PJCC
  • Review count
    160
  • Helpfulness votes
    523
  • Average rating
    4.1
    4.1 out of 5
  • First Review:
    March 30, 2009
  • Last Review:
    April 20, 2015
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      14
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        160
      • Helpfulness votes
        523
      • Average rating
        4.1
        4.1 out of 5
      • First Review:
        March 30, 2009
      • Last Review:
        April 20, 2015
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          14
           
           
           
           
          PJCC's Reviews
           
          Save money while cooling off by using the NewAir AF-310 evaporative tower cooling fan instead of a typical air conditioner. This tall and sleek AF-310 tower fan is designed with a triple feature usage. The high-rise NewAir AF-310 can also be used as a swamp cooler, humidifier, and air purifier all in one. Alongside the numerous features that are accustomed with this multi-functional cooling unit, this NewAir fan also provides a 60-degree oscillation benefit to improve air circulation for a wider area. The AF-310 electric tower fan includes a purposeful remote control and an electric timer for your convenience.
           
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Tower Fan is very effective, Swamp cooler limited benefits in humid south.
          PostedApril 20, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Although the intensity of menopause makes any tower fan effective, this is more powerful and has more options than my previous tower fan.
          I made a video so you can hear the sound of the 3 fan options. #1 Natural turns off and on as the blades swing. You can hear the natural sound of the birds chirping to put it in perspective in the short video. Sleep is only slightly less noisy than fan. I will probably never use it because the fan is stronger and cooler.
          A swamp or evaporative cooler does not work effectively in hot, humid climates. On the up side it uses less electric than an air conditioner.
          A plethora of information online tells me I calculate the square foot of a room and divide it Read More
          Although the intensity of menopause makes any tower fan effective, this is more powerful and has more options than my previous tower fan.
          I made a video so you can hear the sound of the 3 fan options. #1 Natural turns off and on as the blades swing. You can hear the natural sound of the birds chirping to put it in perspective in the short video. Sleep is only slightly less noisy than fan. I will probably never use it because the fan is stronger and cooler.
          A swamp or evaporative cooler does not work effectively in hot, humid climates. On the up side it uses less electric than an air conditioner.
          A plethora of information online tells me I calculate the square foot of a room and divide it by 2 to find the CFM I need. 320 cfm, covers a small room. I could use a slightly larger one.
          The evaporative cooler comes with a freezer pack. It goes in the freezer, then in the water cooler on the tower. The ice pack in the water does help cool. There are several good articles by consumer reports on evaporative coolers across the internet. They are worth reading.
          Also, I researched NewAir coolers at the government recall center, no problems so far.
          I find maintenance high. it has to be cleaned every couple of months to prevent mold and mildew on the cloth that is used to recycle the air. Evaporative coolers don't recycle the same air over and over
          again, like an air conditioner. That's nice in a home where you want to keep windows open.
          Read the information on how it will work in your climate before you buy and calculate the CFM you need, then look at your budget.
          This is actually working better in a small room than the specs say it should! One summer I sat with
          a bowl of ice and a fan, big improvement from homemade cooling.
          Read Less
          Pros: Lots of Features, Stylish, Nice Design, strong fan
          Cons: requires cleaning to prevent mold or mildew, swamp coolers don't cool well in humid south, remote is small
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          Video Review:
          (click to see the video)
          User submitted video
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          GFCI protection is vital to ensure electrical safety in both residential and commercial settings. A power interruption due to a ground fault provides important protection to people but can shut down freezers, sump pumps and other necessary equipment if left undetected. Often, however, GFCIs in garages, basements or large commercial kitchens may be located in an out-of-the-way place such as a back corner or storage area making daily visual checks for tripping unlikely. The new SmartlockPro Slim GFCI with audible alert is the smart solution.
           
