Major7
  • Review count
    5
  • Helpfulness votes
    9
  • Average rating
    4.6
    4.6 out of 5
  • First Review:
    November 23, 2014
  • Last Review:
    January 2, 2016
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    • Answer count
      8
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        5
      • Helpfulness votes
        9
      • Average rating
        4.6
        4.6 out of 5
      • First Review:
        November 23, 2014
      • Last Review:
        January 2, 2016
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        • Answer count
          8
           
           
           
           
          Major7's Reviews
           
          The smarter Wi-Fi thermostat with room sensors that is designed for homes with more than one room. Ordinary thermostats read the temperature in only one room, but are supposed to deliver comfort in all rooms. The ecobee remote sensors deliver the right temperature in the rooms that matter most. This ecobee comes with one free remote sensor and you can add up to 32.
           
          from Detroit, MI
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          6 Stars out of 5 after I fixed a problem
          PostedJanuary 2, 2016
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I tried a couple wifi thermostats and I know many people with the Nest. The problem with the Nest it has only one eye. If it's cold upstairs, too bad. This thermostat adjusts for temperature across my 3 story home. I ended up buying two more temperature sensors, but honestly that was more for fun. It was working just fine before.
          I know this is so overused, but this stat is a game changer.
          The reason this worked for me is that it lets you select what temperature probes the system uses to run the heat. So during the day when everyone is around and about, I average the sensors. When sleeping, I use only the upstairs sensors, and when away just the main floor sensor in the main thermostat. Read More
          I tried a couple wifi thermostats and I know many people with the Nest. The problem with the Nest it has only one eye. If it's cold upstairs, too bad. This thermostat adjusts for temperature across my 3 story home. I ended up buying two more temperature sensors, but honestly that was more for fun. It was working just fine before.
          I know this is so overused, but this stat is a game changer.
          The reason this worked for me is that it lets you select what temperature probes the system uses to run the heat. So during the day when everyone is around and about, I average the sensors. When sleeping, I use only the upstairs sensors, and when away just the main floor sensor in the main thermostat. This has allowed me to sleep more comfortably, because my bedroom stays just about dead nuts to the temperature I set the system for.
          There is one kind of odd issue to report on, however. The sensor detects occupancy, and it wasn't working. This was true for the main unit I bought from HD and for the two additional sensors I bought through Amazon. The remote sensors had the top snapped on in the wrong position, so the fresnel lens was not situated over the PIR sensor. I managed to pry it apart with my fingernails,, rotate it and now I'm off to the races. In many other industries, this would trigger the "R" word. Anyway, it's an easy fix. I guess Ecobee has never heard of mistake proofing in manufacturing.
          The app for this is amazing, and it tells you everything and more about the system. You can download the data to Excel if you really want to geek out. Read Less
          Pros: Nice Design, Easy Installation, Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Motion-Activated, Very Bright
          +2points
          2out of 2found this review helpful.
           
          Convenient control of your home's thermostat is now literally at your fingertips. Easily view or control your thermostat from anywhere with Honeywell's RTH8580WF Wi-Fi Thermostat. Be alerted of temperature swings or make temperature adjustments remotely. You can trust Honeywell's reliable secure network and enjoy maximum comfort by the #1 choice of homeowners and contractors.
           
          Mailing it In
          PostedDecember 30, 2015
          Overall rating 
          3.0 out of 5
          3.0 out of 5
          No, I do not recommend this product.
          Decent stat, but some issues.
          App won't even tell you if system is on or off. Rly?
          No programmable hysteresis. The cheap mechanical Honeywell circa 1970 I replaced with with had a so called "heat anticipator". My old Honeywell was smarter than this one.
          Returned for an Ecobee. Lots more bank, but a great product.
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          Loctite PL S40 Polyurethane Window, Door and Siding Sealant is a premium quality commercial grade sealant developed especially for forming permanent, water and weather resistant seals in most exterior gaps and joints. This sealant exhibits outstanding durability, tear resistance and a movement capability of ± 25% which accommodates construction material movement to protect the original seal. Loctite PL S40 Polyurethane Window, Door and Siding Sealant is UV and ozone resistant, and does not soften in the sun. It is also CARB (California Air Resources Board) compliant.
           
