LizW
  • Review count
    5
  • Helpfulness votes
    105
  • Average rating
    4.8
    4.8 out of 5
  • First Review:
    January 24, 2012
  • Last Review:
    June 21, 2012
 
Questions & Answers
  • Question count
    0
     
    Answers
    • Answer count
      0
       
       
       
      Activity Summary
       
      • Review count
        5
      • Helpfulness votes
        105
      • Average rating
        4.8
        4.8 out of 5
      • First Review:
        January 24, 2012
      • Last Review:
        June 21, 2012
       
      Questions & Answers
      • Question count
        0
         
        Answers
        • Answer count
          0
           
           
           
           
          LizW's Reviews
           
          Giallo crystal onyx mosaic is a natural stone onyx mosaic that is used extensively to complement bathrooms, showers, backsplashes, flooring, and fireplaces in a combination of designs creating unique looks. Make a statement by adding your creative touch using these decor items! NOTE: Inspect all tiles before installation. Natural stone products inherently lack uniformity and are subject to variation in color, shade, finish, etc. It is recommended to blend tiles from different boxes when installing. Natural stones may be characterized by dry seams and pits that are often filled. The filling can work its way out and it may be necessary to refill these voids as part of a normal maintenance procedure. All natural stone products should be sealed with a penetrating sealer. After installation, vendor disclaims any liabilities.
           
          from FL
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          beautiful neutral tiles
          PostedJune 21, 2012
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          We bought the 5/8" tiles to tile the face of a fireplace mantel, and we bought the 1" onyx tiles for the hearth. Although these look yellow pre-installation, they actually just look like neutral shades of cream and brown when installed. It is also all about the thinset and grout you use as to what color the tiles will appear. We wanted them to look the closest to how they looked pre-install, so I read to use white thinset for glass and unsanded bright white grout to get this effect. It still doesn't make the tiles look yellow, but we are not disappointed. I have attached 2 pics of our fireplace. I would say if you are looking for a neutral mosaic, these would be it. And yes, they do reflectRead More
          We bought the 5/8" tiles to tile the face of a fireplace mantel, and we bought the 1" onyx tiles for the hearth. Although these look yellow pre-installation, they actually just look like neutral shades of cream and brown when installed. It is also all about the thinset and grout you use as to what color the tiles will appear. We wanted them to look the closest to how they looked pre-install, so I read to use white thinset for glass and unsanded bright white grout to get this effect. It still doesn't make the tiles look yellow, but we are not disappointed. I have attached 2 pics of our fireplace. I would say if you are looking for a neutral mosaic, these would be it. And yes, they do reflect a lot of light so you see a lot of light dancing off of these. Easy to install. We recommend them. These are only 9.99 in the store, by the way.Read Less
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          User submitted photo
          +4points
          4out of 4found this review helpful.
           
          The Rust-Oleum Specialty 11-oz. Flat Clear Frosted Glass Aerosol Paint is designed to add a semi-transparent coating to glass windows, mirrors and more. It is great for indoor applications and helps create the look of custom-etched glass when applied with stencils. The paint dries to the touch in just 5 minutes for quick and efficient applications and covers areas up to 12 sq. ft.
           
          from FL
          Age Range:45 to 54
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Good product at a good price
          PostedApril 5, 2012
          Overall rating 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Coverage 
          4.0 out of 5.0
          4 out of 5
          Low odor 
          1.0 out of 5.0
          1 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          We bought this to use on glass cabinet doors in our kitchen. I bought a stencil and used the Rustoleum product to frost the glass. You definitely have to set the doors up vertically before spraying since they can get dripped on if the glass is horizontal. The coverage was good. However, the odor was so bad that I had to buy a respirator to use when I sprayed. I had 9 pieces of glass, and I did up to 8 coats on each piece, so I was spraying a long time. The smell is horribly noxious. When I was finished, I decided to use artist's matte medium (bought at a craft store), which I brushed on with a narrow, foam roller, over all the glass I did, which took out the drip marks. If I had to do itRead More
          We bought this to use on glass cabinet doors in our kitchen. I bought a stencil and used the Rustoleum product to frost the glass. You definitely have to set the doors up vertically before spraying since they can get dripped on if the glass is horizontal. The coverage was good. However, the odor was so bad that I had to buy a respirator to use when I sprayed. I had 9 pieces of glass, and I did up to 8 coats on each piece, so I was spraying a long time. The smell is horribly noxious. When I was finished, I decided to use artist's matte medium (bought at a craft store), which I brushed on with a narrow, foam roller, over all the glass I did, which took out the drip marks. If I had to do it over again, I just would've used the matte medium instead of the frosted spray paint since taking the glass outside to spray was inconvenient, and the odor was awful. I don't notice any foul odor with the matte medium. But this is a good product which can give you quick, good results. In my pic that is attached, the left two doors have the Rustoleum Frosted Spray Paint + artist's matte medium, while the right two doors have just the Rustoleum spray paint. You can see the drip marks in the picture of the two doors on the right.Read Less
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          +56points
          59out of 62found this review helpful.
           
