PJCC
  • Review count
    128
  • Helpfulness votes
    452
  • Average rating
    4.1
    4.1 out of 5
  • First Review:
    March 30, 2009
  • Last Review:
    October 17, 2014
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      8
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        128
      • Helpfulness votes
        452
      • Average rating
        4.1
        4.1 out of 5
      • First Review:
        March 30, 2009
      • Last Review:
        October 17, 2014
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          8
           
           
           
           
          PJCC's Reviews
           
          The Awaken handshower brings KOHLER quality, design, and performance to your bath. Advanced spray performance delivers three distinct sprays—wide coverage, intense drenching, or targeted—with a smooth rotation of a thumb tab. Ergonomic design makes for superior comfort and ease of use, with ideal balance and weight in the hand. The artfully sculpted sprayface takes its inspiration from the purposeful patterns found in nature, complementing a wide range of bathroom styles.
           
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          This Old House meets A Simple Design towards modern renovation.
          PostedOctober 17, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Unboxed and installed in less than 5 minutes. A handheld shower is one of my favorite updates to a bathroom. It was an easy install. The directions say to hand tighten. Water pressure was not tested for this review.
          The only extra item I used was plumber's thread sealant tape. I will be removing this when I paint the walls. I found flaking drywall behind the wall paper and I 've delayed to test for moisture before I paint.
          This Kohler design is big, shiny and looks like a small flying saucer. I received exactly what I ordered, yet a longer shower cord to accommodate my kids with 4 paws would be better. The plastic cased cord is about 4' 9", with a head 11" beyond that. The weight isRead More
          Unboxed and installed in less than 5 minutes. A handheld shower is one of my favorite updates to a bathroom. It was an easy install. The directions say to hand tighten. Water pressure was not tested for this review.
          The only extra item I used was plumber's thread sealant tape. I will be removing this when I paint the walls. I found flaking drywall behind the wall paper and I 've delayed to test for moisture before I paint.
          This Kohler design is big, shiny and looks like a small flying saucer. I received exactly what I ordered, yet a longer shower cord to accommodate my kids with 4 paws would be better. The plastic cased cord is about 4' 9", with a head 11" beyond that. The weight is balanced, both the shower head and the cord being light.
          The hand shower this replaced had a head that was heavier, the head kept falling out of the cradle.
          I test these by setting the shower head in the cradle and yanking the cord around. This large head stays seated in the cradle as it pivots and turns. It isn't a professional test but it is what I would be doing if I stepped into this shower with a cat!
          On a budget, I can't completely update the bathtub or the chrome glass doors. I'm blending designs by making everything white or silver and shiny. This should allow the last updates, of a bath and tile to add color, drama or more modern designs to a basic white and chrome bathroom.
          In one word, SHINY.Read Less
          Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, weight is well balanced to fit in the cradle
          Cons: cord length is short
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          The ECOSINKS medium sized pure copper under-mount sink is handcrafted by skilled artisans. ECOSINKS copper sinks are an innovative and affordable way to add luxury to any bathroom environment. This copper bathroom sinks features a flat rim for an easy under-mount installation. Hand made from pure 18 gauge solid copper this copper sink guaranteed to last a lifetime. This unique ECOSINKS copper basin is hand made from pure natural copper that will age beautifully with time. Given the raw and natural form of this natural finish it will always continue to change much like a penny, it can be polished back to original lusture with copper cream.
           
