed mine lands.
          Test parameters: 1) A few weeks prior to Read More
          Out of the box, a meter with batteries, a case for the meter, a mini computer disk, a paper quick start manual that fits in the case. Read a few pages, you will be using this in minutes.
          Press the front button to turn it on then immediately hold the side button to calibrate. Pass it over the area to be tested. The highest reading will stay on the meter even as it moves and fluctuates.
          I studied science instead of playing with dolls, blew up my bedroom with a chemical experiment. Loved science, I never looked back. This meter was used to test my entire household. The
          foundation is cracked from settling after being built on reclaimed mine lands.
          Test parameters: 1) A few weeks prior to testing rain has saturated the ground causing floods on 4 sides of the house. 2) Subsequent to the floods, the water level did no recede for close to 2 weeks because of saturated ground and a lack of cleared area that the county has mapped as the drainage
          for this area 3) Swiftmud has been called to investigate the lack of designation of this area as a flood zone 4) a smell and unusual dampness raised into the house 5) I ran a large dehumidifier and cleaned the area for a week before testing this crack.
          The test of the crack is shown in the meter as causing a RISK level alarm at over 450. A second household with the cracked cement foundation was tested. A dehumidifier was not used. The RISK
          alarm sounded at a reading of 700.
          I recommend this meter highly to anyone who has concerns for their health and the health of their family! Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, comes with case
          Video Review:
          (click to see the video)
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 28 >>
           
          PJCC's Questions
           
          PJCC has not submitted any questions.
           
          PJCC's Answers
           
          The Everbilt 1/3 HP submersible automatic utility pump is ideal for removing unwanted water from the window wells, or other shallow flooded areas. The probe sensors detect water present and automatically turn on the pump when the water level is up to 1-1/4 in. or above. It draws the water down to 1/4 in. and automatically turns pump off. The maximum pumping capacity is up to 1920 GPH (gallons per hour) at 0 ft. lift.
           

          pump shutsb douwn for long times an only comes on in shorts bursts when water is 8 inch levels

          Asked by
          anthony
          new rochelle new york
          December 11, 2014
          pump shuts for long periods an only turns on in short bursts even under water 1/3 hp utiklity
          Asked by
          PJCC
          Florida
          December 18, 2014
          Answer: 
          Not an answer as much as a comment, it sounds defective. Mine is being used as a main source of
          water in a water barrel. When I turn it on to clean or shower it stays on with no problem, although the
          pressure has waned, it is still pumping constantly. Call the company.
           
          GREAT STUFF Gaps & Cracks is a polyurethane-based insulating foam sealant that fills, air-seals, and insulates small gaps (up to 1 inch) inside or out. But you probably guessed as much from the name. What you might not have guessed is how easy it is to use (thanks to the straw applicator) or how it expands to take the shape of cracks and voids to form a durable, airtight, and water-resistant bond that eliminates unwanted airflow and helps reduce condensation.
           

          Great Stuff - Gaps & Cracks Insulating Foam Sealant - health problems

          Asked by
          Nisa
          Colorado
          December 16, 2014
          Has anyone developed any lung damage or medical problems from using this product?
          Asked by
          PJCC
          Florida
          December 18, 2014
          Answer: 
          Questions like that would be answered better by searching the NIOSH, National Institute of Health's Website, searching Google Scholar for the product brand name for lawsuits, or searching the FDC for
          recalls on that product or ingredients in the product.
          The State of California has much stricter laws than other states, directing a question to online forums in that state might help. Sometimes Public Read More
          Questions like that would be answered better by searching the NIOSH, National Institute of Health's Website, searching Google Scholar for the product brand name for lawsuits, or searching the FDC for
          recalls on that product or ingredients in the product.
          The State of California has much stricter laws than other states, directing a question to online forums in that state might help. Sometimes Public Citizen is also involved in research in some issues like this but I would start with the government agencies.
          I don't know any lawsuit that would stand up in court that said casual use of a product would cause cancer, check the ingredients and warnings. Good question. Read Less
           