          from Detroit, MI
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          This stuff wears like iron
          PostedAugust 17, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          First, the cons.
          1. This stuff is extremely hard to work with. It forms and feels like glue. Silicone is easy to work with a wet rag or even a damp finger. Not with this stuff. It will stay sticky on your hands for days.
          2. Seven day cure time. 7 days!!!
          Now, the pros.
          1. This stuff lasts and lasts. I've been a homeowner since the early 90's. I've tried silicone and latex calks. They are pure garbage. Even with the right prep, they just can't handle the wear and tear of being outside. PL S40 wears like iron. I don't know the life expectancy, but it's greater than 8 years and I would estimate closer to 12. I've never seen it fail, or even think of failing. Amazing stuff!!
          I just finished Read More
          First, the cons.
          1. This stuff is extremely hard to work with. It forms and feels like glue. Silicone is easy to work with a wet rag or even a damp finger. Not with this stuff. It will stay sticky on your hands for days.
          2. Seven day cure time. 7 days!!!
          Now, the pros.
          1. This stuff lasts and lasts. I've been a homeowner since the early 90's. I've tried silicone and latex calks. They are pure garbage. Even with the right prep, they just can't handle the wear and tear of being outside. PL S40 wears like iron. I don't know the life expectancy, but it's greater than 8 years and I would estimate closer to 12. I've never seen it fail, or even think of failing. Amazing stuff!!
          I just finished a restoration of an 85 year old wood garage door. 40 panels later, and I'm fully confident that door will good for the next 10-15 years based on my prior experience with this product.
          Do it once. Do it right. Use Loctite PL. Read Less
          Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Good Protection
          Cons: Difficult to Clean, long cure time
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
          +2points
          2out of 2found this review helpful.
           
          The Ryobi Corner Cat Sander features a distinctive shape that makes it ideal as both a pad and corner sander. This versatile tool is built around a powerful 1.2 Amp motor that delivers up to 12,500 OPM for quick and efficient sanding. The on/off switch is protected from dust, which is collected in a bag for less obstruction and easier cleanup. A variety of useful pads is included, as well as a carrying case for easy storage and portability.
           
          Best Purchase Ever! No, not really.. But a GREAT sander.
          PostedJuly 27, 2015
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          I wasn't sure what to expect from this sander. I have a Porter Cable random orbit sander and needed something that would get into corners. I've had other triangle sanders as well, but none with the extension out back.
          Firstly, I have to say that this format blows away the standard triangle sander format. You get your point for the corners, and the back and side surface allow a lot more coverage, and by extension pad life. Because the front pad edges go from the point all the way to the back, I found I could easily sand trim details by rotating it slightly without the sander jumping out of the groove. The regular triangle has much shorter edges, and they wear away much quicker.
          Vibration Read More
          I wasn't sure what to expect from this sander. I have a Porter Cable random orbit sander and needed something that would get into corners. I've had other triangle sanders as well, but none with the extension out back.
          Firstly, I have to say that this format blows away the standard triangle sander format. You get your point for the corners, and the back and side surface allow a lot more coverage, and by extension pad life. Because the front pad edges go from the point all the way to the back, I found I could easily sand trim details by rotating it slightly without the sander jumping out of the groove. The regular triangle has much shorter edges, and they wear away much quicker.
          Vibration and noise are good. Not objectionable at all.
          The unit feels surprisingly solid for such and inexpensive tool.
          Great purchase decision. Very happy with it. Wondering why I paid 3x the price for the orbital. Read Less
          Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
          +3points
          3out of 3found this review helpful.
           
          Gorilla Ladders 2-Step Aluminum Ultra-Light Step Stool Ladder with Project Top 225 lb. Capacity
          Gorilla Ladders 2-Step Aluminum Ultra-Light Step Stool Ladder with Project Top 225 lb. Capacity
          The 2-Step Aluminum Ultra-Light Step Stool Ladder by Gorilla Ladders is ideal for any room and any project. The aluminum construction is incredibly lightweight yet durable, allowing the step stool to be easily transported, set up and stored, weighing less than 6 lbs. This stool features a convenient project top/tray that is perfect for holding tools, paint and hardware, and comes in handy when changing light bulbs, painting trim or hanging a ceiling fan. A huge top platform step offers a stable standing area, while the easy-to-use, self-locking safety latch provides locked-in protection while using the stool.
           
          from Plymouth, MI
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Male
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Purchase frequency:Monthly
          Perfect Ladder - Not a Single Nit to Pick
          PostedNovember 23, 2014
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5
          5.0 out of 5
          This is the perfect around the house ladder. Just tall enough to do ceiling work. It sets up and knocks down fast, it's super light, and it feels rock solid when you stand on it. It's very well built. I would highly recommend.
          Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
          +1point
          1out of 1found this review helpful.
           
          Major7's Questions
           
          Major7 has not submitted any questions.
           