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Nicely crafted, lightweight versatile Sink, Creative uses for this beyond the bath.
          PostedOctober 6, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Handcrafted sink, with a simple but well crafted design. Metal crafts are my favorite of all crafts, from swords to sinks. I was very excited to receive this to review.
          My goal is to redesign this for an area that is in an alcove outside the house.
          It was given to the cats to see how quickly the patina would turn. In a week the process started.
          I would not use it as a sink because I would want to clean it constantly.
          As an outdoor fountain on an aluminum pole mount this will be a conversation piece. My idea is to design copper wire going up and around the pole that looks like a bird gathering twigs. The light weight of the sink enables it to be versatile for other projects.
          This eggRead More
          Handcrafted sink, with a simple but well crafted design. Metal crafts are my favorite of all crafts, from swords to sinks. I was very excited to receive this to review.
          My goal is to redesign this for an area that is in an alcove outside the house.
          It was given to the cats to see how quickly the patina would turn. In a week the process started.
          I would not use it as a sink because I would want to clean it constantly.
          As an outdoor fountain on an aluminum pole mount this will be a conversation piece. My idea is to design copper wire going up and around the pole that looks like a bird gathering twigs. The light weight of the sink enables it to be versatile for other projects.
          This egg shaped copper sink, if you allow your imagination to run wild, can be repurposed for many projects besides a sink!Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, lightweight
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          A Fresh Take on Clean Air. Introducing the all new Winix FresHome Series of Air Cleaners. The Winix FresHome P150 True-HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave Technology combines the best air cleaning technologies to capture all of the unseen particles suspended in the air, including dust, pollen, pet dander, smoke, mold spores, organic chemicals and household odors. The P150 is designed for optimal use in a small bedroom, nursery or office; Featuring a 3-Stage Air Cleaning System, the P150 uses an Activated Carbon Pre-Filter to remove household odors, hair, lint and other large particles-helping to extend the life of the HEPA Filter and reduce housekeeping; the 99.97% efficient True-HEPA Filter then captures the particles you can't even see, including pet dander, smoke, pollen and mold spores; and Winix's own PlasmaWave Technology safely breaks apart odors, chemical vapors and other pollutants at the molecular level to offer superior all-around air cleaning. An Auto Mode and Air Quality Sensor combine to deliver Set-and-Forget convenience; 4 Fan Speeds; Sleep Mode. Energy Star Qualified; AHAM Room Size Rating 150 sq. ft.
           
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Green Light! Cleaning the air in a Medium Sized Room!
          PostedSeptember 28, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5.0
          3 out of 5
          This Hepa Air Cleaner is one of a few air cleaners that I've used. As the lightest plastic cleaner I've used, but easiest to use, I worry about how long it will last in a room full of cats. It looks nice in the room, streamlined. The light weight will make it easy to mount on a wall out of the way of my cats.
          The Cleaner came with 3 extra charcoal filters, I replaced one after a week. They're washable. I'll replace mine often. The plastic front slides on with two grooves at the top and two pieces of breakable plastic that slip into holes at the bottom , It is fragile so care needs to be taken to not
          break them.
          When compared against criteria for Hepa filters in a nuclear power plant, fitRead More
          This Hepa Air Cleaner is one of a few air cleaners that I've used. As the lightest plastic cleaner I've used, but easiest to use, I worry about how long it will last in a room full of cats. It looks nice in the room, streamlined. The light weight will make it easy to mount on a wall out of the way of my cats.
          The Cleaner came with 3 extra charcoal filters, I replaced one after a week. They're washable. I'll replace mine often. The plastic front slides on with two grooves at the top and two pieces of breakable plastic that slip into holes at the bottom , It is fragile so care needs to be taken to not
          break them.
          When compared against criteria for Hepa filters in a nuclear power plant, fit and leaks, the light plastic appears to be too flexible. The filters don't sit tight enough in the case. It has gaps where the filters fit. With this filter fit I assume that 100% of the air is not being cleaned, but I dont like numbers.
          I've been running the Cleaner on high since I set it up, about a week ago. It's quiet.
          The replaced Charcoal filter has lots of cat hair, pictured. The other pictures show the cat hair didn't make it to the White Hepa Filter or behind it to the plastic part of the cleaner. There is no dust or hair sitting on top of this filter. The Hepa Filters are not cheap to replace.
          The tiny glow you see on the Cleaner is the light on top. It reflects on the sides of the Cleaner, replacing my night light! That cuts one electrical bill. This light is a digital system that apparently
          can turn the Plasma technology off and on. According to what I read real Plasma cleaners can get
          rid of VOC's. I don't know of a way to test this system at home.
          Despite this hair in the room the light on the top has Never changed from Green (good air quality) to Red (bad air quality).
          I'm not familiar with the Winix Brand. I checked their name at the U.S. Consumer Products Safety Commission. As of now, they've never had a recall. I'm running this cleaner night and day in a room where my best friends live. A couple of them have sneezing/allergy type reactions to seasons. Sneezing has been low as of the last week.
          I have a respiratory condition and have improved breathing at night. Overall, compared to the other Hepa filters I've owned, I'm happy with this right now.Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, 3 extra charcoal filters
          Cons: plastic perhaps too light and flexible
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          This high performing toilet from our Cadet 3 line offers great value, price and performance. A Cadet 3 flushing system and PowerWash rim ensure a powerful flush and superior bowl cleaning. The EverClean surface stays cleaner, longer.
           
