PJCC
  • Review count
    108
  • Helpfulness votes
    353
  • Average rating
    4.0
    4 out of 5
  • First Review:
    March 30, 2009
  • Last Review:
    April 9, 2014
 
Ask & Answer
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      1
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        108
      • Helpfulness votes
        353
      • Average rating
        4.0
        4 out of 5
      • First Review:
        March 30, 2009
      • Last Review:
        April 9, 2014
       
      Ask & Answer
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          1
           
           
           
           
          PJCC's Reviews
           
          Imagine a system that offers the option of HD security as well as the familiarity and clarity of high resolution analog. With the new hybrid security system from Q-SEE, such a setup is now a possibility. The QT608-4F5-1 hybrid system offers connections for 720p SDI cameras as well as high resolution 960H analog cameras, all from one convenient system. This marriage of technology offers a total of 2 connections for HD cameras and six connections for analog cameras. An array of features that take advantage of each of the two technologies comes st andard with QT608 DVR.
           
          PJCC
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Targeted for a younger market, decent product with substantial features and options.
          PostedApril 9, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          This Home Depot specification page has an "Info and Guides" section with a Specifications page in PDF, download it to your Adobe Reader. It has more detail from Q-SEE than the Specifications section on the Home Depot page.
          Last year was the first year I set up a security system. I couldn't review this without a reflection on what that meant. First, I learned that there is a resistance to people, particularly women, who DIY a security camera system. In the four decades of being a camera person, both as a professional and as an amateur, I've experienced that women are always targeted for using advanced technology.
          Many people in my neighborhood have ADT. My window was shot where I had placedRead More
          This Home Depot specification page has an "Info and Guides" section with a Specifications page in PDF, download it to your Adobe Reader. It has more detail from Q-SEE than the Specifications section on the Home Depot page.
          Last year was the first year I set up a security system. I couldn't review this without a reflection on what that meant. First, I learned that there is a resistance to people, particularly women, who DIY a security camera system. In the four decades of being a camera person, both as a professional and as an amateur, I've experienced that women are always targeted for using advanced technology.
          Many people in my neighborhood have ADT. My window was shot where I had placed the warning sign for the last surveillance system. This time I put the Surveillance warning on a storm door that is in front of a metal door. The shot was taken from behind a fence, across the street. The camera was set up to protect my perimeter, mailbox and front door, which should be all I need.
          The Q-SEE package came with adequate and large video surveillance stickers in a few languages. It's required by law in some states. There is more documentation than I have time to go through right now on disc and literature. The 3 axis mounting bracket is standard and not useful unless you can move it remotely.
          I had to borrow a ladder to put cameras on the gables. It would have required a remote to move
          the camera mounting bracket or the camera angle of view to keep a thief from breaking into my neighbor's household. I believe a system of cameras that is not predictable is a better practice than a static system. That is one flaw I find in these.
          The first thing you do when you have a breech of security, unless you train for it, is panic.
          Q-SEE's 1TB Hybrid DVR allows you to upgrade to a more pricey HD Camera. It came with HDMI cable, albeit a short one. On the down side, are they kidding with the very small print on DVR Buttons in mustard yellow? The print measures less than 1/8 inch. That's hard for an older person to read by day, let alone at night after you have a security problem. The matching remote is small and black.
          I know from a previous Q-SEE Camera that they know how to design a large off white remote that's easy to use in the dark. Neither the buttons on the Remote or the DVR light up at night.
          All of these factors make it difficult for anyone whose eyes are past their prime to react quickly.
          According to the spec page the DVR can hold up to a 3 TB Sata Hard Drive, I don't know if that means you can put one in yourself. Two features I like, #1 Video Out optionsL HDMI, BNC & VGA, #2 USB Flash Drive backup. I don't need one more wire to go from the DVR to my computer to transfer data.
          I have not dealt with video conversion issues so can't comment on them, but I may come back to update this review. The Cameras are average security camera, weatherproof, 30 Leds, night vision. Many systems advertise a 100ft night vision, this is closer to 50ft.
          I want to use the system to make a short film. When I'm done with that, and only then, I will be able to evaluate how the cameras and software work.
          The technical documentation for working with a hybrid is slightly complex for a beginner. I have something small to protect and would like to add a PTZ, Pan-Tilt-Zoom, camera with a remote to watch that area, but not have it on an ethernet that can be hacked.
          3 Camera's came with 60 feet of BNC cable that looks like string licorice. My cats love this. I have to secure it high with cable protectors. 60 Feet of wire is short if your DVR is on the other side of the house from your garage front. The one RG-59 shielded cable is 100ft long.
          In small spaces a 65-70 degree 6.5mm Camera does not provide good area coverage. I presently have a Camera with a 60 degree angle of view over my driveway. It barely covers two cars, cutting off the side of one. It is mounted at the highest point on my garage. The perception of those cameras to the average person is that they see more than they do. That's always useful.
          You have to look at every angle of your own unique situation to see how to utilize this system.Read Less
          Pros: Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation, hd camera's can be upgraded, usb port for removable drive, hdmi
          Cons: Complicated, dvr control small & does not light, dvr button id is too small & not viewable in yello, bnc cable short at 60ft, wires
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Fill your space with serene simplicity by using BEHR MARQUEE #MQ3-13 Crisp Linen Eggshell Enamel Interior Paint. The LIGHTS lifestyle collection is an airy color palette comprised of soothing pastels touched with subtle hints of color. These light hues create a comfortable feeling in larger common areas like open kitchens and living room/dining room combinations. BEHR MARQUEE Stain-Blocking Matte Interior Paint and Primer is our most advanced interior paint - delivering high-performance one-coat coverage with every color in the Exclusive MARQUEE Interior One-Coat Color Collection. One-coat coverage means achieving the look you want in less time. With superior stain resistance, plus an easy-clean, durable finish, your new look will stay looking fresh and beautiful year after year - backed by a lifetime guarantee.
           