          If you enjoy spending time in your yard, but not the odor caused by Man s Best Friend, then Simple Green Outdoor Odor Eliminator is for you. Using powerful naturally derived microorganisms, Simple Green Outdoor Odor Eliminator neutralizes and easily eliminates odors in your outdoor spaces. It quickly removes urine, stool and vomit odors caused by your dog or cat, making it the perfect way to eliminate pet odors outside on your patio, dog run, deck, yard and even artificial turf.
           

          will it work on mildew odour

          Asked by
          boynamedsue
          sackville nb
          November 11, 2014
          I have a wooden deck raised about a foot or so. There is a mildew smell under it . If i were to use the bottle with the hose attachment I could spray the entire area under the deck. But....will this product work in this scenario??
          Asked by
          PJCC
          Florida
          November 13, 2014
          Answer: 
          I live in Florida, at one time or another something smells of mildew. Here is what the CDC says about Mold...http://www.cdc.gov/mold/dampness_facts.htm, In short, a way to kill your neighbor with respiratory disease, it is a serious subject not to be taken lightly. You sound like you need a product that will kill the mildew or mold growth and not just cover smells dampness brings out. I like this odor Read More
          I live in Florida, at one time or another something smells of mildew. Here is what the CDC says about Mold...http://www.cdc.gov/mold/dampness_facts.htm, In short, a way to kill your neighbor with respiratory disease, it is a serious subject not to be taken lightly. You sound like you need a product that will kill the mildew or mold growth and not just cover smells dampness brings out. I like this odor eliminator but a product to inhibit growth of mold or mildew might be better. I would clean it on a sunny day. Let it dry completely after you have use a product labeled or recommended for mold or mildew killing. Read Less
           
          GREAT STUFF Gaps & Cracks is a polyurethane-based insulating foam sealant that fills, air-seals, and insulates small gaps (up to 1 inch) inside or out. But you probably guessed as much from the name. What you might not have guessed is how easy it is to use (thanks to the straw applicator) or how it expands to take the shape of cracks and voids to form a durable, airtight, and water-resistant bond that eliminates unwanted airflow and helps reduce condensation.
           

          any way to remove foam from clothes?

          Asked by
          tomk
          nwi
          October 22, 2013
          got some foam on my favorite sweat shirt, soaked and washed and hung dry. any thing I can do??
          Asked by
          PJCC
          Florida
          October 4, 2014
          Answer: 
          Not in my experience, and people laugh at me for having such a large pile of working clothes I can just throw out. It hardens like a rock and by the time you finish with chemical solutions to get it off clothing the fabric will be ruined.
           
          GREAT STUFF Gaps & Cracks is a polyurethane-based insulating foam sealant that fills, air-seals, and insulates small gaps (up to 1 inch) inside or out. But you probably guessed as much from the name. What you might not have guessed is how easy it is to use (thanks to the straw applicator) or how it expands to take the shape of cracks and voids to form a durable, airtight, and water-resistant bond that eliminates unwanted airflow and helps reduce condensation.
           

          could I use this to backfill behind a fiberglass poolstep?

          Asked by
          poolguy
          CT
          September 26, 2014
          fiberglass poolstep has become squashy and cracked. if I drilled and filled behind the steps prior to repairing the fiberglass surface would the dried foam provide reasonable support?
          Asked by
          PJCC
          Florida
          October 4, 2014
          Answer: 
          I don't have actual experience with any pool. I've used this in a wet area. The Aluminum patio in our backyard had a gap in a corner big enough to allow snakes through it. We flood often during rainy season. I used this to expand in and fill the gap..
          The yard and that part of the patio flood when it is raining. After a few years, this expanding sealant is breaking down.
          I've also used it to fill gaps Read More
          I don't have actual experience with any pool. I've used this in a wet area. The Aluminum patio in our backyard had a gap in a corner big enough to allow snakes through it. We flood often during rainy season. I used this to expand in and fill the gap..
          The yard and that part of the patio flood when it is raining. After a few years, this expanding sealant is breaking down.
          I've also used it to fill gaps under cement and wood. It started to deteriorate under the wood but I
          can't see under the cement to evaluate it there.
          You should contact the mfg., but this is my experience with the product. Read Less