ArJohn
  • Review count
    1
  • Helpfulness votes
    1
  • Average rating
    5.0
    5 out of 5
  • First Review:
    February 12, 2014
  • Last Review:
    February 12, 2014
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      4
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        1
      • Helpfulness votes
        1
      • Average rating
        5.0
        5 out of 5
      • First Review:
        February 12, 2014
      • Last Review:
        February 12, 2014
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          4
           
           
           
           
          ArJohn's Reviews
           
          Stop the slam with this soft close adapter that quietly and smoothly closes cabinet doors. It can be adjusted by the turn of a screw to the desired closing speed and is the perfect retrofit solution. This damper is easy to mount in the upper corner of your cabinet.
           
          from Tinley Park, IL
          Age Range:55 to 64
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          I am a believer!
          PostedFebruary 12, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          I was SO skeptical, how could a 3-4 dollar item stop the banging!? At teh store there was no way to buy 1-2 only the 10 pack. I wanted to try it though and after seeing them and appreciating what looked like a quality product, I spent the $$..... Now I need MORE!! Yes they work -- larger door MAY require two, but try one as one worked fine for many of my cabinets.
          Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          ArJohn's Questions
           
          ArJohn has not submitted any questions.
           
          ArJohn's Answers
           
          Stop the slam with this soft close adapter that quietly and smoothly closes cabinet doors. It can be adjusted by the turn of a screw to the desired closing speed and is the perfect retrofit solution. This damper is easy to mount in the upper corner of your cabinet.
           

          Are screws included? If not, what screw will I need?

          Asked by
          Tdiy
          Columbus ohio
          April 3, 2014
          Asked by
          ArJohn
          Tinley Park, IL
          April 3, 2014
          Answer: 
          Yes screws are included. Simple, quick instructions too. You are looking at 2 minutes per cabinet for install
           
          Stop the slam with this soft close adapter that quietly and smoothly closes cabinet doors. It can be adjusted by the turn of a screw to the desired closing speed and is the perfect retrofit solution. This damper is easy to mount in the upper corner of your cabinet.
           

          adjusting damper

          Asked by
          Gtrojan
          July 13, 2013
          Hi, when I adjust the damper looser the door hits the frame when slammed making a loud noise. However, when I tighten the screw the door never shuts all the way. Is there a solution? Thanks.
          Asked by
          ArJohn
          Tinley Park, IL
          February 12, 2014
          Answer: 
          If you have tried partial adjustments, slightly off the All The Way setting that stops the door, but let's it still slam -- the next step is to add a second. One at Top and One at Bottom has worked great for me!
           
          Stop the slam with this soft close adapter that quietly and smoothly closes cabinet doors. It can be adjusted by the turn of a screw to the desired closing speed and is the perfect retrofit solution. This damper is easy to mount in the upper corner of your cabinet.
           

          What's in the damper? What kind of lubricant?

          Asked by
          Melissa
          La
          August 11, 2013
          My damper no longer works when compared to one that works noticed a lubricant
          Asked by
          ArJohn
          Tinley Park, IL
          February 12, 2014
          Answer: 
          Without being able to see inside I cant be sure - but by operation it appears to be an air/oil cylinder and operates similar to the Screen door closer on many houses -- You can check more with the Manufacturer, BLUMOTION
           
          Stop the slam with this soft close adapter that quietly and smoothly closes cabinet doors. It can be adjusted by the turn of a screw to the desired closing speed and is the perfect retrofit solution. This damper is easy to mount in the upper corner of your cabinet.
           

          What if the little plastic (black in mine) piece in the original hinge has broken; will it still work?

          Asked by
          NannyBanana
          Novato, CA
          November 11, 2013
          My cabinets have a small black insert that I assume is to help them close. My problem is that almost all of these small pieces of plastic have broken/snapped, and I would like to know if these dampers are meant to help the doors spring back also, or do they need to have that original spring in order to work?
          Asked by
          ArJohn
          Tinley Park, IL
          February 12, 2014
          Answer: 
          This is a bit beyond my experience as I have them and none have broken. My guess is their effectivness could be affected. This is a question that you might bring to the Manufacturer