          Add the beauty of granite to your vanity top with the Pegasus 49 in. W Granite Vanity Top in Beige with White Basin. Beveled edges are carved around the front and the bowl cutout of the vanity top to create an elegant appearance. Installation is easy thanks to the top's pre-drilled faucet accommodations and included 4 in. high backsplash. This natural granite vanity top is factory polished to create a smooth, glossy surface that resists cracking, discoloring and chipping.
           
          from FL
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Amazing!
          PostedFebruary 26, 2012
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          We bought this in 2 sizes, the 31" and 49", for 2 vanities in our home. My husband said the installation was easy. Due to the variation in granite, our slab had a black 1/4" dot in it, but this does not bother us. Our only complaint is that these vanity tops are not sealed. However, for the price and look of it, I still rated this a 5!
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          +7points
          7out of 7found this review helpful.
           
          The Pegasus 31 in. W Granite Vanity Top in Beige with White Bowl gives your bathroom an elegant touch thanks to its natural granite surface, porcelain bowl and beveled OG edges. Pre-drilled with widespread faucet accommodations, this easy-to-install vanity top has a smooth, factory-polished surface that resists chipping, cracking and discoloring to offer long-lasting beauty. This top fits directly on top of a standard 30 in. vanity cabinet.
           
          from FL
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Awesome product!
          PostedFebruary 26, 2012
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          We bought this granite top in two different sizes to replace faux marble tops in our bathrooms. My husband said it was very easy to install. My only complaint is that it wasn't sealed. The 49" size wasn't sealed either. Kind of disappointed in that, but I still give it 5 stars because it was a bargain and is a great product!
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          +6points
          6out of 6found this review helpful.
           
          This durable prefinished engineered click real maple floor is easy to install. Simply engage the long sides at an angle and press down. The flooring is crafted of five layers of solid wood permanently bonded together in a cross-ply design. No HDF or other fiber boards are utilized. The stability of this construction provides superior strength, humidity resistance, and installation options (glue-less, floating, or glue down). The aluminum oxide finish provides 10 times more abrasion resistance than ordinary urethane finishes. Vintage floors may contain naturally occurring light and dark wood colors plus grain variations. Our flooring is proudly crafted in the USA from wood grown and responsibly harvested in the USA. Expertise and experience assure a beautiful, high, quality floor. Our company has been manufacturing wood floors to exacting standards in Johnson City, Tennessee for over 110 years.
           
          from FL
          Age Range:35 to 44
          ,
          Gender:Female
          Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
          Awesome flooring
          PostedJanuary 24, 2012
          Overall rating 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Appearance 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Ease of installation 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Quality 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          Value 
          5.0 out of 5.0
          5 out of 5
          We bought this to cover 300 sq ft in a combo living/dining room. We used 13 boxes (with almost the whole box left over in the last box). We had a lot of diagonal cuts at the end, which used up more boards. My husband installed it and said it was "beautiful" as far as installation goes. It was tight-fitting, but this is what you want, he said. He did use his tapping block the whole time to fit the pieces in. I think there are 16 boards per case (14 or 16?). There are 22.5 sq ft per case, which is different than what Home Depot advertises in the description (they say 20? sq ft). We did this floor in about 2 full days of working. If we didn't have all the cuts at the diagonal, we would've doneRead More
          We bought this to cover 300 sq ft in a combo living/dining room. We used 13 boxes (with almost the whole box left over in the last box). We had a lot of diagonal cuts at the end, which used up more boards. My husband installed it and said it was "beautiful" as far as installation goes. It was tight-fitting, but this is what you want, he said. He did use his tapping block the whole time to fit the pieces in. I think there are 16 boards per case (14 or 16?). There are 22.5 sq ft per case, which is different than what Home Depot advertises in the description (they say 20? sq ft). We did this floor in about 2 full days of working. If we didn't have all the cuts at the diagonal, we would've done it faster. The boards of this maple flooring are definitely not consistent in color. Some boards are lighter with a different pattern, some are darker and quite rustic-looking. If you want a consistent, uniform floor that looks like the same color and pattern in each board, DO NOT BUY THIS FLOORING! We, however, did not want the consistent look throughout. We like the variation. It gives the room character. I'm attaching a pic of our room. We installed some Dupont walnut laminate in our old home (also sold by HD), and I like this maple flooring so much better. It looks so much more authentic (although we liked the walnut a lot, too).Read Less
          Images for this Review
          (click to see full-size image)
          User submitted photo
          +29points
          29out of 29found this review helpful.
           
          LizW's Questions
           
          LizW has not submitted any questions.
           
          LizW's Answers
           
          LizW has not submitted any answers.