          PJCC
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          High Quality, Smooth Application, Rich Color - Like Irish Linen. Pricey
          PostedApril 6, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          The most convincing review for paint is a before and after view of the project. I've attached a
          video.
          High quality paint is generally the easiest to work with. That was true in this instance. It provided good coverage over an ugly, dented, chipped metal door.
          It Dried quickly and is a neutral smooth beige, not too cool or warm.
          Pricey for sure!
          Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
          Cons: slightly runny
          Video Review:
          (click to see the video)
          User submitted video
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Olympia Tools is a widely recognized brand of hardware products designed for true professionals who takes their tools seriously. Each piece is made to exacting tolerances and tested to ensure that it meets and exceeds industry standards so that it meet your needs on the jobsite, shop or on home projects. The Pack-n-Roll Express Telescoping Hand Truck makes moving heavy objects an effortless activity. Its smooth roll, ergonomic grip and light weight makes it easy to use and it's telescoping handle and folding wheels make easily stored.
           
          PJCC
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          36" High Closed, One handed open & shut makes this a traveler's companion!
          PostedFebruary 28, 2014
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          One hand open and shut probably does not mean much to some people, to me it means freedom. I don't have help moving plants, traveling to a vet with my cats, or moving books and storage boxes.
          Doorways, getting in and out of the car all require taking down a Dolly and putting it back up. This design allows you to move items with one hand while folding in seconds.
          The telescoping handle can easily be elevated to make a dolly height of 42" and compressed back to 36" while pressing the red button, even with one arthritic hand. One foot opens it and pressing it on a wall or against the ground closes it.
          The bottom lift measures 15 1/4" x 10 3/4", slightly small. It appears a very light weightRead More
          One hand open and shut probably does not mean much to some people, to me it means freedom. I don't have help moving plants, traveling to a vet with my cats, or moving books and storage boxes.
          Doorways, getting in and out of the car all require taking down a Dolly and putting it back up. This design allows you to move items with one hand while folding in seconds.
          The telescoping handle can easily be elevated to make a dolly height of 42" and compressed back to 36" while pressing the red button, even with one arthritic hand. One foot opens it and pressing it on a wall or against the ground closes it.
          The bottom lift measures 15 1/4" x 10 3/4", slightly small. It appears a very light weight metal.
          Costs about the average price of a luggage dolly, but appears sturdier. A depth of 3" maximum.
          Someone else might want to test the limits of weight. I like mine too much to break it. Recommended for what it is, a lightweight, one handed dolly.Read Less
          Pros: Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, one hand open & shut
          Cons: limited weight
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          Video Review:
          (click to see the video)
          User submitted video
          +2points
          2out of 2found this review helpful.
           
          This Razor-Back digging shovel used for all construction, lawn and garden work. It is the highest quality garden tool. It is ideal for a variety of uses, such as digging, planting, cutting sod and small roots.
           