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Blinking Light & Sound Alarm in a Dark Garage, Excellent Dude!
          PostedApril 15, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Electric, I have a hard time doing it myself. On the first try, I tested it. It didn't work. I learned
          that hooking it up like the first one was not the correct way to install this GFCI.
          I rechecked the Load and Line, my new GFCI was different on the previous one.
          Happy about the lights and sound! My camera is not the best but the sound is accurate.
          The light is in the lower right. I made this before the clean up in my dark dirty garage.
          i've gone for days in this house not knowing the main GFCI was tripped. It's in a dark corner in the garage. Lights and sound, can't say enough.
          This solved my GFCI problems in 2 rooms. The one I replaced it with was still a working
          GFCI. Just for laughs
          Read More
          Electric, I have a hard time doing it myself. On the first try, I tested it. It didn't work. I learned
          that hooking it up like the first one was not the correct way to install this GFCI.
          I rechecked the Load and Line, my new GFCI was different on the previous one.
          Happy about the lights and sound! My camera is not the best but the sound is accurate.
          The light is in the lower right. I made this before the clean up in my dark dirty garage.
          i've gone for days in this house not knowing the main GFCI was tripped. It's in a dark corner in the garage. Lights and sound, can't say enough.
          This solved my GFCI problems in 2 rooms. The one I replaced it with was still a working
          GFCI. Just for laughs I tried the old one in the kitchen. The new/old GFCI is working now in
          the kitchen, the other one I just put in must have been faulty. I thought it was an electrical
          problem, very happy I could fix it myself.
          If you don't get it right the first time keep trying. Read Less
          Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation, sound is not disturbing, light in a dark garage
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          Video Review:
          (click to see the video)
          User submitted video
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Loctite 2-in-1 Seal and Bond All-Purpose Sealant is a premium grade water-based caulk designed to have the strength of an adhesive and the sealing characteristics of a caulk. Since it is latex based, this adhesive caulk is easy to apply and tool. It has very low odor, so it is perfect for indoor projects. Loctite 2-in-1 Seal and Bond All-Purpose Sealant is environmentally safe as well as soap and water cleanup. Cured product is weather-resistant, mold and mildew resistant, as well as paintable. This sealant was designed to be a multiple use adhesive and caulk. It can be used for almost any household or remodeling project. It is excellent for gluing loose molding or tiles, securing backsplashes, setting sinks and even repairing or concealing small cracks in plaster, drywall or around molding and baseboards. Loctite 2-in-1 Seal and Bond All-Purpose Sealant can even help to lower energy costs by sealing air leaks around windows and doors as well as other utility and plumbing penetrations.
           
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Applied quickly, easy to control application. Case is convenient, but cost more than 12 individual pieces
          PostedMarch 29, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          2.0 out of 5
          2.0 out of 5
          Application was easy for me and consistent, which says something about the viscosity. but even after reading caulk viscosity 101 I couldn't explain it other than to say it was easy to control and apply.
          It's a medium strength adhesive, I used it to fill cracks. All purpose is good, but in the high Florida humidity only mildew and mold "resistant" isn't.
          Dries quickly, a nice white. I used the Loctite website to find the Technical data sheet. That sheet shows you how to read the 5 number expiration code. The shelf life of the White Sealant is 18 months. The code on the cartridge is stamped on the bottom edge. My number was 15061. The first two numbers being the year, and the next three Read More
          Application was easy for me and consistent, which says something about the viscosity. but even after reading caulk viscosity 101 I couldn't explain it other than to say it was easy to control and apply.
          It's a medium strength adhesive, I used it to fill cracks. All purpose is good, but in the high Florida humidity only mildew and mold "resistant" isn't.
          Dries quickly, a nice white. I used the Loctite website to find the Technical data sheet. That sheet shows you how to read the 5 number expiration code. The shelf life of the White Sealant is 18 months. The code on the cartridge is stamped on the bottom edge. My number was 15061. The first two numbers being the year, and the next three numbers being the day it was made out of 365 days. 18 months from that date is the expiration date.
          I checked the Data Safety Sheet. A .pdf can be found at the Loctite website, some of that is disturbing. If abrasive it can release toxins, it should not be allowed to be released into the sewers and other warnings. I gather many water resistant chemical substances have the same warning, I would read it before applying.
          I would recommend it - for what it is a window sealant, with precautions. After reading the safety data, I would keep it away from areas your pets or young kids might be prone to scratch. It's not going on the window my cats sit in all day.
          You can ship free to home from the website, but that fails to explain why the cost of 12 individual cartridges is less than the cost of this one case. The case is convenient, other than that it's a box.
          Although this sounds harsh, I've applied cartridges of caulk to all the windows of the house, a few
          years back, and the caulk is black in every window now. I will have to deal with that before applying this to those areas. Longevity is something I have to see demonstrated for myself.
          Read Less
          Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, excellent pdf data info at mfg
          Cons: some chemical warnings, case cost more than 12 individual pieces
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          Carbide blade lasts 30 times longer versus a conventional bi-metal option in metal. Blade is tapered for even more vibration control and more efficient debris removal. Blade’s 1-3/4 in. width helps user speed through long cuts. Made for Plunge cutting hard screws, bolts, nails and other metals.
           