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Tank is sleek, materials are quality and the ring is included.
          PostedSeptember 9, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          My small master bathroom is the length of three toilets side by side, after the tub. A picture is worth at least two paragraphs in showing how the sleek appearance and white finish make the room larger.
          This is my restoration bathroom without running water, even with an installation I couldn't tell you how it flushed. I have a wall repair and some painting to do, there will be more wall visible, before I install it.
          Very pleased with the quality. As the daughter of someone who was in property management, I generally choose to install brands in this home that already have a solid reputation, saving risk with items that are not permanent.
          This will be my 2nd toilet installation alone. IRead More
          My small master bathroom is the length of three toilets side by side, after the tub. A picture is worth at least two paragraphs in showing how the sleek appearance and white finish make the room larger.
          This is my restoration bathroom without running water, even with an installation I couldn't tell you how it flushed. I have a wall repair and some painting to do, there will be more wall visible, before I install it.
          Very pleased with the quality. As the daughter of someone who was in property management, I generally choose to install brands in this home that already have a solid reputation, saving risk with items that are not permanent.
          This will be my 2nd toilet installation alone. I attended a few home depot bathroom seminars before my first installation. It passes my checklist for arriving with items needed. I photographed the page of the Installation Instructions that show what is and what is not included.
          The ring for installation is included. You can purchase rings from $3 to $10 some that guarantee to fit, this is a cheap version. Would have rated the value a five if it had included the toilet seat. My last toilet included the seat.
          Added value, no joke. My boxes were packaged with a large amount of molded foam and included a corrugated flat cardboard pad that my cats are enjoying with catnip.Read Less
          Pros: Sleek, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Durable, High Quality, v shaped tank
          Cons: comes with no toilet seat
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          With sleek, confident curves inspired by nature, the Alteo faucet collection exudes a self-assured simplicity. Designed to deliver exceptional quality at an approachable price, the Alteo collection features fluid design lines that complement a wide range of decor. Available in a variety of Kohler finishes to perfectly compliment any decor.
           
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Fun Modern sleek bird design. Polished chrome reflects the vanity top.
          PostedSeptember 8, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Out of the Box, pictured, it comes with all the major parts needed for installation. To be fair I have not completed installation as my home needs re-plumbing, no running water.
          Design...Exciting. It reminds me of a design by an American Finnish Architect. The bird beak quality of the handles, long and thin, are also practical for someone with aging hands and limited strength. It's easier to put your torso into moving them.
          Blending designs...Chrome Reflections in the set reflect the Vanity top and help integrate the existing designs. This is in a small room with too many conflicts already. The handle reflecting the
          vanity is pictured.
          Solid metal...Being a fan of industrial design, IRead More
          Out of the Box, pictured, it comes with all the major parts needed for installation. To be fair I have not completed installation as my home needs re-plumbing, no running water.
          Design...Exciting. It reminds me of a design by an American Finnish Architect. The bird beak quality of the handles, long and thin, are also practical for someone with aging hands and limited strength. It's easier to put your torso into moving them.
          Blending designs...Chrome Reflections in the set reflect the Vanity top and help integrate the existing designs. This is in a small room with too many conflicts already. The handle reflecting the
          vanity is pictured.
          Solid metal...Being a fan of industrial design, I like my metal fixtures weighty and sleek. The faucet
          piece alone weighs over one pound. it has a thick brass pipe attachment.
          The arched neck fountain is for my cats to drink from, hoping it isn't too easy for them to turn on. My first impression of this was to smile, Cat Fountain.Read Less
          Pros: Durable, Looks Great, Stylish, Modern, reflects vanity top
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 26 >>
           
          PJCC's Questions
           
          PJCC has not submitted any questions.
           
          PJCC's Answers
           
          GREAT STUFF Gaps & Cracks is a polyurethane-based insulating foam sealant that fills, air-seals, and insulates small gaps (up to 1 inch) inside or out. But you probably guessed as much from the name. What you might not have guessed is how easy it is to use (thanks to the straw applicator) or how it expands to take the shape of cracks and voids to form a durable, airtight, and water-resistant bond that eliminates unwanted airflow and helps reduce condensation.
           

          any way to remove foam from clothes?