          PJCC
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Tough shovel, soft handle. Footstep provides leverage for digging roots & deep ditches.
          PostedFebruary 28, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          The figerglass handle and leverage providing step enable me to dig with less stress on my back. Root removal is a tedious task.
          Last year I broke 2-3 wood handled digging shovels trying to dig around Bottlebrush roots.
          Simply a better invention than the wooden shovel. The leverage step is on both sides. It measures from 1 inch on the outer edge to 2 inches closer to the shovel for solid footing.
          The top foam 9" handle is a hard nonporous red foam. You can compare the texture against the tree in the photo. It's not soft, shouldn't rip or tear.
          Just a shovel, If the job is tough you still need the muscle to do the job, laugh.
          Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, leverage step
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          Video Review:
          (click to see the video)
          User submitted video
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Alsa’s 12 oz. Base Pearls all purpose custom paint comes in a specially formulated spray can that delivers a fine, even spray. Our Killer cans have a high output with excellent atomization that eliminates pressure drop during application. Base Pearls use a pearlescent pigment that produces an iridescent luster effect resembling mother-of-pearl. The colors are deep, vibrant, and bright. For the best results, we recommend using Alsa's Pure White as a base coat, part number KC-ASB-14, under our Base Pearls. Alsa Base Pearls should be top coated with our high quality MirraClear, part number KC-MCLR for durability, and a deep, water-wet gloss look.
           
          PJCC
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Artist's or Designer's Eye Paint, Expensive but Exquisite Finish, Smooth Application
          PostedFebruary 17, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5.0
          3 out of 5
          This was my 2nd time experimenting with an Alsa Product. I used a second Alsa Paint to detail the Metal Mailbox. The results were exquisite and unique.
          Pearl White as a can of spray paint goes on smoothly and evenly. I refinish many things and use a variety of paints, the application is very even compared to most spray paints.
          To save money I used a plain white metal base coat over the formerly green metal box. I painted the top of the box first. The mailbox pictured with Pearl White on top against the plain base coat on the mailbox bottom.
          Pearl White is a plain white paint, but it does change shades, like a pearl, in various times of the day. To bring drama to a subtle appearance, IRead More
          This was my 2nd time experimenting with an Alsa Product. I used a second Alsa Paint to detail the Metal Mailbox. The results were exquisite and unique.
          Pearl White as a can of spray paint goes on smoothly and evenly. I refinish many things and use a variety of paints, the application is very even compared to most spray paints.
          To save money I used a plain white metal base coat over the formerly green metal box. I painted the top of the box first. The mailbox pictured with Pearl White on top against the plain base coat on the mailbox bottom.
          Pearl White is a plain white paint, but it does change shades, like a pearl, in various times of the day. To bring drama to a subtle appearance, I detailed the box with Alsa Killer Chrome: Crown on the box, the Horn, Dog, Horse and other relief.
          This was finished as recommended by Alsa with Alsa's Clear Mirra top coat. The shiny top coat brought back the color in the metal Red flag. It popped bright red, before the top coat it was faded red.
          Three coats of Pearl went on evenly with a light spray. I could use another can to make matching stones for the bottom of the Mailbox!
          A warning, the smell of this paint is toxic. I have some respiratory problems I would never use it anywhere but outside. Plan in advance for wind. You do not want this in your face.
          This is a product that is best reviewed with visual images, six pictures.Read Less
          Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly, spectacular finish
          Cons: Difficult to Clean, toxic smell
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 22 >>
           
          PJCC's Questions
           
          PJCC has not submitted any questions.
           
          PJCC's Answers
           
          Gain unmatched situational awareness with the QD6505P. With programmable cruise patterns, this versatile camera has your property covered at every angle. It delivers high-quality images at 650 TV Lines of resolution in daylight and low-light situations as low as 0 lux, while also incorporating automatic focus. It's full 360° horizontal scan movement and its 75° tilt movement makes sure you capture the essential details. Easily control the camera using the buttons on the front panel of your DVR, through the on-screen control interface or with an included remote control. The included wall-mounting brackets provides added flexibility in positioning the camera to achieve the best viewing angle - from on a horizontal, vertical or overhead surface.
           

          Does this camera come with all the wires and hard ware needed to install it?

          Asked by
          Elrey2424
          August 16, 2013
          February 11, 2014
          Answer: 
          If you are installing this camera in a pre-existing security system with a DVR my answer is yes. It comes with 100 ft of electrical wire to connect it and a remote box that should connect to a standard
          DVR with your security system.