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Excellent Cut, but most dangerous blade I've ever used as a DIYer.
          PostedMarch 26, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          I received a Bosch branded Blade, pictured. It attached easily to my multitool and the package says it fits all multifools. Use safety glasses, clean up metal shavings to prevent injury to anything small, animals or human.
          This was ordered because I had an emergency safety situation that I had to take care of myself. My water main was buried under the roots of an Oak Tree, the cover no longer fits, a child had fallen into it. It is known to me that my entire neighborhood has complained about mutiple water safety issues and the county I live in ignores them. I had to figure out how to cut metal to raise the face plate safely slightly above the box.
          Two pieces of metal had to be cut. The Read More
          I received a Bosch branded Blade, pictured. It attached easily to my multitool and the package says it fits all multifools. Use safety glasses, clean up metal shavings to prevent injury to anything small, animals or human.
          This was ordered because I had an emergency safety situation that I had to take care of myself. My water main was buried under the roots of an Oak Tree, the cover no longer fits, a child had fallen into it. It is known to me that my entire neighborhood has complained about mutiple water safety issues and the county I live in ignores them. I had to figure out how to cut metal to raise the face plate safely slightly above the box.
          Two pieces of metal had to be cut. The aluminum was easy to cut, I did not just use it to plunge through the metal but I used it to cut a frame to go around the water lit. I then used a heavier sheet of metal that will sit on top of the box so a window had to be cut in that metal to keep it open to view the meter. I used very thin sheet metal.
          When making the cut the blade would fall through the metal and not pull out again. The top of the blade has a ridge. The ridge and tapered blade provided resistance to it being pulled back out of the metal. The vibrating metal made it hard to turn the multitool off at the same time I was cutting, hence dangerous.
          The precautions on the package were limited to general safety. I found the blade hard to control once it went through the heavier metal.
          I've cut metal to redo computers and also as a metal scrapper. Metal art is also something I do for art projects, I like both the compact size and easy cut. I would not recommend using this for any projects until you find an online tutorial dealing with safety issues. Read Less
          Pros: Durable, All In One, Accurate, Strong, Light Weight
          Cons: Difficult to Use, no safety references on the package to learn more
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          -1point
          0out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          Walk with confidence with this contemporary-looking EZ Fold-N-Go Walker, the most compact, portable, easiest open-and-close walker invented. When folded, the Fold-N-Go Walker is about four times smaller than the average walker. It fits in small spaces, like an airplane overhead bin or a tiny car trunk. The unique design allows it to open and fold up effortlessly-to fold, just raise the easy-release lever with 1 hand and the walker collapses. To open, slide the handles apart. The EZ Fold-N-Go Walker is lightweight but sturdy and strong, supporting up to 400 lbs. The innovative height adjustment feature is outstanding, too. It adjusts to accommodate users from 4 ft. 10 in. to 6 ft. 8 in., again with ultimate ease. You’ll also appreciate the 6 in. swivel wheels and rear easy-glide feet, all contributing to ease of maneuverability. The EZ Fold-N-Go Walker comes in 3 stylish colors: Black Walnut, Cobalt Blue or Regal Rose. Weighs 8 lbs.
           