          Asked by
          tomk
          nwi
          October 22, 2013
          got some foam on my favorite sweat shirt, soaked and washed and hung dry. any thing I can do??
          Asked by
          PJCC
          Florida
          October 4, 2014
          Answer: 
          Not in my experience, and people laugh at me for having such a large pile of working clothes I can just throw out. It hardens like a rock and by the time you finish with chemical solutions to get it off clothing the fabric will be ruined.
           
          GREAT STUFF Gaps & Cracks is a polyurethane-based insulating foam sealant that fills, air-seals, and insulates small gaps (up to 1 inch) inside or out. But you probably guessed as much from the name. What you might not have guessed is how easy it is to use (thanks to the straw applicator) or how it expands to take the shape of cracks and voids to form a durable, airtight, and water-resistant bond that eliminates unwanted airflow and helps reduce condensation.
           

          could I use this to backfill behind a fiberglass poolstep?

          Asked by
          poolguy
          CT
          September 26, 2014
          fiberglass poolstep has become squashy and cracked. if I drilled and filled behind the steps prior to repairing the fiberglass surface would the dried foam provide reasonable support?
          Asked by
          PJCC
          Florida
          October 4, 2014
          Answer: 
          I don't have actual experience with any pool. I've used this in a wet area. The Aluminum patio in our backyard had a gap in a corner big enough to allow snakes through it. We flood often during rainy season. I used this to expand in and fill the gap..
          The yard and that part of the patio flood when it is raining. After a few years, this expanding sealant is breaking down.
          I've also used it to fill gapsRead More
          I don't have actual experience with any pool. I've used this in a wet area. The Aluminum patio in our backyard had a gap in a corner big enough to allow snakes through it. We flood often during rainy season. I used this to expand in and fill the gap..
          The yard and that part of the patio flood when it is raining. After a few years, this expanding sealant is breaking down.
          I've also used it to fill gaps under cement and wood. It started to deteriorate under the wood but I
          can't see under the cement to evaluate it there.
          You should contact the mfg., but this is my experience with the product.Read Less
           
          The classic styling of the Glacier Bay Regency 30 in. Vanity Cabinet Only in White is perfect for a wide variety of bath or powder room decor. Built-to-last with medium-density fiberboard (MDF) construction in a fresh white finish, the durable and scratch resistant door and drawer fronts will retain their beauty for the life of the cabinet. The 2 deep drawers and spacious interior cabinet have plenty of storage space, while decorative accents such as raised panels, a toe kick and nickel hardware accentuate this cabinet's style. Pre-assembled for easy installation, coordinate with other white pieces from the Regency Series for a sharp and polished look you will enjoy year after year. Limited Lifetime Warranty.
           

          Is there an opening at the bottom under the arch, or is there a black piece that makes the front solid?

          Asked by
          Jane
          September 4, 2014
          Asked by
          PJCC
          Florida
          September 14, 2014
          Answer: 
          There is an opening under the arch. In the south I find that better for pest control. If you are tearing out an old cabinet that goes into the floor you may have to replace some tiles.
           
          This high performing toilet from our Cadet 3 line offers great value, price and performance. A Cadet 3 flushing system and PowerWash rim ensure a powerful flush and superior bowl cleaning. The EverClean surface stays cleaner, longer.
           

          This article says "round" bowl but display at store and boxed toilet says "elongated". Which is correct?

          Asked by
          LJTX2
          Ft. Worth, Texas
          July 22, 2014
          Cadet 3 10 in. rough in.
          Asked by
          PJCC
          Florida
          September 14, 2014
          Answer: 
          This may not be the mfg answer but it is mine, compared to my old toilet pictured this is elongated and sleek. But, the seat itself is round compared to the elongated toilet I installed in my other bathroom.
          User submitted photo
           
          This high performing toilet from our Cadet 3 line offers great value, price and performance. A Cadet 3 flushing system and PowerWash rim ensure a powerful flush and superior bowl cleaning. The EverClean surface stays cleaner, longer.
           

          Does the toilet come with a wax ring?

          Asked by
          Gail
          Milwaukee, WI
          February 17, 2014
          Asked by
          PJCC
          Florida
          September 9, 2014
          Answer: 
          This may not be the mfg answer but it is mine, compared to my old toilet pictured this is elongated and sleek. But, the seat itself is round compared to the elongated toilet I installed in my other bathroom.
          User submitted photo