          Major7's Answers
           
          The smarter Wi-Fi thermostat with room sensors that is designed for homes with more than one room. Ordinary thermostats read the temperature in only one room, but are supposed to deliver comfort in all rooms. The ecobee remote sensors deliver the right temperature in the rooms that matter most. This ecobee comes with one free remote sensor and you can add up to 32.
           

          Which sensor is given priority

          Asked by
          MM
          Allen, TX
          December 28, 2015
          1. Can I set a different temperatures for sensor and thermostat ? e.g can i set 73F in my living room and 70F in my bedroom, which is given priority, the thermostat setting in my living room or sensor in my bedroom ?
          2. If I install the senor in my bedroom which is colder than where the thermostat is installed, can i program it in a way that when i am in my living room, the temperature in living room over rides the temperature in the bedroom and vice versa ? My problem is my bedroom is colder so during winter nights, i want warmer bedroom while sleeping.
          Thank you
          Asked by
          Major7
          Detroit MI
          January 2, 2016
          Answer: 
          You choose based on the scene: home, away, sleep, and other scenes you set up. For every scene, you check or uncheck which ones are included in the control loop. If more than one sensor is included, it will average. At night, I control off my BR only.
          This product will do what you want it to.
           
          The smarter Wi-Fi thermostat with room sensors that is designed for homes with more than one room. Ordinary thermostats read the temperature in only one room, but are supposed to deliver comfort in all rooms. The ecobee remote sensors deliver the right temperature in the rooms that matter most. This ecobee comes with one free remote sensor and you can add up to 32.
           

          "Free" first sensor?

          Asked by
          Jack
          Cambridge, MA
          August 17, 2015
          Why does the description state that the product comes with a "free" first sensor? If the product is packaged with the thermostat and a sensor, and priced at $249, then that is the free market price for the product, one sensor included. This is at the best, a hopeful marketing ploy, and at the worst, false advertising. Offer a second sensor as a special for free, and then you get closer to the truth. *I'm not blaming best buy, as this could very well be the script from the company, but someone needs to fess up!
          Asked by
          Major7
          Detroit MI
          January 2, 2016
          Answer: 
          A couple of things.
          Nothing is 'free'. You pay for it. "Included" would be a better word.
          There is a sensor in the main unit, so there are two sensors. There is just one remote sensor.
           
          The smarter Wi-Fi thermostat with room sensors that is designed for homes with more than one room. Ordinary thermostats read the temperature in only one room, but are supposed to deliver comfort in all rooms. The ecobee remote sensors deliver the right temperature in the rooms that matter most. This ecobee comes with one free remote sensor and you can add up to 32.
           

          Humidity is a problem, can this monitor humidity levels?

          Asked by
          Hed
          Destin FL
          December 25, 2015
          Vacation home in FL. So I not only have to control the temperature, but the humidity levels.
          Asked by
          Major7
          Detroit MI
          January 2, 2016
          Answer: 
          I can monitor, yes. There is a hygrometer in the main unit and you can see through the app. The remote sensors do not monitor humidity, however.
           
          The smarter Wi-Fi thermostat with room sensors that is designed for homes with more than one room. Ordinary thermostats read the temperature in only one room, but are supposed to deliver comfort in all rooms. The ecobee remote sensors deliver the right temperature in the rooms that matter most. This ecobee comes with one free remote sensor and you can add up to 32.
           

          Will this work with a dual speed furnace?

          Asked by
          ScooterB
          December 10, 2015
          Asked by
          Major7
          Detroit MI
          January 2, 2016
          Answer: 
          This will work with a multistage furnace. It has two heat outputs - stage 1 and 2.
           
          The smarter Wi-Fi thermostat with room sensors that is designed for homes with more than one room. Ordinary thermostats read the temperature in only one room, but are supposed to deliver comfort in all rooms. The ecobee remote sensors deliver the right temperature in the rooms that matter most. This ecobee comes with one free remote sensor and you can add up to 32.
           

          I have a badly placed thermostat, and I don't want to rewire the walls.

          Asked by
          Sam
          December 28, 2015
          I am looking for a receiver that I can place over the existing thermostat and a wireless thermostat that I can better place that will actually drive the temperature settings. I do not want the reciever to determine the temperature and its in a very bad spot. Will this device work?
          Asked by
          Major7
          Detroit MI
          January 2, 2016
          Answer: 
          The Ecobee3 lets you control the heat from a remote sensor. So yes. This will product do the trick. You can also select which sensor(s) are used to control the heat based on whether you are home, sleeping, or away.