          from Florida
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Received free product:Yes
          Moves easily, As a younger person with temporary disabilities I find this a needful thing!
          PostedMarch 26, 2015
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Value 
          4.0 out of 5
          4.0 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          Attractive design that is highly mobile. My two older walkers are now stands for a cat window perch.
          This opens, closes and adjusts with no locks quickly. Unfortunately, that can be a problem in two places on this walker. I'm young, I only need this for temporary disability that accompanies heavy physical lifting and moving with a back injury and RA. I am moving and lifting more than the young men in my neighborhood, and more than I ever did in my 20's because at my home I have to, I am strong but in pain.
          If your knee is under the ez walker's back folding bar and you lift it up, it will start to fold down. That bar has no lock or safety lever. I found at least one other review with Read More
          Attractive design that is highly mobile. My two older walkers are now stands for a cat window perch.
          This opens, closes and adjusts with no locks quickly. Unfortunately, that can be a problem in two places on this walker. I'm young, I only need this for temporary disability that accompanies heavy physical lifting and moving with a back injury and RA. I am moving and lifting more than the young men in my neighborhood, and more than I ever did in my 20's because at my home I have to, I am strong but in pain.
          If your knee is under the ez walker's back folding bar and you lift it up, it will start to fold down. That bar has no lock or safety lever. I found at least one other review with someone who thought that feature was a problem. I only see it as a problem as I get older and might need to move forward to
          lean on the walker more. Two, the 360 degree moving front wheels provide easy mobility but also could be dangerous if you wanted to stand and lean . The company offers an upgrade to a non mobile set of wheels.
          Sliders glide nicely to enable you to move quickly and smoothly, but they scuff and look like they wear out. The item number for replacement comes in a flyer on the walker. You can use that to match it to the online accessory. I compare the sliders to the bottoms of some luggage I have, if you are actually
          dragging them around over rough terrain or concrete they will need replacement. This isn't a design flaw, it just looks like using a plastic that slides also means it scuffs and wears.
          The adjustment of the handles up and down, is versatile enough for this walker to be used as a standing aid from a sitting position or bedside, as well as for walking.
          I would caution against someone very elderly using this to take walks if they need to lean into it. Read Less
          Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, front wheels move 360 degrees
          Cons: Difficult to Use, no locks on wheels or back bar, sliders will wear easily
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          0points
          0out of 0found this review helpful.
           
          1 2 3 4 5  ... 32 >>
           
          PJCC's Questions
           
          PJCC has not submitted any questions.
           
          PJCC's Answers
           
          The M18 Multi-Tool is one of the most versatile jobsite tools. This 18-Volt cordless oscillating tool is ideal for remodelers, flooring contractors, maintenance repair technicians, and electricians that tackle awkward applications on jobsites. The M18 Multi-Tool runs 11,000 to 18,000 OPM with Constant Power Technology to maintain speed under load. This tool includes Tool-free blade change and a universal adapter to be compatible with most competitive accessories on the market today. Milwaukee Durability with under the hood all metal gearbox, battery isolation, and REDLINK Intelligence.
           

          How many batteries come in kit....two shown in picture???

          Asked by
          dddd
          fl
          April 7, 2015
          Asked by
          PJCC
          Florida
          April 8, 2015
          Answer: 
          Yes, it comes with two batteries. Good question, the Home Depot description is not as specific as the page at Milwaukee Tool. That site has a what's included page with a bullet description showing two batteries. Fastly becoming my favorite tool.
           
          The clean, attractive white finish on this 30 in. vanity will add some luster to your bathroom and provide ample storage options for toiletries and essentials. Two deep right-side drawers fully extend on smooth ball-bearing glides, with an extra wooden compartment in the top drawer to keep smaller, frequently-used items within easy reach. Abundant space lies beyond the cabinet door, while six-way adjustable concealed hinges enable precise alignment. The elegant raised panels, nickel hardware and classic styling make this vanity an ideal match for any bathroom decor. Select a fresh white accent piece from the Glacier Bay Regency collection to complement your powder room makeover.
           

          What size is the door pull? What's the spread between predrilled holes for the door pull?

          Asked by
          Matt
          November 14, 2014
          Asked by
          PJCC
          Florida
          February 27, 2015
          Answer: 
          3" spread for the door pull. The length is about 5 1/4 inches.
           
          The clean, attractive white finish on this 30 in. vanity will add some luster to your bathroom and provide ample storage options for toiletries and essentials. Two deep right-side drawers fully extend on smooth ball-bearing glides, with an extra wooden compartment in the top drawer to keep smaller, frequently-used items within easy reach. Abundant space lies beyond the cabinet door, while six-way adjustable concealed hinges enable precise alignment. The elegant raised panels, nickel hardware and classic styling make this vanity an ideal match for any bathroom decor. Select a fresh white accent piece from the Glacier Bay Regency collection to complement your powder room makeover.
           

          How tall is this without a top?

          Asked by
          sfn26
          Hampton Virginia
          February 27, 2015
          Asked by
          PJCC
          Florida
          February 27, 2015
          Answer: 
          34 1/2 inches
           
          The Everbilt 1/3 HP submersible automatic utility pump is ideal for removing unwanted water from the window wells, or other shallow flooded areas. The probe sensors detect water present and automatically turn on the pump when the water level is up to 1-1/4 in. or above. It draws the water down to 1/4 in. and automatically turns pump off. The maximum pumping capacity is up to 1920 GPH (gallons per hour) at 0 ft. lift.
           

          pump shutsb douwn for long times an only comes on in shorts bursts when water is 8 inch levels

          Asked by
          anthony
          new rochelle new york
          December 11, 2014
          pump shuts for long periods an only turns on in short bursts even under water 1/3 hp utiklity
          Asked by
          PJCC
          Florida
          December 18, 2014
          Answer: 
          Not an answer as much as a comment, it sounds defective. Mine is being used as a main source of
          water in a water barrel. When I turn it on to clean or shower it stays on with no problem, although the
          pressure has waned, it is still pumping constantly. Call the company.
           
          GREAT STUFF Gaps and Cracks is a polyurethane-based insulating foam sealant that fills, air-seals, and insulates small gaps (up to 1 in.) inside or out. But you probably guessed as much from the name. What you might not have guessed is how easy it is to use (thanks to the straw applicator) or how it expands to take the shape of cracks and voids to form a durable, airtight, and water-resistant bond that eliminates unwanted airflow and helps reduce condensation.
           

          Great Stuff - Gaps & Cracks Insulating Foam Sealant - health problems

          Asked by
          Nisa
          Colorado
          December 16, 2014
          Has anyone developed any lung damage or medical problems from using this product?
          Asked by
          PJCC
          Florida
          December 18, 2014
          Answer: 
          Questions like that would be answered better by searching the NIOSH, National Institute of Health's Website, searching Google Scholar for the product brand name for lawsuits, or searching the FDC for
          recalls on that product or ingredients in the product.
          The State of California has much stricter laws than other states, directing a question to online forums in that state might help. Sometimes Public Read More
          Questions like that would be answered better by searching the NIOSH, National Institute of Health's Website, searching Google Scholar for the product brand name for lawsuits, or searching the FDC for
          recalls on that product or ingredients in the product.
          The State of California has much stricter laws than other states, directing a question to online forums in that state might help. Sometimes Public Citizen is also involved in research in some issues like this but I would start with the government agencies.
          I don't know any lawsuit that would stand up in court that said casual use of a product would cause cancer, check the ingredients and warnings. Good question. Read Less